Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HF Ipanema Park 5 stars

Rua De Serralves, 124, Lordelo do Ouro e Massarelos, 4150-702 Porto, Portugal

#88 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5871 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good start to our honeymoon and a great place to explore such a wonderful city :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not always as helpful as I would have expected in a 5 star hotel

    We went for our honeymoon we had a lovely room and were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of fizz which was wonderful! Excellent breakfast and a good location on the edge of Porto and the beach :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came over for a friends wedding, the hotel was a little out of the town centre but the Uber’s in were really cheap and on o2 network you can use your data as you would at home for no charge (just in your allowance) so it made it easy to order Uber’s. The hotel was clean, quiet and the rooftop bar and pool was lovely. The breakfast selection was amazing, I was provided with gluten free baguette, croissants and Portuguese tarts and they even have prosecco so that you can make yourself a Buck’s Fizz for breakfast should you wish. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    I will never use this hotel group again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Without any notice the deduction of the cost of our stay for one night before we got to the hotel to check in and the deduction of the cost of the second night stay before checking out on the 19th of September. I have not experienced this practice before in all my years travelling to and from various parts of the world. Also there was a taxi strike on the 19th of September. No notice was posted anywhere that I could see of the strike. A simple notice at the door of the breakfast dining room would have been helpful..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy as the walls were very thin and could hear the sound of people in the next rooms and dogs barking outside (we where on the 12th floor). Windows in our 12th floor room could be opened although restricted which felt dangerous for children

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    I would not stay in this location again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised that Porto is very dirty and run down in general, the surrounding area of the hotel is also very poor, rough and dirty. I was very anxious when walking with my 16 year old daughter as we encounters drug addicts, rough sleepers and street drinkers - many of whom approached us or glared at us at some point. Very uncomfortable. The worst was from our 8th floor window on a sunny day while on the phone... I noticed a couple engaged in a sexual act which developed into full sex in a dirty rubbish filled grotty field... lovely! Continuous dogs barking on our last night (despite being on the 8th floor) also ruined my sleep. I complained to no avail. I informed the manager (he was very nice) prior to leaving of the above, it seems to be common place in this area. Also no taxis use credit cards - not a major issue but a pain.

    The hotel is decorated well, clean and the staff are very helpful & nice. The rooftop bar and pool is also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall it is a nice hotel, lobby area is spacious and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little disappointed. We stood in room 105. Decoration is super standard, nothing to highlight. 1st, no view at all, the room was faced the hotel roof if I understood well. The soundproofing is not great, but I believe it’s general. We had a few friends in other rooms and they mentioned the same. The worst thing was actually a really annoying noise that went on everyday at 8:30 am for about 10 min and was so loud that woke us up both nights . I think it was from the bathroom drains or pipes... really something they should look into has I am sure other hotels rooms in the same floor would hear it too. Also, breakfast area seemed too small in peak hours.

    Overall it is a nice hotel, lobby area is spacious and the pool bar is nice as well. Sun beds are not super comfy for sunbathing but I understand the idea as the bar it’s used for bar/lounge area as well. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Remarkable stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Almost nothing... Maybe the distance from the city centre.

    This is a very good quality hotel with helpful and polite staff. I liked the comfortable bed and the quality of breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Very confortable room, peaceful and well-cleaned.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t very nice, check-in and check-out were cold. We didn’t feel a warm atmosphere.

    Very confortable room, peaceful and well-cleaned. Doormen/bellboys very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely come here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The queue at the elevators was very big at some point. During the check-out hours you really have to wait for the elevator

    The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is fantastic. The pool is also very good and at night it's fantastic to have a drink there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was cold and not enough sun loungers. Breakfast had lots of selection, but the food wasn’t very nice. We only ate here one day (out of 4).

    We visited this hotel for a birthday trip. We were upgraded to a suite and given a bottle of champagne and cake as part of my birthday. The room was very big and clean. The hotel pool was nice. The hotel isn’t as close to the city as stated. But Uber was a lifesaver as it cost around €2-6 to get to anywhere. The hotel is closer to the beach but this is still a 20min walk - again we used Uber.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Truly a 5* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - 11 €/day for parking in their underground car park - tourist tax wasn't included in the room price

    Truly a 5* hotel. Top bar is amazing. Breakfast, amazing as well. Room, very nice and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Pool area, breakfast and breakfast staff, overall comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a long walk from Porto centre, and very near to some dangerous areas so be careful where you walk and ask if not sure. That said, the main road from the hotel (head left out the door) past the botanical gardens is the best way into town, and the road diagonal to front of hotel (turn right out of door, cross street at lights) to the river is also fine and a 15 minute walk to excellent Italian restaurant on the river (Casa D'oro).

    Pool area, breakfast and breakfast staff, overall comfort very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast and rooms are great and very confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is extremely expensive and the parking spot each car gets is very tiny, with most cars parling improperly, which makes it a hassle to park. The elevator from parking to the hotel lobby was broken in the evening we arrived so we had to take multiple flights of stairs, with a sprained ankle. It is also ridiculous for a 5 star hotel to not have stay passes for parking so we had to constantly go to the reception to validate our parking ticket, every single time we wanted to leave the hotel. While the rooms were great, the tub didnt have an anti slipping mat or anything similar, so it was hard to shower while concentrating on not moving so not to fall. We had stayed in this hotel before, and at the time the value for money was much more reasonable.

    The breakfast and rooms are great and very confortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location both for visiting Porto itself and for seeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. All good.

    Great location both for visiting Porto itself and for seeing the fantastic beach area nearby. We hired the hotel bikes spent the afternoon cycling up and down the coastline. Very safe cycle lane, very pleasant coves and rocky areas to soak up the sun. Lots of nice restaurants along the promenade. Hotel staff were all very friendly. The rooftop pool was fun. Bed very comfortable. Best value for money on our trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was really spacious with the great equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how far the hotel was from the centre of the city . Prices in the hotel were quite high and some waiters were impolite 😒

    The room was really spacious with the great equipped bathroom. Then breakfast was delicious and the rooftop swimming pool was the bonus. Staff was very helpful 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the swimming pool and rooftop are oversized....compared to the reality

    The staff are very welcoming and do their Best to Make your stay very pleasant. The rooms are very confortable... And breakfast AMAZING.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, fab location, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is amazing such a selection even prosecco! The Portuguese tarts were gorgeous. All the staff warm and friendly. The rooftop pool is a great way to unwind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    A good base for a week exploring Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing traditionally Portuguese.

    A modern property with good facilities including gym and squash court plus a very good breakfast. Bus stop and taxi rank outside. Taking a taxi to Porto city centre is as cheap as 4 people taking the bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Great rooftop pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn’t the best (10 minute drive from City Centre) but as long as you’re open to Ubering around, it isn’t a problem.

    Great rooftop pool area Rooms were a good size Excellent views Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Loved the stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The meal selection could be better, but food is nice.

    I liked the room, bed was comfy, and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They also have a nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great for a short visit, especially if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The immediate area is fine, but be a little careful where you wander as there are rougher areas nearby.

    Good modern hotel, location good if you're driving. We use Ubers to get to the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 beautiful grand pianos which could be played on but no one did. Would've been lovely to have a pianist playing some relaxing music to create an atmosphere.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very clean facilities and close to all the sights in Porto. Buffet meals were spot on with the selection available...nothing was lacking or too hard for staff to organise. Thank you... we will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    The only thing we missed was a water dispenser or a machine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing we missed was a water dispenser or a machine where we could get some snacks/chocolate bars. The only possibility to eat during noon was the expensive bar (17 € per person), apples and tea or snacks from a grocery store nearby, Lidl. The pool looked nice but different than on the photos of the Ipanema website. Our bed was nice but the air condition smelled weird. We hat two windows we could open instead. Right in front of our window coloured lights were installed which made an annoying sound.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful lobby, friendly staff, great breakfast, but no nearby nightlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small pool on the roof, the bar was very very expensive. €10 euro's for an espresso and a baileys when comparable to prices in other towns in northern Portugal. The location was not very good, we wanted to go for a walk after dinner and unless walking 20 mins to the river or to the parque, there is nowhere to go for a nearby drink of coffee.

    Concierge very friendly, beautiful reception and restaurant, very clean, rooms and bathrooms fabulous, everyone was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and luxury stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all ok!!

    Great breakfast, very friendly and helpful personnel. Nice swimming pool/bar/lounge area on top of the building. Parking garage under the hotel, convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel , terrible lifts !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts don't work. Waited sometimes for 10 minutes . Saw passengers escaping a ground floor lift that had dropped below ground level . This single issue spoiled everything. Being on the 10th every lift trip was an issue.

    Everything except lifts . Great food , breakfast , service , staff are really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were super. We stayed for seven nights and the room was serviced every day with fresh linens and towels. Very relaxed atmosphere and the rooftop pool was a great bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.0
    Everything , rooms are good , modern , spacious , breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located a little out .

    Everything , rooms are good , modern , spacious , breakfast is excellent , staff are friendly and efficient. Professionalism shines through in every aspect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location was good for public transport by bus to either central town or coast but immediate area does not offer much in the way of facilities and hotel's own restaurant was a bit costly. However, taxi costs pretty reasonable.

    Staff very friendly and professional. Good and inexpensive taxi and bus options at hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay in Porto, especially for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 12 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing whatsoever

    For family rooms, this hotel is excellent. We have two children aged 10 & 8 and were given a colossal room with large entrance lobby, palatial bathroom and bunk beds at one end, with a big LCD screen and all the wardrobe space one would need. Even buffet meals presented excellent value with something for us all. Staff were uniformly superb in their friendliness and attention.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    All in all we had good stay ,our visit was for 6 days ,i think 4days in porto would have sufficed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    when we asked about an iron and ironing board ,we were told that they did not deliver and ironing board and iron to your,e room which was in their own publicity.

    breakfast was good , good selection even prosecco if you wanted it. the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    The bed was super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though this is a 5 star hotel besides the amazing breakfast I don't know what makes it 5 star. I didn't receive much warmth from reception. Got little information. If I had not previously spend a few days in Porto I would have been at a loss. It is very far from the centre of town. The pool area is tiny for such a big hotel. If you want to get a spot go early.

    The bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    exellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathrobe at the arrival changed quickly but no apologies (5 stars?), no orange juice on express breakfast for early check in, smoking permitted at the pool area

    Great breakfast and exellent breakfast service, nice room, nice view, good location, bus stop next to the hotel, great pool on the roof

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Top class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the hotel and will be back.

    We really enjoyed our stay. It's a fabulous hotel with excellent staff. We were checking out at 5am and they gave us a breakfast bag to take with us and had our taxi waiting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Never stayed in such a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, our shower wasn’t working properly.

    Never stayed in such a comfortable bed. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and the staff were so nice. Although it’s a bit far from the city +- 15 min the buses are abundant and cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff is very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers 4 star rooms and sellig them as 5 stars... This hotel is a very good choice for people who want a very good, confortable 4 star hotel.

    The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and overall it is a nice hotel but NEVER is this a 5* hotel. It quelifies for a 4* but far away from 5 stars. The furniture and the comfort of the rooms are maximum 4 stars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    great stay, liked mix of classy and modernized! we will come back!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    more fresh food/fruits at breakfast would be nice! too much food from the can for 5-star rating...

    everything was great! very good and balanced atmosphere between classy, friendly and clean but with modernized rooftop pool+bar and actually surprisingly good music playing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    For room, staff, stay I would give 10/10. Location and Pizza drag the score down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the huge mistake of ordering pizza in the restaurant. 5* hotel and we could not only tell right away that it was frozen pizza but even identify the brand. Do NOT serve this in a high end restaurant!! What were you thinking? Mind you, most other things were completely fine, but the pizza disaster was unacceptable.

    Amazing staff; Great rooms and hotel overall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, indoor secure parking that was very cheap (only 11 € per night), very friendly and helpful staff and convenient location - bus station to city centre is only 50m away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent, a wide variety and food was always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was excellent, a wide variety and food was always refilled once became empty. Room was very spacious and clean. Rooftop swimming pool and bar was very nice and chilled atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant! Obrigado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Limited option for Coeliacs

    The price was very good. We love the roof top bar. Bruno and Miguel were the best bartenders. Restaurant was only okay. My partner is Coeliac and there was a big confusion about Gluten free dishes. We had veal in our last night dinner and it was beautiful. Bus stop and taxi rank are outside the door. Bus no 200 to the city center. Near the beaches with the 200 bus and 10 min walk to the Tram 1 just beside the river. Best was good spread but very limited for Coeliacs. Ask for glutenfree bread ahead of time and ask them to oven cook it as they tend to microwave it. Bread is already stone hard when it reached the table.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Spent an excellent week at the Ipanema Park hotel celebrating a birthday with 5 friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lack of sun loungers around the swimming pool as it was a lovely area but we did not use much due to the lack of comfortable seating/loungers. I think supply a few loungers would improve the pool area no end. Taxis were needed to get to the center of Porto but due to the low costs it was not an issue.

    The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble particularly in the mornings at breakfast time where the young lady greeting you at the restaurant entrance went out of her way to welcome you and assist in any special requests. They even produced a small birthday cake and candle on the day of my birthday. The bar staff were also attentive, friendly and funny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous, roof top sun terrace with bar & pool just sells it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good transport links into Porto. Taxis not too bad at 7 euros one way to the centre.Blue hop on/ off bus picks up outside but be sure to ask driver to drop you off. Wasn't told & walked for miles 😡. Drinks & food dear but good eateries close by .

    Luxury rooms,beautiful, fabulous views. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception people were not so ni e. Every question they asked to talk to concierge who was busy with others but in reception there were no people

    Nice hotel. Friendly. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    The room was not that clean (Bathroom full of beach sand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not that clean (Bathroom full of beach sand... Windows completely dirty) and overall needs a refreshment. Not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Average. I wouldn't choose this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bar/restaurant staff were poorly organised - and some of them were incredibly rude. Long waits for meals/drinks with rude service. Some odd rules/procedures - for example, what kind of hotel has no irons/ironing boards easily accessible and then makes it very difficult to access a so-called ironing room - several colleagues reported rude staff and stupid rules pertaining to ironing.

    Breakfasts (and breakfast staff) were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best location for city exploring but we also stayed in there so was perfect for the beach 👍🏻

    Lovely hotel , beds were very hard for me but that’s a personal thing. Dietry needs very well catered for at breakfast, great choice! Good coffee , very helpful staff. Lovely restaurant around he corner would defiantly recommend it. Very reasonable and welcoming staff! All in all great visit! Rental bikes and the pool alladded to the experience..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    I liked a lot the pool on the top of the building and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for the hotel of 5 stars it is missing some things. Also, we had a problem with leaking aircondition in the hallway so we had a lot of water on the floor.

    I liked a lot the pool on the top of the building and the rooms were nice and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing between bedrooms was nonexistent - we couldn’t get to sleep until the occupants of the rooms on either side of us had turned off their TVs for the night - NOT cool Most S taff were arrogant and condescending - not pleasant to deal with. One woman at reception called Ana was the ONLY exception

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small dressing gowns sizes, too small and too short for tall people from the Nordic of Europe 😉

    Very friendly hotel staff. Great breakfast and clean rooms. The swimming pool was fantastic with very nice and friendly bartenders! We are so grateful for our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    We loved our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our stay at this hotel. Children were happy to have their own room, lot of place to play, they had good night of sleep. Staff friendly with children. I really recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Served its purpose but no more.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in the room had lifted and was a trip hazard. Pool on the roof has artificial grass around it, very loud music making it difficult to talk, and hard plastic upright chairs; no loungers. In my opinion the Breakfast was poor. Coffee horrid and cold from the machines, fruit juice from concentrate and over sweet. Hot selection poor quality.

    Great location for business

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great rooftop pool area and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk appeared somewhat unfriendly and unhelpful. However the service staff at breakfast were the opposite... couldn't have done more for us

    Great rooftop pool area and bar. Comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been better if fresh bottled water was provided in the room each day.

    The hotel felt luxurious despite its size. The facilities are great and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The room was really quite big/ spacious, also the bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a little bit away from center.

    The room was really quite big/ spacious, also the bath was very hugh. A great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sound insulation needs improvement: I could hear my neighbors snoring quite loudly. Also, the windows were dusty, so cleaning them on the outside more often could be a good idea.

    Very nice and clean hotel. The personnel is attentive, professional and efficient. The rooms are big, with good storage space, clean and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    It was fine, but not special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The hotel is rated as 5 star but it should be 4 stars. Pool/rooftop terrace is a joke.

    Overall experience was fine/good, nothing special. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Porto city and HF Ipanema Hotel - I'll be back !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ok, I have to say it. I dislike this new thing that echoes the lousy airlines policies, that we have to PAY for the actual stay at an hotel, many months in advance, if you are the kind that plan ahead. I believe that if you give the credit card to guaranty the payment, the hotel should not collect any money, (or perhaps can take say 10% down) until your actual stay. Why collect before ? We don't get our salaries in advance either … Add on's. Same lousy airline policies … euros 2 tax person/night. Call it what you want, if it is a compulsory payment to be made, include it in the room and show one price. Parking .. euros 11 per day is fairly heavy in my opinion, especially considering that the room rates are not that cheap anyway and all this adds to the final bill. At this level, the choices are larger and so will be your competition. Location. The good part … it is perfectly ...walkable... down to the river and then go left to the Cais da Ribeira area, or go right and go towards the sea, Foz, etc, but during the day!! I would advise to avoid walking around there at night, especially coming from the river, because some of the roads are certainly not say … friendly or safe! If you drive, this is a lesser problem, but be aware and lock your doors anyway.

    Did not know the HF Ipanema Hotels and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Overall great looks, excellent lobby, a very nice sitting area that sometimes is also used for breakfast and has the garden views, good parking on site, very nice pool on the roof with a small bar, perfect for an end of day relaxed moment, and for the room, on the 9th floor, great river and partly sea view, (forget about looking down anyway), with all good amenities, good size and confortable bedding. All good here. Attentive personnel, very friendly, all the way from the young trainee door bell, to the reception, restaurants, the concierge young lady giving excellent information, really very nice people. Very good choice of food for breakfast, often renewed and oh surprise … small detail some will say …, but this hotel has various TEAPOTS so you can have multiple cups of tea if you want, without having to open multiple tea bags or having to get up to refill every so often. Rare to see and so, worth mentioning !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had lovely time in Porto. Room was really spacious and comfy. Breakfast was excellent. Stuff was nice and welcomming. Hotel is located close to the bus stop or you can take a taxi for about £5 to get to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Next time we would choose something closer to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls between the rooms are very poor. We did not sleep most of the first night because was to loud in the room next to ours. We requested the room change and we got the new one without any problems.

    Nice, elegant and clean hotel with lovely rooftop bar and terrace. Breakfast choice was very good, comfy bed. Stuff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was really nice, the roof top pool bar is awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is between the ocean and the centre, so a bit far away from everything. But the bus stops right outside the hotel and with a 5 Eur cab ride you can be everywhere you want.

    The staff was really nice, the roof top pool bar is awesome and the breakfast buffet the best I've had for a long time! Very nice view from the room, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok but no 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location has very busy roads. Looks out over slum. They sell ivory at their shop.

    Good price. Nice waiting staff at breakfast and the cleaning lady from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is pretty unfriendly and uninterested. Also it is not well located if you want to explore the city centre, need 15mins bus ride.

    Nice, big room. Good beds, big breakfast choice, decent gym, good internet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast and nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not optimal The bathroom is not as good as the rest of the hotel The staff on our exit was rather unpleasant

    Great breakfast and nice rooms The WiFi works well and the staff at our arrival was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying on floor 10 and it was VERY hot on that floor and our rooms A/C didn't get cool. So it wasn't a comfortable stay... But ONLY for that reason.

    Almost everything. Great breakfast - couldn't really be any better. Good rooms. Shame about the 'not included' parking fee... They should build that into the room rates.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    We were with firends in the neigborhood; so they were the icing on the cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Elevators in questionable condition. Got stuck in one on one day. Were out of commission at various points for repair. Rooms were pretty stark. No pictures. Hand-me-down couch. Basic furnishing. A property under turn-around.

    Breakfasts were pretty good, with friendly, helpful staff. Liked the custard tarts. Door staff willing and helpful. Room cleaning staff willing and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Professional staff, as a hotel, of course, it has everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from center, poor sound isolation, the much advertised rooftop bar is quite... tacky.

    Professional staff, as a hotel, of course, it has everything one might need. Good for business stays and if you have a car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good hotel, minor remarks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saw some drips of water on ceiling in hall of room 1021, could not make up where they came from. Two out of three locks of the men's room on first floor (next to restaurant) did not work. Apparently it is one of the only hotels where regular Taxis are not stopped from mugging Uber drivers. Heard several Uber drivers complain that they did not like dropping us in front of the hotel as they were afraid that rotte eggs would be thrown at them? Other 5* hotels (like Hilton) would supposedly have done more to protect Uber drivers.

    Breakfast, staff friendliness, nice rooms, hotel smells nice (fragrance marketing - loved it!). A special mention of praise for the breakfast crew as they did everything to make sure the guests were satisfied. They were extremely alert and immediately noticed an empty plate. Great work!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    The staff was incredibly kind!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Really bad positioned -140€ for a standard room, in other hotels i would have found the same at max 100€ - the view from rooftop is bad, not a panormic view on the city I dont understand where the 5* come from

    The staff was incredibly kind!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are so MANY HF hotels around, so be careful and remember the full name of the hotel.:)

    Surprisingly that we have bathrobes and slippers in the room. The decoration of the room is quite amusing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Unexpectedly good hotel, well designed, friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No indoor pool, as outdoor pool as we know is not for Porto weather unfortuantely its always rainy out of season. Overpriced drinks in the bar. 13 eur for gin and tonic? Come on!

    Unexpectedly good hotel, well designed, friendly and comfortable. Friendly staff, great breakfast and dinner, nice bar, welcoming rooms and elevator designs. easy underground parking (but should be free for hotel guests though)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Good enough four star stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work so the room was too warm and stuffy the first night. After a couple of requests, it was fixed. The parking garage had small but acceptable spaces for our car. But a neighboring car parked poorly and made exit difficult. Not the fault of hotel.

    Breakfast was outstanding. The overall stay was excellent, but there were two issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel, located 5/10 minutes by car from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the room are extremely thin, as you can hear everything from the neighbours room. This is a bug trouble if the other guests are noisy. You can even hear their cellphone ring, and easily every conversation they are having!! The air conditioner is also quite noisy, and the overall temperature of the hotel is very high!

    A good hotel, located 5/10 minutes by car from the city historic center. Room is very clean and fresh. The hotel has been renovated with very good taste. Staff is very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is really good, with great selection of food, that feels very fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    hotel near the city centre and a short drive to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early, and 'chanced our luck' at checking in. We were told in no uncertain terms we were early and we needed to return later. There was no offer of any assistance or guidance to our surroundings, i.e. how to get to the city centre, etc or even when to return for check in. Once we returned to check in the reception staff had changed, as did their attitude. The staff were exceptionally helpful and curtesy.

    The hotel was easy to find, rooms were large and very comfortable, and there was plenty to choose form for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Affordable whith good breakfast and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the bathroom ,no mirror suitable for make-up or to use the rasor No iron in the room, no slippers or bathrobe in the bathroom Bad sound insulation, we could distinctly hear next room conversations

    Confortable bed Good breakfast Massage in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse HF Ipanema Park traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: