Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jardim do Vau 4 stars

Praia do Vau, 8500-820 Portimão, Portugal

#46 of 220 Holiday rentals in Portimão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our air conditioning/heating was broke and we were freezing for the first night. Fixed quickly but still. Also- I ordered a "smoothie" from their pool bar- avoid- 4 euro for ice, water and syrup- no fruit!

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean apartment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated bathroom and kitchenette. Very bad sound isolation: sometimes I could literally hear what our neighbours were saying - fortunately this was only in the living room (not in the bedroom) and the neighbours were elderly and calm people.

    Great location at the beach, clean apartment with nice view, nice playground for children, good facilities (in particular quick and affordable laundry service: 5 euros for washing and drying a big bag of clothes), good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    equipments were old, for example the drier was not working however we received another old one which was too strong for our small baby. It would be great if we could have had two heaters instead of only one. Because we had two rooms to heat up and we had to take an old heavy heater from one room to another one at night.

    Great location, nice room for a family and facilities for a small baby and nice cliff beach just near by. We liked our stay during christmas time and we would like to go back there once more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an Appartement woth kitchen but couldnmt find any salt and pepper. We couldn‘t wash our closes even though we had an maschine, and there wasn‘t any coffee.

    Great Location - great beach, we have found that area the best of the whole south cost, only Lagos might be alittle prettier. We didn‘t have an appartement in the frontbut the back did it just fine too. They even upgraded our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The cooking facilities in the kitchenette didn't include a proper oven. It would have been nice to have been able to cook a proper meal, but having said that, neither the mini market on site, or the little Spar nearby, didn't sell meat or poultry to cook anyway.

    The apartments were nicely furnished and kept clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the pool and garden areas were lovely. The resort was very quiet in November, but it was easy to walk into Praia de Rocha (about 20 minutes) in one direction, or catch a bus (5 minutes) to Alvor in the other direction.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wifi was weak but doable.

    Loved the location. The beaches around this area are out of this world. Lots of coves and lovely landscapes. There's Kayak hire, paddleboats, sailing and Thai massages on the beach. Additionally lots of things to do with the family in the surrounding area. Slide and Splash and Zoomarine are within a 20 mins ride. Fantastic boat trips in area. We also did off road 4x4 and go karting (30 mins ride away). 5 minutes away there is a small fishing village ( Alvor) which is a must ( Port area).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area too quite.

    Perfect location -near beach great restaurants near by. Pool nice and relaxing area - great idea not to have sun loungers booked - always easy to get a lounge when required. Very enjoyable holiday will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 20 nights

    I would like to see the unit that we stayed in a little more updated with some colour everything was brown.

    I liked how convient it was to beach access it also had indoor and outdoor pool. many restaurants near by in walking distance and there own restaurant was excellent value good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appt very comfortable, but a little tired. Kitchen needs refurbishing. Bin for recycling nescesarry . Lounge chairs and setee need to be replaced.

    we appreciated situation, and space of the appt. Views fantastic, Staff excellent, discreet and efficient. Sports facilities excelllant. Libary also although a few more newer books would be nice. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food, It was off season ,but they still advertised break fast , when we went down for breakfast first day , within the time for allocation for breakfast, What they had on offer was very bad , nothing was prepared , The fry up was terrible , It was the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel , even though the breakfast was very poor we were still charged full price . I had contacted hotel about transport from airport , didnt hear anything back so I caught a taxi from airport ..... first price a Iwas offered was €150 , I refused that, another taxi offered to do it for €100 which we took , When I checked with the hotel the average price for the journey it was €54. On return I booked online ... a company called "Yellow Fish "for €48 ! ....I will never avail on the airport taxis again .It will be yellowfish from now on.

    Location, indoor pool, staff were friendly , hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Our family group of eight were well pleased.

    We stayed over Christmas and New Year 2017 which was very much off season for the area, however the value for money was tops. The beds were great, indoor pool was excellent for young kids and the restaurant meals very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was poor. Service very slow and lacking choice. Not many options for restaurants nearby but ok for families.

    Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Perfect location right next to both the beach and the highway. Good walking & swimming locations along either side along the cliff tops & beaches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor in apartments. We have stayed here a number of times and good quality wifi only available in the reception section.

    Very comfortable apartment good beds. Staff very pleasent and helpful. Laundry staff really kind and very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite requesting on our initial correspondence that it was going to be a 4 revisit (repeat to the hotel) and would like a nice room with a sea view, the response I got when we arrived was because we booked with Booking.com they say they couldn't move or upgrade us so we were stuck with quite a small balcony, with no room for sun lounges or in fact more than a round table with 2 chairs was tight. Disappointing over all with the room allocated (smallest of all our previous visits) will not be revisiting again as repeat loyalty doesn't seem to count when you use Booking.com to reserve your room.

    Location was nice, staff okay, I have experienced better, friendly people on reception upon arrival.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second time staying here and we loved it! The pool, the sangria, the fresh warm bread in the shop every morning, that beautiful beach ..... awesome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment needs updating. Lots of ants, poor lighting in bathroom and toilet seat needs replacement thought the kitchen was quite shabby especially as I paid extra for the room

    That it was right by the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the manager of the bar/restaurant and pool bar unhelpful rude arrogant. We were at a wedding there so I feel mine will not be the only complaint on this matter, I cannot express in such a short review just how bad it actually was. We found out that the bars and restaurants are franchised by this man, hopefully his franchise will not be renewed and the hotel management will find the right person. It really does let the hotel down. On a plus note there was a barman called fernando who was brilliant and tried his best to make things better. Also the wedding planner was really very good and stayed all night to ensure things went as smoothly as possible.

    Beds were comfy and the apartment was big with a great size balcony, the kitchen was well equipped and even had a washing machine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stove was really outdated no temperatures on oven . Also no dish soap provided .

    Absolutely adored the location and overall facilities and air conditioning . Daily cleaning was great very clean .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general atmosphere was very convivial and very conducive for a relaxed family holiday which is exactly what we had hoped for. Excellent location on the beach front. Snooker room available for teenagers

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Teenagers thought wifii could be better in the apartment as it was slightly intermittent.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Always ready with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Silly price of house wine

    indoor pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not great, but all other guests slept well.

    Spacious, kitchen with cooker, kettle microwave, cutlery and plates. So close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AND WERE DELIGHTED TO GET A GREAT DEAL THROUGH BOOKING.COM

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in our room majority of the time.

    Great location right on beach and good walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar closed, tv could do with more channels and very poor picture. Also no oven in apartment

    Proximity to beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fantastic just a bit far from everything

    Fantastic staff . Lovely clean apartments . Nice food . We really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and a great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The block nearest pool was 100 times better than the block next to noisy road

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool hours, would of liked it if it could stay open later. Wifi was terrible, I'm in school and couldn't connect for more than 10 minutes to do school work.

    Great location right by the beach and many restaurants. The room was large and had a balcony with sun loungers which we loved. My kids said they really liked the room, they were very excited about having their own beds and bathroom. The outdoor pool looked nice but it wasn't warm enough to go in quite yet. Indoor pool was nice but I wish it stayed open later. Looking forward to coming back and staying here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little cold inside the apartment at night.

    Cleanliness of our apartment was fantastic. Very helpful staff, we had a lovely relaxing stay and hope to return soon.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's really a pitty having to pay for using inside pool when the weather is still cold and you can't use the external one yet...

    Room upgrade without any additional costs. Fantantic customer service!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Leaving the nice weather to go back home

    The apt were large and comfortable, we walked everywhere with our 8 and 10 year old daughters , Praia rocha was about 10 min on the main road and 20 on the adventure trail, the pool indoors is large and we went everyday

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Section we were in was very noisy at night with noise from assing traffic going over speed ramps Also swimming pool suitable for experienced swimmers only as there is no shadow end

    Excellent location and facilities

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar has very little atmosphere. And therefore you must go to praia De roche if you want to have a drink.

    Friendly staff. Good location. Pricey for the time of year. Have stayed there 3 times and always want to come back

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sofa bed in the lounge was uneven and gave me a bad back. The children were not allowed balls or lilos in the water by the pool which rather spoilt their fun. The information book in the room was out of date.

    It was ideally situated to either spend a day on the beach or by the pool. The food was good and reception staff helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day. The beds in the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was VERY poor. No wifi in the rooms, this should be expected in 2015!. The wifi in the reception was very slow, it should be heavily upgraded.

    Location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very little.

    Close proximity to beach. Two bedroom apartments in front overlooking pool and beach were spacious, bright and well maintained. Mini market on site for fresh rolls, bread, etc.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Indoor pool not suitable for kids. Depth of 1.45 meters! Expensive compared to other resorts in the vicinity with similar facilities (got to know later!) Restaurant is avoidable due to its timings, beach restaurants are better. No wifi in rooms Swim caps mandatory and 4 Euros each is a rip off.

    Location is the top selling point of this resort. Very close to a great beach. Rooms are big and comfortable. Reasonably clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -

    Unbelievable what are the prices during off-season! Our host Elsa was so kind and hospitable, she upgraded us, so that the 3 of us felt like queens! Thank You for everything!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some noise from the road.

    Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only on reception area!

    Good location. Good apartment.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    broken elevator , no wi-fi , broken air-conditoner. dirtily hotel

    close to the sea

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. (No WiFi in the rooms, only in common areas)

    Everything: location, beach, facilities, room, staff, food, swimming pool, ...

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was disappointed didn't have a full kitchen in 1 bedroom apt.

    Weather nice pool and bar area. Loads of loungers and parasols at pool

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Very clean and resort was not too noisy.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi everywhere

    Location,facilities,staff,cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Right on beach and great eating places right next to hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bin there at leat 11 times and I will go there soon again. at least once a year :-)

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only wifi in public areas, I think a hotel must be wifi in the rooms

    Everything

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Jardim do Vau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: