Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Fontaine 3 stars

Rua dos Bombeiros Voluntários, 80, 3885-550 Esmoriz, Portugal

#3 of 5 hotels in Esmoriz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    I won't be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bed covers, outdoor swimming pool not opened to the guests in May with 28 degrees. I specifically booked this hotel due to having a outdoor pool, kids were very disappointed. The hotel should not advertise the pool with it if the pool will not be available. Hotel staff and management should have tried to do something to compensate the pool situation, some empathy was shown however I saw it more as a poor excuse and not customer focused at all.

    Rooms are quite big with the addition of a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    The price relative to conditions is more or less O.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights is the bedroom and bathroom are not adequate, missing any atmosphere in the room other than the new stickers on the wall. Minibar rusty and noisy

    The price relative to conditions is more or less O.K.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Quiet retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful. The size of the room was good and it was lovely and quiet. The pool was a great cool off when we returned from Porto after a long day. Loved the free bikes that we could use to get around esmoriz.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.0
    Quality/price is not bad but don't expect great accomodations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't open and there was no previous notice. The room accommodations are very poor and not comfortable. There is no iron available. The room was bad isolated so I can hear all noises from the street.

    Location and wi-fi connection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice size room , and good continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Restaurant’s around, only a Chinese in the hotel, not into Chinese when in Portugal

    Nice size room , and good continental breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Sushi Bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Sushi Bar!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Standard 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too low, hard mattress.

    Service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Very veey nice in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More shocket plugs close to beds and better or more comfy pillows

    Room was excellent for the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was not bad.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was terrible. Not comfortable. Very bad!

    Breakfast was not bad. Continental.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Swimming pool Room was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smell like smoke.

    Adequate breakfast. Very large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Hospitable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, hospitality

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.1
    Clean hotel, helpful staff, good buffet breakfast, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy clock bells ringing every hour (and half hour) next to hotel, dogs barking nearby, no tea/coffee facilities in room. Bar/restaurant didn't open until 7pm- very few other places to eat nearby unless you paid for taxis.

    Clean hotel, helpful staff, good buffet breakfast, spacious rooms, bed comfortable, decent sized bathroom with bath, pool on site (water very cold though), fridge in room.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and extremely reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not an attractive location.

    Very helpful staff and extremely reasonable price. Comfortable, large room but no views. It's a bargain and completely adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    4.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None of the fitness equipment works !! Terrible bed soooo uncomfortable can feel every spring. Church next door bell rung every hour !! Happy dogs parking all night every night

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, nice and quiet hotel, they have free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, nice and quiet hotel, they have free bicycles for guests to use. Nice and clean pool and jaccuzi. We had a double room which was very large and the bed was very large as well. Flatscreen TV with a lot of movie channels in English with Portuguese subtitles and TVE, a Spanish channel my Basque girlfriend was very happy with! Free gym for guests and a laundry service for clothes for a small fee.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    10
    We liked all staff and how they were so great with my baby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking can be a bit difficult when we went as the hotel his having a new car park built in on the front of the hotel but when that's done I'm sure is gonna be great :-)

    We liked all staff and how they were so great with my baby and accommodating my requests for bottle washing and milk bottle warming.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was very good with good facilities and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very good with good facilities and the staff were very helpful and friendly, however, not much to do or see in the town.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Esmoriz(we loved it but i would imagine its not for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No variety at breakfast

    Esmoriz(we loved it but i would imagine its not for everybody)

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very friendly and breakfast was very good.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel La Fontaine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: