Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lawrences Hotel 5 stars

Rua Consigliéri Pedroso, 38-40, 2710-550 Sintra, Portugal

#13 of 20 hotels in Sintra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that all rooms faced onto the adjacent wooded area and vista, as this is what the photos implied. We were actually allocated a street facing room. Due to the short period of booking time, we understood, but perhaps more clarification needs to be given in the advertising. Inexperienced staff were left on reception and their lack of experience and knowledge of essential tourist information was a little frustrating for both parties. This led us to have to fend for ourselves in booking transport and tickets for the tourist sites in Sintra.

    Cleanliness. Location and local knowledge of some of the staff. The experienced staff were helpful and friendly in providing us with information, but the hotel does not seem geared up, in general, to cater for the demands comfortable in sightseeing. The evening staff’s friendliness and hospitality is commendable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on reception are young and inexperienced. They were pleasant but we never felt confident with them- would that taxi arrive; were the directions accurate. The staff in the restaurant are more experienced and it showed in how they went about their jobs. We had a lovely meal and the waiter was very informed.

    We liked the guest rooms which we used in the evening. We also enjoyed our balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing other than being closer to Lisbon so we could have stayed the extent of our visit.

    It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Lawrence's is at the top of the list in my hotel experience which I have to say is quite extensive. What a thoroughly lovely place it is..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor management and very tired facilities - needs a complete critical overhaul. Lots of tacky bits in the room. Very scruffy exterior and grounds a complete mess. Dull food and restaurant service. Inadequate staffing at breakfasts led to food running out and guests becoming quite irate.

    Polished wood floors and tiles. Some staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small, with a low ceiling. Also pricy but expected with the location and history of the hotel

    Huge bed and toilet (with bath). Lovely balcony in the room. Staff was really helpful, took photos of us and kept our bag after check out, which made a huge difference for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like (which was no fault of the hotel) was the change of traffic situation. We had Uber drivers who found it difficult to pick us up and drop us off. One day we went to Coba de Roca and called an Uber to take us back to the hotel. No fault of the driver but due to the road situations in front of the hotel, he had to drop us off almost 10 min from the hotel and it was raining. This should be no reflection on the hotel and everything else was so outstanding we welcomed the slight inconvenience!

    This hotel is amazing and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were very hospitable. The restaurant was very good and we really liked Marta who gave us many area tips and recommendations. She greeted us every day with a smile!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms in an elegant hotel with the friendliest staff imaginable. Genteel and charming with an impressive history. Wonderful views from our room as well. Sintra itself deserved more than the day and a half we spent there. Quinta da Regaleira was our favourite palace with its cheerful disregard for health and safety. Fantastic walk up the hill to Castelo dos Mouros and Pena too. Tuk tuk also a fun alternative to the bus. Loads of great places to eat in Sintra ... we liked Romaria de Baco just along from the hotel for tapas and Incomum for the most amazing menu. Great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion the only extremely minor detail missing that could have been improved to make the room perfect could have been some extra space such as a shelf for our personal items. There was almost no counter space in the bathroom and in the room itself. We stayed for 2 nights and found this to be problematic. The overall size of the room and bathroom were big enough to have something available to solve this minor detail.

    The location was fantastic being in the center of town within walking distance to the many places of interest. The breakfast was very complete, varied and fresh with definitely something for everyone. In addition the breakfast area was well lit with lots of windows and spacious thus making it a very pleasant area to enjoy breakfast and start the day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the restaurant.. it wasn't good at all

    Excellent location, friendly staff, the breakfast is good especially the fresh fruits.. but needs more options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated and no longer near a 5 star hotel. Cleanliness not up to to standard and some dodgy looks on certain electrical appliances in the bathroom.

    Location and environment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kettle in the bedroom, and some of the period features could be a little more well kept or modernised!

    The balcony over the garden is beautiful! Nice birds singing!! The hotel has period features that look charming!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not meet expectation as a 5-star rated property. There are only two roadside parking for the hotel guests which is inadequate for hotel guests. The reception is unimpressive and gives a feeling of a backpacker’s hostel.

    Very close to all the attractions at Sintra - you can walk to Sintra National Palace as well as Quinta de Regaliera. There is a bus stop 25m from the hotel. The beds were comfy and the staff (especially in the restaurant) tried to meet all the requests with a smiling face. Our room “Bellavista” had a great view and a cosy lounge area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit too firm. It was nor possible to change the temperature in the room... the heat was blasting or it was off. It certainly would have been more comfortable to be able to adjust.

    The charm of the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no heating in the room, and November is already pretty cold at night so I found it freezing. The staff is extremely junior and unprepared - they're not unkind don't get me wrong - it just feels like they haven't got a clue what a 5 star hotel's service should be. No frills and no facilities - certainly none of the perks that come with staying at a 5 star. The building is in need of some refurbishing and renovations.

    Its just okay and well located to walk around Sintra. By no means is it a 5 star, but then again hotel standards seem to be a problem throughout Portugal. The hotel is a 3 star, and should cost 40% less - on those conditions I would be a happy customer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room (Bela Vista) was extraordinary! The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast top quality. Location is perfect: one minute walk from city center!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok but the evening meal was average at best. Very expensive, with limited facilities.

    The staff were excellent and helped when we had a problem with the rental car. The location also excellent with fantastic views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service and food at the restaurant could have some improvement, with the hotel at this level and meal at the price level.

    It is a very charming historic hotel and the view from our room is incredible. It is at the edge of the town and a bit quiet. The staff at the reception desk is very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no easy parking till the evening. The breakfast was a bit poor and not nice for a 5 star hotel, ( no vegetables, not even one)

    It is a beautiful place. Very comfortable and near everything. We could walk almost to every place or had the bus station right outside. The staff was very helpfull and dinner was one of the best we ate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant staff was slow to replenish the complimentary breakfast trays of food so we ate the last bits of food that were left. Not a huge problem, but not the best customer service. We didn't even see a staff member until the end of our meal when he then brought us an additional breakfast menu of alternative dishes that we could special order.

    It is centrally located near the town center, plenty of restaurants, cafes and attractions. the property is gorgeous, but not modern which I think gives it it's own special charm. The surrounding area is lush with hills, greenery and cobblestone alleyways. It has a fairy tale type of feel to it. The reception staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked parking well in advance, when we arrived we were told that car parking could not be guaranteed. In fact, our car was parked on the curb throughout. The room service chRge of €10 was steep: I ended up getting takeaway for my husband who was unwell.

    The view from the room was lovely, the furnishings in the room and the lounge/library were charming. The location provided easy access to nearby sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was not what we expected from the hotel website and Booking.com. It was the most expensive room booked for our trip and intended as a little luxury. The room we were shown was barely big enough to contain a bed, chair and drawers - it was impossible for 2 people to move around the room at the same time. In effect, it was the same size as a room in the Douro valley we'd stayed 2 nights previous but three times more expensive. We were then given a larger room in a part restored building next door, a better room but we then had little experience of the hotel amenities or ambience.

    Some of the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small and difficult to squeeze round the four poster bed - especially at night in the dark. Plastic shower curtain.

    Comfortable bed, traditional decor, helpful and informative reception, friendly welcoming staff, choice of sitting rooms, proximity to town centre, wonderful monuments in Sintra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing.

    Amazingly competent, warm and professional staff. Glorious view. Great touches- decanter of port at the front desk. Wonderful little sitting rooms and library. 3 minute walk to main part of town. Our absolutely favorite place we stayed in Portugal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming, romantic, quiet and lovely staff. Terrific location near to town center but away from the crowds, peaceful, after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    small compfy but overpriced .great staff and great position but only 2 parking spots so book ahead.It was a nightmare traffic jam and always is so be prepared to sit in the traffic for 45 mins and travel 500 mtrs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend driving to this hotel in the summer. Parking is very limited, the streets are narrow and traffic is intense. Better to come via train and taxi. In the off season I would imagine that this would not be an issue.

    The hotel is beautifully kept and has tons of character. It bills itself as a historical facility and it lives up to the billing. The views of the greenery out back are lovely and the woodwork and tiling are first rate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little disorganised, they could do with putting on another staff member, but this is a minor complaint. The hotel is great.

    Wonderful hotel, so much character. The room was like a trip back in time, in a very good way. The view out to the forest was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly they could improve the lighting in the room. Air conditioner was a little noisy.

    Old world feel of the hotel added to the romance and ambience of the Sintra experience. Felt like you were part of the history of Sintra when staying at the Lawrence Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there were only 2 street parking places available for guests. External areas belonging to hotel were dirty, uncomfortable and frankly not as shown on the hotel's photos. The building suffers from the effects of damp and is in serious need of renovation.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant offered good food and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We chose Lawerence's to spend the first night after our wedding and we informed the staff about that. We were treated as kings, since the moment we arrived, saving us one of the 3 available free parking spots in front of the hotel (these are reserved to hotel guests, but there are only 3). We got a champagne bottle in our room with a very kind message. The breakfast is very complete and tasty. On the second night we tried the very famous restaurant and we were not disappointed, far from that. Good food and amazing service. The hotel in itself doesn't need many descriptions, just to say that the old and the new are coherently blended to provide maximum comfort. Amazing experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!!!'

    The staff, accomodations,, and breakfast were outstanding. From the moment that we arrived we loved it because Diego was very helpful and kind. It was our 1st night in Portugal and Diego, Carlos M. (In the dining room), and Carlos at the night desk made our stay one that we will never forget. They were exceptionally kind to us. We will never forget them. We also spent our last night in Portugal at this hotel. We had to leave early in the morning to get our plane home. When Carlos M. found out that we were leaving early, he had a breakfast tray delivered to our room. What a gentleman!! What great hospitality!! We just loved this hotel as well as Carlos, Diego, and Carlos at the night desk!!! They made our stay memorable for sure. Hopefully, someday we will return and we will certainly stay longer at Lawrence's. We loved the city of Sintra, too, but the staff at Lawrence's made our stay extra special. Thank you!!'

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar service could have been a little bit more accessible. Also, we only stayed one day, which is not enough to absorb the intrinsic beauty of the facility.

    The Old-World ambience and front desk personnel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel couldn't have been more perfect for our stay, and we felt so lucky to have gotten a room here, especially as there are only 10 or 11 or so. It's the oldest hotel in Portugal and the second oldest in Europe but it doesn't feel old at all - it just feels very magical and historical and is very well maintained. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was incredibly helpful with everything from scooter rentals, train times, restaurants and more. They were so lovely and pleasant throughout our whole stay. We stayed in the William Bedford room on the 4th floor with garden views. While I didn't see the other rooms, I was told this was the best one - which is precisely why I requested it. We had a king sized bed with 4 tall wooden poles (romantic!) with a firm ish mattress and extraordinarily comfortable high quality pillows. Three charming windows opened up to garden and mountain views. It was very quiet at night and we slept well. The location was perfect as well - just 3 minutes walking distance to the heart of the town and at the bottom of the hill that leads up to most tourist attractions like Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. For us, it was perfect because it was incredibly accessible for restaurants and town but being IN town would have likely been very loud and hard to sleep so we were happy to be in this location. Also, the breakfast is included and is really delicious. Some of the best scrambled eggs I've had at at hotel breakfast. Overall, I'd rate this hotel 10/10 stars!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. We were treated like Royalty!!

    Beautiful old Hotel, huge room, upgraded to suite. Restaurant was wonderful, we were well looked after. Walking distance to/from spectacular sights. Very lucky to secure one of two parking spots available out front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been the icing on the cake if there had been a small pool

    This is a very convenient hotel with a huge history and a lovely elegance. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast selection would take some beating. The staff were attentive and friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable. We were lucky enough it get one of the 2 parking spaces outside which were really convenient. Fully recommend and would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food prepared by the restaurant was excellent. The management and staff were incredibly helpful when the airline lost our luggage. They helped us retrieve some of it and helped us replace prescription medications locally. They could not have been more kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor in the dining room a little 'tired'

    An elegant historical building, with light, airy bedrooms and attentive staff. Situated in the heart of Sintra, within walking distance of most attractions. Excellent breakfast included, lunch and dinner both available in the hotel restaurant or bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy when the plumbing was being used. Floors old and lovely to look at but noisy to walk on as they squeak a lot. Needs an update and a coat of paint in parts. Restaurant underused

    liked the terraces on which to have breakfast and the breakfast was good. Nice view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is limited parking close by. You can park in a public car park way down the hill. At least it's free.

    Good location to walk to sights and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general ambience was very old worldy! The furnishings in the room/s were beautiful and our own room with a balcony and a view of nothing but huge, lush trees was amazing. The dinner at the restaurant was very good. A quiet haven!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Painfully outdated facilities, old bed that screams of replacement, tough parking (though it applies for Sintra in general).

    Great location, old-fashion vibe of the property

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not so stellar, need improvement in this area.

    Excellent location, close to everything - a real nexus. This is a place to go if you want to stay in Porto, the staff is extremely courteous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appallling bed - cheap mattress. Poor water pressure in shower. Bulbs gone in bathroom - not replaced even though reqested. Gloomy interior.

    Amazing breakfast, though service slow Great views, beauitiful decor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better than this inn. We parked directly in front. Admittedly, we were lucky, only a few free places available because of the topography of Sintra.

    Brugges, Cologny, Ravenna, Nemi, Elefsinia (not to mention great cities like London, Milan, Venice), so many places we've visited where Byron preceded us. In Sintra, at Lawrence's, we actually had the rooms he stayed in with John Cam Hobhouse in 1809. Delightful hotel. Gracious staff. Excellent kitchen. All the charm of a more romantic era and the efficiency of the digital age. The room next to our own suite was the William Beckford room, where that Gothic fantasist once sojourned. The sounds of a nearby waterfall and birdsongs were just sufficiently in the background to be soothing. Initiation at the Quinta Regaleira is just a few minute walk away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities including furniture, etc need repairs and renovation; our room "Monte da Lua" was next to the machinery that made a lot of noise in the bathroom; for the money and history of the place we expected a lot more. Restaurant food is completely far from what you expect these days - the name and description of the dishes are relevant due to the history of the place but the execution is quite frankly bad.

    The staff is friendly, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly not really a five-star hotel level, but you forgive it all for the things below👇🏼 and the price is reasonable

    The best location, cozy atmosphere, friendly and helpful stuff, breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 5 star hotel!! No room service, no bath robe, no mini bar!! Not at all what you would expect! No parking! No pool.

    It's a great manner house in Sintra small and cosy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was very firm and would be improved with a mattress topper. The sheets were very thin for a 5 star rated hotel.

    The ambience of this hotel is wonderful and it is a beautiful building with terraces to sit on for meals or coffee and lovely sitting rooms. The furnishings and decor are very attractive and the staff were very caring and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The charm of the hotel in the historical center of Sintra. We loved the views, the size of the room. It was a comfortable stay; the food was very good, the staff was very helpful, it was quiet. Each room had a distinct personality and feeling to it, not a boxed room as in larger hotels. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't nice at all, the hotel number does not work and the staff don't answer the emails. I couldn't ask for some things befrore my arrived because of this

    The room was wonderful, very nice decoration, with a wonderful calm view over Sintra

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was older, cheap and thin. Sheets where threadbare and pillows of lowest quality. Room smelt badly of cigarette smoke and day bed in sitting room badly worn and stained.

    Great view and location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't think of anything.

    Service was outstanding. Great rooms great view, reasonable prices. Very comfortable. Love the history. Obrigado Lawrence's! We can't wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Gorgeous room, we felt like ladies of the manor in this wonderful old house with its delightful hidden nooks and dreamy views. Staff were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast was wondrous, heaps of fresh exotic fruits.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We think perhaps the restaurant is over-rated; the food could be a tiny bit more modern.

    Our room, facing away from the road, had a small balcony in the treetops. We awoke to the songs of birds in a semitropical forest. The front desk could not have been more helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a longish walk from the railway station. It would be helpful to provide incoming guests with details (walking or bus) of how to get to the hotel from the station

    Great location very short distance from centre and on bus route for castle and palaces. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom toilet seemed to be leeking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room could have been larger. products in room not changed daily

    the ambience, the breakfast, the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice

    Beautiful hotel, nice views , great location. Charming, with a poetic flavour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 4* hotel at best

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Orange juice could have been sweater..

    The rooms, the attitude, the service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in a historic hotel with a lot of charm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rubbish, with rotten milk in my cappuccino and pastries that had been left out for what felt like a couple of days

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort staff friendliness

    Room size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, comfort of the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, great staff. Historical yet cozy. Feels like home away from home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Some rooms are larger than others but all are very comfortable and beautiful. We had 3 rooms with adults in all rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, old world charm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location; historic building and nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a little tatty. For example, tears in sofa, stained.

    The location. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over priced food. The rooms were also quite pricey for what you get

    The room was quite large Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely character filled old hotel near the heart of Sintra. The restaurant is great too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room needs freshening up.

    Staff were so helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff and the room with the view we got.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: