Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Norte Region hotel reviews
  4. Porto hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Maison Albar Hotels Le Monumental Palace

Reviews of Maison Albar Hotels Le Monumental Palace This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

151 Avenida dos Aliados, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-196 Porto, Portugal

#4 of 169 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    Nice staff. Recommended restaurants. I forgot my passport in the safe and called them. They had them at reception waiting for me so I am not delayed to the train station. Very spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with only a few small teething issues to iron out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some teething issues but staff willing to fix them Gurgly filter in spa swimming pool - a design fault? Excellent breakfast ingredients but variety is broader in other similar hotels

    Rooms finished to a very high standard They offered us an upgrade on our special date Staff very pleasant Took feedback onboard

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    10
    Elegance and beauty in a charming hotel in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish every time I 'd stay in a hotel I'd be able to have breakfast like we had in Le Monumental Palace. The variety and display of food, the professionalism of service and the elegant decor, yet relaxed, was just superb.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    9.6
    Porto is a delightful destination and should not be missed if visiting Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    This hotel has had a recent major refurb and the standard of finishes in our room was excellent as was the comfort. It is easy to reach if travelling by car and although a reasonable walk from the river, the hop-on, hop-off buses and historic tram service are very close. Breakfast was extensive if a bit pricey.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    7.1
    Hotel itself was just amazing, location was perfect, rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was probably the most unprofessional and really Not on the level of a five star hotel!!! Called reception for 50 mins to get room service, only could get through when I went there! It’s common practice to wait for tea or eggs at breakfast for 30 mins there... we had a small child and they just called us in the middle of the night wake everyone up just by mistake... They should really change management there cause everything else is just amazing.

    Hotel itself was just amazing, location was perfect, rooms were spacious and clean. Design of that place is very pleasing!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is incredible nice and helpfull. The spa is simply amazing, as the restaurant and the food. It is highly recommendable to spend time with partners or even with friends.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    10
    FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fantastic breakfast and great STAFF, the great location, … the spa wellness area and the fantastic massage done by the very Professional Rita. I hope to have soon new Opportunity to come back to enjoy further this fantastic real Palace!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    7.1
    Traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a five star hotel I was very disappointed with the replenishing of items in the room and cleaning of the rooms. We arrived and had wine glasses available, water glasses with the complimentary water and 2 coffee/tea cups and 2 espresso cups. Looked great, room was beautiful. We had room service for breakfast..... we used the round table to have our breakfast after they cleaned the room they didn’t even wipe down the table the table or the coffee table where they have the espresso machine. They didn’t replace cups and glasses or coffee in the room and toilet paper. I did go to reception and let them know all of this. The fact that I also had to ask for toilet paper and for them to please empty the garbage can in the toilet room was embarrassing especially when your doing it at the reception and the person is writing that all down and said they would take care of it right away. I was visiting my sister and her son during my stay in Porto. We went out for a couple of hours then came back to the room to find it exactly the same except that they refilled the coffee ....nothing else. I was very unhappy with the service at that point. I actually had to call for toilet paper to be brought up to my room the next morning. But what disappointed me the most was that I spoke with a person face to face and they wrote down my requests ....my sister was present. She heard the conversation and saw them taking notes When we came back to the room we were even more disappointed with the hotel and the service. This is unacceptable at a 5 star hotel. You can have the most beautiful and lavish hotel but the key is service!

    It was a very beautiful hotel with all the amenities ....spa, pool, cafe and restaurants. Staff was very nice. Spa staff were amazing and very professional.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    9.5
    Great hotel - expensive so save for special occasions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They wanted to charge 3 euros for milk for tea! But on checkout the receptionist took the charge off without being asked to. They were doing a brunch being Easter Sunday but at 65 euros each bit steep

    It’s a new hotel and looks it. The staff were very helpful - carrying luggage etc. The room was lovely great bathroom although no bath in our one

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    Great location, excellent quality across the board and the friendliest and most helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to complain about.

    We just spent three days in Porto and we can't say enough about our stay at Maison Albar. Upon checking in, we found the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and just as important, had a great sense of humor. The staff at both the Cafe, where we had dinner twice (some really inclement weather during our stay), as well as the staff at breakfast where great! They had some great recommendations, were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. The accommodations themselves were of the highest quality. The evening turn-down service is always a nice added touch. My wife also raved that the massage she had was one of the best she's ever experienced. As for the location, it is a short walking distance to the Ribeira area, but avoids being completely swarmed with tourists itself. We will definitely be back to Porto and will make it a priority to stay at Maison Albar.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    7.5
    Fabulous hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a great location and the hotel itself is excellent. The accommodations could not be better. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can walk easily to all the major tourist sites and to the river. I wish we had booked more nights at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    9.6
    A great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast tea not English and too week. Try twinnings or Fortnums Also the Streamed music in bars and restaurants didn’t fit ambience also not good enough quality too Poppy. Try WestOne Music library for more up market sounds, classical, jazz modern chill. Facilities for making drinks need fresh milk in fridge more coffee and tea bags.

    The location was excellent. Staff and accommodation excellent

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    10
    New level of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NOTHING

    Absolutely new level of luxury! retro mood in proper way, every little part of the hotel was much more than expected! Definitely would visit again and would suggest to my friends

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.2
    Beautifully renovated historical building with great design...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Complimentary water should be provided every day not just upon arrival.

    Beautifully renovated historical building with great design throughout the hotel. Swimming pool area is gorgeous. Great central location close to all amenities.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    9.6
    Fantastic, we would definitely stay again x
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All of the staff in the hotel were exceptional, friendly, helpful and ensured we were well looked after at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast each morning where the atmosphere was relaxed, the selection excellent and the staff second to none.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like to present cheese and meet in the same plate ,

    good breakfast but need to add little bit more things like variety of cheese , people in reception most of them are welcome people

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Fantastic hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only recently open; finished to a high standard. Excellent location, central to everything. Very helpful and attentive staff. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great property with some small improvement opportunities that are normal given that it just opened.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is not at the level you’d expect from this type of hotel

    The facilities are exceptional: very well decorated and clean. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything impeccable

    Amazing and stylish decoration, very nice and friendly staff. The american bar and restaurants are super good, the pool and spa are incredible. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2019

    10
    one of the best Location and interior design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    welcoming

    design, comfort and location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    10
    What a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is a total gem. Great value, amazing service. Really exceptional people. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location Wonderful staff Very comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    9.6
    Great rooms, lovely staff, small but very nice indoor pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great rooms, lovely staff, small but very nice indoor pool, delicious breakfast and even more delicious dinner at their high end restaurant

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sheer luxury. Staff very friendly and helpful. A very relaxing

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    10
    Hotel made my stay in Porto even more memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really WiFi in my room would drop off from time to time

    Great location beautiful rooms with extremely high ceilings - fantastic bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    10
    The hotel haz personality and StyleWriter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be more diverse

    The hotel haz personality and StyleWriter

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little pricey

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to not like

    The staff, restaurant, location and all the facilities of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location Clean Confortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Facilities excellent. Great location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    10
    Fabulous, glamorous and the spa is to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No milk with the coffee in our room.

    One of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    10
    Perfect in every sense. Location. Luxury. Staff. Room. Massage at Nuxe spa. Food. A real 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfection ! Newly opened hôtel in a renovated palace. Everything is outstanding. A real 5 stars Palace.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    10
    Excellent friendly service from all staff. Lovely suite. Excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good wine advice. Prompt and informative service. Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Every thing was perfect and we were so happy during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the Pillows was not good

    Every thing was Expected

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    9.2
    Staff service was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Staff service was outstanding. Room was beautiful, clean and well appointed. Excellent in all ways.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Very good location, amenities, service and overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Very good location, amenities, service and overall facilities. Fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    It was greatly located and the staff was welcoming and...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was greatly located and the staff was welcoming and helpfull

    Stayed in November 2018

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!