Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lince Madeira Lido Atlantic Great Hotel 4 stars

Estrada Monumental, 274, Sao Martinho, 9000-100 Funchal, Portugal

#45 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Internet connection is disaster, rooms (esp. furniture) need to be refurbished. Hallways rugs were refurbished (rugs were in awful condition) during our stay. TV is too small for the room size, faucet in bathroom should be changed.

    Rooms are spacious, the balcony had a great view. Staff is warm and helpful, breakfast OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice hotel, modern and comfortable. Good value for money ( we were in February there, out of main seasons) .Helpfull staff. Nice view from the swimming pool. Easy to come to the hotel , it is on the main road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Maybe heated pool but it was only February.

    Excellent value for money. We had friends in other hotels who paid a lot more for similar facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the fact that was near everything that i neede I have stayed there lots of times and have always enjoyed and the fact that they keep the same staff is very good it means a lot for the guests And the patrons

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in a kind of "tourist zone" of the city, along with a lot of other big hotels, tourist restaurants and other facilities. For some people, this will be an advantage, but we didn't like it much. At least it was convenient, with regular buses to the city centre from right outside the hotel.

    Very comfortable hotel, much nicer than more expensive hotels we've stayed at elsewhere. WiFi worked well, and there was secure underground parking (it's €6 a day, but worth it because parking is pretty difficult in this area). Staff were pleasant, the lobby was comfortable to sit in, and the room was great. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    During night time the busses are very noisy down on the street. Dogs are barking all night long like at many places in Funchal.

    Great, cosy lobby and swimming pool on one roof of the building (Level 4). Very nice reception staff especially helping you to bypass waiting times. A power plug is available very close to the lobby sofas. Medium size balcony is absolutely sufficient with a table an a very nice partial Sea view (room 408). Very good value for money rate. Very close to nice touristic restaurants - one with live music (called Taxiko with a live saxophone player).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wasn't really keen on the breakfast. Not a large amount of choice. However, the custard tarts were delicious :-) Also the TV in the bedroom was really small and hard to see, but if you are on holiday you don't really want to be staying in watching it anyway, so it wasn't a major disadvantage.

    We had a long weekend at this hotel. We got there and was put in a superior room with a sea view and pool view. The room was gorgeous. The staff were friendly and caring. The hotel is also in a great location. Its near to local amenities and bus routes are on your doorstep. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have had more time to stay longer. Funchal and Isla da Madeira are worth a longer visit.

    I'm vegetarian. Breakfast was very good. We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel was very adequate, spacious, clean and in a very accessible and very good location. Very helpful and courteous staff. Great view from our room to the ocean. Quiet at night so we could sleep well. We highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would make it even better.

    Excellent staff, view from the pool was outstanding. Lovely area with lots of good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work opposite but not unreasonable times of day.

    Good room size. Bed a bit lumpy but hotel happy to provide a spare duvet to put on top of mattress Also more than happy to give us a kettle and a tea tray. I found if you asked with a smile, you got a smile and a quick helpful response back! We expected a busy location with traffic noise but good central location suited us Pool terrace and bar relaxing and service good. We got a birthday bottle of bubbles, like others have mentioned, nice touch. Tour buses being right opposite was great Yellow bus 5 day ticket was worth it for getting around. Don’t miss restaurants down by the lido or the walk along the coast path.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The room was very big, clean and quiet, with comfortable bed. The hotel is 20-30 min distance from the city center by foot. The Aeroexpress bus stop is just in front of the hotel !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Aircon only goes down to 17, which we would have preferred to be able to go lower as sometimes room was alittle too warm

    Room 608 Double with Balcony & Sea View I would suggest paying extra for this room (I think they have another 2 also like this) as they have a huge terrace with 2 sunloungers & table & 2 chairs & then views are lovely out to sea, & have the sun all day. Also right next to many restaurants, local bus stop & supermarket & also stop for tourist hop on off bus & car hire company

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Definitely not a 4-star hotel. The hotel hadn't been properly renovated in ages. The breakfast wasn't fresh. The pillows were small and bumpy and when we asked for better ones the staff brought us more equally small& bumpy pillows. The safe didn't work (low battery) but it took them one full day to fix it. For every request we needed to ask them twice, as they simply forgot it the first time. One quiet afternoon we heard a mouse eating the wall. Creepy.

    The room was quiet and the hotel in excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were amazed with the service of the hotel. It was very clean and tidy, the breakfast was very good and all the facilities were easy to find. We are very grateful for Alcino, a member of the staff, who helped us from day one. He gave us lots of information about the island, places to go, things to see and try. Everything was wonderful! We will definitely go back there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv screen too small. No coffee/tea facilities in room. Unfortunately hotel next door being refurbed so we had jack hammers going all week.

    Good location easy bus ride to old town. An enormous sea view room (507). Helpful & friendly staff. Surrounded by good restaurants. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if Booking.com got the booking right. I searched & thought I booked a room for 2 adults & 1 child. When got to hotel they were told just 2 adults. The hotel was very accommodating but due to us arriving late the staff couldn't sort the extra bed out until following day, and we only stayed 2 nights. Not the hotels fault. Searching criteria isn't carried through to room selection, so worth double checking.

    Excellent breakfast selection. Light and airy restaurant. Fabulous views. Friendly staff. Allowed to leave room late at no extra charge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The chairs, they had hardly gone to sell at a second hand shop because they were so dirty.

    Clean bathrooms and clean linen. Nice seaview. Good breakfest.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room did not look like the website photos. The bathroom had a bad smell from the sink & needed updating.

    The cleanliness was good, the bed comfortable, breakfast nice,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bedding was very poor, sheets too small to tuck in and pillows barely gave any support gym was a laugh, size of a domestic garage with no mat for floor work

    On the shoulder of the season, the pool terrace was fab, attendance at the bar was easily achieved and the drinks available not bad. For us the location was perfect, we do not mind traffic noise provided we have air conditioning and can shut the noise out at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never shut the windows as prefer fresh air to A/C but very noisy at night time and we were on the 6th floor.

    Perfectly place to reach both the lido and old town either on foot or the bus which stopped opersite the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and noisy place. For the money we have paid absolute disaster. Very uncomfortable beds.Advertising a roof top pool is like a jacuzzi. Very disappointed. Will never recommended or stay there again. It is noting great in the hotel as the name is saying.

    Nothing.......

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First impressions: Receptions area very smart, but corridor carpets are very shabby and looks dirty.

    Staff at all times very friendly and helpful, breakfast well presented and plentiful. Good size bedrooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dinner was meagre ,not good value ; in particular the skewered steak was tough almost impossible to remove from skewer and with perseverance partly edible. On the bright side the cooked breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.

    The biggest tribute is to the staff; all whom went out of their way to make one comfortable and welcome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The poor cleanliness, bathroom,tiles, no toilet brush, shower curtain had hairs on and was filthy. the sea view that we booked and did not get until the 6 day. The noise levels at night were very loud. The breakfasts, eggs and bacon dripping in fat and not clearing the tables. Never enough, plates, cups or dishes, or coffee. The carpets through out the hotel were dreadful and stains everywhere. The hotel had a 4* rating this was defiantly not the case and not worthy of 4* only 3 at a push! The manager eventually did apologise and put us in another room. We defiantly will not be going back. It spoilt our holiday in Madeira.

    The third room they gave us after complaining about not being given the room we had booked and paid for after 6 days!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be softer. breakfast staff could be more engaging. Quality of breafast food was poor. Coffee and tea poor. Eggs poor. Constantly running out of food. No coffee or tea in rooms. Furniture in reception was in very poor condition, ripped and worn.

    Room 507 was far better than we expected. Great balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from pool was the only advantage to this hotel... The staff rarely greeted you/ the fridge didn't work/ the breakfast was nearly the same each day, the cleaning lady didn't show up one day, ... Forget about requesting a late check out, ALSO, I alerted the hotel that we were coming to celebrate my husbands birthday... But there was no reference to it (usually a hotel sends up AT Least a bowl of fruit, SOMething)... Also: nearly an hours walk into the center

    The view of the sea from pool , and AC in room worked well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only thing I would have liked to have seen is tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom as standard. They can be requested.

    We went for a room with a large balcony overlooking the sea. Well worth spending the extra money. Large bedroom, comfortable bed and very clean. Excellent choice for breakfast. Loved the location. So close to the sea and surrounded by some good restaurants and mini supermarkets. The staff speak good English and could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked better toiletries, a more comfortable bed (it was very hard), newer towels and changed when required ( they were fairly old and a couple of times I had to phone reception to get clean ones). Real cornflakes would have been nice instead of those cardboard things!! And better coffee. The coffee was terrible. Room was expensive perhaps due to size and view. The hotel is situated at a busy intersection and care was needed crossing over the pedestrian crossings as some cars seemed to ignore them! This hotel just misses being four star in certain ways.

    Room and balcony were very large and the view was lovely. Fairly quiet and clean. Staff polite and very helpful. Pool terrace was quiet but there was no one at the pool bar if you wanted a drink at least when we were there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music and cocktails by pool at night would have been nice..... And c above

    Strange noises from 3-4.30 in early hours, plumbing of some sort, anyway this woke us both up every morning. We rayed on 6 the floor The staff and cleanliness was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Car parking is secure and located under the hotel €6 per day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked tea and coffee facilities in room. Pool bar and lounge bar were not always staffed.

    Great staff. Always happy to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind!

    Staff were excellent. Room was great, location perfect, parking easy, convenient & secure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded so had a lovely suite. Staff were good. Breakfast was okay but not as good as expected

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its hard to park the car near the hotel

    Really enjoyed the nice variety on the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and modern. Loved the roof top terrace, pool and bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fair and adequate breakfast did not try any other meals . Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location easy access to town centre lots of restaurants...great views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    all was fine. Also the location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small wash cloths. Dirty carpets in hallways

    3 desk clerk Alison,Susan,& Brian were very helpful & please.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small options in the breakfast for vegetarians

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary upgrade to a corner suite and friendly reception staff. Big desk to work from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , for the price paid

    The lifts work well, the breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    pillows

    large balcony, view. location on bus route

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could be more clean. The breakfast is not compatible with a four star hotel.

    Excellent staff, very helpfull and smily.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym very small

    Pastel de nata !! Lovely !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the passage looked terrible no kettle to boil water .

    Well located helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 beds instead of one

    Personnel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Croisants at the breakfast were not really tasty.

    Location! A great view, spacious room, good bed and good internet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not in city center no sea view no mini bar (only an empty fridge)

    swimming pool area free parking wifi breakfast staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - minibar didn´t work - table in the room was old and wet (minibar)

    The hotel is near from the city and ocean. Personnel is very friendly a helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast here (we have stayed many times) is always very poor because of very limited choice and poor quality. Better to not bother and go somewhere local for breakfast.

    Great location, helpful staff, reliable wifi service.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Couple

    bits of mould between the tiles in the bathroom-but it is quite common to vast majority hotel rooms in entire Southern Europe.

    Whoever remembered to send a complimentary bottle of champagne (my fiancee's B day)to our room-we wish you everything,all the best that life could bring.we were just lost for words. Regards, Allanah&Gerome

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was a little spotty in the top corner room that I was occupying, but was solid throughout the rest of the hotel.

    The STAFF!! I was traveling for my birthday and they surprised me with a card and bottle of bubbly in my room. The room (suite) was spacious and had an excellent view of the ocean, even though there was some obstruction from the hotel next door. Breakfast was delicious, there was variation, and it was FREE. The pool area was a little small, which I imagine is busy during peak season, but it was relaxing and had a great view. The lobby bar was fantastic! The bartenders were attentive and the prices were reasonable. The area is a little chaotic, so the FREE underground parking garage was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is far from the centre, which necessitated using taxis every time we went to town. The staff was not very knowledgeable: we were given wrong information on opening hours of musea, the receptionist did not know where a nearby shopping centre was located, and another receptionist gave us erroneous information about the location of the stop of a hop-on-hop-off tour bus, the tickets for which we bought at the reception, The first two days we did not get more soap in addition to what we found upon arrival, and we had to ask for it.

    Staff was very friendly. The rooms (we were upgraded to a suite) - clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have coffee and tea making facilities and an iron too.

    Had a fantastic room with private balcony overlooking the sea. The location is great and the staff very friendly. Good selection of food for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to do like on this visit, will be returning soon and often if it stays like this.

    Great service from the reception and housekeeping staff and a fantastic room with great views. Excellent location for walking into Funchal and local nightlife and restaurants, free secure underground parking too.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is very forthcoming and truly service minded. Balance between price and quality is what people like us (retired and very active) are looking for. It made our vacation very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As i said its a plesure to stay there Its situated wher i like And is surrouned with everything i Need.

    Bed and bed limen. could ..do with softer pillows stil fantastic. i always enjoy my stays at the lince .

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff are great, very helpful. Lovely breakfast, good location for getting bus into centre, or about 30 mins walk. Shops and restaurants nearby. Clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from center along high-traffic road. No kettle / tea / coffee in the room (boiled water may be asked in the bar). Water in the pool is cold.

    Helpful staff, solid breakfasts, fast and stable wifi, garage, pool area on the 4-th floor with a nice view (good for sunset), small gym, Pingo Doce supermarket nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it's on a busy road it could be a little noisy at times - but you will pay more for the hotels away from the road

    Good sized room at a good price

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are not very comfortable especially the pillows It is on a noisy main road which some people may not like but soundproofing is very good and air con works so just keep balcony shut at night.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Large airy rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel location was great, just 20mins walk from the city centre, and loads of local shops, cafe's and restaurants near by. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and the room was spotless. We will definitely be booking again.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hall carpets appalling . Beds not very comfortable. Thin pillows and horrible waterproof mattress protector. No kettle/ cups in room but they will provide a flask of hot water if required.

    Large clean apartments.fridge in room. Good location ( although on a main road so some may find it noisy) .breakfast was good. Reception staff excellent. Very good value

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noise ( even with the balcony door closed), the cleaning staff didn't do his job. The fridge didn't work ( talked with a person from staff but they forgot about my problem).

    Great location, big rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave the island.

    The room was first class with views, location, facilities and staff all superb. The food was excellent, breakfast was amazing with the different choices, and the pool and bar also very good.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The NOISE. Even though I scored the hotel high I would not return on this basis. Impossible to leave window open at night. The traffic never stops. We had to sleep with balcony window closed and a/c on- if this doesnt bother you stay here. Ask for extra pillows. Possibly the worst I have ever had.

    The position is very good. Handy for everything. Clean. Excellent wifi. Friendly staff.Simple adequate breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very hard. The room was equipped with Kettle, cups etc, and sugar - but no tea coffee or milk. The glass panel between the kitchenette and sitting area would have been unsafe for children.

    A well appointed "penthouse" suite on the 7th floor. Good facilities in Hotel. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -traffic noise. -We found the bed to be to hard and the pillows were so thin as to be worse than useles and not comfortable -room not clean good

    location, free parking and good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has great location - surrounded by many restaurants. Taxi rank, bus stop and city tour buses stop just on the opposite side of the street. Hertz, Avis and other car rentals as well. The same for tour offices offering plenty of trips and attractions. (Personally I recommend cruise on catamaran to see the dolphins :) Walking distance (approx. 20min) to old part of Funchal but there is nice stop-by on the way for coffee and delicious Portuguese nata cakes in "A Confeitaria" :) Nice ocean view from the swimming pool on the roof of the hotel. Modern and clean rooms. Free Wi-Fi Internet access in the room and also from a desktop PC in the lobby. Free underground car park available straight from the hotel by lift (floor -1 and -2). Good selection of food for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were very helpful and polite to the guests.The meal Breakfast was very good lot of choices you could have.Good location for buses into town. Very good value for B&B. Good swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    taxi from airport rip off....

    all of it. this island is very sophisticated, up market and made for the over 40s.....good prices all round.. nice weather....

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Unreliable internet. Very bad coffee at breakfast.

    Location convenient ... near supermarkets, restaurants and the ocean. Town centre 2-3km walk away. Fresh fruit selection and pastry ar breakfast.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lince Madeira Lido Atlantic Great Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: