Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lutecia Smart Design Hotel 4 stars

Av Frei Miguel Contreiras 52, Alvalade, 1749-086 Lisbon, Portugal

#199 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2223 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to make a cup of tea. No free tea or coffee facilities. The breakfast box was poor (had to check out before breakfast was available and having paid for a normal breakfast).

    Breakfast was very good. Room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Close to everything, great staff and great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendliness of the staff and nicely decorated hotel. Very comfortable and quiet. I would like to thank the lady at the reception who arranged early check-in after we had a horrible morning and needed some rest. Thanks to you we had a really great rest, specially my 2yo girl who was really tired

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive for what they offer, description of facilities doesn't match the actual reality of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They stated to have a spa in the description, once arrived there they told us that the only thing available booking a massage, which it would not have been available anyway due to weekends. The room wasn't the one we requested for. twin beds instead of doubles. They changed us for one with doubles but without balcony. Letting us choose only between the two. No partial refund for the booking despite we specifically requested and paid for the balcony and double room and spa.

    The breakfast was pretty good. And the receptionist tried his best to suit our request. But still not enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly good stay for the airport .
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restuarant in the hotel was overpriced for the food we received. They would get more people in if they lowered the prices.

    Price, location and access to early morning flight

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.6
    Ok place - could do a bit better on cleanliness and upkeep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain staff lacked basic front office/hotel management skills. The senior members of staff in the restaurant seem abrupt and impolite & as I have mentioned earlier the male member of staff on the front desk/concierge were very professional and polite, can’t say the same about the female member of staff. The Cleanness of the rooms was very poor. The carpets near and under the beds need a proper cleaning. I could highlight a few other things but they all relate to the basic cleanliness of the suites.

    The “male”staff in the front office extremely helpful however the female staff in the front office couldn’t care less. The food in the restaurant was fair. The Indian cuisine was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel if you need something near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast!! Room was also very quiet and the bed was super comfortable. It was a quick overnight stay for me so not much interaction, but would stay here again. I took an Uber here and it was under 5 euros.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Not worth 4 stars and too expensive for what is offered.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would not have given this hotel 4 stars. Rooms are ok and spacious, but a little bit outdated. Especially the bathroom needs renovation desperately with transparent shower curtains and amateur kit work on the edges of the shower and bath. Public areas (bar, restaurant) don't feel cozy and are in general too small. Hotel is ok, but not worth 4 stars and way too expensive for what is offered.

    Spacious rooms and really great, comfortable and big bed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    conveniente e próximo do aeroporto
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pelo preço, a diária poderia incluir café da manhã. For the price, the daily could include breakfast.

    Proximidade do aeroporto, conforto e limpeza. Proximity to the airport, comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    A good value buy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here on our last night in Lisbon to be closer to the airport. A nice hotel with large clean rooms. A short walk meant we found nice restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel close to good restaurants and the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but we were lucky to find street park in front of the hotel. In Lisbon parking is hard to come by.

    Rooms were bright, clean and smelled fresh. Towels were white and soft. I am travelling with 3 children, 3rd bed was brought to our room soon after we checked in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    very nice for a hotel near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast had a wide selection but the quality of the food could be better. Processed junk

    Very close to airport, friendly professional staff and clean comfortable room. Restaurants and shops near by

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pretty boutique hotel with modern rooms. Near airport and next to Roma metro for exploring
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More staff available at front desk when busy to answer quick questions...checking people in takes a long time and would be helpful to have a concierge

    Super clean and modern property with small cafe in lobby. Staff was very helpful during the day and the shuttle bus driver was excellent in meeting me at airport with a sign for a late arrival. The housekeeping staff were very helpful and the cafe in lobby staff was courteous and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Was short and good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the corredor it is extremely dirty , no avaible fridge or easy access.

    I love the fact that I could work in computer free of charge , the girl that checked me in was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great rooms, accommodating employees, clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very accommodating and pleasant staff. Large, clean and renovated rooms, close to the subway station and easy to get around. AC is in the room which was a bonus. Very positive experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    A good if unremarkable hotel with an unusual restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints.

    It is a fully modern hotel, within walking distance of the Gulbenkian Collection and close to a subway station for the trip downtown (also within long walking distance), as well as only a short taxi ride from the airport. The highlight is the restaurant, with both Portuguese and Indian menus (and a Portuguese and an Indian chef). We ordered from the Indian menu and it was excellent. There is a good coffee bar in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Good location: near metro stop Roma and the airport (about 10 minutes by car/taxi) - Very spacious rooms - 24h reception, so very convenient if you have a late or very early flight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose a hotel that listed having a shuttle service to the airport as I was travelling with just my daughter and had a very early flight and wanted to make things as easy as possibly. When we checked in I asked how often it ran. They said it didn’t... you had to call reception and book and that a private car would come. I was then told it was 25 euros when a taxi is advertised on their in-house TV channel as 10 euros to the airport. This is completely misleading and we would never have stayed there. The staff have clearly heard it all before as they were extremely rude and dismissive. This hotel does not have an airport shuttle service as stated and they try to charge 15 euros more than a taxi would cost. Outrageous and I don’t know how these companies get away with it.

    I could open the bedroom window which let out the stale smell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint would be that there is no hotel parking. You must either meter park outside the hotel or there is a underground garage 2 blocks away.

    We have stayed in this hotel in the past and we have no complaints. The staff are very friendly the beds are comfortable and the hotel is super clean. Breakfast in the morning is excellent much better and a bigger variety then a lot of other hotels we have stayed in. Also the metro is located a couple blocks up the street. This is our go to hotel when in Lisbon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Lisbon hotel close to airport and trains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread had limited options, basic fare. Music was playing through the hallways, loud enough to be heard in the room.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and professional. The location was great, right in front of a train station and close to where I needed to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous room, super clean hotel, and we enjoyed our short stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk clerk seemed a little brusque. Maybe it was because we are English speakers, but she seemed to talk very fast.

    Bed was super comfy. Nice location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    No common areas;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No common areas; no parking neither in the hotel neither in the surroundings; poor quality and short variety breakfast; breakfast room tables no clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    - The mattress was very good (firm and comfortable)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The hotel is located near a train station (which can be noisy, especially is you are a light sleeper) and near a gas station. The area where the hotel is located looks more like an industrial area than a touristic one. - The personnel at the reception was very slow and quite unprofessional. There were four people behind the reception desk, but only one was actually checking people it/out. When it was our turn to do the check in, the guy at the reception kept talking to his others colleagues about totally other topics and was paying more attention (ear dropping) to a tense conversation that a hotel guest was having to one of his colleagues than to our check-in arrangements. It took at least four times as long to do the check-in, as it should have taken. Also, there was no smiling involved. - The safe in the room was locked. Also, the bathroom door lock was installed the other way around, meaning that you could have locked the bathroom only from within the room.

    - The mattress was very good (firm and comfortable) - The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location with lovely staff making a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback of the property is the cost which means it will never be ‘value for money’ but it is Zürich so for Zürich, it is very reasonable.

    The location is absolutely perfect with everything you may want from Bahnhofstrasse Strasse to The old town in easy walking distance. The river is directly across the road. The room and bathroom size are both a bit small. But wonderfully functional and extremely comfortable. Probably the most outstanding part of this hotel though are the people. Absolutely lovely. Nothing is too hard from in-depth directions to a restaurant I needed, to a friendly chat when having a wine in tha bar. Even my partner who is Swiss was blown away by how genuinely nice and friendly they all were. Would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was on the 11th floor and both lifts were broken, although one of these was fixed later in the evening. Room was big, but needed updating. Very tired furnishings and bathroom has seen better days.

    Air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was pretty good although you needed to wait for a table to be free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here. Dont book with booking.com. I've used them twice but never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in reception couldn't care less about guests. If you have a problem don't expect any help from them. Also, they claim there's hotel parking but there isn't, only public parking outside and good luck getting a space there.

    Only good thing was staff in lobby bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 2 lifts. We were on 10th floor. When we arrived one lift was broken. We booked a double bed room but our room was a twin. Very expensive. Breakfast was poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in the residential area away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated in the residential area away from tourist places. Very convenient if you want to stay away from them. There are local cafés and restaurants and shops around. And the metro as well as the train station is close. The hotel itself is big and modern and little impersonal, but quality renovated and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea or coffee in the room despite the room price. No water available in the morning or tea. Not a great selection at breakfast if your a vegetarian and don’t eat cakes so this was disappointing.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    worst hotel for the whole trip to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. "Smart design"?! You kidding me?! It was smart 30-40 years ago 2. Check in took toooooooo loooooong! The reception guy even had no copier and accurately filled the questionary by hand 3. Room service works till 11pm... 4. Old slow man in a bar was able to prepare couple of sandwiches, thx a lot, but would be good if he could also give us beer glass made of glass! Not a platic... 5. As usual, despite king size bed was booked - they provided us with a standard room with two beds.

    Nothing! It was the first and the last stay in this awful place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Verry good airport hotel with spa, room service, etc c.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry good airport hotel with spa, room service, etc c. But the shock was the restaurant. Dinner was fabulous. One of the best meals I’ve had anywhere. How they got this chef for a hotel near the airport is beyond me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Too expensive for what it offered, Roma Hotel across the street much better, 3 stars yet no fuss and efficiency.

    Not Worth 4 stars, room small, no bath robes, staff courteous but slow and not efficient, airport shuttle not available, breakfast box unpalatable, mini bar not well stocked for which 50 euros deposit required (another waste of time and aggravation, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was 2 miles from everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked the refrigerator in our rooms because we didn’t use minibar. Room service tasted horrible!

    Location was 2 miles from everything! Great Italian restaurant around the corner named Lucca’s.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean place with nice staff, not the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (Maximum 3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not great if you wanted to be near center if city and tourist spots. You could take the subway , but difficult walk.

    Staff friendly and accommodating rooms were clean lobby bar was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice planning - every floor has a different design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old bathroom which dissapointed as I wanted to enjoy a nice and long bath after flight. In general not the cleanest room, expected way more for the price given. Not even ropes, slippers, free water or similar. Disliked that there was not enough stuff in the bathroom.

    Nice planning - every floor has a different design. The food was nice, reminded of home. The service was ok, in restaurant way better than in reception though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Smart design...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music in the lobby of the floor where we stayed was too loud for me. It was not relaxing. The shower had a mind of its own: cold and hot. Annoying! For a 4 star hotel I was expecting much more. At breakfast time there were no big cups fir coffee. I asked a waiter politely for cups and all I got was an impolite reply. I had to ask another waiter to get, finally, a supply of cups. Honestly, during our trip, this was the least inviting hotel. The desk staff was very kind and helpful.

    I was excited to see the pictures on the website. It looked very nice. It was quiet at night fir a good sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Rather 3 than 4 stars. Hotel is ok but there may be better value-for-money options available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proximity to train station, rooms not well isolated - not very quiet. Breakfast ok in terms of choice, but of rather poor food quality. Fitness room is a small room with 3 cardio machines and a few dumbbells.

    The hotel was good overall, bathroom had a bathtub. Close to metro and train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    overall my stay was pleasant and I will definetly be coming back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the continental breakfast there is not much to choose from even the option for hot food only omelettes. maybe as a lot of tourists come they should have more to choose from like fried eggs ,scrambled eggs, beans etc .

    the room for me was a great size and I had a lovely balcony. I loved the shrimp omelette.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    An amazing stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (Maximum 3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt find any negative about the hotel.

    The property was at a good location. We used the metro to get there as we only had one suitcase but on the taxi it was only 10 mins away from the airport. The staff were friendly and the rooms were really clean. Breakfast was included and it was nice and catered for everyones needs. I was travelling with my parents and they also loved the hotel. Metro and train connection was near the hotel and also good resturants were nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    I will definitely book again. Really enjoyed it.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did request lower floor on my booking but when we arrived there they put us on the 10th floor, also When I did my booking online I did request for an early check in upon our arrival the room was not ready we had to wait.

    The staff were wonderful, very helpful and always going extra mile to help you and try to get what you want their names are João Costa, Omar and Bruno. These three guys have a very excellent customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Perfectly located, confortable and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a metro ride away from the airport and the city. There is no parking available but who wants to be driving in Lisbon? It was a 15 minute walk for us to return our rentrd vehicle with Europcar, and the hotel staff were very friendly. They could not so enought for you, very service oriented. I will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    2.9
    It was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a double bed, received two single beds. Sink blocked up, fix requested but no service. Breakfast offered at 5 Euro at reception and charged 15 euro if one did not book. Bathroom facilities old and outdated. Location not ideal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    2.5
    The guy on reception was very unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on reception was very unfriendly. I wanted to change the reservation dates and he did want to hear about. I occasionally made a mistake in reservation date and I call the property immediately but he did not want to find the agreement. The rest of the staff was ok but my first impression was extremely bad. We got a room 624 next to the facilities for room service and all night the washing machines were running with considerable noise for us in the room. This was accompanied by a noisy clima control all night. This is by no means a 4 star hotel. It compares rather with 2-3 stars. Interestingly enough the bathrooms are not shown on their advertisement and they are strikingly barely 2 star material and do not fit the bedrooms. The mini bar is on the table, there is no refrigerator in the room. Furthermore I ask for airport shuttle which they advertise on booking and they wanted 25 euro for the service. A regular taxi expense was 6 euro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and efficient and my room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the dinner buffet and a la carte menu for dinner were quite basic and just OK!

    The staff were very friendly and efficient and my room was spacious and clean and came with a balcony and the hotel is in a greta location - public transport wise! as its dead opposite Roma Train station and literally a 4 min walk around the corner to Roma Metro (subway) station! and its literally a 15min journey to the main district of baixa chiado/rossio! would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff was very kind and helpful, room was clean and nice,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was way too basic

    Staff was very kind and helpful, room was clean and nice, infusion restaurant is really nice and it is 8 euros from the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.6
    3 star quality with 4 star price, would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was missing hand towels and there were hairs both on the water glass and inside the toilet. The shower was ridiculously hot without cold water. No view, no parking, no breakfast.

    The bed was comfortable even if the pillows weren’t very good. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is placed close to the metro station, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The tours provided at the reception of the hotel weren't the best. The breakfast was not very good.

    The hotel is placed close to the metro station, the staff was very helpful and they speak English, Spanish, French.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There a few touch like the dirty mirror and coffee tray looked a bit poor

    Great place with good location in terms of central Lisbon, staff pleasant and room was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, spacious, clean rooms with a very comfortable bed. Awesome hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit lumpy. There was a charge to make coffee in the room. Not much to compain about compared to all the good aspects.

    All members of the staff were very helpful and friendly from the minute we walked in. I felt that I could ask them for recommendations and advice and they were very knowledgeable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. It was very clean, very quiet and was more than I expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.8
    Meh. For one night maybe OK, but wouldn't rave about it
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated and looks like it needs a revamp. Doesn't look as nice as on photos. Marks and scuffs all over the walls. Heating unit noisy and unpleasant. Didn't like the area it was in. Wouldn't have wanted to get public transport back late at night.

    Staff lovely. Check-out 12 noon. Big room. Taxi from airport about 10 mins.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Cozy and convenient stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Room is not sealed properly as the wind can get into the room through the window which made the room cold in the early morning and woke me up.

    Room is spacious and the bath tub is very fast and easy to fill up with water from the tap. Very good design and nice view of the neighbourhood from the 8th floor. The Chinese restaurant next door is superb for those who is after authentic Chinese food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good, very vanilla
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much to do around the area, not even a kiosk to buy water. Not particularly smart design IMO, more average but nice hotel.

    Excellent value for money and easy access to the train station. Funny hallways.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    Italian channel RAI 1 in the Tv - perfect internet signal...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst parking space I ever seen . 1 hour outside in the car waiting for someone that leave the place. Horrible !!!

    Italian channel RAI 1 in the Tv - perfect internet signal in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    I will back to the hotel when next time to Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Safe box not working in my room and room card need to be refreshed several times

    Very good position, close to airport and railway station. Good breakfast and efficiency check in / out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice, comfortable boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information about restaurant/shopping options nearby.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the room was spacious and had a lovely balcony. I could open the door for fresh air. Breakfast was great, with good coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, good location, staff exceptional; would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not log into wifi in our room without assistance from staff, who solved the issue very quickly. Wifi in public areas very easy to use.

    This hotel is located next to an underground station, with good transport links to the centre of town, whilst being a short taxi ride from the airport.The staff in this hotel are so helpful and pleasant; nothing is too much trouble. When we had a problem logging into the wifi someone came to our room immediately to assist. Our boarding passes were printed and ready for us when we went downstairs. Very comfortable bed. Fridge provided. Hot breakfast available along with cold buffet and fresh fruit all very good standard. This hotel offers excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Good location close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot and cold water randomly changing on it's own during shower.

    Huge bed, large bathroom and bedroom, big balcony with great view, breakfast very good with delicious coffee. Great location, close to Roma metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst breakfast ever. And I do travel a lot. And I have been to many hotels around the world. It’s not even a poor variety, it’s a quality of things. It’s seems they just get cheapest and worst ham, sausages etc. available on a market.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    A good hotel to stay if want to be near the airport. Too far out for central Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was facing the street so was noisy. Pillows uncomfortable. Shower pressure very poor. Drinks in room overpriced so did not purchase any.

    Comfortable room. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall good experience ! (stayed 1 night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet needs to be refurbished, looks like a 2 star guest house toilet. The price requires more than basic. Wifi in at least my room 924 was non existent, in the lobby area was ok. The bar was quite outdated but next morning they replaced the furniture, kudos for that ) Breakfast way to expensive but you've many options close by.

    The size of both room and toilet was very good. Huge bed for european standards. The location is fantastic, cafes, bars, restaurants, parks, metro(Roma)/train, supermarket and away from donwtown fuss.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    Terrible experience. We loved every other place we stayed in Portugal, except this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the low level of competence and lack of courtesy of the staff. In every OTHER place we stayed in Portugal (about 5 different hotels across the country) the people were courteous and wonderful! In the Lutecia Smart Design Hotel we had a terrible experience! We arrived after midnight and discovered in the morning that one bed had a broken leg. When we called to report, we were told that no-one could come until mid-day, so we went out. We returned after mid-day with a guest from Portugal, and found the bed turned on its side with the mattress thrown on the second bed so we couldn't use either beds - even just to sit on. There was only one chair in the room. The guest - a retired lawyer who worked for the EU - was shocked at what she saw. We waited for a few hours for someone to show up but no-one came back, so we informed the woman at the desk. She was rude and unpleasant. She didn't apologize!!! Since we couldn't use the room we went out again. When we returned, we couldn't charge our phones or use the TV or internet (electricity didn't work). When someone came to check, it turned out that the fuse was disabled. We gave our phones, with chargers, to the desk to recharge and when we came to collect them, the woman at the desk claimed the chargers were hotel property. When we insisted that they check, they saw that the chargers had clear markings from our country - so they couldn't argue further. We advise people to beware - there is something strange about this hotel.

    There is a gluten-free bakery around the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Only needed the rooms for the night but it was very nice and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, traveled with 3 kids Rooms were a good size for the extra bed we needed in each room. The rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was good, something for everyone. Near enough to the airport and the metro for getting around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Reception staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator not working one evening when you stay in floor 11, breakfast really basic and repetitive, bed sheet not changed in 4 nights

    Reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast staff were very accommodating for gluten-free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (Maximum 3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is advertised on Booking.com but here is actually none. There is only paid public parking on the streets

    Breakfast staff were very accommodating for gluten-free needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Each floor is different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast needs to be varied - eating the same breakfast for 7 days is not interesting. We would have appreciated more vegetarian options for the warm selection of the breakfast. I would suggest that people book a room without an included breakfast and rather make use of the local cafe's for their meals.

    Each floor is different. Rooms are clean and hotel is close to metro and train stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the bathtube seems leaking.

    The location is very good. It is right opposite the Roma Train Station and 5 minutes walk to the MTR station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Good hotel but expensive and no service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Breakfast good but available only from 7, that's not good consider that the hotel is closed to the airport and people have to go early to catch morning flight. There is an airport shuttle but is far much more expensive then taxi. I had the impression that they don't have it at all, when someone ask for it they charge so much to keep people away. Bad!!!!

    Good hotel close to the airport and good comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Well suited for family visits, entertaining design, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the train station next to the building can be bothersome.

    Hotel is well located at a convenient subway and train station with quick access to all relevant parts of the city for sightseeing. Good restaurant and helpful super market close by, though overall area rather unattractive suburban style. Hotel still in good shape with nicely designed varying themes per floor. Bathroom only renovated over existing tiles and bathtub, but functional and clean. Overall room nicely decorated, well maintained and comfty. Bookable family rooms are two connected twin/king rooms, so two bedrooms, two bathrooms included. Good variety at breakfast buffet, though no changes in the buffet over the days of stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Renovated rooms, super clean, very professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee capsules in the room are charged No iron in the room, hotel couldn't provide also

    Renovated rooms, super clean, very professional staff. Loved that we prepayef our stay upon check in and the amount blocked in our credit card to garantee the booking was used as part of the payment. Liked the coffee machine in the restaurant during breakfast. Smart TV in the room There is a public parking 1 block away from the hotel for 10eur a day. Very convenient. Metro and train in the corner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.5
    Would not recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our overall experience at the hotel.

    Elevator way too long. We had to take the service elevator to leave after 20 minutes waiting in front of the elevator on the 8th floor. Check in very long. No maps left of the town. Should not be a 4*. I would rate it as a fair 2* hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    great staff but rooms quality in no more than 2.5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    internet service in rooms were poor. rooms keys needed to reprogram everyday we came back to the room. tubs and showers we had were poor, scratches in tub and couldn't fill the tub at all. no laundry service at facility. asked for a double bed but had two single bed setup in room. basic tv ( maybe 15channels ) you tube on tv never worked.

    location, close to metro. breakfast was great. room service and staff very friendly/helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Really liked the room style and the mirror wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like!

    Really liked the room style and the mirror wall. Bed was really comfortable. Hotel location was near Roma metro station and right beside the train station very easy for getting around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Nicely presented place, would benefit in some extra customer service training with younger staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived after midnight with no water. 2 small bottles of uncoiled water in room were charged for (around €5) The shower head didn't work, mentioned it to different morning staff, (young man) but showed little concern when I mentioned we were unable to shower, asked for the water not to be charged for as small compensation but was not obliging.

    Evening arrival staff very professional (older gentleman)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay - close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the staff were very good and the rooms were exceptional. and very close to the airport which the hotel set up a shuttle for us at 2:30 a.m. in the morning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.8
    Not coming back
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room flloor always dirty and amateur waiters. Qualitty of the juices, coffee and food very poor. Small room, mainly the bathroom.

    Frontdesk work and speed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice hotel, staff with bad attitudes!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (Maximum 3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was fine, clean & contemporary but the staff were either rude or generally uninterested in being helpful. The place just lacked any character in a city jam packed full of it. The location descriptions are also misleading, it's not located near to the major landmarks & from what we saw it's in a down at heal residential area, not recommended for checking out the amazing sights of Lisbon. We moved hotels after one night & im glad we did!!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lutecia Smart Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: