Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luz Bay Hotel 4 stars

Rua do Jardim, 8600-565 Luz, Portugal

#7 of 8 hotels in Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    3.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay when you visit Luz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like and we only had 1 night there - hopefully we will return for a long stay next time. The gardens were beautiful! Our accomodation was fantastic.

    The hotel and grounds were lovely. We had a very nice evening meal - self serve both hot and cold food, starters, dinner and dessert. We also had a wonderful breakfast the next morning and we were full up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    we had a nice rest from every day's work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was ok, but dinner was somewhat poor, maybe due to off-season

    BEST of all was Miss Isabel from the reception-team: We never had such a perfect support at a hotel world-wide! :-) rooms were clean, service was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    During our stay, this hotel doesn't fulfill its 4-star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay, this hotel doesn't fulfill its 4-star standard. The air-conditioner of the 1st room wasn't working, so we switched to another room, where they were working, but one of the remote controls was missing. There was also a leak in the bathroom perhaps, making the bathroom wooden door swell therefore unable to close; and making the whole room smell like mold. When I told the front-desk when leaving, there was only acknowledgment but no apologies. Need to pay extra for wifi, jacuzzi, and sauna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    We stayed for one night as we were invited to a birthday party, perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From check in the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good with plenty choices. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    This is a 3star hotel operating on 2 star standards. Receptionists need customer service trainig
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Receptionists are uninterested serving customers and unfriendly. Spa/Turkish Hamam are in terrible condition, hard to find the keys and expensive to book the day before. My terrace was constantly leaking water from upstairs There was no wifi reception in my bedroom even though I paid for it extra and receptionist wouldn't believe me. (these last two were my previous stay)

    Near to the beach. Tennis courts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Spacious apartment, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the off-season the resort is very quiet and we struggled to find somewhere for dinner, but no fault of the apartment.

    Spacious apartment with a very comfortable bed. Pool, hottub and sauna available. Very good breakfast. Short walk to the beach. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Treating the clients with idiots, worst service ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception lady was extremely rude from the beginning. Worst part was when I went to ask for the AC remote because it was missing, and she pretended that the previous guests have stolen it. They clearly REMOVED the AC control on purpose from EVERY room, since NONE of the apartments had it on! I asked the neighbours and they confirmed. It's good if they want to save money, AC isn't really needed at this time of the year, but they should keep the room ventilated, and most of all, DON'T LIE AND TREAT THE CUSTOMERS LIKE STUPIDS.

    Breakfast was surprisingly good, although the coffee was bad instantaneous coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice in a very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was not brilliant, air conditioning wasn't great.

    The staff are so helpful but seem to be stretched trying to do more than one thing at a time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we would have liked a double bed as this is what we asked for, also i think at least one of the swimming pools should have been heated,this time of the year,

    the breakfast was very good there was everything there you could want

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice 3* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay €3/night for WiFi in the room but it was free in the bar.

    Nice 3* hotel. Stayed in January so no opportunity to use the outdoor facilities or restaurant but the room was fine and the staff were helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was fine. Not on ther beach but only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Quiet relaxing stay ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    (earlyJanuary) heating in room not working very effectively.Only a small grouse though. Rest of stay excellent , we will return.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Choice of cooked or cold meats ,cheese etc Attractive landscaped gardens. Short walk to beach and watering holes!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Lovely winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information booklet in the rooms need to be more up to date. Would be better if there was a kettle in your room rather than just in the utility room that is based on each floor which we only discovered on our second to last day!! Perhaps telling people on check in about the utility rooms/laundry room would be helpful

    Lovely hotel. Rooms clean, beds comfortable & fridges in rooms are an added bonus. Staff very helpful. Location excellent, only few minutes walk to beach, bars & restaurants. 10 minutes to supermarket. Grounds well kept! Breakfast is buffet style with a very good selection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    Good location , needs a refurbishment programme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving in the dark , poor outdoor lighting , should have been shown to our room and not left to struggle in the dark after a long journey.

    Good choice of breakfast food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice, Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fresh tea or coffee would have been nice at breakfast instead of hot water in a flask, But hotel didn't have many guests as out of season, so understandable.

    Good value for money and very clean, great location. Near the beach and shops. You can hear the sea from your balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    6.3
    November is not the month to visit Luz unless you go to meet up with family who live there as we do.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The miserly owners haven't spent money on upgrades since it was built in the 1980's. Do not use the restaurant. Pool areas unlit at night, unfenced, no alarms. Bar closes when they feel like it not at 11pm.

    Hotel not far from shops/restaurants, cleaners and gardeners do an excellent job, don't think much of the rest. We are going back to Luz in March but staying at an apartment nearer the beach and services.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.1
    Staff,hotel goods
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not Happy with not having a tray to take my food to my table,meaning I had to get up several times to get my meal. Meals not very interesting-not hot enough !!

    Bed nice and comfy !!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.2
    very run down needs up dating from when we stopped there 5 years ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    run down needs new sun beds & sun shades, pool bar not open, breakfast wasn't very warm orange juice watered down staff were miserable even the manager didn't seemed bothered but lovely location. we were on the 2nd floor and the outside steps grip was worn and when it rained it was very slippy, also patio table on the balcony was covered in cigerattes burns, no airer to put any towels on they used to be ,fridge door rusty and didn't always shut worn.it seems to us when things need replacing they don't bother replacing them, when we went 5 years ago this wasn't the case breakfast was brilliant. they have cut out so many things at breakfast choice wise smaller portions. everybody we spoke to seem to have the same view, it doesn't encourage people to stay onsite when the pool bar is shut and you cant even get a ice cream and the sun beds you would not want to lay on them for very long. there just didn't seem many staff around even the cleaners didn't seem a lot to what it used to be

    the location is in a lovely setting so quiet and peacefull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    4.6
    Good location but shabby rooms devoid of any comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minimum furniture-not even desk chair or rubbish bin and fridge that was rusty-in need of renovation, even loungers at pool were worn out.

    good location can walk to town and beach. Big pool area. Pretty garden with plants and flowers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel in quiet resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air Con was not working and had to chase up daily with staff who had promised to have fixed - finally moved us to a new room after 4 days.

    Nice relaxing area beside adult pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    outside needs painting.

    breakfast great, room good, staff great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Quite relaxing winter stay with superb buffet breakfast, 5 mins from beach and bars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff went the extra mile when needed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ran out of hot water fast. Room very cold at night. 1 English speaking tv Channel no coffee maker

    The price and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    great breakfast,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good breakfast and near to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean comfortable basic accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms somewhat sparse and bar facilities food etc unavailable after breakfast

    Breakfast was excellent and the grounds were lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    Accueil arrogant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service,

    Price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Very comfy Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Rain!!

    Very comfy Bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    3.8
    4* should be 0*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    absolutely nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.8
    A disaster.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, service, damp room, water coming through the ceiling. Needs a complete refurbishment.

    Nothing. Its 4 star rating is a joke.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    A good short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal, no kettle. In room. Patchwork bedding.

    Size of room, good breakfast, clean condition.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Good value , breakfast OK but Dinner poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit institutional. Had 1 dinner. Very poor, overcooked and only salad edible

    Reasonable choice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    need more english tv, poor tv set.

    breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay but the beds need replacing,very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds.............

    The location, the staff are very nice, the grounds are spotless.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    3.3
    Wish I had booked earlier somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very lumpy and beds were uncomfortable. Decorations felt 20 years outdated.

    not much...it is by nice beaches?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Hotel in Luz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost in high season

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Position good, breakfast good, good value but take care not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ha be stayed here many times, the overall impression is one of continuing reductiom in care of the property. Only 1 British Tv channel, refridgerator noisy amd worn out, water not hot, gardens not as well cared for, ect.

    Position good, breakfast good, good value but take care not to let this hotel deteriorate further!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.1
    Location was good, nice walk to the village, (up hill and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff could have been a bit more 'interactive' as a lady solo traveler, staying for 2 weeks - nobody even asked my name -all I ever got was good morning - there were no more than 12 guests in the whole hotel! No smiling going on. Bed was uncomfortable and the pillows, rooms a bit 'tired' place needs a refurb It is NOT 4* but probably once was!

    Location was good, nice walk to the village, (up hill and not for those with walking difficulties) easy walk to the beach, room basic but clean. Cleaning staff did an excellent job. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and lots of it, even though it was the winter period. (The fruit salad needs to be thrown out after 2/3 days of 'topping up' as the fresh fruit was starting to ferment a couple of times) Good value for money, I was only B&B.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.1
    Location is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds are so hard and uncomfortable. They really should fix this. I know that other guests also thought the same. The bar by the pool closes even if there are still lots of people around who want to buy drinks. Then you have to go to the hotel bar. The coffee at breakfast must be the worst coffee I've tasted in Portugal.

    Location is nice. Staff are friendly. Apartments are very clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    7.5
    The location is very good and the facilities are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have noticed a reduction in the quality of the room decor and general cleanliness. several items in the room need attention and the cleanliness is obviously not what it used to be.

    The location is very good and the facilities are excellent. The value for money aspect is very good, particularly this year with the Euro rate being so in our favour.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    6.7
    Price cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Going up outside steps felt like going to a shed Lack of UK TV channels. No literature even about safety. Room was cold and unwelcoming. Might be fine in summer but not in winter would not use again

    Price cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.1
    Great location , excellent tennis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a double room expecting a double bed but had two singles that were very uncomfortable

    Great location , excellent tennis

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.1
    It was very cold in the bedroom and quite damp beds which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very cold in the bedroom and quite damp beds which were unfortunately very very hard.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Exactly what I required.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exactly what I required. Comfortable room. excellent breakfast choices. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room service always happened just before sunset, while I was in the room

    Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    10
    the location is fantastic and the rooms are large and airy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location is fantastic and the rooms are large and airy, the facilities are excellent and the breakfast superb

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    6.3
    Quiet good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tired needs updating and staff need training on how to be pleasant and helpful

    Quiet good location

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Great choice at breakfast, and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great choice at breakfast, and delicious food. Dinner also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.1
    Price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price and location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.5
    Position of hotel really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position of hotel really good.. Friendly staff at dinner. Excellent value.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: