Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vidamar Resorts Madeira - Dining Around Half Board 5 stars

Estrada Monumental 175-177, Sao Martinho, 9000-100 Funchal, Portugal

#22 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening buffet certainly did not lack in quality, but some of the meat/fish was a little over cooked for my liking.

    Great location for chilled-out family stay. Excellent morning egg station!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the food, in particular lunch and dinner were at a standard far lower than I expected. One business option model is offer room plus breakfast only and lower the overall price. Allow the hotel restaurants and other speciality restaurants to compete on a level playing field. Allow the customers to decide.

    I liked the location, the room, the facility generally. Personnel were all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The mattress was lumpy and hard. The coffee at breakfast very poor. There ware not enough restaurant staff at busy times of the day. No regular drinks service at the poolside.

    The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The quality of the room is average.

    It is a very nice place to stay with superb service and extremely friendly staff. The location and services available at the hotel are very nice. Nice sized rooms and common areas means you have plenty of space. Multiple pools, both indoor and outdoor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed several times at your hotel in the last few years and in general we have been very satisfied with all aspects. However , over the last 2 visits we have noticed a significant reduction in the quality/choice of the food served in your restaurant...hope this is not a trend....

    Service very personnalised on the occasion of our 50th wedding anniversary , thanks to all the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We noticed a second beige/brown cat who is a bit shyer. Treat her well and make sure she feels more at home.

    Resort with excellent facilities: room, restaurants, spa and gym. All the staff was faultless and deserving of the highest praise, but George deserves a special mention. He enchants the guests who are his fans with his operatic meowing and cuddly demeanour. He keeps himself on his domain in the gardens below the main restaurants and doesn't bother guests who cannot appreciate beauty and charm. I heard that some sick guests object to him, but they should be quarantined. My partner and I loved Madeira and the resort and look forward to return to it to enjoy the great service and, of course, George.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Side Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little bit too big & not much soul.

    Good facilities - gym, spa, fitness classes, squash, etc and exceptional staff - friendly & helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of any!

    The bed was the best we ever have! We have a super king at home but this bed was even bigger! The spread of the breakfast and dinner buffet was exceptional. It even has champagne for breakfast! View from our room was break taking - sea as far as the eye could see. The best surprise was that they gave us a bottle of champagne and a delicious Madeira cake with a lovely towel swan and card made by the lady who cleaned our room - for our silver wedding anniversary!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place is a really modern and well kept hotel. The balcony is perfect for relaxing with your partner with a fantastic view. I couldn't have asked for anything else as the facilities and breakfast/dinner was perfect. They even sent up a present for my birthday. A fantastic stay and will definitely be returning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bars - lacked personality and atmosphere. Lack of service by the pools - sales opportunities lost.

    Extensive buffets for breakfast and dinner. Staff have excellent customer care skills. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a warm/hot days it hard to walk on the hallway and use elevators as there is no air condition. Also, balconies have no handles from outside, so it is easy to injury your hands. Regarding meals: dinner's food variety can be better.

    Spacious rooms, nice pools and beach facilities. Extremely friendly staff wiling to help with all of your problems. Excellent location a big plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - unprofessional staff speaking very good English or French but saying nothing spontaneously friendly or helpfully; - underdeveloped tourist approach or advice and absence of useful information which is unexpected from a place dedicated excusively to tourism sector; - over/extra/priced services and buffet served by very serious staff asking administrative questions, coupled with total lack of humor; - presence of untrue advertisements : ex. dolphins & whale promenades The one proposed exclusively by the Vidamar staff was Sea Born catamaran 3 hours promenade which was a total drivel. Not only we did not see any cetaceos but the catamaran staff said "it's a nature... we do not promiss anything..." while other companies such as Rota dos Cetaceos equiped with zodiacs and zoologist on board committed to us to see cetaceos and fulfilled by far their promises just the next day with very rare species ... the hotel staff reacted to that information with injurious negation doubting about our sayings. I had to give them proofs by photos and the name of the company. Very unpleasant experience... In a word, I would not come back again

    + perfect weather and idillic ocean views + great up & downs promenades on volcano isand full of flowers and vegetation + very relaxing place if you got already good information and manage to have total abstraction from services suggested by the hotel staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on half board We only tried their buffet once but it was average quality. The room bathrooms most possibly are not renovated yet so they are old style and look old I am sure they are going to renovate them shortly The bathroom photos was the only reason not to book this hotel but believe me all other facilities are amazing so don't miss it

    One of the best if not the best in Madeira. Perfectly located in a nice area just 10 minutes driving from the old city with amazing ocean views Recently renovated the hotel offers fantastic public areas ,amazing pools with salt water and a relaxing atmosphere, Pool restaurant offers delicious dishes The main restaurant has a veranda with great views and the breakfast quality is above expectations Parking is free Staff is very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were too hard as were the pillows. Other than that, can't fault the hotel.

    Hotel in excellent location. Big airy open spaces within the hotel. The outside space and pool very nice. All staff very pleasant and attentive. Food - we went half board was very good also - particularly the breakfasts. Views from our room were tremendous. We'll stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there was no complimentary water in the room or fruit basket, chocolate or any welcome note or something. I was charged for laundry although I didn't use that service, I emailed client service and finance dept and had no answer about this. The structure / layout of the hotel is extremely confusing. the reception is on the 4th floor, the restaurant is below on the 2nd floor the rooms all over the place and the worst is the pool, which is in a different tower and underground with no signs at all. took us about 30min wandering around the whole hotel facilities to find it. The pool itself is great along with jacuzzi and sauna, but you have to be able to find it. Most restaurants close at 10pm so there is no late dining, the in-room service is extremely limited and there is no menu in the room either.

    The bed was comfortable the room was nice and the view was absolutely spectacular! over the hotel pool towards the big open sea. the indoor pool was connected to an outdoor area- very nice, the sauna was a perfect way to unwind after lots of hiking and surfing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! Just wanted to stay longer so just re booking for October !

    The staff went the extra mile in every aspect, from arriving and valet parking the car for us . Three a la Carte restaurants to choose from , excellent food and very attentive service . As a coeliac nothing was too much trouble to cook for me . Special GF breakfast museli yogurt , GF soy sauce for sushi meals and so much more . The rooms are very well appointed, spectacular bay views and the whole hotel has a calm relaxing atmosphere. The outdoor infinity pools are lovely with a good sauna too . The position is quiet but a good location to walk into Funchal . Also by car it was easy to explore the island from as 5 min drive onto the extensive motorway network . When we returned with wet walking boots , they were taken off us to be dried ! This is a fabulous hotel 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Sea View ( 3 Guests)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Italian restaurant attached to hotel is awful. Do not go. Half-board option is good for hotel but not for guests as it binds you to the Ocean restaurant buffet (all you can eat average food) or the associated restaurants up to E15 per person per meal or a set menu. I would rather choose where I go and what I eat.

    The large family room with a separate room for the kids was terrific. Lots of space and storage. Pools were nice but just too cold. Indoor pool was good. Portuguese restaurant attached to hotel excellent food and service very good too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Sea View ( 3 Guests)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We had to change our room twice because of the annoying noise coming at the night time out of the air conditioning system. Only the last one was happened to be wonderfully quite.

    One of the best hotel ever! Wonderful pools, spacious room, delicious food, excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffet in the restaurant could have been healthier. However, they even offered vegetarian a la carte menus for no extra costs which was great. So nothing to complain about really...

    Very clean and spacious rooms (go for one with balcony and sea view - it's worth it), nice spa and pools, direct access to the sea, good sports facilities and great breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruits.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The outdoor pools are too cold to swim..

    We requested the extra large bed and it was truly amazing!! All rooms from the hotel have a sea-view and it's heavenly! The rooms are clean and house-keeping was always there to help. Bedding was changed on a daily basis including those for my little boy (Baby cot), the staff are truly amazing and very friendly. They brought us the baby food to the room every day for 6 days at 4 pm so that our boy could feed without the buzz from the restaurant. Great selection of food- all cuisines! Amazing play area for kids!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Better sign posting in the hotel would make tings easier :)

    - Incredible service & staff - Room spec lived up to the reviews we had read prior to booking - Amazing buffet for breakfast in particular - Great spa facilities - Sushi restaurant was fab, as were the staff! All round I would definitely recommend this hotel - from the minute we arrived to leaving it more than surpassed our expectations!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The blue swimming pools outside- looking so good at the pictures, were freezing cold and impossible to use. Internet connection was very bad, could not download for example youtube.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner is sad and tired; mostly grey and overcooked - more suited to a nursing home than a 5 star hotel.

    Rooms are spacious with excellent views and the on-site sushi restaurant is worth a stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Sea View ( 3 Guests)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is not a 5 star resort. Decor is quite tired and 'corporate' looking. Felt understaffed - reception did not seem to cope when busy. We tried to call a few times but the phone was never answered. The hairdryer in room is useless - not what you would expect from a 5 star venue Restaurant timings were not very child friendly for us. Most open at 6.30 at the earliest and our kids normally in bed around 7.30 so always rushed for us.

    Great dining around concept Buffet was excellent Staff very friendly and helpful - particularly to our kids Outdoor pools look inviting but too cold for this time of year. Good that there is a heated indoor pool Spa was lovely - particularly room that is "outside" so that you can listen to the sea whilst you have a treatment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dress code for dinner- in that there wasn't one , too many people in jeans and t'shirts expected higher standard for a 5 star

    Great hotel , only downside was that it catered for a much older clientele

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet is temporarily insight in stead of on the veranda. The beds were two 'doubters' while we always ask for a large double. This was an unforeseen effect of a free upgrade. As in most hotels here a shower in the bath and no thermostat crane. That can be modernised.

    We are personally welcomed on this fifth stay, although the last stay was 4 years ago, and all personel looks new to us. At sunrise amd sunset it shows again that this hotel has the nicest sky and sea views. Because of its situation it is the warmest room of the five we compare in this trip. Like always we can leave the large window open all night. The room is about twice the size of the one we had at Reids, modern interior less chique. We reserved Mama Mia at the booking, decided to go for the weekly menu in stead of a la carte, and were 100 percent satisfied with the offered three course meal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Such a complex hotel for newcomers to find their way around, could do with more direction signs!!

    Very comfortable beds and view of the ocean! Excellent sunbathing facilities and swimming pools.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could be better & I think there should be more bars inside the hotel.

    The pools lovely, lots of sun beds, rooms lovely &I liked the fact that 2 of the specialalty restaurants were just out side the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi connection weak and slow Quality of pillows Spa was not up to standard, the facility was impressive but the masseuse not that professional Some items served for breakfast can be improved. e,g. juices Pre-booking in restaurants was not easy. I would suggest to cancel the half-board and reduce nightly rate. In this case a guest can guarantee a table at KOI !

    3 swimming pools with access to the ocean Landscaping Good size room and bathroom with balconies overlooking the ocean Extensive choice for breakfast, good restaurants with plenty to choose from Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pointless having a fridge in room which didn't get cold, the air conditioning could have been cooler. The shower could do with an update.

    The food was very good. Reception very helpful, all staff extremely cheerful. 10th floor rooms had beautiful views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI is very slow, and doesn't work at all in the hotel rooms. It didn't help to complain. If you buy drinks or snacks at the hotel, they will not put the price of what you have bought on the bill, just the items you have purchased. So you never know how much things cost until you are checking out of the hotel. I've never experienced something so unprofessional before. No iron in the rooms, just one iron in the hotels laundry room for the whole hotel to share. And it costs 7,5(!) euros to use the washing machine each time.

    Excellent location. Loved the swimming pools

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be nice to have printers available to print boarding pass. Also, it would be great to have a real store inside such a big hotel. It is difficult to find staff to order when at the pool, especially when we are not staying in front of the cafe.

    Pool Location Buffet View was fantastic Spa

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    removed waiter service for coffee and tea this year. machine takes ages

    great staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WE HAVE REBOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR, BUT NOT IN YOUR PREMIER SUITE NO.1043,VERY DARK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful hotel with everything you need in one place. So much choice of pools, sunbathing areas and food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and needs an urgent update.

    Very large bed, awesome view and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities the pools and spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lived it all

    Absolutely brilliant.in all apects

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    not enough power plugs in the walls to charge devices

    The view and swimming pools

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi

    Great facilities, good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I question that this is 5star. I would say 4. This was our second visit and feel The service in the dining room could be slicker.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of evening entertainment, should be more bars given the size of the place. Hated that the pool tables shut down so early

    Good staff who work hard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Problems to pay with Diners Club Card.

    Nice, quiet and comfortable holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfy bed

    The buffets and the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower The choice of food on Saturday evening

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers could be replaced by lighter ones

    Ocean view, contemporary style, breakfast and dinner buffet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this resort; an exceptional experience all around.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Master bed was a bit hard / uncomfortable Free wifi really slow (but faster available for an extra fee)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to be 16 to be able to do anything and the pool was very cold, no tennis court or putting green

    Spa and the facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on buffet dinners otherwise no complaints

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms were a long way from the sun loungers. Circa. 10 minute commute.

    Lovely food in the sushi restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful week. Staff are helpful and always a smile. The room was spacious , panoramic sea view. The food in all of the restaurants was of a high quality. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary . Complimentary sparkling wine and fruit was in our room on arrival. It added to the occasion, so thank you.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive and very big so seems to cater more for larger groups, specifically older people. The attitude of certain staff can be improved.

    The facilities are good and you can use multiple restaurants on half board

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress on the bed was a little too firm for us. The pillows were firm also, but were replaced by softer pillows within minutes of requesting.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Large room with a huge bed and an uninterrupted view of the ocean. Quiet and efficient air conditioning. Good buffet breakfast once everything had been located, including cooked eggs from the cheerful lady on the terrace. The evening buffet was variable, but generally good. The dinners in the adjacent Mamma Mia restaurant were excellent. We liked the Lisboa bar for a pre-dinner drink. Our tablet computer worked well on the free in-house WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa was a complete disappointment - and use of a spa was one of the criteria for booking. We fed back to the hotel management (who said they would look into) and the spa management (who unfortunately were defensive) that areas of the spa were broken, dirty and the main pool and jacuzzi were cold (water and room temperature) so not very relaxing.

    Modern hotel well designed with great location, staff and food. Main restaurant was busy as the hotel filled up but well managed kept delays to a minimum. We had one issue in the restaurant which was not really the fault of the hotel, and the management addressed this immediately. Fantastic international hotel for a weeks holiday!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet a bit overwhelming so preferred to eat at the dine around venues with waiter service

    Beautiful location with lovely views of the ocean that can be seen from your bed!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not one thing to dislike.

    The hotel was fantastic, the private sea deck with 2 pools made it. The service from the staff was excellent. The meals in the restaurant lovely, the buffet style in the Ocean restaurant had a great choice and always plentiful. We will be back

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault hotel

    Everything was perfect staff excellent dining facilities were very good enjoyed the dine around concept always good selection in each restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It could be really great but given 5 stars and high rates I think there was a lack of attention to details. The bed felt a bit used, the carpet a bit stained, the indoor pool area rather charmless, and with a dripping shower. The outdoor pools very cold (could not one be a bit heated?), and the pool area was also rather sterile with concrete floor.Also difficult to get into the sea and the pier poorly maintained. But still we much liked our stay.

    The view and sound of the sea was wonderful. Room spacious although not very big. Good buffet breakfast and dinner

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt completely at home immediately, the Hotel was beautifully decorated and scrupulously clean. The staff were continuously polite and couldn't do enough to help us. Our rooms were cleaned promptly each morning and the maids worked v quickly.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had to eat gluten free and it was no problem at all. Mauricio was setving us at dinner time. He was very helpful when I was talking to the cooks about glutenfree options and Susy at breakfast was making the best glutenfree omelettes ever!👍🏻 ☺️Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While the bed was comfortable, we found the duvet very heavy. The lighting was poor and made even worse by broken light bulbs. Room service frequently forgot to replenish face washing cloths, tissues and shower gel. We were also disappointed that the gym was at an outside location - too far away for most hotel guests. TV was not fully functional although the remote was swapped out. We could not get BBC news or weather.

    Excellent variety and quality of food available at breakfast and dinner buffets in the Ocean Restaurant. Stunning views and a pleasant walk away from Funchal centre. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving!

    We arrived at the hotel and received a free upgrade to a suite which was amazing. The suite had beautiful views! We also had a free jeep safari day and also hydrotherapy! The restaurants were really nice too. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, good position, not far to walk to town. Beautiful views from the hotel and helpful, caring staff. I requested a soft pillow and it arrived in 10 mins. Excellent food, great choice and you could have a bellini with breakfast if you liked. That's a first!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Somehow service is not at the expected level. It is not poor as such, but friendliness, smile, willingness to serve is more or less missing. Food quality also varies a lot (both in buffet and all restaurants)

    Excellent location, amazing views from everywhere. Good pool and pool areas and nice rooms. Sportfacilities are also great: tennis, squash, gym, exercise lessons etc. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It takes a little while to find your way around the hotel complex, with multiple towers and escalator shafts to various sections of the hotel. Our stay included half board, which was good, though don't expect variety gourmet meals.

    With its own waterfront, including twin infinity pools, and a very nice spa, within 2km from the city centre this is one of the best hotels in Funchal. Vast majority rooms with front sea view, which was a great treat. Free parking and concierge service very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would not rate this hotel as 5 star room was clean but basic food was average service slow due to insufficient staff bar area small and noisy if you didn't want to listen to entertainment every night Pool area very basic. pool freezing and concrete sea platform was a bit rough

    Hotel in great location on sea front and rooms spotless

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa needs improving ,very little guidance given in Thalassotherapy suite and lack of towels in changing room (none!).Soundproofing not great.

    Lovely bright hotel,with great choice of restaurants ,facilities are very good for all age groups

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best place where we have ever been! Madeira is a beautiful island and the hotel just made it much more perfect. The stuff was very polite , supportive and professional ! I loved the oceanic view. (we were on the top-top floor!!) It was awsome to wake up in the middle of the night look out of the bed and see a big ship was coming or just listening to the sounds of the ocean and breathing the smell of the ocean!! The hotel is very quite, not on the main road just parallel to it. The SPA area is heavenly-like... (SPA is not where the closed-air swimming pool is.) Outdoor swimming area with the ocean was fabolous! I enjoyed a lot eating on the terrace, seeing sun coming up in the morning between the palm-trees above the ocean... like a dream.. Photos in booking.com will be the same as you can see in reality about the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Barking dog in adjacent complex (not part of hotel) & quite a few mosquitoes about! Lack of bar options in the evening. Forced to listen to crooners, or find a peaceful bar outside the hotel.

    Great friendly staff who run a well organised "ship". Top floor sea view room was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They should work to hire more proffessional staff.

    I usually don't review hotels, but this is an amazing hotel! Outside pool and spa are great. Atlantic Ocean is just under your feet. Rooms are amazing confortable and big. The food had an amazing taste and 4 restaurants offer a great variety. Breakfast is perfect. Choose Vidamar and you boost your time spent in Madeira with 200%!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Winter closure of fish restaurant meaning less choice on dine around. Plus very limited English programmes on the tv

    Location excellent, food brilliant, staff very welcoming. Want to be there right now

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too busy, especially the buffe and breakft time. Reception girl sold wrong package of tour to us, instead of 4 hours walking in levada and forests we got 4 hours in a bus tour.

    Romantic package offer with nicely decorated room in rose petals. Giant breakfast, but no national food was offered. Nice interiour. Great view over balcony.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vidamar Resorts Madeira - Dining Around Half Board traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: