Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madeira Regency Cliff 4 stars

Travessa Da Quinta Calaca, 6, Sao Martinho, 9000-693 Funchal, Portugal

#25 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful receptionists gave us great tips for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented a car and the parking facilities were a little tight and in short supply but I guess not everyone coming to Madeira hires a car.

    Friendly and helpful receptionists gave us great tips for how to plan to see the sites for the duration of our stay Good WiFi reception throughout hotel Very cool that they have a handler with a bird of prey to keep pigeons away from the deck where breakfast and other meals are served Great location to walk to the shops, beach or down to the restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself could use some renovations. We had to rent the in room safe which I feel should be included.

    Loved the location, staff is incredible and extremely attentive and helpful, cleanliness, good food. I would stay there again. Airport transfer available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    We had an amazing week at Madeira Regency Cliff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had an amazing week at Madeira Regency Cliff. The staff was exceptional in their kindess and professionalism, no matter if it was early morning or very late into the night, and even through emails before we arrived. They were very accomodating with requests (transfers, printing itinerary(!), questions about Funchal and Madeira) so do not be intimidated to reach out to them if you have any questions. :) The room we stayed in was modest and the furniture had a bit of a retro feel, but everything was always spotless and very clean. Breakfast was plenty and could fill you up for quite a while, the discount coupon for one dinner at the hotel was an awesome idea, keep that up! The bus stop to central Funchal is approx 70 m from the hotel, so if you do not want to walk 45 mins to reach it (which we did a few times, because the scenery along the coast is beautiful!) you can take one bus and be there in 10 mins. Forum Madeira (shopping centre) is also in walking distance from the hotel if you want to withdraw cash, shop or even see a movie. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were super friendly and I was upgraded to a premium...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar closed at 10pm (although to be fair the average age of the customers was old, and even happy hour wasn't really frequented by anyone other than me, so I can understand why they don't stay open.) Perhaps the reception staff could cover if drinks are wanted after 10pm?

    Staff were super friendly and I was upgraded to a premium room which was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room evening meals boring/ bland , drain smell near outdoor small round pool, watered down fruit juices at breakfast

    Staff , sea view , locality , breakfast , room balcony, cocktails ( Miguel👍👍) , Paula 👍👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Coming back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in the bathroom is very small unfortunately, but no bad feeling about this. The breakfast could have had some more options

    Very friendly and helpfunctie staff I was given a room upgrade with 2 balconys without asking, thanks much for this, i Will ASK that room each time on my return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay subject to the above criticisms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy. The bottom of the bath was cracked. One morning pigeons were on the floor in the breakfast serving area eating crumbs while the staff were clearing away food and cleaning the surfaces at the end of breakfast time. No efforts were being made to remove the pigeons.

    We liked the location ,size of the hotel and the breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    A happy and relaxing atmosphere at a hotel in a beautiful situation.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The hotel was booked under difficult circumstances, following the very late cancellation of our flight at Madeira Airport. Following our frustrating experience we were met by a smiling receptionist at 23:30 and allocated an excellent room. The hotel staff were so accommodating and extended our booking for a second day due to the non availability of alternative flights. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, ensuring we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay with friendly staff. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Needs some general maintenance especially around outside pool and building as a little bit tired (which you can see pool wall in corner of 3rd photograph) Inside decor was excellent. Lumpy pillows

    good breakfast. Night we ate in restaurant food was excellent. Worth paying for a sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    We were upgraded to a junior suite and the room was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit far from downtown and parking spaces are limited at the hotel (but we always managed to find a spot).

    We were upgraded to a junior suite and the room was amazing, with great views and a comfortable bed. We slept very well, and enjoyed sunny afternoons on the balcony. Large variety of foods at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Most of the staff are the same ones we’ve met before over the last 4/5 years, says a lot for hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to do ( I think ) but the outdoor “plunge” pool is disappointing, even the indoor pool is very small.

    Been before, small enough to be comfortably informal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    All-in-all a nice clean small hotel with helpful staff and in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well soundproofed. Noise from adjacent rooms ie. Items landing on bathroom floor, running water, coathangers being moved in wardrobe, light switches on/off, sliding doors, tv. Minimal servicing of rooms. Area around outdoor pool needs some maintenance. Removal of loose/peeling paint and repainting. Breakfast is just ok but is at cheaper end and lacks any fish options, freshly cooked eggs, quality cold meat, decent coffee or fresh orange juice. Bit chaotic some days, with uncleared/ unlaid tables, some brusk staff responses and requests needed for cutlery / crockery / coffee. Nice touch to have Champagne on offer, at breakfast, on Sundays(??!)... but not on Christmas Day??... Bucks Fizz would have been a lovely addition to an otherwise uninspired Christmas Day breakfast. It's a shame this hotel is let down by a few small things which could so easily be addressed.

    We loved our dual aspect room with balconies looking out to sea and towards Funchal. The beds were very comfortable, with firm mattresses and memory foam mattress toppers. The in-room coffee machine makes lovely coffee (Needs to be in restaurant too!) Pool Bar staffed by very pleasant and friendly young man. Courtesy bus into Funchal but you do need to book. Lots of good eateries within easy walking distance. Lovely promenade walks in both directions. We took the coast path from Praia Formosa to Camara do Lobos, and caught a taxi back to hotel. Lovely way to spend an evening. All-in-all a nice clean small hotel with helpful staff and in a good location (Lido area).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Common floor is nice, as is the terrace for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is old, as is the global decoration of the rooms. Global value for money is average

    Common floor is nice, as is the terrace for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel but missing the extras that make a 'deluxe' room worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double room but the bed was two singles pushed together which meant lots of falling in between the gap over the course of the night. Just a small thing but it does make a difference when you have splashed out for a deluxe room for an anniversary. You get a token for a pool towel but only one token per visit so you have to keep you wet towel with you and we had no where for it to dry in the room.

    The room was spacious with all the bits and bobs you need to make the room comfortable for your stay, the balcony had a great view and the breakfast was delicious each morning (especially when sunny mornings allow it to be taken outside with a view of the sea!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Recommened!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A deck-chair in addition to the furniture on the balcony would make the stay even better

    The view, the location, the quietness, friendliness of Reception staff and Driver, having breakfast at the terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Great view and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet connection was sometimes a bit flaky. A hinge of the toilet seat was loose. The onboarding was a bit stuffy.

    The view from our room on the bay and the Atlantic was spectacular. The bed was great. The breakfast was really great as well: fresh pineapple, oranges, bananas and sometimes some variations like pink grapefruit. The bacon was great and everything was always plenty. Pastry was freshly made and tasty. Sometimes Pastel de Nata, always a very good traditional spice cake. Coffee was good (and I am picky with coffee). The terrace had an astonishing view as well, a special bonus was the falconer to keep the pigeons away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, lovely hotel, good position, great views, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked comfy seats instead of table & chairs on balcony. Water bottle & fruit on first day only - certainly would have liked fresh water bottle daily.

    Huge bed, room very well serviced, staff helpful with booking trips/travel advice. Great fresh breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Large room with a nice view, friendly staff, good variety at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive Airport Shuttle service

    Large room with a nice view, friendly staff, good variety at the breakfast, free shuttle to and from the city centre, good localisation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    A very good overnight given the circumstances!
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed very dark inside a courtyard. Not as good as other places we have stayed in Funchal and not an ideal situation on a main road.

    Very comfy bed and a warm welcome as we were on a cancelled flight. Booked on my phone from the airport when cancelled for second successive day. Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Everything great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great, but one morning during the great breakfast on the beautiful terrace, suddenly appeared a man with a falcon on his hand (falconeria) walking among the people who were eating their delicious breakfast and enjoying the beautiful view. It was surreal and pretty unconfortable and disgusting to eat a breakfast with a bird walking near you or with a man with this bird on his hand around you. Very unexpected experience for this nice boutique hotel.

    Great location, nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideally situated, stunning sea views from our room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Outside pool very small.

    Ideally situated, stunning sea views from our room, facilities good, stayed B & B food good. Staff very warm & friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It was our Anniversary during our stay & we were given a bottle of bubbly by the Hotel to celebrate . Courtesy minibus run by Hotel to take guests into & from Funchal town .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    All in all it wa OK and the location was good and it was a small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The scammled eggs where like soup at breakfast. The safe you have to pay 15€ . The Pool towels you get with a card . If you don`t have the card at the end you have to pay for the towel. Too much to look after for a relaxing holiday. Pool is very very small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel on a lovely Island which we are keen to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the selection of food on the dinner menu then we might have dined there more than the one time.

    The location is away from the centre an nice and quiet. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from a nice shopping centre. We went B&B which worked well for us given that there were a good selection of restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and all spoke adequate or good English. The airport shuttle was very smooth - Nelio was a font of local knowledge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    All the staff are friendly and helpful, there is a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There is nothing that we did not like. As we met people that we met at this hotel last year and sat talking well into the night it would have been nice if the bar had been open a little longer (it closes at 11.30)

    All the staff are friendly and helpful, there is a good selection for breakfast, to have breakfast and dinner on the outdoor terrace is a pleasure, especially watching the sun come up in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    This was our fourth visit to this lovely hotel. The General Manager, Iolanda and her staff once again gave us there best service and I could not speak more highly of them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Just right for a short break (5 days)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Limited choice of main courses at dinner, however excellent choices at breakfast and lunch times. More advanced information on car parking as that at the hotel is so limited would be helpful.

    Comfortable surroundings and stay, knowledgeable and helpful staff, good indoor heated swimming pool, excellent out-door terrace dinning area with wonderful views. Too cold to use the outdoor unheated pool at this time of year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful island, amazing hotel, such friendly people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded free of charge and were given a large and very comfortable room with two balconies and a fabulous sea view. We arranged, with the hotel, for transfers from the airport. The hotel driver Neilio, was outstanding, friendly and as a local, very knowledgable. We will return to Madeira as it was a beautiful island.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woke up at 7.00 am by what sounded like chairs being dragged across the room. It couldn't have come from the room above as rooms are carpeted.

    The view out to sea

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was excellent from the airport transfers to all the friendly staff, and welcome drinks. Appreciated the thoughtfulness like extra touches hearts and petals bottle of fizz and fruit in room as we were celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. Courtesy transfers to town and back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    Try this hotel - you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small pool and limited outdoor area, but didn't really affect our holiday. Smoking area was a little to close to the outdoor eating area.

    Great hotel. Small and friendly. Excellent room size. Breakfast terrace was spectacular. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning - in January !! Daily bedroom service was excellent and bed was extremely comfortable. We only ate breakfast in the hotel and again it was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    A great place to stay, especially for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be more varied, but there was always plenty of it.

    Staff friendly, helpful, good language skills. Reception staff particularly very helpful. Hotel very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.5
    Pool was too small and too cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too small and too cold. Paint was peeling on some of the building which was an eye saw from some of the rooms we had. Great staff, great breakfast, amazing ocean view and no real complaints apart from the two little niggles above.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Christmas in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a suite with a kitchenette. The suite itself was very spacious but I do think the kitchenette could include a microwave and/or a toaster, there's not much point offering such a facility if it can't be used to reasonably self cater a sensible meal.

    The hotel is in a good position for transport and walking. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far out from Funchal town if you like to walk. However, the hotel does provide a free shuttle service.

    Great sea views. Large rooms. Very friendly staff. Nice pool and steam room. The shuttle driver is exceptionally good and the Mercedes van is extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Relaxing luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set dinner menu and hotel quiet during day.

    This hotel is in a quiet part of Madeira and a five minute walk from the Forum Shopping Centre. It is an hour's walk from the centre of Funchal but there is a morning and afternoon courtesy car (you need to book). Airport bus €8 return stops outside. Small indoor and outdoor pools and lovely terraces with fantastic view. Lovely breakfast buffet and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool size of location was very disappointing ,every time I went there was nobody attending to it

    breakfast outside was great but sometimes not enough shade

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    64 and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise "d-rrr, d-rrr, d-rrr" every morning about 7-30, 8-00 o'clock from the upper floor with restaurant, when waiters making up it for the breakfast. Room 507. Slow service in the bar. Smile on reception only time to time.

    Location at the first line, on the rock with amazing views from the balcony. Spacious room with balcony. Comfortable bed, of course. )) Roof terrace at the six floor. Close to supermercado and the beach. 25 minutes walk to the marina.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    We were made to feel special! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention from the staff was exceptional. My husband and I were made to feel special on our wedding anniversary. The views from the room balcony were stunning, the bed was super comfortable and the bar was great at night. Nice cocktails! Breakfast was lovely with such a wide variety. We will be back next year.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Good location and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone in my room did not work and there was only one person at the reception all day.

    Staffs are kind and location was convenient near supermarket and bus station to the city center. Size of the property is not big so it was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Would thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfair and seemingly mean,penny pinching charging, to actually rent the key and lock, for your safe box in the room you have already payed for. Being charged, to look after your valuables, in their hotel, seems very mean indeed. It would be nice to listen to a musician in the evenings, lacking in atmosphere at the beautiful bar and veranda. What a waste.

    Fantastic hotel. Not over powering like some of the big airport like neighbouring hotels. With crowds of people. Cosy, clean, brilliant staff, fantastic good, brilliantly situated. Each room, unlike neighbors, has a fantastic view. Love this hotel, will certainly use again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing i would change.

    Bedroom over looked the sea and lights up the mountain. The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Short madeirian break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony lacked privacy, breakfast mediocre.

    View from the room stunning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel,nice position,excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 21 nights

    car parking for guests.Limited,not easy to access.Good hotel

    Quietness of rooms,especially at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Excellent accomodation, made stay in Madeira memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds very comfy, room very spacious, view from balcony lovely. Food selection excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Great holiday. Staff fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Brilliant hotel. Will definitely be returning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    very nice hotel extremely friendly & helpful staff, a credit to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing

    bed did not suit me but other than that issue, everything else was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, relaxed, pleasant and helpful staff, great location and views, lovely breakfast, comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Great winter break here with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar pricey

    Very comfy bed and great views from the balcony

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    good stay and a nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    things to do and see hard to find

    staff very helpful and a nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, have had better hotels / accommodation for less the cost of this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was quite uncomfortable, staff were not overly pleasant

    beautiful view from our balcony, lovely treatment at the spa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and great breakfast buffet. Good location and spectacular view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Look forward to returning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is small but location dictates this.

    Good location. Room was excellent. Restaurant, service and staff were all good, friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Short and pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada a apontar.

    Da proximidade do mar, dos quartos amplos.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Great location for a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, staff was friendly and helpful. Awesome water views. Just far enough from the buzy city center with public transportation at the door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    Staff were excellent, in particular the reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were excellent, in particular the reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Definitely lovely visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit far from Funchal!

    The staff were excellent!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful clean and not far from town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find any fault

    Beautiful sea views plenty of choice at breakfast staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Seven lovely nights in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great hotel, all staff very warm, welcoming and helpful. Accommodation very good. Not too far to walk into the centre of Funchal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location, views stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real bar for that late night cap.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast egg beans etc were not very hot the other choices very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Madeira Regency Ciff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Outdoor eating area and free shuttle bus into Funchal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Best hotel in funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service.. view.. the staff ..breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Free upgrade from a superior room to a suite. The ocean view from our terrace. The buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    access to beach

    Balcony and view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Breakfast and dinner in the sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cannot think of anything that we did not like

    Good air conditioning, large bed, two balconies, good breakfast, fantastic staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    The view from our comfortable balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the small tables and congestion in the dining room and chose to eat out. It would be better in the warmer weather when the superb veranda could be used. No omelettes offered for breakfast.

    The view from our comfortable balcony. The breakfasts where extra coffee was readily available.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and our room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were very average and pool area lacked the r & r factor and was very small. It is an hour walk to the centre and the courtesy bus service from the hotel was very limited.

    Staff were friendly and our room was spacious and clean. We had a lovely sea view

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    The violinist was excellent - we even danced to her.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I was being picky a little maintenance on the wall lights and curtains was needed.

    The violinist was excellent - we even danced to her. Loved the large bedroom and the sound of the crashing waves and the ocean view. The breakfast was plentiful and varied with tea made properly. The back entrance from the seafront was useful and had no cars. Loved the peaceful setting.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.1
    Balcony and sea view were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of gluten free options despite previous reviews saying it was good. Did supply gluten free bread but nothing else

    Balcony and sea view were wonderful

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was ideal size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting in and out of the shower could be difficult for elderly guests. The bath towels are on small side. On a couple of days the room was not thoroughly tidied.

    The hotel was ideal size. Large enough to offer full facilities but still small enough for personal service. The cliff location gave spectacular views from our very attractive room and its balcony. The deck on which we breakfasted was a very special feature- it ftelt as if we were at sea. The staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.3
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    both pools are small.

    location. away from the busy center with good bus service outside the hotel. close to several good restaurants. friendly and helpful staff. lovely terrace for breakfast and cocktails. we were there during carnival. the hotel- organized roundtrip transportation to the parade was appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    8.8
    The room had 2 balconies so we could follow the sun and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay on arrival. We stayed in 7 hotels in Madeira as we were on a fly drive but this was the only one which required payment up front.

    The room had 2 balconies so we could follow the sun and the wind direction. Great location of bus stops.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location by the shore at the western end of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location by the shore at the western end of the hotel zone. Handy walk to Central Funchal with lots of restaurants, cafes en route and some nice little gems down by the shore. We had a superior room with two balconies which made the most of the views and the new year fireworks were breathtaking and so close !

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    The staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast on a delightful open terrace (level 6) to start the day and flexibility to dine in or at the many nearby restaurants. Fabulous, spacious room - worth upgrading to superior - glorious views

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    Dining terrace,view from room,quality of breakfast,good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hot and stuffy inside the building,more doors and windows open or the air con turned on would have helped.

    Dining terrace,view from room,quality of breakfast,good friendly service.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: