Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mareta View - Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4 stars

Beco D. Henrique, 8650-327 Sagres, Portugal

#10 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Sagres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1054 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Great place to stay. Quiet private location. Stunning views over the water and coastline. Staff very professional hardworking and accommodating. Room lovely and clean always, cleaning staff very friendly and help when you need them. Laundry on time and nicely done. Breakfast layed out nicely in side and outside overlooking the lovely views with a good choice. Hot tub was HOT love it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is somehow noisy; also doesn’t help that most people have no respect for guests that don’t get up at their time.

    Location is very good and the facilities are very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, the building looks new or renovated but obviously without sound insulation. I was on the ground floor down the corridor and could hear conversations in reception as though they were in the same room.

    Comfy bed, very clean, good location. Beautiful garden with sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good - there is no lift which didn't bother us as we knew in advance. Hadn't realised there was more than one 'Mareta' place to stay so went to the wrong place first. This one is tucked away but has the garden and is probably quieter with great views.

    The view from our room and balcony with table chairs and loungers. The colourful decor, spotlessly clean , attractive garden and excellent breakfast. Parking on street outside was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy with increase of rates. It has been such a lovely hotel all these years with people coming from all over the world and financial backgrounds. Unfortunately that will be not the case anymore. It’s a real shame. Lovely Management have a think about it. Thanks a lot in advance😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single detail was negative or even avarage. Everything is for 10!

    View from the terrace was amazing. Hotel and room are so beautiful, colorful and cosy. Best breakfast in Portugal. I hope I will be back soon... (Parking is easy few steps from the house.)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it was the off-season, there was little choice of places for dinner. Fortunately, the restaurant next door was open and OK!

    The room was bright and roomy. The view at breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, enjoyed the jacuzzi which was even accessible in the winter, 5min walk from a beautiful beach where we had a morning swim. Great staff, helpful when we lost our key card and generally very accommodating. Extremely good price for quality! We felt pampered!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room with Bunk Bed with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Proximity to the beach ; easy to park - off season ; great lobby hangout area; patio! super friendly aciomadating staff; clean rooms, great view; great breakfast; proximity to the historical sights! Amazing place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the room could have been larger.

    I enjoyed staying the Mareta View - Boutique Bed & Breakfast very much. The wifi was fast and functioning, the bed was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Breakfast included very good coffee and a good selection of nutritious foods to get the day started. The grounds of the hotel overlook a beautiful beach and mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small - that was disappointing. We don’t surf but that was ok as we weren’t staying for long.

    The veranda was quite big and the view was fab. The whole place was geared up for surfers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are really basic, and there is some glowing thing in the room that I unplugged so I could get some sleep. Pillows were not great...

    The location and its sister B&B is spectacular. Each B&B has a similar design and character, I would have liked to understand all of my options prior to booking. Staff was helpful, communicated well and were all great! The View is a bit further off the road and is a very nice place. Intimate lobby, with a nice grassy space facing the ocean. The hot tub is actually a cold tub, much better idea in the climate. Guests have access to the pool at one of the other properties and I enjoyed using it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with Bunk Bed with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room looked out on the property and the beach beyond. There was a nice area with tables where one could take drinks and breakfast. The location was great, even the harbor on the other side of town (where we took a sea excursion to see seabirds) was walkable in just over 10 minutes. There were nice restaurants around. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise starting from 8.30am, very hard to have a lie-in and chill in the morning. The rooms are a bit business-like

    Great view Comfy bed Nice breakfast on a terrasse overlooking the beach and the ocean Good value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The seaview with breakfast was very nice, breakfast was good, nice interior in the lobby and breakfast area, the garden is nice too with great view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room was rather noisy and couldn't be turned off.

    Breakfast was great. Even had gluten free bread! Bed was extremely comfortable. View from the garden was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no lift there so expect climbing some stairs with your luggage.

    Beautiful sea view from the room. The room was big enough and had a spacious terrace with a pair of comfy sunbeds. Very good breakfast. Nice garden and comfy common area with a bar. Also, there's an awesome local restaurant just around the corner called "Babugem".

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar has little use. They should encourage people somehow to use the bar more.

    Very simple and ultra friendly boutique hotel. So close to beaches. Staff so helpful and accomodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms would be good but there was nothing we didn’t like

    Good location to beaches very clean and modern and the staff were accommodating to our needs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so small that we couldn't even fit our suitcase on the floor. Only the double bed fit in the room.

    great private access to the beach, walking distance. Fantastic breakfast, really added value. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    - not cozy room (with view of land adapted for the disabled) - mold in the bathroom - bad ratio quality to price - two little electrical outlets - not very quiet - noises from the street and surrounding houses

    + variety of breakfast + very good location almost in the middle of Sagres. It’s 5km away from capo de Vincente – good for long walk or bike trip; + very nice and cosy garden and holl

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An overnight stop so we could enjoy the Mariza concert (she is amazing) just a stones throw from the hotel. We have stayed at the sister hotel and much prefer this Boutique Bed & Breakfast version as the views from the ground floor breakfast area are superb. There is parking close by but it is on street and not reserved. Very friendly & helpful welcome from local staff. Our ground floor room was great for one night, great Aircon, a small fridge and very comfy bed. The breakfast was perfect to our taste and the mini pastel de natas excellent together with a Nespresso, and we sat outside watching the glorious view of the sea. The gardens are lovely to lazy in and you can use the pool at The Beach House. Lovely local Mareta beach is just a 5 min walk away and almost next to the hotel there is a square offering lots of choice for cocktails and supper. We shall be returning as often as possible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a great location, and the view from our room was amazing. The room was big, clean and modern, with an enormous balcony to boot. The selection of food and drink for breakfast was also great, and there are many restaurants and bars within a short walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view, super nice garden with a jaccuzi. You can also use the pool at their other facilty. Basically everything you need! Lots of books and games for entertainment as well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in central Sagres, close to the beaches and with a very nice view. The staff was exceptionally friendly! Our car broke down near the hotel and the receptionist helped us to communicate in Portuguese with the mechanics and in general, with sorting the problem. I would definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money, room was tiny with the bed nearly touching the walls and view was of the road, for the money we spent we had stayed in nicer properties elsewhere on our trip.

    Location to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us in a room at the ground floor, a lot of noise and view to the parking. For disabled guests. The room smelled very bad. It smelled like sewer. For 140 euros they should never rent that room to anybody.

    Garden,location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One girl in the staff didn't seem to care when we asked her about the city center and to have more juice at breakfast. Further, the hotel didn't really make clear that they don't have an actual private access to the beach, meaning that you have to rent your own umbrella.

    Location super, big clean room, great garden with jacuzzi, great swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful room with a view over the water. Clean and comfortable room. Great breakfasts. Wonderful, helpful staff. Loved absolutely everything about this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small rooms, very noisy corridors and no isolation between the rooms and corridors, so this is rather like a Novotel, very clean and adequate. The rooms are correct and simple, but the name of "boutique" is definitely misleading.

    Beautiful view over the ocean from the front top rooms. Nice but small garden towards the sea, tiny little whirlpool (in need of cleaning). Relatively good but simple breakfast (quality of cheese and jams/honey could be better, all very basic stuff.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like about this hotel. It is excellent.

    The view from the balcony is just perfect and the balcony was extra spacious, so we could spend most of our time there. Loved having pasteis de nata for breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is a little far from everything else and the town doesn't have a whole lot of things to do. If you do hire a car though, then its perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had one of the rooms on the ground floor and there was some noise. facilities and gorgeous communal areas did compensate for this

    great pool and view. beautiful hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is close to no insolation in the hotel rooms towards the corridors. Around the doors there is no silicone or other stopper which makes it really noisy when you close them without care. On top of that, the guests really don’t make an effort to close them quietly or walk in the corridors without making noise (slamming the door, walking down the corridor stomping with your wooden sandals while whistling at 7:30am…really?) The maids start their work at 8am by pulling the hoover, buckets and utensils over the tiles is a no-go in a holiday hotel. There are only 17 rooms so they can easily start after breakfast. Also, they don’t pay attention to be at least a little less noisy, in the contrary, they discuss amongst them, pull huge garbage bags full of cans two floors down the stairs and frequently let the hoover tube, etc. fall on the floor. They do a great job, as the rooms are spotless clean, but they should really start later or be less noisy (again and also due to missing insolation or carpet on the corridor) For a Bread & Breakfast Hotel, the breakfast was very simple. We really don’t need much and are not excessive, but you could tell that the cold meats and cheeses incl. mozzarella were on the lower quality side. Also, the staff, that was attending breakfast were very un-attentive so that sometimes there were no clean tables, juice, coffee or plates left, one hour before closing. We always had to ask, there was no proactive “serving”. Here as well – minor points could be changed, to improve the situation significantly (a little better quality food and paying more attention to the guests). The tables on the terrace are fabulous though. The garden is really beautiful but totally deserted during the day. I assume most people just go to the beach or do day trips, but by arranging the sun loungers a little more inviting, changing the cushions in the patio and clean up the Jacuzzi you would gain so many plus points just by the looks.

    We stayed at the Mareta View – Bed & Breakfast for one week mid-June. It’s a really nice hotel and we chose it as it’s not one of those huge buildings with no “charme” and 200 rooms. Its’ location and views are absolutely fantastic! On the one side you see the garden, cliffs and ocean (3mins walk downhill to the beach), and its only 5 minutes’ walk to the fantastic restaurants in the surrounding area. It is very calm around it, so even when you sleep with your window open on the landside, there is no noise outside whatsoever. Due to those great points it’s a shame that there are also some things that need improving and that put a little downer on an otherwise great vacation spot. Again and to sum up – the hotel is really nice overall but can significantly improve their appearance and service by making minor changes or adjustments. I guess that you won’t care too much if you stay there 2-3 days, but we just noticed it a lot during one week. We still had a great time in Sagres and would come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was missing was a small gym and a hot tub that got hot.

    The hotel was adorable! Very trendy and compact in a beautiful location walking distance to the Ocean and just off the walking path that takes you out to the point and the fortress. The room was the smallest we stayed in during our holiday but very cute and the price was right!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Then main staff person, (Jorge)?) was amazing but the rest, not so much.

    Location, beautiful outside breakfast and lounge, area. One block away from bus stop, easy to get to. Clean and well appointed. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Lots of beaches in the area or by bus. It's a surf town, take advantage! Access to lovely swimming pool and deck area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little smaller than at the sister hotel next door (where we stayed last year but no garden) also there is no lift - not a big problem but would be a nice luxury after a hot day out. Just a design comment, they have those annoying trendy "test tube" containers for shampoo and shower gel which are impossible to handle and place upright...too much form over function! Overall though these are tiny issues to an otherwise lovely hotel.

    The location is perfect, we had a town facing room but it was still ok (next time we'll get a sea view). The small garden area is great for chilling out and breakfast overlooks the garden and sea. Everything was neat and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast and super clean hotel Really well designed for couples travelling and visiting the area - the hotel has great sea views and the location is good for visiting Sagres Sabres itself feels a little run down - but we were there early season

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space in bathroom was tight. Breakfast was poor - orange juice wasn't real. Tiny bowl for cereals - limited choice of foodstuffs - no hot option. Relative to other like priced hotels it wasn't great. Pool being down the street at another address was a bit disappointing.

    Good tv channels choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a ground floor room (possibly the worst room available) overlooking the wall and a car park. The room was next to 2 toilets, facility room and the office. It was was very dark as there was no proper lighting inside apart from just 2 small bedside lamps (5w each). The receptionist was rude and ignorant, shouting at my partner when she complained about the facilities. Regardless the room - service and reception needs some care and good manners.

    + Good, central location in town + Nice breakfast including good coffee + Well arranged garden with a fabulous view + Lobby area is nice and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime it's a bit noisy when the wind closes doors, because they have not stopper. Staff could be a bit more friendly and active.

    Sea view room are beautiful with great balcony Very nice garden! Breakfast in garden. Excellent choice of coffee, Cappuccino and Nespresso!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sagres is a bit spoiled by the dominant surfer culture, but the location is splendid and its not hard to escape crowds, at least in late March/early April

    Excellent location with good access to cliff walks and fascinating Sagres Fort. Limited range of restaurants but at least one is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clinical atmosphere, may not suit everyone (we had no problem with this though).

    Excellent color scheme used in the hotel. Great views of the Atlantic, if you manage to book a room with a sea view! Hotel is surrounded with walk paths to coast and the castle nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is really noisy. You hear every person at the floor or closing door.

    Small but adequate breakfast. A lovely Hotel Lobby with swinger chairs. Good starting point for trips! Can't tell something about the pool area or beach beause it was to windy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the back have no views and rooms felt darker. Would gave been c disappointed if sleeping in one.

    Location. Staff v friendly. Decor v fresh and bright. Front rooms fab views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole building is tiled so all we could hear was people slamming doors and crashing up and down the stairs. Request a room far away from the stairwells.

    Lovely well decorated hotel. Good continental breakfast. Good shower. Room had everything we needed. Really nice common area with hammock chairs, comfy sofas, books, games etc. There's a lovely garden with a hot tub which we enjoyed! The location is brilliant, everything in Sagres is walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The land view rooms are really tiny and very poorly ventilated - I read a review that commented on this before and thought what a silly thing to complain about but it is a bit odd because we had to leave the sliding juliet balcony door open all night because it was really muggy after we had both had showers, also the shower screen doesn't really work and we ended up getting water all over the bathroom floor. This would not deter us from staying again however because it's lovely - I would just pick the sea view room if you can.

    The breakfast is amazing, the staff are lovely (particularly the man at reception - he is super friendly and helpful!!) The gardens and the view from the patio and breakfast area is to die for. The sea view rooms with balcony are the best and an excellent size. The indoor common areas are really lovely as well, comfy sofas, hammock style swing chairs, board games and books :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only started at 08:00. I had to catch the bus to Lagos at 07:15am, so could not have breakfast. Shame. It could have started earlier, say, at 07:00.

    I had a room with sea view. It turned out to be well worth it because the sea was what I went there for after all. The room has a spacious terrace from which one can stare out to sea and Mareta beach. The room itself is also big, sorta light and airy and the bed is huge and super comfy. Everything was neat and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location overlooking Mareta beach. We walked out onto the path overlooking the beach and watched sunset with a beer. Restaurants and bars in the area are great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just basic. It has no lifts. Also, am not sure it suits families with kids as I think they do not have a proper functioning kitchen. I think they only have breakfast. Please check with them before booking.

    Location! Location! Location! This is a SPECTACULARLY LOCATED Hotel. If you book a room at this place, remember to ask for one with a sea view. To wake up and see the view from my balcony, filled my heart with happiness. Even the garden and lawn maintained by the hotel is very beautiful. One can walk through the lawn and within a short distance, reach the beach. The room is good too. Close to the hotel, after a short walk you find restaurants and pubs and so you have a choice for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In many years of travelling, never been in a hotel that had such loud, disruptive banging of doors throughout the night. I was tensed up all night just anticipating the next deafening bang. At breakfast, there were 3 Spanish couples sitting at different tables carrying on a loud, obnoxious conversation while other guests were trying to enjoy the Sunday breakfast. These people are obviously insensitive morons who shouldn't be allowed in public, however it was the hotel's responsibility to maintain peace and quiet for the other guests. When I complained the receptionist, she was obviously in an uncomfortable position and her reply was "That's how the Spanish are". I suggest the management should put up signs in the breakfast room requesting all guests keep it quiet for other guests. When I saw the Spanish horde in the morning, I realized they had been the ones responsible for the loud noises in the hallways and the banging of doors but, again, the hotel needs to exercise some minimum standards and control disrespectful guests.

    The lovely, restful gardens in back sloping down to the cliffs - spectacular! A lot of effort put into the lounge/common areas. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location very central in the square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I still do not know why to use the term boutique to anything that has a blue led inside a room. Nothing special, quite cold and will not return for sure.

    The view to the beach in amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was small but compensated for by very big terrace and the view ! All the rooms and terraces are different sizes. I asked for top floor (2 nd floor) and best sea view. That is exactly what we got. So no complaints.

    Big terrace. Table and two chairs plus two long sun beds. Still plenty of terrace space. Fantastic elevated view very close to the sea. Probably a better view than the Pousada on the opposite headland. Continental breakfast was good. Decor very pleasantly contemporary. A really nice quiet little spot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small side and bathroom needed an extractor fan. Suggest picking rooms with a sea view as they are a little larger and have a balcony

    Communal area great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and very basic, no sound proofing (we could hear all the noise from the corridor), the jacuzzi is not useable during the winter season.

    Nice position above the beach, breakfast on the terrasse overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If any, and only if you're carrying heavy luggage, or in case of back problems: keep in mind There's no elevator, so pack smart :)

    - Exceptional sea view for the rooms facing to Mareta which I highly recommend - calm. No traffic. At night sound of the waves - sunrise - star gazing at night - slept very well, good bed - breakfast outside if weather allows. Could accommodate for Gluten and Lactose intolerance - friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many rooms in one building means quita a lot of noise around you

    Beautiful location, private balcony with sea view. Great value for money in off season

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having a room with a view looking over a run down plot

    Beautiful hotel, beautiful garden area overlooking the beach, lovely breakfast and staff were amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i have booked a room for less price and got a tiny room with no space to move no desk, no window with a veiw and no balcony So yhem i have adedd more money for a bigger room and i have paid the same as a couple are paying included breakfast eventhogh i was solo traveling. And did'nt get any discount. (The other rooms were all empty any how.. It was out of the season. ) But i guess that if you are a couple and paying the same price i was paying then it's toatelly worth it. That place is in a beautiful location.

    Best location in town. Can hear and see the sea from the room and balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location, bonus discounts at the nearby cafe. Excellent value for money - comfort of bed, room and breakfast. Would certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very noisy. In your room you can here everything what's going in the hotel. Guests talks, slamming the doors, even water floating through the tubes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and great view from the garden! Very clean room and bathroom, helpful staff and good breakfast. Highly recommended, especially rooms with sea view!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we took our breakfast outside on the wooden terrasse - to sit in the sun and ( to get away from the noise from the kitchen staff handling the dirty porcelain - 5 talking persons). But outside there was also noise from a gas heater from below the terrasse - what a pity. The juice was not real fresh juice - which should have been expected at that price. And bread could have been freshly baked in house as there are no bakers in the area. No eggs . - The small freezer in room was quite noisy - so I had to switch of in order to fall asleep - (I told the staff)

    The small cream pies very very good !! This place is good if you like to see the sun rise and you book the balcony side.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    loudness in the room 2 in the morning

    Our room was next to cleaning office,a bit loud in the morning . Otherwise the facilities were great and so relaxed . Beautiful landscape !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small. We could barely open our luggage. The shower is a little inconvenient as we spilled water everywhere. The lighting in the room was very spare - only two really dim bedside lights and no lighting above the bathroom mirror. Also the fridge was super loud.

    The location is by far the best about this place and makes up for some minor downfalls in comfort. It is really right next to the beach and the views are stunning. If you are early for breakfast you can catch a window seat. The breakfast selection was really great with fresh fruit, plenty of pastry and even nespresso coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small for 2 people with 2 big suitcases. Booked a standard room and not a small one. Wouldn't have liked to stay here for a longer period of time due to lack of space. No lift so we had to carry our big suitcases up two floors.

    Comfortable bed and good shower Lovely garden facing the sea with loungers and seating area Within walking distance of beach and Sagres Fort Breakfast was tasty but maybe a boiled egg would have been nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better directions to assist locating the bed and breakfast when arriving by car - the placement of signs naming streets appears to be optional in Portugal

    The room was clean & tidy however the most impressive feature for us was the view of the beach. The breakfast was good and there were plenty of options

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite pricey place to stay

    Very nice view from our terrace/room, super comfy bed, very good breakfast, everything was very clean, bright and looked very new.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room little dark, not enough light.

    Excellent location, clkse to beach and Fortaleza Sagres. Nice modern design with landscaped garden. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. We didn't had the feeling that we were welcome. No friendly "hello" or "good morning" or "welcome to our hotel". They have to work on this because it is an important part of your hotel experience.

    The location of the hotel is great. You can use the pool of the Mareta hotel. This invity pool is great with a bar. The beds at the balcony are very comfortable. The breakfast was good with fresh fruit, Nesresso coffee etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The land view rooms are tiny and don't have a balcony. There is no private parking. You can park on the street if you manage to find a spot, but you can get blocked by other cars. It happened to us and it was quite unpleasant.

    The design of the hotel, it is newly furnished. It is also very clean. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast buffet is delicious, there are lots of different options to choose from. The view from the garden is fantastic. You can also use a nice pool situated nearby free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was far too small. It wasn´t even possible to open the suitcase. Smallest and most expensive room during our Portugal road trip.

    Great view from garden, you can use swimming pool next door, friendly staff, nice lobby, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we stayed only for one night, we got a room on the ground floor right on the backside directly on the street. For one night this was OK , I would not have like to stay longer in this room, but I suppose the other nicer rooms were reserved for long stay customers!

    The location is very nice with a beautiful view on the ocean and a nice garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was too small. We couldnt even put our suitcases anywhere. For the high price of the room, it was very unsatisfying.

    Breakfast was great, location perfect, room clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small rooms, comfortable but could have been bigger. Fine as a stay over but if staying longer wold prefer a bigger room. Parking not the best.No lift.

    clean, smart, friendly staff, good breakfast and facilities as allowed to use sister hotels located v. close by

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: