Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Margarida Da Praça 3 stars

Largo 5 de Outubro, Nº 58, 4900-515 Viana do Castelo, Portugal

#6 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Viana do Castelo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Not the most comforting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic in every respect, the bed base cobbled together, and very low ,very minimal cheap furnishing and just needs a bit of proper style for the money. The most basic breakfast we encountered in all our trip. Not bad just basic. A main concern I noted that the receptionist kept a little black book in which were the clients credit card details including Cv numbers. She explained why but it still seems a bit dodgy should anyone access this book they then can charge to all these cards! I believe her that she destroys the numbers eventually but still disconcerting.

    The perfect location beside the river in the very centre of town. Pleasant staff clean place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely best place in Viana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is right in the city centre, hotel owners are amazing people who spend lot of their time right there, nothing is problem, they are so helpful! The town is small but you can spend there really nice time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    I got a warm welcome and the hotel is a 5 star for the price of less
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day of walking to Viana do Castelo, I was so pleased with the professional and warm welcome that I got from the guest manager Sofia at the reception desk. She guided me with tips for places that I should go to, to get the most of my short visit. The hotel is new and the room was large. The mattress was the best I have experienced. The location is also perfect. If you are going to Viana, this hotel is worth the room rate. I would book again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast in the morning was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems like the hotel is under renovation, and I think after the renovations will be complete it might be a really great place. We booked a suite, but our room turned out to just be a slightly bigger than normal oddly shaped room with a random small wooden chair in the corner. The sink was broken, the shower leaked all over the floor and our bed creaked every time we moved. For the money the hotel was not at all a good value (particularly compared to other places in Portugal where we stayed with much nicer rooms for much less).

    The breakfast in the morning was great. The staff was kind and let us store our bags without trouble, and have late check out. The location is right by the river and near the heart of the old city, which was wonderful, a quick 10min walk from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Attractive lobby, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit cramped, and air conditioner didn't cool the air very effectively. Towels were missing in the bathroom; sink was a bit too small to be useful. Wifi was unreliable in my room.

    Attractive lobby, friendly staff. Absolutely adorable town -- but I would choose somewhere else to stay next time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was close to everything, and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand the hotel is closing - it seemed a bit run down, as though no maintenance had been done for awhile. The towels were threadbare and ragged, and actually tore. The aircon didn't work, so I left the window open even if there was noise. Why do hotels never provide somewhere for your bag? Other than the floor? It's the one thing we all have in common - we are traveling with a bag!

    The hotel was close to everything, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, and there were two types of pillow. The window when closed sealed out any noise. The breakfast was very nice with fresh juices (different every day) and lovely yogurt, and then all the other things you would expect. The tourist office was very useful with a tour guide who would design a half day or day program with you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice and clean small hotel in the center with its own atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good breakfast every morning, Cozy room with small balcony. The mattress and big pillows will make sure you will have a good sleep. The staff are very service minded, they do theirs so you will feel appreciated as their guest. The hotel has a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    A very nice (slightly different) place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found this hotel to be very nice and just a little bit quirky (which we liked). We arrived in the middle of a fair day and things were crazy on the street, but that lasted only a few hours. The hotel is quite pleasant and well placed in lots of small streets to walk in. The proprietor Carmelina (?) and also Jennifer ere very helpful and charming. We easily drove to the beach which is a good one. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.8
    A very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The style of the hotel is a little to "girly" (like shown in the pictures) but still very nice. The bathroom was not perfect (some of the wallpaper was off and nothing to wash the toilets) but it was a very small detail. We had two single beds instead of one large bed.

    Very large room with confortable beds. The staff is very nice ! The location is really good too. The breakfast is in-cre-di-ble. Try the cereals, the bred and a homemade marmelade or the lemon cream with real fresh yogurt, everything is good ! We ate so much of it that we barely had lunch after that !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Well - You just have to go there and see these lovely caring people for yourself......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A light switch somewhere near the door?.......But Heh'? - any fool can do the obvious!? - This is Art!...........

    'Right 'Off the Wall'! - Personabilty extraordinairre!!! - A 'Cool' place with a sense of humour! - I loved it! - So freindly and helpful very nice people (pretty ladies too!) - Good food 'cared about' and always very fresh and interesting...........'Sense of humour lighting too!............Not to be missed.............

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    happy customer
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was suitable for my requirements

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Location was central, a short walk from the station, with cafés and the coast a minute away. A clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chair in the bedroom.

    Staff spoke English, provided a friendly welcome and offered ideas for days out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Very fine food in the hotel restaurant
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very fine food in the hotel restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The hotel, the town, the surrounding - TOP!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly atmosphere - first class hospitality!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The breakfast was delicious and Kristina the owner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was delicious and Kristina the owner was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The architecture of the place ( restored old building) the location by the river, near the center. The staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location comfort and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if a Camino walker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay if a Camino walker

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, great boutique feel, lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel, great boutique feel, lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Close to the town centre and restaurants and bars all within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the town centre and restaurants and bars all within easy reach. Historic old town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff juices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice Place and Good Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin but fortunately the fellow guests were not very noisy.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, great decor, AMAZING breakfast-heartily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great staff, great decor, AMAZING breakfast-heartily recommended!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice girly place close to the port , nice stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Nice girly place close to the port , nice stuff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! One of my favorite breakfast. Staff lent me her umbrella to walk to the restaurant. Great resting spot just of the Camino.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    The front desk woman who helped us was fabulous.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark.

    The front desk woman who helped us was fabulous. The best. Give her a raise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    Luggage storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage storage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    You want to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel with free parking nearby. You can tell the staff go the extra mile, and the breakfast is amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice decoration and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too small

    Nice decoration. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    We loved the style and energy of the all women team who run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have no complaints. I had a problem with my knee and a hospital visit. Ice was left for me to assist with the reduction of the inflammation

    We loved the style and energy of the all women team who run this hotel. The breakfasts were the best we've experienced all preserves, yogurts, granola home made with love. Fresh juice, fruit bread etc. a little residents terrace on the 3 floor was delightful

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    Stylish and cosy room painted in bright colors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything is fine but I think breakfast at 7 euros per head is expensive in Portugal. We had it at local bakery for the same price for the 3 of us.

    Stylish and cosy room painted in bright colors. Big enough for three. Good shower and heating. Friendly staff who allowed a late checkout because of the race we took part in.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff in this family-run hotel are exceptionally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff in this family-run hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful. They leant us a sun-shade for the beach, and made us a cup of tea when we came back mid-afternoon when they were not supposed to be open. Their lunch was exceptional for quality and value.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    The mattress was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell of cleaning products was too intense in the room. The location is noisy for sleeping.

    The mattress was extremely comfortable. The room and overall decoration was very pretty. The personnel were extremely friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very, very uncomfortable and very noisy - every time we turned over it creaked and it felt like the base was going to break.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very cute and the breakfast was nice although limited to cold items. The room we had was quiet but quite small for a double. It is in a very good location for the main area of Viana. The décor is nice throughout the hotel and they have clearly added personal and quirky touches. Good shower. It was very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Super friendly/helpful staff, amazing breakfasts with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor a little on the tatty side in some bedrooms i.e. bathroom peeling paint. You wouldn't choose this place for the "mod cons" or for a luxury experience but more for the general relaxed and friendly ambiance.

    Super friendly/helpful staff, amazing breakfasts with personal touch, very hospitable in general.Nice chill out area on the roof terrace with great views over the river, Quirky decor in the reception/dining room.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    It's a real bonus if you can get a room with a river...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Reception provides you with a piece of paper with a daily code to get into your room after hours. May want to photograph in case you lose it. Regret not having the breakfast :)

    It's a real bonus if you can get a room with a river view. The rooms are clean and have a bit of an old world character with a nice colour palate. If you can't get a room with a view the rooftop access is great.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.8
    Very nice and clean place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice and clean place. So near to the river. Really great room. Very good place to stay in Viana do Castello. Unfortunately we had problems with WiFi, they had some technical problem, so WiFi were only available on ground floor. Besides this, it's very good place. Staff were helpfull and perfectly spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Margarita, the receptionist, was so sweet and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Margarita, the receptionist, was so sweet and helpful. It was definitely worth paying the E10 extra for the top floor Bounilla Room. Breakfast was a delicious spread. Loved the unusual, colorful decor all about.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    The staff (Viana, Carmelia, Margarida, Jennifer) were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff (Viana, Carmelia, Margarida, Jennifer) were absolutely superb in every respect and went out of there way to make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.2
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Satellite tv

    The room.Breakfast was great and the location was also great.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.8
    Good breakfast, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A longer stay would have been better!

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable bed, good breakfast, good value.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.2
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice breakfast. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    10
    incredible value for money.
    • Solo traveller

    Had to leave!

    incredible value for money. Staff first class, Hotel- beautifully excentric

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    A atençao do pessoal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A atençao do pessoal.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.3
    Close to everthing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to everthing. Nice place to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    Great staff member met us and helped us out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great staff member met us and helped us out

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.7
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy Coach and taxi stop below bedroom window no parking close by.

    Central location pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Lovely hostess, very helpful and rooms clean and decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hostess, very helpful and rooms clean and decorated with that extra touch!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Value of money
    • Family with older children

    None

    Value of money

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Its a lovely place in the city centre.
    • Family with older children

    Its a lovely place in the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.3
    Nice and clean little hotel with very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and clean little hotel with very nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    The stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed to soft for us.

    The stuff.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    the helpful attitude,the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the helpful attitude,the location.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Staff great to deal with
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff great to deal with

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    The warm friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    The warm friendly staff. The view of the river from our window.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    decoration, comfort, clean, nice staff, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    decoration, comfort, clean, nice staff, location

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.2
    Staff kindness, refreshing decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Staff kindness, refreshing decoration.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: