Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Madeira Mare 5 stars

Rua De Leichlingen, Sao Martinho, 9000-003 Funchal, Portugal

#17 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and we plan to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could use a decor update

    Location and spa were great. We didn’t use the poor or breakfast as we went to the local beach club and preferred breakfast in our room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Truly relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. The hotel has a rich elegant classic Portuguese style, which may not be to everyone's taste but we loved it.

    The staff were excellent, attentive, friendly and helpful. The front of house staff were exceptionally helpful. Super hotel in a fabulous location. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday. the spa facilities are excellent although couple they were having problems with the sauna during our stay. The spa treatments are very good, if you like massage, and treatment give this hotel spa a go.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    2nd time back and would return if they sort out the pool temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outdoor pool temperature was so cold that it prevented us using it. Spa area was slightly disappointing, its very large, but some things were either out of action or not switched on. Duvets are thin so it can become cold during the night

    Room was large and comfortable, Toiletries were of good quality and replenished each day. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. Hotel is close to a number of great restaurants. Happy hour is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, close to some good restaurants. Beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over cooked eggs. I only managed to get croissant twice in 7 days as they were the first thing to go!

    The huge balcony. The tea and coffee facilities in the room was a bonus and rare outside of the uk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Memorable stay at a wonderful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.Memorable

    Staying in Melia Madeira Mare, enhanced my holiday in Funchal. Special mention is to be made of the very helpful & courteous staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How expensive the airport transfer was!!!

    The location is great and the sea views are awesome. Additionally, the breakfast was great with loads of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Wish we'd stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, though there was quite a good choice.

    Staff were brilliant; room spacious and comfortable, lovely to have sun-loungers on our balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Great staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not advised outdoor pool closed for repairs. Pool bar not open Sunday afternoon also. Bar at reception closed Mon am. No coffee available.

    Great staff at reception. Couldnt be more helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, but ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know that outside pool will be closed (in hotels description they said that pool is opened whole year but it wasn’t). Indoor pool is just bad, very cold water even in jacuzzi. You can use other jacuzzi and mini pool which you can see on pictures but you have to pay if you need an access because they are in spa area (22 eur/day). I don’t like how breakfast are organized, you have to wait for coffee for example because only stuff can give it to you not sure why.

    Suite apartment was amazing, ocean view just beautiful. Good breakfast. Very good location, good restaurants near hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    FiveStar hotel need to have FiveStar food quality as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    FiveStar hotel need to have FiveStar food quality as well. Snack bar food was terrible and buffet more expensive than a.la Carte, but not value for money. Luckily we didn't choose all inclusive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice facility with very friendly and capable personnel. Pool, gym.. modern, clean and functionable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet Connection was not always functioning with iPhone ... something confusing with security settings

    Location Close to sea, clean rooms, great view, very friendly and capable personnel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.4
    Loved the Island but would stay somewhere else next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very uncomfortable bed. View on to other rooms and others could look into our room Bar area very sparse and atmosphere not very good for evening drinks and entertainment.

    The bathroom The staff serving coffee at breakfast! The maintenance man who broke into our safe just before we left !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    The stay overall was very nice the whole ambiance and cleanliness was what made the stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet meal could have topped up there hot food plate more regularly at least up to 8.45 ... some dishes were finished so there was no choice of hot meats

    The room with the partial view was a lovely view of the sea and hills which made relaxing easy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel. Beautiful setting. Plenty of amenities to enjoy a luxurious holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hmm... What did I not like? I liked 95% of everything about Hotel Meliã Madeira Mare. The only aspect I wish they would change is to make it a 100% non-smoking facility. It was disappointing not to be able to dine outside of the restaurant because it was a designated smokers area. It's hard to enjoy one's meal when surrounded by cigarette smoke.

    From my arrival to departure, I enjoyed Hotel Meliã Madeira Mare immensely. It's an upscale, beautifully designed and decorated hotel. The hotel staff were warm, welcoming, prompt and professional. My room had a spacious bathroom, a sleek bedroom, a very modern kitchen with dishes, utensils, etc., and a cosy dining nook and living room. Did I mention that the balcony was spacious and faced the sea? The all-you-can eat breakfast buffet was delicious and offered many fruit, vegetable and salad options to satisfy my vegan dietary needs. Although I was quite busy during the day, participating in tours of Madeira, I did try the indoor pool and spa. Lovely and relaxing! The next time I'm in Funchal, I would definitely like to stay here again. I hope to take advantage of the gym and fitness classes, and spend more time just lounging and relaxing at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely room overlooking the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price. I thought it was American dollars but turned out to be 300 euros when I got there and I did ask both Booking,Com and the hotel if they would translate the American dollars price into £ sterling before I went. But nothing was heard from either. I was expecting around £200 for the 2 nights!

    The bar with the entertainment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    I would now deliberately go to this hotel - the place is great but their best asset is their staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was great

    Breakfast was very good. Leandro and Rui on front desk were the epitome of excellence at their jobs. We were staying there as BA cancelled our flight and then just abandoned us with no assistance at all. We found the hotel through booking.com but the two guys were efficient, helpful, professional and kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Great infrastructure, less than great overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff great, but most very disinterested. Food was poor in comparison to the Vidamar up the road (we had moved from there because we needed 3 days with decent wifi). And it's no fun that the hotel permits smoking in the breakfast area, during breakfast - that allows a minority to spoil the pleasure of the majority. There is a smoking room which should be the only place people are allowed to pollute the air, especially in a hotel offering deals for families with children.

    Beautifully built hotel, containing delightful pieces of art; marvellous bedroom furnishings, great facilities. Strong wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Our vacation at Melia Madeira Mare was really wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent location, near the ocean and close to restaurants and shopping area; spacious rooms, very good breakfast, friendly staff, good offer for trips and adventures. The bus stop and the taxi station are less than 100 m from hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived just as the buffet dinner was finishing, there was not a lot of choice left and some of the food was dry and we found that it was not worth the price.

    Super comfy bed. It was my partners birthday and he was given chocolates

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Perfect week in beautiful Madeira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors to guest room have to be slammed as you leave the room which made it noisy at times, especially because the hotel were hosting a corporate event so some guests going for early breakfast. We could have done with more milk in the room to make hot drinks. However, we are struggling to find things we didn't like and can't wait to return!

    Helpful and friendly staff. Cleanliness of extremely high standard. Facilities great and combined with location couldn't ask for more!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.8
    Large breakfast selection, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a poor view, the air conditioning was either freezing or too warm. The hotel did not have easy access to the sea.

    Large breakfast selection, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. Clean and comfortable near to amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view from balcony was fabulous. Room excellent. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Good entertainment in evening. Close by to lots of restaurants. Nice walk into funchal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great relaxing stay with great service provided by all the staff at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing, all good

    All the staff were professional and very friendly, speaking a number of languages, but their English was fantastic. We are hoping to back very soon, but unfortunately its fully booked, not surprised though. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel again. Bed was very comfortable so had a good night sleep. Happy three hours! in the reception bar was a nice surprise with 25% off cocktails and accompanied by some nice subtle live music performed each night by different entertainers. Our first visit to Madeira and within hours of arriving had decided we had to come back for longer. This hotel has some great restaurants close by, Goya, Basilico, and Skat are just a few we tried and really enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Cracking hotel for peaceful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel advertisement on booking com states sauna available and Turkish bath no where does it state there is a fee to use these facilities

    Excellent hotel value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.6
    The bedroom was a good size with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower arrangement. The hand held should have been positioned on a bar so that you could shower standing in the bath and not having to hold it.

    The bedroom was a good size with excellent views. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    Great Facilities and friendly staff throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast

    This was the second stay at this Hotel we were very pleased last time with everything, staff, comfort and facilities. This time everything was as good except breakfast which was not a good experience most mornings even as early as 8.30 am the tables were left uncleaned. Cannot comment on Evening Meals in the Restaurant as we always dined in locations nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel - good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to check out and go home!!

    The selection available on the breakfast buffet was excellent - we were spoilt for choice. Spacious room The bed was very comfortable There was plenty of space for clothes in wardrobe and drawers

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    amazing pool with sea views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only small downside was the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor....

    amazing pool, helpful and friendly staff. Very good facilities, and good location! we had a room with an enormous balcony and sun loungers - fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.2
    Go to Madeira - Will Be Back and would Stay Here Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a little noisy with the window (balcony door) open so it was hard sometimes to really enjoy the view. Could use some new towels.

    Beautiful view off to side of balcony (see negative though), pretty spacious room with plenty of storage space if needed. A little dated on the decor if that matters to you because it didn't to us - it was quite comfortable. Super great restaurants right 'under' hotel, breakfast was real good - abundant fruit etc. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.5
    A good hotel to visit Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfeast, some people from staff during breakfeast time were unfriendly, the bar inside,

    the indoorpool, the gym, the room with evening sun, outdoor pool, the staff by the reception, near busstation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Most enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hot element of the breakfast could be improved with pancakes, poached eggs, waffles made to order. Omletes were and were excellent.

    Staff were friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was all one would expect from a 5* hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Number one on price, but pool area more basic, rate 4 star more than 5 ( room 319)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple terrace around the pool with hardly any trees, so not the garden atmosphere of ome other hotels. Lots of different seating areas. Some matrasses on the stretchers absorb the rain amd give it back unexpectedly... Wifi in the room is of v ery low quality, at the pool OK. Mo direct access to the ocean.

    Nice modern hotel, business atmosphere. Spacious room and bed. Bed is somewhat hard, no topper supplied. Gardenview has the morning sun on the terrace, later al little dark. Goof value for money here!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a decent location (busses to the city run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was a bit dated, but still pretty nice. The beds were the biggest disappointment, you could feel every single bed spring on your ribs.

    Nice hotel in a decent location (busses to the city run quite often). There's a great sushi place next to the hotel and couple of other restaurant. The free parking was a great option for people renting a car (a private garage!).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    We will definitely be going back to the Melia Madeira Mare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were lovely and the maid service was excellent. The staff were first class. We are hoping to take the children with us next time for a longer stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Almost left the first night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We almost left the first night because instead of a room with a mountain-view balcony, we were given a room with a terrace overlooking the parking and a back street. But the worst problem was the smell coming from the kitchen and the noise from the outdoor air-conditioning. Next day we were given a room which was much better. Another minus goes to pigeons on the terrace where the breakfast was served - not really pleasant to have your breakfast while birds are attacking the food on a table next to yours. All together, would not rate it as a 5 star, but rather a solid 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.1
    Four stars rather than five
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Brekfast: I would expect that in a 5* Hotel pineapple and papaya would be already peeled. Some towels at the pool are very old and have strange spots. Many people reserve the sun loungers at the pool even before having breakfast! Overall I wouldn't consider this a five star hotel. For me it is a 4 star hotel.

    Breakfast is good, but they could present and decorate the buffet much better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.4
    Complacent large hotel attitude, many areas looking tired and outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbery eggs - kept warm far too long. Poor attitude of some staff. Not attractively presented - reminded me of school dinners : no refinement.

    Quite a wide choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff were super friendly, very professional and were always attentive and willing to assist with advise and taxi arrangements on our behalf.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was very comfortable and clean Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To hot during the night and air conditioning didn't seem to work and also breakfast wasn't very nice

    Everything else I loved

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Almost everything, clean rooms, helpful staff, good food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is not for free, out door pool is small

    Almost everything, clean rooms, helpful staff, good food, great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast, service, location and sea view were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was fairly spacious it was a little tired.

    The breakfast, service, location and sea view were perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was so friendly and kind. clean hotel, good location, highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Well, worth it's five star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    Excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    The view and the breakfast, great undeground parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel shows its age.

    The view and the breakfast, great undeground parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    I thought the reception area and bar area near the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I thought the reception area and bar area near the reception were soul less. let the hotel down

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Weather rubbish, people lovely, food in hotel not 5 star standard, more like 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    People

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the BEST location on the island next to the promenad along the ocean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Need to improve room cleaning

    Lovely breakfast with shampagne!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Large room and terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large room and terrace. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    poor 5 star hotel, failed to deliver on everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything

    basic room with basic facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Car parking and everything Staff are so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay and would reccomend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More choice in breakfast I would say.

    The staff was great and very helpful. Always smiling and very genuine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Overall excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment was average and staff variable

    Breakfast excellent. Room fabulous. Good location for restaurants. Car parking good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing break in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the restaurant was over priced.

    Great location. Very clean, staff were brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Modern and well designed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - traffic noise especially pool side Dining facilities restricted

    Modern and well designed Room good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel but needs more training for staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not up for the task

    Good size rooms, clean, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice vacation experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not good enough for the price paid

    The balcony view and proximity to Lido beach area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel- but expensive, better experiences are available at half the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to get lost as the hotel had 2 lift systems

    Welcome, view and pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Everything nothing we could fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything nothing we could fault

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    The Perfect Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of evening buffet

    Room size like a suite, excellent buffet breakfast and dinner, cheap drinks, 2 swimming pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay in a quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No exit from pool area direct to lido below. Steep walk down and back up from reception

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our safe was broken and did not get fixed.

    The hotel was clean and had generally good facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for a Spring break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good views across the swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel & would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfy pillows in bedroom

    Huge choice all beautifully cooked & presented

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views of the Atlantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dining room was like a school cafeteria; some staff were excellent; some were poor

    Superior sea view was worth extra

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Great stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel with lovely outdoor pool area and very friendly staff in a great location. Beds super comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Quiet and comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Strong chlorine smell from the swimming pool on some floors

    Quiet and comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff, uncomfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds not 5 star and should have been a double for a couple. Pillows uncomfortable.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were able to have a late check out which was great as we had a late flight

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable reasonably priced 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a 5 star: more of a 4 star hotel: reflected in the quality and speed of the service.

    Clean room, nice pool. Overall a good stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our accommodation was excellent and we found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    More than happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    Everything was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    A hotel where everything was what you hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely hotel in a good location. We were upgraded to a premium suite which was a lovely surprise and much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    The Best hotel on the Island ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with sea views
    • Stayed 14 nights

    2 weeks not enough ...could stay here permanantly

    The excellent view from my patio ...the food ,the staff are always helpful , Location ....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.2
    Room was beautifully decorated and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels and bath robes were like cardboard! Drying myself after a bath was akin to rolling around in sand with some of the towels. Pity. And the robes were unwearable and had holes!

    Room was beautifully decorated and comfy. Room-service excellent and all staff friendly and went out of their way to help.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: