Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Ria Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Cais Da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, 3810-200 Aveiro, Portugal

#9 of 18 hotels in Aveiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1006 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub is broken. The water running out is yellow. Very disapointed. It took 30 mins to reset the computer to get internet connected at the check in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my room window hinge was not air tight and being on 5th floor, the wind was howling and sounded like a Formula 1 race noise. This was reported to the recption.

    Modern, clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size room & bathroom ok, but bathroom was old and needed new tiling/kitting because there was mildew on the joints.

    good location, easy parking, reception staff friendly, size room good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Swimming pool was good but often restricted by various classes. Breakfasts wide selection but slow on replenishing on busy mornings with large (conference) parties. Reception slow on check out.

    Accessible to town centre and station, and overlooking canal basin. Comfortable bedroom and friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - a little noisy at night: people shouting outside, a cargotrain passing by nearby the hotel - I booked a room with SPA facilities, what was more expensive. Arriving there, the SPA was free during the months march and april. When I told this at the reception they told me I paid more for a room with a view on the lake. So this what clearly not true. - breakfast a bit boring after a while - small room for 3 persons

    - clean - good location - staff is OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At 9h30, on a Saturday morning, the cleaning lady, knocked on my door requesting if she could clean my room. She also asked me to place the "do not disturb" sign so that she does not bother me the next time. This happened on the day of the check-out. Isn't there a "check-out" list? Why bother me so early, I had just left the shower. Very unprofessional. Generally the staff is sullen and smug at this hotel. Cocky.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Christmas decoration with led lights made some rooms weirdly bright...

    Comfortable bed, spacious room and great view of the surrounding area. Convenient location for business travelers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not so diligent. Took ages to sign the dinner bill. The bar is usually unmaned and had to look for assistance myself.

    The room was fine with the right amenities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    We liked everything! Really nice reception by Alexandre. The room and the wc was in perfect conditions to have a really good stay. The breakfast was excellent and you have a lot of different food. The best 4 stars Hotel we ever been! we will be back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nowhere to sit outside though there seemed to be plenty space for tables chairs etc.

    The Romantic Packsge was excellent value for money. Friendly staff nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, 10 min Walk from the city center. We asked at the reception where to eat fish and they recommended a great restaurant, Mercado da peixe. We asked them also if we can take late check out and they have been really nice to allow us to stay one more hour for free, having in mind that the hotel was full.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    everything! We were given free access to the spa as a birthday gift plus a bottle of champagne which was a lovely gesture. The rooms had a great view of the canal and was comfortable and quiet. We both had massages which were excellent and the spa is well equipped, clean and relaxing. We very much enjoyed our stay, thank you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simpatia do pessoal hotel moderno e agradavel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had one towel for a 2 persons room. The bathtub had hair and was poorly clean.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE SMELL OF CIGARETTES IN THE RECEIPTION AREA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows with nodules instead of sifteness Air conditioning did not work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A vista do hotel é magnífica

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A typical holiday inn hotel

    Proximity to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, dirty windows in the pool

    Comfortable room and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been better

    Excellent location Comfy bed Refrigerator Pool & spa

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Facilities and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very comfortable, staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with luggage. Had to drug the suitcases upstairs ourselves

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little too warm, not enough possibility to open the window.

    Bed very confortable, clean and a lot of space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could actually hear noise in the corridor and sometimes even the trains going by.

    Location, spa

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great. From the beginning with a great help from the girl in the check in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charme Glamour cortesia

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin. Hear everything from next door

    Generally good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could not sleep there was too much noise, the isolation of the rooms is very poor

    beautiful hotel, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and hotels attention to detail

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were not made up until late afternoon on both days.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a bit hard, but it's a personal preference!

    Lovely hotel, clean & bright

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vacations in Aveiro
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    Lovely spacious room, comfy bed, good storage and desk space, nice bar, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not too good

    Great location, basic and clean rooms Parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid parking !

    Excellent location short walk along river to town centre .Breakfast plentiful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts only two for a big hotel and very slow

    Great location quality of rooms great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right next to the Aveiro convention center. A 10 minute walk from the train station. Also a 10 minute walk along the canal to the old part of the city, which is loaded with restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel isn't anymore what is was before, old fashioned. When we came here 8 years ago it was nice.....Have seen and stayed in better hotels (for less money) in Aveiro

    Near centre, quit neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Paying for the swimming pool as a hotel resident isn't great...the breakfast wasn't as good as the one at the Melia in Braga we stayed at a few days earlier...

    Great location overlooking the canal and easy walking distance to town. Very comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It amazes us that a relatively modern hotel would have a elevator which was very noisy. Changed rooms three times before having a room with tolerable noise. While the food was good and the room was okay, this hotel should be avoided unless management does something about the elevator.

    The negative noise from the elevator made for a poor stay

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the fact there was an intermittent 'gushing' sort of noise in our room which was room number 609. The noise started one morning at twenty minutes past five and for the three nights we were there the noise usually subsided at about 12.30am! We bought the problem to the attention of reception but were advised there was not a problem as nobody else had complained and no staff had heard the noise. The latter was the exact opposite of what some members of staff had told us. We said we wanted the complaint registered and also asked for the 'complaints book' to be made available to us on our departure. Upon departure (it was a different man on reception) and he asked if everything had been OK for our stay. We were flabbergasted by the latter and the gentleman flicked through something like a diary and could find nothing of our complaints or our request for the 'complaints book'. The dates of our stay were 16th to 19th October. I have delayed writing this review to give somebody at the hotel opportunity to contact me to at least apologise but have heard nothing. We reside in Portugal and went to Aveiro out of season primarily for some rest, peace and quiet, it follows we didn't get it. What we got was a total lack of empathy for our concerns. To the management. Please do not respond to this review with similar patronising comments I have noted elsewhere. I have outlined in true detail information about the noise which really spoiled our stay in your hotel at Aveiro. If I am still not believed or if you would like to discuss the issues raised then you have my contact details and should know what to do. For clarity I repeat. Dates of stay 16th to 19th October, room number 609.

    The location was great, short walk to shops and restaurants. Good onsite restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A conference one evening made the public spaces fairly busy,so we went out!

    A good location to see Aveiro. At first it appears to be out of town but in reality it is fairly central with easy parking facilities. Handy for the station too. The hotel itself is fairly typical of a very good quality business hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We need to pay extra for the pool, the cap, a pair of sandals to enter the pool area, if you go to a hotel to expend some time with you fiancé you need to pass a good time, not to pay if you want to use the pool, the bathroom, the elevator...?! Is disgusting.

    The breackfast was so great and it was for free (great deal)

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    it is something of the building, but you can ear your neighbours snoring. missing working electrical plug in the toilet.

    all staff very pleasant! great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The walls are so thin I could hear the gentleman in the room next to us snoring. The front desk would not check us in before 2pm (check in time) and we did not have that problem at any of the other 7 hotels we stayed at during our vacation throughout Portugal.

    The main lobby looked modern and the bedroom were visually appealing.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: easy to find, easy walk into centre Lounge and bar area comfortable, spacious and adequate. Bathroom was well appointed, good shower, plenty of hot water. More than enough drawers and hanging space in bedroom. Electric points accessible for re-charging phones etc. We did not encounter any exterior noise. Nice not to have coach parties taking over the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The wifi in rooms is really bad. Even though it is free, it starts working and then it interrupts systematically. During the approximately one hour I tried to use it to check and respond to emails, it stalled eight or 10 times. It really need improvement. Staff, even though courteous, is just barely that. They could and should be much nicer. Guests were treated as if staff were making a favor in receiving us (in my case, next time I will choose another hotel). In addition, due to a change in plans, I actually did not sleep there and checked-out after dinner. Contrarily to common practice, they charged next morning's breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow check out but not a big problem.

    It was my partners birthday and I'd booked him a massage at the spa. When we arrived a bottle of bubbly was delivered to our room with a happy birthday note compliments of the spa. It was a lovely surprise. They also included breakfast which we hadn't booked.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really needed one more power socket in the bathroom

    Good spa-center, comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location, friendly staff, clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tons of cons. No AC control made the room hot as hell, shower gel and shampoo recipients were used.

    Location and late-checkout availability for free

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Under renovation, so its not likely to rate highly until completed.

    Location but until the renovations are complete, its hard to rate highly.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did book with breakfast and I was told that the breakfast was not included.

    I did enjoy my stay at Melia Hotel. Thank you for everything

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no free water or kettle a little bit noisy from the train, but acceptable

    good temperature and location, good view

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I requested for the top floor rooms and got one with a nice view of the Ceramic Factory.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff approach at the Gym and SPA was not customers oriented

    very impressive SPA and Gym

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The renewal of food and beverages at breakfast seemed to be somewhat slow considering customer demand.

    Quiet, yet central, location and great comfort.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No drinking water machine!

    Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was not flexible.

    Wifi, location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The modern design of the hotel and its closeness to city center.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is really a nice place.The location and the room is very good

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice change after big cities. Great spa area, pool, workout facility. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have to pay for the gym and the waterpool.

    Comfortable and spacious room with good view over the channels. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had a wonderful restaurant and a modern vibe. It was in a newly developed area of Aveiro and a short walk from city center.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    just a minor thing. I find it very difficult to unwrap the soap in the bathroom!

    The hotel is perfect for my business needs

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No comment

    all good

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: