Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Melius 3 stars

Av. Fialho de Almeida, S/N, 7800-395 Beja, Portugal

#13 of 15 hotels in Beja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 341 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Really good. We'd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    could have done with better soundproofing from outside noise late at night however noise didn't last too long so didn't disturb sleep all night.

    Clean and comfortable, nice breakfast. Let us put motorbike in private garage for extra safety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked the underground car park which was being worked on to recover or build-up. Pointless having the advertised balcony (with no chairs). We complained about the noise keeping us awake at night but to no effect - finally things went quiet about 2300. The next morning we were awoken by the concrete pouring. Breakfast offered watered down fruit juice and the worst tasting machine coffee we have ever had - no mean achievement!

    The tv had a lot of channels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and spacious hotel, well located, warm and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable rooms with large double bed and excellent heating. The hotel was very clean, warm and well located and the room was also quiet giving a peaceful night's sleep. Easy parking available directly outside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most uncomfortable and noisy that we have ever slept in ( every time you moved the bed squeaked ) It was a suite which was nice but the so called large double bed was tiny And hotel is In need of an update Breakfast was very very basic, would have been nice to have had jugs of fruit juice rather than from a machine. And the same goes for the coffee

    Hotel was Convenient as we where driving and had own car park Easy walk to old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Hotel in Beja
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very confortable as we could feel the strings and the lumps on the pillow. The bathtub could use some renovation.

    The city doesn't have much choice of hotels. It was sufficiently for our needs. We stayed for 2 nights. The breakfast was sufficient but do not expect an English breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Not bad for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, though clean, had fungus on the silicone around the tub and some of the tiles had cracks (these had been mended, but the overall look is not that good.) The common areas are tacky and old fashioned, in real need of a makeover.

    The room was large and not too bad in terms of decoration, the wi-fi was free, the location (for my purpose was convenient). It was also quite cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Good bathroom and largish room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motor noise from heating system made it very hard to sleep. Not acceptable in a decent hotel.

    Good bathroom and largish room. Breakfast an excellent choice,too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.4
    Bad experience. Would not stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Smoking is allowed in the main hotel bar. When we complained we were invited to use a games room where screaming children made having a quiet drink impossible. We thought that smoking in public places such as bars and restaurants was illegal under EU law but this obviously does not apply in Portugal. 2. We asked for a quiet room but were given one at the end of a corridor which adjoined a cinema and Chinese restaurant. We wanted an early night but the noise was horrendous so we had to be moved to another room which was not much better on account of traffic and external people noise.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Air conditioning very noisy from the room next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning very noisy from the room next door

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing experience in a town with great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disruption of drunk guests bashing on doors at 2am

    It was a good clean hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    One night in Beja
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature at the wc and the cortine at the tub

    Very quiet and cozy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice spacey and very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit far to walk to the city center.

    Nice spacey and very clean room. Seems like it was renovated recently. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    The heating didn't work very well , to cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work very well , to cold

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast which actually we weren't expecting...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room smelled 'fusty' as the bathroom was a bit mouldy round the grouting. We got the impression it was rarely if ever aired. Staff should recommend the Chinese restaurant as they recommended a Portugese restaurant near them only ( Maybe their friends ;-) ). My husband being Vegetarian we walked into town but found the Italian closed so went all the way back to the Chinese one we'd seen. It was still open late on Sunday and the food was great!

    Excellent breakfast which actually we weren't expecting so it came as a nice surprise. Friendly staff. Useful free secure parking (sometimes has to be paid for but isn't expensive). There's a Chinese restaurant behind the hotel which the staff should really have recommended. It was very reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.7
    The room was very noisy because the next road.
    • Couple

    The room was very noisy because the next road.. The wifi signal was really very bad in our room

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    Personal mycket vänliga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two chairs on the balkony should be good

    Personal mycket vänliga

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Room, Bed, WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast

    Room, Bed, WiFi

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Very good place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good place! Price\quality

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.7
    location, pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mattress a bit hard and grouting around bath needs the bleach bottle

    location, pleasant and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.5
    Romantic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Romantic room.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant at evening but it was January and it was quiet

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.3
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: