Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Lisbon hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Memmo Alfama - Design Hotels

Reviews of Memmo Alfama - Design Hotels This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Travessa das Merceeiras 27, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-348 Lisbon, Portugal

#21 of 371 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 826 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could not work out how to control the temperature in the room and felt a bit cold. There were no extra blankets.

    Lovely breakfast. Very helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for pleasure or business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearly perfect. The hotel ironing board was perhaps 4cm too short.

    Memmo Alfama is that gem for a business traveller: completely sufficient (bar, with bar food), and you aren't in a big skyscraper. Alfama is where people come to get lost in old Lisbon. You should come for business, because you'll want taxis if you have luggage or if it's rush hour — the metro is a hike, and Alfama is a famously hilly neighborhood.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Location is super convenient as it's just a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is super convenient as it's just a short walk to stores, museums & restaurants. The staff were warm and helpful, thanks for the great stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    Cute hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, and driving our very tiny car down the alley to the hotel was not easy. We paid for parking, but the hotel did park the car for us. If we were to do it again, we'd drop the car off before going to the hotel and walk and take Uber everywhere.

    Absolutely. Cute hotel, smaller rooms, right smack dab in the middle of the Alfama neighborhood. We took the free tour one of the mornings, and our guide was fabulous and very informative.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.5
    40th wedding anniversary from washingto,dc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Postage stamp room was a bit cramped and with a 4pm flight it would have been Nice to have a late checkout to 1or 2 pm

    Breakfast staff and eating / patio area. Breakfast menu WiFi

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.3
    Memmo was a beautiful location in AlFama
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small rooms. No kettle or coffee machine in the room and no room service in the morning.

    Great location. Beautiful rooftop bar with view over Tagus River and AlFama. Breakfast was very nice with a great variety of choices.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much but the storage/hanging space in the rooms is very limited if you are traveling with a lot of luggage. The rooms are quite small but very comfy and to be honest you should be on the terrace or exploring Lisbon!

    Staff, location and the terrace were all amazing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    Quirky and unusual little place,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Quirky and unusual little place, hidden down a tiny cobbled road in the old part of Lisbon. Near everything, lots of places to visit and good for wandering. Hilly, helps you walk off all the delicious natas (local custard tarts) Staff very warm and friendly, happy to help in any way, make you feel welcome. Beautiful view from rooftop bar/pool/ sun deck over the rooftops to the water.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    5.4
    I won't be returning to Memmo Alfama.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed about a few things. I arrived 4 hours late due to a flight delay, it was 9pm. When asked if I could have a late check-out, the staff replied no, because they were at capacity the following day. I don't understand how I could not be given a little more time when check-in times are at 3pm. I was given 30 min extra, until 12:30. I also found it very unsatisfactory to have the AC not functioning in my room on such a hot evening. Finally, for the price, the room was VERY small, hardly the bed fit and I had no space to even open my suitcases. I don't believe the room is worth it for the price I paid, in fact I think it's quite ridiculous what you charge for that room.

    I enjoyed the hotel location as well as the breakfast setting on the pool patio. The walking tour offered for guests was a nice introduction to the Alfama neighborhood and the tour guide was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    A lovely base for a Lisbon stay - and a lovely pool area to relax in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are on the small side, and the sharp edges of glass doors in the bathroom are easy to walk in to.

    A magical hotel. The view from the pool, across the river and cruise ships, was beautiful, and the location is perfect for exploring Lisbon. An exceptional breakfast buffet and charming staff. It's expensive but very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place for a celebration holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A wonderful stay celebrating 25th wedding anniversary. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, made us very welcome. Excellently comfortable room with wonderful views over the old town of Alfama and the river. A great location to walk around main town and Alfama with wonderful atmosphere, great bars and restaurants. Breakfast and tapas meal we had were superb. Can I be fussy.... a fresh pot of hot tea for breakfast would add to the pleasure! Thank you for the celebratory bottle of fizz, cakes and arranging beautiful flowers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.3
    Clean room with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was very small. Awkward for taxis to pick you up from hotel front door so best to get them to meet you on adjacent street.

    Clean room with great views. Nice terrace bar and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fault of hotel due to size of roof top, but I would prefer sunbathing loungers by the pool. You have to go down to a terrace level to use them and thus don't get the view of the pool.

    The eggs were yummy and the beds were comfy. The hotel staff was warm and friendly. We also enjoyed the free walking tour of the city - what a nice bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were tiny, laptop didn’t fit in the safe. shower wasn’t working properly when we arrived- asked for it to be fixed but made it worse. Couldn’t sleep as bed was itchy and uncomfortable, finally got to move rooms on the final night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.2
    Magnificient !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the 3rd floor, because of "roof rooms" we had a wall (the roof) in front of our window, very surprising, unexpected, specially on an hotel pushing a lot on the hotel view ;) I wish we would have been advised, or having a kind a discount of "blocked view". Well, at the end it was almost a joke; you run to the window to see the view and there is a wall :l would have been nicer to be advised of it but less funny ;)

    The incredible view + confortable terrasse, very difficult to leave !! Best place to be !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.2
    Loved the facilities and the pool deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but on the bright side, one shouldn’t be spending too much time in there in the first place.

    Loved the facilities and the pool deck. Amazing staff with a great breakfast. Would definitely come here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again -- romantic even though I wasn't on a romance trip! lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need to put something on the bathroom glass wall as I almost ran into it about 10x

    The view! the modern design -- the room was comfy too-- the food was good as well -- and the breakfast was decent-- the front reception and concerige staff were totally switched on -- very impressed -- even the waiters and waitresses by the pool were always friendly and quick-- well done

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Paradise in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to not like,!

    The hotel location in the old quarter of the city was ideal, as was the highest standard of our room, and that of the breakfast facilities and outlook.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Love the place. Would stay there again and recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I prepaid, but didn't physically have the credit card when I arrived. They wanted me to pay with another card when I arrived. Still have not gotten my original money back. Sort of get it, but the poicy has created an unnecessary mess.

    Rooms are small, but the view from the deck more than makes up for it. Great location in the middle of Alfama. Easy access to Lisbon's sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View of concrete wall out room windows Lack of valet parking after a certain time Understaffed reception at times

    View from terrace and breakfast were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    Delightful spot with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a pity the pool is not a little less public. Its position in the middle of the bar and terrace area feels like you could easily topple into it.

    This is a charming and very stylish boutique hotel tucked away down a no-through street with great facilities and stunning views. The style is 'comfortable as at home' with various seating areas to relax, excellent breakfasts - which can be taken in the main breakfast area or up on the terraces (which have outstanding views of the bay) and the bar on the terraces is a great spot after a day's touring. The smallish red swimming pool is a great design touch, but seems good for those who don't mind being part of the view. It's in the middle of the terrace and viewing area. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Alfama is an interesting if hilly part of Lisbon with some good restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    The 5 star location and service make up for the small rooms and high nightly rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room I was given had a very loud, annoying noise in it, coming from a neighbor's pool motor. I asked to move and was given another room, which was directly over the hotel entrance so also a bit noisy. Both rooms were also on the small side. But Memmo's service in handling the situation was 5 star and enough to make me return.

    The service at Memmo is excellent. Being able to sit out on the patio and have a drink or lunch with that amazing view is a great way to spend a few hours. The rooms are clean and well equipped, though small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    access - you should have a few small electric vehicles to shuttle peoe and bags from top of the road to the entrqnce bags can get ruined on a pavement like this and ladies with high heels are not able to walk on the surface we were a latge group that getting to front entrance presented challenges

    everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful inside and out, with a deck bar with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in a great location for sightseeing, in the old part of the city, overlooking the water. However, if you're not into sightseeing, the location is quite touristy. Still, it's on a quiet side-alley, and it's easy to get around because its so centrally located.

    Absolutely beautiful inside and out, with a deck bar with fantastic views. Rooms are small, but perfectly appointed, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel was perfect if you want to be in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    The location of the hotel was perfect if you want to be in the center of the oldest area of Lisbon. Roof terrace views truly astounding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for the perfect trip to Lissabon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are relatively compact but very nicely decorated. We also had a gorgeous view over the Alfama district. Heaving an excellent breakfast on the amazing roof terrace was the perfect start of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little more choice on the terrace menu. But the food was delicious.

    Loved your welcome and your staff. Such a relaxing, beautiful hotel. Falling asleep with the view of the port and the boats. Great terrace. Beautiful views. Comfortable beds. Our walking tour was an added bonus. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    5.8
    Good location, room a little cramped and service poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk were friendly and welcoming. The service for the bar was poor, to the extent that we always went elsewhere for drinks and breakfast. The room safe did not work and was never fixed despite requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A couple of drawers in the bedroom - a bedside table with a drawer or drawers instead of the seat cubes at the end of the bed

    Very friendly staff, good outdoor space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, neighborhood, and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom area a little small. We did not have car so cannot comment on parking.

    The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast every morning was excellent. It was wonderful to be able to order from menu and also have excellent buffet. We loved the Alfama neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Utterly wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. We were very sorry to be leaving.

    The views were totally wonderful. Lovely friendly staff. Quiet location, yet right in the middle of everything you’d want to see and do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful hotel in a fantastic city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn’t like and our own fault for nor getting up earlier (!) but breakfast was very busy at about 9.30 and not always somewhere to sit although if it had been warmer there were lots of places to sit on the terrace.

    So much to like from the standard of the hotel itself, the location and the attentive service of the staff. Their recommendations for restaurants were excellent and the free walking tour around Alfama arranged by the hotel was really interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and professional. They helped us find some of the best food in Lisbon. Never found a moment when they were not smiling and offering assistance. I will not stay at any other hotel when ever I get to Lisbon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.2
    Good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location itself was difficult to find since the coordinates from google maps are not correct.

    Friendly service of the staff. Breakfast was excellent! The hotel has a nice terrace to relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.2
    Meet all expectations and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room on the small side although well equipped.

    Attention to detail and interior style of the hotel. Great view from room and rooftop bar area. Excellent selection for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel which I will stay at again if I have the chance to return to Lisbon. Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small, and the shower stall flooded when taking a showers. Also, there was a lot if noise above and outside the room early on the morning, which was unfortunate.

    I arrived dripping wet after getting caught in a heavy rainstorm. I was greeted with utmost kindness, given some towels and even though early, was given a room right away without any hesitation. Later I asked about the room above thinking it might have just the perfect view. At the front desk, Raquel was so kind and nice, and took the time to show me different rooms, along with her favourite one (for next time :)...). She had already given me a very nice room indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    We were not lucky with the weather, so it was nice to come home in a warm hotel after rainy showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there is one remark to be made, the quality of the coffee at breakfast is not so good. It gets a little better when you order a cappuchino instead of the coffee that comes out of the cans, but still, it is not the right quality of coffee compared to the level of all other things offer

    A pity that we could not use the swimming pool due to bad weather, a red swimming pool, original, nice, but even without swimming, the stay was wonderful. The view, the atmosphere and design of the hotel. We will certainly look into the other hotels of the group. The Alfama district is a nice place where the hotel is situated, typical. Breakfast was top, dishes that we tried in the bar when arriving were medium, could improve.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    We had a wonderful stay, the hotel felt like home, the staff was really nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe the fact that there was no bath tube in the room and the room was not very big.

    Very good location, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was just perfect. Clean room, comfortable atmosphere, great breakfast with beautiful view... Most of all, I want to thank great staffs. When I was in trouble, they kindly help me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay overall, however i would not return to this hotel as it is overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very small and felt cramped, we paid £160 per night and would have expected more space for this cost, there was no where to store your suitcase. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    The view was beautiful and good location for exploring the city. Staff very friendly and polite, they changed our room at our request after we realised our toilet had no door! Great power shower in bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Boutique hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Amazing views, super friendly staff and a fantastic location. Excellent breakfasts and lovely terrace for evening drinks or morning coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    On a scale of 1-10 it was a 15. So much better than I expected.
    • Solo traveler
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect so can't improve.

    One of the coolest chic hotels I've been to! It's beautiful with many levels of outdoor terraces to view the city and have a cocktail. I'm an architect and loved the design and combo of a chic and homey vibe. The staff were exceptional. The breakfast was designed as if you are visiting in someone's posh home. You can have many buffett items, go get a drink from the fridge, and order something special from the chef. I can't wait to go back. Oh, also the bed linens and pillows are a dream!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    9.6
    I found it hard to leave this stunning hotel each day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A slightly larger room and an ironing board!

    The bed was wonderful, the staff super friendly and helpful and the breakfast (over looking the river) was the best I’ve ever eaten!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Loved the view, location, staff super nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no coffee machine in the room, sometimes i like to make coffee when i wake up in the morning and have coffee in bed before going to breakfast.

    Loved the view, location, staff super nice. I really liked the clean minimal asthetic. Simple yet very comfortable. Loved the Pillows. The overall fell was quiet and chill. The location cannot be beat, the views were amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was amazing. Fresh fruit, egg's and pancakes could be ordered fresh en some bubbly wine to go with it! The staff is very friendly and thoughtfull! They even surprised me for my birthday!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Two picky couples and us who were all very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better signage to find the entry alley

    Delightful room on the main floor with a great view, #10. Our friends had rooms with no view at all though on the third floor. VERY challenging to find but once you are there it is a terrific location on the tram 28 line and just uphill from the Cathedral. Fifteen minute walk to the downtown shopping. Hotel offers a “free” walking tour by a local who walked us around the Alfama district for ninety minutes and told us anecdotes and history of the neighborhood. Fun!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    An internal battle: 24 hours in an unbelievably beautiful city or stay inside my beauiful room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I had such a short stay. Had I known the hotel and Lisbon would so exceed my expectations, I would have stayed many more days.

    BEAUTIFUL decor. Everything was thought of in taking advantage of the view, even the placement of windows. Comfortable bed, gorgeous fixtures. Excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    We highly recommend Memmo Alfama Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room sizes are a bit tight.

    Staff service was excellent. The provision for a walking tour was great and much appreciated. The breakfast hot food choices were delicious. Bed was comfortable with fluffy pillows. And the most defining quality would be the location with great views from Alfama.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.1
    Nice boutique design hotel. Better cleanliness would be appreciated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room smelled like a dirty toilet for one whole day and night. Remedied next day. Smelled like cleaning staff used the same tag for all bathroom surfaces! Slept with bathroom door closed and held our noses while brushing our teeth. But they did fix it and enjoyed our stay afterwards. Checkout was long and arduous as short staffed and just left since airport taxi was waiting 15 minutes and we were getting late.

    Great location in a very interesting part of the city. We dislike breakfasts at lost hotels as they tend to generic and too much food. But here I had a good rsmmespresso, fig and pumpkin jams with fresh local bread, veggies and nuts and cereals. Pleasant surprise! Beautiful rooftop patio overlooking Alfama and port area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel was great in a lot of ways -- cool, clean, calm vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one thing I was disappointed in was the size of the room. It was TINY. My husband and I could barely fit with our 2 bags. The hotel is on the costlier side for Lisbon so I was very surprised by this.

    Hotel was great in a lot of ways -- cool, clean, calm vibe. Great rooftop deck. Helpful staff. Great location and included breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff in stylish surroundings ideal for exploring the oldest part of Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit style over substance. Our room was very small even though it was very stylish. The pool was freezing which was a real shame.

    The free walking tour was great. The breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place. Inconvenient to get in and out of. Room handsome but cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionists mixed bag. Women helpful and nice. One man surly, glowered

    View beautiful. Wonderful location. Great modern decor. Evening tapas and wine great experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Memorable stay at Memmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A minor point, however the external spotlights which light the facade of the building at night reflected into the bedroom. Window shutters only partly blocked the light.

    Of all the excellent attributes of Memmo Alfama, the staff were a standout, from the delightful drinks waitress who served with a smile and a laugh on the rooftop terrace to the knowledgeable and ultra helpful reception staff who aided with many recommendations and tips. It was they who take the Memmo to memorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel but possibly a bit more style than substance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the prices charged I would expect there to be enough bowls at breakfast, not to have to make my own tea (nowhere to put used bag either) and for the shower door to close properly. The rooms are nice but pretty small and there is hardly anywhere to put anything.

    Lovely staff, comfortable bed, beautiful terrace/views/pool.Fantastic free walking tour with very knowledgeable guide.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Great location with fantastic views over Alfama old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The glass walls separating the bathrooms from the bedroom.

    We loved the location and views from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms i thought were a little on the small side but the beds were very comfortable. The glass walls which separated the bedroom from the bathroom did cause some problems when we walked into them. The breakfasts were first class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a fantastic hotel and exceptional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the monstrous cruise ship that docked for 2 days right in front of the hotel. Completely out of the hotels control and it didn't spoil our stay but could have done without the view being spoilt.

    Fantastic location and views from the terrace. Rooms very quiet and clean. Breakfast buffet outstanding- great choice of fresh fruits, granola, yogurts, bread & pastries & option for cooked eggs & choice of coffees all included. Staff were exceptionally happy, friendly and helpful. Managed to get us an excellent table at restaurant Chapito for the last night despite it being booked. Also they offer a free walking tour in the morning of the Alfama area which was really interesting and well worth going on. Truly lovely hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is amazing. Staff were very helpful, they gave very good suggestions on places to eat. The breakfast was really good. Amazing roof top patio the view is incredible. Location was perfect close to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic place in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can not find anything to improve: stay was perfect !

    Staff was great, location was great: in the center of the old Lisbon but in a very quiet street. Slept very well, breakfast was excellent and view fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel with helpful staff, incredible views and great cocktails
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very tiny - there was barely room to open a suitcase, but we managed. Also, if you're not physically fit, the steep uphill walk back to the hotel can be quite tiring. There is always the option to get there via taxi or tuc-tuc though.

    This is a tastefully designed hotel with stunning views over the old town and out across the ocean, great cocktails and a creative food menu. A short walk from numerous bars, restaurants and tourist attractions - and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed to iron my husband's shirt ahead of attending our friends' wedding. We requested an iron and ironing board be sent to our room a good 4-5 hours before we needed it. When we got back to our room to get ready, the iron and board were still not there. When we called reception, we were told that someone else was using it and that we needed to wait. Unfortunately the iron was sent right when we were leaving so my husband had to attend the wedding wearing a wrinkled shirt which is ridiculous. So please, Memmo Alfama, get a few irons and boards for your guests' disposal! It doesn't cost a lot of money and it would have saved so much time and embarrassment. Alternatively, have a system where guests can reserve an iron and board for a certain time slot.

    Very beautiful hotel in a lovely area of Lisbon. We loved the quietness of only allowing older children to stay at the hotel, the gorgeous views, great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel for a visit in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very nice boutique hotel in a quiet tucked away spot, but close to everything. The breakfast was really good and the staff was helpful. The room was a city hotel, but we found space for most things.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    7.9
    Loved the pool that overlooked the river and the alfama...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was VERY small. Difficult to navigate with our luggage and probably not quite worth what we paid for. There was also a glass door to the bathroom that my partner and I ran into several times as it's difficult to see. My only other suggestions would be to replace the leather couches by the pool with canvas or cotton. They got very hot in the sun-- too hot to sit on!

    Loved the pool that overlooked the river and the alfama district. Such a great plus for this hotel. Free breakfast was also nicer than at most hotels and appreciated!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast could have been better, the seating area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better, the seating area downstairs was too lounge like for breakfast although the terrace was lovely to eat at. Milk was not fresh and would have been nice to have a better range of fresh coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    The terrace was wonderful, with an attractive lap pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The terrace was wonderful, with an attractive lap pool. The room was spotless and comfortable, with a great view across the river. And what an excellent location! As a bonus, the staff provides a list of restaurants and things to do; the ones we selected were excellent. We really felt welcome here, our "home away from home" in Lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.8
    This hotel has great staff, lovely views and tasty breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazingly neither the coffee or hot water for tea was more than lukewarm at any of our 4 breakfasts. The room was smaller than imagined and looked out into a tree. A patioroom does not include own patio.

    There was a lower deck where one could sunbathe on loungers overlooking the river. Great to eat breakfast or chill overlooking the river. Amusing to watch the seagulls eating any leftovers from the breakfast plates and then drinking from the eternity pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant .. Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No information provided in rooms. Had to keep asking reception and they were always busy. Would have liked more personal amenities in room. Hairdryer cord to short for socket. Had to swat on floor. Should be a mirror in the bedroom as well

    Best location and awesome view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    10
    I will recommend this hotel to all my friend and family. I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I loved everything

    I just loved everything about this hotel. The location, the comfort, the terrace for fantastic breakfast or a cocktail at sunset overlooking the Alfama area, the river and the pool. The staff were just wonderful. They ever offered a free walking tour of Alfama. Was very interesting and met some nice people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.1
    Good but would stay elsewhere in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even knowing the room is small nothing prepares you for how tiny the rooms are even with a terrace suite. They are so small there's really no room for a suitcase to sit, let alone two when travelling with a partner. Breakfast is nice but limited selections unless you love processed meats. The staff are efficient but not overly friendly...they aren't as rude as the French (who is?) but they need to smile a little more rather than walking around like they hate life! The 'gym' is a joke. We chose this hotel over others because it had a gym, only to find that the gym consisted of a treadmill, a step machine, a bike and 2/4/6/8 kilo dumbbells!

    Fresh and clean hotel, good location amongst a few tourist spots without being noisy, amazing views out onto the water

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't much storage space in the room.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, especially the fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    Fanatastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nice breakfast, very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere in the hotel. Interesting view from the terrace. Hotel was quiet, no road noise, rooms were well insulated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant place to stay in Alfama
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was pretty small but I guess that is the way in an old building like this one

    You couldn't wish for a better position in Alfama. The view over the river at breakfast is about as good a way to start the day as you would wish for. Staff, facilities, position all excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City or River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms quite small however understandable in the old town location.

    The amazing terrace with swimming pool and views. The location in the heart of the old town. The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a clear glass screen at the entrance to the bathroom which was unnecessary and a bit dangerous

    The renovation of the old building, design generally. The views are great . The room was small but well designed. The staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.6
    It was perfect for our short stay....we liked the convenience of the area and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a bit small....shower was a bit dark.

    the free walking tour and the breakfast and the rooftop for drinks, dining and great views! Staff was excellent as well and the location was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast and the view were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansard - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff on the patio area could not have been less attentive. The service was painfully slow, we felt ignored both times we tried to get a drink and bite to eat. HORRIBLE service....

    Breakfast and the view were amazing. Hotel was perfectly situated for easy access to all the sights of Lisboa. Would highly recommend. Very clean and modern feel. A/C worked great!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Memmo Alfama - Design Hotels Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: