Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Memmo Baleeira - Design Hotels 4 stars

Sítio da Baleeira, 8650-357 Sagres, Portugal

#2 of 7 hotels in Sagres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1829 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty packed when I was there (not even peak season) and the parking lot is *just* undercapacity and a bit weird/cramped (lots of weirdly shaped low trees on uneven terrain with terrible lighting that seems a bit treacherous, honestly), so just something to keep in mind if you're headed out for dinner, etc. The room I stayed in was nice, although the shower was a bit underwhelming and the floor I was on had a very subterranean hallway feel going on. In general I was expecting a bit more from a self-proclaimed design hotel (and for the price).

    Overall I had a pretty good stay - the checkin/checkout was easy, and the grounds are pleasant, the pool was nice (if a bit chilly - I believe there's a small heated indoor pool but I didn't try it out) and the breakfast spread was quite extensive. It's a great location by beaches, and an easy drive if you're looking to catch the sunset at Cabo de Sao Vicente (which of course, you should do).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast room was too hot , full of people & hot food , room needed cooling . shower would at best be described as poor

    the veiws from our sea view room. if you want to chill out ,do a bit of walking , plenty of fresh air in a quiet town then this is it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel, great sun beds and 'fatboys', great pizzas. Quiet and minimally understated to a tee. Great breakfast. It would have been good to have a kettle and coffee in the room but that's just a 'pick', would have been very happy to stay longer. Lovely town and harbour too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was not perfect (longer waiting times, forgotten orders and sometimes not so competent).

    A good place to relax and enjoy. Nice garden, terrace and pool. Facilities still very new and/or well-maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you eat at the restaurant, watch that the bill is correct. Every night there were items on our bill that we didn’t have. One night there were two cappuccinos and a glass of beer. Another night there was a 9 euro jug of beer. They took them off but we eat there three nights in a row. It unlikely a mistake three nights in a row. Also we made a dinner reservation and confirmed it the next day and when we went they didn’t have the reservation. Very strange.

    Spacious room with a comfortable bed. The shower had good water pressure. The outdoor pool was very nice with a beautiful harbor view. The restaurant had excellent food for reasonable prices. Overall good hotel very peaceful And quiet. Breakfast was included and very good. Just check your restaurant bill!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is the perfect hotel. Amazing location, the views from the rooms and the restaurant are some of the best I've seen. The staff was easily the most helpful hotel staff I've ever come across, they went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room balcony have a gap between the counter and the balcony floor. Doesn’t promote kids to be outside safely.

    Great staff , great hotel, great design . Gives a sense of exclusivity. Great for families. Great breakfast , and great restaurant . Will come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A compact but very comfortable room with modern facilities. A great little deck with views over the harbour and beyond. A lovely pool and a very well organised and range at breakfast. The restaurant, with terrific views, served a very interestingly designed menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wow, wow, wow! This hotel was just perfect! The most relaxed place I've been to. Great rooms, incredible breakfast (vegan options available, yay!), the staff was really nice and helpful. The surroundings, garden, outdoor pool, sauna, restaurant - everything was just awesome. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a few more staff around during the day to serve drinks

    great breakfast, beautiful and stylish hotel, light airy clean rooms, lovely lunch, pool beautiful with outstanding view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang wet bath towels in bathroom. Had been a hook on bathroom door but now gone ? Room 344.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room excellent layout too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant sofa style seating not suitable for eating. Too low and laidback in relation to the table. Restaurant also far too noisy.

    The very spacious room. Location and excellent views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Several times the restaurant staff forgot to serve our orders. One desert during an evening meal and 2 coffees mid day

    The hotel was clean and fresh. The views from our room were beautiful as it looked out to sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only want to be luxurious doesn’t mean to be luxurious. Some improvements in service and quality (processes and dinner meal) needed

    Breakfast and view from the suite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in too slow, there's little staff. Some staff at the restaurant doesn't speak Portuguese, this is not acceptable in a 4 star hotel because not all Portuguese people speak English (and no Portuguese national should be forced to speak a foreign language in his own country).

    Stunning setting. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beach close to the hotel is far from the best due to some garbage laying around.

    Spectacular views, nice design of the hotel, great breakfast are definite strengths of this hotel. Highly recommended for a quiet, romantic stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to be served some snacks by the pool. The pool bar was closed maybe due to low season. bikes for kids would be a plus, that's the reason why we did not rent.

    Great staff, kind and professional. room size is perfect, breakfast is excellent, restaurant is also very good. Sagres area and Vincentine coast is just stunning. surf school inside the hotel is awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything looks very new, free parking next to hotel, everything very modern, wonderfull spa and pool, nice view from our room, on the end of the main street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was top notch from the friendly staff to the comfy bed. The breakfast was great and they even gave us a take out breakfast when we had to leave very early. Great location with beautiful views highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi, it didn't work once during our stay.

    Clean, spacious well-designed hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is fabulous, the breakfast is lovely! The bar and terrace are stunning and staff couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaints were: Check in receptionist was cold and never smiled. Didn’t explain any of amenities and location of pool and spa were difficult to find. Poorly labeled 2 elevator systems -so that didn’t connect all wings. Hotel very modern, but a bit minimalist for our taste. We ordered a drink in bar, waited 20 minutes and found out bartender forgot order. Breakfast buffet however was very nice and that staff were awesome. Overall good experience with rooms, great location and ease of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels need a refurb to match the hotel

    Recently refurbished room, upgraded without request. Restaurant has improved since our last visit 9 years ago. It remains a favourite of ours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the spa was closed due to renovation, but at least they offered coupons to a spa "next door". We had a suite and have to say it wasn't the cleanest. There was a lot of dust, which was quite sad. We also ate in the restaurant there and also there the food was more or less medium. Chicken Soup was more or less only hot water. Ate Pizza as all recommendation for this restaurant said that thats the specialty. Pizza was normal, but nothing special. Not as wished for in a hotel with that amount of stars. Had way better. Service was good in total

    Breakfast was good and probably the best of all the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No coffee equipment in the room. The decor is a little too minimal. The bathrooms can use a little refreshing and the towels are a bit threadbare.

    The sea view is beautiful! The location is perfect if you want to avoid big city type locations. It is great for cycling and hiking. The beach is a short 10 minute walk away. There are lots of choices for breakfast. Decent exercise equipment in the gym. The staff are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SUMMARY: The hotel is just lovely. Exactly like the pics and a great getaway for 2. It's located 2 mins from the main strip in Sagres which has a load of great restaurants there. (we went to Mum's; Vila Vehla and A Tasca). At the bottom of the hotel, is a lovely secluded beach and you have great access to do a number of walks. Gym and outdoor pool was fab too - just like the pics. SPA: My sister and I were there for a spa weekend but unfortunately were not told by booking.com that the spa was being renovated. With that in mind, no matter who you book with - do double check the spa is up and running, particularly if this is important to you. We were lucky enough to have treatments done which was just stunning. The masseuse was fantastic, put you at ease and the treatment rooms were brand new. To note, you can only book a treatment one at a time - you cannot have a treatment at the same time as your friend / partner. Despite what happened the staff were incredibly kind and accommodating - they showed us around the new spa (looked lovely, modern and contemporary - its not huge, but all you need - indoor pool & sauna); they also were kind enough to upgrade our room due to the mishap and provided complimentary port and Portuguese tarts. BREAKFAST: is fantastic - you couldn't ask for more. A huge selection consisting of: i) health corner (nuts, fruit, museli); ii) hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes, hashbrowns) iii) pastries area (croissants, at least 5 different cakes each morning); bread/toasting area (a number of breads you can toast); iv) cold food area - my fav (consisting of cold meats, cheese, salad). The staff were fantastic and extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    parts of the hotel e.g.. indoor pool were being renovated during the stay but we weren't told when we checked in.

    excellent breakfast. lovely heated outdoor pool. the fish restaurant just below in the harbor is brilliant. comfy room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool, is no better than a plunge pool now, for swimmers not really very well designed, very disappointing.

    Excellent food, especially the breakfast, and the speciality pizzas for dinner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the weather was not very good...

    Everything... excelent location, landscapes (the atlantic ocean at our feet...), room, and the availability, professionalism, and kindness of the staff...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very disappointing that the indoor pool was closed due to renovation works overrunning. However, we were offered a voucher to use the pool at a neighbouring hotel, which was fine.

    Very modern hotel situated above the Baleeira harbour. Our room had a lovely sea view and nice to be on the same level as the entrance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool under construction, missing maintenance of rental bikes, somehow inconsequent service especially in the restaurant, central heating of all rooms causing warm at temperatures at night

    Location, interior design, cozy couches, outside area architecture, very good breakfast, delicious food at hotel restaurant, seaside view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is overpriced for the services and rooms provided. The front desk staff were not very helpful and made a mistake with billing (overcharged). The kitchen in the apartment was basically empty. Don't plan to make any meals or enjoy a glass of wine -no wine glasses and very limited kitchen equipment.

    Our apartment had nice views from both bedrooms - but was basically just two rooms joined with a sitting room and small, understocked kitchen in between. Great breakfast, unless you arrive late.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good with a lot on offer but key points missing: coffee only from the can, bacon a little lush, croissants too dry. A little sad as especially Portugal has great coffee and croissants on offer almost everywhere. Some parts of the suit were not perfectly clean like the shower, under the bed etc., also sad as it has been recently renovated. Sauna too small, towels for sauna only on request at the front desk which is miles away, we did not really understand why the don´t place some towels at the spa directly. Cap obligation in the pool is also exagerated and a joke when the shower is not perfectly cleaned (see above). Btw: the cleanging staff was really nice and with good service, seems they do not get enough time for the cleaning.

    Amazing view from the suite, great balconies, the scenery from the cliffs looking to the sea is as good as it gets, 10 points. Suite was comfortably big and modern. Great restaurant with excellent food, beautiful outdoor pool, both also with a great view to the ocean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows. They have no support at all.

    The decor is stunning. It's very modern and classy. We were also upgraded to an ocean view room which is a bonus!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel in a great place. Personal is well trained and very kind, always available at making customers happy. We even received an upgrade, without even asking, and got a nice Seaview room. All the spaces are modern, elegant and comfortable. The Christmas dinner was fantastic and reasonably priced. I really appreciate my stay at Memmo. I hope I will be back. Only note: wifi a little slow in room and in bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was very small. Sauna is only for 4 persons, the shower in the man‘s area didn’t work properly.

    Tasty food in the restaurant and very friendly stuff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water in the room. No tea/coffee maker in the room. Obligatory use of swim cap in the indoor pool.

    Lovely location overlooking the harbour. Stylish hotel with great breakfast buffet. Dinner was also excellent. Rooms had a good size and were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - We arrived at the same time as 70x 11-13 year olds on a surf trip. This was highly disruptive and made for a noisy stay (even though I selected on booking for a quiet room). Were told they were only staying the weekend on check-in but didn't leave until late Tuesday after a very disruptive and noisy breakfast. Ruined the boutique and design element to the hotel. - The inside spa-pool is in dire need of refurbishment. Tiles missing from the pool, lights broken and the spa-jets out of order. This was one of the reasons we booked to stay in a hotel and not self-catering. No towels available at the pool. No massage facilities available during our stay.Highly disappointing. - No tea/coffee making facilities in the room which you'd expect of a 4* hotel.

    - Great location with fantastic sea views - Upgraded to a partial-sea view room on arrival - Walking distance to all shops, bars and restaurants in Sagres and close to a couple of beaches - Fantastic wide-spread breakfast with something for everyone - Well designed and smart hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it should be much cleaner in the room. Fortunately bedding is white and properly washed

    great location with a seaview, nice architecture, nice breakfast, good value/money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms seem to be a bit plain for such a territory and lobby design. Only pre-cooked meals on the breakfast.

    Perfect territory and ideal location to explore beaches and surf spots. Really good breakfast with a vast choice of meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed was two single beds joined together, one was much softer than the other which was really odd. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The indoor swimming pool's water features were not working and several of the lights were also out, you have to wear a swimming cap in the indoor pool but they sell them for a few euros at reception.

    The breakfast was so good! Huge selection of food, loads of healthy options, all fresh and delicious. The grounds of the hotel and inside are really nice. The hotel has it's own restaurant as well, it was quite busy even on a week night, so it might be worth booking. The restaurant has it's own pizza oven and the pizza was delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although I would def get a sea view next time as well, the sunset was breathtaking.

    Breakfast offered a lot of choices they even had an entire bar dedicated to healthy choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Cleaning schedule was a bit strange. Rooms almost never done before 3pm, one day we had to wait until 6pm to have the room cleaned. Breakfast was great, something small to improve - the continental options could vary over the days, example instead of scrambled eggs, there could be boiled eggs...

    Cool styled hotel in a great location to chill for a for a week. Amenities been great, we love the pool and breakfast area with sea view. Very good breakfast with quite a number of options and also healthy options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if the food will be better (except pizza which was excellent), the beds more comfortable and the house keepers more polite.

    Perfect place with a stunning views and great as a place from where to start the trips. The best place where to stay in Sagres. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a front sea view double room with a small balcony which was a little impractical for two adults to manoeuvre around. The room was good but the bathroom could benefit from modernising. The shower hose in the bath was not thermostatically controlled so the temperature of the water did fluctuate considerably which was uncomfortable. The bath also had mould in the corner - so cleaning could have been better for the standard of hotel and the room rate. We had to collect towels and robes from the reception desk for swimming and return them there at the end of our stay. This seemed to be a little cumbersome compared to simply providing these in the room - perhaps the hotel has experienced problems with guests taking them?

    Very comfortable bed, excellent range of English channels on TV. The very good included breakfast in a lovely dining room, was an extensive choice of hot and cold buffet options. I particularly liked the "healthy corner" which catered for different diets and allergies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Due to the fact that my wife has just had hip replacement we had to change our booking to a room with walk in shower, this was the only disabled facility room in the hotel,which was fine apart from the fact that it involved 2 corridors 50mts each & a lift.Return trip for meals 300mts Not very considerate for people with disabilities

    breakfast very good ,excellent choice,restaurant good ,great views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been welcomed (forewarned, we took a travel kettle). Beds a little soft but a firmer mattress option was available. The hotel attracts group bookings of cyclists and other active holidays which can result in noisy parties in the bar and pool area at night from less considerate guests. The breakfast coffee leaves much to be desired!

    This stylish, modern hotel fits sympathetically within the beautiful South-Western Algarve peninsula in attractive landscaped gardens overlooking the harbour at Sagres. We stayed in a ‘Double Frontal Sea View’ room (Rm 341) of adequate size, with stark white décor and minimalist furnishings. Liked the clean, airy feel of the room and the small balcony overlooking the pool area. Room features include effective air conditioning, TV, power-points by the bed (great for phone charging), room safe, fridge, over-bath shower, and bidet. Twin beds feature quality mattresses; a little soft for our liking but with the offer to change for a firmer option. Housekeeping was meticulous with prompt and non-intrusive daily cleaning. Fittings starting show their age a bit, but overall very happy with the room and particularly enjoyed watching the sun rise through the panoramic windows in the morning. The long, hard-surfaced through-route corridors can be noisy at night with inconsiderate guests. The sea-view breakfast room with its panoramic patio doors and contemporary décor is a delight as the morning sunshine streams in. There is a wide variety of buffet breakfast options including traditional cooked and continental menu and whilst the room does get crowded during peak times, the buffet is promptly refreshed and navigating around fellow guests in my view added to the appeal. The staff from my experience are typically Portuguese; reserved but very friendly and extremely obliging. The wooden decked pool area with around 50 sunbeds is a great sun trap and the pool is well maintained and clean. Overall, a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is not great and does not match the hotel's aspirations as a premium boutique hotel. Luckily there are plenty of other options nearby (as listed in a very helpful guide put together by the hotel itself!)

    Nice location and view, friendly staff, overall good facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had was the shower . it nearly scalded me and my partner . it was fine the first night but after that it went from normal to really hot while showering and then cold when adjusted slightly .

    The coconut bread buns were lovely, very good choice for breakfast. The view from our room was really stunning .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was nice enough but not very accommodating. When I booked the hotel I wanted to have a massage at their spa. They had one masseuse who was not working many of the days I was there so there were no massages....they didn't have an second masseuse. Also, when I checked in the shower in my room didn't work so they had to move me to another room.

    Beautiful location. Nice enough facilities. Beaches close by are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room/breakfast Noisy from children hurtling up+down corridors early in morning

    This hotel is pleasant and staff on whole friendly, although not all of them. It is very clinical but pleasant with a fabulous location and views. Dining room/ breakfast arrangements not great. Too busy, too hot, and just the same things every single day....if you are there for a week it's a little tedious. Yoga holidays and various activities available, little gauling to discover that packages have paid a lot less than yourself however. Would I return I suspect not

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surroundings not so nice. Beach in front of the hotel is not very attractive (not a beach, but a harbor). You've got much nicer beaches near by car, though. Spa was very limited. Small single pool inside, with no spa-like usual things (pressure jets, water beds, jacuzzis). Only one single pressure jet, out-of-service. Couldn't book a massage, either, because of full timetable.

    General hotel conception, green spaces, geographic location, lots of nice & wild places near.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recommend that the hotel put a sign when you enter the pool that you must shower before going in to the pool.

    Very nice hotel og very good breakfast. The kids loved the outdoor pool. We were also here 5 years ago and we will definitely be back again. We took on a boat trip to see dolphins. That was so fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry service meant to take 48 hours , but took 72, should have asked for an iron. There are 3 therapy rooms and only one therapist.... shame.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was very good: - it is located near the beach and near the street full of local eating places - spacious rooms, clean, nice pool area, wonderful breakfast - probably the best restaurant in town (but not the most expensive) - staff is wonderful, helpful, friendly, makes you leave like you are leaving your good friends... All in all we had six wonderful days in Memmo Baleeira. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Each room (very comfortable) needs its own ant-mosquito devices ; we tend to sleep with an open window and got bitten for our pains.

    Superb location, wonderful fresh food. A really good relaxing hotel with every facility and courteous, friendly staff, a great base for travelling the area, superb views from wonderful Fortaleza, and Cape St Vincent Lighthouse - the latter has an amazing and avoidable range of tat for sale in stalls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning (especially for the bathrooms) could have been much better. There was NO SOAP, for the whole time we have been there. Shower gels were poorly refillable (even when we asked for more, no one cared) I did not like the policy about the beach towels (changed every second day). The breakfast was really crowded and not much healthy choices. The variety is not small, but I couldn’t chose anything. For example, eggs wee only one way: scrambled (and not very delicious) . After the 3rd day we could not east the same food

    Great staff, beautiful rooms and delicious restaurant (the one with the Menu)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be renovated for a 4* hotel; the beach with direct access is not the best one around & the road to go down is stip. Other beaches are accessible by car or closest one by foot but not the best option with stroller.

    Nice & clean room, good breakfast & on site restaurant has also nice meals; outdoor swimming pool was great & clean; Grocery store around hotel is open mon-sunday till 10 pm. We had a lovely stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in & out (not much flexibility). Did allow me to use facilities when I arrived a bit early for check in.

    Hotel location & view (stunning). Facilities (great outdoor pool & bar). Beds - very comfortable. Breakfast (catered for all tastes). Staff (very helpful & friendly).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I order a double bed and the room was it two twin beds together...still don't understand this policy. In Portugal all waiters should speak portuguese, at least a few words...not in Memo Baleeira!

    The location, the room, the view and the hotel itself is great...very good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing of importance :) Some of the room fittings are starting to wear & tear but honestly the place is beautifully designed and maintained so it's forgivable. They also seem to be progressively upgrading the place in the off-season as the pool, pool-bar and restaurant were all improved since we came last year (at the same time) which is a plus!

    Everything. 2nd visit here and this place is still amazing. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff (with tips and passion for Portuguese food and drinks to try - Amerguinia!). Great gourmet restaurant (good woodfired pizza and some tasty Portuguese options). Decent cocktails and beautiful wine selection. Nice pool (gets busy though). Great wide selection buffet breakfast with a great view and open til 10.30. Comfy beds. I would live here if I could afford to - It's not cheap but it's very high quality and thus really good value for what you get!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No four stsr hotel, Maybe 3 stars. Cheap furniture, bad matress, outdated shower, crowed and poor attention to details, etc......

    Location, location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very surprised this is a Smith's hotel. Poor service, some staff were unhelpful and unprofessional. They did not tell us there was a kids play room until the penultimate day. Some staff can't speak English (which is not normally a problem as we're multi lingual), the bigger problem was that they could not speak any language coherently. Toilet in the room was smelly despite us telling the staff that it needed a proper clean. Wifi was extremely slow. We paid for breakfast, however when I asked for poached eggs I was charged extra. Considering how much we paid it was definitely not worth it. Will not be going back unfortunately.

    The bar and the restaurant, the pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in the room was not clean at all. We called reception and they sent someone right away but for a 4 star Design hotel I would have expected a little token of apology. Also the cleaning while we were staying there was not very good, room was never that clean. Breakfast was ok but could have been a lot better. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the property itself really has a lot of potential it just needs to be refreshed, very worn, especially the bathrooms. Although ocean front and view the hotel does in fact not have a beach, you have to go out for that but you find some amazing beaches in the vicinity.

    Fantastic location with beautiful ocean views! Room size was very generous. The pizza in the evening was really good as was the choice of wines. Amazing beaches and nature within short distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They have obviously had several complaints about the poor quality mattresses, since there were two thin sheets of plywood between the bed base and the mattress, in a failed attempt to make the bed more firm. Be ready for poor sleeps and a sore back. The shower was the other factor which clearly makes this a 3 star property at best (not 4 as rated). Poor flow rate, tired old spluttering shower head, and a hot/cold/hot/cold flow depending on what the neighbouring rooms were using. Thin, hollow walls, too - be prepared to hear your neighbours' tv, conversations, and more. Very busy breakfast area - one incredibly slow toaster serving around 300 people - perhaps investing in some more toasters would help!?

    Wonderful room with a large sunny balcony overlooking the harbour area. Lovely pool area, a few (quickly snapped up) more private sunbathing areas, and a great pool bar serving a good range of food and drinks. Lovely spacious restaurant with an open flame pizza oven. Nice, well-tended gardens providing great sea views. Big car park. Very friendly, polite, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really bad wifi, awful mattress, noisy hotel, small room, bad service, management not responsive to complaints

    Good view, friendly staff and clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Actually, I expected to see a bigger pool, as on photos for it seemed bigger for me, as it's good only for children. In August it was crowded during breakfast time with some queues to wait for the table

    Great Design hotel with white decor, good restaurant & pool bar. The room was clean & spacious. During windy days it was cold to swim in the pool. Good surf school in the hotel with great guys!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are good size, but a bit worn out. Could be refreshed.

    The hotel is really lovely, located beautifully. Staff is amazing, nice bar on site, great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and snacks available during the day. Coffe machine in rooms would be good

    Loved the location, hotel facilities. Pool area and places to sit had great views. Good cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent my holiday in August traveling around Portugal and this was the most expensive hotel I booked so the expectations were high. The structure is quite nice but needs maintenance and cleaness should be improved. We had to queue for breakfast every morning and it was not possible to eat outside even if there was an outdoor area. On my opinion it's not worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found that even though the hotel was not actually child friendly due to unguarded dangerous cliff and roof drops there were actually a lot of families there with children, this meant the pool area was not really useable for a relaxing rest or swim. Due to this reason I would not return.

    Location was good, staff friendly, food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection in the common areas, around swimming pool & breakfast area was not available or came on/off all the time.

    The design of the swimming pool with dark blue colors contrasting with light wooden colors was beautiful and matches the dark blue sea!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is great. Our room had partial sea view towards the small harbour. Very nice. The room was very clean. The beds really good. The breakfast fantastic. The dinner at the restaurant was very good. Alternatively the small town of Sagres offers a lot of other restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Friendly & efficient staff, excellent location with stunning views, outdoor pool is child friendly - all you need on hand but great location to explore from too. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were nice but we were often ignored walking past reception. Even a quick smile is a nice acknowledgement from staff. And when we were checking in, three staff behind the counter made eye contact and made no attempt to say or explain that we would be helped shortly. Was awkward and stiff.

    Beautiful hotel, marvelous amenities and facilities, staff friendly and helpful. Great location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved all

    I didn't want to leave! Beautiful place! Family friendly but calm vibe. Yoga lessons in site looking at the ocean to start the morning with the best of the energies. Lovely cocktails and mocktails. Nice food. Super friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: