Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercure Porto Centro 4 stars

Praça da Batalha, 116, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4049-028 Porto, Portugal

#68 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2649 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    I rarely give 10 in my reviews, but this hotel deserves it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    I rarely give 10 in my reviews, but this hotel deserves it. Very friendly staff, both at the front desk and the bar/restaurant Although the variety of food in the restaurant is not big, it seems that the food is much better than in the neighboring bars/restaurants! Free and rather fast WiFi Location was not great (few hundred meters uphill from the main station), but the private garage was a I must for me, so I knew where I was going Roof garden (with some herbs etc.) with great view of most of Porto

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a very central location able to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple with King-Size Bed and Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints maybe wish there was a gym.

    Great hotel in a very central location able to walk everywhere. Tons of great restaurants and shops nearby. Really think the hotel was perfect for our four days in Porto. Tour buses pick up nearby and able to walk to major attractions. Rooms were clean and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A memorable experience.This hotel was undoubtedly the best of the four star hotels we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was view from the room which was facing residential houses roofs. I believe some of the rooms must be facing better view as well.

    Friendly and exceptionally courteous staff, spacious room, outstanding location, cleanliness and prompt services offered by this hotel surprised us. I will strongly recommend this hotel for the best value for money and enjoying the holidays in Porto. . A personal note found on our bed from their Manager was also an extremely pleasant experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Gavin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out way too slow AC didn’t work during heatwave. Unbearable night until we shifted rooms at 3.30am

    Bathrooms great and roof top great views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel. Grea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar should have alcohol options.

    Beautiful, clean rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet and great value for dinner. Large screen TVs with many movie options and even stephen Colbert!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    •Monika at the réception was absolutely great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    •Monika at the réception was absolutely great and exceptionnel upon check-out, very good communication skill and professionnel. •Hotel well situated in the city-centre, everything accessible by feet. •Bed very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very central location , close to everything worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On mountings top. To climb over there after good evening in restaurant or nice sitting in bar in downtown...... sheer hell .

    Very central location , close to everything worth visiting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Short City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple with King-Size Bed and Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, we had a lovely stay

    Great value breakfast, best to order in advance as its cheaper. Wide range of hot and cold food something for every taste.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very small.

    Very good location and breakfast. Hotel parking. Be careful, although only 300 meters horizontal distance from railway station - it's c.a. 50 meters vertical difference in levels. No way to walk with heavy luggage uphill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    The location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are much much smaller than shown on the website. Beds are very small, there is a electrical wire flyover hanging in my toilet. The fridge suddenly make loud noise at night. The tv remote wasn’t working, they changed another one but still the reception was very slow.

    The location is not bad. But it’s on the hill, for old people and disabilities, it’s not recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    It’s in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have curtains which I found very unusual. The bed was uncomfortable and rooms are very small with almost no storage space.

    It’s in a good location. Staff was quick and responsive. We had a couple of issues with the room that were fixed in a timely manner. Monika at the front desk was very nice and helpful, as well as Carolina with housekeeping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant Hotel, Fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greatly positioned, minutes to the centre, surrounded by restaurants & a short walk to the river, one side Lined with restaurants & other side the Port Cellars. The staff were brilliant, from reception, to the bar to the restaurant, my husband has a gluten allergy, the restaurant staff were knowledgeable & were able provide gluten free options, for both dinner & breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Good stay in mid city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood a bit rough. Uphill fro train station

    Somewhat nondescript modern hotel, close but uphill from train station. Ok rooms, some with nice views. Some good restaurants in area. Streets can be a bit sketchy - not the best neighbourhood. Staff were superb however (thanks to Denise in particular) - restaurants, directions etc. Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    One word FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - 2 Single bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were great but the bar staff were excellent they could not do enough to make our stay brilliant. Just because of the 2 Jose I would recommend that everyone should stay at your hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Happy to visit Porto again but would choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The quality of the beds in the rooms is below grade. It feels like you are sleeping on a board. While one or two members of the staff were helpful, the overall knowledge of English is below grade for an international hotel. The staff in the restaurant also needs to be trained to serve English guests. While they at least tried, communication regarding food and wine was difficult. With this hotel, follow your instincts, "you get what you pay for."

    The breakfast was the best thing offered by the hotel. It has a wide selection and is very tasty. However, you are on your own for coffee and the machines break down. While it is in a central location, the constant traffic and construction make it unpleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff at the reception desk could only speak little English, which made communication a little bit harder... But still, staff were mostly kind.

    The hotel really is at a great location. Room is quiet and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel itself is clean, reasonable value and good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself is clean, reasonable value and good location for key areas of interest but is next to a drug and prostitution area-be careful which streets directly next to the hotel you walk down!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Not a 4-star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t kleep upon arrival Staff at desk seemed uninterrested or bored Plastic cups, plastic spoons and Carton cups are not exactly what you’ld expect from a 4-star hotel Lights could only be served from one side of the bed

    Superb location, but since Porto-centrer is not so big, thus is the case for basicly every hotel in Porto-centro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple with King-Size Bed and Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was below standard at both check in and check out. For the nightly rate they charge I expect an amazing experience. Over priced.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient place, near to the scenic spots and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found some clothes not belong to us in the room when we entered...

    Convenient place, near to the scenic spots and bus station. Nice room service for food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    We plan on going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only two less than positive things: I was charged on my credit card twice, but the hotel reimbursed me as soon as I informed them of it. And the second was the house-keeping staff removed our dirty towels but only left one new one and no shampoo. Staff later responded immediately to our request to resupply.

    Check in staff were great and the location is very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in the heart of a city, with no where too far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Have a wide experience of Mercure Hotels across the World. This probably rates as one of our favourites. Well-designed reception hall and excellent bar (with superior bar staff). The room was pleasant, and what we expected from this chain. The best aspect of the hotel was the position with in Porto, being very close to major sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay. Jorge welcomed us and helped us with the bags. As soon as we got to the room he showed us the fantastic view from our window. All the staff we encountered was great, the rooms were superb, the beds were very comfy. There's nothing bad I can say about Mercure Porto Centro. Even the car par was good! We were a bit anxious before our arrival, but seriously... it's ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms doesn’t have soul in design versus, they were big and b d was comfy but you still doesn’t feel that welcoming feeling. Air con units works loud, hotels one side faces to let’s say red light district’ but you don’t see or feel that street Becky’s it’s not on your way.

    Just next to the main shopping street and famous Art Deco cafe. Located at the top that some rooms might have nice view but ours were facing to the small dark street. Breakfast was very nice especially the local cheese section. You can walk everywhere from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Central location near Sao Bento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was not particularly clean - had numerous long hairs embedded in the 'clean' white towels. No hairs after the first day. Room was smaller than expected but not a big issue.

    Central location, short walk from Sao Bento train station and within walking distance of all major sites to include the river front. Easy to reach from airport via metro to Sao Bento. Had a beautiful view of the city to include the Tower from the hotel room. Breakfast was decent, easy to use coffee maker, views of the city, and on the last day staff provided a free dessert tart. Hot water heater, and mini-fridge in room. Front desk was quite helpful and nice, provided maps of the city upon arrival and arranged an early morning taxi ride to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    very enjoyable stay, hotel in excellent location in old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom got a bit stuffy/hot during the nights

    Nice bedroom with view over the city, good wifi connections, comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities. Good basic breakfast. Friendly bar staff for drinks at the bar and good bar food. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall great experience. location was great, staff was very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was full so had to park a little bit far. we booked 5 different rooms with same price but each one got different sizes of room with different facilities.

    Location, great staff and very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    The Mecure ticked all the boxes for us during our stay in Porto. Loved the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a!

    Location, location, location,! Staff facilities all very good. Being so central to all in Porto was perfect. Will definitely stay there again when we are back in Porto!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    good trip. lovely hotel and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put in a disability room. the hand basin was too low for us and also the room was very warm. the air conditioning did not work which was reported and not resolved. they did fix the window so we could open it but not ideal having the window open at night as the gulls are very noisy.

    breakfast and was very good with an excellent variety to suit all. we had the special lunch and it was delicious . All the staff were pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, facilities and gorgeous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com site.It read:Payment at the hotel... Inform card number to have your reservation confirmed. I was charged in advance.

    Third stay at the hotel. I like it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Good choice if you get a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom didn't have a door that closed completely; so intimacy was demaged; on top of that, shower did not have a door, so the bathroom got really wet. As I got the cheapest room, I had zero view.

    Great location, very clean, confotable bad and nice client service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    For the first time ever,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the first time ever, someone entered the room by 7:30, takes three steps until realizes that the room is occupied!... 1h later, knock on the door and they enter immediately, with me shouting, "there are people here!" ... Zero Privacy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    thanks for an amazing holiday in lovely Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the walls are too thin / too noisy sometimes listen to your fellow guests

    Staff is extraordinary and goes every way to make you feel home. They even gave me a reading lamp. Thank you for the nice lady who checked me in for breakfast each day ... She is so friendly and nice. Every day she greeted me with a smile. Room Service food very yummy. I can only recommend. Very clean and comfy bed / the only downside for me was that you could hear your neighbours talking and when i was in den bathroom I could hear the guy above me having a chat with his wife / so privacy is not to good. But all others is excellent and I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family and we will come back. Thank you vor a nice Stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    - Centrally located, went on foot to most places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There were lots of hair (that did not belong to me) on the cushions on the bed. The pillows and the sheets were clean, but lots of hair on the red cushions. Did not like that. - My key kept not working. I had to go to the front desk and validate it everyday (stayed three nights). A bit annoying because I would go up to my room, try the key, it woudn´t work, so had to climb downstairs, talk to the people in the front desk (and sometimes had to wait because there were other people talking to them), and then climb back up to finally be able to get in.

    - Centrally located, went on foot to most places. - Bright and spacious room. - Nice shower/ bath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    I wish I could use the welcome drink :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not really a complaint but breakfast could have more variety.

    very good price to quality ratio. central location with walking distance to all the landmarks, must be good connection with public transport too, but I haven't tried. I got unexpected room upgrade which included free welcome drink and spectacular view from the window.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Perfect hotel for stay in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more hangers in wardrobe . Wall hooks by door entrance would have been good to hang coats on but hooks on back of bathroom door were great. The standard room is smallish but not that bad ... we were happy as we didn't stay in our rooms much.

    Location excellent for shops cafes bars tourist bus stops etc. We walked everywhere and found the hotel location very convenient. The standard bedrooms may not have complimentary bottles of water but in reception area the hotel provides a fruit infused water container to have a glass of water from, when passing. Every day a different infusion. There was a kettle in our room. We liked our room 314. The sliding window shutter certainly blackened the room for sleeping. Then the joy of opening it to the rooftop view of the city. The window opens for fresh air. Beware an odd seagull may come and sit on the window sill which made us laugh one morning. The walk up from the station is challenging but it prepares you for the hills of Porto anyway. We were doing plenty of walking during our stay. One afternoon we had a rest in our room and watched an English TVchannel. There are little cafes next door to hotel where we had breakfast. An ATM is located next door to hotel. We walked down the 700 steps to the river ( turn right out of hotel ,take street by side of theatre which is close by hotel,go past Batalan station and the steps weave their way between houses. We took the furnicular train(2.50euro) back up after our time on the river area. Porto is a great city. We bought the yellow bus tour with Port tasting and river cruise ..valid for 48 hours. The bus stop wasn't far from the hotel. I will continue to book Hotel Mecure in further travels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Location was good and the space was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet access at all for our full time. We had planned to search activities and sites when we arrived to plan our daily trips. Not possible. Room layout was very impractical. Not enough space for 2 suitcases. Suitcase couldn't be maneuvered to fit into closed. With closet door open nothing else was possible. Very poor layout in sink area in bathroom.Box of tissued were balanced on edge sink since there was no surface space to lay them down. Poor design.

    Location was good and the space was clean. Staff was fine. Bathroom tub/shower and toilet/bidet were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved every minute of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area close by a bit tatty, not too much

    We'll located. Mint condition like all Mercure hotels I have stayed in. Really, really lovely gentle, efficient and polite staff especially in the breakfast room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff very helpful and friendly, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant looks a bit bare, not the view expected from the dining area, presentation and quality could be better. Rooms a very small.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Really nice stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location with easy access. Modern fittings and layout, the lifts were really quick. Had a great help from the hotel staff with parking as we had a trailer attached. All the staff were really friendly hard working and courteous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Porto 17
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, not far from the metro, it would be easier to use the metro than travel by car. very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is well maintained and has a light airy feel, rooms are comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location in animated area - room a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotel is of a comfortable standard (and quite pricy), the room was rather small. This would not in itself have been a problem if the space had been better organised. Unfortunately though, the built-in wardrobe was so placed that the door could not be opened properly, as it opened into the bedside table (itself miniscule so no use for putting anything on or in). Why not sliding doors? It also meant you couldn't get to the full-length mirror (though there was a decent mirror in the bathroom). There was a desk and chair but it was tucked away in the bed-head corner on the other side of the room so not easily accessible to one of the guests, so you were constantly falling over each other, one to get to the wardrobe, the other to get to the table. The only shelving space was too high for smaller people to reach and even for taller people to see what they'd put there, so things had to be left in suitcases, which could otherwise have been stored out of the way. So not ideal for a 3-night stay. The bathroom, on the other hand, was quite large and nicely appointed, but again with no shelving or cupboard to put toiletries or anything else on or in, although there would have been plenty of space for a shelving unit. Oh, and we only had one bathrobe to share between two.

    Excellent location. Walking distance to almost everything. Attractive communal areas, good breakfast, nice view from restaurant, front desk helpful if not effusive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Turned out fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were overcharged for the atrociously small room they gave us to start with. The staff was excellent and, after two attempts, upgraded the room.

    Hotel was very clean, location was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mercure is in a great location, you can easily walk to all major points (wear comfortable shoes, Porto is hilly!). The room we were in was small, but it was very comfortable. Breakfast was superb, do include it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Cleanliness, comfortable bed, nice view from breakfast room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in the breakfast room was little overloaded, both the coffee machines failed to work, otherwise the selection was good.

    Cleanliness, comfortable bed, nice view from breakfast room, good selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect located for a city trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has only 10 own parking places, with luck there are places in the park garage in the neighborhood. I don't know what happens when all places are occupied.

    Perfect located for a city trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Just OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was extremely small and looked out on another roof-no view. Trouble with AC-reported it and it was fixed. However, there are other hotels on the square which may be better. We felt this hotel was not a good choice.

    Staff was friendly and location was excellent. Parking is available for 11Euro/day but must reserve in advance as space is limited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was in a great location for everything we wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived extremely late and parking at the hotel was full. The reception explained to us where another parking garage was. It was a short walk, but would have been much more convenient to park on property/

    The hotel was in a great location for everything we wanted to do. We were only there for 1 night, and had limited time to spend in Porto. The staff was helpful when offering recommendations of things to do and see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    I will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the hotel and to the parking is crowdy but the stuff is friendly and helpful.

    The hotel is in the center of Porto and it is possible to go by foot to all the main cites.. lovely city. Do not miss the famous bridge and the shore at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been better, but not an issue with plenty to do in doors. The ticketing system on trains was easy enough once understood.

    The reception staff where very accommodating. Local trips where easy to find in such a beautiful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower's door was not appropriate. The water spilled all over the floor. We had to put towels on the floor to avoid slipping.

    Beds were good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Parking was in a building away from Hotel and also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was in a building away from Hotel and also very difficult to locate hotel even using a good GPS very narrow streets in car think booking . Com should put additional information if driving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    3 cheers for mercure oporto staff for being so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge and aircon barely worked.

    Close to station and main attractions. Lovely big room for the three of us. Auto blinds to keep sun out. Great to find tea making facilities and small fridge. Extremely helpful front desk staff who helped print out our boarding passes at the computer in reception area. Thank you very much to the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good location ! perfect breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We execpted our room to be bigger for the amount of money we paid per night as its a quality hotel.

    The location was perfect ! evrything close in foot distance.The personnel helped us on everything we required .The breakfast was amazing , in a room with a view of the city .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A must visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not long enough

    The staff at the Mecure all show that it is possible to be professional while being friendly and happy. The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast superb. If you visit Porto stay at the Mecure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was 135 Euro which I consider as seriously overpriced. Moreover, there was not even a complimentary bottle of water in the room.

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Great choice--fantastic service and location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Fantastic breakfast--amazing panacota, scrambled eggs and overall selection but should have been included in room rate. Loved the apple water in lobby, attentiveness and friendliness of top notch staff and perfect central location. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with King-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit shambolic. You had to make your own drinks and they had run out of mugs and glasses so had to stand around waiting whilst they washed new ones. A minor gripe given what a great hotel this is

    Well-located hotel with excellent, modern rooms. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the hotel parking was full, we had to park in a public parking further from the hotel. But the bellman was very helpful and went into our car to show us how to get to that parking.

    Staff was extremely friendly at our arrival. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is well located, within a walkable distance of the main attractions. The barman was very nice and had us try various drinks from the Porto regions. Breakfast was cheap and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast fresh and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Litter close to the main door, cigarette butts.

    Breakfast fresh and tasty. Room spotless. Staff courteous. Good location, close to the shops and cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, view, bed all very good. Had dinner one night which was very good. Breakfast had a good variety and great cappuccino maker. Good location, 5 minutes walk to the old town area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Staff, large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No grab rail to assist in getting ouu of over-bath shower. Tea/coffe facilities very poor. Hard bed. Only one easy chair for two people.

    Staff, large bathroom. Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    GREAT SPOT TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was almost inedible, they did give us 50% off after we complained a LOT

    Good room very central, easy to walk every where, staff very helpful, great city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Very satisfactory stay with value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have more amenities

    Very convenient location within steps from Tram and Hop on Hop off sightseeing buses. Metro station to the airport within 6 minutes walk. Plenty of Very Good restaurants around the hotel. Excellent Free WiFi service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.5
    I love Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    arrived 3:15 in the afternoon, was told the room is not ready and we need to wait another 20 Minutes. when I expressed my dissatisfaction we were given another room right away. why the hassle? check in time 3PM just give us another room.

    god value and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    4.6
    breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After checking in, the Bed look clean but when I removed covers, I found there were short hairs guessed from previous customers inside the cover of bed..they changed cover sheets but first impression made me uncomfortable during staying.

    breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.4
    Due to the incompetence of the recepcionist we lost a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the incompetence of the recepcionist we lost a morning recovering our car and we got a 134€ fine. The local police took our car which was parked at the door of the parking of the hotel. We were at that moment in the hotel, but the staff was unable to warn us because they had not registered the number plate, so they did not know who was the owner neither they knew which was the key of the car that they keep from the clients... without registering the number plate! (at least in our case). The Manager of the hotel did not do anything to help us (it had be nice, for instance, to facilitate us a transport to recover our car) and we have not had any apology from her. On the other hand the stablishment is of standard quality with no special effort from the staff to make the clients happier, as the incident of the car shows. Another detail that does not say much on the technical expertise of the staff was the leak of water in our bathroom that they were not able to fix, but they offered us instead a change of room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location , spacious and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple with King-Size Bed and Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection was not stable and a bit slow sometimes

    The staff are very friendly and welcoming , the room is spacious and clean and the location is perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    Free (and stable) wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a quick note on the nearest metro station - whilst about 400-500m away, it is downhill from the hotel, so you can expect a relatively steep and long climb back up. It didn't really bother us, but for the more elderly it may prove to be a challenge. Same with the journey to the waterfront even if you take the rather expensive furnicular; if you walk, it's some 15mins away (~1km) downhill. Double room for two but one suitcase stand, which blocks a bit of the walkway, and you won't have much space else to put another big luggage since there is only a small parameter around the bed. Luckily our second luggage was small.

    Free (and stable) wifi. We had delayed luggage (by the airline) and left instructions with the staff to arrange for certain documentation from the courier and it was followed precisely. It was obvious our concerns were thoroughly briefed to the next shift of staff members for continuity as well. Well handled. The location is convenient enough at the top of a hill, less than 100m from shopping and near some good restaurants and cafes (for good francesinha (portugal sandwich), San Sebastian is just a short walk away). One light in the room wasn't working but it was fixed upon our return to our hotel room in the evening, without prompt. The room was clean and tidy with cable TV and the basics.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    The most excellent location. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. No complains.

    The Hotel have the most excellent location; The rooms are very clean, cozy and with plenty of space; If you have a car the hotel parking is near about 20 meters; The breakfast is absolutely delicious and with plenty of variety. The staff is very nice and polite. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    5.8
    Not worth the price
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hate to wait for check-in while other people are doing things other than check-in with the only staff member. This is wrong. A hotel with so many rooms has to have more people busy with check-in process at all times, especially around my arrival time, which was early evening. Both the group before, and the guy in front of me had concierge kind of things to be dealt with, like asking directions, restaurant reservation etc. If there is just a single person doing check-in at a time, then this person has to strictly just do check-in! I waited around 20 minutes in a line, and after me were families etc. They had used a credit card of mine for guarantee. While checking out, I wanted them to use that very same guarantee for the payment. They said it was not possible, that they first needed to cancel that guarantee and then charge the amount. I explained that there is a delay of some days when this is done, and that card won't provide the amount after the guarantee is cancelled. As predicted, it didn't. So I had to use another card for payment. Now, WHAT IS THIS? If the guarantee is made in a way that is useless for them, then why do they do it? What if I had no other money than the amount they had used for guarantee? When that was cancelled, I could simply not pay. Some hotels have this absurd habit that makes foreign guests have lesser funds at least temporarily. I hate that. The doors were so thin that I had to listen to some guy from the next room clean his throat and nose while I was still trying to sleep in the morning.

    Check-in lady at reception was friendly, welcomed me in my own language. The room was spacious enough. It was nice that they had left space for the guest's things in the fridge.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Great choice for your stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great place in the heart of Porto. Quite and clean, with very accommodating staff. Plus: Great breakfast! Would definitely recommend staying here

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Great breakfast buffet, very friendly and courteous staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast buffet, very friendly and courteous staff, spacious bathroom, offered services & facilities (parking, room service, bar, restaurant, laundry, etc.), centrally located, possibility to open the window in the room (no air conditioning needed)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.8
    Not a lot;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. There was inadequate storage space. Service in the restaurant was dreadful; really dire.

    Not a lot; although the staff were generally pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Location is fantastic at the beginning of rua Santa Catarina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. Ours must have been a single room.

    Location is fantastic at the beginning of rua Santa Catarina, the busiest shopping street of Porto. Easy to go down to Duro river with many restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: