Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropole 3 stars

Praça D. Pedro IV, 30, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-200 Lisbon, Portugal

#277 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 658 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old & dirty carpets throughout hotel. Linen old. Breakfast disappointing.

    Location good but there are better places to stay in same area. Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were terrible. A few bits of foam in a pillow case. Also the TV didn't work very well.

    For a change, the coffee with breakfast was very good, normally I give hotel coffee a miss but not this time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room is not clean - carpet, chairs, bedspreads, walls. New beds are needed. Stayed here night before flying out of Lisbon 😖

    Young man at reception was lovely. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything but the plumbing was a little temperamental and of course the furniture was old fashioned. The only gripe was the coffee in the morning - the expresso was fine but coffee with hot milk was variable.

    The old style rooms and furnishing - art deco? The old fashioned large bathroom. The fantastic location. The friendly and helpful staff. The view form the window and the small balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked the option of an inside chain lock on my door. A piece of furniture in the bathroom to put toiletries on would have been great too, but now I'm being picky!

    We were very pleasantly surprised to be given a large room on the square with balcony although we only booked an ordinary room. Simply wonderful views...really added to the magic. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room comfortable, but condition of decor poor. Elevator only accessible up half flight of stairs, so be prepared to do a bit of bag wrangling.

    Breakfast was good and plentiful, and with a delightful morning view of Rossio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More TV channels ....

    Location! View of the plaza and the castle on the hill. Helpful staff who enabled us to get around and had great tips on what to do and made reservations for us. Nice breakfast that was included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were extremely creaky! You couldn’t move at all without waking the dead.

    Can’t deny that it has a great location right on Rossio square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's unfortunate because the location of this hotel is brilliant and the staff were friendly and professional, however The Metropole really has seen better days and needs a complete revamp, it's in desperate need of some money being spent on updating it. We paid for a room with a balcony which was completely pointless as there are no facilities to sit out on the balcony and the view looks straight into trees, so there is no view of the square or anything else. The room was not what we expected at all, there were torn curtains, stains all over the carpets, cracked walls, the shower was a hand held adapter and we got no sleep at all as there is nothing in the way of double glazing or sound proofing, so it is just like trying to sleep with the windows wide open, you can hear all the road traffic, people chatting and laughing whilst eating in the pavement café outside and the road cleaners. Also the beds were extremely uncomfortable (although beds are subjective, we don't enjoy hard beds). Finally breakfast (for the price paid) was extremely poor with very little choice.

    The location is fantastic and the staff are friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very dated and could really do with refurbishment.Seems like you can charge what you like when you have a good location. Bed clothes were clean but some of them were threadbare!Lack of toiletries and tissues in bathroom. Booked a double room but got a twin.

    staff were very helpful and friendly breakfast was adequate. safe and fridge in room. location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel felt jaded and in need of redecoration eg worn carpets and scuffed paintwork in stairway, large crack in bedroom wall, flaking paint on window. Television in room did not work ; we were told this was a "general problem throughout the hotel" and something that was not resolved during our stay.

    Fantastic location with easy journey to / from airport via Metro. Staff very friendly and helpful. Delightful breakfast room overlooking the square and adequate selection of food. Big bedroom with views over square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer and lounge are impressive, but once you go upstairs the wallpaper and carpets are worn and tired!

    The room was extremely spacious and the bathroom too! The bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on Rossio square was ideal. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and spacious and we had a breathtaking view on the square. I think faded elegance would sum up the interior. The desk staff was lovely, extremely courteous and helpful. We decided to return to this hotel for our last night after touring around Porto and the Duoro valley

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs redecorating- very tired looking and carpets need renewing.

    Location of the hotel. Very central and convenient for metro and cafes and restaurants . Good breakfast- hot and cold options but the same every morning. Some variations would be nice. Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being offered juice or water the morning I was leaving. Just because it was early flight .

    I like older world hotels .good staff nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Totally old furniture and carpets! I guess not one penny was invested within the last 40 years! I was really upset, bad bad bad bathroom on top of the not clean furniture...! The price is not adaquat at all, much too expansiv for what it is! I´ll never ever go back to this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of maintenance. Stained sofas and rickety chairs in the lounge/breakfast room, dirty carpets in the corridors and stairs, a stair-rod broken on the stair carpet for two days until we complained to Reception, whereupon it was fixed straightaway. (Why not fix it before guests either complain or break their necks on it?) I don't think any redecoration has been done since the major re-furb in 1993 and I didn't think the "Art Deco hotel" claim really stood up.

    The friendly and helpful receptionists and the central location. Good value for its location. Our room was spacious, clean and perfectly adequate, and the breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for Rossio Sq room but obscured by large trees.Room not ready at 15:00.Pillows rock hard,awful.Breakfast terrible,what little there was,wasn't topped up,bacon all gone,no toast,had to ask & wait for milk both days whilst listening to shouting in kitchen,table not cleared once and staff can't smile. No breakfast table available 2nd day, had to wait.Tea awful, why can't they put boiling water on tea bags instead of giving you pot of hot 🙈 not boiling water,opted for coffee next day. Hot milk served with tea.Wi-fi not good.Reception up 2 flights stairs,desk on 1st but no one there,didn't know we needed to go up another flight as no communication, so waited there awhile! No assistance with cases. Wouldn't go back

    Location, plenty of sockets in room and fridge provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very poor with bad bed confort. The towels were so okd and used! Get new!! The breakfast was very poor with extreme bad coffee. The wifi fix work to 10%...all this for a lot of money.

    The location and the kind and helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired, dated hotel needs a complete refurb. with old blankets and old TV that didn't work. Security was also poor. Very disappointed for the money we paid.

    The staff were helpful. The location was good. We were relocated to a larger room with a better view, but very old and tatty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom mirror is quite big. The balcony has a small alcove so you can have the doors open but the curtains close. You get beautiful light into the room and still have your privacy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be renovated Change carpets and with some painting and staining the furniture it should be good.Change the worn upholstery on the furniture

    Extremely friendly staff Excellent location Clean beds and bathroom Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs refurbishment as the carpets and furniture were very worn out. Apparently this is planned to happen soon while keeping the same comfortable style.

    We loved the location and relaxing atmosphere of this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the inclusive breakfast was excellent. Loved this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It said on booking.com that the price had dropped from 300 to 120€ but this was a massive joke. The room was worth an 80€ rate, since it was very little comfort. We feel tricked! The hair dryer was from the 80s, the television from the 90s, the beds were really hard and there was stains on my sheet. The wifi did't work. I don't think this room was ever ment to be 300 and this feels like a scam from booking.com

    Nice staff!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old design, air codition its not working in cool mode, Tv its not working, Wi-fi with problems.

    Perfect location in the city center.Reception crew is perfect and very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely old and has not been kept up. The wallpaper is coming off and the rugs look extremely worn. Overall, the hotel looks unkempt.

    Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Location is excellent with an easy walk to all of the main sights and neighborhoods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault anything! Some people may consider the decor to be 'tired' or old fashioned but it is clean and welcoming. Hotels in Portugal are not as modern as some other European countries.

    The staff were fantastic, accommodating my elderly mother and toddler son. The location is perfect for visiting the city, very close to the metro, bus stop and tourist transport. The restaurant just next door to the hotel is superb. Close by are also the traditional fish restaurants and bakeries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 34 had a very small and old bed, a bit too short for us and quite hard/ noisy (as in wood). Talking to other guests thought, I understood they did not have the same (but were also staying more nights than us!).. The paint/ paper wall was coming out in certain points, both in the room and in the corridors. The lift is extremely slow.. I did not like to pay 130 EURO per night and find in the bathroom 3 plastic glasses for our toothbrush etc..

    I really enjoyed the location of this hotel, at few 100 meters from the river side, few steps away from Barrio Alto, Alfama and Chiado. I also enjoyed the friendly staff and, despite its central location, the room in the hotel was very quite as the windows could lock very good/ were totally not old like the rest of the furniture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old And creaky and the rooms were absolutely average - for the price which was charged the hotel was not at all upto the mark and needs some serious renovating

    Staff was warm and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, all four of us were very pleased and would not hesitate booking this hotel again or recommending it to others.

    the staff were very professional and best still extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel felt very relaxing, breakfast was very good. Two of us were travelling from London and the other two were coming from Berlin, when they realised we were together , they asked if we would like rooms together, they changed our room to put us next to each other.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty rooms, nonfunctional Internet

    Central location, poorly neglected property, dirty rooms and no working internet or TV? No Parking and the staff tried to accommodate by upgrading the rooms when we said we dont want the breakfast or TV/Internet but give us cleaner rooms but it was not worth the price we paid!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything. No wifi in room. Not worth the money. Hotel very very tired. Stained and worn carpets and the entire place needs a lick of paint

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bacon wasn't great. Mediocre coffee. Hotel & room a bit tired looking. Needs a revamp. Stains on ceilings & chairs. Chairs had rips.

    Spacious room with excellent view. Room was clean. Informative & friendly staff. Requested a higher up room at time of booking & request was honoured.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As others have said the hotel is due for a renovation soon, but did not detract from our stay.

    Location and staff. Private tour of Sintra is a real plus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift for 6 days, 62 steps for old people to negotiate Only 1 TVs Channel, with constant local rubbish Wi fi no good on floor 3 ( had to go down 2 floors to connect) Coffee machine never worked in our 8 night stay

    Old world charm Friendly staff Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was not working and there was a lot of street noise from soccer fans celebrating and singing until 3 am!!

    Great location,with in walking distance of good sidewalk cafes, shopping and sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ripped off by a rouge taxi at the airport. 20 minute journey took almost an hour. Paid well over the top. My fault normally book taxi through the hotel to meet me at the airport. Fair should have been €15 paid €55. Hotel sorted us the taxi for the return at €15. Hotel in need of a coat of paint.

    Location in Rossi Square is in the heart of old Lisdon. Ideal for touring the city and enjoying the local wines and Restraunts. Sitting in various squares, having a glass of wine in one of many bistros soaking up the sun and people watching.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really needs some refurbishment and very quickly. The rooms are old and damaged with rust. The very old television was not working and all the staff of the hotel was aware of this...The price was way to expensive for the quality. We paid 190€ for one-night. Where is the money going? We will never again come to this hotel.

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little hard to find. Need a larger hotel billboard. TV did not work 3 out of 4 nights. They changed the TV 3rd night but it didn't work. It was a broken cable connector after all not the TV. The receptionist, who was alone both 2nd and 3rd nights and could not come to our room, provided a cable from an unoccupied room. I replaced it, then it worked on our 4th and last night.

    Perfect location. Very charming building. Perfect for a city with many ancient structures. Good breakfast choices. Excellent coffee. Friendly staff provided information about the city and the available tours. We happily signed up. Excellent restaurants right outside the front entery.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stair carpets were so worn,they would be considered a health and safety hazard in our country

    Reception staff were very helpful...the room was comfortable plenty of wardrobes Breakfast was fine...the location of the hotel was perfect ,good restaurant right next door,and lots of sights within easy walking distance

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with a new carpet. The furniture and inside decoration and style is old fashioned and dated but it gives it character and they keep it clean. The carpet is the only thing I d change.

    The bed was very comfy. Being so central, it gets noisy, if you prefer quiet is not for you. I didn t mind, I found the position of the hotel just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Last promised breakfast before usual time was forgotten Booked taxi to airport never came although prepaid

    Relaxed atmosphere Efficient service excellent restaurant next door

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They proudly mentioned: Completely renovated in 1993! Unfortunately after that, nothing has happened.: Curtains torn and worn out, Air-conditioning broken (which they promised to repair, but by their reaction you knew it was already broken for months) Door could be pushed open by any 5th rate burglar. Everything rather shabby. Time for a complete renovation!

    Nice design hotel made in 20s style in centre of town, Big room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no welcome drink ( bottle of the sparkling) when we were checked -in the room. Because, our room charge was including those service. So, we asked that, they brought not cold sparkling wine....

    location was good, the staff of morning time, they were very kind, but late night's staff was not so good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is small w so so pressure Have to schlepp luggage upstairs to elevators

    Great location Staff pushes high price Fado and transportation Be ware. We got talked into plan that we didn't use. Transportation is a very long wait.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable, it was noisy at night, the shower curtain was to lon inside the tub. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special

    Location was great, the one elder man we dealt with was a pleasure and very helpful . T

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are too hard and pillows desperately need updating. Would be a perfect place for longer stays if mattresses and pillows were replaced.

    The location and balcony view are probably the best in Lisbon. The staff is super courteous and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the breakfast is super.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch your purse ladies. We were victims and the thieves were like magicians - do not hang your purse on the arm of a chair.

    Superb location - easy to walk to noteworthy sites and definitely near the pulse of the city. Easy access to subway and trains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor is tierd, furniture old, worn and saggy. Entrance needs to be more visible, clean and bright, the awning gives a terrible impression when first arriving.

    One of the best locations to explore Lisbon from. Truly very central and accessible to good transport and sites to visit. Breakfast Is decent. Service and staff is very good and knowledgeable. This makes up for the tierd decor to some extent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say Everything was perfect.

    The location of the hotel is just perfect and wonderful view to the Castel on top of the hill. It was easy to find it, and the hotel staff member where very friendly and helpful. They helped us in our daily travel to visit Sintra, Cascais, Belem and other historical places.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    White towels that have been washed so often they are grey. Lack of TV channels (impt, when you're by yourself). Noise-proofing was non-existant. Breakfast on the cheap.

    Location - right above one of the main squares, handy to everything, and almost impossible to get lost from.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Booking.com should check these hotels carefully regarding the star rating. It is a European 2.5 star and a US 2 star. 2. As expected in Europe room and BR were tiny 3. Mattresses were lumpy. 4. We were in the back of the building. No view 5. Bathroom fixtures were old 6. I paid 160 euros for each night. Definitely overpriced. 7. Breakfast was low-average. 8. Staff were good.

    The location of the hotel overlooking Rossio square of Lisbon is the only redeeming feature of this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needed a little sprucing up, but it was comfortable.

    The staff was friendly - and always available. The breakfast was adequate and fresh. We mostly liked the location -very convenient!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Negotiating stairs to the lift not so good when carrying luggage or have difficulty walking.

    Excellent central position to facilities. Room spacious and clean. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was brutal. Old and dirty and our whole floor smelled like someone dropped a curry and didn't clean it up. The beds were like sleeping on plywood. Excessively overpriced.

    Location only

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a bit dated, could probably do with a facelift but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom adequate!

    The location of this hotel was fantastic! We were so close to everything! The staff were so friendly and helpful, very impressed!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is such a shame that the furnishings are in desperate need of replacement.Bed frames so old they creak noisily at the slightest movement and fold up tables used at breakfast are unstable!Carpet on lower stairs is dangerous as totally threadbare on edges.These points are putting off clients and asking to leave hotel as we saw for ourselves.Time the owner invested in improving the basics!

    Very central position for access to all transport facilities,shops and a multitude of eateries.Staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfast fresh and quite adequate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Carpet in Stairway could be a health/safety hazard as torn in places and could cause trips. Not updated since 1993 and really could do with an overhall

    Breakfast v good but no meals available throughout the day Room V comfortable but could do with being updated and painted. V clean and serviced daily Fridge in room v welcome View of St George Castle from Bedroom magnificent but difficulty in sleeping due to noise levels all night. could do with tripple glazing at front of building.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had very old furniture, beds were not really comfortable. Still a tube TV and the bathroom was also old fashioned. It was clean but clothes stored in the drawers came out very dusty.

    Great location, friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby worn carpets. Hotel looks like it hasn't seen paint for a decade. Room was clean but badly needs repainting and new carpets. Overall very disappointing for the price. Not recommended.

    Mainly location. That's about it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Authentic 1920's art deco decor and atmosphere. It was like stepping back in time. An unique experience with understated but attentive customer service. I will stay here again and recommend to anyone taking a few days break in Lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and towels.The insistence of the staff To sell the Hop on hop off tours while You can easily travel around the city by tram and bus

    Good breakfast,room with the view on the square, portuguese atmosphere of the hotel.The bus stop for the airport Just outside the hotel and lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room was a big disappointment. The hotel just desperately needs updating. The pillows and towels were ancient. Night manager very rude.

    The breakfast staff were friendly. The room was nice and big. Shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs a top to bottom refurbishment. Looks like it was a first class hotel in the 90's but it's definitely showing wear and tear. Lobby furniture was shabby and worn as were room furnishings. Carpets didn't look clean. Bathroom had tiles missing and chipped. Soap scum and a hair in the shower stall. Yuck! Overpriced for what you get!

    Location was really good, centrally located and could walk to a lot of sights. Front desk and breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful. Great A/C. Breakfast was good, even had scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel hasn't been renovated for years. Needs almost complete renovation, and significant investment.

    Staff v friendly, good security, nice breakfast, easy access to good part of town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My lower rating is due to the condition of the hotel. It is extremely dated. More than just the 1920's style, which I liked. The hotel has not been cared for. The carpeting is frayed, the towels threadbare and the overall feeling is tired and neglected. For the price charged, we expected better.

    The Hotel Metropole is in a fantastic location and had wonderful, helpful staff. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice spacious room with 2 large patio style doors onto small balcony area. Overlooking Rossio Square and views of the Castle. Excellent location for all the sightseeing and bars/restaurants. Lots going on in the area and Rossio Square had a lively and vibrant feel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were nothing to dislike!

    Hotel personnel were kind and peaceful, and took care for us in all matters. We will definitely use this hotel next time in Lissabon, too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lift is a bit tiny to go up with suitcases, beds are kinda old and squeaky, furniture is old.

    Breakfast was fine, room size was comfortable, located in a very central area, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old but full of character, not so bad if there is painting missing or scratches here and there. Perfect location and view from the romantic room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI connection was terrible. Room was not spacious. Old Building that needs some improvement.

    Great location. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed linen old and tired .Road noise in front very loud .

    Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms were very spacious , very frindly and helpfull stuff , breakfast in orde , great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Rossio Square view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's getting a little tired around the edges

    The location is fantastic. Book a room overlooking Rossio Square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropole traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: