Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mira Rio 2 stars

Rua da Ponte D. Luis Filipe, nº. 113, Granja, 4740-219 Esposende, Portugal

#5 of 28 hotels in Esposende

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We booked a two room suite with two balconies. We used them to dry our laundry which was easy since they get the afternoon sun. The sitting room has a sofa bed or you can sleep on top like I did.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and room very roomy and comfortable, breakfast was good and convenient location for walking the Camino. Close to town and supermarket

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very helpful and when I left my sunglasses behind they forwarded them on to our next hotel. Thank you for that. Breakfast was good and the location was a bit out of town but on the Camino and only a 10 minute walk along the waterfront into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was on the cold side even after it had been refilled. Restaurant was not open during our stay however thankfully we were able to get a table next door. One member of staff was personality less and clearly not happy in their work!

    Nice view of countryside. Bed was comfortable, it was a bonus that it was located on the Camino, we were very delighted to see it coming into view as it was very wet day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner of the hotel went out of his way to catch up with us as we walked and return my purse which I had left in the room, this was much appreciated

    Excellent restaurant next door, the staff were great fun and the food was very good and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was fine. It's right on the Camino, but about 1km before the center of town. The restaurant was closed, so we had to walk into town for dinner. We may have had a better impression if the restaurant had been open, but it felt a little over-priced compared to other places we stayed.

    It was nice to have a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed for renovation. Because it was a holiday, it was difficult to find a place to eat nearby.

    The location was good if you are walking the Camino Portugues. It is a 15 minute walk into the town. The town is lovely. The staff is kind and the beds are comfy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was off the beaten track but suited what we needed for the night.

    The staff and service was brilliant, and the food and staff in the restaurant was outstanding. The room was very spacious and bathroom facilities great. I would recommend this property for anyone walking the Camino.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We booked a suite as we were flying home the next day and needed room to pack etc. It was worth the not very much extra, both rooms had a balcony looking over the river and had a tv in each room The location is very easy to get to and back to the airport from, really well signposted. Lovely town and very nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is on the outskirts of Esposende. We had a hard time checking out on the morning of our departure as the front door was locked. I had told the front desk the night before what time we wanted to leave and had already paid for the room, but we still had some trouble finding someone to unlock the door for us. There was no possibility to arrange an early breakfast, and they don't start serving breakfast until 8 am.

    My mom and I stayed here while walking the Camino. I was surprised to find it so early in the day as we thought we had a few more kilometers to walk, but it is literally on the side of the highway right before you walk into Esposende (on the Camino). This was great the day we arrived, but I would have preferred to not have had to add those kilometers to the next day. The property is kind of out of town so to do anything, you have to walk into town, but it is a short walk, about 10 minutes. We could walk to a laundromat and to dinner in town. The room was perfectly fine and comfortable. The rate included breakfast but we didn't get to try it because they don't start serving until 8 am, and they weren't willing to arrange for anything early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is directly on the Camino if you are walking the coastal route. It is on the man in road but just a short walk into the village. The restaurant beside the hotel does a great pilgrim meal. We left early in the morning so the hotel provided us with a take away breakfast of roll, fruit, juice etc the night before.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have complains at all. It is standard place not fashionista but comfortable.

    It is a good place for few days, very clean, good breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty far out of town, but we didn't want to eat at the hotel restaurant and the coffee machine was broken so we couldn't even get a coffee there. It was unfortunate they didn't offer travel baby beds.

    We liked the location because it was convenient for pilgrims. They brought us a mattress to use on the floor for our baby. Breakfast was nice and constantly refilled by diligent staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Integrated restaurant closed on the day of our visit but plenty of nearby alternatives.

    Plenty of parking. Close to the town center, nearby supermarkets. Easy to find. Good breakfast selection. Excellent for the price but be aware they have three price bands.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable quite room despite being next to the road. The staff were friendly and the best thing was the restaurant. Food was great, they had an excellent pilgrim menu, super complete and the service was excellent!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect as we were hiking the Caminho da Costa and it was right on the trail. The place itself didn't look like much from the outside but the rooms were wonderful and the breakfast was fabulous! Not to mention they had the best soaking tub I've ever been in!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice welcome. It's a family run hotel which has a nice feel. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. At night we went to a restaurant next door which was convenient and good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a little dated would look so much better if the outside was painted and a few plants in pots added .

    On the camino Portuguese very good room large with good bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have my ID card when arrived. The hotel boss let me 1 hour in the lobby and refuse to give me the key, waiting for my partner who hold our IDs. He didn't follow Booking.com information and and give us 2 single beds instead of 1 double. In the morning, he explained he didn't understand I have a reservation with Booking.com!! Visa payment refused, even if Booking.com mentioned all cards are available. Breakfast very poor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not up to standard but the owner knew about this and was working on getting it upgraded

    A clean comfortable well run hotel , staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Yes staff very pleasant, place very clean, rooms were very clean and bedding was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well placed on Camino route into Esposende. Short walk to town centre. Clean, friendly, good place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tight room to get around in.

    Great little boutique hotel fabulous bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice clean room plenty of hot water for bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for Camino walkers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more comfy seating area in bar.

    Quiet with helpful staff. Next to a very good restaurant. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On edge of town but easily walked and also on Camino route

    Suite - so plenty space and with balconies off both rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was really clean. Simple but good. We didn't stay for breakfast so can not comment on that. Overall was god

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilities anywhere in the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better and the bathroom Towels as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on very noisy square (noisy all night).

    Spacious, well equipped, comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff great, gluten free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely compact room with a balcony. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy location, cycling Coastal Camino.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kitesurfing vacation. Nice hotel, within walking distance of the kitesurf school. Nice but relatively simple breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missen the balcony but we did not book this.

    For pelgrims a good location. Very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Hotel. Would return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: Unfortunately not very central

    Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly personal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a touch too far from the main centre.

    Very nice staff and very clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A room with a little balcony and a fine view. They also recommended the next door restaurant which has a cheap and very good three course menu

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camino walkers liked it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the Camino route.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was minimal. All Camino walkers had breakfast inndeperste room not hotel

    Location staff bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, helpful host.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great evening meal next door

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Camino travelers! Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is right on the Camino. Room wirh balcony in top notch condition. Very comfortable. Excellent reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff, location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was exceptional. The breakfast was something you would expect in a much larger hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Updated, comfortable, very clean, breakfast great value for the dollar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless room. Comfy bed. Good quality and choice of breakfast items.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC had to open window to sleep...mosquito found me.

    Nice breakfast served.very clean dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was right on the Camino track, room was clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night 3am loud music

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony allowed privacy

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast could be better Not quietly situated because of the noisy traffic

    Very friendly and helpful staff, they gave useful information Really clean The next door restaurant is excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of town but not to far.

    Great value room, excellent quality suite, good views, clean and tidy. And the restaurant next door was amazing!. Great food, excellent value and great staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, good breakfast included, balcony overlooking the distant river. Long board walks for viewing birds in Esposende and nearby Ofir. Parking always available in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were soaking wet when we arrived from having walked all day in heavy rain and staff kindly provided us towels at the door and dried our wet passports.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They lock you in the hotel. We told them we were leaving early (6a.m.). We could not get out and were trapped between the two sets of front doors. After pounding on the doors for a couple of minutes a guy came down and unlocked the doors. Bizarre. He said nobody comes or goes during the night. I'm done at this place.

    The air conditioning was nice after walking the Camino de Santiago all day. Close to town

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tivemos um problema chato uma vez que não nos passaram factura com NIF e precisávamos mesmo dela. Foi-nos dito que o devíamos ter solicitado antecipadamente, quando efectivamente o fizemos aquando do check-in, e nos disseram que não haveria qualquer problema. Ao que parece, no momento em que emitiram a factura não tiveram esse pedido em conta e não houve um cuidado em nos questionarem (deviam mesmo muito) se tínhamos esse interesse. Acho que deviam rever este tipo de procedimento no futuro, neste caso saímos prejudicados.

    O local era bastante tranquilo, óptimo para quem quer descansar. Os quartos eram limpos, confortáveis e arejados. O pessoal era simpático e o pequeno almoço era agradável. Tinha um restaurante mesmo ao lado, com comida bastante boa (um pouco caro), faziam desconto para pessoal instalado no hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing staff, very helpful. Room super clean with extra beddings. Breakfast was delicious. 100% recomend.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walls are a bit thin and this disrupted my sleep.

    Clean comfortable hotel with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel is very good. Maybe too close to a road with sometimes bad traffic.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    After very long day on the Camino very glad on edge of town, with bath and a restaurant next door!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bad experience

    Good situation, near restaurants and centre of town, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly staff and all clean

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast quite basic.

    This was right on the Camino so was a perfect location for us. Not too far from the centre of town and boardwalk.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant adjoining hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good sized room and bathroom. Quiet location off the main road. Easy walk along the river into town. Very comfy beds. Good breakfast.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: