Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal 4 stars

Rua Conde De Carvalhal, 53, Santa Maria, 9060-011 Funchal, Portugal

#12 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all facilities advertised are actually available. We booked as it seemed to be an Art hotel, but a distinct lack of art was the offer.

    Elevated position, large balcony and planting, grounds well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was so slow as the staff member on duty could not stop talking to the previous guest. He was friendly and helpful but should have curtailed conversation and continued with the other guest after he had settled in to his room. Staff member kept promising he would be with us shortly but it was about 30 mins after arrival before we were attended to. We were hungry and had just wanted to drop our bags.

    Balcony with view overlooking harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect.

    Beautiful grounds with view over Funchal and harbor. Modern, big sea view studio apartment with large bathroom and well equipped kitchen. 10 minute walk from town or take the bus that stops right outside the door. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was a little cramped and fridge good but full of lots of goodies which we didn't need.i

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Generally quiet neighbourhood apart from the odd cat and dog meows and barks. Good parking facilities and great location to a plethora of bars and places to dine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no refrigerator in the room

    The hotel is in beautiful surroundings on 15 min walk of the citycenter. We had the junior suite which was in the original house. We had a terrace and enjoyed the view from the terrace on the harbour and the surroundings. We stayed some afternoons specially for this luxurous feeling on our terrace and room. The junior suite has the same terrrace as the suite, but is situated at a better side of the terrace for the view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal but we mentioned that we celebrated our 5th anniversary on our arrival day and got twin beds despite booking a double. I think that in a small hotel like this they could send a card to the room to congratulate the guests for their special occasion. Pillows are not the highest quality although generally the room is very comfortable.

    Lovely room, pretty large, with a nice view. Room was quiet and comfortable. Excellent underground parking, the garden is really nice. Shower is excellent. Before our stay we considered staying further away from Funchal's town centre but we were very happy that we decided to stay in Funchal as it's so easy to drive in and out and it's really nice to stroll around town in the evenings and get dinner and drinks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess a pool would have been nice but it didn't bother us as we were only there for 4 days.

    Just lovely people. So friendly and helpful especially when our flight home got cancelled and we had to stay another night. 10 minutes walk into town, or a bus stop right outside the gate, stunning view of the harbour from our room and the terrace. A great breakfast at 12E on the terrace. 35E taxi to the airport, 10E to the wicker chairs and gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of ants and I did ask for changoing my room but they said all the rooms have the same problem so someone came to my room with the wet towels and catched them but tomorrow the room had more ants😡

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee shop in the grounds was closed. Complimentary in-room coffee would therefore have been a nice touch, rather than the excessive 3 euro per pod charge.

    The suite room is lovely and had a great terrace, albeit shared with another room. The garden is not large but there are plenty of places to sit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the kitchen can be heard up in the bedrooms.

    Overall setting very pleasant, comfortable bedrooms, well equiped and conveniente kitchenette, good breakfast, excellent communication and services.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cannot think of anything that would need to be improved.

    This hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the harbour, and away from the noisy areas, but within walking distance of all the action. The view from the terrace/balcony was spectacular. The bed was firm, just as we like it. Housekeeping was thorough but quiet and unobtrusive. We only had breakfast one day out of the seven, but it was very good -- staff went out of their way to provide us with special requests and meet our dietary requirements. This hotel is small enough to provide very personal service. The office also organized our transfers from and to the airport, and helped us with check-in for our return flight--though we wished we didn't have to leave!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was good WiFi reception in the lobby but we were only able to get it infrequently in our room (201), which was annoying.

    The staff were very helpful, promptly bringing extra coat hangers, when requested and arranging car hire and transfers. The hotel and gardens were stylish and kept very clean. The kitchen facilities are not adequate for a full self catering holiday (not that we expected this) and the fridge was full of items for sale, but they are a welcome bonus for travellers staying more than a few days. It was great having the use of a free garage for our hire car. We also liked being close to the old city and had a wonderful Valentines dinner at the Old Fort restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a garden view and it was great but there was a big tree blocking most of it. However, it gave us an excuse to go out and enjoy the view. Best advice would be to be on the top floor. The majority of the room flooring was made out of wood so you could hear the neighbours above us who weren’t that noisy but this was out of season could have been worse when busy.

    The communication between myself and the Hotel was unparalleled: kept me in the communication loop, tracked my plane (even though diverted for a day to Portugal), organized a taxi and sent me all the information I needed via email making it a very smooth check in. Room was in the new part of the hotel and the building had modern decor but traditional theme throughout. The staff bent over backwards to please me and nothing was ever too much trouble. The room was big having all the necessary appliances and in a good location (on a hill so easy to walk down to the Old Town but not so great to walk up). The room was also air conditioned and clean. Surrounding area was rich in colour and history

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    Very helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. It was useful having a kitchenette - not many hotels offer this. We liked being in the old town - everything in Funchal was accessible on foot and there was a bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee and tea in the room wasn't included and instead part of the pricey mini bar. The room was very central to the hotel so seemed to pick up a lot of noise from the main corridor and lounge area, we heard lots of noise in the morning from the early risers. There was also bit of a bad smell coming from the sink in the kitchen from time to time.

    The Arts In hotel is gorgeous, and modern and so close to The Old Town. The car parking was a massive bonus, the balcony produced extraordinary views of Funchal, the room was clean and modern and the bed to my liking, the generous all day breakfast was also fantastic as we managed a nice lie in and the staff were wonderful especially the girl who checked us in and the wonderful lady at breakfast who even picked us some delicious fruit from the garden to try. Absolutely glad that we decided to stay here on our short trip to the City.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very poor by 2017 standards. No iron available for guest use.

    In a very beautiful and atmospheric part of the old town. Very well maintained and excellent modern design, aesthetically pleasing. Terrace with wonderful view over Funchal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was even better than the photos. The covered and secure parking was a wonderful relief. I did not want to try and parallel park in the hills in Funchal! The hotel itself is lovely and there are lots of little places to sit outside with great views over the city. It was actually much nicer than the pictures! Great location as well - just walked into "town" to explore.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its a matter of preference, but as for me, the bed could be softer

    Superb views over city, ocean, harbor, mountains and garden from the premier suite, HUGE balcony, breakfast available forever - perfect for party animals, or those who sleeps till 1 pm), private parking, beautiful garden, walking distance from the center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi could be better. there were a few tiny ants in our room, but that didn't bother us much.

    the garden and the immediate surrounding of the hotel are exquisite. the rooms are slightly more simple, but very nice as well with a lovely view on the city. staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is very good. the parking lot is highly convenient too. all around a great experience and highly recommended. breakfast is a bit expensive (there are alternative options nearby), but it is really quite good and worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was €12 per person and included different breads and pastries, fresh fruit smoothies, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, eggs, beans and service was great. Eggs cooked to order. The beds were really comfortable with extra large pillows which fitted all the way across and made for a good night's sleep. There are two lounge areas upstairs with comfy sofas and the terrace outside if you want somewhere to sit and relax. The walk down to the market took about 10 mins and there is a little cafe/shop a third of the way down where you can get water/snacks. The walk back up took about 15 mins as steep but manageable at a slower pace than going down. Taxi from Old Town promenade was anything from €4-€8 depending on time. This place is in a really quiet location. There is a hairdryer in the room, microwave, fridge, crockery and cutlery, washing up liquid. There is no iron available but you can get your clothes ironed for a charge. We didn't use this service. The staff had lots of good suggestions about places to visit and how to get there including bus timetables, tickets, etc. Thank you to Nuno, Vanessa, Marta and Marianna for a lovely stay, would recommend this hotel for a quiet get away, hope to be back someday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cannot think of anything we did not like

    The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. We had a small kitchen as well which made life so easy. the staff were very friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel was excellent, tranquil with a great garden and view and a bus stop right outside the gate so you did not have to walk up the hill every time. Overall, excellent and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    would have appreciated a lounger chair in garden and fresh milk at breakfast.

    Charming building with lovely garden and views. Very friendly and helpful staff Kitchen facility with fridge Home-made juices and herb tea at breakfast Views over town and harbour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We passed rather by coincidence at this hotel as we got stranded at the airport which was closed due to strong winds. We arrived there by taxi late evening once we got the confirmation of the cancellation of our flight. As there were hundreds of people in the same desperate situation queing at the desk at the airport, i booked via booking on my ipad at the airport hall and we decided to get a taxi straight to the hotel, which was a good decision and avoided us waiting for hours at that information desk in order to get a hotel by airport staff. Once we arrived at the hotel, a friendly young man, I think his name was Nuno, welcomed us with a glass of tea and took the pain to try and get hold of somebody from the air company ( TAP) to have us rebooked only 3 days later. This took him one hour, but he did not give up and kept being so friendly. We were amazed by his perseverence and helpfullness and would not have had the patience that day to care about rebooking, as we were exhausted hanging at the airport all day long. As the hotel was fully booked for the following 2 nights, they arranged a single room with an extra bed for us, so that we didi not have to look for another place yet,. Thanks again to him and also to the other staff members who were caring so much during our entire stay. Great breakfast with quality ingredients and fresh smoothies served in the wonderfull garden overlooking Funchal bay. Impressive trees and plants well maintained. City center about 10 minutes downhill and up by taxi for 6€ late at night. We will keep this characteristic old hotel with comfortable, modern extension in really good memory and will certainly pass by should we visit Madeira one day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was Not clean. At the groundfloor you hear all the speaking and noise from the entry/reception and movements from the room above.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As the garden was in front of us, and the gardener worked and watered continually, we were invaded with biting insects if we opened the huge window. We resorted to buying insect spray! Lack of information about how high, and far, Funchal centre was.

    Accommodating staff who were prepared to book, or advise, on everything. Beautiful views from room and excellent cleanliness throughout. Good kitchen facilities, including a spacious fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a shame they didn't provide some nice bath products. There was shower gel mounted on the wall in the shower but no shampoo which I could have done with. Not a huge issue but surprised a hotel of this quality did not offer a small pack.

    A wonderfully charming hotel that felt more like a big house. I always felt like I was going home. The fact that you can have breakfast at any time and sit wherever you like is simply wonderful! Loved the art around the building as well and the great garden! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    This is a very comfortable and quiet small hotel in the old residential area just up from the town away from the big hotels. No more than 10 minutes by car from the town, with on-site parking. Go there for a relaxing time. Breakfast is available for an extra charge and well worth taking it. Much more than one could eat with a selection of breads, local pastries, cereals, fruit, juices, and excellent coffee. Eggs, bacon and sausages available on request. The (very comfortable) rooms generally have a kitchenette where you can make simple meals to be eaten in the well kept gardens and patio. Most important the staff are all very friendly and could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel is situated above the old town and is surrounded by a beautiful garden. The staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast on the terrace (not included in the price) is worth doing at least once.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only had one night here! I wish I'd asked for toast with my fried eggs. Toiletries........surprised to find one of those multi-use soap dispensers i.e. hair and body, in the shower (found in low cost chains of hotels). To reach the quality of the rest of the hotel, we expected to find locally produced boutique style toiletries.

    Our stay at the hotel was purely by chance as all flights were suddenly cancelled due to high winds. It was very late at night when we arrived and though our host was rather run off his feet trying to deal with the sudden demand for rooms from the airlines, he still made us very welcome and comfortable. The 'reception' is in the original old building which is beautifully furnished and traditional, the apartments are a complete contrast! The corridors are like a gallery, the semi-opaque windows of the apartment kitchens create an array of wonderful imagery (you can't tell they are windows from the corridor!). The doors are large and flush to the wall creating quite a dramatic entrance to the room. When we walked in we were taken aback by the size of the apartment (bedroom, large shower room and good size kitchenette) and the fantastic view from the balconet, over Funchal. The bed and bedding were amazing, so comfortable, and we even had soft fluffy bathrobes. Everything was clean and tidy and they even provide USB chargers so we didn't need to hunt around for our adapter. Breakfast (additional cost) was delicious with a range of fresh bread, jams etc and the option of cooked food such as scrambled eggs. The staff were very friendly and polite and made our short stay even more enjoyable. Would love to go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    ---

    - Fantastic hospitality - not the typical kind of hotel - likeable and professional stuff - excellent breakfast service - beautiful garden - close to city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better located mirror in the room and more coat hangers. But nothing I couldn't manage a couple of weeks without.

    Very friendly and very helpful staff. Good breakfast choices. Clean. Trusting environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The situation on a steep hill not exactly suitable for someone like my husband who has walking difficulties. I think this should have been m,ore clear on the booking website.

    Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay--gorgeous view from the room, exceptionally friendly staff, and delicious breakfast in the garden. Beautifully designed hotel with lots of natural light and thoughtfully designed common spaces decorated with perfectly curated large scale fine art photographic prints. There is a wonderful atmosphere to the space. Easy walking distance to old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having walking difficulties - I would not recommend this hotel unless you are willing to spend a lot of euros going/coming from town, which is where all entertainment and eating establishments are.

    Extremely helpful staff, good clean rooms and useful Honesty Shop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I could say something bad, it's the fact that it doesn't provide swimingpool.

    It was an amazing Hotel. Staff was very helpful and polite. Location was really good, specially if you have a car, as they also provide private parking. The room was spotless and very comfortable with everything you can need. Good views. Really calm area. One of the best hotels I have been.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little!

    The gardens and terrace with tremendous views over Funchal which are not highlighted enough in the property description. Staff extremely nice. Underground garage was also a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service, choice and the terrace, dining room and gazebo where breakfast could be enjoyed. The view from our room of great ships arriving to dock in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the premier suite ..... it really is rock hard. I like a firmer bed but this is a different level. We were woken during the night due to the loud squeaking when you turn over or move in the bed ... it really was that regular! Nothing else .... the rest is just perfect

    Beautiful house ..... with a fab view. All staff helpful and friendly ..... absolutely loved the continental breakfast .... I looked forward to breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass window in previous room not closing properly but moved to a different room and everything was sorted. As a suggestion, coffee/tea/bottles of water should be free as part of the hotel fare.

    Really nice sea view and terrace to enjoy breakfast. Very professional and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Twin beds a bit narrow. Neighbourhood barking dogs!

    Lovely welcome. Great breakfast that set us up for the whole day - which could be indoors or out on the terrace. Superb location and views of Funchal and the harbour. Very few hotels this side of Funchal so we felt we were living with the locals. Hotel owners brown labradors!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was not a problem for my party the steep walks into or out of Funchal may cause a problem for those not used to walking

    Setting was beautiful-high above the town with gardens and seating area to look down on Funchal. The honesty garden shop was a pleasant surprise after an early morning flight to be able to stock up on a few bits of food and drink. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpfulin arranging transport or directions when needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful location, serene environment, friendly hosts, very relaxed, loved the 2 chocolate Labradors would have liked to have spent more time with them!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A balcony would have been good but not possible with the modern extension.

    Odd sort of place, not really a hotel or apartment, something in between. Absolutely beautiful surroundings, wonderful sunset terrace. In lovely old town, walk down to restaurants, taxi back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were uncomfortable, prefer feather, but that's a personal thing. The room was very basic for the price we paid but it was New Year's Eve!!! Wasn't too happy to be presented with a mini bar bill. We didn't use it, never do!!! I hope we were believed, but she cancelled it anyway.

    The breakfast was ok. Had to pay extra for any form of cooked items. The staff were very good, you rarely saw them throughout the hotel, but they were there if needed.Happy with the location, away from the bustle of the town but a 15 min walk to the restaurants. Great view of the fireworks and ships on the 31st. Quite Special. The gardens were ascetically pleasing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ants in room. Lack of variety of breakfasts.

    Shabby chic ,laid back atmosphere,more like staying in friend's house than hotel.Proximity to old/main town.Small size.Get to know staff,who can't do enough for you.Breakfast on veranda overlooking bay.Good self catering facilities Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice breakfast, but lacked a hot option.

    Great location in a residential, non-touristy area but 10 min walk to lively restaurant street. Lovely old building, large comfortable room, beautiful grounds & views. Pleasant seating areas in different locations on the property. And 2 friendly and lively Labradors! Free underground parking was also very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Tissues in the bathroom would have been nice.

    Friendly, helpful staff, large, quiet and bright room. The hotel is situated in a nice and quiet housing area and the 10 - 15 minute walk from the town center is uphill.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds were very narrow Up a steep hill which may be a problem for some, but we walked or got a taxi

    Staff were wonderful Beautiful gardens Breakfast was delicious Fantastic views. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was available but reception in the room was not always good, ofcourse on holidays put away your mobile and enjoy life, so no big problem

    Breakfast was very nice with fresh home made juices like apple, pineapple and melon. The staff is very nice. Hotel lies on walking distance from the centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing, great people. We slept there during the fire of Funchal, they had everything under control and we felt very safe. The building is really nice as well as the garden. We slept at one of the suites and the views from the balcony are grea. Delicious breakfast. I would recommend it without doubting it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest this place to people visiting Funchal for some days! It is not in the old town or close to the harbor, but if you are in Madeira means that you can walk 10 min up to gain a fantastic view in your bedroom! The stuff is super friendly and the rooms are fully equipped! Mine had no balcony, so if you are not in the mood to go out for dinner you have to eat in the bedroom! ...thanks for the nice time there!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - No 24hours reception. - Long walk from the hotel to city center. - Difficult to stop a taxi outside the hotel. - The paid breakfast is not worth the money. - Rooms are not opened by a card, but rather a key and same applies for the safe and hotel main gate at night. - Room TV is small. - The room AC is not cool enough.

    - Room sea view. - Design of room and a small kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The airconditoning either was not turned on or not available in the public areas.

    The staff was excellent, always helpful, kind and efficient. They went out of their way to help and do whatever they could. The hotel is in a residential area 15 minute walk to the old town. The property is attractive and my room had an overview of the hills and the sea and harbor. Many rooms have kitchens so it is for families but for couples as well. Breakfast was in the veranda or the garden area and for those vacationing in fall or winter there is a lovely sitting room nicely furnished with a large tv and fireplace. Rooms are airconditioned. Tv had many English speaking channels and wifi worked well. Many restaurant recommendations were given such as, RISO-excellent and a great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Could'nt fault it !

    Loved the location the views, the friendly staff and the service. The 1 bed suite was elegant and airy with views from the balcony over Funchal and the bay. The bars and resturants of the 'old town' were only a 5 minute stroll away. Private car parking under the hotel was very useful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 15 nights

    It would have been great to have a few initial written suggestions about Funchal, supermarkets, restaurants and how to find places of interest from the hotel rather than having to always ask staff

    Lovely harbour view from bedroom window, and garden. The bedroom had wooden shutters so temperature and light could be adjusted day and night. Spacious bedroom storage cupboards and useful little kitchen. A stool in the kitchen would have been useful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The one and only disadvantage was that there was only one free socket at the room, and charging my cell phone and the battery of my camera while working on the computer was pretty challenging.

    Excellent hotel in all aspects: location, comfort, cleanliness, safety, view, breakfast, but most of all, service. The staff is not just ready to help, but finds the right solutions at the right moment. Flawless service and communications. I felt like home! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift door

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access is difficult by car

    Architecture Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be better.

    Quiet location away from the big hotels but close enough to walk to the restaurants in the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wifi didn't work at first, but was corrected quickly by the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nit complaints

    love the room,the facilities,the view, the staffs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room powerful shower comfy beds and kitchen facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean and large room. The staff was very friendly and willing to assist with any question.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. - had a great time.

    Beautiful setting and foods. High quality porcelain!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast location design

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very well placed close to old town and with its own parking. Great views from the hotel. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff here are all full of passion and welcoming. They provide useful information about the city, including scenic views and bus schedules.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow, could be a bit better. Would be nice to have matrimonial bed

    The breakfast terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not obvious to me that I had to pay additional for the coffee and tea in the room

    Lovely views over Funchal. Staff is very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room service switching all the lights back on every day

    charming gardens

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Everything was really good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few ants in room and very warm in room

    Location, room, staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Rear View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'd have liked to stay longer

    tThe breakfast was good but expensive

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: