Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moliceiro 4 stars

Rua Doutor Barbosa de Magalhães, 15/17, 3800 - 154 Aveiro, Portugal

#4 of 18 hotels in Aveiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 526 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel and team. Good, clean and convenient room. Good and reach breakfast. Nicely decorated. Excellent location and above all the staff is welcoming and helpful. There is a public parking in front of the hotel which was paid by the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in downtown Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were smaller and less luxurious than those shown on the Booking.com website. Not really what I was expecting from the pictures.

    The room was immaculately clean. There was quite a lot of choice for breakfast and most of it was very good. Check-in and check-out was very quick and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    An excellent place to stay in Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very good quality with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    We were welcomed warmly, the staff went above and beyond to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed warmly, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They very kindly parked our car for us. Breakfast was a fabulous buffet, the room was spacious and beds very comfortable. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    The loobies are very fancy but the rooms don't match up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a bedroom with a view to a wall 2m meter distance. Very noisy area. It's very disappointing going into the room. It is easily comparable to a superior Ibis place but 4 times more expensive.

    The loobies are very fancy but the rooms don't match up. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable with lovely furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable with lovely furnishings. Excellent quality breakfast and a great location to explore the interesting town of Aveiro as well as the Praia’s.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Will Be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a last minute booking It was a great hotel. Location. The Decore very attractive and smart The rooms were clean , bed very comfortable service was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Short visit. I could not take advantage of the Hotel for lack of time.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting more variety at breakfast (ovos moles for instance as it is a speciality of Aveiro). I found the price a bit too expensive.

    Facilities (room + bathroom) were very good. Staff very helpful. Welcome voucher. Excellent location. Pleasant place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Incredible hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room for just 1 night. The room was so incredible nice I asked if that was the room I booked just to find out It was an upgrate. Everything was perfect on my very short stay. Will book at the Moliceiro again. Many thanks to the very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Perfect base to explore Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were lucky to get a free parking space right outside and we were upgraded to a themed room which was a nice surprise. Location is perfect for exploring Aveiro and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking spot. One of the sinks wasn't working and the tube hose had a leak.

    Great staff and accommodations. Also great localization and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay and still reasonable value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is the only problem. The hotel has only 5 spaces outside which were always occupied. We used street parking, paying the night before which gives you until 10 am to leave. The receptionists offered to help if we had problems but we never needed to test this.

    Above all the main feature is the location in the centre of activities and restaurants. That said it is a small town and other hotels are close by. The staff speaking good English, are helpful and friendly. Helped us choose from the many eating options there. Our room was an upgrade and large on the corner with lovely views in 2 directions. Very quiet despite the busy road in the day time. Large bathroom. Comfortable bed. All in all a comfortable place worthy of its good reviews

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Perfect, excellent, we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything wonderfully perfect! Best of all the staff at the front desk! All of them, nicest, most helpful people you will find on this planet!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Homy Aveiro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor to the room was a bit dark. It was a little hard to find the door key slot.

    The surrounding was very nice. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    nothing special, but good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - paying for a room with a canal view to get no view (only trees in front of the canal). OK, it was a small additional cost, but still disappointing. - it is a matter of personal taste, but I did not like the decor.

    - very good breakfast - good wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    a beautiful small hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    beautiful corner room. appreciated being able to open the windows. very generous bathroom with a deep bath. generous breakfast. and a welcome drink was a nice touch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The air conditioner couldn't be controlled in the room. We had to call front desk in order to adjust temperature. The staff was very kind and followed our request but it is very inconvenient to keep asking front desk to adjust. So, we just asked to turn it off for the night. - The service at the bar wasn't always available. We wanted another drink and just gave up because we already had waited for so long and we couldn't even find the staff.

    - The attention to detail in the welcome gifts. It was very thoughtful and pleasant, especially the port wine with ovos moles. - Breakfast was very good. A very wide selection maintaining good quality items.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Position of the hotel and the view from our room. Although it is on a main road the traffic noise is minimal. Easy walk from the railway station or a taxi for 5 euros. Breakfast was unbelievable. Lovely bar for a night cap and icecream. Value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel overlooking canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large floral arrangements, but not real.

    We arrived on a busy holiday weekend. Hotel found great street parking for us, had piano music in lounge on sat night. Helpful in reserving a lunch restaurant at costa nova on Easter sunday. Excellent breakfast. Right on the canal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.5
    A wonderful stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took an overnight on our return train trip from Lisbon to Puerto, we were delighted, the hotel was wonderful, great location, very clean, attention to detail was exceptional, friendly staff, would recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Aveiro - a special place in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weather! Some sunshine then squally showers. But that wasn't the fault of the hotel!

    The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Everyone there seemed please to see us and did everything to make our stay a comfortable and happy one

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Moliceiro is a beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room on the road/canal side. Unfortunately, there seemed to an unusually large amount of traffic well after midnight that kept my wife up. As a result, she had a poor night's sleep. I would recommend requesting a room not overlooking the street.

    We stayed at Hotel Moliceiro based on the previous reviews and they were correct. The front desk was wonderful and very helpful to allow us explore Aveiro. Took a canal tour based on their recommendation and it was perfect. Spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening exploring the town. In the morning I had a great run out to the salt-flats and watched the sunrise. Great way to close out the year! The breakfast was fabulous! Lots of fresh fruit and pastries. One of the better ones I have seen in the last year of my travels. Nicely done!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Lovely, bright hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closets too high for short people to use. Difficult to get the hangers on or off.

    Great location. Pretty rooms. Comfortable beds. Complimentary glass of port. Nice selection of breakfast items. Helpful staff. Lovely lobby and exterior.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, clean and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast with wonderful variety, too much too mention! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    We had such fond memories of this hotel we returned and it didn't disappoint thank you all at hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !

    Our 2nd trip we loved it so much we returned staff are unbelievable so helpful nothing is a problem

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    A simple convenient place from which to look at this pretty town. Not cheap though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location in pretty seaside/canal side town in central Portugal with handy parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything... Great place.. Amazing location, love it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Spacious rooms and excellent location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms and excellent location and breakfast. The free port doesn’t hurt either!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff let us check in early and the bar staff was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff let us check in early and the bar staff was really nice, the breakfast was also high quality and they had mimosas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the free use of bicycles at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Romantic Package - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the free use of bicycles at the property. The romance package was delightful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, cleanliness, good breakfast and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, clean rooms and great breakfast. Overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallish TV in the room.....in this day and age you expect a wall fitted reasonable sized TV!

    Great breakfast, free internet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The location and breakfast were excellant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and breakfast were excellant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Overnight stay in Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we did not like.

    Wonderful location, nice, clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a couple of dsys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Perfect position to explore Aveiro with lovely staff and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Women’s day party that night kept us awake

    Comfortable room and good customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Aveiro is a real pearl and Moliceiro is just in the middle of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast, cozy atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place,first time to Portugal and visited this small...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place,first time to Portugal and visited this small town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    A wonderful and artistic hotel in beautiful Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints

    This is a wonderful, well-priced hotel in a perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Charming waterfront hotel in a lovely small city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming hotel on the canal front. Good facilities a lovely room overclocking the canal and very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    OK experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and oddly shaped.

    Very amiable staff. Lots of help finding a parking spot and good advice about dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay in Aveiro. Amazing food at O Bairro on the Largo da Praca do Peixe24.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Very nice staff. Parking in front of the hotel. Interior decoration a bit over the top, but comfortable rooom and bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Cleanliness - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    great location but a bit outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dark and gloomy

    the friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and bar. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit if you're in the Porto area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff lovely and aviero was a lovely little place .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Aveiro NOT Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air freshener everywhere

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    BREAKFAST - THE BEST EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BREAKFAST - THE BEST EVER! NOT A CRITICISM TOO MUCH CHOICE!!! JUST WONDERFUL!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Modern clean and well presented

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Amazing place for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the esthetic about it is amazing. And it's right on the center

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    light saving in the coridors is not comfortable

    nice breakfast no dinner nor lunch option

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location - staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - staff were nice. Breakfast was good and warm, which we find most of the hotel breakfasts are cold.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Don't miss this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk help excellent. Best breakfast buffet I have ever had

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location adjacent park and canals
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location adjacent park and canals

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Well located and comfortable hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar facilities and lounge lacking in character, all a bit 'dated'

    Rooms very comfortable, breakfast excellent - plenty of choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Aveiro lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask for it.

    Being diabetic I need sugarless food especially cereal and there was natural yoghurt when I asked for it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    We were given a double aspect first floor room with Juliet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a double aspect first floor room with Juliet balconies, good views of the park and canals. The welcome drink was a lovely pink sparkling wine served in a very nice bar. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice, including more pink wine. The whole hotel had an air of sophistication with individually themed rooms. It is a lovely hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    The hotel staff was warm and friendly, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff was warm and friendly, the room was comfortable and quite luxurious and breakfast was really sumptuous. Definitely a hotel to return to many times over.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    The location was excellent - central to the centre of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The run down appearance of many of the buildings, the lack of people out and about in the evening and during the next morning, and the surliness of many restauranteurs greeting us at their doors.

    The location was excellent - central to the centre of the restaurants, bars and museums, if they were open! We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the town was rather lifeless at night, relative to our other travel experiences. The hotel, 'Hotel Moliceiro' was the only highlight for us, except for the 'Cafeina nos Arcos', where we had dinner, and the 'Iron Duke Pub' where the barman Timmy was helpful and served a great beer! Both the restaurant's and the English styled pub's service were delightful and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.0
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Couple

    The general ambience of the hotel is a bit too dark and a little too decorated

    The breakfast was excellent. The room and bathroom were large and had the coffee/tea facilities available with even a biscuit for a special night need

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    5.0
    Disappointment!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Reception staff at check in! Cleaniness of room.

    Disappointment! Staff sgressive & unpolite. Website promises so much room. We came a group of friends and had booked separate beds in double room... Room not really facilitating this! Girl at reception very hostile and not helpful!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    8.8
    Nice hotel right in the centre of Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel right in the centre of Aveiro. We had a reasonably sized room on the third floor with two good beds and a modern bath room. We chose a room towards the back of the hotel (not the canal view) due to the quietness allowing sleeping with open windows. Breakfast very good with everything you want, including some local specialities. WiFi very fast. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Location was excellent, breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Did not like the deliberate darkness in the corridors on the floors. I understand there are some style and concept considerations, and I appreciate the artistic attention to details and the art show cased in the public areas, but really, as a guest I was very uncomfortable every time I emerged from and into the elevator. Too dark and inconvenient! Also the room with a "canal view" was a bit misleading - the canal is there, but you could not see it from the room windows....maybe on higher floors, or not at all....

    Location was excellent, breakfast good. very clean and lots of art. the internet worked fine and finally reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.2
    The hotel overlooks a little park and one of the main canals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel overlooks a little park and one of the main canals. The décor is attractive, and varies; a warm, antique air in the reception and bar areas; chic modern design on the landing. My room was rather brown themed (not my favourite colour but that’s my fault) with a rather odd picture. The hotel has no restaurant but this is hardly a problem as there are many within a few minutes’ walk. There’s a welcome glass of port which I had in the evening accompanied by some local sweets, and a good breakfast. The service is pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking not available at the hotel, the nearest 'free' parking is about 1/3 mile away, but an easy walk. Nearby paid parking is time-sensitive to 2 hours per ticket.

    Location is perfect. Hotel quite comfortable and modern. WiFi excellent. Breakfast great. Good price for performance.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Very well appointed, tastefully decorated:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the are no other facilities except B&B. Very pleasant lounge and bar area but underutilised.

    Very well appointed, tastefully decorated: contemporary-stylish; fantastic location; good service especially regarding the challenging parking situation; very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    My request for extra pillows was handled perfectly!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel information folder should be on the dresser surface, rather than hidden in a drawer. Folder would have information on room's AIR CONDITIONING CONTROL located above the refrigerator unit. However, the A/C worked quite well! Very pleased.

    My request for extra pillows was handled perfectly! Staff speaks English and is quite responsive. Very quiet room. Excellent Air Conditioning. Great location. An ideal choice for a most comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Total package very good indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was limited to about five or six spaces outside hotel so not guaranteed. Worked out in the end.

    Total package very good indeed. Breakfast was by far the best even compared with another so called 4 star hotel we stayed in during our visit to Portugal. Also upgraded our room which was very welcome

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    The general atmosphere of the hotel, the cleanliness, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of restaurant facilities, other than the breakfast which was excellent, the bar which only amounted to a waiter who appeared on demand and the absence of any social enviroment during evening hours.agreat hotel

    The general atmosphere of the hotel, the cleanliness, the staff manner and our room.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.5
    Got an upgrade to the stylish rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very inefficient check-in, had to wait almost an hour, because the credit card device caused trouble with people checking out. The bar down in the lobby is not very well equipped. They had to find out which beers they have and finally found only to industrial portuguese ones.

    Got an upgrade to the stylish rooms. Looks great but not spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wi Fi was very weak in my room. I had to go outside near the lifts to use a WiFi phone. Breakfast cereal selection didn't have enough fibre.

    The location. Size of room. Quiet. Breakfast buffet. People at reception.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: