Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 stars

Forte Sao Joao, 8200-325 Albufeira, Portugal

#62 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1427 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area gave me pause. It was neither neat nor welcoming. A mish mash. Then trying to find my room was a bit of a disaster as the signage (which seems to be an issue throughout Portugal) was missing.

    Once I found my room, it was lovely. Large, clean, full of amenities, comfortable! And the access to wonderful beach was easy and there were places to get a drink and a snack were right where I wanted them to be. I'd go back for a weekend, but not for longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is almost the same every day. Wi-fi didn’t work properly, even in the reception area. There is no private beach, that belongs to the hotel, so you’ll have to pay for the sunbeds and sunshades, if you want to use them.

    Location, location, location. Just by the sea, very nice beach, no need to drive anywhere, unless you want to visit more places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible, the staff in the reception were unfriendly and not at all service minded. Because of very thin walls you could hear everything even several floors up/down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact there is no music past 7:30 pm and very boring resort.

    I liked the fact the beach was close, but didn’t like the fact that you had to pay for a chair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small hotel with not many facilities such as good music on terrace and pool is full of people so too crowded. There is small pool indoor but also crowded. Hotel and food are English orientated and not so much choice of food During diner moments restaurant very crowded Pictures on website are different than in real unfortunately so it didn't completely fulfil our expectations

    Beautifull beach is next door Small 2nd pool that is very quiet Studio with 2 levels very nice and very beautiful sea view Staff very helpfull and friendly Good location to go to old town and other cities Parking facilities when you hire a car We booked airport transfer via hotel and was arranged good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food or the fact they put us underneith the restraint so that we can hear loud movement with chairs and trolleys at 7 30 in the morning.

    The location between old town and the strip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff were unhelpful and rude. The facilities were dated and tired and there was no wifi in the rooms. We went self catering, but there were no cooking facilities. The pool was less then adequate for the size of the hotel.

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel in general is very dated and a bit scruffy in parts. The quality of the food was hit and miss.

    Close location to the beach. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant could get a little crowdy. Hot water in the Shower would not last and would soon turn cold.

    Food was plentiful. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Facilities and Entertainment were excellent with plenty to keep us occupied. Pool was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it’s a private beach we didn’t expect to pay 5€ for a subbed and €3 for a small plastic cup of beer.

    The hotel is in a great location, 20 minute walk to strip and same to old town square in opposite direction. Food was ok. No Malibu or even local substitute on all inclusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are not full board it is not a good place, we were not "all in" so 2 drinks which were very small measures of Bacardi and coke and a gin and tonic (both mixes supermarket large cheap bottles) cost 10 euros. more than two normal size spirits cost in the main town. Also it says wi-fi available, what it doesn't tell you is it is only available in the foyer of the hotel, lastly only one TV station (Sky news) available in English. Oh and because it is "all in" you get a few people who drink all day and by 6pm are loud and can be not so nice.

    Not a lot..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy, since our unit was the only one above nightly entertainment bar, it lasted only from 8:30 pm to about 10:30pm. Not bad.

    Me and my daughther were booking hotel room and were pleasantly surprised with huge one bedroom suite. Very clean , with good beds. Just down the hill to beautiful beaches and the pool. Lots of free parkimg , close to the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Disliked people moaning that the breakfast and other food is not upto much no British bacon or sausages mate get a life if you want British bacon and sausages stay in England

    Returned from Monica Isabel Club Beach and we had a fab time. The location is absolutely amazing. Very good hotel for families and kids. The view from our apartment and restaurant was absolutely wonderful, looking straight out at the sea and the beach! Our apartment spotless clean, very big, plenty of space just right on the beach! We can not understand the negative comments?! The big pool has a snack bar from 11am-5pm/ sandwich, hot dog, burger, salad, fruit, ice creams Overall we had amazing holiday at the Monica Isabel beach club and we would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment was not very clean, there were broken furniture stored in the apartment, terrible smell just outside the apartment, air conditioning wasn’t working we waited 2 days for that to be fixed. There was what looks like blood stains on the pillow luckily there were spare pillows in the apartment. Room was half cleaned towels not replaced. Bathroom floor mat was taken out but not replaced. Hidden charges as we were told we have to pay 25€ to get lock for the safe. Internet not working as apartment is far from hotel again they let out internet dongle for 5€ per day. Living room couch had what it looks like food dried on it. Over all was good location but poorly kept accommodation definitely not clean nor not very friendly staff.

    Was just on the beach that is the one and only positivity about the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside pool and jacuzzi closing at the same time like the pool outside. The 15€ for dinner over priced for what they offer.

    Lovely reception team, with a special thank you to Leticia ! Beautiful lady, always ready to help and make your stay feel more special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Did not like that there was no wifi in the room , free use of safe , or kettle in the room as standard .. You had to get these items as extras. Evening entertainment that we did see on the odd occasion when we spent the evening in the hotel was quite poor , the guys singing while playing along on the keyboard was terrible.

    The breakfast was good and the room was clean . A bit dated but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personel ( Especially Mid age guy from reception) - disgusting manners , no hospitality skills at all

    Food was Just ok. Basically tasty but very poor selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - tall man on 05 May around 12 midnight with alot of attitude. No manners at all. We are vegitarian and sandwiches were with ham. We had to stay hungry all night. In door Pool was not working for first few days we came especially for my uncle who is disabled and unwell so he can relax. We did not arrive until around 12 midnight and we asked jf we can extend our check out time to 2pm and was refused. Really disappointed with staff and service. How can staff treat us like we are nothing?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed some help with decor. The noise from other rooms was at times annoying.

    Loved the ocean view. Some of the staff were very friendly and some not so much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to escape noise including loud music; even round the pool! Did not like having to go down a steep pathway to a very noisy room for a drink in the evening.

    Beds were comfortable. The All Inclusive aspect. A good balcony. Many sun beds available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was lots of stairs, only allowed 1 card per room, and the alcohol was watered down

    The rooms were large, but in need of decorating/ painting, food in restaurant not brilliant but fresh bread and salad available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was packed and was organised chaos, we were seated and I took the children up for food only to discover when I returned to my table that the staff had split the table and given it to another couple, although I had left my belongings on the table and chairs! And you wait for an age for drink. All inclusive one drink per person, so everyone in your party needs to queue up. Snacks at the pool bar are terrible. Rooms are adequate at best.

    Location near to the beach was excellent with a reasonable walk in the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel & rooms are very tired and in desperate need of an update, food was poor glad we only booked for breakfast!

    The location right on the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small restaurant for size of complex,

    The views were great we had 4 rooms and all had a lovely view, our hotel room had an up stairs and down stairs with 2 balcony’s which we never expected, out side bar area was good lots of chairs and tables 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There so many lifts, and steps to the rooms and were poorly lit and dangerous . We were on a all inclusive package, there was one bar where you would get free drinks, this bar was a nightmare , where we found in this bar there was no seating and hundreds of kids running crazy, music was so loud . We ended up buy our drinks in the other hotel bar, so we could get a seat and not listen to the madness of the kids . When we arrived the hotel reception to find loads of people sleeping on chairs,at one point we though it was a hostel ! We will not be back to this hotel

    It’s was a clean hotel. Staff were good . Food was excellent , location good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choices in restaurant not enough mostly had soup and salad. Room was very basic not what we thought it would be.

    The view from our room. Location was okay .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi - should certainly improve the quality and extend to the rooms and pool area as well! Entertainment was more geared towards kids, a more balanced entrainment programme would be good.

    Good food, great location and wonderful views from the room! Had a great time partly due to good weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the aparthotel side. No WiFi in the room only in the lobby. Stayed at the end of March when it was still cold but the heat in the room didn’t work.

    Room had a balcony with view of the ocean. Located between old and new town. Had a shuttle to take you to the old town. Breakfast buffet was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    we had very bad weather, would have been nice if entertainment staff, had a wet weather program. Hotel comfy but a lot of us oldies about could have used a silly game or two in the main bar, day entertainment all in pool bar, and it was to cold to attend there.

    Food was good, more like home cooking, and a good choice, if any go hungry in this hotel, they are sad people. Staff were brilliant. AND I was glad to see they keep a very orderly house, even with all inclusive, but never mean, idiots and drunks are dealt with calmly and swiftly. I will go again. BUT please note its not suitable for wheel chairs, are severe walking problems. That said my party was My 88year old mum a 76 year old, and me a very active 65, so well suted to the older visitor just not really bad walking problems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many hills and expensive drinks on the bar, you got charged for Lemon or lime in your drink -joke really when they grow them there. The rooms are basic and confusing as i had a room for 3 people -no coffee making service,kettle,toaster,microwave, cooker, they stated i had paid for room only , even in a hotel room they supply a kettle , when challenged they gave me a hot plate with one pan & frying pan, no tin opener.

    The location was excellent ,sea view and not far from the old town along the beach. Cleaning services everyday

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Coffee in the hotel is only limited to breakfast. Availability of coffee are at the vending machine after. I could suggest they use real coffee beans instead of instant on their coffee machine.

    the beach, transports, affordable groceries(if self-catering), loads of restaurant and bars. Surprisingly very affordable drinks, mini tours were excellent. All the staffs be in the hotel or on tour had no language barrier. Everybody spoke English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartment overlooked the gardens, trees and bushes. We had a problem with mosquitos,due to rain. The meals were below a standard of which I expected.

    The room was large, a good bathroom with shower, and beds were adequate. I stayed in the main block. The room was very clean, together with floors and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was warm and weak. Not enough heating during cold weather periods.

    Standard and space of room was well above average for this category of hotel. Food choice and availability was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable, no seating in the lounge area. Our balcony was only cleaned ounce in a week full of cigarette buts from apartment above. Workmen in two apartments next to us with power tools rattling away every day from 8.00am until 7.00pm. Wife's bank card stolen by maids rifling through draws. Says no stag or hen parties, what a joke, that's all there seem to be in our block. No hot plate for cooking, worst place I have ever stopped in. The hotel part must be better than the apartments.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not the best but ok as is the price . Never seen any entertainment . Glad we never paid for all your inclusive as meant we went out the hotel to see area .

    Lovely beach and big room . Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Brilliant staff, brilliant hotel with great sea views from most rooms, great location, a lovely walk along the beach for about 15 minutes to albufeira old town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was too big for a winter break, very cold, not enough radiators, managed to keep the bedroom warm. Very tatty settee in lounge, had to hire a kettle and a hairdryer. No small saucepan. Fridge inserts were missing. Whole apartment needed a refurbishment, a lick of paint on the front door in a bright colour would not go amiss. Windows need replacing in the bathroom.

    Location of complex superb, views from restaurant great, staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The doors to the balcony were broken. One could not be locked securely. Two could not be open or closed without great effort whilst they scrapped across the floor or scrapped on the runners. The room was directly below the breakfast/dining area and the noise of footsteps, chairs and tables being moved and equipment being wheeled across the ceiling was intolerable. There was also a constant smell of chlorine bleach in the stairwell outside the room. Don't take room 703 if offered it.

    Vary comfy mattress. Very good see view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smiles on the reception staff wouldn't go astray to make one feel welcome instead of feeling like your a nuisance

    Location and room view meet standards I expected for price paid 👍🏽 Room block A fabulous I think it was 116 second floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of noise in the morning and night (corridor/cleaners/restaurant) but wouldn't stop me returning.

    Room in the hotel was better than expected, beds comfy, sea view brilliant. Location of the hotel was fab.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and cold. 2nd Floor room didn’t get any sun heater not very good. Booking.com said tea and coffee facilities in room and they don’t offer this. U can rent a kettle but still need to purchase tea etc. Not something you would expect all inclusive. Telly only has one English Channel and that is sky news. Internet was poor but you could hire a router for the room. Everything was just an extra way to make money. Cleaning was well just making the beds I think not a lot of actual cleaning done.

    The food was probably the best thing about the hotel. Never had a problem finding something tasty to eat though sometimes not all that hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar/entertainment area was a bit intimidating as I was a lone traveller, I didn’t go to shows

    Very clean, staff really friendly, food was good, could of been a bit warmer, fantastic location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only sky news English channel should be more English channels or option to buy them but would stay again

    Pillows good and towels and beds spacious aparmentslovely and clean everywhere in complex staff great great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is ok nothing special but always something to have at the restaurant, but at the pool bar they do snacks, toastie, salad, crisps and things are lovely. Pool be atmosphere is lovely and relaxing. I’d recommend to stay in the 4* a lot better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a major let down, the staff in the restaurant weren't one bit friendly, the rooms where so cold I couldn't believe it.

    It was close to the beach and town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in a rooms in January. Heating only in bedroom. There’s holes in a door and bathroom window so it’s even cloder. (It’s a typical summer hotel) WiFi only in a lobby. Some of the receptionist are not friendly and not always in a mood to answer some questions! Hair dryer available from reception for deposit of 20€

    Comfortable bed, big rooms (bedroom +living room + kitchen and balcony with sea view) Huge resort- must be great in a summer! Delicious, big variety of breakfast on a 8th floor with great sea view! Easy to find parking in the winter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely unfriendly, we went in January and the rooms were so cold that the bedding felt damp, asked for better heating (air con heating was useless), were told we'd get a plug in heater but never got it. There was no kettle, cooker, iron, sweeping brush etc in room, had to pay deposit for all this but found this out too late. Restaurant closed at 10am so if you missed breakfast you had to go into town to eat. Couldn't even just opt to pay extra for it.

    It was only a ten minute walk to town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only fault I had at the hotel was i didnt find the restaurant staff very friendly

    The hotel is so near the beach ,the hotel apartments are big with beautiful views of the ocean from both sitting room and bedroom. The food was good ,with a good variety for the price we paid , the food at the pool bar was good too burgers toasties ect. The reception staff were very helpful and attentive. The bar had entertainment every nite and the bar staff were friendly. The rooms were cleaned every day and the housekeepers were attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and bar were freezing at night. You had to hire every think. Kettle 20 euros towels twenty euros hair dryer 20 you got it back. We was all inclusive but if you wasn’t only 1 electric ring and a fridge not sure how people would manage. Go all inclusive drinks are expensive.

    Position of complex and view from room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We go to this hotel 3 times a year if possible. If you go self-catering it's impossible To cook anything if your on a budget because some rooms have cookers some don't some have kettles microwave toasters some don't there is probably only one pan to use we always go self catering as we don't like having to go to meals at a certain time. If your going self catering you need pots and pans ect. Also the pillows are flat and very uncomfortable. Apart from that the staff are very friendly dispite what previous people have put. The rooms are cleaned regularly. It is a stroll on the beach away from the old town and the same to the strip we will be booking again

    The hotel is is in an excellent location the staff are very friendly and rooms are cleaned on a regular basis

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had bed bugs. After one night of horrible sleep and body covered with bites wemt to talk with reception to get it sorted so we can have better sleep. However when we got back it looked like that nothing was done just beds made. And it wasn’t we got even more bitten the following night. Also the hallways look like old schol or hospital not very well built main building. The food was ok, we cannot complain because we paid only 66£ for 2 nights half board but we seen people paying 15€ for a person for dinner or 5€ for breakfast , with drinks not included. At this case I really think food is way overpriced, u can go to town and have a dinner for 10-15€ in restaurant. Also we had to leave really early last day so we went and politely asked if we check out before breakfast can we go just make ourselves a sandwich to eat on the go as we don’t have enough time to sot in for breakfast we just been told : no chance, also they ask 20€ deposit for hairdryer that doesn’t even work properly

    Rooms nice and big. Close to beach, walking distance to old town also after free bus drives to town. If u don’t fancy a wall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This property is outstanding value for money and should be viewed for the good things the main one being the staff and quality of the house keeping, a very outstanding venue which provides a safe holiday resort for all members of the family.

    we loved it all,even the guests from "up north " behaved themselves for a change ,but on some nights in the Bingo it was a bit " Tits, bums and roll your own fags ", on the upside we had a three-way with a lady from Hull!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy during the evening and night with cars passing closeby our room. A rooster woke us up at sunset. Jacuzzi was out of order and sauna a bit of a joke. Wifi only in reception.

    Very clean and modern room with good beds and pillows. Solid good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "stove" did not work as the fuse jumped very time we tried to use it for making tea. Needs update of the whole facility

    Excellent location directly on the beach, big room and great valie

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Living room in apartment dark A ceiling light would be good. Curtains need to be darker.

    Food very good every day. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff polite and helpful Easy walk to town. Beach yards away

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the hotel features could do with some upgrading

    Location is fab! Just by the beach. A free hotel bus available for the travel to a nearbytown was greatly appreciated!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food could have been better.

    the beach being as close as it was the sauna the location was great as we could walk along the beach to the old town in about 10 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meant to be self catering facilities. First night, No cooker, when one arrived it was a very old & rusty hot plate. No kettle, toaster or microwave. There were a few pots, pans & plates. There were 4 adults and making coffee was the limit for the kitchen. Returning at night in the dark was treacherous as the path to the door was unlit and very uneven. It was freezing at night. Aircon in bedrooms but we had to sit with our coats on in the living area. Complained but no joy, to quote " we can not control the weather". Very very basic accommodation that relies on good weather to keep you out on the beach or at the pool. Rang booking.com for help as we wanted to cancel and move to another hotel. The guy I spoke to said unless I had my reference number they couldn't help. As I had no wifi I couldn't give it him. So booking.com are incapable of finding my account through my email ( although they email me daily) my phone number or address. I think this year alone I have booked 6 or 7 with one booked for next week & one in January which may well be my last one through them, there are plenty of other booking agents who I'm sure would have been more helpful in the circumstances.

    Beds were comfy & the shower was hot & powerful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spanish who arrived for a long weekend .. They don't just talk to each other .. They talk over each other .. No One is listening .. Everyone is just shouting at each other .. Disturbing the peace and tranquility of a beautiful resort !

    Everything about what was offered

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi. No shallow end to indoor pool. Hilly area. Not good for elderly

    It has indoor and outdoor pool. Good Beach within a short walk. €5 by taxi to Old Town of albufeira

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad management throughout hotel and staff not fully trained. Not explained where all facilities were or what was available as directory did not explain this.

    Leaving after hearing so many swear words and seeing so many drunks who felt they should annoy others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only unsecured WiFi in the reception area and no WiFi at all in the rooms. I didn't manage to connect at all. The staff wasn't helpful either.

    Good varied breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that my balcony didn't get any sun, but that wasn't a big deal as there were plenty of places on the complex to go and get sun.

    The rooms were very spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to Leave !!

    Excellent budget hotel with enough food and amenities (including the beach) to keep people happy. More than enough expectations from this hotel, food ok average but you get what you pay for, if you want luxurious food and accommodation spend a lot more money and book a 4 or 5 Star hotel and then brag how much you spent (myself I prefer to tell people how much I saved towards my next holiday) !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the staff in the dinning room they were unpleasant and looked like they didn't want to be there

    Location I was lucky enough to get the main building the views were amazing the beds were very comfy the place was spotless and reception staff were lovely and very welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately most of the staff at the hotel were not very friendly.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, very short walk along the beach to the town and a couple of great bars next door to the hotel. The hotel was also exceptionally clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hot plate provided limits any cooking (we only prepared cold meat salads) and the heating of a kettle for tea/coffee making. Thus, the provision of a simple electric kettle and also a chopping board would improve things.

    Happy with the room (also the maid service) because we were high up in block C above other Brits who were somewhat noisy and so, our room felt private with a good view of the sea from the open balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and clean the only problem was that pillow they are really uncomfortable and could do with replacing

    Central to everything nice and clean. Didn't eat the food so can't coment on it 20 minutes walk on the beach to the old town and 20 to the strip

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    poor WiFi in the lobby area

    spacious room, 2 min to a beautiful beach, nice staff, a very decent British breakfast and bread selection - but it might be improved with more healthy options as salads and vegetables.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had one wish that I alredy told them when dooking: we wanted to have a room with a seaview. Didn't get that and they told me it's because we had the family room. So we were ready even to downgrade the room for smaller to get it but the staff in the reseption didn't wanna do anything about it. Was ready also to book 4 more nights but asking for it for 2 days we ended up changing hotel. The elevators didn't work well and that made it difficoult to move around with the babystroller. The kids club was closed and many other things that dissaponted us like the wifi is slow and only working in the lobby, the kitchen was useless...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn’t of a good standard One of the lifts was broken Didn’t get any clean towels throughout our stay and there were three of us in the room Reception staff weren’t very helpful,asked for extra pillows the first night and got them two nights after

    Well we had to hire WIFI which it was stated in the holiday booking came with WiFi but we incurred a cost of €50. For an all inclusive property they stopped the drinks at 11 and we had to pay after that On the day of checking out they took our wrist bands off us at 12 noon but wasn’t leaving the hotel until 14-30 so we had to pay for any drinks we wanted after 12pm, I’m very disappointed with the hotel and for the money that I paid for the hotel was totally unacceptable and won’t be recommending this property to anyone and will certainly NOT be staying there again,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked every thing ,I have been to Portugal many time, but never the same place twice.We have booked March 2018,which I need to change my date hopefully with out penalty and we plan to come back in October .

    Breakfast was lovely,Hugh variety but the scrambled eggs a bit watery

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food wasn't the best one. I wished I could taste some of Portugeese traditional foods. Instead there was lots of greasy fried food.

    The beach is near by which is great. Especially if you travel with kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bed

    the food was excellent, location perfect, great for kids and adults, beds were in need of new mattresses but then so is mine at home. Wonderful welcome great hotel, will be going back very soon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The whole hotel needs some TLC, very tired looking all round. The entertainment is dreadful, one guy on a casio keyboard every night with everyone just sitting in this semi outdoor area drinking the all-inclusive drinks. It was not well sign posted for people that were NOT all-inclusive (we weren't) so i didn't know whether i was allowed to buy and drinks or food etc........not that i would have wanted to really. No kettle , toaster in the room (you had to ask for it separately and pay a deposit...) they Brought in a second put-up bed in to an overcrowed living room and just left it there - i re-arranged the furniture to fit it in properly. Th balcony was big but as we were put directly under the restaurant had people over looking us the entire time, and with the constant noise of the chairs moving etc not exactly relaxing. It also had some disgusting water 'stuff' coming out of the air-conditioning unit going directly on to the floor so didn't really want to go out on it.

    the location of the property was one of the the only good things about this hotel. We choose this hotel because of the location and that it had an indoor pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monica Isabel Beach Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: