Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moniz Sol 4 stars

Vila Do Porto Moniz, 9270-095 Porto Moniz, Portugal

#5 of 14 hotels in Porto Moniz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with nice view of the North Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was not quite up to the other standard of the hotel. There was a wide selection of fruits and very tasty choco croissants, but no servings bowls for the marmelade and inattentive staff.

    Hotel with a nice view of the North coast. We stayed 3 days and were pleased to have the Jacuzzi and pool downstairs. Rooms are spacious and were very clean. Soft bed mattresses. Massages can be booked at the reception and they also offered Zumba courses. The natural bathing pools are just across the street. The hotel provides extra towels for the pool that can also be taken to the outdoor lava pools.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Three star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is not a four star hotel. Old furniture, windows not closing properly (and when it is windy, this is really a problem). Poor breakfast.

    The staff was incredibly nice, ready to help no matter what problem you have.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Stunning view to the cliffs and the ocean, several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage was not too professional, mattresses are way too soft (and probably old), and the blankets were smelly. Would be great if beds were replaced as a whole.

    Stunning view to the cliffs and the ocean, several restaurants around, friendly staff, plus a nice swimming pool with sauna included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    nice Hotel near the natural pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa Breakfast

    Nice and near to the natural pisquinas/pools of Porto Moniz. Rooms are clean and big. Breakfast is nice as well, but if you come late the bowls with fruits and warm dishes are enty. They dont refilled them. The spa is small and not worth its 4 stars. All in all e good and value option in the west of Madeira

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    it was a lovely hotel. perfect for the cold and rainy days we spent in Porto Moniz on June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    breakfasts were a bit...boring. we and others got stuck in the small lift

    it was lovely. Members of staff were very helpful. The receptionist booked us a taxi to the airport at a very affordable price. the jacuzzi was simply amazing! The pool was a bit small but ok! I loved the cleaning ladies. Our son was making a right mess everywhere and those little fairies were cleaning our room up as if we just checked in! Many thanks to the Venezuelan lady who was cleaning our room! sorry for the mess!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Moniz Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the lower town opposite the aquarium and natural pools. Just a short walk from the improved swimming pools and nearby restaurants. A short but steep uphill walk to the older upper town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly staff. Beautiful view and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not super comfortable. "Double bed" has a gap between two beds.

    Awesome options to spend the day at the hotel, such as pool, sauna, jacuzzi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hospitality, facilities and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hamman was not functioning well. It was barely warm.

    The property was amazing! Well maintained, great facilities and staff. Sauna, ping pong, swimming pool and great location next to the natural swimming pools and aquarium.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    The best location in Port Moniz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning of the room was not as expected.

    The room was very nice with great view to the ocean and the rocks. I believe that this is the best location hotel in Porto Moniz. The restaurant is great, we recommend to have dinner in the hotel as well instead of looking for outside restaurants. For about the same price you get great food and clean and nice location. The Jacuzzi was out of order, so they have advised us before we arrive if we can accept it and once we agreed, they were kind to upgrade our room. The stuff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel right next to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel right next to the sea. Very friendly staff, they treated us almost like VIP quests :) The room itself was very nice, large and clean. We appreciated the balcony with sea view. Very tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice view with a great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weird mattress protectors on beds. I read about them in many earlier comments - guess nothing has changed :) We were too scared to look what was underneath them. It was a bit uncomfortable to sleep on it. My bf decided to sleep in his sleeping bag instead. Heating problems. Our room had a broken air conditioning. We were offered a different room or a heater. We decided to switch the room. In the other room the AC was sooooo loud (and I'm not over exaggerating - it must have been broken) that we asked the staff to put us back in the first room with a heater. Rooms looked a bit used for a 4 star hotel.

    Location. Hotel is located right next to the natural swimming pools. We also had a room with an ocean view. Breakfast! In a form of a buffet. There was a lot to choose from: eggs (sunny-side up, scrambled), sausages, hams, chesses (Gouda, cottage), vegetables, pancakes, fruits, nutella, bred (white, dark, toast), cake, coffee, tea, juices, etc. Staff was very helpful with the heating problems in our room. We got a heater from the reception desk. It was more than enough to make the room warm. It was possible to borrow an electric kettle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    It was a pleasant base for three days in a remote part of the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not expect to be asked to pay extra if I wanted tea and coffee-making facilities in my room. The single waiter in the restaurant served nothing to the tables, and was too officious in clearing the table between my visits to the breakfast buffet. At lunch time he noisily threw cutlery into a drawer and wheeled a rattling trolley instead of allowing the guests (only 2 of us) to enjoy a bowl of soup quietly.

    I liked having a room with a balcony overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, very good price-performamce.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym has just 2 devices, which are kind of broken.

    The Restaurant serves delicious national meals. The staff is friendly, helpful. The room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac was not working. But we got an heater from the reception.

    The restaurant in the hotel is great. Better than most in the village. The room was big and bright. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    The room was very nice and had a baby bed delivered already...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the hotel interiors look a bit out-dated, so I guess they're going to have to do some renovating somewhere in the near future. The balcony door in the room was rather stiff to open and close.

    The room was very nice and had a baby bed delivered already as we checked in. The staff was very helpful and friendly too. As a breakfast buffet was included, I think this was a very good value for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay with very attractive prices in winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating. The hotel being located on the nothern side it is a bit cool (17-18°C) in the room

    Great place to stay with very attractive prices in winter

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Food in hotel restaurant was delicious, breakfast as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in hotel restaurant was delicious, breakfast as well as dinner. Various options to choose, incredibly nice service. Hotel have a great location, I would recommend to choose room with a sea view. The best moment in the morning when waves crushing into the shoreline.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly, tasty breakfast and amazing balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and jacuzzi were old, cold jacuzzi water, poor hairdryer and coffee in breakfast

    Staff was very friendly, tasty breakfast and amazing balcony view to the ocean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel rooms, daily cleaned, sauna, jacuzzi offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When arriving we got a coupon for free cocktails in the bar and when we wanted to use them they told us they can be used only upon ordering a dinner in their restaurant (we came there after the dinner so this was not an option).

    Nice hotel rooms, daily cleaned, sauna, jacuzzi offered. The free parking is available near by (the one in front of the hotel needs to be paid) Breakfast was excellent (all you can imagine, was there). Close to the lava pools.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Provides everything you need for a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel that knows how to take care of their customers. I was there in mid-October and weather was cool, but still allowed swimming in the natural swimming pool complex 5 minutes away (the reason I stayed here!). Lovely rooms, with great bed, excellent bathrooms, and stunning views of the ocean and soaring mountain coastline from the balcony. Breakfast buffet (included in my package) was outstanding, with just about anything you could possibly want. Friendly helpful staff throughout the hotel: At the front desk, in the bar and the restaurant, and in housekeeping. Excellent value, and a great base for exploring the NW part of the island (and for visiting the natural swimming pools - one of the coolest things you'll ever have a chance to do...)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    We loved our stay in Moniz Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft mattress, small TV

    Sauna and indoor pool, food in the restaurant, the view from the room, natural pools, friendly personnel, hotel bar with very affordable prices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel with excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard, and the toilet seat out of order.

    The hotel is well located with the nice view on the ocean and northern shore of the island. The staff was very polite and helpful. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of hot dishes, bakery and jams. There was WiFi in the room, though we had to re-login often. WARNING. If you are a sensitive open-window sleeper, your sleep can be ruined by the sound of water pump of a fishing boat docked at the pier in front of the hotel. At night it sounded like a distant helicopter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing and good base break, when exploring around the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Staff very helpfull, location of the hotel, good buffet breakfast. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were absolutely the cherry on top of the cake. Recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Ideal, comfortable hotel for trips in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel, we stayed 4 nights and wished we had done 1 more as there is so much to see and do in that area. Very friendly staff, nice and comfortable rooms, great indoor swimming pool and the restaurant (Butio) is very good too. Ideal location for several trips in the area, levada walks etc. On top of that all, the price of rooms and dinner is really good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Have a nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom carpet a bit grubby and door to balcony not sliding very well which made it seem all the more heavy to move

    Lovely wide choice for breakfast. Good choice also on the dinner "specials" menu.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.7
    Check the latest reviews before you book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not an old hotel - built 2001- but is at present being badly managed. We had heating out of order, outbreak of sewage in bathroom, hot water brown with rust one morning and Wi Fi so unsafe that Google and M S N refused to allow it to be used! We've stayed in very many hotels worldwide, some very simple, and never had problems like this. Still, it wasn't expensive!

    View from balcony, near to Porto Moniz attractions..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Do not eat here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling dinner - think 1970's English 2 star hotel crossed with school dinner. Images on website are complete lie and they clearly have no way to produce anything like this. Admitted chef had day off and were only interested in the set menu.. Breakfast - limited. Very stale chocolate croissant, cheek to try to charge for expresso!! Stay as it is nice refurbishment, checkin receptionist lovely, evening junior waitress very sweet. Rest of staff ok. Do not even consider eating here. The website is false.

    Location, building, receptionist at checkin was lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, although it's not horrible.

    A cosy hotel, very friendly staff and a frankly stunning view from the room. Although a bit worn and out of date interior, this hotel has a certain charm that gets under your skin. We loved it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    A good choice for a night whilst touring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passage carpets a bit dated. Room layout a bit dated.

    Excellent breakfast. Big room. Big balcony. Pleasant staff. Good value for money. Swimming pool looked good. Whole hotel very clean and staff very helpful. Free parking on the harbour. From here we continued our tour round the island. breakfast available til 11 am so no alarm clocks. For the price I was pleasantly surprised and would both recommend and visit again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    First choice in porto moniz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some springs in the bed but healthy and swiss cleanlines

    Staff very kind good value for money beautiful view large balcony wonderful indoor swimming pool possibility to bath in the harbour clean even in storm turkish steambad only one little hour of funchal quietest place of port moniz first rate cocktails and the two areas of natural swimming pool at few walks good place for the West better leavad as and free and large parking and safe in the harbour

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    A simpatia no check in e check-out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limpeza no chão da piscina

    A simpatia no check in e check-out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfriendly male waiters at breakfast

    Location with fantastic sea views. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Simple the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple the best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym Paid parking Coffee poor

    Very nice hotel. Get a sea view. Location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    seaside view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    instant coffee for a breakfast soft sleeping mattresses

    seaside view good starting location for trips

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    good location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were not comfortable

    good location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable hotel in a very beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was ok. But the service should improve.

    Location, rooms, staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great location, nice prices in hotel restaurant, kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool under construction, no prior notice

    Great location, nice prices in hotel restaurant, kind personell

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool was closed and I was not informed about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was closed and I was not informed about it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Great view from rooms, very nice staff, perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view from rooms, very nice staff, perfect place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Parking wasnt free for hotels guests and wellness center was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking wasnt free for hotels guests and wellness center was opened only until 19:30.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    It was OK, better for just a day or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cover under the sheet. Breakfast wasn't great

    Nice views. We were upgraded to the suite so had plenty of space. Staff always helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Warm en familiaal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm en familiaal hotel. Exellente keuken.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    pleasant tranquil stay. nb porto moniz is quiet, and is typically cooler breezier damper than Scoast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine in restaurant dear.

    This hotel is well-named for it is in the sunshine longer (Jan) than other hotels in Porto Moniz.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location nice room with a view we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold bed okay but don't like plastic on bed

    Helpful staff nice dinner very efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. The colors in the lounge are beautiful and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Very recommended for this price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, very clean, friendly staff - especially Mary! ;-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Indoor pool excellent for rainy day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a bit soft and old...

    Indoor pool excellent for rainy day. V accommodating staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    AMAZING location, view is great, a bit windy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    fitness area is not there, 1 1970s like machine, sauna and steam bath was dated

    personnel was 10/10,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    a special place to unwind and relax, maybe write a book
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Above all, staff are very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -restaurant food

    -location -view from my room -staff (smiling and helpful all the time) -swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast closed early

    Very good value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Great stay in Porto Moniz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, great breakfast, great staff, great elevator, great view, great everything!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Great view hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool closed to early 8pm No private car park

    Great steam room and jacuzzi. The best Breakfast in Madeira

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.1
    Room was cold and the heater was broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was cold and the heater was broken. Luckily we got an extra heater and two extra blankets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food, dinner was a disappointment

    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More breakfast choices. Freshly cooked eggs.

    Comfy beds, free wifi, fantastic view, quiet, close to a range of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.5
    Very good food but rather slow in preparation and often...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toaster,needing a replacement and cooked food was rather cool even when early for breakfast.

    Very good food but rather slow in preparation and often served on cold plates

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    10
    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful notably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The buffet breakfast was extensive and good but the"hot" items were not piping hot. A better toaster would be appreciated, the one provided only took 2 pieces of bread and ages to brown, not ideal when there is a queue. Luckily I had read that there were no tea making facilities in the room so took a travel kettle - well worth it. Not the hotel's fault but worth noting that this side of the island is cold and windy. We took the public bus south on three days to see the sun! Loved the aquarium (located opposite the hotel) and good local restaurants - never had a bad meal.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful notably the serving staff in the restaurant. We had a third floor room which gave fantastic views over the harbour below and the sea. The beds(twins) were comfy and we had a spacious balcony. I used the spa facilities which I loved.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.2
    the leisure or wellness center (jacuzzi, sport, chess games...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not enough people staff

    the leisure or wellness center (jacuzzi, sport, chess games + massage possibility) is a plus after a walk or when it's raining

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.1
    Staff was kind and helpful (information and letter service).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service could have been more efficient (no indication where breakfast will be served, though the hotel has a massage service both of the masseuse weren't available). Swimming pool could have been more clean (mould).

    Staff was kind and helpful (information and letter service). Hotel was very well equipped. Nice lounge! All in all very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.0
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The mattress was a bit old. Breakfast was poor for a four-star hotel No WIFI in rooms. The entrance hall was the place to get connected.

    The swimming pool The location

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    We had a huge room with two balconies both with a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was only possible to get the WiFi on the ground and first floors and we were on the 3rd. Not a huge problem for us but it might be for some people

    We had a huge room with two balconies both with a wonderful view of the sea and coastline. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    7.1
    - nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no free parking - pool area not that clean and plastic around pool and jacuzzi with a greenish shine - tablecloths with holes and stains - room a bit worn down

    - nice location - good breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La literie

    The location

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.5
    The hotel was very relaxing, the staff were pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the reception area.

    The hotel was very relaxing, the staff were pleasant and friendly. The food was fair.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    amazing view, good facilities, breakfast, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi in rooms

    amazing view, good facilities, breakfast, value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    9.2
    extremely friendly and willing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi only at reception just small indoor pool

    extremely friendly and willing staff big rooms with nice view to the sea sauna for free

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Hotel Moniz Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: