Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monte Carlo 3 stars

Calçada da Saúde 10, Sao Pedro, 9001 - 801 Funchal, Portugal

#64 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 703 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up to the hotel from town was very hilly, however there are plenty of taxis which were cheap so worth it in my opinion. Breakfast too much the same every morning.

    The views from the terrace and our sea view room. The singer on the Friday night was very good wish she was on for longer than the 1 hour allocated. The rooftop pool is a bonus. The receptionist and the bar staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    I hope the owner of this establishment gets some good advise on how to run a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable. Bathrooms need a total overhaul. A rusty shower floor with a suction mat to cover it didn’t do it for me. Shower curtains breed germs. Carpet filthy in room and the tv is like a postage stamp on the wall!!!! A hotel needs more staff to run efficiently, the Batman cannot make drinks, serve food and drinks and be a receptionist. This hotel has so much potential to be outstanding, but lacking in good management.

    Beautiful view and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside looked tired and needs a fresh lick of paint. A hair dryer is needed in every room as it was a pain having to go downstairs every morning and retrieve one. More interaction is needed with the front desk when guests arrive.

    The look of the outside of the building, the cleanliness. The swimming pool on the roof was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Authentic moments and amazing view. Good for a quiet stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room cleaning service could be organized in a better and effective way, to avoid guests to come back at 14.00 after a morning out with the bed still to make... Very limited parking space at the hotel, but the staff try as much as they can to help you parking in the surrounding small streets. Wi-fi available only in common areas. The room had no airconditioning, but letting the window open and the shutters closed was enough to guarantee air circulation and make me feel at aise.

    If you're looking for authentic moments and a sensation you're moving some steps backwards in the past, Monte Carlo is the place you're looking for. The location in simply amazing, in the heart of Funchal and with a privileged view over the city and the bay, away from movida but just 10-15 minutes walking distance to the promenade, to Mercado do Lavrador and to the old town. I got the suggestion to consider this hotel from a local friend and, for my days off, I could not ask for a better atmosphere. The staff was nice and welcoming and I was glad I selected a room vith seaview. The room was quite wide and even if the forniture was not modern, everything looked in good conditions, so the the space looked cozy and the overall impression was good. From the balcony I could enjoy an outstanding view, so it was very relaxing to seat outside, especially at night. The rooftop pool was nice, pretty big for the standards. The breakfast in sunny and warm days is served outside, on the patio in front of the building and that is definetely charmy and allows you to enjoy, not also the panorama, but also XIX-Century-moovie-style romantic atmosphere and genuine "café-des-artistes" vibes. Nice events, like happy hour and live music are seldomly organized. Reasonable price for quality, the overall experience was inspiring and satisfactory. Recommended for its "unicity", especially for couples looking for quietness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location with amazing views from the pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location with amazing views from the pool and terrace. Breakfast great and plenty to fill you up. Rooms were cleaned each day and beds made. Staff were great if you needed anything but weren't in your face. Rooms were big and spacious. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Housekeeping staff did a great job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the rooms, pillows, mattress were of poor quality. All the paint had flaked off the balcony doors and the glass pannels were loose. Breakfast was a real let down.

    Housekeeping staff did a great job. Hotel was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in charming hotel with gorgeous views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant complain!

    I absolutely loved my stay here. The hotel has the most amazing view from its terrace rooms and pool and the property is really charming with its high ceilings, wooden stairs and floors and stylish furniture. Its a small hotel with friendly staff who are very accomodating. The rooms are super clean and beds are very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Quiet place with magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old venue, no hot water, worn out furniture and carperts, smoking hotel owner polluting the terrace air, poor breakfast. Still great atmosphere.

    Very nice location with magnificent view from the terrace, pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly too firm and the hotel drinks prices were probably 2 or 3 times the regular in the town. There are a few stray cats around but that can't be helped

    The room was a great size and had all the amenities you needed the balcony was a good size television was small and old but it worked and there was a good variety of channels in English. The pool was delightful and towels were provided. The breakfast was so worth paying a little extra for you get such a variety for such a small price I really liked the terrace overlooking the city. Staff were helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Basically the problem is the expectation when arrive the my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically the problem is the expectation when arrive the my room I’m feel bad because I’m sending one request but no happy I’m have the chance the room I’m pay and different fare the rest as well for it’s fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel had a great view of the city from our window and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets was extremely dirty and the hotel needs a serious refurbishment.

    The hotel had a great view of the city from our window and the terrace outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Phenomenal view, old charm and exceeded expectations all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. I'd recommend requesting a room in the main building, and not the annex, for the full charm of the hotel.

    The staff at the Monte Carlo hotel went out of their way to adjust our room booking after I'd made a silly error when making the reservation for our room. I had mixed up the room type requested, and, despite being a very busy time, the manager and the reception staff that day made it possible to have the room we'd intended to book. The interior of the hotel was just wonderful: Wes Anderson fans and/or fans of modern architecture will delight at the hotel's classic style, natural light, and 60s furniture. The main building was warm and incredibly clean inside, which was a big bonus after finding unexpected cold weather right across the island. The room was impeccably clean, and the manager very friendly. Drinks on the terrace with the view of the city were one of the highlights of our whole trip to Madeira. The manager spent time to tell us the story of the hotel, which used to be a school during WWII, and homed the evacuees from Gibraltar. Drinks at the hotel bar were fairly priced. The swimming pool with the panoramic city views was a big bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Okay for a base , good location but very steep hill to climb not good if your not fit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor choice, no coffee/ tea facilities available until 4pm when bar opens.

    Bed comfy, good shower/ bathroom, sea view excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Characterful period hotel high up a hill, with great views across Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was one of the smaller ones and up on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. It lacked a proper window and just had a skylight. My bathroom was on the small side and the shower took almost five minutes to run hot, which was an unwelcome quirk. Although my room did have a small balcony the view was of the nearby neighbours' balconies, complete with washing lines and TV aerials. The old-style portable TV was very small and I could only get 9 channels on it, none of them English-language ones. The room lacked a safe, and the door (original) did not feel as robust as you would find in a modern hotel.

    I liked the 50s vintage/retro charm of the hotel, which I knew about, having researched it before traveling. The bed was nice and comfy, and the view from the attractive terrace, as well as the 1st floor lounge, was terrific. The continental breakfast more than met my needs, though as a veggie I wasn't bothered about the cooked options, which were a bit limited. Like stepping back in time to stay in what must have been THE place to stay a century ago, but which is now affordable for most budgets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    inexpensive, but hard to go back and forth, and needs a redo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location higher up the mountain is something of a pain. The single room they gave me had a broken front door lock, which they said didn't matter, though gave me a different room when I protested. (The lock on that door was not very strong!) Another security problem: one must leave the key at the front desk, but often nobody is there. I usually just collected my key myself -- which means others could too.

    1950s British style, post-colonial, and the view from the large terrace, which is tremendous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Experiencing Old town area of Sao Pedro. (Home area of Christiano Ronaldo, no less)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an older property you can expect some extra noise at night from wooden stairs etc. Can be helped though with a 'nightcap'.

    Historical feel to this Old fine house converted to a hotel. Nice terrace at the front to enjoy an evening drink or breakfast, with great views across the City and the Ocean.lovey old staircases leading up to accommodation and further up to the roof, where you find a swimming pool and sunbathing area, again looking out across the city. The pool is, shall we say; 'very refreshing'- but feels good once you brave the initial plunge in - especially after along day exploring Funchal. It is an old world feeling to this hotel, situated in an old area of Funchal, surrounding by steep, narrow old streets, only a ten minute walk into town centre, but very steep, taxi's can get you there easily enough if walking is not your forte. We chose 4 nights here as a change from the new hotels, and did enjoy the experience. Bed and breakfast was good value as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable for what we wanted but such a shame its full potential not realised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very dated and the bath had rust holes in it!

    Great location with amazing views over funchal to the sea. Such wonderful potential in the hotel but so dated. Really clean and very welcoming staff and great value for money for the 3 nights we stayed......but it could be amazing! Loads of space in the room and great for friends sharing rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Faded glamour. Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms need to be updated! Everything was spotlessly clean but they could do with some work as they look tired. However, for the price paid, it ticked all the other boxes!

    The Hotel is Beautiful!-Very old-world Glamour. Breakfast was lovely and good selection. Staff were helpful and professional. Bed was very comfortable. Great location! Outside of the hotel and the Veranda was perfect in the evenings. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left because the food was limited, room shabby, hilly walk to anywhere, shower was tiny and no water pressure and breakfast was limited with stale bread.

    There was a bar but only open from 4

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to enjoy the views of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more choice at breakfast and more fresh fruit.

    Good location to all of the restaurants, the sea front. Lovely views of the town and sea front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location with confortable service and hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Did not like the breakfast. I was slightly missed led with the explanation of buffet breakfast. It consisted of two jugs of water, 2 cereals, milk, coffee, hot milk, hot water. One hot dish on the buffet that varied each day from. Boiled Eggs, Fried Eggs, Scrambled egg, Sliced Hot Dogs with sliced onions. Omelette. Breakfast Host brought to your table, basket with croissant, roll, slice of bread and a piece of cake. Orange Juice, Yoghurt. The most important think that would have improved my stay would have been new pillows. The 4 in my room where old.

    Fantastic Location with easy walking distance from main city. Great building with a retro style. Very clean hotel. Fantastic views from the front patios and the pool terraces. Needs a little update in the soft furnishing. Good Steak Prego.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good service, nice Poncha and Gin Tonic, perfect to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New TV Wolf be nice even if you won't use it much 😎

    Very good service, nice Poncha and Gin Tonic, perfect to explore area, charming building, rooftop pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Charming building with fantastic views from the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is indeed a bit dated, which could easily be improved, for instance painting the ceiling of the room and bathroom (water stains on bathroom ceiling) would make it a lot better already. The building itself is lovely but a bit of imagination and investment could really make it fantastic. The staff was a little reserved all the time and didn't really make me feel comfortable but rather a bit awkward. Not sure if that's because of some of them not speaking English very well or because they are not used to a woman travelling on her own. The breakfast was terrible - small portions, not presented very well, a small croissant, a tiny bun and a cake, 2 slices of cheese and ham, some jam, a banana and a glass of orange juice. At the buffet you can get tea, coffee, eggs and two types of muesli. The breakfast (and the unfriendly attitude of the lady serving it) really lets the hotel down unfortunately. Also, a small can of tea on the terrace cost me 3€, at local cafes you get twice the size tea for 2€. I would have felt more secure in my room if I would have been able to lock the door from inside at night. Whilst I do appreciate it is an old building, I'm sure some sort of lock system could be put in place. You cannot turn the door handle from the outside, still not being able to properly lock the door made me feel a bit uneasy.

    The location and building are fabulous, I was glad I did not choose one of the modern hotels in the 'Hotel Zone', not only because Monte Carlo is much closer walking distance to the centre, but also the charme of the old building really made up for it's datedness. It felt much more being part of the town and the local area, rather than staying in a modern mass hotel. There is also a lovely street with local restaurants very close by and the Quinta das Cruzes museum. I loved the view from my room and the terrace, I think the terrace is the best part of the hotel. I also enjoyed a dip in the pool. The room was comfortable and large with big windows and I could also access the terrace wifi from there as my room was just above the terrace. The room and bathroom were very clean, and all was cleaned tidied and the bed made on a daily basis. It's a small hotel, so it is more personal and often I had the terrace, living room or pool to myself - great to relax and just enjoy the views and sun. Also loved the company of the two cats on the terrace! Despite a lot of reviews saying it is a steep walk up to the hotel, I did not find it challenging at all - after all I came to Madeira to do some hiking, and I have had accommodation in other countries where the walk up was much steeper. The mattress on the bed was a bit old and I could feel the springs on my back, however due to back problems a hard mattress is better for me than soft and I did sleep comfortably during the night. I would definitely come back to Monte Carlo when in Madeira.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Faded elegance in a super location, good friendly staff and a friendly house cat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was adequate, the shower feeble.

    This older style hotel with an air of faded elegance reminds me of Gerald Durrell's descriptions of family houses in Corfu in the 1920s. The Monte Carlo seems to be a fairly splendid house that has come down in the world. The basic good location and structure remain, but the make-over in the 19502 has created somewhere pleasant and facilities that are just about adequate by modern standards. But we liked it a lot, particularly the pleasant helpful staff and the good location, 10 minutes walk from the hart of Funchal - a steep walk, though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Just acceptable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast poor .... renovation work commenced on day 3 without explanation or apology resulting in dust on the food and tables - we didn't eat breakfast for the rest of the stay.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    A nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needs redressement More variety for breakfast would be great

    Location is very good, although the walk is a little steep, especially after a Regional Poncha The employees are nice The terrace is awesome and offers a magnicent view on Funchal The fresh orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    I knew what to expect, and was satisfied with what I got for the low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The arduous slog up steep, winding roads from Stop 8 on the airport bus route was not a good start (last time I drove a hired car). And it was a pity that the food available in the evening was so meagre, with little choice.

    I liked having a room where I stayed 20 years ago,with a balcony overlooking the pool and a panoramic view of Funchal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    A very happy visit and I've already considered a return to Monte Carlo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast.

    The location of Monte Carlo is exquisite. Arguably one of the finest locations in all of Funchal. The panorama from the courtyard overlooking the Harbour is wonderful. Either as a place to enjoy breakfast as the sun rises across the Bay, or to sip a beer in the evening, it is fabulous. The Hotel is always spotless in all areas; faultless. The Staff are accommodating and friendly; nothing seems to be too much trouble. Carlotta the cat is very hospitable too and greets everyone as they come and go. Clearly she's the boss! The breakfast is rather basic. In this area I believe the Hotel could improve. For example Madeira is an island producing huge varieties of fruit. This is sadly lacking. The choice of breads and rolls is also extremely limited.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Wanted it to be nice. Just a little less than I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old colonial style hotel with ancient fixtures and fittings. Some of which worked. Very steep walk to and from everywhere.

    City centre location good. Handy for trips into town. Great panoramic views over Funchal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    It was more than perfect to celebrate our last day on magical Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. It was very exciting!

    The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and we loved being able to open the lovely old wood windows onto the city below!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views, hospitable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, however, if you want a busy, commercial hotel with all mod cons this is not the hotel for you. If you prefer a comfortable, laid back and authentic stay - then it is!

    This is a quirky hotel in an excellent location so close to a couple of museums and only a short walk from the town. Yes, it is located up a hill but the steps make the hill quite easy to manage. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine is a must and the freshly squeezed orange juice is delightful. There is a real feel of intimacy to the hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location with beautiful views, but be prepared to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I wish the WIFI would be throughout the hotel, not just in the common rooms. Breakfast could use a bit of a variation.

    Great location with beautiful views, but be prepared to climb for it - the road to the hotel is uphill so keep that in mind. :) Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous big place - a bit of faded granduer but very freindly staff and cat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea and coffee in the room which I guess you can live without but not having an iron and ironing board which you only need one for the whole hotel and not costly would prevent me from booking it again.

    The room was spacious and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice and cozy but a very old building in need of a refurbishment. At least it was kept clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings. Lovely building, it’s just crying out for a new coat of paint and ambiance in the room.

    Comfortable bed, clean, cozy atmosphere, helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs WiFi in bedrooms and more electric sockets to deal with all the electric gadgets that we now have

    Nice friendly staff and the traditional feel of the Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I don't go on holiday to 'not like' anything, unlike many. Any parts of a holiday that don't turn out like you hoped are still a holiday memory, so just get on with it. :D

    What's not to like? A real 'one off' hotel. Bucket loads of character, central location, fantastic views. If you're after 5 star but stuck way out in the hotel zone with the package holidays then this isn't for you. Don't change a thing Monte Carlo, you've got it just right!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    relaxing break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    property looks tired and could do with updating . would have liked more variety for breakfast

    staff very friendly and helpfull . rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather.

    Warm, friendly, excellent service from all staff. Property has brilliant views over Funchal. Breakfast served on a patio you wanted to stay on all day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    wonderful view from terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    breakfast was poor. I'd like to tell that this is "vintage hotel" but it just old house with spirit and level of service from 70th.

    wonderful view from terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect tranquil location with stunning views and charming staff, will definately return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of smoke in the upstairs lounge

    Location and views were fantastic, rooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great with fresh squeezed juices and fresh croissants everyday and nice selection to eat. Due to location there was no traffic noise so peacful tranquil atmosphere was perfect for an excellent nights sleep. Carlotta the little black hotel cat was entertaining and playful. I will definitely return again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for improvement in the room facilities

    We loved the hotel building and the views from the terrace overlooking the old town and the harbour. We also liked the the roof top pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    A very tired Hotel, but great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel is "tired". It urgently needs updating as does the photographs on the booking.com site. Breakfast is the same everyday, bread, crossants, cheese, meat, jam boring!. However it is not self service and very monotonous after 10 day stay. We moved rooms due to the shabbiness of the one we were given. Pool area is in urgent need of a clean and new steps!!

    Situated High in the town with a steep walk - expected in Madeira, Excellent views, and most of the staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Monte Carlo is extremely authentic and exceptional in a good way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some persons from the service team are not as good as others. So sometimes you'll have to wait more than half an hour for your breakfast or else to be served.

    The rooms are exceptionally clean however they are not new or lately renovated which has to be expected. The evening/afternoon team is exceptionally polite and reading every wish from your eyes! Breakfast is simple but delicious and regional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    amazing view, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were very poor, also the furniture and equipment of the hotel is very old. The place has a great potential, but it is wasted by the owner/manager.

    amazing view, nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    For a cheap price, the hotel is perfectly localized and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a little old fashion, but this is part of the charm. You have to like authentic buildings.

    For a cheap price, the hotel is perfectly localized and confortable. The staff is also very nice and the view of Funchal is fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    I loved it all and for the price it was excellent. I would however stay next time at the main hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the fact I stayed in the back of the hotel, next time I have to ask to stay in the main Hotel and not in the annex.

    all good apart from bed not so comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    "Retro" hotel with service on a high level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A giant bug and a spider in our bathroom (explanation: the steadily opened window)

    Very nice and professional stuff, good breakfast, swimming pool in front of our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with nice staff and great view! Free parking in the vicinity streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. The main disadvantage or this hotel is that the pool is outdoors and it's pretty small, though it's lovely and has a great view, but the pool is a bonus anyway. Since the hotel is a little older, the furniture and appliances could use some renovation, however the rooms are very spacious and nice. So can't complain about anything really! ^_^

    The architecture and the way the hotel looked in general, lovely terrace with a view! Very nice and helpful staff and our room was right next to the pool. Breakfast was nice also. Their parking is very small but you can park on the street for free, provided you obey the rules (don't park in front of a door or windows or someone's house, blocking the access and see the marked places). Saturday and Sunday the parking is free, even where you normally have to pay during the week.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Best location for views of Funchal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pay off for getting such a spectacular view is that it's a steep walk down to the harbour, seeming to be twice as steep on the way back up. Not a problem for those mountain goats among you but not so good for those like me with chronic arthritis. Make sure to include money for taxi rides.

    All staff are friendly, helpful and extremely polite. We opted for an inclusive breakfast which was adequate and made ten times better by taking it on the terrace in front of the hotel giving an unimpeded view across the rooftops of the city to the port, with the sea and islands beyond. We hired a car on our last day to see the island at our own pace and Albino (hotel manager) arranged this all for us with "Auto Rent a Car", a company I can highly recommend, who will fetch and collect the car from the hotel at no extra cost. We can also recommend getting a room with sea view which made our stay magical and unforgettable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel. Room for some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only available in certain areas and not very strong signal. No snacks available to buy throughout the day.

    Great staff, ok breakfast. No other meal services available. Pool was very handy. Hotel very clean and had lots of character. Location is great but on a hill so hard work walking uo to. Not for those who can't walk far

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Loved all the character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in the room and no wifi in the room - only in the lounge and bar. Also, the elevator was out of order, which made carrying suitcases up two flights of stairs hard work!

    Old colonial type building with lots of character. Stunning views from the room and the terrace. The terrace was the perfect location for an evening cocktail. Good location and not too far to walk to the center of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.6
    I won't be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is tatty. Worn out carpets, especially on the stairs. Outside shutters on the windows are falling apart. The shower tap came off in my hands in the first room they put me in. The only window in the first room was about 18 inches square, and looked out on a concrete wall about 3 feet away. There was a large crack in the wall near the door.

    The view from the 2nd bedroom, after I asked to be moved from the prison cell they call a 'single room'.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Charming but NOT suitable for the disabled.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is very much in need of a complete facelift both inside and out. The biggest problem though, which is not mentioned anywhere in the Booking.com material or the Hotels website, is that it is COMPLETELY unsuitable for the disabled or any one with a walking problem. From the car park there are 7 wide stone steps with no handrail and 7 more to the front door, also without adequate handrail. Inside there are steps and changes of level everywhere, even 2 steps up to the lift! All that having been said I, who walk badly with arthritis, would stay there again because the quaintness and the view makes the struggle worthwhile.

    The Hotel is in a beautiful situation looking down on the City and the Bay. The staff are excellent and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Real sense of Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast

    The location is perfect, only few minutes walk from the old town and the views are amazing. Staff is also brilliant, very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Madeira Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is situated some way uphill from sea level, which necessitated a taxi each time we returned to the hotel, meaning Euros 5 or 6 each time. HOWEVER, we are aged 75 & 80 so this may not apply to younger people.

    Breakfast was of the continental variety, and varied each day. Well prepared and service was efficient and friendly. Bar service was excellent and enjoyable. Reception was quick and pleasant. View from the patio was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing & safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated & quite shabby decor wise, however it was still very comfortable.

    Loved the location & the quirky old fashioned feel if the place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.8
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non flushing toilet had to be moved ,decor very poor,bed very uncomfortable, no wifi or drink making facilities in the room,not the best breakfast. Web pictures much nicer than the reality.

    The orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    I would say the hotel is quaint - in a nice way - view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been better and the sun loungers were very old - tea and coffe facilities in the room would have been nice

    I would say the hotel is quaint - in a nice way - view fantastic - it could do with a refurbishment but then the price would be much higher. Very good value - it's a long walk back up hill - taxis are about 7 euros - it kept us fit

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is charming and has a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is charming and has a lot of character. I enjoyed being up on the hill overlooking the old town, away from all the giant hotels west of the old town. The breakfast each morning was nice, with a lovely view over Funchal to the ocean. I found the portions to be just right too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    relaxed and recharged ...........great stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    water pressure in the bathroom a bit low , but we were at the top of the building, breakfast could have been a little more varied.

    Clean sheets and towels , comfy beds, amazing views from our room and the piano room and the terrace . The location , the pool at the end of a long day. Staff polite and helpful. Peacefulness ,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.4
    The house had great charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sockets were dangerous and not safe to use. Broken sockets hanging off the wall. There were no amenities to make a brew which is standard in most hotels. My jewellery went missing from the drawers and I didn't lose them. Breakfast appeared stressful for just one member of staff running it. No hairdryer. No ironing board or iron. Needs safe improvements making for customers.

    The house had great charm! And history! Bathroom ok! Pool was fantastic with view and great for sunbathing.beds comfortable. Loved the the pool actually!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Quirky and old fashioned hotel with magnificent views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky and old fashioned hotel with magnificent views over Funchal. Room was clean and airy, lounge was very comfortable. Breakfast was fine, cereal, coffee, cake and croissant - perfect until lunchtime! Really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    Stepping back in time, in a good way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault.

    A hotel with real character and fantastic views across the city and to the Atlantic. Great terrace to admire those views while having your breakfast or a nightcap. Pleasant although steep walk to the city sights.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    Stunning view from room, bathroom and terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Consider if you really want to walk up steap hill every day from town center. Hotel clean but needs total major refurbishment so do not expect modern,new hotel and facilities.

    Stunning view from room, bathroom and terrace. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Intressant med hotellets historia som samlingspunkt för...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Frukosten var snål. Kaffet inte gott. Det kändes som om ägaren, som var där och gick runt och pratade med gästerna, vill spara. Han, liksom hotellet är gammal . Hotellet behöver renoveras så att det inte förfaller. Det har nog gått lite på övertid ett tag.

    Intressant med hotellets historia som samlingspunkt för intellektuella under diktaturen. Möbler och inredning är från den tiden- 1960-talet. men det behöver fräschas upp.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay; maybe spend a little more for the views across Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms varied a lot in quality. Room 29 in the rear modern block was small and the bathroom window in need of repair and redecoration. Outlook was obscured by the raised swimming pool and privacy required blinds closed as the room looked out on to pathway.

    Friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Faded grandeur in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bedroom window opened onto a blank wall. I could have paid more for a view. The room was gloomy with small light bulbs. So we sat in the lounge with the beautiful view over Funchal or on the patio.

    The location is fabulous if you have the legs to climb up the hill to it. There is a wonderful view and little local shops to buy picnic items on your way out in the morning. It's cheap and basic but the shower is good, the bathroom is basic but very clean. The bedding is warm and clean. It's an old, interesting building with beautiful wooden floors but well past it's best - which is reflected in the price. I love it. This was my second stay and I will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    Dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was mouldy, the drains smelled bad. Really bad. You can hear the movement of other people in their rooms (and the stomping of cleaners too as the floors are wooden). There isn't any a/c or a heater. The rooms are dated, anyone seen "Fawlty Towers"... you have to hand your key in whenever you go out. Retrieving it can be annoying if the hotel staff are seeing someone to their room as only one staff member does it all. The WiFi isn't available in the rooms. It only works in the lobby and the lounge. If you paid about £30 for a night then it's okay but more than that then I would have been extremely unhappy.

    Decent view if you have a room at the front of the hotel. We didn't. The lounge faces the view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    Monte Carlo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could use some TLC.

    Some of the staff were friendly others not. Hotel was located close to town but it was all uphill from town. Was quiet except could hear water being used from upstairs room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    I liked the atmosphere of antiquity in the hotel and the big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No iron in the hotel No wi-fi in the rooms

    I liked the atmosphere of antiquity in the hotel and the big room with high ceilings All people working there were very friendly and ready to help It was so pleasure to seat in any evening on the terrace enjoying great view and glass of something

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay with great views and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There is not a huge choice for breakfast (unlike some of the big hotels) but it was more than adequate and set me up for the day. The walk back up to the hotel was fine for me but some may find the steepness rather difficult to manage, however, the taxi from the centre of town to MC was only 5 euros

    All of the staff were very welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable and approachable with good English. They went out of their way to make things easier for me with my GF needs even though I didn't forewarn them. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the views from the breakfast room, tv room and terrace were just stunning. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Kind of like a Wes Anderson hotel --loved the character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms. It's also a steep hike up to the hotel, but that's what gets the amazing views. The closest restaurant we could find was a good 5-10 minute walk--down the steep hill.

    The views from the hotel were absolutely amazing. I loved the vintage feel of the place and that it had a history.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay with a view of Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the design and style of the place. Felt like I was in a different era and I loved it. Large room with a beautiful view over Funchal. Best view from the bathroom that we've ever had! It's a bit of an uphill climb from the center of town but we used a taxi twice to get back up, which was fast and cheap. Also a good breakfast. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.8
    My room was way at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was way at the back..no view...smelled musty/ damp . There was no hot water...barely warm. Got a much better room on day 2 but charged extra 10 euros. Breakfast included but very basic and service was poor as only one waitress had to do everything and often couldnt keep up. Otherwise it was quite satisfactory.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    3.3
    Decayed regency splendour that's almost hit bottom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awfulwith rationed basket of stale croissants and hot food consisting of scrambled egg Wi-fi really doesn't work outside reception area staffed by a creepy man who would not be out of place I'm Bates motel Drains smell in our room and only tepid water Surprised this place gets any higher scores and it's novelty value is not worth the poor service

    Very old fashioned where you expect to bump into Ernest Hemingway behind the potted plants

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: