Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Do Alamo - Turismo Rural

Poço Do Álamo, C.P. 111-Z, 8800-254 Tavira, Portugal

#5 of 17 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Restful Experience in the Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find the first time. A bit away from town (but quiet as a result).

    Friendly accommodating staff, comfortable and scenic facilities, delicious simple breakfasts and family -style dinners. What a delightful and refreshing vacation!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic family run accommodation which I would recommend to couples, or individuals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The welcome was very friendly and the accommodation is unique. Incredibly peaceful location and if you take advantage of the dinner (3 nights a week) you really feel like part of the family - you certainly won't get this in a hotel! Walk into Tavira is very easy and takes around 20 minutes to the centre. Although dinner is only served 3 nights per week, it's a proper whole evening experience and you can have small meals, picnics or breakfast to take away made up on request at any other time. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests and sharing itinerary ideas too. It's a great place and a brilliant way to spend a week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We hit the jackpot our first day visiting Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I were in heaven in this lovely farmhouse, walking distance from the small but lively town of Tavira and a short ferry ride to one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever visited. If you stay here DO NOT MISS dinner at the house currently served every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. A leisurely and amazingly delicious meal at a table with the family (including the daughter/chef Ines) plus another four guests was a highlight of our trip. Ines's mother Rosario is a gracious, helpful and fun proprietor. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Outside of town, but with easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Beautiful place with views over town and the ocean. Easy to walk to the Old Town. Nice breakfast. Spacious room with outside patio. Homely feeling. Can really recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Tranquility in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a lovely family-run business and they make you feel most welcome. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfast is incredible. They cook dinner three times a week and I recommend trying it at least once. The location is perfect if you want peace and quiet but easy access to Tavira city central, c.20 min walk or 5 min drive. Love it all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing, confortable and worderful place with wonderful and dedicated people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The warm welcome, the friendliness with which we were treated, the comfort we felt, the dedication and concern of the staff in making us feel good and the peace that the place transmitted to us. A wonderful breakfast. It was a fantastic experience. Willing to reapeat it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice, quiet location but a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast limited in selection and every day the same, Beds just average sleeping quality, House quite noisy - not the typical noise damping like in hotel

    Quiet and nice view to the sea, easy parking, friendly people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Lovely relaxing off the beaten track accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation and welcoming hosts. Rosario and her family were lovely - the meals delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Stunning location overlooking the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful gardens and peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Nothing.

    We had a diner in Monte Do Alamo twice, we had seafood Cataplana and fish. Everything was very fresh and very tasty. Breakfast was also very good and what ever we wished was provided for us. Hosts and staff are very nice and professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    A serene place with a perfect view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection is shaky - but then, it's not the most important thing there ;-)

    This place is amazing. There's so much quietness and beauty and the hosts are lovely. You feel like visiting family - without the nasty parts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely Quinta to relax and enjoy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard .

    Lovely place to stay near the picturesque town of Tavira . A great place to relax and enjoy. We enjoyed the home made jams and yoghurts and bread every morning . A very good centre to explore Eastern Algarve .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    2 nights in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room at the back which wasn't great. I assumed all rooms had a terrace, which was my fault. After further research I discovered I needed to specifically book a room/suite with a terrace.

    Very good breakfast, Maria was wonderful. Considering it's a Rural Tourism, the location was quite good, a short drive into Tavira and other small towns. Lovely property with an awesome view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    hidden gem of a retreat in great location for access to all the local delights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A beautiful country retreat in an idyllic setting. Large suite was well portioned and good quality. Breakfast selection was great and plentiful. Not your usual holiday accommodation but highly recommended for that well needed break from the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Lovely accomodation with fantastic views onto Tavira and the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We particularly liked the great personal atmosphere the owners create. We attended one of the dinners they organised and had a fantastic evening with superb food and company. The accommodation and surrounding garden is beautiful and we loved the authenticity of the service, the homemade jam from their own orchards for breakfast and all the wonderful recommendations they gave for in and around Tavira.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rosario couldn't have made us feel more welcome from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. We got to experience the 'real' Algarve. We ate beautiful home cooked Portuguese food, with her and her family. We drank beautiful wine and enjoyed the wonderful company, and were able to meet other guests. It was a once in a life time experience for us. We couldn't have asked for better, especially on our first visit to Portugal. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything we thought and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the place. It was calm and relaxing, easy to get to tavira for dinner or a walk wish we stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Heaven with friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually no items

    The quietness and the view from the top of the hill down to Tavira and the Sea..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great recommendations on local places to visit and eat at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great recommendations on local places to visit and eat at plus fantastic views - it was hard to leave and we hope to return in future!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    all excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Feel good in nature close from Tavira lovely little town, away from tourist wave .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool ....

    Nice breakfeast, excellent room with terrace on beautiful garden, love ly staff, very quit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Remote but close to Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote but close to Tavira. Good breakfast & helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    i will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No t.v. no other guessed

    It was clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    A cosy and peaceful haven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    theres nothing I didn't like

    The cosy vibe of the farmhouse, the food, the sunrise views, the friendliness of the owners & their staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed gave me backache

    Everything except the bed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    There was no hotwater in the night,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hotwater in the night, The wifi was 5down/1up comming and going

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Sometimes you need only one word to describe a place:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes you need only one word to describe a place: perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful house and surroundings, harmonious atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In case you don't have a car you need to walk downhill to Tavira in about 15 minutes. A pleasant walk if you're fit. Alternatively, you can take a taxi.

    Beautiful house and surroundings, harmonious atmosphere, excellent food and nice company. Honestly, there is nothing more we could wish. Definitely a place on our list for a second visit. Frank and Hodon

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.0
    Wonderful quiet location in the countryside but only a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some rooms with view on the garden had a higher roomrate although there were not bigger in size. The roomrates are a bit overpriced compared to the 2 other places we stayed during our holiday in the Algarve. From time to time a bad wifi-connection

    Wonderful quiet location in the countryside but only a short 5m drive from the beautiful town of Tavira. The day before our arrival the owners sent us a clear route description on how to get to their guesthouse which was very handy and useful as the streets have no names in the Algarve :) Breakfast is served outside on the lovely terrace next to the garden. Breakfast was good but (for us) a bit limited and nothing special compared to the 2 other B&B's we stayed in the Algarve. On Saturdayevening the owners invite their guests to join them for a traditional homemade 3 course dinner at their terrace (for the price of 27,5 euro pp) which we found a very nice initiative and we enjoyed it very much! It was the highlight of our stay at Monte do Alamo. The food that Rosario and her husband prepared was delicious and we got the opportunity to talk to the hosts and the other guests and to taste the local specialities! The host couple has a very cute little dog named Rita. Although my friend and I are not really "dog lovers" we just found her so adorable :)

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    5.4
    Very well designed and beautiful rooms with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Uncomfortable beds in which you feel the iron springs. Unbelievable that such matrasses are made at all and even more surprising that these were selected by the owner to put in such nice rooms. - B&B is not equipped with enough tables (4 tables) to allow all guest (7 couples) have breakfast. "You'll have to wait till a table becomes free" - Although in the middle of large country side, it is close to roads with a lot of traffic in the background, it won't keep you awake though.

    Very well designed and beautiful rooms with lots of cupboards Lots of good tips around Tavira from the host Home made marmalades

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    This is one of the best places we have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Rosario, Luis, Inés (and Maria) made us feel so welcome. The evening meals shared with them are special. They are also very informative so helped us to make the most of our stay

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    The hospitality of Rosaria and her family was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality of Rosaria and her family was excellent. Having dinner at Monte do Alamo with Rosaria, her famy and other guests was an experience not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Just sit on the terrace and you can feed yourself with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just sit on the terrace and you can feed yourself with stunning view of Tavira and Atlantic Ocean. Breakfast is just perfect, they make delicious coffee and have even tomato jam. The owners and the staff are very, very kind and always want to help You. And if You don't speak português, don't worry they speak very well english. The city is 20 minutes walking distance and taxi costs 5€ and takes just 5minutes.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.8
    The hosts are lovely and the food fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's just a bit far to walk to tavira

    The hosts are lovely and the food fantastic. It's a lovely setting a great place to completely relax and get away from it all

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Perfect hosts perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect hosts perfect place to relax

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Excellent availability of all members of the owner family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent availability of all members of the owner family

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    Small intimate setting and wonderful personal connection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small intimate setting and wonderful personal connection with the owners.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful quiet location with stunning views, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful quiet location with stunning views, excellent breakfast and evening meal cooked by our hosts

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: