Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Dourado 4 stars

Rua Dos Combatentes, Lote 1, Carvoeiro, 8400- 569 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#5 of 54 Holiday rentals in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi did not work at all. They said they know it's a problem, but that didn't solve the problem. Was offered a router for a couple of hours but it was during their office hours and we were out and about.

    The location is fantastic. Pool was great, nearby beaches are better! Everything we needed was in the apartment. Beds comfy. Kitchen stocked with all utensils. Washer available and plenty of parking. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they promised WI FI in the apartments but there was none.😑

    The apartment was amazing clean tidy and spacious ,all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room close to swimming pool ....noisy Lighting too dark, always had to have windows and shutters open, then no privacy due to pool location Many steps Steep location No water view.

    Helpful front office staff Cleaning service excellent Roomy Good beds Kitchen well laid out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, excellent facilities, nice size pool for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location for couples or people with older children but very difficult if pushing a buggy as the hills are very very steep

    Great location, excellent facilities, nice size pool for each apartment block, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Monte Dourado - a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The beach was a disapointment in that walking across the shale and broken shells was very uncomfortable..it should be cleared regularly to show clear 2 hills were severe..but not a showstopper

    1Apartment was lovely..kids loved pool..air con was fab..very comfortable bed and it was clean and a safe complex..we will return. 2.Food was great..good selection of restaurants and menus..and ice cream shops were fab! 3. Staff really helpful..taxis on time and very helpful..Thank you. 4. Easy to communicate with staff also..a good advantage for the family.. 5. Carvoiero is lovely..felt safe..we will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable, good location close to town (5 mins up-hill), room servicing could be a bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We would have liked some pool side facilities (bar, snack-bar) and an evening bar. Room servicing could have been a bit better overall.

    The apartment was very big, comfortable with all necessary appliances. The pools were never too busy and easy to get a sunbed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Very spacious apartment with fabulous balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen and bathrooms were a bit tired and could do with updating.

    Very spacious apartment with fabulous balcony! Great helpful reception staff. Lovely resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Monte Dourado - ideal family holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good!

    Well located, comfortable, modern, clean apartment. We loved it and would go back. Lady at reception was extremely helpful and knowledgeable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    magical, comfort home from home, location just the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing to complain about

    the whole experience, comfort, spacious, lovely comfortable beds with spotless white linen. Great Reception and overall top marks. Will be booking next year. thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, very clean apartment and pool area not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A snack bar at the pool would be useful for drinks, ice lollies etc.

    Fantastic location, very clean apartment and pool area not too busy. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, rustic apartment, easy town access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to many families there, the poolside gets over run by small kids and many sun beds are taken all day with towels strewn across them , yet unused while families inside or out! Needs some control here I feel. But a good apartment, needs an update as several cupboards broken, and fairly low key, but worked well for our needs.

    Monte Dourado is an excellent location, just be aware there’s no lift and no assistance by staff, so if upstairs it’s a difficult climb with cases. Easy parking, just steps away from the little town and beach. Pools were great for us, as below our apartment so easy to use.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    A couple of negatives - the hill from the town up to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A couple of negatives - the hill from the town up to the apartment complex was very steep. Difficult even for those of us who think we are fit! The apartment could have had a welcome pack with tea coffee salt sugar cleaning products. It had none of that which was disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky it Could have done with a change of towels a bit sooner in our stay

    Apartment was lovely, clean, comfortable & everything you need there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall very good lovely apartment very clean and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very good lovely apartment very clean and a good space, but the hill is a challenge whichever way you try... and the tree outside spoils the beautiful view... After all that we still enjoyed our stay and just think it needs a little reality check I think a little overpriced as not a proper sea view 😕.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible for a happy family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been nice if there had been a cafe bar or mini market on the complex where the children could buy food, drinks, ice lollies etc. Then I wouldn't have spent as much time in the lovely kitchen.

    The kitchen facilities were amazing. Everything you need to make and prepare meals plus dishwasher and washing machine! Dvd's, Playstation, books, games and English TV. The owners thought of everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible for a happy family holiday. Large rooms, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. Swimming pool outside the patio garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The apartment was modern, clean and a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcome pack with some washing up liquid etc would be appreciated. More details regarding nearest supermarket, swimming pool etc would have been beneficial too

    The apartment was modern, clean and a good size. The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    If you like the Algarve , property is ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Problems with local water supply which was not the fault of the complex i.e. burst water pipe

    High quality apartment within complex with everything we needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated decor (except for bathrooms which looked like they had been renovated), could do with some plants etc..around apartments, our block was very sterile looking. No view. One aircon unit didn't work.

    Close to pool, close to town,very clean and staff were very helpful especially when I needed to organise a trip to doctor for my daughter. The lady at reception organised for one of housekeepers to drive us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice area but if you want value for money don’t eat locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very old and uncomfortable, new mattresses would be good and the bedspreads were stained. The bathrooms were tired but ok. Our main issue was that the water was turned off twice during our stay, once for a full day which meant we could not even flush our toilet which was very unpleasant. We should have been warned about it so we could have showered etc early. The resort restaurants and shops were stupidly expensive, presumably because they have a captive audience. Taxis to get out of town are expensive too.

    The property was basic but we were expecting that but the second bathroom was a nice surprise. It was clean but worn and a bit tired. The tennis courts were a bonus and the pool area was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred less steps up to apartment ...there are some further up, ground floor with no steps, so maybe will plan it better next time

    Extremely comfortable apartments

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A perfectly situated, lovely clean resort with very friendly helpful staff and excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was not clear that the apartment was upstairs so could have been a problem for anyone with poor mobility or families with children needing a pushchair.

    The superior apartment was a lovely light, clean spacious apartment with an ensuite bathroom including shower and toilet an additional shower room including toilet. Very comfy large beds with firm mattress. Sliding doors opening onto small patio overlooking pool. Stocked with more than enough facilities for a great self catering holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    WE STAYED FOR 8 DAYS ENOUGH FOR US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    LOTS OF UP HILL AND DOWN. WHICH IS NOT SUIT FOR ELDERY PEOPLE.

    NICE VIEW BALACONY. NEED BAR RAIL FOR SHOWER FOR SAFELY. NEED TO HOLD RAIL WHILE HAVE SHOWER FOR ELDERY PEOPLE. GREAT HAVE EVERYTHING IN APARTMENT. WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH IT.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely apartment, lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment had the best view around, but the steps added up to a lot , and it was a steep climb up and down from town. Only short but steep.

    All the comforts and facilities of home in the centre of Carvoeiro. Good British tv stations for when we were weary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, spacious apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of modernisation, also it's on a very steep hill which didn't bother us but could bother people less mobile

    Location right in the centre with restaurants, beach and bars around the corner. The apartments are very spacious and well equipped

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Sunbathing, swimming in the fresh clean sea, cliff walks, shopping - and a car for rest of Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Self catering appartement makes you feel at home - but then with great views over the beach, lovely weather for walking, swimming and ‘terracing’ all at walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Location of property is near to shops, restaurants and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were not great, very hard. If you have any problems that make climbing steps and steep hills difficult, this property is not for you.

    Location of property is near to shops, restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place. Beautiful village, great restaurants and coffee shops. Lovely scenery .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was poor. We asked for a lamp and received a desk lamp so we could read or play cards. The hill was a challenge and it should be noted for guests who have mobility issues.

    We liked our apartment very much. It was nicely decorated and had everything your could possible want in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value and superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was cold enough in the apartment, had to switch on all the heaters (electric) and even then it was not warm enough in the bedrooms and livingroom

    It is very convenient location, walk into town and also to the cliffs and beaches and very easy to park. The apartment was spacious and comfortable enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, secure entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold first night & it took awhile for the place to heat up we had to go to the store to buy wood for the fire place. Kitchen got cold & there was a ton of moisture when cooking. Power tripped 4x while trying to cook with 2 burners & the oven on. The floors didn't look clean a ton of dust.

    Enjoyed the beautiful sea view from the balcony. Free on site parking. Spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    We loved the spaciousness, plenty of heaters as we felt the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some minor maintenance issues. ie water coming from under kitchen cupboard. A couple of hot plates and a couple of wall heat panels weren't working. The sliding door onto balcony was very stiff.

    We loved the spaciousness, plenty of heaters as we felt the cold coming from Australia in November. Great time to visit off season though. The balcony was excellent, it was in full sun, the only accommodation I ever felt really warm in. Full size fridge, hot plates but a couple weren't working so we let management know. Our apartment did need a bit of maintenance so hope management got onto this. A great place to home cook and eat on the balcony. The apartment had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, wonderful. Great to have a washing machine and there was no shortage of lovely white fluffy towels, plenty of toilet paper. The apartment was also cleaned daily (except Sunday) the housekeeping were lovely and the sheets were cleaned in the weeks stay. Also tv had sky channel so it was lovely to relax at night after sight seeing in the day. Carvoeiro was a town I was most sorry to leave as I could walk up to the beach and watch sunrise and then see sunset from a different point. Most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Spotless, clean, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our apartment was 68 and although it was a lovely view, the view had trees blocking the sea, so if I were to go back I would request a higher room.

    The accommodation was great. Excellent value for money. we had a two bedroomed apartment with two bathrooms for a family of four. We loved the pool and it was heated when we were there. Staff were friendly and the place was spotless. You need to be able for the steep walk down but only 5 mins away from all the action.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Fun in the sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting around could be tricky without a car. Renting bikes or golf carts would be a nice option.

    Spacious 2 bedroom 2 bathroom, condo, clean, modern and with a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent resort, very spacious, well equipped and comfortable apartment. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything! Very comfortable, spacious apartment. Close to the village and restaurants/shops. Tone, in reception, went above and beyond to help us when our daughter's flight was cancelled in the UK. Thank you. Highly recommend this resort and hope to return next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Great apartment and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit dated but not an issue with a 3 night stay.

    Excellent place with big bedrooms, comfortable beds and great sea views from the terrace. Easy to walk to good restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Everything's perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at Monte Dourado, especially Tone, were extremely helpful and have made our trip all the more memorable. The place was very spacious and well equipped with all that you need. Just 2 min walk from the main street. We would definitely return and stay at Monte Dourado on our next visit to Carviero!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    The location is in walking distance to the beach and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living room furniture was old (needs covers) and beds were very uncomfortable.

    The location is in walking distance to the beach and great restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, great apartment and the receptionist was lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wouldn't suit everyone as it is up quite a steep hill but it wasn't a problem for us.

    Apartment was very spacious, clean and well presented. Good size balcony. The pool by our block of accommodation was very clean and reasonably warm for October. Room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in no 55 which was privately owned so felt really homely n comfy! Our terrace was right by the pool so very handy! We wer so happy with everything, we will deff be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, we are looking to booking again
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The headboard in one of the rooms was fabric and we had to remove it as it smelt of damp very bad. Once removed lovely sleep.

    We really enjoyed our stay everything you needed for self-catering

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay, clean and bright apartment that is spacious in a good postion close to a quiet pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The walk up a steep hill back to the apartment after a night out. Having been to Carveiro on a number of occasions previously I knew what to expect.

    Comfy and spacious. Lovely bedrooms and great position overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect last minute short break to just relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with securing property

    Location and helpfulness of staff. Also apartment was fully equipped with everything from dishwasher, washing machine, hairdryer and plenty of clean towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice apartment in a good location and Carvoeiro is a great little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rear garden has gravel surface which is difficult to walk on but you get used to it !

    Spacious and comfortable apartment with private garden for afternoon sun . Good pool area with sunbeds and quiet location. Lots of restaurants, bars and cafes in walking distance (5-10 minutes) but terrain is hilly !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely long weekend in Carvoeiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No improvements required!

    Such a great location for staying in Carvoeiro - so close to everything in town and to the beach, without the noise. Lovely pools, clean, comfortable, well-equipped. No car required if you stay here if you don't intend leaving Carvoeiro village during your stay. Worth noting that there are hills involved getting to the apartments, but we didn't find it a problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great location and nice well equipped apartment with everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge hill up to it and then all of the steps! Balcony not safe for young children, suoervision needed at all times!

    Great location close to beach shops and restaurants but quiet at the same time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    Be more attentive to problems at the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ant infestation in kitchen, reported to staff this issue and crack in wall where they were coming in but nothing was done. It prevented the family from using the kitchen properly and added a negative to our stay.

    Location, facilities & space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hilltop position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a short stay it would have been good to have some washing up liquid/ dishwasher tablets.

    Excellent location for walking. Selection of pools good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hill from the village I thought reception could be more helpful as taxi were hard to get & I would like them to be a bit more proactive in that regard as they know the system and when your on holidays for a week it takes you a couple of days to know the system

    Nice property very user friendly & nice pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay at Monte Dourado - very relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only disappointing thing was the lack of sun beds at the pool - they were all taken from early morning - perhaps they should be supplied with the accommodation so that they are fairly distributed. Walking back up the hill to the accommodation is fine for the able bodied - may be more difficult for those with health problems.

    The apartment we had was very well laid out with a fantastic sea view. It was very clean, with a very well equipped kitchen. The balcony area was facing the sea and gave us ample privacy for family time and more sun bathing. It was an easy ten minute walk down to the village where most things could be found.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Property & Location for a Family Holiday in Cavoeiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Location was great, just 5 mins walk from Cavoeiro town centre (albeit a short steep hill). Apartments are grouped into clusters with their own pools. Sufficient places to park your car near to the apartment. Had all the facilities we needed in the apartment (incl. bedding, crockery, cooking equip, hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, safety deposit box ,TV ,etc). Wifi worked fine for us. Nice balcony/terrace to sit out on. Great to have aircon in each room. Friendly house maid. Everywhere kept nice and clean. Overall all very pleased that we picked this property as discovered others we looked at were not as close to the town centre as we thought.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great resort and great lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are owned privately and managed by staff at the resort. So our apartment was lovely but could have done with some updating. Was still lovely though.

    Spacious and next to pool and 5 mins walk from the village. Staff were brilliant and arranged to have a good pack waiting for us. Any issues got sorted straight away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    our stay was memorable, accomodating, fun and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not always fast.

    The property and location were absolutely beautiful. The personnel and staff were kind, friendly, thoughtful, and accommodating. The flowers and greenery along the paths were pleasant. The pool was popular with the kids! The accomadations had everything we needed and was well kept from beginning to end. We absolutely loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely apartment in a beautiful little algarvian family resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Response of management "carvoeiro clube" when I first asked about bad reviews some of their apartments had in tripadvisor. A little offhand. Older people may not like the hills.

    Beautiful apartment in lovely carvoeiro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant accommodation but there is much better accomnmodation near by at same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was advertised as having free WiFi. The WiFi wasn't working in our apartment (34) when we arrived and we were told it would be fixed. They were 'waiting for a part to arrive'. The WiFi still wasn't working when we left. We were fobbed off witrh different excuses every day. VERY annoying. Couldn't sit on the balcony as it was too narrow.

    Very spacious. Good location for local restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Property building was perfect - big terrace and rooms, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good example of how a personnel can spoil owners' and investors' efforts to make property perfect and attracting for clients. Simple situation: when we arrived and parked our car near the reception office just for a few minutes just to ask where we can park our car, a man from the Property management team shouted at us. It seems in Mounte Dourado clients aren't important at all, in comparison to those men. They are real bosses and they are only making money for owners and investors, not clients.

    Property building was perfect - big terrace and rooms, all equipment was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    too many people reserving the sun beds at the pool by leaving their towels on them early in the morning and not appearing for a few hours.

    The space was great & facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Spacious rooms close to the downtown and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet doesn't reach practically anywhere in the room.

    Location of great (only 5 minutes to the beach), but it is on a hill, so a hike back up will be noticeable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location in a bustling Algarve village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Interior of accommodation was a little bit tired.

    Tennis courts on site - good price for hire of equipment. Great location - easy walk into village. Peaceful, despite being fairly busy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    You would be hard pressed to walk in through the front door and be faced with a better view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like although a couple of bits of the furniture were dated but comfortable and very clean. One more proviso, unless you are traveling out by car each day the property is not good for anyone with walking difficulties as the property is high on a hill but wonderful if you are able bodied.

    The wonderful view of the beach and the ocean, together with the main stage as it was Black and White Night while we were there was amazing. We have been to Carvoeiro many times before so knew where we wanted to be but the position of the apartment was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Spacious apartment, clean and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in reception were a bit officious and didn't give information if it wasn't beneficial to them.

    Spacious apartment, clean and airy. Very quiet in the evenings which was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    lovel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A lot of steps from road to apartment. akward to 2 very young kids maybe in future if guests ages are considered we would have accommodation closer to the bottom of the hill

    Fantastic room and facilities very close tyo town/beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    A lovely time of year to visit such a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtesy shampoo, shower gel etc not replaced when empty so had to buy them. But that was no big deal.

    Rooms cool spacious and airy. Kitchen very well equipped. 4 basic tv channels in English. A good mix of European guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    well equiped and spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    for me nothing but be carefull these apartments are not suitable for anyone with any mobility issues. lots of stairs and a hill to climb to the location

    The appartment was well equiped and spotless, loads of towesl for washing and pool excelent allround

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Great apartment, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great time, shared a 3 bed apartment with friends and daughters ample space for 6 people. Carvoeiro is a beautiful place with lots of amazing restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend, we will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one moan, could have done with bar area on complex, would have made it 100%

    Amazing place to stay, really enjoyed, apartments really lovely, we had pool view and great balcony area under shade, would deffo go back taking friends who have never been.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Very satisfied in the pre-season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were staying with 3 persons in a 100 square meter big apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a big living room. Everything's was better than expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Another great stay at Month Dourado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kitchen essentials, eg kitchen rolls, would have been nice.

    The location was excellent, as long as you could cope with the short very steep hill to get back from town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Walk to coffee and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi unreliable - had to keep signing in every 15 mins but they are working on it.

    Helpful staff, quietness - lovely winter getaway, fire for cold evenings and also from air con, nice view over pool and sea.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic location in the beautiful large village / small town of Carvoeiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is looking a wee bit tired. It's not unpleasant by any means; just could do with a bit of upkeep / modernisation.

    In the heart of Carvoeiro within easy walking distance of the beach and lots of restaurants, bars and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely spacious apartment in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor WiFi. Walk back from resort centre is demanding as it is up quite a steep hill.

    Spacious apartment which was well fitted out. Big balcony. Great showers and comfortable beds. Very good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Well located apartment in the heart of Carvoeiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The access with bags (we only had carry-ons) was particularly difficult to our block (Hibisco). The outside of the building was in need of painting. It looked like other blocks had been painted, but ours and the one facing us across the pool were grey and dirty rather than white. Pool had a lot of dead flying ants floating in it.

    Location was central but, as it was up a steep hill, not for people with limited mobility. Well decorated and quite stylish for this level of property, with new small appliances (kettle, toaster, coffee maker) but old fridge, washing machine and dishwasher). Double bed was very comfortable, but the singles in the second bedroom creaked and groaned at every movement. Good sized ensuite in the main bedroom and smaller shower room for the second bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous Monte Dourado
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was fab!!

    Fab accomadation, so comfy, clean and relaxing!! Fab staff, all very friendly and helpfull. Even the hill was manageable with my 4 and 11 yr old and mother who's 70!! We will definitely go back !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Lovely apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was is a great location, yeah it's up a hill but so is almost all accommodation in Carvoeiro. I had booked a 2 bed superior apartment and it was great, very spacious. Maid service everyday, with fresh towels and a extra wee bonus which I didn't realise was that pool towels were provided.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Highs on a Hill !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The steep climb home from the village every evening, but we were forewarned about this when booking so not a real complaint. Some sunbeds were removed from the pool area during our stay despite the need for them given the numbers in our part of the complex.

    A spacious ground floor apartment with everything needed for a relaxing comfortable stay. The daily maid service (except Sundays) was excellent, the apartment being spotless on arrival and maintained so during our stay. The resort is quiet in the evenings and at night, which suited us fine. The resort is only a 5 minute walk downhill to the village which has numerous very good restaurants and bars. We will definitely return to Monte Dourado again !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we had would have been better if there had been direct access to the pool by steps, like some of the apartments.

    Resort quite central to the village.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Greats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers need updating and needs a hot water warning - the shower water us very very hot and would injure any child or even any unsuspecting adult

    Size of apartment, garden terrace, layout. Service personnel prompt and efficient, reception really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monte Dourado traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: