Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Prado Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Monte Prado, 4960-320 Melgaço, Portugal

#5 of 16 hotels in Melgaço

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1898 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By the time we were there we had some misfortune: our TV was not working as well as the room's electrical panel was always firing. The staff was somewhat apathetic looking like they had some difficulty in keeping the conversation with the guests. Breakfast is quite diverse but offers little choice for those who have different diets (mushrooms with meat, eggs with meat, sausages, bacon ... that's too much!) as well as a four star hotel not having natural juices ... it is bit annoying. The room although well clean, already lacks some maintenance (but we paid a fairly fair price so...)

    A very well located hotel with a wonderful surrounding area. The hotel common areas are very good and well maintained. The indoor pool has a nice area that invites you to relax. The restaurant is wonderful, and the food accompanies the wellness of the space. The breakfast is in the same place and has immense variety and quality. The wi-fi signal is excellent. The room was nice, clean and with a wonderful view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location if quietness is not what you are looking for

    Amazing quality at an affordable price, perfect if you are seeking for a relaxing environment in the mountains. The staff and the menu in the restaurant the best! Thanks João!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here about 10 years ago and it had one of the best turkish baths I've experienced. i was sad to hear it was removed. also the air conditioning made a strange noise even when turned off, but I always travel with ear-plugs so I didn't bother complaining.

    location. amazing view. amenities. great value. very well preserved.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    (AT THE SUITE DELUXE) HAD TO ASK FOR TOWELS IN ROOM WC, NO WATER IN COFFEE MACHINE PROVIDED, NOTHING TO OPEN BOTTLES IN MINIBAR, NO WIFI SIGNAL, VERY COLD ROOM AND BED CLOTHING, NOISY A.C. ... CAN NOT SLEEP ... (BASIC BREAKFAST) HAD TO ASK FOR CUPS, NOT VERY ORGANIZED. DINNER NOT WORTH THE MONEY (SPA) VERY HOT WATER AT JACUZZI, CLOCK DID NOT WORK ... AND OTHER THINGS.

    LOCATION: VERY QUIET AND GOOD FOR WALKING AROUND OR REST IN NATURE

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was superior.

    Super facilities. Lovely room with a wall of windows looking out across the gorge to Spain. Wonderful walking paths just below the hotel. Buffet was superior. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were perfect for the winter chill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Indoor pool and jacuzzi space is nice but it feels easily crowded with just a couple of families, this is due to poor acoustics because of the water jet noises, which is understandable, it just doesn't feel so relaxing.

    The hotel is very modern, cosy and comfortable, rooms are spacious and very well equipped, with a terrific view to the mountains. Breakfast was very good and with great variety and the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very warm which feels amazing in the colder months.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a nice space there but check-in was late 20minutes. We came one hour earlier than excepted and none of the staff in the reception offered access to the pool or explained that we can use the pool trough the bathhouse next to the pool. Breakfast is nice, water temperature of the pools are excellent. They have a very good space but staff could have been more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal in the restaurant, the rusted bath, the shower that soaked the bathroom and refused to stay in the holder and toiletries that weren't replaced when used.

    We booked this hotel because of the fabulous outdoor pool overlooking Spain, however, because of the very restricted pool opening times (10am - 7pm) and the fact that we were walking in the National Park during the day we never got the appreciate the pool. With the pool opening times it's impossible to use the pool at sunset (8:15pm during our stay) which would be the ideal time to enjoy a swim in such an idyllic location. The views are spectacular from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool water was cold. The hotel front desk receptionist was not very pleasant.

    The view from my room was amazing and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower spreading watet on the floor. Small towels.tight with extra bed that costed 50% plus of the room after booking reservation.. All staff very young , not enough a mess trying to take care of breakfast buffet . bad service. Or dinner. Restaurant too expensive for the quallity of service.

    Nothing special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    after 30 minutes waiting in the bar, we decided to go to town to have a coffee. Unfortunately no hot water in the morning for the shower!

    Lovely place, wonderful suite, price value extremely interesting. 5 minutes drive to Spain. Good food in the restaurant and perfect for green wine lovers !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we told the reception twice about the setting of an extra bed, as ordered beforehand, they were heedless to our request. We were charged for a room for 3 people even though it was a twin room.

    bedroom with vistas. Complete breakfast buffet. Activities for kids in the sports centre nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff weren't very welcoming. There were blood spattered insects crushed against the wall in our room, together with the mark of the shoe that killed them. We had a very nice view over the Minho River and the hotel pool however the floor of our balcony had several cigarette butts on the floor.

    The scenary is beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -pools maintenance -room service earlier and more accurate -some maintenance to be done in rooms (switches, blinds, refurbish bathroom...)

    -staff -location and surroundings -spacious suite -breakfast ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some nitty-gritty stuff: the exterior swimming pool's schedule (11:00-19:00) should be extended; our suite needed some light maintenance (the floors had some wear and tear marks) and some more in-depth cleaning (light switches were sticky).

    Overall great service, location and commodities for some time-off. The exterior swimming pool was clean and in a superb location. The upper terrace also offered a nice setting for some cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is served after 8am, and dinner only after 8pm. Dinner was disappointing. No kettle in the room. Room was not ready at check-in time. Swimming pool only "opens" at 11am. The space around the swimming area was a bit crowded, more space between the chairs would have been a plus. Too few seats in the shadow. Medium sized swimming pool with a lot of kids screaming and jumping. No shadow in the parking lot.

    Excellent breakfast. Great view (no buildings, just nature) from the restaurant and the huge bedroom window. Good place for relaxing, feels isolated, but a short drive from the village, which offers all kinds of shops/restaurants. Spacious bedrooms. Comfortable mattresses. Nice walking path by the river next to the hotel. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I arrived early but could not check in before 3:00. The staff however tried their best to get the room ready earlier, and i got into the room about 20 minutes earlier.

    The staff where really friendly, and helpful with any queries that I had, always happy to help. The outside pool was a good size and had a seperate bit for young children. The area around the pool is tranquil and well kept, the outside bar serves good quality snacks. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The Restaurant has a beautiful view of Spain, the food is of a good standard and breakfast caters for all nationalities. The inside pool is a quiet haven with a lovely Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    services, attendance, staff.

    excellent hotel, wonderful location, great infrastructures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receptionist could have been a little more friendly and welcoming. The two women were very nice and kind.

    Swimming pool and jacuzzi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality and diversity. Indoor pool not always clean. WiFi very bad and hardly can open a webpage in peak times.

    Staff and rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff needs to be more eficient.

    The Location and sorroundings...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 dinner choices

    Comfortable. Nice pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One or 2 staff members

    Lovely and spacious hotel, super clean at an amazing Portuguese village

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have prefered that they understood better the English language.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff on the restaurant lacks the profissional skill

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an ant infestation, but we understand these things happen.

    The atmosphere was relaxed and all we needed was available to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in the hotel was excellent. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit remote

    Very modern facilities, clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    vistas do hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was offseason and the restaurant and bar we're not very busy

    Location in Hot Spring area of the Rio Minho

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    restaurant-dinner-room-view- places to walk

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquilidad, excelente trato, todo en general

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relax total, ideal para desconectar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do tempo k se perde no chek in e no chec out

    Comida excelente comodidades tb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was really friendly and the location is fabulous. Great to rest even having kids

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The grass in the grounds hadn't been cut and gave the place an uncared for appearance. There were tufts of grass growing outside the balconies of rooms 111 to 120 which lets the standard down and ruins the views of the hills opposite. I weeded outside Room 115 for them so ask for that room. Several of the corridor lights weren't working outside rooms 111 to 120 either. To be fair, this was low season with very few guests and only a skeleton staff to do everything and they did a marvellous job.

    Beautiful location looking across to Spain over the Rio Minho. The hotel is of modern design with plenty of glass but very pleasant. Excellent restaurant and great choice at breakfast. The indoor pool is operated at a very warm temperature and relaxing. The outdoor pool was operational on 2nd May and a little more bracing at around 19C! If you want a relaxing experience this is the place for you!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel cannot be classified as 4 stars, my overall experience was very disappointing. - Room soundproofing is very bad. Awaking up at 7 AM with someone else's alarm clock is not my definition of being relaxed. You can hear everything from the hall way and the surrounding rooms. - Mattresses are super hard and uncomfortable. - The room was not thoroughly clean, there was dust all over the place and dirt on the window rails. Bed and bathroom were ok. Couldn't seat on the balcony chairs because they were disgusting. Everything is an extra in this hotel, there's no free WI-FI on the rooms, no complementary tea or coffee, nothing! - Be aware of the "Romantic Package", this offers nothing extra or different, just a room with a better view. - Finally have to say that some staff wasn't very kind (very uncommon in Portugal) and they offered no information whatsoever about the hotel surroundings and near by attractions. I don't recommend this hotel and I won't return.

    Quiet location. Indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed sheets were a bit old. The inside pool is very old and it is a bit green. The restaurant is very bad, seriously, the food is not good, comparing to the one you can get in one of the restuarants in the zone. The price of the food and drinks is very high taking the account the quality of the food. We asked for our plate and we had to wait about ONE HOUR for it.

    The hotel is very well located, if you ask the staff they give you directios to access a trail in the middle of the hood, where you can go for a walk, running, etc. The staff was kind and the breakfast was very nice. The room and the bathroom were clean. The outside pool is nice and has a nice view of the moutains.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and wine in the restaurant was excellent, the waiting staff soon learnt that we only spoke english and were very helpful and patient while we explained what we wanted. All of the staff were really friendly. The rooms were also immaculate, massive bathrooms, comfy beds and scenic views. This really is a perfect venue if you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all and relax. I spent one night in a local bar (can't remember the name) but it had live music and the staff were again so friendly and helpful, just a really nice area to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    terrace overlooking the mountains, delicious buffet breakfast, basic though decent spa, discounts on massages, what else?

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A agua da piscina interior deveria estar mais quente.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overbooking unconfortable not clean

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: