Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Santo Resort 5 stars

Rua João Paulo II, Sesmarias, 8400-559 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#4 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I can say is there’s no toilet facilities at the kids club so all the kids are brought by the pool to get to the bathrooms at the locker room. Only one person was running the kids club with 12 kids to supervise going by the pool.

    This was our second time to stay at the hotel - this time with two kids and one was old enough to go to kids clubs Patricia and Sarah do a great job. The hotel is exactly as photographed. We loved the indoor heated pool for cloudy mornings or to finish off the evening before going for dinner. We rented a car this time and found it very handy to go to the supermarket or trip to the beach or into town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service is virtually nonexistent. At breakfast no-one clears plates or pours coffee, not at all five star. The spa area was closed and the pool was freezing.

    The kitchen is well equipped and the apartments are spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very well maintained and in an ideal location.a very pleasant walk down to central Carvoeiro and lots of great local restaurants and bars. It is very clean and well designed townhouses with large comfortable rooms. Pools are also spotless and the whole property is well maintained with beautiful gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous

    It was great for our group of 20. The private pool was great if you didn't want to use the excellent main pool. Happy hour was very tempting! Staff were all friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and the beer even better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleaning staff were below standard. Bins not emptied. Toiletries not replaced. One day, cleaning had still not been done at 5.30 pm, even though we were promised between 9 and 5. Talked to cleaners who complained that they had a lot of work to do.

    As before, an enjoyable stay at Monte Santo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service in the restaurant could be a little hit and miss, although it was never really busy on any of our visits (early May so resort was quieter). Small things like delay in bringing sides, not getting full drinks order etc. Food itself was tasty and staff were nice. There are some lovely restaurants in Carvoeiro so lots to choose from.

    Gorgeous resort. We had a two bedroom apartment in the main hotel building - corner apartment with huge balcony. Apartment was really well equipped & clean. Main pool area was beautiful and indoor pool was a great asset for the kids on more overcast days (we stayed in early May). For families, there's a kids playground also on site & kids camp.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is expensive and would like more options or diversity

    Lovely facilities, staff extremely friendly and go out of their way to help whatever way they can. Only a short distance to the town and not as long as I thought from the airport l

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Menu in restaurant a little disappointing. Gardens needed a little more attention in parts

    Excellent facilities, great rooms, very family friendly. Indoor pool and kids club were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far out from the centre of town - about a 20 min walk downhill into town but a very steep incline in parts on the way back. The outdoor pool was also very cold but there was an indoor heated pool.

    Amazing setting, fab staff, the room was spotless, very family friendly, staff couldn't do enough for us! We loved our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing about the resort. Location was a bit of a walk from the town which made it more efficient to drive to the beach, restaurants etc. Parking in town was easy and free though.

    Large, modern and fully equipped apartments with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. Super comfortable beds, quiet at night and quiet air con provided us with great nights sleep. All facilities needed to visit with babies and children including high chair, cot and a warm indoor pool which permitted swimming when it was colder outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although obvious apartment had been cleaned, furniture and soft furnishings would benefit from a deep clean and freshen up.

    Lovely man who checked us in and allowed us to stay until 2 on the day of check out as room not booked after us, very convenient. Abundance of thick soft towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The unit was not cleaned very well during our stay. We did not expect much as we did clean up after ourselves but the floors were never washed or brushed during our stay and this was a problem because we couldnt find a sweeping brush or mop anywhere in the unit to do it ourselves. The indoor pool/spa facilities were not up to 5 star standard. ( very dissapointed as we usually book places based on Gym and pool/sauna facilites. Staff were always too busy talking among themselves to pay attention to guests

    The size of the units

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of construction going on when we were there, but that should be sorted in a few weeks hopefully

    Clean, spacious apartments, lots of greenery, very peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No recycling?! We're so used to recycling pretty much everything at home I was quite shocked that this does not appear to be done at all at Monte Santo.

    Lovely apartments, very clean, the kitchen has everything you need. As the weather was rubbish the indoor pool was a godsend for my kids! The whole resort was gorgeous, we'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food in restaurant in the evening was expensive and small portions. Not enough hot water to fill 2 baths. Unfortunately the outdoor pool was not heated so could not use it during our stay. My wife is gluten free and although they provided nice gluten free crackers and bread and cereal at breakfast, there was not a designated gluten free toaster so if you contaminate the bread.

    Huge, comfy bed. Lovely apartment with everything you need. Jacuzzi bath in bathroom! Good maid service every day. All villas close to the complex. Nice welcome drink. Taken to apartment via buggy. Friendly staff. Happy Hour 5-6. Free shuttle bus to town/beach. Good choice of snack food in restaurant at lunchtime. Good breakfast. Massage at spa was amazing. Good place for a group holiday with friends who were staying in another apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No small shop on site...long way for milk! All outdoor pools unheated. Be great if main pool was heated esp for outside summer months. No shuttle bus back from village in evening...latest is 6.10pm.

    Staff friendly, apartment v comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as great as possible. We were two families with young children and were always made feel welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the hotel has no charm, reminds me of a conference room. The taxi to Faro airport that the hotel offers, is more expensive than other alternatives, (ie yellowfish - which I highly recommend) BUT the car was nicer than other taxies and the driver was an excellent driver.

    The resort is beautiful, clean, spacious, quiet, comfortable. The suites are big and comfortable, and there are two toilets. The balcony is big and has room for four. The kitchen fully equipped and the daily cleaning superb. The staff is accomodating, helpful and kind. There is a 15 min walk to the center which has more than 100 restaurants and a few shops. The beach downtown is beautiful. There is a gaming room for kids (1€) per game and a playground for the smaller children. The poolarea is clean and spacious, but no heated outdoor pools.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not everyone at the check in desk spoke English. It would be better to tell the guests with the check in that there is a kidsclub available: because it is a good service!

    Patricia from the kidsclub was a true star in her work: our daughter loved it and it is a good service for the parents which is inclusive Staff in restaurant/bar very proactive and friendly Next to that we loved that there were 2 bathrooms, washing machine in the room and everything you need when you are enjoying a holiday with kids. Room was really clean, bed was very comfortable: we can definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel uses taxi firm for guests that takes ages and is overpriced. Far easier getting them yourself but really the Hotel should take note of this and realise they need to provide a quick taxi service for guests - 20 min wait poor !

    Nice place albeit bit remote from Town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Kids and I got very ill from the swimming pool water (not cleaned enough obviously), staff OK...service was clunky and not 5*, food definitely not up to scratch...mixed service again and very poor quality (we had a mouldy baguette served to us). Definitely areas for improvement.

    apartment very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bar staff were a little bit too forward and the noise reduction between rooms was poor. Also there was a charge for the Maldivian beds which were not that nice anyway

    The pool and the furnishings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! Need a car while staying at this property to make sight seeing easier. The shuttle operates only at fixed times and last shuttle is at 6pm so if you want to eat in town you have to take a taxi back or have your own transport.

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse which was lovely. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and have ensuite bathrooms. Great staff and lovely swimming pool. The breakfast buffet though a bit expensive was really good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could have been included in the room for the price

    Excellent modern apartment at a beautiful resort, great for families and kids. Inside pool is always warm, great sauna and steam room. Reasonably priced food, excellent pools!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter service by the pool would have been good. Earlier dining options for families preferable. Dishwasher tablets available to use would have been helpful. An onsite shop would have been very helpful

    Staff were very helpful. Pool area superb and the availability of children's pool toys excellent. Heated indoor pool excellent. Room facilities very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had some very bad experience with the cleaning team. :( They forget to clean our house two days in a row and when I called the manager he sent a team to clean up but they did a lousy job. In 7 days we had our home cleaned 3 times. For a 5 start hotel this is just unacceptable.

    The house is great. Pool is close even tough we were in the last line of houses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage was only satisfactory

    Quality furnishings and comfortable beds Excellent climate control Cleanliness of the apartment and grounds Friendliness of all the staff including cleaning staff Location was perfect for a short walk to the beach or an escape from the busy summertime areas Option for early check in (arrival at 10am when normal check in was 1600) and staff told me that they would call when the room was ready, and they did! Close to grocery shopping, convenience to highway, and walking distance to cute town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything provided in SC apartment but not tea towels, washing up liquid etc. Service not quite 5 star.

    Enjoyed the freedom to self cater or eat in a nice restaurant!! Pool area nice, deckchairs not great, quite uncomfortable!! No drinks service at the deckchairs! I would say more 4 star than 5!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The monto santo is supposed to be 5*, this could not be further from the truth. I had read the reviews and expected a great result, but it must be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The pool area has no character, basic is an understatement and dirty. It felt like sunbathing in a car park, far from the luxury and relaxing location is was expecting. And in fact we refused to use the pool after the second day Sun beds are small and uncomfortable and their are few staff on hand to ensure safety and control never mind anything else. If you are looking for a Butlims type holiday, it would suit, but otherwise I would save your money. Parents allowed their children to run around from one pool to another, screaming, fighting, shouting all day. Every child had a whale. Unicorn or stingray, so the pool was a mass of plastic and very little room to get in to swim,, What happened to the simple rubber ring! The hotel had no control and in fact allowed this to happen. There isn't a restaurant or supermarket in walking distance of the resort so ensure you have a car. Don't waste your money on this badly managed and equipped resort.

    The room was a good size, nice balcony and good air con. Luckily our room was right at the back of the resort so did benefit from being away from the noise and constant screaming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wifi could have been better - the toiletries provided by the hotel were sometimes only half full - my children didn't think the pools were warm enough - out of all the beaches we visited in Portugal the nearest to the hotel Carvoeiro beach was my least favorite - half of it is taken by the boats causing numerous tourists get almost on top of each other in the remaining part. The water was also dirty

    - nice spacious townhouse with everything we needed - several pools to choose from - very friendly staff - shuttle to the beach came very handy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel the staff were so friendly and the 2 bedroom suite we had was fab. Best beds I've stayed in Would defiantly stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More 4 star standard than a 5 star. Lacked managerial presence. Children's camp very disappointing the staff lacked enthusiasm and demonstrated no interest with kids. The night entertainment was poor and lacked atmosphere. Location too far for young kids to walk into town. Staff at the hotel arranged taxis and advised us they would be cheaper than the street taxi this is not the case!!!!! Pool area filthy and was not cleaned during our stay. We won't be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit dated. Could do with a refurbisment. Bathroom was small. Advertised as having 6 pools in reality it has 1 big pool and then a number of small ones situated in front of the town houses. If your weren't in a town house you didn't really get to use these.

    Nice rooms. Modern facilities. Plenty of space on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location of the hotel isn't in city centre, so you need a (rental) car to drive to beaches, cities, food markets, etc.. Hotel has a shuttle service to Carvoeiro, but there are so many other beautiful places in the Algarve to visit

    Perfect for families, very spacious rooms, many activities, great breakfast, vy moederate prices drinks and food, great spa treatments. Just perfect !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location feels a little bit remote on arrival but the resort is only about a 10-15 min walk into the lovely fishing village of Carveoira,

    The staff were outstanding - helpful, accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The kids club was great, our kids are 7, they enjoyed making mocktails, art and craft and treasure hunts, as was the bonus of the indoor heated pool when the sun got too much. The resort is quite compact and has just one restaurant and small spa, suited us perfectly and the value for money more than compensates. The apartments are impeccably clean and spacious. Overall, great experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant menu is very limited Unstaffed bar resulting in slow service 3:30/4pm check-in despite requesting an early one.

    Accommodation is modern, spacious and clean. The overall resort facilities are excellent, great pool and indoor / outdoor seating areas. Very safe and secure Family friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no evening entertainment, no bar to speak of, which lacked atmosphere. There should definitely be a shop on site.. overall more like a 4 star than a five.

    Accommodation was very good, clean well equipped town houses. perfect for a family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a shop nearby to buy water etc. The nearest shop was a very long way from the apartments, and with the heat made a big struggle just to get basics to your apartments. If the complex had a small shop to buy essentials they wouldn't regret it!!!!

    Staff were amazing, the free shuttle bus to Carveiro was brilliant, the apartments were brilliant, the cleaners were fab

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is a steep hill back to the resort from the centre

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful, very family friendly. The grounds are well maintained, beautiful planting and fantastic pool area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another wonderful stay could not fault this place. With 3 small kids it's just perfect place to relax and unwind. This is our second year here and we will definitely be returning next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't pick fault with anything at this resort as I knew what recent reviews said. Breakfast very expensive and cost 42 euro for a family of four. 5 mins in a cab to town cost about 6 euro each way. Great place 👍

    Fantastic resort, rooms to a very high standard and cleaned daily. Pool towels provided and a nice heated indoor pool . Staff could not do enough for you and always helpful and accommodating. Quiet around the pool and plenty of beds , sun shades at whatever time you arrive. Free shuttle to town if you want a nice lunch by the sea. Will definitely be back next year.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was prob the time of year but there was no family entertainment in the evening 1 or 2 evenings would have been nice

    A wonderful resort Jose at reception was a gentleman and made our sons 1st birthday very special.. We didn't rent a car and it didn't cause us any issue we walked down to Carvoerio took approx 15-20 mins coming up is harder but we generally picked up water etc so paid 5 euro for a cab back up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately the cleaning staff kept coming late in the evening when we were in from the pool or at lunch time when my toddlers were napping despite the clean my room sign being out from early morning, so two days we could not get our room cleaned. I had asked for our room to be cleaned on day before lunch and it didnt happen so we had to ring reception that evening to get our room cleaned. this was the only bad point. On checking out reception staff were not the most friendly and did not ask did we have a nice stay!!

    Beautiful resort. great facilities and restaurant was fab. Suites are beautiful and well maintained. Lovely resort with families. We had hired a car which is essential to get to all the stunning beaches within a ten minute drive and to got to Carvoeiro as the roads are not most buggy friendly to walk into the town. The pool is well maintained and spotless and clean towels available every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping could've been a little more generous with amenities like tissues, bath gel and toilet paper. But they also did the dishes and put them away so that was pretty amazing. I wish the outdoor pools had just a touch more warmth. Spa experience- My £60 pedicure was not up to expectation- the nail varnish came off in flakes later that day, and without a proper foot bath and massage chair, it really didn't warrant 90 minutes. My husband had a £80 massage which he said was amazing, though.

    It was ultra convenient, beautiful, and had character and authenticity. Staff were lovely, most spoke enough English. Drinks were good, (although the vinho verde a little oversold). Food was very good but pricey enough to send us out to restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is quite a walk from the centre and on the way back it's up hill for about 30mins. No supermarket on site and no basics like washing up liquid or sponges are provided

    The accommodation is amazing, so clean and lovely and the facilities are great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our house was terrible and in need of replacement. 3 nights of bad sleep. A great shame as I have visited before and the beds are usually great. In general, the houses would benefit from a little maintenance and light refurbishment.

    Have been to this resort many times over several years. The staff are courteous and the resort is well laid out. Outdoor and indoor pool are great, and the resort is great if you have kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very comfy and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant has to be one of the best we have visited in a long time. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is about 20 mins walking distance(maybe even longer if you have young ones) and there are no other local shops nearby, however it's only 6 euros each way in a taxi which is what we preferred with young ones. A convenience store in the complex would have been ideal, but that didn't put us off at all as rest of the resort was superb.

    Everything was perfect, the location, staff, cleanliness, security, our apartment even had a jacuzzi bath in each bathroom and a dvd player and the list is unending. We didn't realise February is off season for them which was a bonus for us as we like the peace and quiet. Would love to go back. The kids had a great time which is what every parent likes. We would highly recommend the speed boat ride to the caves if you are adventurous, you can catch the boat from the beach down town!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No welcome pack, outdoor kids pool freezing and tiles extremely slippy. Takeaway from restaurant not up to scratch.

    Staff were nice and the indoor pool was great. Grounds are nice but unless you have a rental car the location may not suit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a bit of a trek down to Carvoeiro centre, and back up again - about a 20 minute walk each way. It was a small draw-back in view of the place being fabulous otherwise

    Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious, and conveniently located within the complex. Carvoeiro and the neighbouring beaches and caves make for a wonderful holiday destination

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The location of the property requires a car as both the beach as well as the next town are too far too walk, especially if travelling with small children. There are free shuttle buses to the beach and supermarket, but they are only running on limited times during the day and again, not really suitable if travelling with small children.

    Facilities were great. Having the extra pool in front of the townhouse was a welcome bonus. Accommodation itself was spotless and very child friendly including stair gates, high chairs etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing resort and lovely kids club staff. If staying in a town house the shared private pool is a big extra bonus. Lovely resort and would recommend to families but definitely need a car to get around to local areas close by.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not an issue but would have been good to have a small bottle of washing up liquid, a couple of dishwasher tablets and a small box of washing powder. this would have just made it perfect

    location was great, food and service was second to none. We had a great time Many thanks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit overpriced considering overall proposition (self catering, with limited bar/restaurant choices and still expensive). No welcome pack detailing basic housekeeping (e.g. cleaning schedule, which in our case was strangely around 4PM each day)

    Townhouse was really nice, with a swimming pool a few meters away...perfect setup.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The kids club could have been a little better and more varied. The indoor space for the club was poor and it would be better to have games consoles or something for older children. The evening entertainment could also be improved and made more interesting. The concierge was pretty non-existent and it would be better to be able to book restaurants/theme parks/watersports etc through the resort rather than simply getting basic recommendations.

    The accommodation was excellent. Spotless, spacious and very comfortable. The townhouse had everything we needed and was very close to the main pool area. The small pool dedicated to our cluster of houses was fantastic. Staff were always very helpful, friendly and attentive. Carvoeiro is a lovely little town with a fantastic beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was a little remote and a car is definitely required .

    Could do with a few more pots and pans so that the kitchen coukd be fully used. Otherwise perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another bar and/or restaurant would be great as the resort is a short drive from the town. A basic shop would also be extremely helpful but the supermarkets are only a 5 minute drive away.

    Good comfortable apartment with all necessary kitchen equipment including dishwasher and washing machine. Comfortable beds, good cleaning service daily. Plenty of bathroom towels. Free use of beach towels

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just a few niggles eg we had to ask for a few things for the kitchen, like a frying pan, oven gloves, baking tray, which I think are basic items. Also there was no clothes airer should you decide to do any washing or even to hang swim wear. Yes, the washing machine is a condenser dryer as well but I prefer washing to dry naturally especially on hot sunny days which are plentiful in Portugal.

    The resort is lovely and very clean. This is a big resort with lots of apartments & villas but you don't feel its crowded and no problem with sunbeds. The one bed apartment with huge balcony was beautiful. It was cleaned every day and you can even have room service if you wish. Overall kitchen facilities were excellent, all the whites goods you would need including a dishwasher. The spa onsite offered a good choice of treatments which we did indulge in. Prices were the same as we would expect to pay in England. All the hotel staff were very attentive and any niggles we had were quickly resolved with no fuss. For us, this had the freedom of a self catering holiday with hotel service.. excellent.. we will being returning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 18 nights

    Just about everything. Made bookings for dinner and turned up and they'd "lost them". Villa was flooded by a burst pipe and it took 9 hours for someone to come and fix it and then they used my things to mop up the flood and there was no apology. Basically one bad thing after another all trip. Won't be going back. By the way whatever you do, don't order a cocktail, they are seriously bad.

    Cleaners are very friendly but they are incredibly pushed for time. Not enough of them and a lot of villas to clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive meal options. Better value to go out for meals. Would be nice to have access to a mini market on site to get milk, bread etc.

    Clean townhouse. Comfy beds. Great pool. Nice environment for children. Safe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kitchen could have been better stocked with equipment, the site desperately needs a shop for essentials like bread & milk rather than having to get a bus to the nearest supermarket.

    Good pool areas, free bouncy castle at the weekend, staff very helpful, comfy beds, free bus into town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barbecue at property would have been good..

    Great resort. Houses and facilities both excellent. Swimming pools are all well planned and close proximity to pool table and other games room works very well for kids

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be pickie if I have to be the Jacuzzi bath in bedroom 2 needed a good clean inside the pipes as black kept coming out which wasn't very nice, so just didn't use it.

    Everything was to a very high standard and we loved it especially that we could sit outside every morning at breakfast and nothing was rushed. Wonderful holiday at Monte Santo!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There could have been a few more kitchen equipment available as it was difficult to cook for 4 with a small frying pan and one small pot. At the large pool despite notices advising not to leave your towels on loungers and then not use the bed this was a common occurrence throughout our stay

    We liked the fact that we had a smaller shared pool beside our apartment. The staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much problem for them

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Luxury Family Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    evening entertainment to include young children was limited. It seemed like a bit of an afterthought - The girls who ran the kids club were excellent but they could have maybe done with some more support ( two employees instead of just one running the club each day) as there were a lot of water related activities and a lot of young children taking part. A more cohesive programme might encourage more parents to eat in the restaurant while children are entertained. The price of the dinner buffet for young children was prohibitive in my opinion so we ate elsewhere.

    very comfortable accommodation, excellent pool facilities , friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, quiet at night, clean and kids loved it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar could have been more comfortable/less formal environment indoors.

    Perfect if you want to enjoy the comfort of your own apartment with the benefit of hotel facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough shade around the pool area. The location is good but by no means 5star a little expensive overall. Room cleaning could be more attentive

    Room space and amenities were very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No airer to dry clothes on. Everyone had to drape their wet/washed clothes on the outdoor chairs. A simple folding airer would have been great.

    Pretty much everything. The accommodation was stunning. The bed huge and comfortable. The kitchen modern and had pretty much all you need. A nice lounge with a comfy sofa. English TV if you want to watch TV on hols?! The Pool was nice if you like sitting around a pool. The staff were very very good. A nice walk into town.The bathroom was lovely, especially the jet bath, great for after a run to soothe tired legs :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sun loungers and parasols. The resort have taken away a substantial amount of sun loungers and replaced them with luxury beds that you must pay for. Most of these located at the pool edge so unless you hire one of these for the day you will find it difficult to get a spot near the pool to monitor the older children when they are in the water.

    Spacious rooms. Good pool area snacks and drinks at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym was 3 star - terrible equipment and didn't open till 9 each morning. Food choices were limited for dinner hence why the restaurant was deserted. No pool side service which is unheard of for a 5 star restaurant and floor not swept each night. Bar staff are young and not hugely experienced You need a hire car for this hotel as 20 min walk to town downhill so way back is tough if you're unfit.

    Bedroom was lovely. Great bed with luxury sheets. More towels than you knew what to do with. Great kitchen facilities in room. Aircon in room very good. Pool nice but overrun with children. Bar good and prices reasonable particularly during happy hour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to pay to use tennis court - considering the price of the hotel, we consider it should have been included

    Lovely resort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location and comfort of properties

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far from the beach

    Excellent place for a holiday for adults and for children

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious suite and great cooking facilities. Brilliant location close to great restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very Nice place and people - With my family we like it very much

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monte Santo Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: