Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montemar 3 stars

Rua Da Torraltinha, 33, 34, 8600-549 Lagos, Portugal

#40 of 43 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1722 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy as you can see from the balcony in other rooms on the same floor, poor sound insulation, parking charge for guests ..

    Good location near the beach and shopping center, good breakfast, if you find a room up to 40 € take one ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was cracked, the shower worked but you could not change to bath only, this was reported but not fixed. Bathroom could definitely do with an upgrade. Poor layout in bedroom, kept banging shins on corner of bed.

    The breakast was excellent and constantly replenished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower a bit cool in the morning.

    Lovely room, staff helpful.......Fado restaurant nearby which we will visit when we return to the Algarve in September. Nice walk down into the old town. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it may seem unimportant but the Orange juice served up for breakfast was appalling just Orange colored water with no nutritional value at all.

    cleaning staff were very efficient our room was always attended to dayly. The reception staff were always helpful indicating the best places to visit and importantly to eat, we enjoyed our stay with you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room. 304 on the 3rd floor. 1. Bathroom door wouldn't lock and kept on making noises. 2. Air-conditioner needs to be serviced.. Makes noises like it's working but there is no cooling at all. 3. The WC was badly leaking.

    1.Excellent location to the beaches, marina, bus stop, restaurants, supermarket and the downtown. 2. Excellent front office staff who go out of their way to help the guests with directions, suggestions etc. 3. Very good breakfast and very efficient and friendly service girls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely hard. Quite small bathroom with towels almost touching the toilet seat.

    Nice room, though no table to work. Good breakfast - refilled quite fast when something is finished. Nice staff - they put our things to the fridge as there is no fridge in the room. Also we left our luggage after check out. Around 30 min by foot to the train station, 15 min to the city and 10-15 min to the beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be refurbished, you get what you pay for.

    The price (very cheap). The breakfast was better this time compared with last time we stayed here. This time they had one warm option (sandwich with cheese and tomato). Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Far from center - Facilities are not modern, old and without character - Needs more lighting, room was dark with the curtains closed - I had to stand directly under the shower head to shower

    - Only 36 euro - Had everything I NEEDED - Staff was always willing to help - Wifi was shaky at first but then worked perfectly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are located on the ground floor so then the balcony and the windows are just in front of the street which makes you keep the courtains closed for the whole day.

    Hotel situtated 10 min walk from the beach and 10 min walk from the city center - very good location. Nice breakfast. Clean room that actually look better than in the photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, really

    + Great location: close to all scenic bays, and also in a walking distance to city centre - actually, closer to the famous Lagos scenery than most of the hotels in the area + Very quiet: although our balcony was facing the (local) road, there was complete silence at night + Breakfast was good, and definitely exceeded our expectations + Staff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and property are well described and real look of rooms is better than in pictures. Nice breakfast as well. The workers in the hotel are really nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The AC units were extremely loud and keep you awake at night. The breakfast selection was poor. the doors to each room in the building were extremely noisy when they were closed.

    The Staff we very helpful in the reception. The location was very central. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Free safe parking across the road. Close to restaurants.nice quite area. Helpful staff. Continental breakfast until 10.30.value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little low & firm. My wife is disabled & the bed was a bit low & firm which made it a bit more difficult for her to get comfortable & get in & out of bed.

    Excellent location & good amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have some hot breakfast. Dated rooms and not very comfortable bed.

    Excellent breakfast, no hot meal. Good location, up on the hill, but, short 10 mins walk to the city centre. Room had hair dryer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so good wi fi :( Neither in the hall nor the room. Actually in the room was not working at all although you could see the connection on your phone.

    Very good localization, really close to the beach and the city. You can go and explore everything on your foot. Great spot to go running and to explore the south Portugal, go to Sagres, lagoon for kitesurfing and go running everyday. Beautiful beaches, both sandy and cliffs and amazing spot by the lighthouse. A lot of must see spots around. Very comfy hotel, clean, breakfasts really delicious and I enjoyed coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is some distance from the centre (15-20 minutes) on top of a hill. Bad coffee, and need to keep curtains closed for privacy on the ground floor.

    Good varied breakfast,staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing would put me off

    very friendly staff ,location 1mile from town centre, breakfast not fancy but quite adequate, very clean and bright. bedroom furnitue a little dated, but will return. not a hotel if you wish to lazy round the pool all day as there isn't one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    The breakfast room has been updated and looks very refreshing. The food is good considering that breakfast was included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite big but it seems that hotel needs a refurbishment (quite old bathroom, a bit dirty walls, elevator didn't work etc.).

    We stayed in Montemar hotel for one night, the best part of our stay was friendly staff and breakfast. Fortunately we had room with balcony not facing the front where was a main road. The location is quite good - only 10 minutes by walk to the centre. We parked in different parking place (5 minutes by walk from the hotel) because hotel's parking lot cost 5€. Overall we enjoyed the stay but if we go next time we'll probably chose a different hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The coffee was terrible which is a shame as I would have preferred access to good coffee for breakfast even if I had to pay for it. The rest of the breakfast was fine but a bit hit and miss if you wanted the good bits that didn't always emerge that often.

    Friendly staff and a nice quiet location but close to old town and the best beaches. Check-in staff ensured my room requests were met. Very good value for a room with a private bathroom. The free wi-fi was a bonus as I don't think it was mentioned in the description. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could’ve been a bit nearer the center, but still only ~20 min walk away

    Hotel was very nice and comfortable. Rooms are good sized and we had our own balcony with a view to the ocean. Room had all facilities we needed and air conditioner as well, cuz it was a little bit cold during the night. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    That it was so far from the oldtown and hardly a bus !

    The bed is very old, , everything is very old and it is more than 1 mile to walk to the center. I have to take the bus. The breakfest was OK .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is well situated at the top of a steep hill and although it has the local Onda bus service that runs outside, there was little information as to how to make the best use of the buses for guests who did not have their own transport. Getting from the hotel to the seafront was a major walk every day and although the young would find the exercise invigorating, older guests will have difficulty unless they used the local taxis

    All as one would expect from a hotel with the minimum of facilities. Only three floors with a useful (working) lift. Lagos is an excellent resort, well planned and beautifully laid out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    noisy plumbing,not being able to have a hot drink in the room,although the reception do a good coffee and drinks service

    Hotel is a little dated, but immaculatly clean, staff charming and caring, beds were done every day, fresh towels everyday, breakfast more than expected, although continental it was wide ranging, catering for everyone,well done, staff even carried our bags upstairs when we arrived, due to lift being serviced,just a few thinks to think about, very noisy plumbing and as there was late arrivals can be disturbing, and i think a kettle in the room would be a plus.but we would return,my husband took ill whilst leaving the resturant,and was expertly assisted by the staff , who kept a watchfull eye on him for the rest of the stay. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best value for money of a hotel that I've stayed in in a long time! Decent breakfast, nice room, and within walking distance of the centre of Lagos and the beaches. I turned up quite late at night (just after 10pm), and that wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room, one of our room smelled full of cigarette smoke, garage only for extra money.

    breakfast ok. we have got garage - but only for extra money.. nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was old, bathroom was not very comfortable

    Location good, just 10 min walk to the beach. Breakfast room was beautiful and offer was wide. Price was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad extra comfortable,receptionists were kind and helpfull!good location,nice beaches close to the hotel,very cheap price!good hotel,clean...very good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable springy bed, noisy ~ as in many Portuguese hotels sound insulation is very poor. WiFi connection wasn't great.

    Excellent value for money. Friendly, well meaning staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower was lukewarm. The check in lady was not helpful in our query about bike hire shops in Carrapateira. No eggs in breakfast; I was allowed only one fresh tomato at breakfast.

    Good value and clean! Breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one to help with my luggage because i had so many bags. I carried them all by myself to the room in third floor.

    I liked the payment plans and the location. Everything was easy for me. I felt comfortable. I would definitely come back to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs refurbishment Lack of furniture in room no chairs, table or desk ( only a shelf and small box ) Breakfast no eggs ( hard or scrambled ),cured ham seemed to be short supply. No water one morning found out later it was an area supply problem hotel could of informed guests with a letter or notice or even a phone call.

    Location and price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin beds, were very noisy, when my partner turned over in his bed it woke us both up. both beds were very hard

    croisants were indeed extra flaky, The Staff could not have been more helpful cheery and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but the lighting in the room could have been better. Also during winter or any cold weather it would be good for the staff to switch on the heater a little earlier than the guest arrival so that the room warms up a bit as it takes a good half a day for the room to reach to a comfortable warmth level.

    I like the clean rooms and bathroom. The staff were nice, the breakfast was good specially freshly made croissant and small baguettes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv small but didnt come to watch tv.not suitable for small children as larger than normal gaps on balcony.(we don't have kids but just an observation)

    Excellent value for money.small and cute hotel and old fashioned but in a nice way.loved the vintage lift and phone booth.breakfast was basic but fine.nice atmosphere in the hotel.A bit of a walk to town and beach but Lagos is pretty hilly where ever you stay.receptionist lovely and seemed to be there whatever time of day or night.It was not a luxury hotel but just really liked it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy airco on balcony of floor under my room # 319. My earplugs very useful! Didnot use airco in my room.

    Breakfast plentiful, with warm croissants and rolls. Convenient location (for me). Pleasant staff. Garage to store my bicycle. Balcony, to air clothes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was close to the lift which caused me some noise but that is a minor gripe.

    For the price it was excellent. Close enough to Lagos, breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking just next to the hotel. Great friendly staff who helped us to get to the hotel by phone (as you enter Lagos the sign post for the N125 disappears !)... JUST FOLLOW the coast KEEP LEFT and the sea on your left and just keep going until you see the FireStation on the left and turn at the roundabout.. You've made it. Breakfast simple, but free service... Coffee Good (even from the machine :) Low Cost stay, but not reflected in their high standards of service, cleaning etc. I'd definitely go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasnt informed of charges for laundry service prior to using it and was quite suprised at fees for washing clothes. Clothes were very fresh afterwards though

    The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very clean too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no complaints, but there didn't seem to be a restaurant. If there had been, and it was as good as the hotel was generally, I'd have used it. A little uphill from the town and beaches, but a little walk before and after the beach doesn't do any harm! There was a regular bus service virtually going past the front door, anyway. So, nothing I didn't like!

    This hotel was excellent value. I have often paid for more a hostel with dormitory beds, but here I had a large room to myself with TV and shower/ bath, air conditioning (a bit noisy) and all the features of a hotel with 24 hour reception and helpful staff with planning excursions. Breakfast was perfectly adequate although there appeared to be no hot option but I didn't want that anyway. I'd gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tab was licking water and the air conditioner was very noisy.

    The room had everything necessary, comfy and comfortable. Great location, friendly and nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and great location to explore the areas around Lagos. The historic city centre is just a 5 min walk away. The rooms are simple but very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location could be a problem for some people as the hotel is uphill from the town centre and the sea front. The breakfast room was very cold and would benefit from some heating in the Winter months. Free wi-fi in the bedroom was very up hazard, but it worked well in the lounge.

    Well maintained holiday hotel, with small garden and pool open in Summer. Good sized rooms with balcony and lots of cupboards, adequate bathrooms, some with baths, all well cleaned by pleasant staff. Comfortable small lounge on the ground floor with small bar. Adequate buffet breakfast with friendly staff and very helpful receptionists who gave us some great help when in need. Thank you again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice limited I.e. No cooked breakfast available. Hotel parking underneath very tight & extra to the room costs.

    Excellent location. Friendly & helpful staff. Rooms basic but clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The on site underground garage at 5 euros was not a place to park a car, the entrance extremely narrow and very dark.

    Value for money for a barely functional tired hotel. The staff were exceptional and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom and the lights of the rooms need to be updated. The breakfast menu could be better, right now it’s very basic.

    Very clean place, nice location 15min walking distance to all the beaches and to the downtown. All rooms had balconies which is nice too. Would recommend for a good place to stay on a budget.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Montemar, which was all in all a nice experience. The ladies at the reception were so helpful in every situation. The breakfast is okay, not much to choose of but for the price totally acceptable. Wifi is only free of charge at the reception area, otherwise you have to pay extra. The really nice town of Lagos with many restaurants and cute little streets are walking distance from the hotel. All in all the value for price is fine and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are not very comfortable with older mattresses covered in plastic protector.

    Fine for an overnight in Lagos. Parking and wi-fi (in room) are extra though there was some street parking available. Walking into the center takes about 15-20 minutes and 10-15 to beaches.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing even after using all the blankets. It was very far from the airport. The bathroom supplies was very basic. Breakfast could have more hot food options.

    The croissants was amazing. The pillows was fluffy and I love the fact the room had a balcony. The location was perfect to visit everywhere. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything. Perhaps I would make a breakfast more various, would add some fruits.

    This is great 3 stars hotel. I definitely would recommend this place. Rooms are standard and clean. I reserved classic room with balcony, for me it was comfortable. Good value for money. City center and beaches in walkable distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The mattresses are near the end of their useful life.

    The hotel offers simple accommodation that is excellent value for money. The staff were extremely helpful, especially when we had to deal with an emergency. The breakfast is adequate and the free Wi-Fi in public areas is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only working in the lobby, wifi in the rooms are for extra charge. Coffee in the morning didn't taste good. You have to climb to the hill, if you're going by foot back to hotel from the city centre.

    It was possible to leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out. Breakfast was simple but good, they had warm croissants! Good value for money! The staff was friendly and helpful, spoke really good English. There are few good restaurants really near, so you don't have to go to the city centre for that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't that comfortable and a bit outdated. Not enough PowerPoint to plug our gear. And as a genius member, we had a perk of free parking but it's not really a perk as the parking is free for the general public and not free with the actual hotels parking.

    Not too far from town about 15mins walk. General areas look nice and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and a very nice hotel. About a 10 minute walk downhill into the old town in one direction or to the promenade in the other. An added bonus is that the local bus stops right at the corner if you don't want to walk to the attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was free in the lobby but not in the room. The person in the room next to us complained that we were talking too loud at 4:00 p.m., five minutes after we arrived. Give me a break.

    We loved Lagos, Portugal. We hiked the cliffs and took a boat ride around and in the caves. I would suggest taking a taxi from the train station to the hotel because of the cobblestone streets, but without luggage, the hotel is walkable to downtown and the cliffs. We were happy with the breakfast, despite the fact that there were no fluffy eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked if the bed was a bit higher and had more support also it would have been nice if there had been some tea making facilities and a small fridge.

    The staff were very friendly and the services were very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel could use a modernisation and a general overall cleaning, especially in the bathroom. Bathroom and room were of course cleaned each day but always looked a bit dirty due to its "oldness". On the other hand the hotel is very cheap compared to others in Lagos!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Well, in our room there was a problem closing the balcony door -needed to push really hard :D :D The hotel is old. If you do not expect much - it is the right place to stay.

    Location - the beaches are close. The old town also easy to walk in a few minutes. Staff really friendly. The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in bathroom didn't work. Hard small bed .

    Location was awesome . Close to the beach. Amazing restaurants nearby . Grocery was close. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. No fridge or kettle in the room to store water or make tea or coffee.

    Good location, walking distance to great beach and the main part of town with restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - old furniture - it was difficult to open the balcony door - breakfast could include some vegetables

    - good location - close to historic city center and the beach - friendly and helpful staff - clean room with daily room service - possibility to book different trips (Benagil caves, dolphins sightseeing, Lagos caves) directly from the reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It would benifit the hotel to have it re furbished,it's a lovely building inside and very clean.

    average continental style brecky. no chair in the bedroom only a black square box style stool to sit on in front of the mirror,this i think would break with the weight of a large person! apart from this.i was pleased with everything,although the rooms need modernising

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a hill to walk from the centre up and the paths are quite slippery and bockety.

    Very reasonable especially when your on a budget and a nice sea view from the room they have improve breakfast choice over the past three years.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on my booking it stated: check out from 12 to 12:30, while the hotel insisted on before 12. Given that my transfer was at 13:40 i would have appreciated leaving a bit later. the breakfast had no fresh fruit

    Location: not on a busy area but very close to the beaches and the center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fittings were old but everything worked. Again can't complain for what we paid. The hotel is 10 minutes or so walk from the centre but is uphill on the return.

    Room was cleaned and towels changed daily. Basic buffet cold breakfast, but there was plenty of it with bread, meat and cheese regularly replenished, thought it was good value for the price we paid. Room had hairdryer that wasn't in the hotel facility description.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky beds ... very small tv ... noisy corridors ... noisy air con fans from other rooms

    The price as was cheap so didn't expect a lot ... breakfast was continental breakfast and very good with ham cheese rolls croissant coffee etc ...location ... easy parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds very hard. Bathroom door would not close. Was told that we were to receive free parking as genius booking.com members but hotel did not honor.

    Excellent location. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is open from 8-10am I think extending it until 10:30 could be a good option. Also it is very simple / basic. They could upgrade it by adding fruits, vegetables, eggs. Room could have been refreshed a bit as well, flat tv, paint the walls, check the bulbs, doors etc. Nothing major. Could be a bit noisy if a room is from the main street side.

    The location of the hotel was very good, about 10 min walk to the beach as well as to the historical part of Lagos. Very good service, clean, reception open 24h. Asked for a room on the top floor with a sunny balcony and was given it :) Good air-con which was needed sometimes to cool down on a warm day and walking up the hill :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness excellent air-conditioning excellent breakfast was excellent location perfect highly recommended this hotel 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy because of the traffic and garbage trucks picking the trash at 2am. TV seems to fall on your head and is hanged very suspiciously. The sink was leaking and very old hard mattress. Poorest breakfast i ever eaten. Tons of cheap ham and cheap cheese. Luckily you can eat croissants and jam. The orange juice tastes like a can of Fanta opened for weeks.

    Location is great with free parking across the street. Nice view with balcony. Although a little dated the furniture and floors are are made from hardwood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking may say this hotel has free parking but in fact this hotel charge 5 euros a day for their parking. Across the street there is an open field you can leave your car for free. My car got scratched there. Do not park there! Bed is extremely hard and uncomfortable, air conditioning is old and noisy. Staff is not willing to help on any tourism question you have.

    Supermarket near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not good at all. The phone didn't work. The door slammed loudly. The shower water didn't get hot for a long time so you had to run the shower for 15 min before getting in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 21 nights

    We were fortunate to be at the back of the hotel at the top otherwise there could be possibly be traffic noise as it's on a roundabout.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay here.The room is very clean, basic and comfortable with a balcony. Breakfast was continental and included a wide range of breads, cheese, ham salami, cereals jam etc buffet style The staff were very friendly and helpful and happy to source any information about trips or transport. The main town is just a 10 minutes walk. Would come back here as we loved Lagos too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel parking was full, WIFI in room not free. Room are old-fashioned interiors, not repared from 1990 :) It was a misunderstanding with payment. Room was fully paid from booking, but staff in the hotel haven't it.

    A/C, quiet room

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Montemar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: