Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montinho De Ouro 4 stars

Montinhos Da Luz - Sitio Do Montinho De Ouro 2203B, 8600-118 Luz, Portugal

#3 of 8 hotels in Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    The hotel has beautiful views and facilities that a 4*...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lack of staff at reception and whenever we tried to go to the reception, it was closed, therefore had to go and look for staff around the kitchen. Often the staff seemed frustrated with us asking questions in regards to how to get around. The variety of food for lunch is very limited as they offer snacks and mainly drinks from the bar and dinner has to be booked before 5pm. Wifi not available in all parts of the hotel.

    The hotel has beautiful views and facilities that a 4* should offer. Close to City Centre (Lagos-15mins drive). Rooms cleaned every day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally lack of basic services and staff. Restaurant was very limited it what it offered. Staff was bareboned and those you can find to ask a question was not very enthusiastic in helping out. You can find much better facilities at better rates compared to this place. I would not recommend or come back.

    You must have a car to get to the nearest town. It is in a quiet area away from town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Very gentle people that reflect hospitality at their best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host reflected hospitality at his best. The house is close to the airport, which was the reason for our short stay. However it is very suitable for a longer stay, if you are looking for a nice and welcome place to be, surround by two very generous persons.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Ideal for a relaxed holidays since hotel is isolated from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/mattress were okish, but don't expect a 5* night sleep. Breakfast was limited in options and food on offer was very basic.

    Ideal for a relaxed holidays since hotel is isolated from the stress and rush of city centre. You'll definitely need your own transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property! The pool and country side views were awesome. The resort was super well kept and the staff were exceptionally friendly. It was close to the city, beach and restaurants but still in a nice quite area. Would definitely visit again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    We certainly won’t stay again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were grossly overcharged. The courses for dinner, which were not very palatable, kept arriving without our ordering them. The only order we made was for the main course. We had the house wine. We then paid extra for breakfast. We had already paid for our room but had to pay a bill of €140. No credit card available and we were refused a printout of the bill and a receipt so we could not check the amount. We were told it was because we were paying the night before and they could not give us an invoice. This one night cost us more than at the 5* hotel the night before. The room had no privacy unless we sat in the dark with the curtains pulled across. Although we arrived after the check in time the room wasn’t ready. Paper table cloths, poor cutlery and basic rooms do match the 4* image.

    The staff were friendly. Peaceful location. The breakfast was nice and they provided it half an hour early as we had to leave early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not recommended for winter! We stayed between Christmas and the new year, and the place was practically dead. As a result, the restaurant and bar opened briefly, only for one hour, but closed again. The reception was also closed in the evening, giving the impression of a ghost village. Not a lot to do apart from to use the place as a dormitory and as a base to eat and drink in Luz (a 7 minute taxi journey away). Apartments are clean, a bit old-fashioned, slightly austere. The beds are hard. The ration of soap, shampoo/shower gel was so tight that we had to go and buy our own. Bath towels were small. The air conditioning, which we used to provide some heating, kept tripping the electricity supply trip switch. The fridge leaked water unto the floor for reasons that were not clear. The booking website advertised the property as having a 'swimming pool' as well as an 'outdoor pool'. This is ambiguous as it implied that there is an indoor pool, when there was not. Perhaps this is a systematic problem with Booking.com itself, not the fault of the property? I am sure that the outdoor pool is great in summer but in mid winter, we would have chosen somewhere else if we had known that there was only an outdoor one. Sadly, the property hasn't quite got the tone right in its attitude towards customers. For example, there is a threatening note that points out that we will be charged for breakages of plates, crockery, etc (5-10€). That would be fine if accompanied by some other useful information (eg 'welcome', 'here is a list of amenities, taxi numbers, our restaurant menu', etc etc). But on its own, the announcement just seems mean spirited. Finally, we had to pay in cash when leaving because their multibanco machine was 'broken' and the hotel was unable to issue me with a receipt.

    Rooms cleaned every day. Adequate toilet paper provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included (charged at an extra 13 euros per person), but we didn't mind given that there are facilities in the apartments to make anything you want and supermarkets are five minutes away.

    Beautiful resort with a pool, and incredible views of Portugal. We had an apartment to ourselves with a kitchen and balcony to enjoy, and the bedrooms are airconditioned. Beautiful hotel - would recommend!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    Probably wouldnt return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels and sheets stained and grubby. Rooms dated . Reception is like a creche . Beds uncomfortable . Needs some general modernisation . You do need a car because of the location . There is nothing you can walk to .

    Outside space , pool, tennis court .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location supported by lovely staff - recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Its not a negative but as mentioned I reckon you would need a car to maximise ease of access with this place. That said I'm thinking with our family in mind. If I was young and carefree I'd be happy cycling up and down from Luz it's not too far away. There isn't a huge amount to do for kids aside from the pool but that adds to the character of the place, if you are travelling with family bring the play essentials.

    We stayed here late June/first week in July 2017. We have three young kids and we all enjoyed it immensely. The property is lovely with mature gardens and an orchard. The pool area is nicely laid out and well protected from the northerly wind that can get up during the afternoon and evening in Luz. The pool itself isn't overly warm but that didn't stop our kids who were in and out lots whenever we were there. We didn't have breakfast or dinner here (although I would have liked to), it was just easier to self cater and all the facilities were in our apartment for that. The apartment itself was poolside at ground level. It was cleaned every day which was great, and had everything to suit a family of 5. It had air conditioning but we never used it, the place always seemed to be at a nice temperature. Staff were very nice and always there if you needed anything. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding areas (if you have a car) and we did several day trips to Lagos, Sagres, Zoomarine and Benagil, all of which were great and the kids loved the adventure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful snd quit place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for people who want to stay away from the city noise Mosquitoes in the room and frog in a swimming pool the price of nature

    Quit place good breakfast kind people and we got very big room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing area for good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the back and we had to carry our luggage all the way, plus stairs but that's ok.

    Staff was very friendly. We had lots of space in our apartment. It had a big bedroom with enough space for the baby bed and our luggage. We had a bathroom with bathtub/shower. We also had a large living room with kitchen and another sofa where 2 more people could have slept on. In addition we had a large terrace with a nice view on the pool. There was plenty of parking space. It was a quite area. The pool was clean. We had a cleaner coming every day to ask if we needed cleaning. We enjoyed this place and stayed 2 or 3 nights. We could have stayed longer. Great place for relaxing. To go and see places it's best to have your own car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful countryside retreat where unreliable internet might be viewed by some as a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast Clearly set up to limit food wastage with small choices at self serve table At our breakfast a single staff member was struggling to cope with a full house. Reception on arrival would not accept card payment and asked for cash

    Lovely pool area a veritable sun trap. Great countryside views.Property not difficult to find providing guests are prepared to study google maps beforehand

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    The size of the apartment, the hot water in the shower, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa mattress was covered in plastic, probably to protect it but causing annoying noise. Nothing too.

    The size of the apartment, the hot water in the shower, the kindness of the staff very attentive to a speedy check-in so that my 78 year old father could rest, the pool looked amazing, pity we visited in March! The garden is beautiful, a wonderful place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    Won't be back without full restoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed upgrading and much maintanence. Mildew in bathroom, floor was sticky, pillows lumpy, doors adjusted, etc. I am a builder and I could not sell this product in the U.S.

    Grounds were well kept and clean, price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location and staff very friendly, lovely pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection at breakfast wasnt amazing but did the job, in the evening it was pot luck to what you got served, no table had the same meal.

    Lovely quiet location and staff very friendly, lovely pool area aswell.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Took a while to find it, it's a bit off the beaten track but worth it when found.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusual round bed! A little firm but not uncomfy. Spacious room & lovely modern bathroom. Very nice pool area & pleasant dining room & bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    get a pool facing room, bring your own drink-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    from inside too "want to be chick" . The breakfast dissapointing. I had to buy extra coffee, the one offered was not drinkeable. the room we had was not nice. if you have a room facing the pool it is a lot nicer. don´t order a cocktail......worst. and i had to wait 15 min. but fair, i also did not have to pay.

    The property, houses and plants where very pretty, from the outside. the pool is fantastic. too bad the bar was closed:(

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff agressivo
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff agressivo

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Small, but very clean and lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, but very clean and lovely Hotel. Will recommend it for everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anonymous place

    The swimming pool and the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.6
    DAILY BREAKFAST
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    REALLY HARD TO FIND THE RESORT WITH GPS BATHROOM WITHOUT BIDET ROOM SMELT BAD

    DAILY BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Although the swimming pool was beautiful and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, facilities, breakfast

    Swimming pool, room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool and Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Great nights sleep in country setting. Amazing service and Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The layout of the rooms and the pool view. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    6.7
    Nice place with the pools and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard beds. Couldn't have dinner at hotel restaurant because we haven't reservation ( just two people) and dinners been served to other customers.

    Nice place with the pools and gardens. Good breakfast and peachful atmosfere.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful setting and the accomodation was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi didn't work in the room and when we lost power at 10 pm we hadn't been informed by reception that we could have received help at any hour.

    Beautiful setting and the accomodation was gorgeous. The best was the service from Rui and his wife- so helpful and Rui is a top chef - superb food. 11 out of 10.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.7
    Nice and quiet location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated room, humid and not completely clean, towels old and grey (in stead of white). Small and noisy bed, narrow sheets.

    Nice and quiet location, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    We had an absolutely wonderful stay in the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had an absolutely wonderful stay in the resort. The location was perfect for us as it was a bit further from the town centre, the crowds and noise. The resort is beautifully designed and kept in immaculate condition. The staff were extremely polite, helpful and you can truly feel that they care and want you to have a great stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, as were the swimming pools and the surrounding areas. I can definitely recommend the resort to anybody wising to relax in a peaceful and beautiful place. Thank you Montinho de Ouro:-))

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tennis Court only available for People's above 18 years. Same with pool table. No drying rack for drying towels and swimsuits. No shelves in (very big) closet seems odd.

    Nice pool. Quiet place close to cities, if you have a car. Clean. Not crowded.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    We loved the pool, which was open all the time, the garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Suggestions to make the place even better than it is: WIFI connection should be upgraded and it shouldn`t be limited to only 3 free users per unit. Lighting of the pool at night should be upgraded, the kitchen utensils should be upgraded. It needs bigger and newer pans (not teflon), an oven (for pizza) and a coffee maker. The pool table could be open in the evenings for older kids.

    We loved the pool, which was open all the time, the garden, parking area, how spacious it was, we also liked that it was out of the town and that it had tennis court, was within walking distance from the beach, that there were sun bathing chairs and tables/chairs outside. All in all, we would definately come back there and recommend it to our friends.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    4.6
    staff was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    internet works for few minutes. couldn't find the place for one hour (!!!) road it's hidden on a mountain behind the

    staff was very nice wanted to help but since the internet is so horrible couldn't help

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    4.2
    The pool was refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was unreliable and sometimes non existent. There was a male staff who started arguing with me when I told them that it was only at their hotel where we were asked to show my kids' passport. Not advisable to argue with guests. Did not feel the value for the price that we paid to stay at this "resort". I expected more.

    The pool was refreshing.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    The entire staff made us feel like we were their only guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entire staff made us feel like we were their only guests. We wish we could have stayed another week. We also wish Luz was closer to the U.S. We loved this place! Luz is a wonderful little town - so much to see.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Upgraded to big apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need an accurate GPS to find. A little way out.nwas told had to pay cash because of connection??? Not ideal if you have no cash.. Wifi in apartment by pool only received if you stand by door.

    Upgraded to big apartment. Staff so friendly and helpful. Awesome breakfast!!! Beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    This beautiful hotel was a delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This beautiful hotel was a delight! The staff are wondedful and couldn't help enough! I would advise a car but we loved the fact that the place was quiet but a 2 min car ride to Luz and 10 into Lagos. A great holiday.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.2
    Comfort of self-service apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Comfort of self-service apartment

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Very clean with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean with excellent customer service

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff, the swimming pool, the facilities, the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The staff, the swimming pool, the facilities, the views.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Great pool, clean and a nice area to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great pool, clean and a nice area to relax. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and good value.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    6.7
    Hotel looks good nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kitchen small

    Hotel looks good nice pool

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: