Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Lisboa 4 stars

Av. José Malhoa 1-1A, Campolide, 1099-051 Lisbon, Portugal

#225 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1438 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and quiet! Had a little problem for the checking, because they told us that they didn’t received the information from Booking.com. So the checking took a long time, but after that, everything was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Its a nice (last) resort
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was "pet friendly". A better description would have been pet tolerant. For each pet you pay about 26 euro! This is clearly a price gouge. Whenever I have had to pay a pet surcharge in European countries before (and its not common) its never been more than 10 euro and I see that some effort has been made (dog treats or food and water trays). Here there was nothing, which is fine but you essentially pay 26 euro for taking your dog into the lift. My dog is hypoallergenic, slept in it own bed and ate its own food etc. Cleaning surcharge? Expensive! Air conditioning was set correctly but air circulation was poor. After an early morning walk I came back to the room and only just realised how stuffy the room was - very unpleasant.

    Apart from the convenient location (not far from the Hippodrome), the beds and pillows in the room were just my cup of tea. Very comfortable and allowed a good nights sleep. The breakfast was also brilliant - volume and variety were the key. There was no wondering whether you should have a pot of yoghurt or a slice of bread and a piece of fruit - this breakfast included everything you could think of. 5 stars

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    We had a most enjoyable time,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little old trams were unable to meet demand of tourists / locals. They need to have more services in peak times. Train drivers went on strike on our last full day in Lisbon, Friday 13/6!!

    I understand that language will always be a problem in a foreign country, but restaurant staff need to be trained more in customers allergy problems with food. We had many problems getting staff to understand what Gluten Free meant!! Some restaurants had the menu printed in English as well, so that really helped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Not going back until hotel staff get proper trainning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking for guests,even it’s mentioned in booking.com , staff at reception extremely rude except for Mrs IVone,which is the back office supervisor and super sweet and professional. Staff not available and not willing to help in any circumstance.

    Only their breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Was comfortable and nice facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tv is outdated, coffee is not real espresso. parking is too expensive, no convenience store near by

    comfortable room and close to the metro. I liked the shampoo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Loved the restaurant at the hotel - lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wise it's not very close to the main city attractions. But if you like to walk then it's fine.

    The hotel was just as mentioned under Booking.com. excellent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    It was clean (not the carpet), clean towel and new soaps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was massive, the carpet was old (or dirty), no windows in the bathroom, no openable windows in the bedroom, water in the room only the first day, not a lot of facilities in the area and to get the underground or the bus not a really nice street to walk through.

    It was clean (not the carpet), clean towel and new soaps every day, nice persons at the reception always helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't stay there next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a good impression from Novotel at Moscow. But in Lisbon it's a disaster. 1) Noisy because of airplanes that fly above, with closed window the air-condition is even more noisy. 2) Small, dirty window. 3) Not well cleaned - dusty carpets, black mold at the bathroom, after complains they cleaned it, but after that we had a smell of chemistry. It's just not appropriate for 4 stars hotel, in my opinion.

    Breakfast, large bathroom. Children playground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get downtime is not the best location, nearby the hotel few attractions to reach walking.

    Rooms, staff and cleanliness very good, location is excelent for airport proximity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem with chain hotels is that they look the same everywhere. I wish the hotel had something Portuguese to distinguish itself from the rest.

    The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    It was disappointing compared with other Novotel's I have stayed at.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our booking was not there on arrival (but this was quickly addressed); only 1 bottle of water supplied over 2 day stay in the room; really uncomfortable pillows; cupboard door would not shut and kept swinging open; asked for 2 omelettes at breakfast with different fillings. Chef couldn't remember which was which and suggested trying them to see; no available iron.

    The majority of the hotel team were friendly and helpful. Late check out request was accommodated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    My experience in novotel in lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap of the bidet was malfunctiong; no possibility to open the windows without asking to the reception; noises from the motorway and from the other rooms; the gym is very small and the tapis rouland doesn't work.

    The bathroom was large and comfortable; the internal restaurant offered a vast choice of meals; the breakfast is very well organized.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Not What i expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secured 150 EUR and another 150 EUR on another card despite free cancellation to get this released had to pay 120 EUR for night. All rooms only have one small window. Rooms are stuffy and smelly Hotel is very old Broken kettle

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Air conditioning was not cooling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not cooling. Called reception they to whole hotel air conditioner was on warmer so they came and opened the window but still in room it was warm. This was only a sad. Rest every thing was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Had a relaxing time and good food. Location not that great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the female reception staff were not all that friendly. TV was too small. View was not full on, only a corner of the room. Bathroom drainage smell was there. Location was not that great no shop in sight and train stations were too far away.

    Very spacious room, bathroom and big bed. Breakfast was great value for money. Waiters were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Will never come to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff was bad including higher management , rotten fruit was given for breakfast , no iron in room , staff don’t follow procedures , a/c is a big no no it doesn’t work

    Upgrade was offered

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.2
    I wouldn't Recommend it to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell in a room, dated and not very clean room; payable car park even though it's all empty. High Price doesn't reflect the standards

    Only the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Just location not ideal for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location for us was not great, although only 10 mins from the airport, to get into the centre of Lisbon was a long walk

    hotel staff very friendly, hotel very clean. Bar service was quite slow most of the time, especially during the day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable experience at the Novotel Lisboa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much really. I came in for a business visit first and then extended for a few vacation days. Stayed here last year too although only on business at that point. Found it to be a great property and value for money.

    The rooms are nice and comfortable, spacious enough and well maintained and clean. The overall look and feel of the hotel is also nice. Breakfast is quite a spread with a variety of items for every palate and food preference. Very accessible location to anything in Lisbon with (Uber) rides costing not more than a few Euros to mostly anywhere that one wants to visit in the vicinity. Even the airport is only about 12 minutes away (without traffic) so its a great location and very accessible indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, worth the money just a bit stingy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My main feedback is that the hotel did not acknowledge our phone call ( which me made to tell the hotel of a special anniversary but guy at front desk said just let us know when you arrive?!?) or any of our messages the we sent via the booking assistant prior to our arrival thus them not being aware that we were there for a very special occasion. However, after checking In the manager repeatedly said you should have let us known beforehand but let me see what I can do. The manager did however send us a pair of bath robes and slippers but we assumed it was complimentary as we would have hoped they would at least consider offering breakfast for their lack of good customer services and our overall disappointment to being ignored. The manager also kept referring to our VIP meal but we were not sent any meals to the room either. Overall, the hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are very spacious. I just wished the accepted their faults for not organizing their internal communications more effectively and not cheaping out on trying to make up for it either. I was very irate when nothing decent was offered and later apologized to the manger for my behavior which she accepted and I did say I would write an honest review. I am merely offering honest feedback which i hope they can learn from and not be as stingy to others in the future as they do represent a known brand, the stay was not cheap either which is why we were overall not impressed.

    It's a nice hotel with polite staff and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast are ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our sofa bed was broken and we complain 2 times but it was never fixed. We told them to fixed it for me to sleep comfortable but they did not do anything. Its a bit annoying that the sofa bed was slightly bend that i can't sleep properly at night. It is 4 star hotel but there is no slippers to used and robes too. Im a hotel stuff here in Finland and i know how it should be.

    Breakfast are ok. Cleanliness is very good and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Breakfast is worst And all other things are best . Even food menu is worst and no asian food at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is so bad. Novotel is an international brand. They know many Indians are staying with them. Still they gave full Continenatal breakfast Which all Asians And Indians blame. Poor breakfast arrangements and very little choice too. No asian food in food menu also . Too worst

    Ambience. Place , staff , location and staff are good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    Low expectations, as in Novotel standarts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my first room air conditioner for heating was not working. I wanted to call reception for the situation however phone was not working, too. After i called them with my cell phone they sent me housekeeper and she came and direclty open the window 😄 She doesnot speak English which is normal but i think neither receptionist can't. When i called reception again she told me it is not possible to heat room in this season (it was november and 6 C outside). However at the end of this tough conversation they suggested me to change my room.

    Breakfast was fine which is more than I expected.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable, easy to reach by public transport, quite good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Double Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated directly under the main flight path into Lisbon airport and although the windows are well insulated the noise can be disturbing

    Comfortable, easy to reach by public transport, quite good restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Other than the breakfast everything else was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The fact that breakfast was not included in the cost of the room 2. No slippers provided in the room 3. A tiny window to look out 4. Room very dark 5. No complimentary spa offered to guests like other hotels do 6. No complimentary pickup and drop off from and to the airport 7. Carpet very dirty 8. No handle bar in tub 9. Water clogging in both tub and basin 10. TV remote not working well

    The breakfast as a guest of a guest

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Stained and unhygienic carpets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall the hotel needs refurbishment and is not up to 4 star standard. We have stayed at this hotel several times and can notice the decline from our first stay more than 10 years ago. The windows in our room did not shut and we were disturbed by the noise from airplanes at the nearby airport, air conditioning did not work, carpets in rooms and corridors need to be urgently changed, full of stains and tears, very unhygienic. We were embarrassed at taking our friends with us to this hotel as they also had many problems. We will not be returning.

    Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful as we had several problems with our stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not ever return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed even though hotel was a fully booked hotel and 80 degrees outside.0 Waiting in long line to enter restaurant for breakfast (20 min) was told I had to pay first before entering even though I WAS STAYING THERE! Would have to wait in line again. Warning to all...! Bring wallet. Huge tourist bus of people staying overnight, checking in and out at same time, not pleasant. LOCATION IS TERRIBLE!!!

    Beds were big and comfortable. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was good, restaurant staff were very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff were abrupt, first contact at check in was "you made a mistake with your booking". I made no mistake their/booking.com system was at fault. Several emails later and still non the wiser!! My wife asked reception to book a taxi, she was told to flag one down it the street. Most areas of the hotel were clean although the carpet in the room was heavily stained.

    Breakfast was good, restaurant staff were very kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast was good but not included and expensive compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was worn down. Carpets in halls and rooms spotty. Not a place you want to walk with bare feet. Windows not to open. Had to ask reception to open. Planes fly over constantly so very noicy. All would be ok if price was lower. Way too expensive compared to what you get.

    Breakfast was good but not included and expensive compared to rest of Lissabon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We signed up for breakfast on booking but when we arrived they said we did not and would have to pay 13 Euros each. I don't like to be ripped off so we ate fruit in our room.

    The bed was comfortable and the front desk helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    3.0
    NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EVERYTHING1 LOCATION WAS HORRIBLE!!

    Very sterile environment. would never stay there again. In their description of their location they underestimated the distance to the Historic district...which was very deceiving and hence, MUCH TOO FAR FOR A VISIT FOR A FEW DAYS TO LISBON! The staff was initially unaccommodating, the bath was not draining, the windows don't open unless you ask for reception to help. The room is unappealing; quite grey & sterile not enough windows nor lighting. If you have a conference here, it's okay, but a waste of time to take the metro with a walk up a very steep hill back at night...inconvenient for a visit to the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    A bit old and overpriced, but if you have a price deal it is for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    far away from the center, though underground is only 10 min away. Our room had spigot broken. Gym is a joke, swimming pool is very small and outside with a view to a busy street - you can't really swim there and yoo don't want to take a sun bath as well...

    Pretty clean, good buffet, nice pastries, good personnel. Room was small but cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    Tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained carpets. Dated. Bad organising of breakfast-huge lines, crowded, the Bicicleta space should be open for breakfast, too many people for a small surface.

    Tasty breakfast Good value for Lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    If you are desperate stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't friendly, house cleaning didn't clean too well. The facilities was overpriced for the quality of stay.

    I liked the proximity of the hotel from the metro and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    We got the room next to elevators and were forced all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the room next to elevators and were forced all the time listen to sounds caused by electric motors. Soundproofing of rooms is highly recommended for this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location close to metro for centre and for airport with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing despite it being 34C in the shade!

    Good location close to metro for centre and for airport with bus right outside. Good restaurants in local area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Had all the facilities, nice pool, restaurant had a decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say this really did not live up to the usual Novotel standard. To begin, the room decor was very dated, and there was a stale smell. Secondly, my safe locked itself and it took three different staff to get it open. I also had a room phone which did not work, which I reported on the first day, and never got fixed. Further, in order to have pool towels, these need to be collected from reception, not by the girl near the pool who seemed to have nothing better to do than check her phone. The most annoying thing though was that the service was just so weird. Especially in the restaurant, the staff really found it difficult to speak English. I often sat and waited ages to be attended to. Or - they would stare at me oddly from the bar. All in all it was not worth the money and it was the most bizarre service I have ever encountered.

    Had all the facilities, nice pool, restaurant had a decent offering, free internet and printing and was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely and very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints...surprised at how many families stayed there with young kids as I thought it was more of a business hotel...

    Location, with easy access to downtown via Metro; just a 5 mins walk...hop on hop off bus stop right opposite hotel...tour buses prompt with hotel pick up...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Would make it my choice again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok but not particularly good. Very crowded at the buffet! Not Novotel's fault to be sure.

    Room was very comfortable and felt good. Would return

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and convenient for a football tournament group like us, but improve catering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service in bicycle restaurant especially in evening. Dinner catering for residents should be buffet meals like the ones they put on for tourist groups. One evening we were there the residents (us) had to have dinner from bicycle bar, very slow, while the restaurant was closed to residents for tourist groups - we felt excluded and the food was much better for non-residents! Disappointed that they did not anticipate the numbers.

    Very good breakfasts, comfortable rooms, friendly reception staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay - need to watch for elevator safety
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a serious safety issue related to the elevators. If doors are kept open for longer that 10 seconds an alarm sounds and the doors are closed even if there are people in front of it. Two members of my family were struck by the doors while we were getting in/out our luggages from the elevator.

    Location is good with easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast exceeded expectations, mainly in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few sun loungers in the pool area.

    Breakfast exceeded expectations, mainly in the esplanade/outside. Very spacious bathroom with a bathtub large enough for 2.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parkingspace although we asked in advance if it was available. Very, very small garage. Rooms are outdated. Very small window/ daylight. Badroom was fine, very clean. Hallway had very old carpet. Breakfast itself was ok but long line before you could enter. Hotel is too expensive for what you get.

    -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Family Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with double bed and sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was very helpful and did not deny any reasonable requests. The property has two Metro stations nearby and a shopping mall. That made it very easy to commute and to pick up food and drinks we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    2.9
    The staff could have been more friendly and more receptive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been more friendly and more receptive in helping others. The facilities were very poor. Simple directions to the tourist bus stop for the hop on hop off bus were wrongly provided or the staff just didn't know. The kettle in the room was broken. No proper cups in the room for coffee/ tea. A simple request for having a spoon brought up to the room incurs a charge of 3 Euro!!!!! The sofa bed was terrible, one could feel the springs poking into you. Despite having a confirmation for the same to be changed, nothing was done. We were told no bellboy to help with the luggage. While a group of other tourists were provided with help to deliver their luggage to their rooms. The electronic safe in the room malfunctioned, locking in all our valuables. The Duty manager was able to open it after struggling for 30 minutes. thereafter changing our room. Room cleaning doesn't happen till late afternoon, despite vacating the room at 930am and hanging the please make my room sign. We had requested for adjoining rooms which we were told are unavailable, this is despite having made the reservations weeks in advance. All in all a bad experience. Would not recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is great.The service is awesome.My son was sick during our stay in Lisbon and he vomited in the breakfast restaurant.The stuff were so helpful,especially Carina.She cleaned up the floor and brought us a hot towel to clean the dirties in the clothes.She even suggested us some drinks and cakes which is good for my son.What she did for us was really touching and made our journey brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location for public transportation
    • Group
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning never seemed to get cold (even on the lowest temperature and highest fan). Also, the restaurant staff seemed to have a very hard time keeping up with the number of guests. I ate there twice and things just seemed to take an exceptionally long time. Also, I was very disappointed to find out that a side salad -- literally the size of a garnish -- was €3.

    The bed was super comfortable and the location is just a short walk to public transportation (both bus and metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, horrible wifi! Take sone other hotel in the area!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is HORRIBLE! You can't even buffer a YouTube video and sometimes even telegram/WhatsApp don't work. Do not expect to work in the hotel if you need internet connection. This is unacceptable for a big hotel when you pay around 150€/night. Airport is nearby, planes are landing over your head all day long every 10 minutes, room sound insulation should have been done better! Internal parking is 12€/day, a bit expensive they should offer a discount for different days.

    Nice hotel in a business / hotels area. 10 minutes fron the airport and near a train and metro station. Easy to get in the city center with 20minutes of metro. Buffet breakfast is great! Wide choice of sweet and salty goods, everything looks fresh and good quality! one of the best continental breakfasts I had in a big hotel. Rooms are quite big with a comfortable bed and big bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu could have a bit more choises. After 3 nights you start to run out of choice.

    Breakfast was fantastic,also dinners were very good. Staff was super friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Good hotel for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfasts but cost extra. Try and get a booking with breakfast included. Taxis are not very expensive in Lisbon so it is easy to get in and out of the tourist areas of the city. Yellow hop on and hop off bus leaves from Stop number 6 on the same road as the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when asked for extra sachets of milk had to ask 3 times and then it never arrived lack of communication between reception and housekeeping

    the property was conveniently located to the metro only 10 minutes away. the hotel was beautifully decorated and the power shower was excellent. The staff were very accommodating, but check in could be made easier by allowing us into our rooms sooner than 12.00 especially on a hot day. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the courteous waiter who was serving the Portuguese custard tarts were exceptional. Very good as recommended by Rick Stein, it is quality at its best, carrying on the excellent work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Beds very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble checking in as their system does not recognise & in names took 3 people to finally locate booking. Eggs and bacon were cold worst breakfast I have had on the trip thankfully my husband did not come to breakfast admittedly after talking to management I was not charged. My sister & her husband did not complain but had the same experience and were charged.

    Beds very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent and delicious breakfast, clean room, good swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking - 11 Eur/day (quite expensive); Water in the pool was too cold

    Excellent and delicious breakfast, clean room, good swimming pool (after city visiting it is always nice to relax in the pool), good location (in 3 min walking distance from metro station)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value clean and comfortable option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to use public transport and walk to and from accommodation each day but better than very expensive inner city accommodation

    Car parking available but found on street free parking around back of motel which was a bonus. Room was clean and comfortable. AC was a little noisy but ok. Chose hotel for its value for money, ability to park car, close to metro and buses (about 500m), and quiet location. Ability to print tickets at hotel computer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Best stay for families with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being annoyed by people smoking right in front of the entrance of the hotel, I could not avoid passing next to them and having to smell the smoke. Maybe the smoking area could be moved a bit further and also have some kind of wall to avoid the smoke getting near the people at the entrance.

    We were surprised by the toilet and shower room. Hot and strong running water coming down the shower head. It was very relaxing after a long cold day of sightseeing the city on foot. Sorry, we didn't have time to checkout the gym and pool. Would suggest a common area where people could sit down with laptops and have a coffee to do some work. The 2 computers in the lobby are useful but not for someone who needs to sit down and reply to emails or do some work. For the whole, our experience at your hotel was great ! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast, staff is really friendly and helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit far from the city center but a metro station is located next to the hotel. The restaurant of the hotel proposes simple meals. It is ok for dinner when you don't have other plans but it is not really fancy.

    Great breakfast, staff is really friendly and helpful and room was really clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be quite busy at the reception and the hair dryer was not working. Luckily I always bring my own. Breakfast might not be worth €13 (still a great breakfast)

    Lovely accommodation. I would really recommend it! The location was perfect, little outside the city, it was a 10 minute drive with the taxi (around €5). The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very nice, not to soft not to hard. The breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.3
    Generally good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed for my children was not comfortable. The gym was too small to accommodate users from the hotel. Metro stop could have been nearer.

    The main bed was quite comfortable. The room was tidy and clean. Good food at the restaurant. Quick transfer via taxi to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Base From Which to Visit Lisbon and Surrounding Area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extensive with lots to choose from, fresh, and well worth the cost. The omelettes made on the spot were a special delight. Bed was super comfortable. Close and easy access to public transit. Great restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast. Clean. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a bit away from the center of the town. If your transportation is taken care of, then you have nothing to worry.

    Great breakfast. Hotel lives up to its expectations. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.4
    Location-near to the metro, railway and bus station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unskilled stuff, mess with checking in and payment and condition of air-conditioning

    Location-near to the metro, railway and bus station, interior really nice and clean, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    very friendly staff at the reception, nice environment, fast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    please provide also some more stuff, eg. slippers. Cafe at the hotel is very nice but waiters are not very fast and friendly as the rest hotel staff.

    very friendly staff at the reception, nice environment, fast wifi, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was just a little too north of river and close to airport. some aircraft noise at 9.30pm and around 5.30am if you sleep with window open

    room and staff and v good breakfast.excellent value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Great family hotel and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pullout bed was very uncomfortable, even for kids.

    The main bed was very comfy. The staff were all very helpful and knowledgeable. Loved that the buses/hop on hop off stopped in front of the hotel. Great that the metro and train station were close too. Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choices.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    Fine hotel for short breaks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in room rate. AC not working or centrally switched off. No shaving mirror.

    Stayed for 3 days. Comfortable and spacious room. Good restaurant. Sightseeing bus stop is next to the hotel. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Overall its a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't free on the day when I rented a car. Breakfast bit pricey. No mini market close by.

    Very close to metro (10min walk). Friendly staff with multi language skills. Bar opens till midnight. City tour bus stop just across the street. Good restaurant with reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    Bad Novotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy aircon, small window....which you cannot open because of the noisy street. Paper cups, plastic glasses, wooden spoons. Lisbon deserves better than that.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Go to Lisbon, for sure you don't have any repentance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were a little bit poor. The town is ditry but lovely.

    Breakfast it's very good and various. Personnel very kind and nice. The town is very nice and people friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Really friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful and informative regarding trips and travel options we had planned. Nothing was too much trouble. Bar and food were good value and this area had a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ariplanes passing on top of the hotel, but on a positive side the hotel was very near the airport and still in the city.

    A special praise goes to the staff that cleaned the hotel. They have done an extraordinary job.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    SECOND TIME FOR ME IN PORTUGAL .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THERE IS NO MASSAGE CENTER IN THE HOTEL ,U HAVE TO GO OUT SIDE THE HOTEL

    SECOND TIME FOR ME IN PORTUGAL ..MY FAVOR COUNTRY ...VERY CLEAN HOTEL CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT ...CLOSE TO THE UNDERGROUND ...CLOSE TO THE MALL ..LA CORTA DENGLISH MALL ...HAVE A NICE BREAKFAST

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.1
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the lobby restaurant was being renovated but we were moved to a higher floor so we didn't hear any noise. I

    Friendly staff who made every effort to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent and the cleaning people worked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airplanes on top of the head, but that also meant is was convenient for the airport. I am sure children would have loved that.

    The breakfast was excellent and the cleaning people worked very well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    2.9
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, comfort of rooms, pool was awful, rip-off. Overall miserable experience. Cannot properly accomodate family group althoughthey claim they can.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Family hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't count at comfort at swimming pool - it is very small and full of people during all day. Our room was stunky with smoke of cigarettes and the only help from the Reception was just information that smoking is striclly prohibited in all hotel.

    Really good and rich breakfast. Family hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Lisboa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: