Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa 4 stars

Estrada Nacional 18 - Sitio da Gramenesa, 6230-463 Fundão, Portugal

#1 of 5 hotels in Fundão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1558 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dim lighting, the restaurant closed on the night of our stay.

    It is a well maintained hotel with plenty of parking space, excellent choice of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did liked everything ..

    The decoration is beautiful and de surrounds around the garden the swimming pools it is diferente any other hotel the looking of the moutains e same thing beautiful the food and all the servicefrom all the staff it is top of the top.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was poor. Food was cold, waiters not very attentive. Notice mediocre. - expected better from such a restaurant high was quite expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hamburgers poolside could be a little cheaper. The carpets of the rooms on the first floor (where we were) could be swapped for something cleaner and more modern. The shower-head fell on my wife's head. That's something that should've been fixed earlier. Was fixed on the same day, though. The hotel gets a little crowded in August, but that's expected...it's a great place.

    Breakfast is great, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff is friendly, pools are great. To be honest, this is one of my favourite hotels in the country, especially since it's family friendly. Great place to go with kids and friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sliding bathroom door that wouldn't close, lack of signage. No evening bar after the pool closed at 8pm. Poor quality breakfast with sugary orange juice. Having requested gluten free my husband had to wait 30 minutes while the bread was cooked after he pointed out to the staff that is was only pre cooked. The surroundings(in the middle of an industrial area).

    the pool area was great. good underground car park. Bed was comfortable and room clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there in May not too busy but were told it gets very busy in the season so avoid this time if you don't like crowds

    Not much not to like about this hotel the facilities are excellent the staff very friendly and helpful the restaurant very good we were there on my birthday and my wife organised a cake and the hotel threw in a bottle of vinho verde on the house. Had some fun with the reception staff using my rubbish Portuguese and they were great, nice comfortable room and hot shower and the Wi Fi worked everywhere. It's only a 2 hour drive from where we live and we will definately be back, and remember Fundão is the cherry capital of Portugal and they were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym opening hour. It should open earlier for those that want to make exercise before breakfast. Nevertheless the closing hour is great.

    Excellent backgroud (garden, swimming pool, outside bar). Great breakfast. The staff is very nice and kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling from France to Lisbon and stopped overnight. The room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A buffet breakfast was included in the price and was very good with a varied selection of hot and cold dishes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning was erratic.Breakfast was very average.The bar was hidden from sight.And since hotel is out of town on the edge of industrial estate.Not much to do evening wise.

    Pool area was very good. The room was a good size.Housekeeping was good.Staff at reception very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, lovely pool, a real oasis.However, the town of Fundao is very quite although the Monday market is great. Ideal for a break on the way north.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast requires improvement. The lack o space next to the sink for placing personal amenities like toothpaste, toothbrush, etc, is a significant drawback. Depending on where to go in Serra da Estrela the location is not the best.

    The room was confortable, despite of the lack of a space in the bathroom for placing personal amenities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscina y los jardines expectaculares

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant servings are huge! Careful with sauces. Grilled meat served with lots of oily sauce :-(

    Great for kids and nice pools

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 16 years)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Casa de banho quarto/suite muito pequena

    Dimensão do quarto/suite excelente Restaurante do hotel recomendo, mas atenção à conta!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome breakfast! Extremely loving environment around the hotel. Very clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Stand out: barman Mario and Jose. Breakfast ladies very friendly :) cleaners: nice. Restaurant all waiters and waitress spot on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath plug no kettle in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The quirky bar and lovely pina colada served by the friendly bar staff. The restaurant was excellent with lovely food at good prices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs clearer signals to breakfast room and corridors on ground floor a bit cold.

    The staff and it also has one of the best restaurants in Fundao.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel has a funny smell. The restaurant is too crowded and was very expensive.

    Big rooms and a nice, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not working. Shower broken

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alcatifas....

    Do espaço exterior onde se localizam as piscinas, parece que estamos num local tropical mas localizado no interior de Portugal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaraunt

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna and Jacuzzi were cold and small.

    It was so dutiful place and good for relaxation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money all round.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst breakfast I've ever tried. Food and facilities bottom scaled.

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice rooms and allround very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit worn.

    Very interesting location, Island theme resort style, great restaurant and very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal but it was a wrong choice by us - not the hotel.

    The cleanliness and efficiency - helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was very hard. The rrstaurant staff brought items like french fries & rice with mushrooms to the table that we did not ask for and the items showed up on our bill.

    The restaurant was excellent, friendly helpful staff, good menu selections.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No vegetarian dishes or vegetables on the menu in the restaurant. You have to ask for it.

    comfortable room, nice breakfast, clean bathroom. Lots of facilities, big swimmingpool, indoor pool etc. Very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A see through glass wall seperates the bathroom and the twin bedroom which might be awkward if ur not a couple.On the other hand, the double bedrooms have normal walls but are small

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Our second trip to the hotel (both times en route to the Algarve) and we found it just as good this time. Great facilities and amazing value for money, especially considering the room rate includes the fabulous eat-all-you-can buffet breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant and bar were closed on the day we arrived due to an end of season pool party which meant there were lots and lots of children running around! The air conditioning unit sounded like it was about to take off when running and we had to turn it off so it was too hot to sleep. My wife went to use the pool facilities and got berated by the locals because she wasn't wearing a swimming cap, as she had not been told she needed one, and then got charged 5euros for one.

    Proximity to the Serra de Estella Mountains. The swimming pools, the underground parking facilities, the accomodation. The reception clerk recommending a fabulous local restuarant when we found out the onsite restaurant was closed on the day we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I would not call this hotel a SPA hotel. Sauna did not work (it was cold, switched off) and we were obliget to wear the swimming hat. AT the reception they explained that they have it for sale... since I did not want to buy it, they borrowed me two (they remained from previos clients!). I do not knwo if wearing a hat for the pool is still in use anywhere else? The rest was OK, definitely good price for the category! But is is low season...

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The first day we arrived, our room wasn't clean yet and we had to go to another room. - The second day, we returned from sightseeing at 15:00 and the room wasn't clean yet. - The inner pool was quite small and full of people every time we wanted to go there, so we ended up not going at all. - They had a free Tennis court but didn't have any racket. - Poor breakfast.

    - Large garden and nice outside swimming pool. - Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the most central but in Fundao I don't think it really matters that much

    Beautiful hotel. Spotlessly clean. Great restaurant. Cosy bar. Friendly, helpful and multilingual staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was really poor for a 4 stars hotel The Hotel only offers a very limited menu for lunch at the swimming pool bar and it has very bad quality

    Swimming pools Kids playground

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a pool party for the day of our stay and very loud dance music was played throughout the day around the pool. Every sun bed was full . The room was close to the pool and dingy. We needed to put cards in the room to activate the electricity and so we were unable to charge devices whilst out of the room. The breakfast was basic. Not a hotel for travel and stay overnight. No facilities for food for drink out side of breakfast or dinner other than a heaving pool bar serving alcohol or crisps. The restaurant seemed embarrassed to serve non Portuguese we were ignored by most waiters and the maître d' . We did eat by virtue of local diners sending the waiters to us and they saved us from a horrible pre made ice-cream dessert offered on the menu to show us the local desserts in the fridge which were not offered. Needless to say we will not return

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We made the reservation with another family group, paid the same price but rooms are not alike at all, did not have the same facilities but specialy the our bathroom was not in great conditions...A bit desappointed for a 4 stars hotel.

    Pools are great, friendly staff, a great place to enjoy the weather and relax!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    did not like the room face to know that the hotel facilities, such as the visual landscape of the same; I have made known this, but I also understand that the hotel was in full

    I liked the environment, cleaning and care workers

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant evening food disappointing - one meal too salty and the curry rather tasteless.

    Excellent facilities, very clean luxury accommodation, friendly helpful staff. Great pool. Located for trip into Serra da Estrela - amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that spoilt our stay was the lack of a decent cup of tea, I know that being English we are fussy about a good cuppa but the tea available at breakfast was truly awful I will be taking my own teabags on our next visit!!!!!!!

    The exterior belies the truly beautiful interior, very tranquil atmosphere, warm and welcoming staff. The excellent restaurant with a modern twist on traditional Portuguese menu was wonderful. A lovely short break, enjoyed it so much we have book again.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No 'bad' experiences; only comment is, the lighting in the long passages are a bit too dark. The lights are not instantaneously lit, so need to wait in the dark before the lights go on, e.g. when going to the ladies' toilet near the bar.

    Beautifully set out. Loved the pool area with the bridges and islands.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is on the edge of town and walking would be by a busy main road. Could not read in our room as it was too dark.

    Clean, interesting décor in the corridors

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.Corridors were dimly lit 2.Room had excellent view of roofs and rubbish bins 3.Restaurant food came with burnt meat and fish and cold veg(twice!)

    1.Staff helpful though slightly aloof 2.Lots of parking space,being out of town 3.Useful having ATM in foyer

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    (Minor points compared to what I did like) Aircon persisted in making rattling noise even after turn off (reported in morning) Wifi a bit flaky in the room

    Excellent breakfast.Helpful staff. Spacious room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My stay was to short, that is the only thing not to like.

    The staff are always friendly and helpful, nothing is to much trouble. On site parking and great facilities for the price.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed - we were not told in advance. Bad bed, noise from adjacent rooms - thin walls.

    Pool area. Secure parking. Pleasing public areas. Helpful staff. The restaurant, Mario's, up the road that reception staff booked for us as the hotel restaurant was closed.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent service, very friendly helpfull staff, can not fault this hotel for value and comfort, would stay again

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was cold.

    Excellent location. Very secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Occasional bad drain smell.

    The room was really comfortable, staff in hotel and great restaurant were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Falta de menu infantil no restaurante.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot buffet was cold, freezing actually

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    thought that the extra charge for superior room was poor value

    excellent hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed springs need oiling!!

    Efficient and pleasant service

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do Hotel no seu todo, do sossego, da simpatia do staff, do restaurante do pequeno almoço... etc.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No balcony to our room

    Swiming pools and facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not informed that Restaurant was not open during our stay

    Lovely clean hotel, friendly staff, great pool area

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent accomodation and location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely indoor & outdoor pools. Atmospheric restaurant, with great food and service. Hotel kept spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bathroom was not very clean. Breakfast was very limited in choice for the price and hotel's stars.

    Very friendly and acomodating staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: