Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Olissippo Castelo 4 stars

Rua Costa do Castelo, 126, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-179 Lisbon, Portugal

#69 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 828 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. Choice of fruit was limited, cooked breakfast looked unappetizing so didn’t try it. No staff seemed to be on duty so tables were left uncleared and there were no spare cups, crockery etc even though it was self service. For 3 days our breakfast was €148!! Didn’t notice when booking as was included in the room rate, but was broken down on the bill. Could definitely do better on the breakfast.

    Location was excellent, staff very pleasant, room very comfortable, well appointed and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows rather uncomfortable.

    Although on top of one of the famous hills of Lisbon and the climb could be taxing, the hotel was well worth it. The rooms all have a beautiful view, very spacious, quiet and very clean. The breakfast was very good, great coffee and staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints that the hotel could control. Lisbon is a run down, dirty city in general and the neighborhood was no exception. Walking back from the tourist areas was challenging due to steep hills in the city.

    Hotel was quiet, away from late night partiers in charming area. Breakfast buffet more than adequate with hot and cold foods. Front desk staff were excellent. Rui was especially helpful as a concierge and gave us a wonderful overview of the city and sights, booked reservations, etc. The complimentary bottle of port was a nice touch. Premises were clean and in good working order. Patio was nice to have. Free Wifi was excellent. Walking to the hop on bus station / public bus was easy. There was a parking garage inside the building, which would have been useful if we were driving as parking is difficult. Taxi had no problem finding the hotel even though it's off the beaten path.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have no negative feedback from our stay.

    Wonderful view over the city. A very comfortable bed, in a spacious, well-maintained, and very clean room. Great breakfast - with espresso maker! The complementary little bottle of port, with decanter and glasses was a nice, and appreciated, surprise. Walking distance from Martim Moniz Square and St George's Castle - just be aware that it is on the hill and short-cuts involve (lots of) stairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor behaviour when asked for more tea and milk. This is hardly a cost but the cost to a hotel’s reputation is huge. To hear a man in the kitchen complaining about a woman’s request for extra tea is remembered

    Excellent room with wonderful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only negative, was that at breakfast the tables were not cleared and the hot food and pastries were not replenished very promptly. This was no fault of the staff as they worked very hard. This was due to the fact that the one staff member was doing everything !!!!!!! the Hotel was full

    everything about the hotel was really good, we had a very large room looking down into Lisbon and the view at night was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not really soundproof. You can hear the folk on the balcony above and people talking in the next room. For the price, they should really do something about that. Apart from that...all great!

    Great room, lovely balcony, front desk very helpful and recommended a great restaurant. We were up at 4am the next day and they also organised a taxi for us to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in a restricted driving zone so only taxis allowed for door to door drop off. The metro and Rosio train station is a 10-15 minute walk down hill. Elevator to the Baixa only operates 9 to 9

    The staff was great, breakfast was good and very clean. Walking distance to Castelo Sao Jorge and the Alfama

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hotel room with a view! Situated on a hill close to the castle with a terrace overlooking Lisbon. Just great! Our suite was really nice and well equipped. A welcome Portwine was waiting in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a terrace / designated place for smokers

    The rooms are large, very confortable, very clean and with an exceptional view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazing as well as the terrace balcony overlooking Lisbon's old town. We went for my partner's 30th birthday and was met by the staff with a bottle of complimentary champagne for the occasion. Clean, Friendly and within walking distance to some lovely little tapas and wine bars, try the Portugese green wine... it was amazing. Please be aware this area of Lisbon may not be for you if you have mobility issues due to the steep slopes and traditional cobbleed streets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but ordinary. Price for superior room was high I thought compared with other cities we have stayed in.

    Location is lovely, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms were quiet and quite spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really, perhaps not as much atmosphere as one would like, but then it is quite a small hotel which we prefer anyway.

    The location was spot on for us, within a short walk of the restaurants and bars in Alfama, and there was also a really good restaurant just a couple of doors away. We didn't book a terrace room as the price difference seemed so big and in the end the weather wasn't very good so we wouldn't haved used one, but in good weather it would definitely be worth the difference in price. The room was big and very comfortable anyway, with a fantastic view. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should inform guests arriving by car about access. It is on a restricted road and you basically get stuck without the access code. The bathroom could use an upgrade, especially the shower.

    Location could not have been better. Breakfast was good value. Great view on the castle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I found the breakfast just “ok”. There was a limited choice and the quality of products (jam, honey, cheese, croissants) needs to be improved really considering the expected standards from a 4-star hotel.

    The design of the superior room, big terrace and the view from it were all amazing. Rui was for us the best member of staff, he was attentive to details and very welcoming. The location is also nice, about 10-minute walk to the Castelo S. Jorge, 3-minute walk to the restaurant St Andre which was amazingly good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though we did put the the hotel bar to good use you are not overly encouraged to use the Bar area in the evening and therefore it lacks any atmosphere. I would suggest some background music, maybe some "nibbles" served with the drinks, HAPPY HOUR, etc.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room of average size for superior room . Patio not private and other guests could see into our room from their patio. Had to constantly request extra milk as one millilitre each was very mean . Breakfast average as we were vegetarians and could not eat bacon and sausage.But fruit salad and pastries was lovely.But all quite poor in comparison to other places we have stayed in Portugal for a lot less money

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room for the breakfast is too small for the number of guests

    Excellent position and wonderfull view of the Nostra Senora do monte and of one of the Libon hills. Very good and reach breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a junior suite with a balcony for my parents but on arrival they were told only one junior suite has a balcony so they didn’t get one which was a shame because the balcony was the main reason I paid all the money for that room, without the balcony I wouldn’t recommend the junior suite especially for the price. The female staff were rude at breakfast and the female staff at reception. Breakfast ran out of all pastries after 9.30 both days, breakfast could definitely be improved. The staff at breakfast were unhelpful and hidden in the kitchen so if you needed anything they weren’t there.

    The male staff on reception and behind the bar in the evening were incredible! So polite and helpful. The views were amazing from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a cig butt on patio....could have been thrown there from somewhere else. One chair in bedroom had slightly worn arms. Very very minor items above.

    Outstanding staff...Sofia, Luis, Rui Breakfast 10/10 Room service menu was limited but excellent prices, quality and service. The owners of this hotel should be very proud of their staff and their hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    reception was very helpful for the selection and reservation of restaurants we got a room upgrade, with a great terrace with a view my wife got a bottle of champagne for her birthday; they had noticed the date on her identity card

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC is a piece of garbage. If you set it to auto and 26 degrees it still blows cold air even if the room is cold. Me and my girlfriend cought a flu because of that. Really poor AC for a 4star hotel.

    Great view and position in the city, near all important points. Staff was really nice, had no problems, prices are quite low for a 4star hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, we were very happy with everything.

    Great choices for breakfast to suit all the tastes in our party. Very spacious room with super king size bed and lovely seating area, perfect for relaxing after a day sightseeing. Very large bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walk up to hotel on the cobbles!! This may be difficult for some people.

    The balcony was out of this world, just a shame we were there in February & couldn't use it. Great size bedroom with lovely beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which would have made it perfect was a terrace with a bar to sit outside.

    Super view from room. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street has a kind of gate (protusion from the ground) which has to lowered by phone with a code. No one had told us about that and took us a while to figure out that. The hotel should warn the customers about that.

    Excellent rooms and staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. It was a little hard to find but we enjoyed the adventure of looking for it.

    The room was a super size (room301) and had a terrace with a lovely view of parts of the old town. The breakfast wasn't included but was a reasonable €7.50 each and had a great choice of fruit, pastries, eggs and cereals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no care access to the hotel, so you will have to walk with your bags to and from a taxi ca 4-5 minutes. The breakfast was quite average.

    The location is quite good, except for the issue with car access.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it. But would warn anyone with mobility issues to choose a more suitable location

    This is a wonderful location but would be problematic for someone who battles with stairs and hills. This is because the hotel is on the side of one of Lisbon’s many hills. It can be reached by Tram 12 when touring. But best is to explore follow the meandering streets and stairs down to the central and flat parts of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room, very comfortable, nice linen. Tea-making facilities always appreciated in the room but especially when suffering from a cold! The friendly, courteous staff made all the difference when I was ill during my stay. They could not have been kinder or more helpful. Breakfast was perfect, an excellent choice of fresh produce, with lovely table linen and settings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel specifically because it had parking. However on arrival we were advised the garage was full. It only takes 3 cars. This is not clear at all in any of the descriptions. After over an hour of trying to find a parking space we ended up back at the hotel, pleaded with them to make room. To my extreme annoyance a member of staff then moved their car out of the garage so we could park there.

    Bedroom was a decent size. Location is very good for walking to key sites (not good if you are in a car though!). Apart from the parking issue, staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in the room was effective but a little bit on the noisy side. The buffet breakfast was fine as far as it went, although not a particularly huge selection on offer. I thought the breakfast wasn't quite in the same league as the room.

    A very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable hotel in a very scenic location. Our room was very pleasant, very quiet, nice big en suite bathroom. The room even had an outside terrace area with a beautiful view over Lisbon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a taxi for the airport at 8:30 and it was 20+ minutes late. Explained away as traffic problem, it was rush hour and they should know about traffic - they live there. Felt rushed to make flight.

    Large room with balcony overlooking the city from a high point.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is both good and bad, being too remote from the city center for an easy walk but close to the Castelo de S. Jorge, which is a must-visit. And the Alfama neighborhood does not have a great choice in restaurants. Be prepared for lots and lots of hills and steps if you plan on walking anywhere in Lisbon!

    This small hotel has been recently remodeled and is very attractive inside, both the lobby and the rooms. We paid for a "comfort" room which had a sitting area which provided a lot of extra room. The rooms all had a large extended patio/balcony with a great view of Lisbon and room for a small party. The free wi-fi worked perfectly everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite literally, nothing

    Excellent front office staff. Perfect, spotlessly clean, large room with large balcony and outstanding views. Very comfortable bed, good shower, good towels. Terrific breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road access to the hotel is narrow, steep and there is a bollard which restricts access to the section of the street where the hotel is located (we phoned the hotel who gave us the code to drop the bollard). There is only space for 3 cars in the garage - we had reserved a space in advance. Due to the steep cobbled streets, we took taxis when we were going to restaurants in the Chiado area of the city.

    The hotel is located at the top of a hill very close to the Castelo Sao Jorge. We were upgraded to a room with a terrace: the room was very comfortable and spacious and the views from the terrace were superb. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Rossio station where you can catch a train to Sintra and 10 minutes from Praca da Figueira to catch a tram to Belem. The receptionist gave us guidance on the best walking routes to restaurants and other places that we wished to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast menu could be better. More fruits and milk would be great. However there are many nice cafes around, so it's not a big bother.

    Perfect place for a first time trip to Lisbon. Right in the middle of old district Alfama, which is a living museum in itself. The hotel location is perfect for venturing around. It's only 10mins walk to the main shopping district and town square Rossio. The hotel staff are super helpful. The hotel is a very safe place, although beware of pick pockets wandering around the castle area. They tried it on us but failed. Highly recommend this hotel for peace of mind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Super nice and helpful staff, more than excellent breakfast. Comfy rooms with big bathroom which is rare in Europe. Joao was great, always with a smile and very helpful. The hotel is very near of several tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was given the wrong room, I had booked with terrace and was given standard and whilst very nice room was not what was booked through Booking.com and confirmed by them. I also emailed both Booking.com and the hotel direct as instructed to include breakfast in the terrace booking to find it was not included at reception and we had to sign each day for and pay on departure. The bar closed sharp at 11pm every night for breakfast prep.

    The standard double room was large and very well presented, the bathroom was excellent as was the bed and views from the room. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast very good, especially the fresh fruit salad.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to get hotel by walk. Breakfast is poor. Staff is good and friendly, but they coldn t to help me to get ticket for football game. They didn t know were to buy ticket in Lissboa.

    Big, clean room. Terrassa in most of rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have had more variety, although the coffee was excellent and the croissants delicious. Walking up the hill to the hotel, although worth for the view, was not as much or the feet :)) As I understand, it is part of getting familiar with Lisbon experience.

    The staff made the difference. Rui, the evening/night manager went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. He is a gem, knowledgeable of the area and ready to assist at a moment notice. In the restaurant, St. Andres around the corner, the sardines are delicious and Fado on Sat and Sun is wonderful and genuine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They knew we had a car but did not advise that There is a barrier at the bottom of the hill prohibiting a car From passing unless you have a pass code. Unable to turn around my wife had to climb the hill to the hotel to get the pass code while I sat in the car listening to irate drivers honking.

    Do not go if you have a car. Also, the photos on Booking.com give you a false impression of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were slightly unfortunate when we checked out,in that there was a large group checking in so there was quite a wait. But that really was the only small matter.

    Staff were friendly,room was very comfortable and spacious. View was wonderful. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The selection of jams at breakfast was very limited and of mediocre quality. Nothing else.

    Very clean and comfortable, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff who spoke excellent English

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great but you need to be in your health for all the hills , not a place for the mature person who would have trouble walking the steep hills. The breakfast is limited as this is a boutique hotel.

    The location of the hotel in in the old part of Lisbon and walking distance to all the old bars and restaurants. Also very close to the Castle and old churches. The views were very good from our balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast could have been more varied. After 10 days some variety would have been welcomed.

    Unless you are prepared to take a taxi to the hotel, you have to be reasonable fit - not super-fit - but capable of walking up and down steps & hills. Use the steps to explore the hidden Lisbon and soak up the local life. Location of hotel is superb but don't be put off by the graffiti in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive up to hotel a bit challenging as up a very steep hill. A/C so noisy we had to turn it off and unfortunately there was no engineer available to sort it for the two nights we stayed. They did give us complimentary car parking instead though which was fair.

    Nice interior and bedroom too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great for access to old town Lisbon and views of the surrounding area. Staff are friendly and very welcoming. Access is via the road at the front of the Moorish castle. A little confusing however once you have gone down the hill .... Get a taxi back !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the hotel by car was very very difficult given that there is a barrier to going up the road to the hotel. The staff (at first) were not at all helpful in addressing the issue that we could not bring the car up to the hotel. This needs to be addressed by management as the person in charge would not allow us entry to the access road even though we advised we were guests of the hotel and continually hung up on us. In fact while we were trying to gain access a car drove through the barrier (by accident) and the car was seriously damaged.

    The rooms and bathrooms were lovely and spacious with a beautiful view overlooking the city. The welcome port in the room made one feel very pampered. After the initial problems relating to the car staff was very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in room 403 was appalling, totally non adjustable, couldn't lower the temperature at all. We couldn't turn it off at night so had to put up with a noisy fan running but not cooling the air. Would not recommend the upper rooms to anyone since I think this was a problem of trying to retrofit an old building with a small air-con unit that just could not cope with the high temperatures in Lisbon at the time. All staff said was that the air-con was operating, with no attempt to help. Also didn't think that the combined lounge, bar , breakfast room and reception was up to a 4 star standard.

    Room was very spacious, bed comfortable and very clean. Luis on reception was very helpful, the other reception staff tried hard but their english was not always up to the questions asked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is nothing they can control. Sometimes cars can't get to it.

    Great value for the money. Location is kinda a pain to get to and from, but I loved my stay there overall. Awesome staff and my room was great and had a breathtaking view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that gave me a problem was the slightly noisy air con unit (not rattly, just a bit noisy). My husband was bothered and slept through it!

    The area is touristy, but the hotel is on a street with restricted vehicular access and was very quiet. Like several before us, we booked a standard room but were given an upgrade on arrival to one with a terrace. Good variety at breakfast with bread, cheese, ham, cereal etc through to lovely pastries, muffins and the local speciality, custard tarts. (We didn't fancy the scrambled egg and bacon though). It is a great place to set out to explore Lisbon from, but it is at the top of a very long hill so it might not be for everyone - there is a regular tram service nearby that goes up and down to the town. We intend to return in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our favorite hotel in Lisbon, only warm feelings about this place! The view is just wonderful! And special thanks to Rui on the reception for his attention and care!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everyting exceded our expectations!

    Amazing view and perfect comfort. We would have liked to stay langer in the hotel. We received a free update to a superior room. This was perfect because of the private terras, with a view on the city. We loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just... nothing.

    The room was just amazing, nice bathroom, maybe a little bit old style, but still great. Very friendly staff, also with babies. The view of Lisbon from the room is exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Olissippo Castelo is in the restricted part of town, above the Alfama. This means, that in order to get to the hotel you have to pass a barrier (one of those tank stopping things that come up out of the road) - this was not mentioned in the booking... I didn't realize this, and after I waited a while at the barrier (assuming it would lower magically at some point when the time was right), the person in the car behind told me how the system works... You need special permission from the city to go through the barrier - and to the street where the hotel is.... In the end, he drove through and I hurried in after him. Make sure you get the details from the hotel before you arrive - otherwise it's a major nuisance for you and the many many many cars and tuk-tuks behind you.

    The Olissippo Castelo is a great vantage point to view and explore the city of Lisbon. Conveniently located next to the Castelo (hence the name), the hotel provides easy access to all the main sights as well as the Fado bars and restaurants of the Alfama. My room had a beautiful terrace, with a view of the city - perfect place to enjoy a cold beer after a day of walking up and down the many hills of the city. The staff was very helpful, and professionally friendly. The hotel has indoor parking possibility for 4 cars, and I can imagine that it's necessary to reserve in advance - I was lucky I arrived early and got a spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge. They have very few spaces available and you cannot reserve a spot which posed a problem when we got there because they also don't tell you the the road to the property is closed off and the entry is controlled by the city hall. However the staff went above and beyond to help us get into the road and then get to the public parking. One of the staff actually came with us to help as we didn't speak Portugese!

    Great location. Easy walk to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Comfortable, very clean, beautiful views , such friendly helpful staff who went to every length to make our stay enjoyable. We loved every minute of our break in Lisbon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inhouse restaurant is not good. Do not order anything from them. Expensive and food not good.

    I was upgraded to a lovely room with a balcony at no extra charge. Breakfast was nice. Coffee excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit pricey but possibly worth it

    Nice staff, good breakfast, lovely view, quiet but close to town centre,difficult to find and access as streets not well marked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to report.

    The hotel has excellent, comfortable facilities. The breakfast is of a high standard with a good variety of food in a convivial atmosphere. The staff are brilliant and very helpful at all times. After a late flight, we were welcomed warmly and given every help to our room. We then left out bags safely on the last day. The room was spotless with lots of lovely touches. This is our second visit and we hope to come again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unhelpful and rude. We had to ask them to unlock the hotel door to go out and ring a bell to get back in. Travel advice inaccurate. Kettle and cups in room removed during the day so not good if you wanted a drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we arrived on the evening of the Feast of Saint Antony. All of the roads around the Hotel were closed and we had to walk up and down the very steep hills, lugging cases and against the flow of a tide of revellers celebrating. That was not the fault of the Hotel though and our stay was otherwise really good.

    The staff at the Hotel were really friendly and provided lots of information about travelling around the City. We had a room with a balcony which had a lovely view across to Bairro Alto. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Tip - we drove into Lisbon and from the centre hailed a taxi to lead the way through the narrow streets and past the barrier to the hotel. Good value at E8.

    Staff are really helpful going out of their way to anticipate our (3 couples) needs (adjacent rooms, table arrangements at breakfast, car parking). The location was great, near the castle and within ten minute walking through amazing narrow cobbled streets to the centre. Tip - there are lots of good small nearby family restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The breakfast was excellent & set us up for the day! We had a lovely view from our terrace (see photo). The staff were particularly helpful & all spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff. Location was great, but still quite a walk from the metro-uphill. Breakfast was good, make sure you add as we did not find places that were open close by at that time. Port was complementary in the room which was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff very helpful and informative. When we arrived the lady at reception gave us an overview of the local area, and some suggested easy to follow routes as an introduction to the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is hilly and difficult to walk to the centre. The good news is that taxi are comparatively cheap in Lisbon and easily available.

    Near to the castle which gives a good view of the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel's location is great -- BUT, don't rent a car and bring it there. It's a nightmare to drive in that area of Lisbon and there's a gate at the end of the road which may or may not be opened when you need it to be open. Expect to walk up hill to get there. But once you're there, it's quite nice.

    The staff went above and beyond to help with a transportation problem. The room's terrace was a nice place to relax in the evenings and the view was great. The room itself was comfortable and a nice size. The breakfast in the morning was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the hotel was old fashioned and needed updating. Graffiti on wall immediately outside and opposite hotel was an eyesore, first thing you see once you turn after stepping out of the lift!

    Big room and bathroom, comfy bed, large terrace was unexpected , complimentary port wine was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to by car. I should have been given an instruction about lowering the bollard.

    Parking on the spot. View. Good sized room. Help from staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming and need a special mention. We asked for several recommendations and transport advice and they could not have been more attentive and happy to help. The hotel was lovely and in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows lumpy and most definitely not feather.

    The most helpful receptionist ever. He guided and helped out throughout our stay, phoned for cabs, booked restaurants, gave us advice and was generally charming. The situation of the hotel could not be better with wonderful views and close to main sites but just slightly off the beaten track so peaceful as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told when we arrived that breakfast was included in our proce- both my hisband and I asked about this. When we were doing check-out, another staff member told us it was not and would not budge after we had explained the confussion. He basically did not care that there had been a misunderstanding, just showed us the initial booking details and told us we had to pay. He never apologized nor acknowledged there could be an option for not charging (it was just 15 Euros!) and made is feel like we were trying to get away with murder for just having had breakfast. Of course in the end we paid and left Lisbon with a bittersweet feeling.

    Great location in middle of Alfama and close to Castle, a few steps away from fado music and sunset watching miradoures.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to find and even more difficult to drive to. We had difficulty getting the city to lower the pillion to get to the hotel.

    Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Olissippo Castelo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: