Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orca Praia 3 stars

Estrada Monumental-Praia do Arieiro, Sao Martinho, 9000-236 Funchal, Portugal

#48 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    lovely relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Access to the pool area too steep, having to pay for a kettle and sun lounger for the terrace. Also the promenade and wartime tunnels were closed as was the supermercado above them so the nearest supermarket was at the Forum shops

    Staff were very helpful, location was stunning, rooms were comfortable, great showers, buffet style restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    The view from the bedroom is rather lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains smell weird and they need to be changed as soon as possible. The sofa is peeling, same way as the curtains, and it also needs a renovation. The bedroom, overall, smells like something old. Employees Rita and Fatima that work at the reception were not very polite.

    The view is so beautiful! You can sleep with the sound of the breaking of sea waves on the shore. The breakfast was also excellent. The bathroom set is a kind touch. Employees Teresa and Carmo that work at the reception were really helpful and gentle, as well as all the waiters.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    This was one of our best accommodation experiences ever. Comfortable, friendly, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make our experience special and comfy. The terrace and the view were superb. So was the breakfast. We're definitely coming back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    very relaxing and quiet due little distance to touristic centre of Funchal but easy to reach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only point here are the beds which I felt a little hard - but this is my personal feeling and doesn't reduce my rating. Would ever come back to this stunning and quiet place. Did I mention the sunset? :)

    Warm welcome at check-in with plenty of recommendations and answers to all questions. Staff always friendly and kind. Rooms facing the ocean with a huge terrace to relax. Short distance to the beach and pool area. Big and clean bathroom. Nice selection of massages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous view to the sea from the big room and from the big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Air condition in the room (but in the night you can open doors to terrace and get fresh air from the Atlantic at least in the night).

    Gorgeous view to the sea from the big room and from the big terrace. Sun until late evening (although maybe no sunset visible / at lest in Sept.). Sound of ocean can be heard if you can enjoy. Lovely part of Famosa Beach right in in front of the hotel and promenade to Funchal and Camara De Lobos; good pool area with beds at the hotel in front of the beach. Very cooperative and polite kitchen team, good meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice well maintained hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard for us. Would be nice with a little softer ones. The restaurant was OK but not great. We found it more valuble to eat out in the evening. Thee was no supermarket nearby for cheap water and other needs...

    Three star hotel. Well maintained and clean. Nice room with big balcony. Quite. The hotel is terassed on the mountain almost all the way down to sealevel. All rooms has sea view. Nice staff very serviceminded. Situated at the beach in the western outer part of Funchal not far from Camara do lobos. Nice beach promenade between Funchal and Camara do Lobos by the sea with a few nice restaurants on the way. Nice pool just by the sea. In May when we were there, not crowdy att all. Breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel if you're looking just to stay in there & go no further
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No shop close by for water/crisps/fruit/sun cream etc. 20-30min walk & quite hilly. -Not many good places to eat close by (with the exception of Aconchego (turn left at front of hotel).

    Clean hotel, friendly & helpful staff Pool bar is good Pool very clean & looked after Close to beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel has a perfect Position and the room was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No extra pillows in the room and old forniture. Breakfast without fresh fruits (madeira is one of the biggest producers of fruits), we ordered a fruit plate for an extra cost and it was miserable. The staff never greeted except a few employees at the reception. Wi fi for 7 euros for one week.

    The Hotel has a perfect Position and the room was very clean and big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Location and sea view are a real plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Has some sort of a retirement home feeling outside of school holidays. But I assume it is the same in each of Madeira's resorts. Parking could be improved: we were never able to find a spot after 8pm and had to park outside every day.

    Location and sea view are a real plus. Pool on the beach is quite nice and well maintained. Breakfast buffet diverse enough to satisfy everyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    3.3
    The balcony we had gave a vista that is truly stunning and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked three nights at the hotel for myself and my grandma for her birthday. Upon arrival, I quickly realised I may have made a mistake: the trip down from the -10th floor to the pool/beach area is quite steep with many stairs that even I found challenging (somehow, though, my gram managed while still having a laugh!) Be warned though, it's quite intense, as is the trip down to the hotel entrance from the parking area. The room itself is of quality expected from a motel: decrepit furniture, stiff beds, no fridge or even a kettle - really bare bones. The room also had no AC or even a fan, which I should have checked in advance but assumed was a basic thing. When we arrived, we found the room to be insufferably hot in the summer heat. Thankfully opening the balconies helped some, though it was still hot enough that we made sure we were in the room as little as possible. We found the restaurant to be absurdly expensive for what it is: a no-frills buffet. The food was cold and uninspired. For 20 euros a person, it's wildly out of step from the top restaurants in the island. The alcohol was expensive too, both in the restaurant and in the bars. Definitely felt like I was being taken advantage of for being so far from other options. Worst of all was on the second day when I was yelled at and threatened by a receptionist. I had parked at the lower end of the hill in the only space available. There were no signs suggesting it was a no parking zone, and I had actually waited for a car to leave that space before parking my rental. Next morning as I left, a receptionist in uniform stormed out and yelled at me, threatening to have my car towed if I parked there again. As I tried to calmly explain, she continued to interrupt and berate me, gradually intensifying her attack. It was humiliating and completely out of line. Customer service across the board was abysmal.

    The balcony we had gave a vista that is truly stunning and unforgettable. My grandma was enamoured and wanted to spend the entire time looking out into the ocean and the passing ships. We also enjoyed the pool and beach area, particularly the snack bar. It wasn't at all crowded and provided plenty of amenities such as beach towels and umbrellas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel. Perfect to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. No air con. Not near a supermarket. But all that was outweighed by the positives!

    The hotel was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful views. Maids came everyday. Fab pool. Lovely walks. Nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Relaxing hotel, with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing, nice and peaceful by the sea within walking distance to next town and restaurants. Staff were friendly, and cleaning staff were superb. Room was huge with big balcony. Nice swimming area with easy access to beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The Hotel View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel View

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Great view, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was panoramic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Spacious room with balcony and nice ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Spacious room with balcony and nice ocean view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.8
    Room with fabulous sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the swimming pool and beach was very steep for any body who was not fit.

    The large balcony overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    + Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Lack of air conditioning - Poor signage in hotel

    + Amazing location + Very friendly staff + Room very clean and cosy + Perfect if you look for quiet place

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    8.3
    View from room, comfort, quiet, I enjoyed the continental...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only had one evening meal this was not very good, squid was overcooked and chewy, apology was made via a bottle of wine and a basket of fruit. transportation to Funchal could be more frequent.

    View from room, comfort, quiet, I enjoyed the continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    7.5
    Very calm and relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast.

    Very calm and relaxing environment. Fantastic view. Very friendly staff.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: