Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Charme Os Dois Galos

Vila Deixa O Resto , 7500-018 Santo André, Portugal

#4 of 6 hotels in Santo André

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Holiday. And hotel was between the Algarve and Lissabon.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find (we have to use google maps) and a little bit far away from the beach etc.

    It was very pleasant. The owners are dutch and we also so we can easy talk and they give us a lot of information.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The hosts were very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were able to relax in lovely surroundings. The hotel is in a quiet area with beautiful beaches nearby and a handful of lovely local restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.5
    A pleasant hotel in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI reception very poor in the area generally we were led to believe and certainly at the hotel.Car parking was restricted on the drive to 4/5 cars but cars could be parked on the street which can provide security concerns although it is a quiet neighbourhood

    room was comfortable and the owner family who were dutch werevery friendly and helpful. Dogs were welcome at the hotel and the owners had a very friendly dog themselves

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little bit outbof the way. But it was very good. Wifi wasnt very strong in the room.

    The room was very nice. The facilities were awesome. Bar and pool and garden very cool. Loved that it is pets allowed. The host had suggestion sugfestions of places to go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    So pleased to have found this lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have any criticisms at all.

    This extremely good hotel was made excellent by the hosting. The owners were friendly, warm and welcoming and they really made us feel at home. We loved the outdoor swimming pool with its own pool bar, and the relaxing garden with quiet seating areas amid beautiful planting. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet, meaning we slept very well. For us, this accommodation was head and shoulders above the majority of places we stayed at during our two-week drive through Portugal and we'd highly recommend it for both short and long stays. To get the full benefit, you really need a car, so that you can visit the beautiful sandy beach and lagoon of Santo Andre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Good location, quiet, friendly hosts, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a family run comfortable and charming hotel in a rural edge of village location with inland views. There are lovely well kept gardens and a good pool with bar area. The owners are helpful, friendly, speak several languages and want to ensure you have a good stay. We also had a non Portuguese dinner which was filling and tasty. The hotel was built to a very high standard quite a while ago and the quality of the fittings is high but not from this century. It has charm and is comfortable and for the location and price you couldn’t do better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Hope to be back soon. This was a happy place to stay and we admired the Twenties style bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not long enough. Next time we would like to spend at least a week here.

    We felt immediately at home in the lovely house with a superb garden. This place offered typical warm Dutch hospitality. The beach was only a few kms away and we managed to spend an afternoon swimming and hanging out on the beach. In fact I left a precious item of clothing behind and the owners very kindly offered to mail it to me. We fell in love with their lovely dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel in a great location! Will be back!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old taps in bathroom which did not work too good...but that was part of the old charm of the hotel.

    Very friendly owners. Nice big room. Good location close to Sto Andre. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Best view (buy only sea view!), underground free parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrace could be cleaner, flowers could be in a better state, one sun chair was absent when we arrived, but was brought next day by staff. Double bed was really a twin, but they managed to merge this to one so it was fine at the end, but... still. Spa and the pool in the partner hotel is not so cool, so don't expect much. Same for the pool downstairs in Villa Doris. Was a bit problem to get washing machine tablets, since we were using it twice a day.

    The sea view is perfect. Sunrise is yours. Terrace in our room was amazing, except it could be cleaner. Kitchen was well equipped and good for cooking something big. Free underground parking with elevator to your door (50 euros deposit needed for the parking remote locker). We were two with my wife, but it's good for 4 or with kids, since in our room was extra sofa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing oasis in a small "off the beaten track" town, characterful gem of a spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fixture and fittings were not my taste, but all worked well.

    The lovely pool area and garden for relaxing in, a very friendly welcome from the staff. The room was spacious and out in the corridor tea & coffee making facilities were available. The breakfast was varied and plentiful eating out on their morning balcony very pleasant. The interior decoration is a "blast from the past" which I enjoyed. Peaceful and quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, charming, close drive to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This beautiful hotel was exactly what we were looking for: quiet, charming, close to the beach/lagoon. The grounds were pretty and the staff was very helpful. We had a corner room on the second floor with lots of windows, we loved the natural light and breeze. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. Definitely a great spot for an off the beaten path, quiet, rural experience with close access to the beach of Santo André.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    The bedroom was a good size, with a very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an awful lot to do in the immediate vicinity.

    The bedroom was a good size, with a very comfy bed. I had asked for a downstairs bedroom and a walk in shower. I was given both of these requests. Vim, the owner, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. He recommended places to eat and places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for him. You could help yourself to tea and coffee, and there was a fridge, which guests could use. If you fancied a drink, there is a bar on the premises. Quiet, peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Friendly environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pipes from the bathroom were stinking a bit (but nothing that was not solved closing the door). There was any hygiene product in the toilette, no soap for the hands, no shower gel...only toilette paper. The internet connection at the garden/pool area was really really bad (but good in the bedroom)

    Friendly environment. The owners were super sympathetic and helpful. The Breakfast was good, tasty and with variety. There is a fridge where guest can place their own things. The room was clean, big and bright and the bed comfortable. The garden/pool area was really nice and cozy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very comfort and relaxing. We will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food and wine. Hotel very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    A dutch treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family and ambience very friendly and helpful even to the point that the son took the dog for a walk!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    The owner did a very good impression and they had a cute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner did a very good impression and they had a cute little dog welcoming you. A very nice house and a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    shhhhh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shhhhh...I don't want to tell other people about this place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Hosts were veryfriendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to locate

    Hosts were veryfriendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Good place to rest and to go exploring the beaches around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a little bit high

    The quiet and the confort

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Feels like home but better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Dutch family with two cats and a sweet dog made us feel very welcome! Thank you for having us! :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice owners, who suggested a good route for us to drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress is very hard

    Nice owners, who suggested a good route for us to drive. Beautiful room and off street parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Still and quiet leisure during travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite and nice location Very pleasant personnel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To short stay

    Excellent place to stay, fantastic owners and beautiful design surroundings. Most beautiful garden Ive ever seen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Just a great week off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was simply wonderful, felt like we're family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay between Lisabon and Alfarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay between Lisabon and Alfarve Great walking among cork oaks and eucalyptus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Would with pleasure stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners are very friendly, and sympathetic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    i enjoyed my stay at this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner was great, hotel comfy and clean and has everything required. breakfast was good. nice area. parking on driveway.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Intriguing house with interesting history and artifacts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I saw no signs/indicators from the N261, but easily obtained help from a resident .

    Intriguing house with interesting history and artifacts. Queenly bath. Quiet for sleeping. Host was welcoming and gave useful tips for scenic cycling routes.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    2.5
    Nothing whatsoever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't go there unless you want your girlfriend to leave you. No hot water, clogged drain in the shower, abysmal decoration, bad locker room smell in the living room, awful breakfast, offered no explanation or compensation other than "yes i know, i can't help it", and refused to take credit card for payment.

    Nothing whatsoever

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Nice garden and swimming pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice garden and swimming pool area. Many animals in garden, fishs, turtles, birds and lovely and very kind dog. Owner was very kindly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and silent place to sleep. Good private parking place. Short car drive to the beach and cities (Santiago, Santo Andre, Sines). Good breakfast and we got it early (7am). We were able to use fridge also.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    6.7
    Room very spacious and light, quiet place, no noise from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattresses feel too worn out, no fresh bread in breakfast

    Room very spacious and light, quiet place, no noise from other guests

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: