Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel do Bussaco 5 stars

Mata do Bussaco, 3050-261 Luso, Portugal

#8 of 12 hotels in Luso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2241 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    The place is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for double bed and got two singles. The feelling was that the staff didn't make an effort to help us. The food at the restaurant is not so good

    The place is beautiful! The waiters at the restaurant were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    This was the hunting lodge of King Carlos of Portugal,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A must stay, but as I said in the ‘good’ comments, this is not a glitzy 5 star concrete resort, but a slice of history. If you want glitz, go somewhere else, this was a royal residence.

    This was the hunting lodge of King Carlos of Portugal, completed about 1907, a year or so before he was assonated. It is over one hundred years old. It is not a modern 5 star resort but a trip back in time to what 5 star would have meant many years ago. Beautifully laid out gardens and bushland walks. Most similar palaces charge admittance with don’t touch signs everywhere. To stay in this beautiful hotel was an honour. We’d read the reviews of the dining experience and the food that were not glowing but we found the service warm and inviting and the food reasonably priced. The staff were constantly asking if they could be of assistance and we felt like we were honored guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to fault - just go in understanding it is a heritage building so it's not at all renovated.

    The location is amazing, staying right in the middle of the park. Breakfast is very good. The dinner is expensive but well worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Amazing building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk said they're is no internet in the rooms, we had no internet anywhere. Not in the lobby or bar were were to it was available. No internet whatsoever! No bartender at the bar for over a half hour then we never received our order. The rooms were quite run down, with cracking, worn and pealing paint. Mold in shower.

    Great check-in and service from George,he was extremely helpful and nice. Great dinner and wonderful service from Phillip. The breakfast was amazing! A beautiful and historic building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast buffet was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff when we registered was not friendly and very "stiff"..... and didn't seam to want to want to have to customers....very rigid atmosphere like if they wanted to give a high class atmosphomer of the 1950s. The decoration is the rooms is a mix-matched and just old furniture that in put there without value. The chandelier in the room had missing lights and half the crytals were missing.The trails (if you want to hike ) are not well indicated, even you have the map so be prepared. The service and meal at supper was horrible. The service was like the greeting at the reception, horrible. The Cod was not cooked properly and it was expensive. They want a standing, but they don't have it in my books. Sad because I expected more from this "none-palace".

    The breakfast buffet was very good. The different mountain trail were nice but the indications on location was poor. The halls and lounges are very nice, but that is about it for this place,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    2.9
    The building was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything was poor below standards. Staff was rude. My husband approached bartender set in an EMPTY bar and politey asked for some ice. Bartender looked him squarely in tbe eyes and said NO! Is tbat any way to treat a guest? Room was stifling hot. Tile in tub area was covered with mold! Can't someone use common ordinary household bleach to clean the tile? Lest you think I am just one disgruntled guest, when Checking out a travel agent heard my husband expressing his displeasure and she agreed with Hi! She said she brought a group of 12 to the hotel last year and the service was superb but this year the entire hotel has deteriorated. Too bad that such a beautiful property has such poor staff. One would be bwtter off to just take a cab to hotel have lunch and leave!

    The building was beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Palace with no AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms do not seem to have been renovated since the place opened, they are in poor shape. this hotel does not have any AC, which at summertime in Portugal is a massive risk. they do not even offer a fan in the rooms while temperatures can go over 35c.

    The location is amazing, leave time to walk the grounds, the massive natural reserve with ruins and trees over 500 year old. The staff was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    A great location and spectacular building with an incredible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    V.over-priced evening menu = we limited our choices on the first night and went out to eat elsewhere on the second night. No real bar facilities - a missed opportunity.

    A great location and spectacular building with an incredible interior. Buffet breakfast - plentiful, fresh, v.varied, etc. The staff were v.friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    Suggest you go as a day tripper if possible, the stay adds nothing to the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms outrageously overpriced, dirty and furnishings have seen much better days, sofa so dirty it could not be used. Some staff really helpful, others quite rude.

    Historic connection, clearly a beautiful and impressive building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.2
    I would not recommend this place to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5-star hotel as it declared. The services, condition of the room and overall comfort are exceptionally POOR. The room did not have WiFi, it was very small and required renovation. Most of the surfaces were scratched, even the wallpapers. There was no fridge (minibar) and hotspot there. The breakfast was poor as well and did not meet our expectations.

    The only thing I liked was general view of the castle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Being in the hotel was like being in a fairy palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Being in the hotel was like being in a fairy palace. Beautiful architecture. Very well maintained. Meals served in such a lovely environment. The park around the hotel offers great walks of such a magnificent trees, fountains and history.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Bucket list visit but overall experience below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously in need of revamp and internal facelift. It’s a pitty that owners are not investing in this property.

    Location and setting. Amazing architectural and historical buildings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As staying here was the splurge for our overseas holiday we were disappointed with our first room - superior with forest view as we had the room overlooking a dirty tiled roof so upgraded to a suite for an extra 50 Euros. We were told it should have beef an extra 100 Euros. This room was on a corner and had wonderful views so was very happy with this particular room.

    Such a picturesque setting and beautiful building to enjoy an overnight stay. We were able to relax with pre-dinner drinks in comfort inside before moving outdide to enjoy the view. All courses of our evening meal were simply delicious. Starting the next morning with a forest walk followed by a champagne breakfast was also a lovely aspect to our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    A unforgettable experience, made to feel like royalty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old and needed some updating. The beds werent comfy. No aircon or fans. The shower base had rust.

    The staff were so friendly and professional. The palace itself is like something out of a fairy tale.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Incredibly beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is way too old. Any hotel should be ashamed to have such an outdated and weak hair dryer, especially a five star hotel. No WiFi in the rooms.

    Incredibly beautiful, definitely worth coming. Good breakfast with sparkling wine, but not outstanding. Good personnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Never use this castle as a Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 stars? Hmm, don’t think so. The room was pretty big, but there is no refrigerator, wi-fi at all (!!!!). Only 10” TV grundig from 90th was there. It was terrible because to use e-mail you should go down stares to the lobby. We asked receptionist to reserve a table for a dinner. When we came to the dinner - we were not in the list of reservations. Waitresses don’t speak english. 1 hour they need to take your order after you will seat. Dinner was terrible, higher cost for the worst quality. If you plan to stay here for a romantic night - think about your dinner beforehand. Breakfast was ok.

    Very good place and nice castle in general. That’s all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Don’t go here, the location is brilliant but everything else is very poor for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor, twice I had to go to reception to get them to find bar staff. The WiFi didn’t work in the room and was awful in the public spaces. The tv service was not as advertised. The wine price was extortionate

    The location and buildings are fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Good relax night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good relax night. Check in was very fast, it was very important when I came after midnight. Also included water useful Near the hotel several markets, very close to the city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Beautiful palace, great nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very put maintenance, walls and tiles broken and old, shower with hair and dirty, taps dripping, dirty carpets. This is not a 5 star hotel.

    Beautiful palace, great nature

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Fairy tale atmosphere with a hotel-estate wine worth a journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buçaco palace is stunning with the museum/national treasure atmosphere. Rooms and bathroom are unmodernised for decades but with its charme definitely acceptable and the bed is very comfortable (simply do not expect 5 star quality). But the toilet brush was disgusting and that's a no go for any hotel/hostel irrespective of the price. Breakfast buffet was excellent, dinner was very good in a romantic fairytale atmosphere in the wonderful dining-room/terrace, expensive but worth it (also because of the atmosphere). The hotel-own estate wines are excellent and a very well protected secret and worth a journey, because you can't drink the older ages anywhere else than at the hotel or at a bar in lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    Deception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was not accurate Room not clean Very hot in the room. No airco. Windows were difficukt to open. When finally succeeded aints came into the room Very very bad wifi Wake up call from constructor!!! Not a 5 star hotel

    Diner was very good but a glass of wine is 8 euro’s Breakfast was good too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    What we wanted... a good rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more sockets for connecting things& furniture could have been arranged to give a little more space.

    Principally peace, tranquillity,lack of pollution & graciousness of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    The building and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and very outdated rooms fir a 5 star hotel . We also needed to carry and load our luggage ...not exit ted fir 5 star hotel

    The building and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Interesting experience but not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was small and carpet worn and stained. Dinner was expensive and average. My cod was like rubber. Breakfast had almost run out by 09.30. We weren’t offered tea or coffee. Generally there are not enough staff and worst was the rude concierge who tried to throw us; we had to convince him we were guests. If you want to see the place buy a ticket to the grounds for a few euro and stay elsewhere.

    The Palace and grounds are impressive and the hotel has a faded charm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful palace, restaurant area very pretty, perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very dated with a dark bathroom, a few staff members had a little 'attitude', some confusion and errors in the restaurant (but of course this can happen with staff shortages).

    Beautiful palace, restaurant area very pretty, perfect check-in, very helpful staff (mostly), great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Overall disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long waiting for check-in. The room is shabby and absolutely outdated, no air-condition but the heating system was working (35C outside!). Bed is not comfortable. They gave us a room with the door to the other room, the staff told us there is a wall between these room what was a lie. We could hear ALL the sounds from the neighbor room the whole night. Also they ignored the notification that my wife has her birthday on the day when we stayed there. No compliment or even simple attention from the hotel regarding that, especially providing that we had dinner at their restaurant.

    Location and ambience in sitting areas are fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    A Palace is a palace...but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be modernized. Hotel owners need to preserve all the outside beauty but need to bring rooms and amenities up to an acceptable level. Floors were lose, bathroom outdated, HVAC not working.

    Palace is stunning; views, architecture, history, gardens and forest are just impossible to describe. Amazing, one of a kind. Breakfast was included and was fantastic in terms of options, quality and service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Unique experience but do not come with high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is so much untapped potential on this place. They are understaffed and they were not helpful on giving information about the palace (history, tour, where to go, etc). restaurant was closed without advance notice. Rooms are old and worn.

    Truly unique experince. Sleeping and eating on a truly royal palace for $150/night. Breakfast is well served. The palace itself is mind blowing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Unique experience, a refreshing change from WiFi and flat TVs embedded in mirrors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator is functional, but barely. Seems safe enough, though.

    "Benign neglect" best describes this property. If you're looking for modern amenities, move on. For a unique atmosphere and experience of how the aristocracy spent their leisure time, this is the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    The Palace Hotel was built for royalty who never got to use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With no competition, the Almeida family are not so much resting on their laurels here as fast asleep! Just about everything looks worn out. It has a faded charm that we rather liked but we did not feel it merited the five stars awarded (by itself?). In particular, we booked for the fine dining they promised, but were told that my wife's coeliac disease could not be accommodated from the menu and the chef was too busy to make any changes just for her. We had informed them in advance of her needs and expected much better. The response of the maitre d' was a shrug. Couldn't be bothered. There was one option only on the main dishes and just fruit for dessert. The hotel deducted 50 euros from our bill for the meal but the magic of the experience and the atmosphere of the meal was ruined by anxiety and disappointment. We didn't eat there again during our stay. Despite our problem - we still had to wait for gluten-free bread at breakfast. Not a five star experience.

    The Palace Hotel was built for royalty who never got to use it. When the state took it over, it was leased to the Almeida family as part of their hotel group. The ornate architecture and decor reflect the aspirations of its original purpose. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was enormous. The bath was the longest I have ever used! The public rooms - dining room and drawing room and terrace area were all beautiful. The forest location and the views over the distant country were spectacular. A magical setting and architecture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Really fabulous place which allows you to feel yourself like...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is written that it’s 5 stars hotel, but you should understand that the main idea is to preserve the spirit of the castle, so it’s a bit old (furniture, bathroom, windows) and so on. Do not expect ordinary hotel. First of all it’s a castle.

    Really fabulous place which allows you to feel yourself like in a fairytale. It is not allowed to go inside if you do not have a reservation, so you feel yourself unique.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.2
    Mata do Bussaco is Amazing. The Hotel Acomodations are very far from a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel should properly inform that the rooms are really in a very poor state of conservation. You should not expect anything like a five star hotel acommodation but instead to stay in a room that will be outdated for at least a century!

    Staying in this Hotel is an experience! To be surrounded by the amazing Mata do Bussaco is something one can only feel and not describe! Urgent refurbish needed for the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Old, filthy dirty and the restaurant was rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely filthy. The hotel is converted Palace, the public areas a most very beautiful but ridiculously outdated. The reception area includes individual phone booths and elevators from the 1970's. The bedrooms however are totally outdated. No wifi, paper thin walls, no sound insulation on the glass windows, no air conditioning. The chairs creak when you sit in them and we could only find one electrical socket in the room, which meant unplugging your lamp to charge your phone. No wifi in the rooms and very poor quality wifi in the public areas. We ate in the restaurant, outside on the terrace which was beautiful. The wine, bread, etc was all lovely but the food itself was "wedding food", ie re-heated and pretty tasteless. We spent around 200 euros on dinner at it was rubbish. In the main lounge (beautiful decor) the sofas emit clouds of dust when you sit on them - a little like a haunted house. There is even a knight in armour halfway up the stairs whose eyes light up at night (I joke not). We asked to leave early and the receptionist didn't make us pay for the extra night, which was a nice touch but I got the feeling that they were used to people leaving early. My advice, visit, take some pictures and then sleep somewhere else.

    Takes a great photo.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    As I had imagined ... except the room that left me very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overlooked rooms, where renovation needs are already evident for a five-star hotel. Not so urgent but facades also in need of maintenance intervention.

    Excellent architecture work in a place formidable in perfect communion with nature and history.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    It's worth going out of your way to stay at Bussaco Castle Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant imagines itself as fine dining (at least for the evening meal) and prices itself accordingly, yet the staff has not been sufficiently trained in the basic etiquette that usually accompanies this level of dining. Not that big of a deal, but it wouldn't take much effort to train the staff and then the pricing would be more justified.

    Incredible ambiance! The intricate Manueline architecture, gorgeous stained glass and authentic period furnishings in the common rooms, lush gardens and trellis pathways all lead to an amazing experience of staying in a piece of living history. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the front desk who were very knowledgeable about the castle's history. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Hiking trails available for all levels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    We felt like a royal family for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazingly beautiful. Pictures cannot do justice to the beauty of this palace. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The staff was super nice and accommodating, clean, comfortable, and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful, my mother was happy, why no chairs on the balcony????
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Come on guys you have to update the television!!!! Plus comfort in every room, a decedent seetee does not have to be uncomfortable, just an idea rather than all the delicate china, lovely hand cut flowers in the room, plus tea and coffee making facilities,

    The palace is simply amazing, I feel you are paying for the whole experience, beautiful forest, trees plus scenery, staff feel like friends, and I can honestly say best nights sleep my partner and I had all holiday!!! You always treat my mother like royalty and I will never be able to thank you guys enough. Staying at the palace is an experience not to be missed. Beth

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Maybe I will come back when the will update the all palace with new update rooms toilets etc not hap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 55 must update toilet seat broken not very igenic looks tired dirty the must paint I was very desapointed too much money for what we get

    I like the two rooms and restaurant by the reception . It looks ver hold and poor you need to clean and repair . Nice garden but look tired

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too quiet and empty, building work on the convent meant it was closed, restaurant overpriced and the food average. My venison was overcooked and our egg and mushrooms lacklustre, although the desert was great and the staff accomplished and attentive. Not a lot to do in the area and it can feel quite isolated. Stay one night for the experience then move on. The place is extremely dated but for a pretty unique throwback experience to a different time it’s worth the room price.

    Amazing location. Really unique building, the kind if hotel you’d expect to pay a lot more for in terms of aesthetics. Lovely grounds and lots of history. Great for wine aficionados as many bottles unique to the hotel and the region.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Lots of potential but not there yet!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs a renovation! Rooms are dated! Definitely not all the stars it is supposed to be but it has grand potential and a good story behind it! Don't stay there for the stars and prestige, only for the experience!

    It is a unique property located in the middle of the Buçaco forest! Staying there a night is an experience in itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Faded Elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a strange area and quite hard to find. It needs a lot more spent on it to come up to the standards one would expect of such a grand palace.An elegant but faded gem.

    Wonderful old building with history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous a day back in time!:)) great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic marras protection was really uncomfortable:( Th e rest all great Old but so much character

    all great unbelivably beautiful Old but so much character And fantastic gardens!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a different experience especially a romantic getaway. Allow time to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double bed but we got 2 singles. They said it couldn't be changed as there were none available, but when I checked online there were some available.

    Best breakfast we have eaten at a hotel for a long time. Very comfortable room. Great view. Good evening meal at restaurant. Expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    very nice hotel, great building and decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff could have been a little more fiendly maybe and breakfast could be way better for a 5 stars hotel no internet in the room and poor signal all over the area

    very nice hotel, great building and decorations. traditional but beautiful. specially the marble bathroom. we also had a great view on the balcony over the garden. breakfast was nice but not amazing as expected i have to say

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, nice comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding the night we were booked and we were unable to eat tin the beautiful dining room. We had looked forward to a romantic evening and not having to leave the Palace. If we had been told of the wedding, we would have booked a different night. One of the staff members said they had sent an email informing us of this event but we did not receive one.

    Beautiful place, nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.8
    We would not recommend this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we noticed that the bins situated in the hotel car park area were overflowing with rubbish - not a good start. The room was extremely tired with a thread-bare carpet and paint flaking off the window frame. There are several beautiful features in this old building but overall it is in need of a complete overhaul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, the Palace is in the forrest - tall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is working badly and is not working in room at all - the signal is very low. The only thing that from my point of view the management should definitely do - change the carpeting in the rooms. It is old, dirty and looks awful 🙈

    Perfect location, the Palace is in the forrest - tall beautiful trees are around, birds are singing - amazing! The Palace itself is wonderful! Yes, it is old and the rooms are quite old too, but it feels right) you can walk around palace and it feels like you are living in the museum! The bar area in the evening - wow!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Like living in a fairytale! Beautiful palace, breathtaking grounds, delicious meals. A+
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating but still well worth the stay to be in such a beautiful place!

    The palace was GORGEOUS and in the perfect, most serene setting. The gardens behind the palace are breathtaking. I even followed a path up the mountain behind it to discover a 17th century monastery! The dinner was gourmet in the beautiful dining room, or drinks in the drawing room, highly recommend. Take the time to explore here rather than passing through!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast is very nice, environment is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very historic building, but treated by the operating team in a cheap manner and repaired with cheap building materials, what a pity!

    Breakfast is very nice, environment is very beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Very nice but renovation needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In desperate need of renovation, bedroom windows wouldn’t open as in very poor condition. Room isn’t 5 star.

    Location was very nice. Restaurant is excellent. Lovely building and worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    The gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is there an authority in Portugal which gives stars to an hotel ? This is not a five star hotel. 2 or 3 stars the maximum. The food in the restaurant very bad and expensive. We returned our plate half full because the meat was really bad. We noticed that other customers had exactly the same problem. Ok it is a palace, it is a tourist attraction, but the customers should be taken care of. It is evident that the place needs a lot of renovations because it is falling apart. It is a pity.

    The gardens. The idea of staying in a palace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    A great experience. I would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chapel was being renovated so we couldn’t visit it

    The amazing building and grounds. The huge bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. The national park surrounding the hotel. The bar. The azulejo. The ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing were just great.

    What a wonderful place to stay. From that whe arrived it were assome. I felt like a gueen the hole time. It were writh it. Every body helps you with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds

    Beautiful building and grounds. The rooms are a bit dated but the Palace is amazing. The dining room is just grand and the breakfast was very good. Excellent location adjacent to the village of Luso. Stop by and get some of the mineral water from the fountains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    The building was magnificent like a fairy tale- well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was magnificent like a fairy tale- well preserved architectural treasures inside and outside, lovely gardens. And strange but true, the Bussaco Branca Reserva white wine (2013) offerred at the restaurant was surprisingly similar in nose and palate to the best grand crus in burgundy at Euros 45. a bottle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The property grounds are stunning and so picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is a little run down, although the property was clean.

    The property grounds are stunning and so picturesque... along with the dining room and lounge area.. a unique stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Pretty forest setting in old palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit out of the 1940s and definitely the rest of the palace needs fresh paint and touching up. We needed to use the elevator to get down rather than stairs, so I would suggest floor 2 I where you can walk down staircase instead of 3 and request garden side of palace so you aren't overlooking parking lot. It's also a place tour groups stop, so not exactly quiet, but definitely a different experience in Portugal.

    It's a different experience to stay here. The forest is beautiful and provides good walks or hikes with lots of interesting sites including the convent portas. Fun to stay at the palace where you can sit quietly and read or have a drink and enjoy the sound of birds. Beautiful gardens. Good dinner graciously served and breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Charming atmosphere of the old castle , friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are outdated, rooms need renovation. Hotel restaurant and the bar are unjustifiable expensive

    Charming atmosphere of the old castle , friendly staff, amazing park with many walking trails

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Gorgeous grounds, historic building, shabby interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very out-of-date furnishings and certainly not five star service or amenities.

    Beautiful historic building and fantastic grounds, trails and gardens. The setting was sensational. Hotel facilities are very dated and certainly not five star. Rooms very modest, furnishings throughout the hotel needed updating. Dining room pleasant french-style for special occasion dining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Great outside and not so good inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    and not so good inside. The hotel's cuisine and the restaurant staff are much lower than our expectations. The room interior is very old and "sad".

    Great outside ..... All outside properties are great!! The park, flowers, wood, the castle itself.... simply great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Not a five star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude Main restaurant for dinner Rooms although classic were run down and musty.

    Property grounds and building architecture were great. Restaurant expensive food very average and staff very robotic. Breakfast however was outstanding . Terrace was closed due to weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location inside the forest.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are outdated. We booked the cheapest rate/rooms so cannot judge all rooms but ours was certainly very old and stuffy. If it was not for the building and location i would definitely not stay in such a room again.

    Great location inside the forest. Building is very historical. We stayed with our kids and they found it exciting to sleep in a castle. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant and that was a nice experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful fairytale place set in forest surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard rooms in need of refurbishment. Services not up to five star standards. Some staff cannot communicate in English.

    Wonderful fairytale place set in forest surroundings with a lot of old world charm. Excellent for those who want to relax far from modern city life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great experience, will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was prepared to be disappointed because hotel could not confirm our double room that we booked, it only had twin, but on arrival we got upgraded to a bigger family room, which was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    A gorgeous palace but rooms very outdated and an overpriced restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very outdated and the beds are not comfortable, the thick plastic sheet under the top sheet doesn’t help matters. Although the room seemed clean, there were a pair of someone else’s socks on the floor by the bidet in the bathroom. The restaurant is over priced, the staff not very competent, the food is not good and not worth the inflated prices. The bar service was non existent, we sat in the bar before dinner for a good 20 minutes and did not even see a member of staff to ask for a drink.

    The palace itself is beautiful as are the common areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Located in a very nice area next to the river promenade and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a very nice area next to the river promenade and all historical sights and restaurants. Parking isn’t available in the hotel but there are 2 parking garages very close by and for a reasonable price. Breakfast was very good with lots of fruits and freshly cooked omelets. We had an excellent room with 6 balconies, great views, lots of air and light.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal was poor and I expected a little more from the breakfast.

    The location is extraordinary, both the palace and the trails outside. The staff is very friendly and the rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Marvelous place to dream away....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested a double bed but they could only give us 2 single beds. Cleaning could be better, we found childrens clothes underneath one of the beds when we left.

    Comfortable beds, large bath and great breakfast in a marvelous restaurant. The interior of the hotel is marvelous and great to explore, so is the domain and convent. We regret staying only one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantasy Hotel and grounds. Stay for two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic double, room 15, was yet to be refurbished. Meaning very chipped paint, poor grout and old faded tiles. Our fellow travelers had the next room, same price and fully renovated. These things happen, but they should be priced accordingly,

    Unbelievable lobby, bar, main floor. Almost beyond words for the woodwork, tile work and grounds. Very nice customer service, excellent bellman. Cocktail lounge was a treat, though priced for NYC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed! Save your money do stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't pleasant at all, really old and ugly furnished. Linen and room smelt like chloridrine. We hated the room and asked a second time for another room which, hopefully was a bit better. We invest in this place to feel like another level experience and we ended feeling fooled. Breakfast wasn't special, just regular. Visit the the gardens and forest around but do not stay at the hotel.

    That the staff agreed in proving us another room. Surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Ideal place for one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room is very small. Bathroom is quite old, enamel in the bath was broken. Also old TV set, but it’s not important in such a beautiful place.

    Very beautiful palace, nice place around for walking - beautiful forest, viewing point Portas de Coimbra is very close and is wonderful for watching sunset. Good breakfast is included. There are bathrobes and slippers are provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.3
    Hotel from Hell...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many things to mention. This hotel should close and do some refurbishment, it's a shame to any Portuguese people to maintain this open. It shames the good professionals of the industry.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    The palace itself and surroundings are stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is somewhat tired, carpets worn out, some mirrors old-black, some even just dirty. Baths and sinks have rust on them. Smell of chlorine disinfection is present in some corridors and bedrooms. Overall, the hotel misses polish expected from a 5*.

    The palace itself and surroundings are stunning. High ceilings, decorations of common rooms are great. Bedrooms, even economy ones, are large and comfortable, no problems with water pressure or getting hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Palace and park are awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel left complex impression. From one side palace and park themselves are fabulous, but the rooms... All taps in my room leaked, walls were with lots of cracks, wallpapers with at least 20 years dirt, lamp shades with stains and also you hear just everything happening in the next room. It looks like last time rooms were repaired or renovated at least in 70s.

    Palace and park are awesome. Take your time to walk to the view point at the top of the mountain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    Worst experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ot was filthy and how could a hotel rated as 5 star have none of the following; tea or coffee making facilities, mini bar or fridge, hair dryer, iron, swimming pool or gym and WiFi?

    Nothing it was disgusting, only thing 5 star about it was the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palace Hotel do Bussaco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: