Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Rua Viscondessa do Espinhal, 3200-257 Lousã, Portugal

#7 of 15 hotels in Lousã

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 979 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very polite personnel, comfortable and clean rooms and satisfactory breakfast based in the center of the village. Also hotel parking area was sufficient. In 2 words value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was really helpful, but some other staff needs bit o training, average breakfast

    Great building with loads of history, feels like old chateau, great good size rooms, nice views and briliant surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors on the corridors and no soundproofing on the doors meant that everything could be clearly heard every time someone walked or talked on the corridor.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave me fruit and packed lunch to take in my hike. Close proximity to the start of the hiking trail to the schist villages, which is what I wanted. Excellent massage after the hike!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great boutique hotel in a historical palace, with a beautiful garden, swimming pool, excellent restaurant and unique atmosphere. A new wing offers modern facilities in an elegant environment. Friendly and helpful staff contributes to a very relaxing experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely building and we had a really large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very, very dark. No lights to read by and if you dropped anything you could not see to find it. Breakfast poor. Bacon run out a good half hour before breakfast was finished but not replenished.

    Free parking and central location. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable Stay In a Palace In a Medieval Neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, really

    In Lousã for the night, we spent a satisfying day/night/morning at the Palacio da Lousã and left with a smile. Here's why... The Palacio da Lousã is, well, a palace! and it feels that way with the marble and wood, worthy of an historic site in some areas. The rooms were updated and with modern bathroom, firmly comfortable bed and yucky mushy pillows. The staff at check-in were helpful on several issues though there was one worker with limited English fluency who had to call for back-up. There is adequate free parking behind the hotel. The immediate neighborhood has a medieval charm and we walked it in several directions. The Palacio da Lousã was a great place to spend a night and, were I to return to Lousã, I'd return to the Palacio da Lousã.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, Location very central, free car parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I had NO internet conection had to go to public areas for any online use.

    Excellent breakfast, Location very central, free car parking .Staff very helpfull,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    In the middle of Portugal and on high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In house dinner was too late for us - 8PM. The WiFi bandwidth was below par at peak times becoming very slow or dropping out. The open air car park whereas it was on their land, it was separate and access was via a complicated, narrow route.

    Very helpful staff. One of the best breakfasts anywhere with high quality produce. It was included in our tariff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant. Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room did not have tea making facilities which I always think is important. Bed mattress wasn't all that great.

    Comfort of communal areas. Very supportive staff around those areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful bedroom suite & facilities, poorly sited from reception with no assistance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not very mobile and the walk from reception to the room, including a lift down to the room was very long, unexpected, and would have prevented me from booking had I known it was so. The parking was also a long way from the reception of the hotel and necessitated a very long walk with cases to get into the hotel. My husband left me at the entrance to the hotel with the luggage (you can only stop briefly outside the hotel) and then drove to the car park, but then couldn't get back into the hotel from the rear entrance and had to walk a long way back to reception and then the long walk internally to the bedroom suite. It was enough to prevent us from returning, although this was a beautiful hotel. The breakfast buffet, although it had a lot of choice, was poorly presented and the hot food was cold. This was also served in the main hotel and was a long walk to and from the bedroom suite. Totally inefficient I am afraid.

    The bed was enormous, although we did ask for and expect twin beds. The fixtures and fittings were to a very good standard. The outside patio area was unexpected. There was a lot of storage space. There were 2 TVs one in the bedroom area and a surprise one in the lounge area above the mini bar in a cabinet. We didn't know it would have a lounge area, which also had table and chairs to use, which was very useful. There were some soft and luxurious extra blankets to use for added comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Three relaxing nights in a beautiful palace gave me a lot of new energy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chooce of music in the public areas. Music did not promote the concept of the hotel.

    Very nice staff. Very clean everywhere in the hotel. Beautiful public areas. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Communicating Rooms (4 adults) - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff was properly aware of guests travelling with pets rights in hotel areas but it was all sorted out in the end and we can’t fault any of the staff, they were all lovely and very pleasant to everyone in our party, dog included.

    We travelled with our Lurcher dog Paddy and couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The hotel occupies a lovely building and the staff is extremely warm and welcoming. Our room was in the New Wing and everything was to the highest standard, Paddy was entitled to a doggy bed, toy, food/water bowls and to roam freely with us throughout the hotel (always on his dog leash of course). The breakfast was exactly what you expect from a 4 star hotel - good quality and variety, and if anything was found to be amiss you could always count on the staff to sort it out for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful and unassuming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was surprisingly uncomfortable: it was two twin beds pushed together with no mattress cover, so I could feel the seam where they met when I turned over in the night. The rooms are not soundproofed; I heard my neighbors text tone everytime he got one. I stayed in the new wing, and was very comfortable in February, and I spoke to someone who's stayed there several times and he said that the old wing should be avoided in the wintertime because the heating system can't keep up.

    A gem where you wouldn't expect it. Probably the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in, and part of the beauty was the unassuming nature of the staff and the property. You would easily pay 5 times as much to stay at this caliber of hotel in a metropolitan area and the pretense would likely be stifling. The tub in the room was amazing, especially after a cold hike.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.5
    Relaxing base with good access to impressive walks right from the door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable bed and spacious room with good view. The "chef's set meal" in the restaurant was really excellent, and the old part of the hotel was a lovely place to relax (large comfy lounges). The bar was a great place to watch the sun set, and the garden a suntrap even in February! Good breakfast too, with "proper" coffee and fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Classic & comfortable, a Portuguese pride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a fantastic surprise. While the palace kept its classic style the decor felt fresh and comfortable. The staff was super friendly, all was super clean, and the breakfast was superb. Plus, the area had a lot to see, with the Aldeias de Xisto and ending up eating a wonderful lunch at O Burgo. What a stay. Definitely a place to recommend and come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Great for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit expensive but walks, location ,staff,and ambience all absolutely fantastic - a tad faded in places but the price was very reasonable and given that this is an old palace that was part of the charm for us. The breakfast was also brilliant and included in our stay - there were no hidden costs at the end- we walked in to town on several nights which was steep and quite arduous but for teenagers it was fun

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room's character could have been more well preserved with better furniture as well as the common areas that seemed a bit rusty, especially the outdoor ones

    the opportunity to stay in an old local palace in a nice little mountain town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Cute and Affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The new wing is not really the palace, but a building right next to it, so it lacks the charm and it's a bit of a walk from the reception through the halls of the hotel.

    Great Breakfast with a great view. Cool Pool. Beautiful Palace and Gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were little disappointed with type of room. Would rather of had a traditional room. Thought I was booking for traditional room in main building. Room we had was clean and fine just modern and non-descript.

    Hotel very close to hiking trails. Enjoyed great traditional meal in the back of Churrascaria Borges restaurant. Get the goat!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It's a beautiful building with lovely gardens to walk in. Good swimming pool. It's a pleasure and joy to walk through the beautiful rooms. Best of all the friendly and helpful staff. Dinner which we enjoyed on three nights was great. Fantastic wines and Port. Love the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A hidden gem--do not miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is a gem! An incredible fine, a real former palace in a small town. Gardens and pool are lovely. Dinner in the ornate dining room was a real treat. Limited menu but all with fresh and quality ingredients. We stayed here to do a day hike through a number of schist villages. Arranged through the hotel with a local company--I believe company was called Paradigm. Our hiking guide's grandparents still lived in one of the villages. A real magical day. Lousa and the Palacio are not to be missed. Staff were extraordinary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not know how to cook an American style poached egg.

    Had a wonderful hike with a guide arranged by the hotel in the surrounding mountains. Very knowledgeable and very reasonable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Away from the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the evening meal but hadn't realised it was a set menu, which in Portugal is only one choice of starter and desert and either a fish or meat main. The manager was really helpful, and allowed us to cancel the remaining days.

    Despite being in town it was very quiet and peaceful. Well situated for walking/cycling. Helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing in between mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests, especially children. The hotel is a place to relax people should advice not to bring children or to notice when they're being unpleasant

    The bed extra comfy, the pool and its location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced hotel in need of remodelling and renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area is strangely set up, and was dirty. The restaurant offers poor quality and highly overpriced food. No value for money, rather a complete ripoff (glass of mediocre wine costs 8,50 Euro). Generally the hotel desperately needs renovations.

    The room was quite spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Elegant, friendly, and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was lovely!

    Beautifully renovated 18-century castle with all the modern amenities you'll want. The restaurant had a variety of local dishes beyond the tourist staples and a solid wine list. The staff were accommodating with my early departure time and let me into the breakfast room an hour before the official opening time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay at Palacio Da Lousa and hike into the Schist Villages of the Lousa Mountain trail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel did not have enough backpacks for the guests for the hike. They should provide basic hiking gear.

    The architecture and living rooms of the Hotel, friendly staff and location. Lousa old town was lovely and the hiking trail to the Schist villages was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if you have a car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your mobility is limited not the easiest place to get around.

    Close to the mountains. Close to Comibra. Close to Talasnal. We loved the Breakfast. Easy parking. Great friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, hotel and pool. Very romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had lunch in the restaurant when we arrived and we wouldn't do that again. It was a set menu of three courses for all of us and it was too much for the kids. They didn't need all that food but paid the same price. there was no choice so we had rice with octopus which was ok but I can imagine a lot of people would not like it and I didn't eat a lot of the octopus which was very chewy.

    The hotel was a beautiful building with some great rooms. We were put in a 'new room' which was dark and a bit smelly. But we asked to move and paid a little more to stay in the main part of the building in a beautiful room overlooking the great view. The pool was lovely and the staff were young and a bit inexperienced but very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a quiet town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was freezing cold, and we were unable to adjust the A/C. Staff did adjust it for us, but it was still quiet chilly. The tub/shower was a very odd shape and quite narrow, making it difficult to stand in for our morning showers.

    This hotel is a beautiful old estate, and our room was very spacious. The buffet breakfast is extensive and generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    A very palacial stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast within 30 minutes the brioche and tarts had run out and within 60minutes both white cheeses had run out which meant for someone arriving at 08:30 the buffet was not looking that spectacular. The hotel explained that it was very unusual for this to occur and this was a result of a tour group sending the night at the hotel.

    The shared lounge in the palace with complimentry tea ifusions and walnuts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Step back in time and breakfast like kings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    When the receptionist offered us both a liquor while we were checking in, I knew this was the kind of hotel I'd like! There's a real sense of history as you cross the doorstep of this hotel. The location is central (though there are cars driving straight past the door, which we found a bit unnerving as it looked like a pedestrianised street at first glance). Our room was enormous with high ceilings and sumptuous furnishings (though the furniture was not antique). The bathroom, too, was extremely large and there were plenty of toiletries. In our wardrobe we found bath gowns and slippers - we didn't use them as we were only staying one night but it was a nice touch. Internet and English language television channels. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the non-English speaking waiter happily obliged when I asked him for hotter water for my tea. Both receptionists we dealt with spoke good English. The communal rooms are worth checking out for a real sense of history and grandeur.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful palacio but horrid new wing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    New wing is hideously ugly, spoiling overall effect - architectural disaster! Our room in it was depressing & gloomy, with only a small corner window. We called it "the dungeon", & it wasn't a place you'd want to spend any time in. Poor lighting for reading, bare blank walls, cheap office-style furniture in 'filing cabinet grey'. It needed more natural light, better reading light, colourful attractive decoration/fabrics, & good quality wooden furniture to cheer it up ie. same standard & style as in the public rooms. Or rebuild the new wing entirely - to a more sympathetic & functional design..... We felt the evening meal was rather average for the price, though the setting is lovely.

    Gorgeous old main palacio building. Public rooms beautiful. Gardens well tended. Lovely staff. Excellent pastry chef (super light croissants & tarte tatin). Nice fresh fruit at breakfast. Good location in historic town centre. Some bedrooms in the original building are probably pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice location and building. Average food and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok, but terrible filter coffee almost undrinkable. Parking a little tricky and access to hotel from back was affected by closed rear entrance.

    Nice location and surroundings. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable weekend break in January
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee was very strong and bitter. Some black mould on the walls to the bedroom windows Paying €8 for one glass of wine in the bar

    Location good Great architecture and atmosphere Friendly, helpful staff Comfortable, warm room and bed Comfortable and charming lounge area Plentiful free parking behind the hotel Little extras e.g. Glass of licor on arrival and small local biscuits on departure

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    we will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of anything not to like.

    stayed in the new wing, rooms were lovely, bed very comfortable, good bathroom, beautiful building situated in perfect location,we stay in lots of hotels and this has to be one of the best, the best hotel breakfast we have had in a long while, fantastic staff made us very welcome, we are already planning on when to come again as we would like to stay in the old part of the hotel next time, was a really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely accomodation 20minutes out of Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some information in the rooms for what to do in the area. Although staff helpful in advising if you ask.

    Lovely accomodation 20minutes out of Coimbra. We had dinner as well with fine food and good service. There is also other good dining options around. Good option id driving between porto and lisbon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Staff was super helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new wing wasn't looking so new anymore.

    Staff was super helpful and accommodating. Location fantastic. And overall the facilities were pretty nice. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool water smelled a bit dirty in the evening after a hot day with full use by guests and their children. I assume the hotel will take care of the problem and change water often enough. Overall everything looked like well managed.

    The hotel is so beautiful and well restored! And besides being a historical building it was comfortable with a little baby. We stayed in the new wing and liked our room. Wifi worked there perfectly. Also because of lovely breakfast buffet we could go back anytime. The fabulous looking and peaceful restaurant was serving nice dinner in the evening. We could enjoy it on restaurant's roof terrace while our baby slept next to us. All the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Room with a view please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room without a view from the first day!

    The old Palace hotel is beautiful the breakfast room amazing! The views from the second bedroom we stayed in fantastic! Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    A great hotel to relax and spend a few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was 2 or 3 times the price of the other restaurants in lousa. Get out and try the others in town, you won't be disappointed!

    Hotel pool is great. Palace building is beautiful. Buffet breakfast on the terrace was wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a classic property close to impressive natural locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu for dinner not that special

    Excellent property with outdoors breakfast and dining, around four classic and lavislhy decorated rooms. Overall very comfortable and great place to go around doing nature activities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    Very good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is great. The common rooms are beautifully decorated. We had large enough and cozy room. Fantastic outdoor pool. Good breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Amazing find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow WiFi.

    Fantastic stay - great location within a short drive to Coimbra, beautiful surroundings, neat and unique interiors (great to stay in such a historic building) and attentive and hospitable staff. Amazing food at the restaurant, superb breakfast buffet. Great find!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    the pleasure of style like in "old times" and all the comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    All was perfect like the first time we came here a few years ago. Nice room with all the comfort needed, the pleasure of style within the old building with furniture of "old time" (but at some moments an irritating supermarket kind of music was coming through the speakers), people ot the staff always helping and smiling and giving good advices for trails and restaurants nearby, and a splendid breakfast with home-made jams. And the serra all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Would not recommend the restaurant for dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not recommend the restaurant for dinner. Bar and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Diner was not available for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Diner was not available for guests...only with a prior reservation. We arrived late in the afternoon, so, no diner for us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    very friendl staff, beautiful common rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very friendl staff, beautiful common rooms .close to the city cente

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Classe. Hotel distinto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sala do restaurante

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money in a lovely historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were excellent, very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great value in Central Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant facilities and food quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.5
    Nice to be out of the big city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Communicating Rooms (4 adults) - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really

    Very personable staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    It was pleasure to visit Lousã, Portugal. I think your hotel is the best at this region.
    • Group
    • Communicating Rooms (4 adults) - New Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Clean room and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely room. Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    The atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Stay comfortable near nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sympathy of the staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice comfy hotel in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfy clean bed (new rooms) Nice breakfast. Big car park at rear of hotel Old part of hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Uma excelente escapadinha !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High charges for pets.

    Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Missing a SPA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a SPA

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    Room not ready when we arrived, 2 hours after check in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Communicating Rooms (4 adults) - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready when we arrived, 2 hours after check in time. Staff was not vey helpful. Long wait to check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place with a nice swimmingpool.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice place with a nice swimmingpool. Located in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.2
    Okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs tlc! Rooms no charms at all in the new wing!

    The entrance, the area where the library was nice and resto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely old manor building. Food in restaurant outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Communicating Rooms (4 adults) - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed for the children, are like a camp beds

    Good breakfast, great location, swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful old style hotel. And location in Lousa good as surrounding hills and mountains are good for hiking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location for hiking to he schist villages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for hiking to he schist villages.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Good respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shops open.

    Peaceful patio

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful building made into a superb hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful building made into a superb hotel with lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful palace building with historical details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet signal was weak. I found some of the staff not attentive enough.

    Beautiful palace building with historical details.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Super comfort hotel recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little mould inside window frame of one room

    Super comfortable in a beautiful part of Portugal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Property/building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Palace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booked through Booking.com they choose the worst view rooms and no options are even proposed.

    Property/building. Breakfast view. Swiming pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    no cofee facilities in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no cofee facilities in room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    restaurant is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is not immediately adjacent but not too bad

    restaurant is lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: