Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pao de Acucar Hotel 3 stars

Rua do Almada 262, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4050-032 Porto, Portugal

#96 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4514 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed two days at the hotel, the family room was clean and conformable, enough space for 4 people, the hotel has excellent location, in the city centre, you can easily access all main attractions of Porto. The staff at the reception were always helpful, nice and attentive to all our requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is too small like 20 tables tops.

    The location of the hotel is great! Near lots of attractions of the city. The room but very wide but with an old fashioned decoration, the bathroom spotless and new. The personnel was super friendly and helpful. We couldn’t check in because of the time but when we arrived again, the bags were already at our room waiting for us.!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staff, good coffee and breakfast in the morning. Reception people are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing staff, good coffee and breakfast in the morning. Reception people are amazing: so nice, so friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Heart of the city but wish their breakfast was better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mold along outside wall. Cable tv not working. Shower stall drain not draining properly. Sign in bathroom that says if you hand wash anything you’ll be charged 50% of room fee. No eggs at breakfast. Canned fruit and bananas and apples. Lots of sweet stuff and bread/rolls. Sorry looking lunchmeat cheese and what looks like canned hotdogs.

    Location is top notch! Our 6th floor room had a large rooftop shared balcony. We had AC and a newly renovated added bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Definitely not priced right for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not priced right for what it offers. Very old hotel and they try to cover it up by calling it vintage! Needs to be priced so much lower. Pictures on the booking site are very deceiving too. I would not recommend it. I feel like it was a rip off. So much so that I canceled our second night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    Porto and area super. Hotel dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were told the room we had booked would not be ready until the next day. We were put in a room literally looking into a construction site, a tower crane working a few feet away, pneumatic drills, construction noise and dust. When we complained we were moved to another room on the other side of the hotel. Then the next day again to the sixth floor room we had booked. Towards the end of the stay when we asked to see the bill we found we were being charged the full rate for all nights. When queried staff claimed we had been given a better room. When we asked to see the room rates for the relevant rooms they refused. Staff really hard nosed! Further breakfasts we limited and unchanged throughout. For the first time ever had to supplement with muesli & fresh soft fruit from a supermarket or went to a local cafe for breakfast. Stay somewhere else.

    Good location for city centre sight seeing & local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Fair and welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't comfy (too hard). The room smelled the humidity. Breakfast was delicious but not enough salty food.

    The croissants were delicious. The breakfast on the terrace was amazing. The staff was amazing, really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.3
    It hotels is very old and very poor furniture and wall on the room... bothering too much.. but their
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It hotels is very old and very poor furniture and wall on the room... bothering too much.. but their price per room is too high..

    Nothing except their somking zone. It hotels is very old and very poor furniture and wall on the room... bothering too much.. but their price per room is too high..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Stayed here before and would definitely stay again if return to Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firmer pillows

    Spacious room on the top (6th) floor with its own balcony. Brilliant staff. Excellent breakfast. Central location near the Metro and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, close to restaurants and places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, close to restaurants and places to visit. The room was very spacious for the two of us. We had a welcome treat from the hotel - porto wine and chocolate which was very nice. The breakfast was good with lots of fruits and pastries and a very nice terrace to enjoy the breakfast when the weather is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay and will stay again if I get to Porto in the future!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The greatest disadvantage of this place is noise from the street- the restaurants below the hotel are opened late and are very noisy. If you close the window and turn on the AC, it's OK, but sometimes you want the window open for some fresh air.

    The hotel is cute, with a retro-design including hundreds of retro artifacts on the halls and in the little museum they have on the first floor. It is really cool if you like this kind of stuff- I thought it was incredible! The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the bar on the 6th floor balcony is a great place to end the day. Breakfast is basic, and so are the furniture and amenities, nothing fancy- but all is nice, clean and comfortable. Location is excellent-walking distance to everywhere and everything you'd want to see in Porto.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room safe or tea/coffee making facilities. The was a coffee machine (cost) near reception but second use automatically sweetened both coffees.

    Good European breakfast. Enjoyed firm mattress and access to shared terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one thing

    The hotel has a historical cool factor of 10! The free breakfast served on the 6th floor (top) was beyond expectations and an excellent start to the day. Cocktails on the 6th floor patio, a beautiful way to end a day full of sightseeing!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for singles or couples short trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee.

    The room was cosy, I loved the compliments on arrival. The staff was very friendly even though I only spoke English. The balcony is shared but it’s a lovely view and comes separate tables and chairs. The breakfast is ok. Very basic, but it complimentary with the price which I found was good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very tired and old fashioned. The breakfast was extremely poor the fresh fruit on offer was going mouldy. Would not recommend it, in fact we left a day early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is construction going on next door during the week. The noise is practically unbearable during weekdays.

    Everything else. The property is beautiful and comfortable and in a great location. I had stayed there before and loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clearly overpriced for the service provided. The vintage decor gives a nice atmosphere but there is no real lobby and the entrance area is not inviting and confortable. Breakfast was very crowded and poor quality.

    The location of the hotel is really good. Walking distance from Porto´s best spots. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    The terrace attached to the bedroom even better in good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was a bit small . Didn't like the fact the bathroom was only divided by glass door no ventilation in bathroom.

    The terrace attached to the bedroom even better in good weather! Location ideal for visiting Porto. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Best location in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be difficult.

    Location brilliant. Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful. A very unique decor in building, which made the stay even more interesting. Would stay again happily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    For what I paid, I was disappointed in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was horrendous noise from a construction site right outside our window that was very loud and disturbing. Also, the hot water from the sink and bidet took 5 minutes to warm up and even then it wasn't very hot. When we asked the staff to look into it they said that they did, and there wasn't a problem. Obviously, me waiting for 5 minutes every time I wanted hot water was a problem to me. I felt this was an extraordinary amount of time to wait for hot water; obviously the staff thought that this was a suitable time length to wait for hot water.

    We were upgraded at no extra cost so the actual room was large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Some Pros and Cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I recognize rooms in Europe are small; this was a little small and shower was too small. The European breakfast could have had more choices than one kind of meat and cheese. The coffee cups are small as well.

    The location of the hotel was great. This is a great location for walking around Oporto. The metro stop from the airports to the hotel was 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Porto for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big construction project right out our window made in noisy during the day but since we were gone all day, it really didn't bother us much.

    Great location and terrific staff. The staff recommended excellent restaurants in the area and gave us good directions to all the sights. The breakfast was OK (not outstanding) and included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room cleanness is really at the limit of being acceptable. Room style is forgot in the past (not vintage, just old).

    Location Style of the common areas Terrace for breakfast. Recently renovated room bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Original, friendly, and charming! A highlight of our trip to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is such an interesting and original place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfasts were superb. A truly charming hotel and we loved the location. It was within easy walking distance of most things we wanted to see. It was our favourite hotel on our trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    I had a great stay in this is quirky building and the staff are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having a shower and the water suddenly goes cold. Dining facilities were average.

    The very best thing was the staff, extremely helpful and friendly. The gadgets in the building were great as was the style of the property. The room was spacious and I liked the size of the shower (I may copy you on that)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Good price. Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of the city. Original, comfortable and very clean. Staff very kind, lovely and rich in suggestion about restaurant, guided visit to the most important touristic place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.9
    Oporto is a beautiful city. Hope to go back at some stage. Lots more to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Bar in the hotel. Any hotel we have stayed in it was always nice to sit and relax in a bar laterat night after siteseeing.

    Everthing was very clean. the food was nice but not what we would have for breakfast in Ireland..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is well located but has nothing else to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small, barely enough space to place a suitcase. There was no place to hang clothes. I had to hang my jackets in the bath since the closet was tiny and didn't have proper hangers. The walls were thin so I could hear the toilets flushing in other rooms. It took more than 5 minutes of letting the water run before I could get hot water. Breakfast was bleak with no hot dish. The vintage artefacts in the hotel seemed to be a way to distract guests from the lack of facilities and space.

    The hotel is well located but has nothing else to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Very much enjoyed the hotel and Porto. Found the locals very helpful especially the police.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we do not eat meat, breakfasts were limited.No provision for early leavers! No warning of building work in very close proximity to the rooms.

    The memorabilia was very quirky. The staff very helpful. The bathroom was excellent.The central s bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    This is a quirky, interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance doesn't do it justice.

    This is a quirky, interesting hotel. The stairway is stunning and the room we had with the balcony was more than adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room absolutely stunk. They knew about it and tried to hide the smell with perfume and leaving the window open. But it was like sleeping in a super humid cave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Porto is a great city, but the hotel was the greatest disappointment ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst breakfast ever. Looks like a joke: extremely poor selection, not even basic stuff, for example, no eggs of any kind, one type of cheese and ham, apples, pears, orange - this is approximately all food you can have. Small and crowdy dining area. Super noisy rooms: you can hear literally everything that happens in upper rooms and in a corridor (the door is super thin). There seems to be no sound insulation at all. There was a big construction in front of our windows. No one mentioned that at all! You cannot open the window (dust) and there was a constant construction noise during a day. All furniture and interior in our rooms were well worn and outdated, the bad was stiff and uncomfortable. I would not score the hotel more it more 3.0 in overall. Porto is a great city, but the hotel was the greatest disappointment ever.

    Location. Very helpful and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect to visit the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy building work during the day if you opened the windows. Limited breakfast choices.

    Excellent location. Room spacious and comfortable. Towelling bathrobes. Lovely staff. Interesting vintage artefacts in public areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Very different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was hard, but room was comfortable for two. Breakfast was super limited (ham, bread, butter, jam) and some other fruit. Coffee was not good at all.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with our luggage storage. Hotel decor was very different, it was a retro/ vintage museum type which made it interesting for curious people (like me). Location was excellent as it in the Avenida dos Aliados, near historic center, metro and train station. Two complimentary water bottles were a nice detail, and they are always needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, helpful staff, basic facilities but overall good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was exceptionally uncomfortable and breakfast wasn't very inspiring.

    This hotel is in a prime location and the retro display of objects gave it a quirky feel. Staff were always attentive and friendly. Rooms are basic and generally provide all facilities required. However the bed was exceptionally uncomfortable, the phone didn't work and there's little space in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    Terrible. Highway robbery!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Absolute rip off. No way three star. Mattresses cheap and like cardboard. Rooms old and dingy. No views. For over $350 a night absolutely robbery. Shouldn’t be more than $90 a night! Charged $40 for a small bag of laundry (some socks, underwear and a few t-shirts). Just horrible.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was poor (didn't seem to do much) Windows were pretty much fully covered with shutters (so it felt a bit like being in the basement) Soundproofing... non-existant

    Location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    If we'd been warned about the massive building working,adjacent, we'd have gone elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pile drivers and pneumatic drills working under our room window. Being in our 70s, we need a siesta, when sightseeing. The electricity cabinet,on the bedside wall, flashing coloured lights were annoying. The exterior window blind jammed and the delightful reception staff had to rig a temporary repair, so we could sleep. Breakfast was a dreary experience. Crowded and cramped, stale coffee, watery orange juice.

    Ideal location. Impressive bathroom Quirky decor on landings and corridors

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant, but no laundry allowed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't appreciate the sign telling me that as the hotel has a laundry service, that if I did washing in my room I'd be charged half a day. Thankfully they didn't have a restaurant on site or I guess I would have been fined for the gelato I took back to my room.

    The staff were delightful. It was a very central location with lots of restaurants near by and a pleasant walk to several attractions. A good breakfast selection that was available til 10.30am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    I’m already planning another stay to bring my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to experience the real accomodations of Porto ( and not the typical hotel where everything is similiar) this hotel is totally different. All the floors have collections of articles from the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s! Its fascinating to see and everything is arranged with style. The staff is just incredible - they supplied me with ice twice a day for my knee injury! They also helped me with the city maps suggesting easier routes etc.. The staff represents the kindness of the portuguese people and I very much appreciated their help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is just too small. In summer. I guess people are on the terrace but very crowded in April. Breakfast itself good.

    Loved the location! It was central, yet quiet, and within easy walking distance of everything. I loved the retro style, it felt like being the 50s. Continental breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    There was a construction right next to there hotel,at night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction right next to there hotel,at night it,s not problem.But I think they start at 8:00 am So if you want to come back for little rest forget that option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    A perfect one nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an unprepossing hotel. Friendly welcome. Room was huge. Shower was good. The place is spotless in every part of it. Decor consists of lots of quirky 1950s items and stuff from travelling fairgrounds. Must be a nightmare to dust but they are as clean as whistles. Adds charm and humour to somewhat ordinary building, ordinary save for the spiralling staircase and its fairground memorabilia filled landings. Breakfast was more than adequate with lots of fresh fruit and choice of breads. Location was good. Staff were uniformly cheery and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gluten free breakfast options (which is the norm in Portugal but would have been great if there were some eggs or something available)

    Friendly staff and great location. The room was fairly spacious and very clean, and we thought it was excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Won't recommend, no privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel don't respect guests privacy. They order you to leave your key (physical key) on the reception under the claim that is for security reasons, although they don't have a safe in room... seems shifty. Besides the lack of a safe in the rokm, the room lock is very insecure and you can leave your room open accidentally if don't watch out. Don't get fool by the "theme", it's actually a really old hotel and it try to give the idea that it's a theme by having cool old stuff on the halls, but the rooms are very old. No soundproofing rooms. Rooms have doors between them (with insecure locks) and you hear e everything in the next room - I mean everything. Rude and nosy night guard.

    Rooms are clean, bathroom was renewed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice staff, amazing location, very cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only disapointed thing, I have used to fresh fruits and warm bread. Eggs and something with them.

    Very nice staff, amazing location, very cosy hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and cosy place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is too small for all the guests. It is not a big deal but if it could be made bigger it will be much more convenient.

    The hotel is perfectly located. It is very clean and cosy. The staff is helpful and polite. Breakfast - plenty enough and tasty. The hotel staff could assist you in finding a nearby parking garage and airport transport at very competitive cost. We will stay again at this hotel next time we visit Porto and we will recommend it to everyone looking for a place to stay while in Porto!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no mints on the pillows. Seriously, there is nothing to not like about this hotel.

    This hotel was absolutely delightful right in the center of Porto. The theme of the hotel is around antiques and worth the look around. I do LOTS of traveling in Europe and the staff in this hotel is in the top three of any staff I have encountered. The breakfast is very good and offers a good variety. This hotel is a good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing and not providing good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very firm and uncomfortable. There was a moldy smell in the kids bedroom. Breakfast in the hotel was very bad. The options were limited and the food wasn’t fresh, even a budget hotel typically has a better breakfast.

    The location is super and everything is at walking distance. Although the hotel doesn’t have parking facility there are multiple 24 hour parking nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a good experience to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safety box in room. A bit concern about room's door lock and security

    Good environment and it's location. Room's terras and fantastic city view was what I liked more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    GOOD LOCATION , CONFORTABLE ROOM, AMAZING MEMORABILIA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO ROOM'S VIEW. NOISE FROM BUILDING'S DEMOLITION.

    ROOM LARGER THAN THE USUAL. SO INTERESTING COLLECTIONS IN EACH FLOOR , NOSTALGIC FOR THE PAST FROM THESE MEMORABILIA.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in an unique hotel
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - location, - we asked for a room with 2 beds and got a kind of suite with 2 rooms and adjoining bathroom, - the staff was really friendly and helpful also for suggestions for restaurants, - it is a very unique hotel with museum items, - parking in the street for 2 hours ( 1 €), but also an paid parking garage in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Some problems to be fixed. Currently noisy due to reconstruction in neighbor building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a major reconstruction site next door, which will likely last a few more weeks at least. When I arrived the noise from a jackhammer was massive and the room was vibrating. Fortunately it stopped for the weekend. Room was really small with no place to open a suitcase. Near the window a massive problem with mold due to water condensation (hidden behind curtains). This is unhealthy and needs to be fixed!

    Central location; staff was friendly; funny collection of old items in staircase. My room had direct access to a terrace with views over Porto's rooftops. Free bathrobe in room. Breakfast choice was a bit limited but ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Nice people, mediocre place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a no smoking room...got a smoking room...with some thoughtful person leaving all the windows open to clear out the room...a hopeless task leaving the room utterly cold for our entire stay as it was heated only by a space heater that we had to plug in unplugging the television. The wifi was terrible and the breakfast only average with tinned fruit and juice.

    The staff was charming and the complimentary port and chocolate was great. The bathroom was clean and well stocked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    Poor experiece
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise within the hotel (which i would say it is a B&B and not a hotel). Poor breakfast, the worst coffee, not very clean rooms. For the staff lets just say that I've seen more polite staff in other hotels. Maybe it is a suitable hotel for backpackers if the price is low enough (but definately not for 78 euro)

    Only the central location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Unique and quirky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was basically a suite with seating area leading onto a shared large balcony with city rooftop views, a small bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Loved the quirky retro feel with the items on display and fabulous staircase.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot shower in the morning. Rusty bin in the shower. Old furniture in rooms - look like it's been refurbished long time ago. Uncomfortable pillows. Poor breakfast overall. Windows facing very busy street.

    Portugese pastries for breakfast are great. Location - convenient, close to the underground station. Funky retro design. Good air-conditioning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities at the hotel. Room was cold. But mainly it was the demolition work. We had a perfect view from our room (413 ). It was directly behind the hotel. From 8am to 7pm.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic city. Noise ruined it for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a demolition area. Noise is horrendous from 8am til 7pm non stop. The rock breakers even make the room vibrate.

    The hotel is in a great location. Breakfast is good but be there early. Great staff, really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Apart from then "incident" with the building work next door, the hotel was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr building attached to the hotel is undergoing a huge renovation. We got a room wall-to-wall to this building and the noise and the vibrations from the drills were unbearable. We asked to change room and we're told there was none available for 4 people. So we had to change for 2 double rooms to a higher price. But one of the room could perfectly fit 4 people just with the help of an extra bed so it turned out that we used only 1 room but still had to pay for the second one.

    The hotel was really nice and comfortable and the position just great, only few minutes walk from Ribeira, the Lollo library just around the corner and many, many nice restaurants in the neighborhood

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Neat hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast would have been better with more meat and cheese options and more fruit as well.

    Excellent central location. So much to see within 15 minute walk in any direction. Stay was attentive and very helpful. Quirky and fun decor which the kids especially loved. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    staff very friendly, breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this was the most tiny room I´ve ever been to, there was not even a chair in the room for 70 €!! construction noise the whole day!

    staff very friendly, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Family room was big and confortable with a double bed in one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a country where fresh fruit is so delicious and cheap, having canned fruit is unacceptable. Same for the coffee...Breakfast was disapointing.

    Family room was big and confortable with a double bed in one area and two small beds in a different area separated by a small corridor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location, quirky features
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather humid and temperature difficult to control, breakfast adequate but nothing special

    Quirky features in public area, wonderful central spiral staircase, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location to metro and bus routes .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi in rooms and at times no wifi. Management aware but couldn't seem to sold problem .Noisy due to construction work next building unavoidable .Pillows poor quality .

    Great location to metro and bus routes .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is located near main sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms looks old without long renovation. In fact the hotel provides breakfast with poor variety. No warm meal, no eggs at all.

    Hotel is located near main sites. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    A very central fun hotel with lovely old transport items decorating public areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room slightly dark. Not many staff but very efficient - we did not wait for anything.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, with 24 hour attendance. Our triple room was large and facilities fine. Breakfast good, although a little limited,croissants excellent! There was plenty of everything whatever time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Do not expect anything more than loacation in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cleaned with something, which smelled terrible and we had to keep the balcony door open for an hour or so the try to get rid of the smell. No big success though. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, so all the wet air went into the room. The dirty sheets from the prior attendants for the room were left in the wardrobe, together with the supposedly clean extra pillows. The breakfast is disastrous. Only yogurt and several type f sweet bread. The hotel DOES NOT provide any kind of parking. Instead we were directed to a parking lot nearby where the "preferential" rates for parking agreed by the hotel were much more expensive than the hourly fee for parking on the street.

    Great location in the heart of Porto.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, a few minutes' walk from underground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room is rather small and crowded. The next building is being demolished now, so from 8 a.m till 7 p.m there is an extreme loud noise in the rooms. It's not the hotel's fault, and you might not want to spend your time in the room anyway, but I think it's fair to draw your attention to it. On the other hand in the evening it's a very quiet place.

    Very good location, a few minutes' walk from underground and main bus lines. Clerigos tower is 10 minutes. Spaceous and clean room and bathroom, minibar, satellite tv-channels. Staff is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is simple, only one kind of salami and cheese, but at least 6-7 kinds of bread, rolls and other pastry, jams, and delicious cakes!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    A pleasing pit stop during my week trekking through Spain and Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast range was a bit poor, but English people never like continental breakfast so it is what it is, not a real issue. The hotel could do with advertising that there is noisy construction around the vicinity of the hotel during the day and until 10pm. It starts at 8am which woke me up, but I needed to be up then so it was a bonus alarm clock. That said I could understand it frustrating other residents

    I was looking for a cheap hotel to cover a one night stay in Porto while watching the Champions League game. I really enjoyed the stay here. It’s a fairly basic hotel but it does the job to be honest. Most importantly the staff were really friendly, personable and helpful where required. Can’t say i’ll return to Porto in the near future, but if I do i’ll definitely go back here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    A nice hotel and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were demolishing the building next door, so jack hammering until 7:00 p.m. we tried to get a room change to opposite of building but no joy. If we had known we would not have booked.

    A quirky experience, good value for money and a geat location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a parking garage close by, but it doesn't open until 0700. If you have an early flight, this will not work. Parking on the street is free after hours, but we had a tough time finding a spot close by.

    Great location in the city of Porto. Clean rooms with plenty of places to eat and drink close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Place to repeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say the views from the room were not great because the courtyard is under construction.

    Perfect place to spend your stay in Porto! Excellent location, very close to the main sights of the city and easy to reach from the airport. Nice and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean room. But without doubts, the best things are the breakfast (full of options, with some typical sweets from the country) and the decoration of the hotel, full of vintage things and the spiral stair deserves a picture! Place to repeat!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Quirky hotel in a great location, close to all the major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although there's a number close by, a bar would be nice.

    Quirky hotel in a great location, close to all the major sights and transport. Collection of vintage fairground/toys/motoring/household items has to be seen. Good range of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    We chose this hotel for its location and price, and it was well worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise, due to construction work around the hotel and it felt like there’s not as much privacy as expected

    The location in excellent, and the hotel is fairly cheap for what you get, great value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: