Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Quinta das Lajes, 4560-232 Penafiel, Portugal

#7 of 11 hotels in Penafiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 590 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky as the jacuzzi was not working .the pool facility need some extra maintenance.

    Impeccable!loved this hotel with friendly staff .We spend Valentine's weekend here and the hotel went out their way to make it romantic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise in the room coming from the near highway.

    Very clean and nice spa and staff. Very comfortable and very great breakfast. Located very near to the center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tatty with wall paper peeling off the walls broken door handles and worn furniture. We also requested non smoking but we're placed in a smoking area, didn't think it was allowed in side in Europe.

    The staff and the food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is completely old-fashioned, and not in a "design choice" way. The carpets in the room had stains, the mattress was bumpy, and overall it looks not greatly maintained. We look for great Spa's and this was just so depressing: the indoor pool is too small to swim, and the water was not very clear. The jacuzzi was foamy and cold. The sauna was turned off for the day due to electrical issues. The steam bath - surprise - had no steam at all. We tried to run a hot bath in our room and there was no running hot water, only cold. After communicating this to the reception, we got some complimentary pieces of fruit, and 20min later a lukewarm shower with very little water pressure. The highlight of this place are its employees.

    The staff was really nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have seen degrading this hotel since quite some time. My first stay dates from at least 6 years ago. There is a big lack of maintenance. When 6 years ago the hotel still could be marked as a 4 star, this is long gone. The first room given to me on this stay had a dirty, stained wall to wall carpet. The bath-tub had dark rims of moist, when I wanted to shower the handle of the tap broke of and landed in the tub and putting my cloths in the wardrobe the shelves came down by themselves. It was sheer disaster. When making my point at reception I was immediately given a suite. But also here the decay is obvious: again dirty flooring and badly maintained wirlpool. The bedcover was stained and used as a blanket, really... Everywhere in the hotel the decay is obvious. The elevators have stainless steel covering full of fingermarks. Seatings with discolored fabrics, used carpets, this place needs a complete make-over. Furthermore the evening buffet which used to be of good quality has gone down a lot.

    I do not envy the people working here. But they were nice and tried to solve what could be solved. The breakfast buffet is large and well furnished.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the airco was not functioning properly , but we have been offered fruits and water as a small compensation.

    We got a free upgrade to a suite, that was very nice after a day of travelling in the country (a hot day)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a cold pool outside, only place to cool off is the spa pool which is warm

    Lovely hotel, lovely staff could not do enough for you. Got a free upgrade to an amazing suite. Was an amazing stay in a beautiful part of portugal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food both dinner and breakfast wasn't great. Swimming pool I couldn't use because baby swimming lessons!?

    Location for me as I was visiting manufacturers.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We couldn't get the sink plug to work but we didn't bother to 'complain' about this.

    The hotel was large and modern. It was very well equipped. The staff were outstanding - they couldn't do enough for us. It has good views (it is up in some hills and looks over a valley. Excellent Portuguese dancing display! Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the very slow service of some employees.

    good location, quiet area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large business type hotel. Urban area

    Modern styling, breakfast fabulous, local to numerous restaurants in the town a short walk up the hill,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the room with stains

    Modern style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seemed a little 'tired'. The decor was impractical and we had a few things that were not working in our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening food could have been better

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How dilapidated the hotel has become with marked and scruffy carpets room, peeling wall paper in public areas.

    Airy and spacious and convenient to town

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Couple

    Café do pequeno almorço.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    SPA circuit need maintenance

    Friendly staff, good break fast

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Recption and looby aerea as walking in strong smell a cigarette and cigars.

    Nice and comfortable. Location excellent and service fantastic

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Browse Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: