Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Peninsular

Rua Sa da Bandeira, 21, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-433 Porto, Portugal

#145 of 198 B&Bs and Inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3016 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very smelly of humidity and Mustiness. Sheet to cover the bed with spots. We asked to change the first room and we got one a bit better but we had to pay the difference. In the new room (for 4 people) there is a constant noise that comes from working valves even during the hole night.

    Breakfast is rich. They keep the luggage during the day if needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    – You'll need to bring your room keys to the reception every time you leave the hotel. Honestly, I haven't experienced this practice since the 1990s when I used to go on a family vacation to seaside resorts in Poland as a 5 year-old. – Be aware that there's no luggage storage as such – if you want to leave your bags after checking out, you'll be asked to leave them in a space between the elevator and the reception desk. I was assured that they keep eye on them, but if you're safety freak then you've been warned. Bonus tip for the hotel staff, if they ever read it – please get rid of those terrible wall stickers in rooms, they are literally destroying quite nice, old-fashion ambience of the room.

    I was bit spooked by some negative reviews, but they all turned out to be exaggerated. I stayed in Double Deluxe for two nights and it was perfectly fine. The room was spacious, had nice wooden vintage furniture, clean bathroom, and comfortable bed. Wifi worked fine on the 4th floor. Breakfast was ok – pretty much the standard in this price category in Portugal (few kinds of bread/buns, ham, cheese, fruit jams, coffee, juice, tea selection. No eggs though, sorry egg scramble aficionados). Room are cleaned daily. The location is terrific too, literally few steps from Sao Bento station and a couple more from Aliados. Trindade is within the walking distance as well (Porto is very small, anything in a city centre is easily reachable on foot). I'd highly recommend Peninsular for solo travelers on a budget who'd like to get a good night sleep in a private room rather than end up for the 100th time in a shared bedroom with bunk beds in a youth hostel full of party animals in their early 20s. During the high season in Porto, prices for both experiences are actually comparable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never go on floor 5. First we were given room 545. It was terrible. Rotted windows that didnot work, mould, paint peeling off, hairs and stains on sheets. Complained and got moved to room 543. Room a little bigger but still below standard. Springs were sticking out of mattress. Complained again (please note i never normally complain) and staff checked mattress and changed it for another. It is a shared bathroom on this level. Toilet light did not work, was not fixed all week even though i explained it was difficult to use in the dark. Bathroom is terrible, so small and disgusting. Other rooms on different floors are better but cost more. Location is excellent and it appears everyone gets free breakfast. Hope this explains why reviews are so varied.

    Location excellent, but if you go for a cheap room expect it to be below standard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist asked me for 4€ "tourist tax" to be paid in cash without receipt. I had to drive 6 hours back to Madrid, so I couldn't spent time arguing about this, however it gives impression of shady deal.

    Very close to the center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty pillows, no lights in hall, no lights in bathroom. Scary 5th floor away from nicer part of hotel. No wifi service on 5th floor.

    Our experience at the Hotel Peninsular was very unpleasant. The room in which we stayed was not similar to any of the photos online. If the pictures were representative of the quality I would have had no problem paying the low price, but our room on the fifth floor had no lighting in the hallway, no light in the bathroom, and appeared to be the only part of the hotel that didn't receive wifi service. The sheets were clean but the pillows were not. If I hadn't made the reservation last minute I would probably be more dissatisfied than I was, but I will say that I made the reservation in haste so I will take part of the blame for not doing more research about the place. Best part about it was the breakfast in the morning which was definitely good. No complaints there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old dirty carpets in room, everything is very old, wifi in room was spotty and weak

    Location couldn't be better, hotel itself is fascinating, stuck in time, very helpful staff, breakfast was adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the clerk was very unhelpful for us pilgrims starting our Camino. she refused to help us make contact t with baggage service or assist us in any other way. also told us how cranky and awful a long term guest was. no maps or other traveller guides offered.

    great location. great old building with old woodwork

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small. We coudn't open a window and there was strange noise outside. The shower was shabby and bathroom was not very clean.

    The staff was helpful and location really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work meant we had to walk through uncleared rubble and dust to get to the room< not ideal even for a cheap hotel. Parking was a trek with luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are old and have very strong musty smells, my clothes get the musty smells during my three-day stays, it is hard to wash the smell out. The front desk staff was rude and makes your scare to deal with her.

    location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water flow on the 4 rth floor was minimal.

    This an older hotel, t reminded me of gritty 1930 hotels near grand central station in NY. It is being upgraded. The diningroom for breakfast is splendid The breakfast was ample The location is brilliant when arriving by train and in general, as central as can be. No street noises penetrated our room, no neighbor room noises were heard either. This is a no luxury hotel rhat is perfect fir one night transit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was modest, but we noticed it is like that in all ho(s)tels we stayed at (4 so far) during our stay in Portugal.

    The interior design was excellent; beautiful old furniture and design in the common areas. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was no help with information and did not inform us that due to the hotel being on the race route, we would not be able to get back into the hotel until late that night. Fortunately, porto has a lot to offer and we kept busy for hours. The other part was parking. You can use their garage about a kilometer away, but don't ask them how to get there, they will just get mad and tell you they don't know because they don't drive. Breakfast is included and is ok, but basic. The only warm items are the coffee and the toast. And do not try and take anything to your room such as an apple or you will be charged!!! The one cool thing was the window in our room opened to the street and had we have been able to get in, we would have had great seats lol. Avoid if possible, but if not, bring your attitude because you will need it.😉

    Very basic across the board! Rooms are empty with one desk, two beds and one picture. The place looks like it is falling apart and very out dated. However, we have been to Tangier and this is a 4-star in comparison. We came to town not knowing it was during their national car race through the streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked if we could refill our water bottles from the water fountain in the breakfast room and we were told we can’t and at reception they told us to do it from the sink by the bar toilet!

    The location was perfect, close to Sao Bento train station and the breakfast was very good. The room while basic it was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 41/2 floor and the assigned room was infected with mold. We were assigned a new room on the same floor where the washroom was dirty with mold on the shower curtains, After complaining and showing reception the problems they put a new shower curtain in and we were satisfied. The other main problem is the slow release of water from the tub/shower. Either the shower pipes need to be cleaned (hair, etc) or just the pipes are old and narrow. Staff from boxing.com should review the hotel facilities before offering their services.

    the location, and the the the breakfast was very good and plentiful. The reception staff were helpful, pleasant and spoke English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner of the business was very informative about the city. The breakfast was very good. The service was mostly good.

    Were not advised of the amount of stairs necessary to reach the room. Very small room and strong smell of sewer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect, in center of the city, near rail station, Luís bridge. Hotel is very old in old building, he needs repair...But room is clean and big enough ( but not economy room!!! Be attentive economy room very small and old, window is too small without any view ) Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, right in town, close to train station. Staff was great, the hotel is a grand old dame! Great to see that quality of construction from yesteryear.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was small

    The hotel is in a very good position. Room was a bit small but comfortable. The hotel itself is very old, with old design and old furniture BUT they keep it very good and it looks amazing inside!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed- sheets and towels look very poor, and therefore give a bad impression. There were some hairs in the bed. But it was a very good value for money.

    A very central location, low price and quite good breakfast. It's a perfect choice for budget travellers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The object for sure has it's years - especially the bathroom (at least the one I had in my room) needs some improvement. A little bit cold in both the bathroom and the room itself however this was quite easily fixed with an external radiator located in the room. If you accept the fact that it's not a palace you will for sure be 100% satisfied with your stay.

    Perfect location just next to the Sao Bento railway station - can't be better. Very tasty breakfast, more diverse than I usually had in Portugal. Especially self-prepared jams were awesome. Would stay again if back in Porto!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and included extra stairs that we weren't expecting.

    The staff and location were excellent. The breakfast was fair (little protein). The ambiance was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in the room, even it was 9 degree. The breakfast was very basic, not much choice. Even both the room and bathroom was very spacious, they need to be refurbished.

    The hotel was in a great location, we could not be in a better part of the city. Everything what you want to see in Porto is in walking distance. The building itself is beautiful although- it needs renovation. It was a very good price to be so close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed in Porto several times and this is the best stay. Porto is VERY hilly and this hotel is in a good position to explore the city without too much difficulty. Parked the car nearby and pretty good value at €12 overnight. The room was a little small but so was the price! Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting tv and ac remotes from reception and returning them there, should be in the room permanently.

    Good breakfast. Excellent location. Nice roomy bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location; close to the attractions but peaceful at night. Good breakfast. Old building with a mafioso style decor. Like living on a movie set. Clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mould and mildew, lack of lighting, cracks in the ceiling, incorrect info on the website, way too much money.

    The close location to Sao Bento station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Also other guests could be heard in the room above.

    Good to have a bath as well as a shower (very welcome after long days of sightseeing). Very good breakfast included in the very reasonable price. Location was excellent. Staff pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark hall ways, and the room had obviously been heavily fumigated just before we arrived. My son needed a rest so we had to stay in the pesticide filled room for an hour. NOT good. No pillows, but found them in a large wardrobe. Presumably because the pillows were in the cupboard they missed the fumigation and we both had flea bits on our heads and my son also had one on his arm. The window in the picture looks great but ours "opened" on to a wall about 2 foot from the room wall.

    The breakfast room was clean and well lite and the food good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the smallest they have. Too small really for any length of stay. Windows covered with condensation after a night's breathing. No facilities for making a drink, but this is Portugal.

    Very clean. Staff helpful. Excellent central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was horrible!!! Bathroom disgusting and smelly, as was the whole room. Very cold in the room with just a floor heater. Had it turned up to high, but barely put out any heat. When I asked for help, I was told that it was good as it was going to get, unless I wanted to pay more another room. REALLY. When trying to phone the desk for help, the lady couldn’t hear me. Had to run down to ask for help. The pictures online are NOT what the rooms are like. Beware. Would not recommend this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic but very affordable accomodation (just a place to crash, which is just what I needed), friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient location, just a few steps away from Sao Bento station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was for the most part very sour. I had to argue about the type of room I had booked. The receptionist tried to give a room with three single beds instead of a deluxe double.

    The room was very clean as well as the dining area for breakfast. The location is fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little old and stiff and shower required some acrobatics to get out of without falling in the toilet. ~2 euro / person / night hotel fee

    Porto is a fantastic city and the location of this hotel can not be beat. It is just across the street from the train station and in the middle of everything. We had a car and found a parking garage 4 blocks away at the ViaCatarina shopping mall which had an 8 euro overnight parking (just pay the friendly attendant and not the machine). The decor of the hotel is a throwback but fits the feel of Porto and the breakfast while a little on the minimal side was plenty to get you going.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed not great: lumpy and hard, blanket scratchy. Also the gloomy hotel was very damp and my minimal washing didn't dry in two days. Not up to chain standards, but an excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time for internet use I have to come on other floor. No electronic elevator access to that floor.

    Dear sir, 1. They said that you will pay at property and credit card is just for security but they deduct the money from account. That was wrong. 2. There was no Wi-Fi on the floor where they gave me room. 3. There was no lift access. I have to go on that floor by walking along with lugage .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3rd visit at this hotel. Old building and old furniture but stylish. Just a few steps from all attractions in Porto and exactly connect with Sao Bento train station and metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've stayed here several times and it is starting to look a bit dated. Bathrooms need an upgrade and you have to ask for a remote for the air-con which is needed in the winter to heat the cold rooms!

    Great location just a few steps from the Sao Bento train station. Decent breakfast in a nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    May I suggest that the dining room attendant avoids using sprays to clean around the breakfast buffet area while food is on display I needed help to check in for my return flight, using your computer and printer a few yards from the reception desk. As I do not understand your native language as arranged on the computer, I requested help for same and was told it was not the receptionist's duty to leave her desk, yet if I needed one or many alcoholic drinks in the same area would she serve me? Many guests are from other countries so assistance with checking in for flights would be an asset at your hotel. My friend had told me earlier to avoid that grumpy lady at all costs. All of the other staff were super and a delight to engage with. The tourist office in Porto was most helpful, perhaps you might advise other guests that this basic service of a flight check in is available in town if your policy denies same. Thank you Eileen Hayes

    A great selection of breakfast food to start the day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold room, the air conditioning wasn't working - but they kept insisting it was us who didn't know how to use the remote control - we had to change rooms and they asked us to pay extra, for an otherwise inferior room. The whole deal took about 4 hours, which made us lose one of the 2 afternoons we planned to spend in Porto. They don't have a luggage room, so after checking out you need to leave the luggage on the floor, where it isn't supervised by anybody. When leaving the hotel I asked the receptionist to order us a taxi, and they asked me to pay the phonecall, about 30 cents.

    Central position

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel!!! The description says “Allergy free” but the room/bed linens were full of dust and we were all itchy after 30mins or so! Lights are not working, tap water is murky, floors are broken (which makes the door hard to open), everything old and dusty.... the entire hotel smelled stuffy... The church in front of the hotel rings the bell every 15mins and there are lots of noise from the street. Staff are unhelpful/unkind and had to change hotels but refused to give us a refund.

    Nothing. Horrible service/room etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely but definitely needs upgrading.

    The location was perfect. This hotel was really good value for money. Our room although basic was clean and comfortable . Breakfast was fresh and decent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building (especially rooms) needs redecoration! It is very strange that owner/owners has a nice hotel in great location and do not care of it. Also, there should be more staff - only one person at the reception and the second who prepares breakfast is too little. Breakfast wasn't good. Owner/owners economize on the quality of products (it is very easy to notice, really).

    The biggest advantage of this place is personel - very nice and helpfull staff on the reception. Also, the object has great location - in the heart of Porto.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle to make a hot drink. It would have been nice because it is winter time and the weather was cold and rainy. So a hot drink would have been nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is very old. It has advantages and disadvantages. It was a little cold in the middle of November even with 3 blankets and electric heater turned on. The shared bathroom was clean but very old and very small. The wifi in my room did not work at all - it did work in corridors though.

    Beautiful, old interiors. Good breakfast: fresh bread (different kinds), butter, nice jams, basic cheese and ham, cornflakes, yogurt, orange juice, basic coffee, tea, milk, some fruit. Nice and helpful staff. Perfect location in the city center. Everything was cleaned on daily basis. There were six different towels in my room (I used only one). Payment possible using a card.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty old in Jeff if renovations. Also had construction behind us and wasn’t told. Staff was not helpful. Very disappointing would not recommend. Surprise you even advertise this hotel on your site.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not functional........see through wall and door. Shower hard to regulate. Light switch automatically switches on and stays on for 10 mins if you get up to go to the bathroom! Small dismal room.....ok for 2 nights.

    Location for sight seeing and transport links. Old, characteristic hotel but where there is updating it looks as if it has been done cheaply or with little thought!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smell a lot, the heater does not work, inside of my towels I found a bunch of hair and it was disgusting. The double bed was really small. The bathroom was horrible. When I told all of these things,personal were angry with me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not beautiful, but it's ok if you only want to sleep.

    Great location, right in the city center, close to all the interesting points. Simple. Just to spend a night. The facilities are ok. It's almost the cheapest you can get for a private room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways very dark until we realized they were on switches to save electricity — ok once we put lights on!

    Excellent location 2 min. from beautiful Sao Bento rail station. Older hotel but clean & charming! Great value. Very helpful front desk staff! Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    eveything

    while reading the reviews of other guests, you may wonder if those reviews are written by the Hotel staff..or , you have just stayed in a different hotel in a different world...the only plus is a location, nothing more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor, clearly in need of a extensive refurbishment despite being a beautiful building. The reception staff not very friendly but the lady at breakfast room was really sweet and helpfull. No wifi available in the rooms Single pane windows in the city centre so it gets noisy during the night.

    Very large room on the top floor. The building is really beautiful and full of character

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a tiny bedroom and very uncomfortable bathroom. We just stayed one night and left very early. the best in this hotel is the breakfast. Delicious fresh orange juice, fresh fruits and bred. they have the best jams ever tasted. All home made. Simply delicious.

    location très bonnes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The walls were molded in my room. The shower didn't work properly. The cleaning stuff opened the window and left it open, when I arrived home in the evening, there were like 13 degrees in my room, I cought a cold. Letting in fresh air is a nice idea, but it's woth considering what season it is. I think making guests freeze is not the best way of fighting against the wall problems.

    The location is good indeed. The breakfast was fair. The wifi worked better than last year, maybe it was just the different room location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were tired having spent 9 days walking on the caminho. The hotel is located approx 3 min walk from Sao Bento metro right in the centre of Porto. The staff at the front desk were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. We enjoyed a good breakfast and quite a late checkout of 12.30.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated, & worn but excellent location and great for the dollar! I would stay there again for sure. The rooms and the facility is a bit dark, but I'm only there for sleeping and thought it was great for what I needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, bad hygiene, hair on the pillows before used by us, no good working shower, dirty floor, bad service not welcome feeling, garage too far away

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very central and easy to get to from the metro. We were spending one night before heading north. Breakfast was nice and the old world charm of this property was an additional bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise - the is no use of windows shutters, so earplugs is a must. Premises are worn out, you live like in an old museum. No shampoo.

    Decent breakfast and in the very heart of the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in could do with refurbishment and a new bathroom. But adequate for a short stay.

    Location - across the road from the station. Room adequate for short stay. Parts of this very old hotel have been restored with beautiful furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi wasn't working in the room at all, and the reception didn't pick up the phone; no shampoo in the room, shower gel only

    Staff, location, hot water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this place is really grat! In Bairro Alto center - next to the pubs. Close to the metro station, tran station, pingo doce, view points to the Lisbon. I can really recommend that place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get value for money. Basic, but had everything needed for an overnight stay - actually would be fine for a few days. Staff friendly and helpful. Had early start before restaurant opened so coffee,croissant and jam in bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pokey room with no window so stuffy and airless. Not enough covers for time of year. The map I got on line to find place was wrong so I did a bit of walking around that was not necessary. Should have been very easy!! Also woman in tourist office sent me in another wrong direction!!

    Nice interior to hotel. Nice staff even at 6.45 when I had early breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location and although furnishing a little tired its a wobderful art deco building - my room was spotless clean and they served breakfast in bar for those leaving early - not many olaces do that and the coffee and croissants were better that 4 star hitel i just stayed at! By a long way.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was at the front and was very noisy with traffic. One member of staff was extremely unhelpful and unfriendly. We were unable to get wifi to access information about how to get to the bus station and on to Vigo and the girl/woman at reception would not help us at all.We subsequently found out that the bus that goes all the way to Vigo can be got just around the corner in the big square. Also she would not help us printing out boarding cards. All the other staff were very nice. No wifi in bedroom and very little in the foyer.

    I loved the privacy of the ensuite, having our own 'foyer' off the bedroom. I loved the style of the room and the actual bathroom. The breakfast was amazing. It was varied and the equipment was easy to use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many options for breakfast, but not bad tho, fresh food. Very old faucets in the bathroom and bathtube, didnt make it easy to regulate water. Lighting in the room could be better. Bed is a bit hard for the back. Air conditioner didnt properly work. Excellent staff. Overall, for the price, could be better. The localization is one of the best you can find in Porto, right in the city center, 200m from all the best touristic spots. I guess that what makes this hotel "shine" is only the localization. They have a private parking place but be ready to have a hard time parking there, really tight but good. Parking manager doesnt seem to speak English. Cheap parking place. Overall, 6.5/10.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was musty, dusty, and crusty. The plumbing is original and not in good repair. I wanted to boil my shoes after walking down the hallway.

    The location is extremely convenient to the train station and metro. The period decor of the public spaces from the 1950s or 1960s is interesting in an authentic, dark, and ironic way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very Convenient for Sao Bento Metro and Suburban Rail Station Furniture is dark wood and leather and Porto was having an energy efficiency drive resulting in removal of several light bulbs....bring a torch Adequate says its 2 star it is

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    (1)The darkness when we came out of the lift to our floor. (2)Some of the people on the Reception Desk, in particular one girl, who's name we fortunately cannot remember, appeared fairly disinterested in their job, and in turn the clients. The girl referred to was in fact extremely offhand and rude in response to the simple (but doubtless far too frequently asked) question - "Where are the nearest restaurants"? Replying that they were just around the corner where we will see MacDonald's and several others. Apart from her tone, we seriously dislike MacD and all it stands for, this was a most unfortunate way to provide the information we needed, when we first arrived. (3) The breakfast, while perfectly adequate, became so boring as it was exactly the same offering every day.

    We especially liked the hotel's closeness to the Metro. The building had a sort of old world charm, though kept altogether too dark.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service quality and attitude of the staff to treat guests need to be improved. The staff my show poker and unfriendly face when asking things, maybe it is more easy for them to resolve questions. But feel uncomfortable for the attitude and response.

    Location is good. The room maid is polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was supposedly an upgrade. Had broken toilet, fan and bathroom glass door. Carpet and bathroom tiles seen better days some years ago. The room was like a cupboard with no window. The bathroom was a disgrace with broken toilet seat, grout all over the walls and floor and very poor fixtures and fittings. Offered room I boked which had broken tv and No Wi-Fi. Car parking wasn't available so had to pay additional charge for local provision. These were facilities that I wanted when booking a room as I was traveling with my son. I wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

    Only positive was location. If you do book here check parking arrangements as a number of people including myself complaining about arrangements upon arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plumbing was probably worst point old fashioned and shower head came off in my hand during use. Water flow a bit limited at times. Bed sheets barely wide enough.

    Décor of the buiding was art nouveau/authentic Portugese Breakfast was very adequate continental. Reception was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very top located hotel to reach by both metro and train easily. You can view the hotel as son as you leave the Sao Bento metro station. The lateral entrance of Sao Bento train station is just across the hotel as well. You can even leave your room and catch the train departing to Braga in ten minutes. Porto is quite a hilly city, therefore an accommodation next to public transportation stations is priceless. Nevertheles, almost everything of touristic importance is within walking distance to Hotel Peninsular. You can even reach the scenic Luis 1 Bridge and the Villa Nova de Gaia bank of the Douro River with a short downward walk. As for the hotel, it is a bit old and somewhat gloomy, but elegantly decorated. Our room was spacious and comfortable with air conditioner, TV set, mini bar and a safe. It was a pleasant surprise to find both a jacuzzi tub and a shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was good enough and was served in a classy hall. I certainly recommend Hotel Peninsular. As a last note, if you'll reach from the airport by metro, be sure to purchase an Andante Card and charge it with a title of Z4 trip ticket and make a switch to D (yellow) line at Trindade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is getting older. There was some rust coming form the tap at each time I opened it. The breakfast can be more improved

    Great location near the train station even it's not the most important one in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Peninsular traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: