Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Adelaide Hotel 2 stars

Rua De Arnassó 45, 4845-063 Geres, Portugal

#11 of 18 hotels in Geres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 798 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is more than a two star rating. Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, very clean. The pool area is lovely & you can view the pool from the restaurant window, although a short drive from hotel there is a complimentary shuttle bus to take you there. If your looking for a hotel with pool in Gerês choose this hotel. We would definitely return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't fault it.

    A really clean and friendly hotel with brilliant views and great service ( e.g. lifts to the lovely pool). The restaurant food and service were great and the view outstanding. Great to have a balcony. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Gerês is heaven on earth but i was surprised there were no hot thermal baths. They are in Torneiros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little uncomfortable and a little mold that needs painting on bathroom ceiling. Nothing else.

    Lovely staff. Great value for a 2 star hotel. Staggeringly dramatic views from room and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Base yourself here to explore Peneda-Geres national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A decent walk up the hill to get to and from your accommodation if you have to wheel a suitcase over the cobblestone paths.

    A lovely place to stay while exploring Peneda-Geres national park. The view down the valley at breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice and quiet location, with a balcony looking towards the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the pictures were big with king-size beds, while we got a very small room with a rather small double bed

    Nice and quiet location, with a balcony looking towards the hills.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Some days to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at Adelaide Hotel was excellent. The whole hotel was recently renovated and feels more modern now. The rooms are very nice and comfortable; ours had a nice balcony with mountain view, which was excellent as we were in for a couple of days rest. Overall excellent stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is just a small detail: some objects are still a reminder of the old decoration (e.g. the trush recipient in the bathroom).

    Baby bed. Renewed room. Nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay with great views and the cleanest rooms I have ever been in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was a short drive away, just the other side of the valley. It was a lovely pool and there was a bar and food there with lovely views but I just hadn't realised that when I booked. It could just be clearer on the website maybe.

    This is possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever been to. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the rooms and all areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean. The food was really reasonable and the staff were very helpful and friendly in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    The only place to stay at when in Geres National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location within Geres. Room with a view over the village. Can't fault this location for visiting Geres national park. Great value for this time of the year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Adelaide Hotel In PN-Geres was wonderful hotel in beautiful setting with spectacular views 10 of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything about Adelaide Hotel in Geres

    Adelaide Hotel In PN-Geres was wonderful hotel in beautiful setting with spectacular views and world class accommodation !!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.0
    Exploring the North of Portugal, great clean friendly inexpensive hotel helps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds are pretty hard. bring a foam pad with you or yoga mat.

    lovely friendly staff. rooms very cleaned. perfect location for exploring the area. breakfast was great. had dinner one night there and it was also excellent. clean sheets, warm blankets, good heating. had a great visit to the north of Portugal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.1
    Convenient location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor is a bit old fashion (not necessarily a minus, though); The air conditioning was not working properly, it never got past 18 degrees C; The room has an extra bed which breaks the romantic mood; Breakfast may be poor for some people (I thought it ok but I don't eat eggs and bacon in the morning);

    Convenient location; Nice views; Roomy balcony; Hot water, roomy bath; A very homey fireplace in the lobby;

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    A friendly and well managed hotel with a good restaurant and excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is up a very steep hill from the town centre, though this would not matter if you had a car.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the mountains which was exactly as billed in the information. The swimming pool was welcome after a hot day walking in the mountains. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Location, view room, free parking (Geres centrum is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not use pool, is at the other side of the valley. Need to go by car. We did not mind, we went for canyoning anyway. Noise, its good to know: Geres is a touristic place with lots of entertainment in the summer. A lot of the activities are in frond of the hotel, including firework, the noise of loud music will keep you awake till 02:00. For us it's was no problem we liked the fireworks.

    Location, view room, free parking (Geres centrum is very busy) breakfast is fine, diner also nice with a view price is good. Friendly people, family hotel, kids of owner behind desk (I find that amusing and very ok). We had an amazing time because the activity Centre square of the village is at the bottom of the hotel. We could see samba bands, firework, Portuguese pop bands play.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    breath taking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was fine

    Comfy bed Nice clean room.. Most of allgreat view from balcony. Nice resurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    right on top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed made a lot off noise cause there were some plastic in it!

    The breakfeast and pool were my favourite !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Pequeno almoço variado e fresco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pequeno almoço variado e fresco. Simpatia do staff. Vista do hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great for accessing Geres national park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location for accessing trails around Geres. Clean, great views and good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff all worked hard to make our stay memorable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Very nice stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could had been better

    Staff were pleasant, the hotel had a nice 70s charm to it and it was very quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.9
    Will book again but will complain if I see the same receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful miserable receptionist

    Nice staff at the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Excelente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piscina demasiado longe

    Excelente

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfasts were full, it is a very good hotel, the one I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    all was ok

    Breakfasts were full, it is a very good hotel, the one I would like to return to. But necssarily take a room with the balcony and you will see a beautiful mountain that forms one part of the valley Geres is in; it is a picturesque place and hotel. I strongly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Adelaide Hotel was in an excellent location, was reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was that someone was vacuuming in the room next to us around the crack of dawn which woke us both up earlier than we'd have liked.

    Adelaide Hotel was in an excellent location, was reasonably priced, the room was clean with a lovely terrace and comfortable beds. There was also free parking and breakfast which was a plus.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    the view from my balcony was absolutely stunning, looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i was hoping for a bath...

    the view from my balcony was absolutely stunning, looking down at the little town, across at the high mts, beautiful. loved going to sleep hearing the sound of the river. explored the entire area above the town, great spot to explore from. the staff was lovely and helpful even though I do not speak Portuguese well and their English was limited, we did fine. I had a lovely fish dinner in their restaurant downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff and always trying to help, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing at all

    Friendly staff and always trying to help, location is wonderfull. Very nice food and drinks. Plenty Parking spaces. Quiet and peacefull atmosphere all around. It was my second time in the same hotel and i will recommend. I will be there next year to photograph the autum colors

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.9
    Good location with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room quite small. Staff couldn't help when asked about walks in the area. Steep hill up to the hotel.

    Good location with excellent food. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.3
    Nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast wasn't very good. Room was not cosy at all. Showerhead was broken. The hotel was probably nice 20 years ago, but now the accomodation is getting a bit old.

    Nice view! WiFi connection was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    wonderful view from balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    trying to eat vegan in the restaurant (or in the whole town, for that matter) was a challenge; the cook did her or his best to make a good salad, but it was still rubbish: pineapple and peach from a tin - what a joke. I recommend adding better vegan options to the menu. For those who rely on public transport, it is a steep walk up from the bus stop, some 10 to 15 minutes walking.

    wonderful view from balcony; very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The rooms are simple but everything is in great condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wi-fi was very poor in our room. I kinda needed to do some work so it was important to have.

    The rooms are simple but everything is in great condition. The beds are comfy and the cleanliness everywhere is superb. The free breakfast is enjoyable and the restaurant's food is excellent. The staff is super friendly, helpful and attentive. They have two lovely pools with plenty of well kept lawn for everyone - yes, the pool is 350m away but the hotel has a van that will take you there.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    5.0
    rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff not friendly. Not very helpful when early breakfast was required.

    rooms were clean. Plenty of hot water

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    The diner, the room, the stuff, the terrace and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast

    The diner, the room, the stuff, the terrace and the location

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: