Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel do Norte 2 stars

Rua Fernandes Tomas , 579, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-217 Porto, Portugal

#120 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1886 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    2 star hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sometimes noisy , bathroom small . Expensive for a 2 star hotel unless you get a last minute offer.

    24 hour reception , excellent location, Jorges very professional on reception . Good local restaurants recommended by female receptionist. Church view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a lot of trouble with WiFi. If it's a necessity, don't stay here. It sounded like I had a herd of elephants in the room above me. Breakfast not included.

    Location was excellent! Staff were very happy to help. Air conditioning was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great front desk stuff.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. If you are on the 4th floor you have to drag your own luggages. No stuff to help. Difficult to park.

    Location....location.....location. In yhe middle of the historic center. Rooms are small but ....ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is great and you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old and a bit run down. Lots of stairs to access the rooms, which could be a problem for older people.

    The location is great and you get what you pay for. The staff speaks English and is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, next Metro, shops. Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to walk 4 flights of stairs -which was fine for us, but just to know. Room was basic, but perfect for our city visit.

    The hotel is very close to Bolhao Metro (2min) and next to Rua De Santa Catarina (the main shopping Street). So location superb. Staff friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Not great, but good enough because of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very loud. The window did not shut out ANY noise. Definitely bring earplugs. We also heard a microwave and felt a really strong smell of food in the middle of the night.

    The staff was nice and the location is really good. The room was not too bad with new furniture and some refurbishment done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Basic accommodation but great lovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking in the shopping centre next door. Very noisy and bright right on a main street with heavy traffic and sirens etc

    Very close to city. Walking distance to most things including shopping and public transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    beautiful place!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the elevator was very very slow, and we were at 5th floor....

    good position, near city center. nice neighbor, not dangerous, full of services. jorge, the guy at the reception, is very nice and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful woman at check in delightful - shame she wasn’t there again to deal with wifi issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO WIFI IN ROOM

    Was unable to get wifi in room worked well in lobby but I don’t want to sit in a lobby to get internet, advised front desk twice a day but no change to wifi in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Located just next to the metro station and within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not available. Room was smaller than expected, it might be because it was on the top floor (5th).

    Located just next to the metro station and within walking distance to several places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.5
    Good location and helpful staff, but not worth the money it charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Too expensive for what it offers: a tiny room and bathroom in bad shape. Old furniture. The window in the room could not be closed. The mattress was terrible and covered in plastic making an unpleasant noise.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    We rented an apartment and it was very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented an apartment and it was very spacious and clean. Great location to metro stop. Located in exclusion zone so close parking isn't an option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    OK!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no a lift. There is no possibilities to get the breakfast in the hotel. WiFi could be better.

    Nice old building, red carpets :) The women who met was so nice that us even let us 1 hour earlier to the room. We are staying for the second time there and we would do that again. Near the hotel - metro station and a normal shopping center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but we had a very small room. No space for the suitcase, for example. No elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, but the hotel doesn’t have an elevator and our room was tiny. I had to share my bed with my suitcase. The bathroom was equally small and hardly any water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small and the bedding and towels are old but clean.No elevator but the staff did help us to take our luggage upstairs.If you are not too fussy this establishment is ok. .

    The property is very central located and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was an apartment not a hotel. It had new facilities. An good price for the area. We found this after arriving in Porto after our first choices were not available. We were happily surprised by the quality. It had a deal on parking as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the city center on a metro stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was tiny, but had high ceiling.

    Great location in the city center on a metro stop. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a view towards the blue-tiled facade of Capela Das Almas. We didn't really miss the breakfast - there is a very nice place - Fabrica da Nata just round the corner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is great

    Centrally located Comfortable bed Amazing friendly personnel, which is the main asset After cancelled Lufthansa flight I felt here at home Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    not going there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not clean. Duvet but with only a single sheet and you could see stains from other guests on the duvet. Kitchen had little supplies and not even a towel. Had to clean the kitchen myself for checkout or face a penalty of 100euro. Small and old bathroom. Only one little soapbox for three days. Noise from street. Curtains not making it dark.

    The location is nice, very central with shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Good position that encourages you to see areas other than the river fronts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit lumpy. We weren't pointed to the bar area so didn't notice it until last day !! Probably we should have !

    Good position to explore...perfectly adequate if you are out and about all day was we were

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is amazing, it's perfect for a one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really small and the shower was leaking. Minibar was empty, which was fine as we were in the middle of shops, bars and restaurants

    The location is amazing, it's perfect for a one night stay as the room is really small. Really helpful and friendly receptionists. For a stop over in porto really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Superb reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were overnight roadworks on the first night. Didn't get any sleep. However this was not the hotels fault. Complained to the staff and they immediately moved us to a sister hotel for the next night. Very helpful staff.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Porto is amazing, a walkers dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that the room is very small.

    Great location , very close to subway and easy walking to all interesting sights in Porto. Fantastic staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water temperature in shower difficult to control. No elevator.

    Great position (opposite Bolhau Metro Station). Staff were helpful & professional. 24 hour Reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    once noisy guests had left I could cope with the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the other guests were extremely noisy (talking in the corridors outside the rooms until early hours). Was also quite a lot of noise from people passing outside late at night. Wasn't sure how to register a complaint at the time of the noise

    very friendly staff, clean room and no worries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Great localization, comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartament was in different place then hotel. There wasnt hair dryier in the room. There is no parking and no breakfast, no elevator,

    Great localization, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    its ok/ good cause the location and the rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    right on the street, its noisy , bathroom is too small, old building

    location is very excellent , next to metro/subway station and in the middle of crowd lot of stores, restaurants/ cafes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Central location,, cheap and adequate. Didn't go to Porto to sit in a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head and towels very high,difficut

    Bolhao metro station has an elevator from street level. Entrance not marked on street (ask) and not obvious on platforms.Direct to Campanha or airport, €2. Many cafes for breakfast. Good coffee machine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    I'll bne back ( here ) again....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to declare here.All was perfect.

    The superb breakfast plus the location of the Hotel,near the Center and with the channels , are an extra to stay here. Goode also for shopping and tourism . The room is a little piece of art with it's mix of old tradicional portuguese with all the moder commodities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for the money. Definitely will book again if going back to Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit old, but other than that, no problems at all.

    The hotel is literally across the metro station and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Given its price, this was more than we expected. Comfortable mattress and pillows, hot water, a small fridge, etc. Around the corner you have a pedestrian street with many shops and places to have breakfast. Rooms upon the street may be a bit noisy, but nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel personal was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    Position near the Metro and shopping street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Photo makes the place look modern, the only thing modern was photographed. Could at least get boiling water to make tea. Property tired. Other more modern hotels not much more expensive.

    Position near the Metro and shopping street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.0
    Happy that I've spent there just one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - As you can think that the location is just perfect because of the closeness to all the sights, you're so wrong. Firstly, the frame of the windows is veeery old(it looks nice) but! it HORRIBLY noisy at night! you have the impression that your bed is just outside on the street. -the length of the bed is about 180 cm. while sleeping your legs will be out of the bed. -even though that on the photos of bathroom it seems to be renewed, it's just illusion. The shower was horribly old and dirty. - as the city is all about up and down, if you want to go for the dinner to one of the restaurants in the old town by the river, be ready that after a pretty nice and tasty dinner you'll need to climb dozens meters up.

    The photos of the hotel and its location seemed nice at first. It's in the heart of shopping touristic area, nearby the market with the fresh fruits, fish and souvenirs. Very nice personal. They let me check in before the normal time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Location is very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old doors and windows do not isolate the room from the cold outside. Internet wifi is not good (too many signals confiting with each other).

    Location is very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, convenient and exceptional value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plug in the bath and it was a cute bath too.

    Ideal overnight accommodation, perfectly situated for central Porto and easy to get to on the Metro from the airport. Bang in front of the exit! Very pleasant staff too. Will certainly book again as I come through Porto a lot. The bathroom had an over bath shower, shampoos, soap and towels. Coffees / hot chocolate etc were available in a communal area for one euro. A wake up call and taxi arranged totally perfectly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small but ok room close to the city center with kind stuff. Everything is in walking distance, bars, pubs, restaurants and historical buildings. Good value for your money. Next to the hotel there is a shopping mall with supermarket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Apartament has necessary equipment like washing machine,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service didn't clean rubbish bins after 2 days. Also main room doesn't have central heating or AC. If you are not sleeping in the bedroom, you are freezing!

    Apartament has necessary equipment like washing machine, iron and dishes. Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Amazing studio in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The studio was perfectly located, the room was really nice with amazing furniture. The kitchen was super equipped and modern. Big windows! Small toilet but really nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    location is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast. The street can be noisy at night and the windows are not good isolated, for me wasn't a problem but some people might find annoying.

    Good location, close to shops, restaurants, mercado, subway, etc. There is also a bending machine to get some snacks. Reception was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting stuck in the lift on arrival on way to floor 5 . . . Told by staff that it happens sometimes . . .

    Location, location, location. Although no breakfast facilities, cafes and restaurants nearby in santa catering shopping mall. and very goood little shop almost next door for purchase of cold water, beer and wine . . .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    This is a well located basic hotel with no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a well located basic hotel with no frills. Very helpful staff, clean rooms. It is a bit noisy since it is on a main street, but that adds to the charm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great trip. Hotel made perfect base for a group of 10 friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely classic building. Basic facilities but the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Perfect downtown location. I've stayed in plenty of places in Porto and the traffic noise does get through these old buildings. If you need peace and quiet, maybe find a hotel in a more modern building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Basic but efficient hotel in the center with excellent metro access to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots of narrow stairs particularly difficult to navigate with luggage. Relatively small rooms - I had a double which was ok for one person. No breakfast but to be fair lots of places to have breakfast in in the neighborhood.

    Efficient little hotel on the direct metro line form the airport. The metro exist is right in front of the hotel. Location near a shopping mall with food court and everything you need and next to a long shopping street with all sorts of shops. Modern bathroom (on the small side) and efficient staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    I like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom I s small. Besides, the lock is not in good condition. I was locked in the washroom. I cannot imagine if I was alone in the room.. What will happen?

    I like the location. Staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location small rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom very small, smell from the bathroom suggested sewage or plumbing problems. Bed not very comfortable. Noisy street didn't bother us but might put some people off.

    Good location convenient for centre of Porto but not so convenient for Ribeira

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, bathroom was worse, no cover on the duvet, housekeeping entered the room without knocking at 10am, street noise was so bad you could hear pedestrian crossing beeping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location, on St Catherine's St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of detergents. Bad smell in the bathroom. Cleanliness issues. No elevator from ground floor to first, have to climb one flight of stairs with luggage/bags...this was not mentioned in the hotel facilities description.

    Great location, on St Catherine's St. WiFi, TV, A/C only in the bedroom. Kitchen and washer facilities. Very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    It is ok for 1 or 2 nights when visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the turistic places we have met a lot of unfriendly people, felt like they don't really like the tourists, including the hotel itself. The hotel is very loud, you can hear everything from the corridor, even the footsteps on the wooden floor. Hard to find parking place in the area of the hotel.

    Porto is a very nice city. Lot of restaurants, good vines. Best thing is to get lost in the narrow streets where you can really feel the atmosphere of Porto.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    The property was nicely situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and bathrooms were tiny. Had to carry luggage up a few stairs as the elevator does not exist at ground level. Wouldn't recommend to friends and family.

    The property was nicely situated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Happy we stayed there
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls were really noisy in the morning, as well as street musicians (that's a central street), so be prepared

    Totally central location and an amazing view on the old church

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for the money, easy to find, friendly staff. Good job, Hotel do Norte!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really it was all good.

    It was really easy to find. The staff told me of a local restaurant for dinner and the price was really very reasonable. I wish that I had had the time to stay an extra night. Really positive experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.0
    Really average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was noisy, noise coming from the street but as well from the others rooms. The room smelled of cigarette, which wasn't pleasant. The mini fridge wasn't working.

    really good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Hotel da Norte
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator never worked. It was awful to carry my heavy bags 5 floors. They really need to.fix that horrid elevator. It really created a bad experience for me. Also, my room was not cleaned. On the day of my departure they knocked and asked if I wanted cleaning. A bit too late.....

    Very central and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small toilet/bath, and more clean towels should be provided

    Very good location, at the main walking/shopping street, modern/new apartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel next to Bolhao metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Lots of street noise through the night but shutting the window will block most of the sound out

    Location excellent. Right across from metro and on direct line to airport and regional and international train stations. Hotel is also located on a pedestrian shopping street with nice cafes and a small market nearby. Hotel is about 30 minutes walk to Ribeira district of Porto

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room- extraordinarily high price for Portugal. - € 95 per night )At my final destination a luxury hotel room with buffet breakfast and beautiful swimming pool cost € 70 per night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Only stayed one night between flight and train .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night between flight and train . But the hotel is good, Nothing special. Close to the market and to some other neighbourhoods that are out of the zoombox, which gave a more realistic view of Porto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and the 24 hour reception is a real bonus. Location is excellent. The rooms are a little noisy but that's because the location is right in the middle of the action. I also loved that you could open the windows, fresh air is important to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    reasonable price, one of the best location for a hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting for the top 2 floor is not working, so you need a torch light to get to your room if it's on the top floor. Squeaky wooden floor.

    reasonable price, one of the best location for a hotel, metro station is just beside it. clean room, working facilities, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom and not comfortable And hot water problem i appreciate that they offered me another room

    Good location close to all atraction and metro and kind people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a room with a view this is not the place for you.

    Rented a family studio which is a flat outside the hotel. It had a fantastic location in the center of Porto. There was no need to take the metro at any time if you wanted to visit the most attractive tourist attractions in Porto. The studio was nice and clean and located in one of the shopping streets in Porto.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.5
    Great location and good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, but we were at the second floor so not too bad.. No hairdryer in the room.. invisible and unmarked step on the second floor, very dangerous! beware!

    Great location, Nice room and very helpful staff. Parking for 24 hours at the shopping mall around the corner was only 8 euro, just make sure to settle payment at the garage office on the 6th floor. The best pasta in Porto we found on the 4th floor of this shopping mall, at Tomatino!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.8
    The staff was friendly and helpful, good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not so quiet , the air conditioning didn't function well and the tv channels where with snow

    The staff was friendly and helpful, good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel in good location with usually helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tell people that apart from small soaps and hair shampoo there are no other bathroom requisites and let them know that the furniture is very basic and the T.V. picture is very fuzzy. The staff don't bother to find out a weather forecast when asked about the weather.

    bed was very comfortable. room was quiet as I requested. Most of staff were helpful. Room was clean. Reception was open for 24 hours. There is a room on the first floor where there is a machine that provides hot drinks, water and chocolate for a small fee but I was never told about this room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was broken at the time so didn't work in the room but only in the lobby

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. Perfect location. Double glazed windows so no noise at night despite a very central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Hotel with good connections and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For those travellers who are looking for big spacious and silent rooms, hotel breakfast or luxury items in the bathroom this is not an optimal choise. Also during my stay internet wasn't working.

    Value for money is excellent. Hotel is cute, tiny and tidy, there's a walking distance for the touristic area, Bolhão metro station is on the other side of the street and there are a lot of cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. There's also a self servise laundry in La Vie Shopping centre. Staff of the hotel is friendly and speaks English. This is not a fancy luxury hotel, but if you are only looking for a room to sleep, take a shower and store your luggage while enjoying Porto, this is your choise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, next to the metro, easy to wander around, all kinds of food & shopping e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a student festival going on so that was pretty loud all day & night. I would say it's not a place for someone who wants quiet at night. But we didn't mind!

    We were above a main street, we could open the windows all the way so it kind of made the room have a patio, the bed was so comfortable & the room was like a studio with a kitchen & table.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Location is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small. Door can't open completely because of the bed. Bathroom is super small with no counter space at all. Pillows are very very lumpy. At night it gets quite noisy.

    Location is fantastic! Right in front of Bolhão metro station and on the corner of Santa Catarina avenue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    I'll be back (c)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast option could be helpful along with tea / coffee facility in the room, just a tea kettle would be very helpful. There is a fridge however. TV was placed wrongly in my particular room ). Streets are quite noisy but it will be everywhere in town.

    Excellent location in the hard core city centre, direct line from airport by metro, the station is across the street from the hotel. Many coffee shops and little restaurants around, open late, but in the morning not so early ).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, I lived on the 3/F with 4 big luggage!

    Perfect location, just 1 min walk to metro station, very near to the city centre and with a nice balcony, which can let us enjoy the view of the church.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Good for a 2 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and noisy. The bathroom was really small. The bed was short.

    The hospitality and availabitliy of the staff. The location of the hotel which is really cloae to the tube to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice cheap hotel with a great localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had issues with air conditioning and internet but they were solved fast.

    Very helpful and kind personnel, great localisation with lot of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    so convenient to get to & good position in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not very big, but adequate & don't have any tea/coffee making facilities or hairdryer. The Hotel doesn't serve any food or have a bar, but it didn't bother us as cafes & a supermarket are all around you including the historic grand central market.

    Jump on the Metro from the airport & 30 mins later get off at Balhao station, walk out the exit & the Hotel is right in front of you. In good position next to one of the 'old tiled church' tourist sights & shops all around you to cater for every need. Our room was at the back & so quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but could be cleaner and safer. Need to provide correct information at checkin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -We had a very unfortunate situation where we were told to leave all the keys on the table in the appartment and to close the door behind us at checkout. But the main front entrance was locked when we tried to leave for the airport in the morning and we were trapped inside the building where the appartment was!! We could not phone anyone for help and after banging on the door trying to get people's attention, eventually someone passing by helped us getting in touch with the hotel reception. The situation was traumatizing and this also resulted in us being late for our flight!! Not only that, but the safety measures for this building are inappropriate! In case of a fire, the main door would have kept us all locked in. We could not unlock the door from the inside without a key!! I'm really sorry about this review but it was not safe and we were not well informed. If we had just been told to drop the keys at the reception instead of leaving them in the appartment, this holiday would have been a lot less expensive than it turned out to be for us!! -The coffee cups stored in the cupboard in the appartment were not washed. There was sticky brown liquid inside both cups which would have been the coffee or drinks from previous guests. -The smell from the drain in the bathroom was quite strong.

    -Next to Bolhao metro station. -Very central, easy to walk everywhere. -Very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillowcases were used. We could smell it. The windown was not closing. Because we have children we moved rooms. Receptionist didn't give us a key to open the main door in the building and we needed to come back to ask for it, with pushchairs , bags and children. For some strange reason , AmeRican Express card was not working. We needed to pay in cash on arrival. I'vê called Amex and they said that the hotel never attempted to pass the card. Water becomes cold on shower after some minutes. Room extremely cold. Port is worth it, but not the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift only from the first floor up, no lift between ground floor and first floor, AC/heating only in the bedroom, may get cold in the rest of the apartment (winter)

    Apartments in good shape. Separate bedroom, central location, washing machine, well equipped kitchen, no need to come back to the reception for the check out

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel do Norte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: