Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensao Estacao Central

Calçada Do Carmo 17, 2º, 3º, Santa Maria Maior, 1200-090 Lisbon, Portugal

#226 of 343 B&Bs and Inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2384 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and value for money, very friendly staff and very clean. I needed a single room with a private bathroom for one night and it was perfect for that - the room was small but all I needed for one person! Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom had all you needed(toilet, shower, sink) but it was so, so very small and very uncomfortable. There is no elevator in the building so better take lighter luggage with you.

    Excellent location, behind Rossio train and metro station; a Pingo Doce supermarket across the street. Inside the pensao, we had access to a very clean/modern kitchen with a large fridge, a kettle to warm water for coffee or tea, microwave and plates, cups, cutlery. Clean (daily room service) and safe (around the clock surveillance and attendant) After checkout hour, we could leave the luggage and did a last tour of the city before our late airport departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Very unattractive entrance and stairs to reception. Very small shower. Smallest I have ever experienced. Street noise at night and very early morning as the business set up for the day. This is the price you pay for the brilliant location.

    Location. Right in the heart of the city. Cafes, shops, history at the door. Freshly renovated room. Plenty of room except for shower. Spotlessly clean and helpful staff. Luggage storage Midday checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, I found that the toilet in my room had not been cleaned. There was faeces in the toilet, on the seat and on the outside of the toilet! Therefore, I went down to reception to let them know. They got a cleaner to come and clean the toilet. She could not have been more miserable! She said she had cleaned the toilet and left. I finished unpacking and then went back to check the toilet. Yes the inside of the toilet and the toilet seat now appeared to be clean, but there was still faeces on the outside of the basin of the toilet! Again I had to go back to reception. Again the cleaner had to come and clean the toilet! The following morning, when I wanted to have a shower, I found faeces in the shower too! Basically, it appeared that the cleaner had not bothered to clean the bathroom at all! Despite having to tell reception 3 times that the bathroom was not clean (the floor had also not been swept in the bedroom area) they never offered to change my room or give me a refund. I asked to speak to the manager but was told that this was not possible as they never knew when he would be around! I was very disappointed with the state of the room and they way the staff dealt with the situation. I will never stay here again.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have requested a lower floor room, we were on third floor also found the bathroom was very small.

    Fantastic location, could not have been more central. Friendly staff who kept our luggage safe both on early arrival and following check out. Large comfortable room, beds were super. Had a great time, thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff weren’t helpful in the slightest but that doesn’t really matter

    Couldn’t be a better location, rooms were brand new, simple but very clean and comfortable. You’ll struggle to get a better deal in Lisbon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower head was hand held only

    Excellent central location, close to metro, trams, buses, seafront; great tapas restaurant on one side, and fish restaurant on the other so no need to walk far for a good supper. Great value for the price, not the highest quality or most modern of rooms, but absolutely fair for the price and such a great location. There's a laptop for guests to use to check in and print out boarding passes or research anything else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very first night we arrived a group of seven people- one of us was robbed at the hotel's door.

    It is in a great location, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs that you have to go to the rooms.

    The bed was comfortable and the area can not be more central than this. Most of transport and Shops and Restaurants are in a few metres away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to buzz in to get in the front door and sometimes the staff were a bit slow to answer the buzzer. Also the staff at reception weren’t very friendly.

    The location is brilliant, very central and a 2 minute walk to the train station if you plan on going out to Sintra (which I would highly recommend).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Biggest problem was finding the entrance to the hotel which is not underneath the hotel sign. I know others had problems with this as well.

    Nice little hotel. Don't expect too much for the price. I only needed somewhere to sleep so it was ideal for me. If you want luxury, go elsewhere. Staff extremely helpful. Rooms small and dated but clean. Fantastic location near the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chambres mal isolées du bruit, on entend les voisins. Et impossible de dormir fenêtre ouverte! Noisy room, can hear nightbourg, and noways to sleep windows open!

    Personnel tres sympatique. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and the shower cabinet could not be any smaller ( very very tiny) . Only one tiny bin was provided, no tea or coffee facilities and no lift so we had to lug our suitcases up two flights of stairs.

    The location was very central and the bedroom was large and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not about hotel but beware of expensive taxis that rip you off and take you all the way around rather than straight to your hotel. Extra info Just be aware that you have to walk up to the first floor to gain access to the reception and lift to the other floors therefore not wheelchair accessible until you walk up the first set of stairs.

    Brilliant location and a great price. Not a massive hotel type complex but similar rooms in these big hotels were twice as expensive. A min away from Rossio Square. The hotel also provided a very cheap personal taxi service to the airport for 16 euro bookable when you get there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We lived on third floor (that is actually fourth) and there is no any elevator there, so it is not so easy to get your suitcases into the room.

    The location could not be better, the Rossio place is in 1 minute walk. The Pingo Doce supermarket is also in 1 minute walk. The underground station Rossio is in 4 minute walk and it is possible to reach the airport via underground trains - very convenient. The elevator Santa Justa is in 5 minutes walk. The bathroom is tiny, but it's nice it's inside the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. All attractions are in walking distance. Room was big enough and we even had one double bed and one single for 2 persons. Toilet and bathroom are inside the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not happiest but quite helpful. 1st floor or more and no lift. No problem for us but no good for some.

    Perfect central location, enormous beautiful rooms, lot of local place to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I don't think it is so comfortable for long stay. In Summer time probably will be too hot in the rooms.

    Very good location, Very good bath room for such type hotels. Wi-Fi is also quite good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dreadfully small bathroom, impossible to use. Out of date hand held shower head, water going cold then roasting hot. A miracle that I did not get a serious burn. Would never stay there again because of the awful bathroom.

    Location very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security could be a problem with people coming in off the street unobserved. We had a room on the third floor - 70 steps - and had heavy luggage. Best to ask for 1st floor if possible, which is still two flights up.

    Good value for money. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eben double room is very small, no heating system.

    I changed the hotel, because I expected something different. The manager offered me immediately to pay back my money for the days, that I would not stay there. Very nice of them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a lift. The rooms are also a lot smaller than I expected and the bathroom could use a bit of refurbishing. Having said that, I think you pay for the location so the location justifies the price. The window was leaking rain water though. Maybe this could be fixed.

    The location is perfect! The bed is clean and the staff are very friendly. The staff are very attentive and the people you come across are very nice. You leave your keys at the 24 hour reception so there is no fear that you might lose them. They also let you leave your luggage if you want to wander around after checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities really basic, poor decoration in open areas, dreadful view from window and lack of services in room e.g. tea-making facilities.

    Location very good, staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly, the property did not have an elevator, but the front desk staff were quick to help with the luggage.

    The front desk staff were helpful and welcoming. While the room and adjoining bathroom were small, both were spotlessly clean. The queen-size bed was comfortable; the bedding of high quality. Bravo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room and bathroom was so small. I thought the price was a little expensive for the room that we got.

    The location was excellent. Right in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shower head holder, so you have a shower head that sprays everywhere! Also the walls are VERY thin. You can hear everything in the other room, including imitate moments...

    Helpful staff, location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in Lisbon, rooms were modern and comfortable, staff very friendly we were very impressed. Will be coming back here next time. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance stairs lets the place down. The entrance hall was lovely but then you go up very dirty grubby stair well. Also certain staff were quite unfriendly - not unhelpful - just unfriendly. But not all of the staff.

    The bedroom was absolutely amazing. So clean, nicely decorated and well supplied. The Reception area was lovely with facilities like bag storage and printing facilities. Safety of 24hour desk was also really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic, but good location & price. Great for a night or two. We wanted to site-see, so this worked well for us, as we didn't need the hotel to have many amenities. Luggage storage and secure entrance/exit was helpful, too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was evident that the rooms are cleaned frequently the room was very 'worn' and a bit grubby. It smelled of smoke and was quite cold (I was there in January). The bathroom was tiny and the shower didn't have anywhere to hook the shower-head. However, it was an okay place to rest your head before seeing the amazing city. I'd still consider staying here again if I was on a tight budget.

    The location was excellent and great value for money. A 24 hour reception with friendly and amenable staff who spoke English was really helpful. Nice view onto a pretty and lively street with a view of Rossio Square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator and too many stairs to get to the reception and the room. And the bath is too small

    Perfect location and friendly staff. Match for it's price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would have liked to have included in the booking is breakfast.

    In 2011 I spent a few days in Lisbon and booked this same hotel this time, by chance. In the meantime the hotel was renovated, it's looking very pleasant and clean, perfectly located! Staff was very nice and useful when we had a few doubts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating whatsoever although the nights get pretty cold in late November. Pillows were small and uncomfortable (only one small pillow per person). Absolutely no intimacy as the bedroom is right in front of the staircase which people who live on the floor above use themselves and don’t care about talking very loud when they climb up or down the stairs whether it be late in the night or not. Window & wall insulation is really insufficient : you get woken up by the trucks in the street who load and unload food for the nearby restaurants for at least 2 hours from 6am to 8am. Only one plug in the room so had to take turns to charge both our cellphones. Nothing to hold the shower head so it makes it hard to wash properly, moreover they only provide a few small soap bars but no shampoo at all. The guy at reception prefers chatting with the neighbour through the window rather than opening the door to customers who had to ring several time yet still had to wait until he finished his conversation. The younger guy at reception smokes his hash in front of the hotel and customers. You have to hand your key every time you leave your room and when you come back to the hotel must wait for someone at reception to open the door as it is always locked.

    Ideally located in the center of Lisbon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and the extra heating fan did not work properly. Also there was no hot water and they could not fix it when needed.

    Perfect location. 24-hour reception. Neat and clean room. Free wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    Very central location just off Rossio! Couldn't have been more convenient for city centre attractions. The room was comfortable, attractively decorated and well soundproofed so that noise was not a problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in the room so it was wery cold. I know that it is december but this is no reason for freezing in the room. Very small and poorly equipped room.

    None

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy because of the music from the station near by till mid-night for most of time (probably good for party lovers). The entrance is not that obvious.

    Very nice location in the center -- the best part of this hotel. Relatively low price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I found was it was a bit hard to find a big sign outside the property would be more helpful

    It's just what you need very clean, safe area, staff are lovely and helpful, my flight was not until 4pm and they let me stay in the room for an extra few bob was cheap though because I only needed it for 4 hours extra

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For one night just perfect. Longer stay probably not.

    The place is perfectly located. We had only one day in Lisbon. Restaurants and public transport close by. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room facing the street gets pretty cold in November, if you are there for the Web Summit. Hot water might not be available in rush hours around 9-10am; cold water to flush the toilet also occasionally but temporarily disappeared. The facilities are a bit worn down, but ok if you do not plan to stay in the room all day long :) Room size is smallish too.

    The best location right in the center, friendly staff. Hint: Head to Railway Station's coffee shop 100 meters away for a tasty and cheap breakfast in the morning sun! Overall, would book again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the building. The staircase is quite wide. I think there is room to install sliding path to ease the transport of luggage.

    Excellent location, central, close to everything, next to Rossi train station and no hills to deal with if you want to use public transportation to/from the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only accurate thing in the pictures was the color of the orange-striped curtains. The bathroom was tiny; you had to sit sideways on the seat. The shower did not drain well and the shower was a nozzle with no holder (you must hold the shower head with your hand). I don't like the bait and switch. This is a decent place considering the location and the price, but I am very unhappy with the bait and switch. Also, toiletries = packages of small bar soap, that's it. I'm uploading real photos.

    great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some help with the bags would have been nice, as there is no elevator and noise levels in the hallways could have been monitored by front desk clerk. They could have come out from behind the desk to help noisy guests leaving early.

    The read my note and gave us a room that was accessible for my elderly mother... Only drawback was that it was noisy - doors to room slam and have no stripping to reduce the sound. Also, doors are thin, so people in hallways sound like they are in the room! Hard, when people get up at 2 AM to catch earlyflight and late at night coming in...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking anywhere near the hotel. Don't bring a car.

    Great location. Quiet. Comfortable. We were happy with our stay. Hair dryer available at desk. Small suggestion- room needs a larger trash container.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. But if you stay in the comfort rooms they are situated at the 1st floor, so it s ok.

    The location is great. Right in the center and has access to many restaurants and with all transport services. As to the room, you should choose the comfort rooms. They are upgraded and they look like 3 star rooms and have AC. The bed is confortable. Toilet accessories and towels are included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning, no elevator (and all the rooms are not in ground level), bathroom wasn't that clean with strong smell of cleaning bleach that last all our stay (which was short), no hot water for taking shower. You have to ring a bell to get inside the property and wait for the reception to open, couple of times we were waiting too long until someone opened.

    Location. It's really in the center of Lisbon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Like many small places there is no lift. I had asked to be on a low floor and this was granted. I also asked for no maid service until specifically requested. This was done at first. But when I asked for maid service for what I thought was one day, she came the next day, too. As a single traveler in a room with two sets of towels, I was frustrated at the waste of water and energy in giving me new towels when the old ones had only been used once.

    The location is terrific, very close to a train station, 2 different metro lines and the airport bus. The tv had many British and US programs plus several all news stations in English. The air conditioner worked well and was needed even in mid-October. The room was quiet and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was on the first floor of the building, the staircase on the way up was in need of painting and cleaning, it gave a very bad first impression but apart from that it was ideal

    Ideal location for city trip located 50 metres from the main square, near bus stops, we had access to a kitchen which was ideal for us, our bedroom was comfortable and it had a balcony, the staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable. I could feel each spring within the mattress. Pillows very lumpy and offering no support. The room's window overlooked an internal void, where the hotel's laundry was hung out. There was constant mechanical whirring noise out the window, so quite noisy when trying to sleep. If you close the window to sleep, the fan in the room is also quite noisy, so not particularly restful. The bathroom was pretty small but there was still a badly placed bidet right next to the 1/4 size bath with shower. Had to hold the shower head as the fixture to hold it on the wall was missing/broken.

    The location was excellent. Very walkable to most things you want to see and do when visiting. Close to metro and buses too. Sadly, this is where the positives end.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Certainly not suitable for elders . Climbing up four flights of steps can leave one exhausted. The rooms do not have basic cutlery. Nor a telephone in case of an emergency . Not value for money.

    The proximity to the city centre and more particularly Rossio is a major attraction!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything to dislike, because Pensao Estacao Central was exactly what we expected. An added bonus was that our room was made up every day.

    The location was just what we needed, a place to stay for three days before flying home. Pensao Estacao Central was clean and comfortable, and utilitarian. It's not fancy but met all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean, and quiet even though it was just off Rossio square. The location couldn't have been better, because it's at the center of Lisbon, and the staff were really friendly on on site 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be for two persons this room will be little cramped))

    Very nice location near Rossio square and City Centre and supermarket and a lot of shops and cafes ) so friendly stuff - ready to help if you need, guests have spesial offer for taxi to airport ) thank you guys!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated furnishings. You have to buzz in and leave your key at the front desk. It's open 24 hours but still is a minor annoyance to me. No AC.

    Great location right in the center of the city. Despite this, the rooms are very quiet with the windows shut.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no elevator. But Staff is very kindly and he helped us to carry our bags.

    Locaiton is very good. If you look at the window, you will see Rossio train station, Donna Maria Theatre. There is a market accross the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Propety is old... it seems to be renovating some rooms , which is needed.. great location, excellent staff.... rooms need a make over - old, musty, dark.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny and cramped. One or two flights of stairs were no problem.

    Great location for tourists, everything close. The room was modern, spacious, light and very quiet. You can enjoy the buzz from the street below by opening the double glazed windows, or close them for complete quiet. Get your breakfast from the supermarket across the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable. :-)

    The staff is wonderful. My flight was delayed for a day and at the reception they were so nice and they did not charge us for that night. They have a little kitchen with a fridge where we could leave our food and with a microwave to heat the food. Very nice place to stay. Definitely recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist are very reserved type and not very smiling towards specially towards non hispanic type of people like us , so not sure if the language is barrier or they are naturally like that.

    Its location is greatest advantage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this accommodation did not offer any breakfast (go to the Pingo Doce next door instead!) no elevator available bed was too soft

    super nice and helpful staff not noisy at all although located directly at Rossio Square free internet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and toilet was too small. Beds were broad enough but not very long. May be our room (210) was not good for tall people.

    Location is perfect. It is close to most of the attractions in city center. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Wifi was good. All staff members were missing smile on their faces but they were helpful all the time. This was perhaps cheapest option for this location and was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the booking.com website are not a true representation of the rooms you book. We asked for a quiet room and we got a jail cell that looked like something out of a horror movie. It was a suffocatingly small room that hadn't been updated since 1965 with on old, disgusting bathroom. Sleeping there felt more like punishment than a vacation. Oh, and no elevators. But the staff is kind and they will bring your bags up if you ask.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hairdryer in the room

    Great place to stay - the room was very clean and had air-conditioning, black-out blinds and was quiet at night. The location was ideal - central and right next to lots of shops, restaurants & public transport. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in one of the rooms was uncomfortable. At night, a lot of drug dealers can be found on the street, even though they don't really represent a threat to your security. Just ignore them, they are all over Lisbon.

    The staff is really nice, the location is perfect (walking distance from a metro station and right beside Barrio Alto), both rooms we were in were nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    People have commented on the lack of lift, but you're going to be walking around Lisbon a lot so don't let a couple of flights of stairs put you off.

    Fantastic location and good value. Comfortable bed and surroundings. Friendly staff. All in all very good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a double room but it was tiny, if you're traveling together with your partner, I don't think it will be easy to find a place to put two suitcases or just move around the room. There's only one socket by the bed, so make sure to bring an adapter. It could have been a bit cleaner in the room, to top cover of the bed was not white enough, and there were some hairs on it.

    The Pençao can't be more cenfrally located. Rossio is just round the corner and there are two metro stations nearby. It's very easy to find, and good to spend a couple of nights in. Despite it's in the city center, it's quiet at night. The staff were very friendly and hospitable, and also ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. You can enter the building only if you ring the bell. Staffs click the button to let you in which means if they are too busy doing something else you have to wait til they see you through the camera. 2. Everytime you leave the hotel you need to hand over your key to the staff and you take it back when you enter again. A good strategy not to lose the key but annoying. 3. No shampoo (but soaps)

    1. Excellent location 2. A fan 3. A staff working in the morning is very friendly 4. Private bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was given is really close to the stairs, and you can hear people passing. But for just one night it didn't annoy me so much. Also it is at the second floor with no lift. That might be a problem if you have many baggages, or for old people. But I am sure advising them in advance they will come and help you. There is no bar for breakfast, but this is not a problem as many patisseries are just outside, and anyway it is possible to buy snacks and coffee, and water.

    The hotel was super central. The staff was nice and very kind, and helpful for my needs. The bathroom, was small, but it had everything needed. And the shower was superb. I felt really lucky to have found place in this structure, as it is usually overbooked. The price was the lowest I found for a room with bathroom. Central and economic, but very clean and nice. My flght back was in the evening, but they allowed to keep my luggage for the whole day, after my check out. What's more??? :D

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no any elevator (lift) in the pensao and I had to bring the very hard-weight luggage into the 3rd floor and it was the very difficult task after RIO - LIS.

    I liked that I booked a single little room for 34 euros, but I was given the big bed and room with a view in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it's close to a lot of restaurants, if we left the windows open, there was a lot of noise (but it was already expected).

    Excellent location, close to the city centre and next to two different grocery stores! The kitchen was also a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a lot of stairs you have to walk up to to reach the front desk. It is not really clear from the outside if this is the right pension.

    For this price, the location is one of the best you can get. Although it is not far away from one of the busy main squares of Lisbon, we have not been bothered by any noise pollution.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms located to the street might be lively.

    Location very good, friendly staff. This is a basic accommodation so please don't expect a 5 star hotel for this price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *The place is really old, from eighties if not seventies. Don't expect any luxury, aesthetics or anything. If something was broken before, covered by newspapers. *Reception is at first floor and rooms are either in 2nd or 3rd floor. There is no elevator. It is very challenging to take your luggage up or down. *The corridors and the room was smelly. There was kind of a laundry room with a broken door, next to my room. There was a really heavy smell coming out from there. Unfortunately the door cannot be closed to avoid the smell. A similar smell was coming from wardrobe as well probably due to very old blankets. *The room was dark, because the window was covered with semi-opaque covering. If you try to open the window, you would face stuff hanged in front of your window left to dry. There was no air-conditioning (I knew it when reserving - no surprise) and you couldn't open windows for fresh air. *Wifi was not working properly in my room. I had to sit in lobby when I needed internet.

    *Location is really fantastic. Located in the very center of the city, train station & metro is nearby. You may reach many attractions just by walk. *It was one of the cheapest alternatives in Lisbon despite the last minute reservation, value for money is good. *Sheets were really white, seemed clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction starts at 8 in the morning, staff didn't mention it. Vent not working and room was horribly warm in the night. Way too expensive for what is offered. Dirty bathroom.

    Located in the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift in the hotel so be ready to carry your luggage into 3rd or 4th floor.

    This is a nice small hotel in the center of Lisbon, next to the Rossio square. Very good location, close to public transport (metro & trams). Very nice restaurants all around - especially if you go up the hill. The hotel has new windows that perfectly isolate from the noise of the busy street. Friendly and helpful staff. No breakfast but there are good options in walking distance. I can certainly recommend!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise and bad smell from pipelines located outside our window. The smell was pretty bad and recurrent. Hotel should warn gests about this in advance or not book that room without solving this problem before. Staff was correct but not very friendly.

    Very good location. Confortable beds. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pensao Estacao Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: