Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mar Azul 2 stars

Rua 25 De Abril N 13, 8600-763 Lagos, Portugal

#23 of 43 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 980 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, close to beaches and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though wasn’t a problem with us (and apparently it will be a similar situation in most other places), there is no elevator.

    Location is great, close to beaches and restaurants. We had a sea view room and it was quiet with a beatiful view. Room was renovated. AC worked fine. Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location with some restrictions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can not reach the hotel by car (it is a pedestrian street only). You need to carry your bags from the nearest public parking lot (located about 250m downhill) and carry them up through a stair to the reception on the first floor.

    Location and bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excelent location, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect Location , inside city center Payment park (6€ 24h) 2 mins by walk from hotel Nice rooms even if small noise is caming from external unit of air conditioning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Really clean room, and we could let our bagage at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean room, and we could let our bagage at the reception and when wr came back to pick them up, we could even take a shower. Which was GREAT :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    I lost 65€ because of them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pay 65€ at the moment of the prenotation, then they tell us that they cancel the prenotation so I re-pay 95€ at the check in, I lost 65€ for not my fault. No way, bad hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great, clean, comfortable and easily accessible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was noting we didn't like.

    Great view out to the marina, easy to access and close to all local cafes, restaurants, shops and bars. They kept our bags for us on our last day so that we didn't have to carry them around. Friendly staff that spoke great english and had lots of recommendations and were willing to help. Huge room with air con, toiletries and a clean and spacious bathroom. Everything you could need for a stay in Lagos and free wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower got quite blocked up so couldn’t have the shower on full - it wasn’t really a problem. And the towels need to be updated, but it is a 2star so for the price and location, we were more than happy

    Fantastic location! Can’t get anymore central. We had a room facing the busy street where restaurants are but hardly heard much noise it’s quite south proof. The owner was extremely helpful and gave us some good tips. Very clean and great value!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic value, we even extended our stay! Great location in the middle of it all. Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!

    The location was as central as you can get, we had a room facing away from the Main Street so we didn’t hear a thing at night. Fantastic value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    In a great location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need an extractor fan in the bathrooms as it got very damp and in turn the whole room got damp. The bed wasn’t too comfy and was just two single beds pushed together

    In a great location and good value. Clean and nice shower and great air con

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location but old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs on arrival to carry luggage. The bathroom flooded and need upgrading. Not suitable for older couple.

    Perfect location in town but old facilities. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the modern spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a bit noisy with buskers playing outside the entrance to the hotel. Check-in was quite inefficient and we got a 10-step tutorial on how to use the electronic key to the door, as if we'd never used one before! Quite funny.

    The room was really big and comfortable. Nice modern bathroom. Excellent location right in the middle of town. Restaurants, shops, ATMs etc right outside the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location! Right in the middle of everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's located on the second floor, and the rooms are upstairs from there. There is no elevator, so it can be difficult if you have heavy luggage.

    The location is right in the middle of the center. You walk out the door and there are restaurants and bars right there. It's walking distance to everything. The room was clean and the bathroom and shower were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Definitely Come Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small sign from the outside Bit noisy at night

    Very clean and spacious room & bathroom. Considering price, the quality is excellent. Located in the center of old town and less than 10 mins to the beach. 10-15 mins to the bus station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Location was ideal for exploring Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal for exploring Lagos. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We had a lovely stay for a few nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is perfect. If you’re looking for a budget holiday I would go here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t have anything bad to say really. It is what you expect from the price; basic. The beds were a little uncomfortable to sleep on but nothing major. I would pay for sea view rooms as it’s quieter compared to rooms at the front of the building.

    The location is amazing, really couldn’t ask for better. It was clean and tidy with staff on hand at all times willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location on the main street with all the restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little mouldy. Staff could be friendlier. Wifi signal was poor. If you want to get some sleep at night, avoid the room with the window facing the restaurants as this is noisy until 4am some nights.

    Great location on the main street with all the restaurants below and 10 min walk to the beach. Facilities were nice. Good value for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Lagos find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all! A few rugs could cozy it up though sufficient and comfortable. Updated bathrooms & flooring was nice.

    Great location to stumble back to in the heart of all the action. Room was quiet enough. Half price parking undercover is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that we disliked, we loved our stay and would definitely stay here again!

    We liked how close the property was to everything, shops, bars, restaurants etc. The staff were wonderful and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The location was excellent, just up from the tourist office,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift in the building. Staff very helpful with luggage so no problem.

    The location was excellent, just up from the tourist office, on the pedestrian street in the heart of Lagos. Room was clean, bed comfy, shows good. Our room 110 was very quiet. Would stay here again. ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    A comfortable and pleasant convenient stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The teapots need replacing as you can't pour the tea out without getting burnt! Some light back ground music at breakfast would help give a little atmosphere.

    A great location! Right in the centre of Lagos, staff very helpful, and room nice and clean. The only complaint is, it is a little noisy at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Right in the mix of things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being right on a main walking path next to restaurants and bars it was a little noisy. But overall worth it! Park in the parking garage on the main drag. There is a 50% discount, cost us 5€ per day.

    Conveniently located, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is in a great location right in the Centre of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel

    Hotel is in a great location right in the Centre of this lovely town. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with a modern bathroom. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    A comfy, clean hotel right in the center of Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking is very hard to find in Lagos and we therefore had to leave the car some distance away from the hotel. However, the staff informed us that for 5 EUR per night we could leave the car in the secured parking next door. If we had stayed longer we would have considered this option.

    The hotel is right in the center of Lagos and very easy to find. It leads onto a busy pedestrian street filled with restaurants, cafes and little shops. Our room looked out onto the main street the other side of the pedestrian area but it was still very quite at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location and cozy modern rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not well ventilated which leads to humidity issues. The AC had a humidity mode which helped but it's still an issue

    The place is very well located in the city center of Lagos with cheap parking nearby (5 Euros 24h and you can get in and out as many times as you want). The decor is beautiful, Nordic style with really good taste

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Fast wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fast wifi Extremely central-in the very heart of Lagos Restaurants and cafes abound Hard to drive to: you need to park in the big car park where they have an agreement for half price parking and walk in pedestrian centre to the hotel. No lifts and no help with luggage Good size room, comfortable beds and good bedding Room safe, strong shower, Room no view but light and airy Good security

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very good value for money, very pleasant staff, nice and clean and better than many 3 stars hotel we went to. The weather was disappointing but not the hotel’s fault! Good location in a pedestrianised street with lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice small hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real complaints. Just a general comment, this time of year, some hotels in these type of areas can feel a bit cold so can take the rooms a little while to heat up.

    Great location right on the main street, so close to everything. Nice, clean, comfortable room looking out on to the sea. Being that side of the building it was quiet as well. Friendly guy at reception. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    good location at the walking street, clear room, reasonable...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is closed a bit early, and if arrived late at the evening, please call hotel before hand (before evening), let them know, at least make sure the host will not fall a sleep.

    good location at the walking street, clear room, reasonable size space, reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Central location a couple of minutes from the covered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and dilapidated shower.

    Central location a couple of minutes from the covered carpark (which you can use half-price and come and go as you like). Decent restaurants just a few paces away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s hard to find, you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the reception.

    The room was modern with a good air con and heating, the shower seemed newly renovated. Room even had a balcony. Nice kettle for tea in the room, which I didn’t expect for the low budget.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A very well run comfortable budget hotel in the pedestrianized old town. We were glad the heating in the room worked so well during the cold snap. A very friendly place & the owner has a great sense of humour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately parking is a bit far away, but that's the price you pay if you want to be staying on a cute little pedestrian only street!

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and staff. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location (right at the centre and 20 mins leisurely walk to Praia Dona Ana, a good hike along to further viewpoints thereafter) Walked from train station, very easy. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, tea&coffee facilities provided. Very comfortable stay and rate was reasonable for such a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    center location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    our window was opening to a little patio which was smelling bad... as you cant keep open the windows and there is not ventillation in the bathroom, the air in the room always gets very humid. the soundproofing is also not the best, you can hear a lot of noise from the corridor and from other rooms. i was sorry that there was not any fridge in the room.

    the location was completely in the center, in a walking distance you have lot of restaurants, shops etc... we couldnt hear the street noise niether. the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Clean hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the beach, to shopping and restaurants. It is possible to walk pretty much everywhere from the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms and corridors are very clean. We enjoyed our stay there for a week very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Ideal hotel for a short stay in beautiful Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern little hotel in the heart of things. I arrived early and the cleaning staff got my room ready for me. Roy and co were V helpful with recommendations about where to eat, drink, visit etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing special about hotel. Rooms pretty small and no closets, not much space to put luggage.

    Convenient location. Decent, clean room. Parking is at garage, hotel offers discounted code.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Great place in central Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with a private bathroom, which was really nice. The room was good and the location really great. Although in center of Lagos, there was no noise at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Central location, particularly useful for solo traveller. Near beach, restaurants, shops and Marina. The people at Hotel Mar Azul were very friendly and accommodating. My room had view as in advertising photo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Loved our stay at Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are not well isolated, we heard all the noises from the street and other guests. The hotel announces a view to the bay... my first room had a view to the street and the second, which was switched due to the hard noises on the first one, it was facing to a wall...

    The people at the reception were very helpful at all times; they were very friendly and spoke several languages. The room was very clean, and the hotel is situated right in the center of the town, with good restaurants, beaches and attractions in a walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Simple accommodation for modest travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice when they mention in the description that they give discount for the big underground parking nearby. I drove 1 hour through the narrow streets looking for a car park. Drain in the shower was slightly jammed.

    Friendly staff. Check-in was easy, even though I arrived late in the evening. The bed was big and comfortable. The hotel is incredibly well located. 50% discount for the underground parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic - would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Mar Azul was fantastic and I would happily stay here the next time I go to Lagos. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. We checked in later than anticipated and the staff were flexible and welcoming when we arrived. The room was extremely clean and communicating with the hotel was easy. The location is perfect - you are in the center of the town and 15mins to the beach. I would happily recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    nice room in the centre of lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice room in the centre of lagos. sea-view room very quiet at night. comfortable room and pleasant view. right in the heart of restaurants and bars, as well as the beach (use the vai e vem service and you do not need to walk that much!) which is just a 10 minute walk away. parking in the parkhouse nearby, special price for hotel guests (very important as parking spaces are rare in lagos)!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Perfect right in the heart of Lagos!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect right in the heart of Lagos! Only 5min walk to the beach! Great room, air conditioning and very clean 😊perfect place to stay if you're in Lagos for a few nights!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no ventilation and therefore the room was very stuffy and moldy smelling. Our wet bathing suits never dried in the room. I'm not sure if all the rooms have this problem but they seemed to be fully booked so we just kept the room for our short stay to avoid the hassle of moving all our stuff. Breakfast is nothing special, 5 euro spent better elsewhere.

    The hotel is located in old Town, shops and restaurants right out the door. The parking was a good deal, close by and you can drive in and out without worrying about paying every time. Staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    gorgeous view and serene atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    should go during mild weather a bit hot for my liking

    smack in the middle of the historic town of lagos...just amazing and do not need any transportation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    two night syat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I only stayed 2 nights. the staff were friendly and helpful especially Milena/Melina(not sure how her name is spelt!) she offered me a couple of towels and a shower room to freshen up after coming from the beach after I had already checked out, which was really nice. The location is great, right by the restaurants and bars and the beach is a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Overall good hotel in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included. Staff could have been much friendlier.

    Location was great! It was extremely well located. Staff was moderately friendly but not exceptionally welcoming. For the price they charge for the hotel, breakfast should have been included. Instead of free they were charging an extra 10 euros a person. Could eat much more cheaply by leaving the hotel and walking a small block.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Very central little room with good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't window to outside, only one door to an intern garden that must to be closed becouse it's connected with other rooms.

    Very kind staff, excellent bed and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic boutique hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location, 5 minutes walk to the beach, bars, street performers and restaurants on the doorstep. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming - Roy and his team were full of helpful advice and made us feel very at home! We particularly enjoy the recommendation for the farmers market on a Sunday morning, where we ran into Roy and his beautiful wife buying fresh in-season produce. The front room with the balcony is fantastic for watching the world go by. Not for people who sleep lightly but perfect if you love people watching and a cup of coffee in the mornings in the heart of the action. Very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean, efficient, accomodating and attractive place. The staff were also very sweet to our 20 month old toddler which was nice:-) We will be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    All good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem. Can't drive to the property. Have to park below and walk 200 meters. Problem with luggage. No elevator.

    All good! Restaurant right across from hotel Don Sebastian is excellent. Great food . Great service and great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    It is right in the middle of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was at the top of the stairs any buskers who were serenading the restaurant opposite stood at the front (opened doorway) of the Hotel, in the evening the door clunked very loudly each time someone entered or left and off course the noise of shoes etc., The beds are a little tired Difficult to find as the car cannot go up the street so you need to go to the basement garage parking

    It is right in the middle of the town We were told how to get a discount on the car park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Great Jumping Off Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking offsite although staff helpful in finding it.

    Pretty good location, decent breakfast, small deck overlooking walking street. Great little place with lots of outdoor activities and good place to spring from to enjoy the Algarve.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Canadian in Portugal - Our 'favourite gem' of a hotel - Staff/Owner are fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly, our entire visit was excellent. Simply the best 'value' for any accommodation while in Portugal.

    The owner and staff are simply amazing. They truly make you feel like you are at home from the moment you arrive. They made reservation at local restaurants... recommendations to hair dressers... through to places to visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    10/10 would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If only there had been a mini bar or refigerator.

    The staff was super friendly. The room was nice and clean. A/C was a great addition. Overall the location was the best part of it all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Perfect short stay accommodation, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom window was located at what seemed to be a fire exit or walk way, meaning we could rarely get fresh air into the room leaving it smelling like wet towels for the duration of our stay. No window in bathroom. Felt a little unclean due to lack of fresh air and after finding hairs in the bed just before going to sleep. Our room door was situated directly across from the cleaners cupboard and would get a little noisey with chatting outside. Could clearly hear the opposite room through the bathroom walls. Some staff seemed a bit cold, or unresponsive when greeting while walking through the reception area.

    Great location, room was cozy and great to come back to aircon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel in the centre of Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was an extra €5 per person and wasn't worth it. We ate out at the delicious croissanteria round the corner!

    Fabulous location right in the centre of town, but our sea view room at the front was very quiet! Kind, helpful staff and beautifully appointed rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    The staff were good, the room was cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television was very small, advertising was a misleading when it spoke of a flat screen with cable channels. Most of the channels were in English which was a nice surprise, but overall the television was a disappointment. The fact that we couldn't use the kitchen was a large inconvenience.

    The staff were good, the room was cleaned every day. We were provided with beach towels. The location was excellent. The beds were quite comfy. There adequate power sockets to use electrical appliances.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.6
    The internet did not work well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet did not work well. The staff seemed short and unfriendly and did not really attempt to assist us. The place is lacking in warmth and the owner seemed to treat us as an inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Very quiet room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows! The small terrace is a real sun trap but the furniture really needs sorting out and cleaning.

    Very quiet room and comfortable bed. Great to have choice of bedding to be able to adjust according to temperature and preference.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Suitable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I had a car, the hotel was extremely difficult to find. There were no instructions given to me about where to park in order to get to the hotel, which is in the middle of a pedestrian area. Also, there were no gluten free breads or other options for the meager breakfast offering.

    The rooms were clean but a little spartan, cold and clinical for my liking. It would suit travelers just needing a place to rest their heads.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    Room was large with an ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, you'll do much better paying for breakfast elsewhere.

    Room was large with an ocean view. Shower had very little water pressure thus a long wait for hot water. Breakfast was minimal at best for five euros! Bed and pillows were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    The location was good even though the hotel sign was small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely bland and non descript boarding on almost nothing in the room other than the bed. The worst thing though was the room was so damp water ran from the window condensation onto the window sill and onto the floor. We constantly felt damp in the room. I feel that the way this hotel is making money is by offering as little as possible for each room and guest yet at 40 Euros per night we have gotten much more at other hotels. Breakfast is offered for an additional 5 Euros which was included at other hotels. Again it shows a minimalist type of selling. You pay additional for everything but the worst was we weren't comfortable just damp to wet during our stay. The location is the selling point here. Very good location.

    The location was good even though the hotel sign was small and hard to see from the street due to awnings from other businesses in the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Practical, neat and clean set-up. Excellent location in Lagos (central).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil - all good!

    Excellent location with a balcony and views to the port, channel and beaches (and palm trees)!!!. As soon as you walk out the motel's front door, you've got cafes, shops, and restaurants. Bars are located within 150 metres but still out of hearing range. Basic room and en-suite but very neat, clean, practical set up. Thank you to the very helpful owners!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.3
    Not suitable for winter visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was almost no warm water in the shower. Both room and bathroom were extremely cold and humid (it was Feb). The heater was absolutely insufficient. Also, the staff seemed a bit "fake nice".

    Great location downtown, with a good view over the sea. Room was well cleaned, with a large private bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Mar Azul was Nicer than we expected. Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you like to shop a lot, we wouldn't stay more than one day in city of Lagos. But take in mind, we were touring the country, so our mindset was to see more.

    The room was much nicer and newer than we expected. Attractive little city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Superb located friendly small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked more English channels on the TV.!!

    Bed and pillows comfortable. Shower superb. Breakfast simple but good. Rui the main man was very helpful and friendly. Location could not have been better. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location within walking distance of train and bus stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed just one night and were satisfied. The bed was very wide and comfortable. The location suited us. The train station was less then 10 minutes away on foot. The historic centre was just outside the front door with lots of restaurants and cafes. We were happy with the breakfast and glad we added it on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.3
    In the heart of the commercial area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lodging was difficult to find since it's located in a pedestrian-only area. The location in the commercial area could be noisy, except the rooms face inward or are oriented away from the commercial area. This may bother some people, but not others. Bottom line: you need to be aware of it. The room was a little tight, but manageable.

    The location was in the heart of the pedestrian commercial. Our room had a view of the harbor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location and easy walk from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and easy walk from the train station. Staff were very helpful, let me check in early and gave me a map and advice on how to get to the beautiful beaches.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was across the hall, which was fine, but it didn't have an exhaust fan or window, so the room began to smell of mildew overtime. The people walking by who had been out partying all night were loud. But that's to be expected in Lagos.

    The room was beautiful and comfortable. Nice and airy decor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable, well run, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome. Assistance with luggage to second floor.

    Well run. good value for 2 star.Entrance in busy cafe street, but not a problem. Stairs only. View superb.Initially,felt unwelcome. Once got to know owner, very helpful, referred to cultural areas. knowledgeable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Great guesthouse in the heart of Centro Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great guesthouse in the heart of Centro Lagos. This place is the starred recommendation by Lonely Planet and I agree, it's a winner! Rui was an great communicator. He responded to my email immediately with walking directions from the Lagos Bus Station which was an easy 8 minute walk. Room was so cute. We had a beautiful sea view. Really comfy King size bed and a beautiful modern bathroom. Very clean. The staff of ladies were so sweet. Nice smiles every time we saw them. Easy check-in. Rui was there for us late as we did not arrive from Seville via bus until 9:00PM. Wifi was spotty in our room (#204) but you are on vacation so lose the need to be connected. If you really need it, the common seating area near the lobby has strong wifi. Location was perfect. Literally in the middle of restaurants, just across from the beaches and easy walk from the bus, the the harbor and to the train station (10 minute walk, right next to harbor and some cafes). While in Lagos, be sure to hike the beach routes to the lighthouse and the grottos. Both directions. Beautiful vistas! Highly recommend Hotel Mar Azul!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Great guesthouse in the heart of Centro Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great guesthouse in the heart of Centro Lagos. This place is the starred recommendation by Lonely Planet and I agree, it's a winner! Rui was an great communicator. He responded to my email immediately with walking directions from the Lagos Bus Station which was an easy 8 minute walk. Room was so cute. We had a beautiful sea view. Really comfy King size bed and a beautiful modern bathroom. Very clean. The staff of ladies were so sweet. Nice smiles every time we saw them. Easy check-in. Rui was there for us late as we did not arrive from Seville via bus until 9:00PM. Wifi was spotty in our room (#204) but you are on vacation so lose the need to be connected. If you really need it, the common seating area near the lobby has strong wifi. Location was perfect. Literally in the middle of restaurants, just across from the beaches and easy walk from the bus, the the harbor and to the train station (10 minute walk, right next to harbor and some cafes). While in Lagos, be sure to hike the beach routes to the lighthouse and the grottos. Both directions. Beautiful vistas! Highly recommend Hotel Mar Azul!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Great people and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, right in The centre. also the people working there are super nice, they helped us with lots of infos and after check-out they let us keep our bags there till evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: