Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Poveira 1 stars

Rua da Estacao, 56, Campanhã, 4300 - 171 Porto, Portugal

Review score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely functional room next to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely functional room next to the railway station. Thus perfect for bagpackers or simply to enjoy some days in Porto in a simple, but really appropriate and clean accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Good value and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the door stopper on the floor that I kept tripping over.

    Albert was very friendly, jolly, welcoming and helpful. He carried my heavy bags upstairs and made my stay very comfortable. My room was in a quiet location at the rear of the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Very close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good for one night but not a particularly nice area and out of centre It suited us as we had to get an early train.

    It is very close to the train station - the reception was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    I love the staff at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I love the staff at hotel. His advice was very useful and applicable!! I could travel around Porto without doing more research by myself. The room is cozy and provides things you need. The location is very perfect. You can just grab your luggage and go for a train for less than 5 minutes as it is across the road. It is worth spending your money!! I would recommend this hotel to my frinds definitely!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff amazing! Comfortable bed! Spacious room! Great location. Transport network for anywhere. If you like to walk, in 30 min will be in Ribeira. Typical Portuguese food for a good price on the hotel street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Very simple hotel, but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, nothing.

    Very simple hotel, but very clean. One of the cleanest I’ve seen. Room was big and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was also simple but good. Staff is super friendly. Hotel is across the street from train station and one stop from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.0
    This is an old property with lots of stairs and no lift.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    This is an old property with lots of stairs and no lift. The furnishings are very basic but it was very clean. The owners speak good English and the older gentleman did carry my case up to the 2nd floor. The shower head was hanging off the wall and there was only slightly warm water. Breakfast was basic, fresh rolls, juice, coffee etc but if paid for separately would have only been €3. It was adequate for an overnight stay having arrived by metro from the airport and for catching the train the next morning, but that’s about all. No extras in the room like tea, coffee, hairdryer etc

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for my requirements very close to Campanha station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Major concern over lack of Fire Doors, double doors to my room had a visible gap.

    Adequate for my requirements very close to Campanha station. No breakfast until 8.00am. Room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Only for novelty, uncomfortable toilet & noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle was small (about 65 x 75cm), water was incomsistent, WC seat area is tight, there're also a loose downligjht hanging precociously & 3 air-con trunkings hanging across this ceiling (no, the air-con isn't available despite that). The air-con contractor with a scary stitch on his forehead even entered our room (we had just entered & hadnt lock) & asked if he can finish the ceiling's work? Whatever it is, nothing was done in our 5 days' stay Noise from street's drunks/ parties/ whoever they were, are loud at midnight. No laundry in-house & the nearest self-laundry is a 15mins walk. Room door's knob seems to be falling off anytime & that increases the difficulty of locking the old (or is it just poorly made?) door.

    Staff allowed us to check out an hour later & I appreciate that (although when I thank him before I left, he didn't hear nor did he make no smiles nor eye contact, the reception space is very small by the way so you can'r miss anyone). Breakfast & seatings at breakfast was great, wait staff were attentive. Common spaces are aged but interesting looking for your instagram-moments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Staff (family) and cleaners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated and wasn't so keen on the area outside at night. However this place is clean and safe.

    Friendly Staff (family) and cleaners. Looked recently painted , clean and great location. They gave us great help with our onward travel itinerary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    fab location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs :( BUT I totally understand it's an old building therefore no lift/elevator.... was just a struggle with cases and a child!

    great location!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great for a overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired but very clean

    The young man on Reception was extremely professional and knowledgeable and very kind in taking time to explain everything about local attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    People working there are very kind and ready for help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was overpriced. Maybe, there was some festival, because all properties were more expensive than usual. The room was too simple with a very bad internet connection.

    People working there are very kind and ready for help. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. Location is also good both for the train station and a simple metro ride to the city center. Breakfast was simple, but it cost 3 Eur and it was enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasurable Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good shower and door to bathroom. You wouldn't want to be shy with toilet visits!!!! Outside in the evening were quite a few more unpleasant types of people around!! 31 minutes walk to edge of downtown/longer to centre. But very easy route. Not much near by.

    Was easy for parking and not too expensive. Really comfortable bed and pillows. Authentic style guest house. Close to station if needed Cheap basic breakfast provided €3. Great bread rolls!!! 24 hour reception and really easy to get to by car from airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Nothing can be a better location than this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They must have a lift to avoid guests carrying heavy luggages through steep staircase. Rooms doesn't even have a mirror. Very less equipped.Too old property. Too little bed for 2 persons.

    Nothing can be a better location than this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.0
    This is a very good basic hotel with basic facilities at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel only describes itself as basic so I didn't expect any more. There was nothing not to like.

    This is a very good basic hotel with basic facilities at a good price. We arrived late and were given a friendly welcome. I had trouble getting my case open and the person on the desk went to get a toolbox to help solve the problem. The hotel is right across from the Metro and mainline railway so easy to get downtown in 10 minutes by metro for EUR 1.80. Everything was well cleaned. Breakfast was only EUR 3 for bread and jam, juice and tea/coffee. If you need a bigger breakfast there are lots of options just next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was spacious and clean and comfortable and had a TV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean and comfortable and had a TV. Location was good, about a 3 minute walk to Campanha train station and there are plenty of bars and restaurants and shops in the area. Friendly staff and easy check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good for low budget trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not so confortable There are some restaurants near the hotel and the people are making a lot of noise. The staff doesn't know english very well

    Very clean Wifi is working perfect 1 minute to the Campanha train station and Metro The prices are very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for stop over if on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in need of a total overhaul. Some of the people operating outside hotel seemed rather dodgy. Parking outside is difficult, but underground parking is possible at station across road.

    Well if you come by train then the location is opposite the station. Plenty of bars and cafes for food and drink. Centre of Porto is within walking distance or you can take the train for one stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in room.

    Location of this object is perfect, especially if you travel to Porto from Lisbon by train - the hotel is located just a cross the street from Porto train station Campanha. The room that we stayed in was recently renovated, very clean, basic decoration but with everything that you need. Very nice lady on reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great receptionists, just 1 min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, great receptionists, just 1 min walk from the train / metro / bus station Porto Campanha. Lot of cafes & restaurants nearby. 20 min walking to the heart of Porto. Very good value for money. I felt like home! Obrigada e ate a proxima!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Functional, clean and ideal for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was perfect for our needs as we were travelling from Campanha Railway Station the next day. It is a simple, basic hotel that is perfect as a stopover point. The staff members were very helpful and although the breakfast was just assorted breads, jams , orange juice and coffee, it was fine for our needs and inexpensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Will return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure lacking a bit. But heck again, great room price.

    What a great location opposite Campahna station! And a fantastic price.....booked in advance. Lovely people on Reception. Room including bathroom very clean and bed comfortable. Super hotel for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Ideal position in front of Campana railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. The purpose of my stay was to have 5-6 hours of sleep near the station to catch an early train at Campana station

    My stay was limited to one night between a plane landing late at Porto airport, and an early train to Coimbra. The location of the hotel in front of the station was ideal. Room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Personnel was very nice. Price-quality-location ratio is unbeatable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    We'll be back!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A little traffic noise, but the hotel has double isolated windows that reduces it.

    We have been at this hotel several times before, we like it here. This time we got a large room with a quite spacy bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the staff friendly. In the surroundings is the main railway station, metro station, small cafes, restaurants and all kind of shops. We shall have a new stay at this hotel next week.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Pleased we only stayed one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is tired and needs a serious uplift. The staircase is beautiful but the rooms and corridors are pokey. It’s a basic hotel. Nothing really wrong with it but nothing to write home about. You get what you pay for...

    It was across the road from the station which suited us as we arrived late evening after a long train journey

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room the air conditioner unit was not working properly.

    The breakfast consisted of rolls, jelly, butter, cheese, juice, coffee, milk & water. no eggs. Not all staff speak English, so a little hard for us to understand. The manager, or owner advised us of their bar, which we had to have a drink. It was a good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean and very convenient hotel by Porto train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff member on duty when we arrived was helpful and friendly, but he was replaced by grumpy people who seem to be indifferent to helping guests. The listing on Booking.com indicates that there is a 3 Euro per person continental breakfast, but staff seem to prefer guests to go to the pastry shop nearby. They lost my breakfast reservation and I'm not convinced that they really do offer breakfast.

    Excellent location. Good pastry shops and restaurants nearby. Although the street is busy, the double-pane windows blocked out the sound.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In fact, I did not stay in this hotel because my plane was delay. However they are so nice and did not take the money. If I go to Porto again. I will select this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with pretty good services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The English of the reception people could be improved, a little bit hard to have a conversation with them. The bad was not that comfortable.

    The hotel is just across the train station so it is easy to find. You have a lot of restaurants on the street where the hotel is located, so it is easy to go grab something to eat. The room and bathroom was clean but not excellent. I will give it an 8. Every day there is a room service that make the band and cleans the room and bathroom. Great value for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel room was very clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was very clean. Primarily I chose this place for it's location. It is literary few steps away from Campania station which was very convenient for me. Stuff was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stopover for ongoing travel between airport and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfied with everything for the price

    Friendly reception. Good value breakfast. Location excellent for closeness to Campanha Metro and Railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    The location at the Campanha railway and metro and many bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is older than expected. No elevator but staff help carrying the luggage to the room. No heater but use air condition instead. The toilet and shower is very cold, no heater.

    The location at the Campanha railway and metro and many bus terminals. Many restaurant nearby , not so quiet in the night. Easy to get around the city. no need to walk up the hill to hotel. Staff is really helpful especially a guy who explained about all city interesting. Wifi is not too strong but ok. The room is big and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Everything we needed for a single night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plug in the bath, i was looking forward to one but settled for a shower, which was pretty good anyway so i'm not complaining!

    End of the day, it was 40 Euros for one night whilst me and my father traveled over to Porto for the Liverpool game. Staff very friendly, hotel nice and quiet and was not too far away from Porto's Stadium. Right outside the train station too as we flew in and out from Lisbon. Would certainly recommend if you are just after a basic hotel to stay the night or even a few days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.8
    Really close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked basic coffee and tea making facilities. Could not get a good night's sleep due to the beds feeling like the had bags of pebbles in.

    Really close to the train station. The staff were very friendly and help us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Exactly what you would expect for the price. Basic but friendly and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in was extremely friendly. Providing best places to eat and how to get around the city. Location ideal as right next to the train station which was ideal as we had an early start in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is basic (but cheap).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is basic (but cheap). Do not even try the wine at the bar inside the property - even by central European standards, it was plainly undrinkable. Some of the staff have no English, and even with decent knowledge of French, Spanish and English it was a little difficult at times. On the other hand, some of the staff have perfect English and were very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely excellent value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't remember reading online that there is no elevator, and our luggage was fairly heavy. The gentleman at the front desk helped us, but I felt badly that he needed to . Just keep the lack of elevator in mind if you have lots of luggage like us.

    The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. He assisted us with our luggage and even ran across the street to get a taxi for us when we checked out. I also loved the cafes nearby; I particularly recommend Rainha do Pao Quente - delicious Pao de Deus (coconut buns).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Bang for your buck, parking sucks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property advertises as having parking, but there is no parking sponsored by the hotel. you have to park on the street and it can be a bit difficult. i dont mind parking on the street but dont advertise as having parking in the hotel features if you dont have guest exclusive parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Convenient transit stop near train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a slight cigarette odour although it was a non smoking room. Public transport from airport is direct but slow (40min)

    Location. 24h reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoy the advantages and do not peer at the small gaps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV set.

    Actually, I got almost what I've expected - no luxury, perfect location, friendly staff, clean rooms, hot water in the bathroom, what else:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Location is very good and reasonble price. No lift and water pressure is so weak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift. You have to bring luggage to your room, so tried. And then water pressure is so weak,you take much time for taking shower.

    Lication is good near campanha train station. And the room is spacious for 2 person.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Brilliant location next to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise and banging around was awful especially as we arrived late at night and wanted to go straight to sleep but couldn't because of the noise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant, relaxing though short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly with good English. The hotel was well furbished and decorated. It was a 2 minute walk from Campanha rail and metro station with direct links to the centre, airport and Lisbon where we were travelling on to. On the same street as the hotel there were good, cheap bars, pastelarias and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again....will recommend excellent budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of stale cigarettes in the room, we turned the aircon on and that helped.

    Location and value for money. Hotel did not disappoint. Staff excellent. Left early on the train 5 mins away. Enjoyed breakfast in Cafe couple of door away, towards train station. We Left our luggage the day before staying and carried back packs when travelling to the Douro river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for being right next to train station for early trip next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value. Big clean room and right opposite the main train station where you can access another train into the centre which just takes 4 minutes. Nice and quiet with a few bars next to it for breakfast or dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic value for money. Great location near train station. Basic, but clean and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room. Our room had a lovely recently refurbished bathroom. There was surprisingly no noise from the street. It is really easy to find and in a great location for catching trains from Campagnha. The staff were lovely and spoke English. Breakfast was basic but all that was needed. There is a lovely little Portuguese restaurant close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    The location is perfect for those who take trains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower-but not a big problem though.

    The location is perfect for those who take trains to/from Campanha. 24hour reception. Small but very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    It wasn't expensive, so I would say worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed weren't comfortable, Wifi was very slow. Could be cleaner.

    Location was really great, close to train station. Very convenient to get around in the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything's fine.

    The young man at the counter helped us a lot. He patiently answered our questions and also gave us very useful information. He is a very nice man. I should have remembered his name and said thanks to him again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    The location is great, about 2 minutes to the train /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great, about 2 minutes to the train / metro station. The room was clean and equipped in air conditioning . The best in this place is the staff! :)Very kind and helpful:) !! Give all information needed, and also tips for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place near train and metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got only one key even thouh we were three. The room was quite small.

    Air conditioning We were allowed to leave baggages at the place after check out so we could explore the city more during our last day in Porto! It is close to bus, metro, and train! Great value for money,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for a short stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times a bit noisy at night with the arrival of new guests.

    Small hotel, basic rooms located just across the train station of Porto Campanha. A big positive is location, away from the crowds and noise, yet central enough if you don't mind walking a couple of miles to the main touristic sites (or take the metro, or Uber). Staff is very friendly. Loved the nice family owned restaurants in the neighbourhood or within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. The rooms are simple but clean and functional. Free wi-fi works great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    +Good and functional reception for a good very basic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    +Good and functional reception for a good very basic accommodation +Location is the best for public transportation access and there are decent eateries very close by, also supermarkets and a wine shop +Very peaceful neighborhood, the most peaceful near train station neighborhood I've ever seen (35 countries and 200+ cities later)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Meets the expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightshift does not speak english, shower "cabine" super small, old furniture but in the end its a 1* hotel so i guess meets the expectation

    Great location, next to metro and train station and in the front of the hotel bus station ( bus Nr.205) which goes to the surf beach (takes 40min)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at night is was a bit difficult to find the place, actually we passed and came back

    Very close to the station so it's very convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.3
    never stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, never stay here.

    Location was good, but the room was awful, outdated. When we arrive, there was no electricity and the staff was shouting at us to calm us down because we cannot do anything rather than waiting it to come back! I couldn't believe this kind of thing happens in a developed country. We felt we were back to Africa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Great for Trains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this as it was opposite the main train station and the good reviews. Impossible not to find it! Its a basic but clean hotel perfect for one night with a very helpful owner. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could leave our luggage on the day of departure and visit the city. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Very convenient location to get to the airport, the train station and visit the city using public transport (metro).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Povera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had to carry our suitcases up a couple of sets of stairs. we had to park on the street which could be hard to find a space.

    Four ladies shared this room. We walked it to see 5 twin beds. we laughed about this and thought it very cute. No restaurant but we enjoyed the sidewalk café just outside. Very clean. Pleasant staff. Not very far to walk to the ocean boardwalk. Very enjoyable area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Basic, convenient, clean and cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furnishings could be improved.

    Very convenient to rail station. Rooms are good size, and very clean, but tired furnishings. No elevator or a/c, but for the price--can't complain. Bed was too low to the ground for a 60 year ild person.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproof from street noise, but not from next rooms.

    Staff were very helpful and speak good English. Room was clean. Bed comfy. Very close to public transport and restaurants, convenience stores.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    Sufficient one night stay next to Campanha station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is quite old and outdated although we found it very clean. Rooms are a bit outdated and bedding is not modern and have only the bare necessities. We were assured there is private parking on site but you have to park in the street wherever you could find a open parking spot or at the train station. Rooms with street view are on a very rowdy and busy street throughout the night.

    Clean, Sufficient accommodation next to train station that was very convenient. Only 1 train stop to central Porto (Sau Bento staion).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Great value, clean and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place was clean and comfortable, staff helpful, location brilliant as just across road from rail and bus station. Hotel being renovated but that did not impinge on us. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    The price was right, and I will seriously consider returning on my next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One staff member was not fluent in English - it took a little longer to communicate in my broken French.

    The room was clean and bathroom smelled slightly of bleach (I know how hard it is to keep mould at bay). The staff were communicative and helpful, and although I had a window onto the street, the level of noise was reasonable. An aircon controller was provided but I did not have to make use of it regulating temperature by opening the window alone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.9
    good for budget, close to metro, train, i got what i paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was really too small i couldn't open my lugguage. After midnight i guess after last train cafes and rests are closing and metro station lightining is not enough, area became no longer safe so after midnight use taxi.

    good for budget very cheap. Close to Campanha train and metro station. Inside of the hotel is really safe . At the desk there is always someone to check who is coming in. They recommended an fado restaurant in Almada street(Rua do Almada) named SANTO FADO best thing happened to me in PORTO go an listen Fado. Cleaning is really good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for Campanha station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room faced the street and the station - a bit noisy in the night eg a car alarm went off twice, and there was what sounded like a bin lorry doing lots of collections. However this is what you would expect in a hotel opposite the station.

    Ideal for travellers who want somewhere very close to Campanha station eg for late arrivals or early starts. My ensuite single occupancy room was recently decorated and the sink etc seemed quite new too. There are some restaurants very close but I went to one I have been to before, about 3-5 minutes walk away, called Campo Alegre. Others nearby seem to open very early for breakfast (they were open when I left at 7). Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    VIP Berna without the VIP!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmmmm, a lot of young people were very noisy up to 23.00. Banging on walls and a lot of shouting. I'm all in for a good time but this was a little OTT. The same young people hung around the main doors inside and out so it was difficult to get in or out at times.

    Nice location for public transport. Staff are great and a special mention for the cleaning staff as they are fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Value for money, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plenty of eating places around the hotel but not really where you'd want to take your family, but I did find one good one.

    Clearly the area had seen better days and the hotel was a little dated, but had everything that I required. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant (I didn't ask but I presume it was the family members who owned it) and it was very clean. Room warm and comfortable enough, old TV but not required as internet was very fast (even free internet on the buses was very fast). Breakfast basic but good for 3€. Getting there very easy, metro straight from airport then a 150m walk. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - rooms are not big and the furniture is not new, but this fact does not disturb

    - very friendly and helpful staff speaking english; - perfect for a traveller who travels alone; - very quiet, nobody disturbs; - housekeeping everyday if you want; - 24h open; - good internet. television with programs in english and french as well; - rail station (metro) 2-3 minutes by foot. The line E brings from the airport to this station directly; - 25-30 min to the centre by foot, you can also use metro or bus; - restaurants, mini-supermarkets nearby

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Close to Porto Raiway Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have done with a kettle in the room but there was lots of places just outside the building to get drinks and stuff no doubt i could have requested one if needed one

    very well located for the metro and railway station but without to much night time noise nice old fashion local building old but looked after for the price it was a nice find for a short stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Central. Spotless. Cafes everywhere. Massive balcony window from which to watch the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was a little slow, but it did indeed work. Certainly not the end of the world!

    The room was spotless. I had a balcony overlooking the main station. The staff were friendly and were constantly ensuring that only guests entered the building. There are local cafes all over the street and a grocery store across the main avenue. I extended my stay and would return in a second. Excellent rate for what I received. Room was bright with massive windows. It was my third time in Porto and I will patronize this cute little local hotel next time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice Hotel near Porto-Campahna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad quality TV

    Welcoming staff. Good location near the train station Porto-Campahna. Small room but well equipped. Heating was appreciated when the night was cold.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Clean, friendly, good location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Just across the road from the train and metro stations with a range of small restaurants just around the corner, a great location. You can walk to the town centre from here too. Clean, basic accommodation. Nice old building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.3
    Good location, basic and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were helpful enough in carrying cases up the stairs but a lift would be nice. Heaving a large suitcase up and down is fine for someone younger than I am!

    The location is this hotel's best feature - directly opposite Campanha main-line rail station and Metro, and next door to a pleasant café. There are few luxuries here but you are not paying a luxury price. It was clean, and considering the location not noisy.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Poveira traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: