Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha

Rua das Cruzes,21, Sao Pedro, 9000-025 Funchal, Portugal

#12 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Would recommend this to anyone looking for comfort and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    So glad to have found this place. Location excellent, only 5 minutes walk from a string of great restaurants and 10 minutes from marina, yet quiet. Recommend room with balcony to sit on for morning coffee or evening drink. Hosts really welcoming. Breakfasts truly stupendous! Fantastic value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Well located accommodation with nice hosts and staff, great breakfast. Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paid extra for a room with balcony and sea view but there was an adjacent balcony accessible from the corridor. Some guests made use of this "free" balcony which was right next to ours. Apart from removing our privacy we felt we had paid extra for something that others were getting for free. There was a lovely large terrace available to every guest.

    The hosts were excellent, the room well cleaned every day, we had a nice view from our terrace, the breakfasts were superb and included locally sourced produce. It was close to the centre of Funchal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A peaceful place in Funchal, with great terrace to get som sun or enjoy the view of Funchal in the evening with all the lights , The breakfast was good (excellent eggs) , the WiFi good in all areas, the place was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    An excellent and affordable guesthouse well located for accessing the town and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Situated close to town centre and bus stops. Balcony had a great view. Fridge, plates and cutlery provided. Friendly and helpful host Rooms cleaned daily with new towels provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable but could have been better without too much cost or effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Quite a variety of food given for breakfast - including egg on toast, juice, breads, jam, cheese and ham, fruit - but little variation in what was really a set menu. Choosing from a menu would be good as would the option of cereal. Small pillows which were not terribly good or comfortable. Room lighting very poor.

    Very friendly and helpful host and staff. Accommodation was adequate although somewhat dated. Great to have a sea view from the elevated accommodation and the terrace space. Comfortable beds. Offered us breakfast in room when partner was feeling ill. Very much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    The location is not that central, there is a good 10-15min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can be healthier!

    The location is not that central, there is a good 10-15min walk to reach anything. The hosts are nice and friendly, but the property does not really reflect the money value. The breakfast is poor, only one egg per person, with some bread, ham and cheese... no vegetables, just a small fruit. As a vegetarian, I had to buy my own fruits and veggies and eat it there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Madera is great! Come and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the owner wasn't really pleasant. He seemed to be money-oriented and clearly was not very confident of the fact that I was eligible to get a special price for our stay.

    Breakfast was really great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.8
    Guest house for those in need of a bed and on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The streets up from the hotel are very steep and narrow depending on which route you take to the hotel from the freeway so if you need a big car during your stay or haven’t been driving that much lately, this might not be the best location for you. You definitely need a navigator to reach the hotel and get out of the area as there is almost never a place where to stop to check where you are. The hotel continental breakfast (a toast, a bun, one egg, two slices of ham and cheese, coffee/tea, a fruit and a cupcake) might be too light if you are going to do a lot of walking during the day on the levadas and I would then rather pick a hotel with a buffet breakfast - we had to go eat some more on the way before day-long trips. This guest house room costs 40e per night and a room in another hotel not far costs 55e per night with a buffet breakfast - so depending on your need of food this might be a place to save or splurge. The hotel has a good shared patio for spending the time if you are staying at the hotel, but the rooms are bit outdated and dark to spend the daytime so we just mainly slept there. The rooms feel not that private as you can hear other people talking so we tend to be as quiet as possible. The air quality in the rooms is not the best but if you open the balcony doors a cat (a cute one!) and mosquitos will enter the room and we could not find a perfect solution for this during our stay but bought a ultrasound mosquito thingie from la vie mall pharmacy. We considered it a minus that our room was cleaned every day ignoring the do-not-disturb sign, and when this was done some of our bags were moved in to the closets or on top of them, some of our stuff to the cupboards and some of our clothes were placed on the balcony hanging outside the room.

    Depending on your holiday plans in Madeira, this might be a good choice. The area around the hotel is much more quiet than the old town - we considered it a plus and there’s still a lot of restaurant options and a big mall within walking distance and the prices might be even a bit cheaper. Finding a free parking spot near the hotel is next to impossible as there’s literally five of them but there is a parking lot in front of the hotel that has almost always free spots and it costs 60 cents per hour from 8am to 8pm, so if you leave early and be back late, there’s no need to pay. The property owner provided us with a special gluten-free option during the breakfast which was corn flakes, and we thought it was a nice gesture and we understand that you select the hotel and its amenities and then live by the rules, as we were also told by the property owner. There is a shared fridge which was huge plus. The rooms were somewhat quiet but I would bring earplugs. I would select this guest house again if being on a budget, needing only a light breakfast and wanting to stay near the action but in a quieter area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic value and service for clean basic accommodation in the old town near where you want to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    inner city parking and that near the property is really expensive as its 0800 to 2000 each day, at least 7to8Euros a day

    great balcony with stupendous views , central old city location near restaurants and the real funchal, lovely breakfast, great service from owner and wife , basic but lovely clean condition with daily room service .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay with pleasant owners well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really, we had no aircon but you get a fan which was more than adequate

    Excellent breakfast continental but they will do eggs anyway got you fresh bread fruit cakes jams ham cheese all very nice too much to eat. We had a room with a balcony with fantastic views over Funchal watched the cruise ships come in every morning, very friendly couple that run it speak good English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    We really appreciated the hospitality of the owners, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was a bit dark as it overlooked an inner courtyard. It was basic and a bit old-fashioned.

    We really appreciated the hospitality of the owners, they were always smiley and ready to help. The pensao was quite close to everything and in a good location for connections to towns outside Funchal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha is a small B&B, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha is a small B&B, the owners are really nice a kind people. Location of Vila Teresinha is great - close to centre of Funchal and shopping mall La Vie. There is a lovely terrace with plenty of flowers. So you can enjoy the view with glass of Madeira wine :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Good base to city walking and island exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small room, no window-view from our room but nice shared teracce. Next time I will choose room with balcon/teracce with see view.

    Brekfast, location, staff, big public parking next to building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant owners (they speak many languages, English at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a payed parking in front of the property, but you will need to search places on the street to find free one.

    Very pleasant owners (they speak many languages, English at very good level), the breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negative comments

    Friendly owners very clean and great location. Well looked after and enjoyed the breakfast. Would be more than happy to book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Great guesthouse with friendly staff, loved out stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking lot charges for stay but is not a big problem when you are out for the day. Enough space but might get tricky in peak seasons.

    Great guesthouse with friendly staff and good location not far from town. Nice views from the balcony, good breakfast and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value from a well located b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked onto a wall, but we could have paid more for a view of the terrace. The non slip shower mat was always placed on top of the bath mat, as a result the bath mat did not dry properly.

    Location is very good for visiting the old town. Value for money is excellent. Owners could not be more helpful. WiFi was fast enough to stream films.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Great little place for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendliness and politeness of the staff, relaxing atmosphere, spacious room, extremely clean everywhere, good breakfast, location. Loved this place! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Good location and service
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All staffs I met were wonderful and made me feel at home. Relaxed. Absolutely perfect. I had a balcony with a view to the sea. It was amazing! Thank you for a very nice hotel with great services.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly owners! Great breakfast and location. Very comfy and clean rooms with a grat view on the Ocean... Fantastic taras with so many flowers arround... Thank you for made our holiday fantastic. We'll be back definitely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.2
    Cozy, well located, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    If I absolutely had to complain about something, the towels & bedcovers had seen better days, but seeing as it's not a big hotel, this wasn't surprising and didn't bother us :)

    Amazing value for money! The location is perfect, less than 10 minute walk to the very center of Funchal. Owners are really friendly (it was a particularly nice touch that in the mornings when our plans meant we had to leave before breakfast was served, they left coffee and snacks waiting for us)! Our room was cozy and clean. It was handy that there was a fridge & microwave available for guests. I will definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Madeira!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous private guest-house where you are made to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hillside location might be a problem for some people. Towels and bed linen very clean but old fashioned.

    Wonderful breakfasts with homemade jams and muffins. Very friendly and helpful hosts. A pretty terrace patio with sea view.conveniently located for restaurants and sight- seeing. Kettles in rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Ideal location and very friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The towels could possibly be upgraded but as they were changed daily this presented no problem.

    We stayed here for the new year celebrations and couldn't have picked a better location at the price. The owner and his wife were very friendly and we joined them and their family on the excellent terrace overlooking the harbour for the new year firework display. The fireworks were fantastic and the terrace gave us an excellent view. The location is ideal and within a 5 minute walk you are in the heart of Funchal and the harbour. The home baked cakes and bread served at breakfast were great and more than enough to eat. The room was a good size and had all we needed during our stay. It was clean and serviced daily. Each room is allocated a drawer in the communal fridge in which to store milk and wine etc. There is also a microwave available. Plenty of plates cups and glasses for guests. If you want to stay in good clean accommodation within easy walking distance of Funchal and close to all the shops and restaurants then look no further.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    best location in funchial with a nice teras to enjoy your any time of the day :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    firstly the location was perfect just 5 minutes walk from the center,up on the hill ,nice panoramic wiew,owner helpful kind man ,wife alsa very good in kitchen and tiding rooms everyday breakfast very tasty enough till afternoon:) just nive area and a balcony perfect to enjoy rest when you are back from trips. 5 star

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.7
    Good location, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The day after I arrived the receptionist (probably the owner) tried to enter my room (she had the keys in her hands), I was inside, so when I opened it she wasn't clear about her reasons to be there. It was a Sunday, and according to a sign in my room there was no cleaning service that day. I went there to rest and she woke me up which was annoying.

    Good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Super stay in Funchal for New Year Fireworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, in lots of ways this little guest house exceeded expectations and rather blew other peoples negative reviews out of the water. One piece of advice offered for those keen to avoid any noise from wooden floors in rooms above them would be to try for an upper floor room with balcony rather than ground floor. However noisy upstairs neighbours were not an issue, just noticeable at times!

    This guest house does sit on a rise at the foot of a hill but it isn't half central, 5 minutes and you're in town, it's so close to the shore we could hear P+O's sail away party on one of their ships leaving harbour! The rooms are a good size, basically furnished as you might expect from a guest house but with a nice en suite bathroom with a very adequate shower, they also have a kettle and cups and wine glasses available - go buy some tea bags and wine from the supermarket 5 minutes away and you're sorted. There is a shared fridge that can be used to store wine or milk etc, a microwave if needed and a supply of wine glasses, cups, crockery and cutlery that can all be used if needed. Breakfasts are of the continental variety, not to all tastes, but I was very happy with them; tea or coffee, eggs as you like them, toast, rolls, home made cakes, home made jam, fruit juice and either a piece of fruit or fruit salad, boring and repetitive to some apparently but I was always satisfied with my breakfast. The owners are approachable and down right nice people who are happy to help in any way, whether by storing luggage and providing you a key for access to it or by giving advice on bus timetables etc. They also let you come and go as you please. By the way, if you go for the New Year Fireworks and aren't sure of joining the crowds at the marina you could quite happily watch them and see a good deal of them from the terrace with the owner and his family, do expect some music noise though, Funchal parties into the very early morning with noise from the New Year event in the nearby park continuing for some time after we left it around 3am!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    A welcoming pension in convenient location, with generous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all, but if you have difficulty walking/ getting up steps or climbing short hill to hotel, you may need to find accommodation right on the sea front. (Otherwise everywhere in Funchal is uphill!)

    Excellent value for money. Quiet location, yet quite close to centre. Morning sun shines into attractive breakfast room, with generous & delicious breakfast served 8am to 10am each day, usually with homemade jam, sometimes fresh-baked muffin, always egg, cheese, ham, fresh brown & white rolls, fruit juice & fresh fruit, tea/coffee. Helpful proprietor who speaks excellent English. Easy access to the attractive old town in one direction & the supermarket, restaurants & night life of the new town in the other direction. Spacious sunny terrace to relax during daytime or evenings, with views over town & out to sea. Nice clean bathroom & lovely hot shower. Although not fully self-catering, it was very helpful to have use of fridge, small microwave, a few plates, mugs, cutlery etc. Also useful small kettle, tray & tumblers were provided in room. Rooms were serviced daily to a high standard.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were little ants in the room, but they were harmless and stayed just near the bathroom

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room cleaned every day. Great location, near old centre. Massive breakfast, although not much variety.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    Very clean room and quiet (apart from some F-D residents).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Not a dislike. When you come tired uphill it's OK for most but not all, but even if you pay for a taxi 4 Euro it's not a problem. It's almost the bus costs for two in Funchal.

    Very clean room and quiet (apart from some F-D residents). Comfortable but of course without any luxury for this price but having all necessary things. Good/filling breakfast even though not changing much. Excellent view from the common veranda. Nice common fridge and accessories. Very close public parking (to pay). Close good, cheap bar/restaurant and mini market and bus station for the airport. Friendly and helpful people.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Have a nice breakfast on the veranda with a beautiful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at Vila Teresinha for 4 nights in October. It's a beautiful building from XIX century, well maintained by owners. The host Augustino is very welcoming. His English is very good. Looks like he knows everything about Funchal and Madeira. He advised us where we can have good dinner, and it was really good indeed. Our breakfast (included in price) was more than sufficient: eggs, tosts, buns, ham, cheese, jam, coffee, milk, fruits, cakes. Everyday cleaning, towels & bed linens changing, updated washroom. Forgot to mention that you can have breakfast in the cantina or on the veranda with a beautiful view of the city and ocean.Of course we chose veranda. There is no AC but we were provided with a fan. Actually we didn't need it so much. The location is good too, close to the city centre, the quay, restaurants, shopping. Overall we are very satisfied with our stay at Vila Teresinha.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    The pensao suited us perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfasts, charming hosts and fabulous terrace overlooking the city lights and harbour. The position might not be ideal for those not keen on an uphill walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.7
    You get what you pay for, don't expect more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You get what you pay for and frankly, for that price you can't expect miracles.The owners do their best, but after all it is an old house with old furniture and lots of ants. Seriously, don't keep anything edible in your room. Our room was tiny, humid and with a strong smell of chemicals and cat pee. So strong that I couldn't sleep at nights. The maid will misplace everything that you left in the room outside your luggage. EVERYTHING. I don't know if she thinks it's her mission to make you finding your stuff to a quest. Breakfast is really, really poor: tasteless coffee, instant drink, 2 slices of cheap ham/ cheap cheese per person, 1 egg (scrambled or boiled), lots of bread, 1 fruit, a piece of cake or muffin. No cereal, no vegetables, no dairy whatsoever. You can book this accommodation when your budget is very low and you realize what to expect.

    Location is rather convenient: close to marina (for boat trips), to cable car (to Monte with its beautiful botanical garden - must visit - and little church), supermarket (you will need it cause the breakfast is REALLY poor) and to public beach. Don Agostinho is nice and willing to help, he can organize you a tour around the island (not really recommended) or whales/ dolphins watching (very recommended) very last minute, and his wife bakes really amazing cakes for breakfast. There is a nice view on the ocean from the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't stay longer because they were booked! The hotel is quite dated but nothing is broken or worn. It is in good nick and worth the rate.

    The owners are lovely and give the place a homely yet professional atmosphere. The breakfasts are good and the location perfect for a easy walk into the village and close to shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely guest house well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight disadvantage is that it's situated up a small hill not too good if you have a disability but it did not spoil our time

    Lovely little guest house Very clean Beds where comfy Arrived early at 11.30am but the owner kindly let us use the room Breakfast was great homemade cake which was delicious cobs cheeses/ham Home made jams peice of fruit and eggs of your choice Perfect fried egg I had one every day on toast Orange juice coffee or tea A great start to the day We had a room overlooking the bay with our own balcony which was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Very good budget choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The value for the money is excellent. This is a basic place (so don't expect air conditioning etc.), but it's nice and clean and in an excellent location. Close to everything in West Funchal and yet in a quiet spot. Perfect for people that spent most of their time out and about and just need a good place to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    5.4
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attuide of the owner not very good I. E . When we asked for a extra towel & some pillows . He was not very abilging . To me a very reasonable request .

    The place was clean. That's all I can say.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Good price, nice views from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay there. The view from the terrace is amazing, looking to the ocean. For the price that we payed we are very satisfied. The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast delicious. I would totally recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very well located in the historic center city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located in the historic center city. Good terrasse. Excellent breafast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location and basic but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good location and basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    It was a warm, welcoming place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extra firm

    Generous breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    The owner was very friendly, open & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room with a sea view has very limited sea view :)

    The owner was very friendly, open & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our window was facing the terrace so there was a lot of noise.

    Very friendly staff and very good breakfast. Location is also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    I truly recommend Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I truly recommend Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha. Great value for money and very nice atmosphere. Would totally go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.8
    Cakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels smell bad. Someone was moving my things in the room

    Cakes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Gutes Preis- Leistungsverhältnis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking situation for car

    Short way to town. Sitting on terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely B&B walking distance within a few streets from Funchal centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Owners were very friendly and accommodating made you feel very welcome. Ideal location as Funchal centre is just a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in our 1st time in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise at night

    Nice breakfast,great location Well run small hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.0
    Practically everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows. They need to replace those small pieces of clothes with real pillows.

    Practically everything was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Genuine concern for your well being.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Constant, thoughtful attention to small things. Excellent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice budget guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Breakfast was generous

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Three night stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony in our room and the eggs cooked to choice a bonus. Good location for walking to sea front and within reach of tourist spots.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.8
    Good price and clean, but guests are not welcome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the owners'manners. they were rude and unkind

    the clearness and the quiet location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    For an active couple this lovely B&B was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For an active couple this lovely B&B was perfect. The couple who manage it bent over backwards to make everything perfect. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS and plentiful. The rooms were small, but immaculate. I would recommend one with a balcony for the small extra charge, as sitting outside with a glass of wine overlooking the rooftops and water was amazing. We were on a hiking vacation and found it handy to all the bus routes, walking to old town, and finding wonderful, affordable restaurants. This is NOT one of the luxury resorts on the water with a pool and bar. In fact you would not be happy here. But, if you are looking for the real Madeira, in a real neighborhood, interacting with the local people, this may be perfect for you!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Simple but lovely breakfast with something extra each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard.

    Simple but lovely breakfast with something extra each day. The room cleaning the best I have had! We really felt pampered during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    This was our second stay at Vila Teresinha and it didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay at Vila Teresinha and it didn't disappoint. Friendly and helpful without being obtrusive and lovely breakfast. Very close to central Funchal and lots of good restaurants and bars in the vicinity.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    Complete breakfast brought at the table with daily variation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When asking to make a booking for the ferry online to visit Porto Santo, I had to search for a solution myself

    Complete breakfast brought at the table with daily variation like cake, fruit, ...

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.8
    The owners were brilliant, very helpful friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was through a court yard where other guest could sit and have a drink or food or read etc, so it did make our room a bit noisy. Other than that everything was great.

    The owners were brilliant, very helpful friendly and the breakfast was amazing. The location was fantastic also, just out the main city but everything is within a 10 minute walk, brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    Excellent host with a great sense of humour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent host with a great sense of humour! Lovely hearty breakfast served with love, to keep you going for a whole day's hike. The terrace overlooking the city is very relaxing and the street quiet. Everything within walking distance and you will soon get used to the hilly aspect as this a key characteristic of the whole island :-)

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Views from the terrace are superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't think that at this price one could expect anything else.

    Views from the terrace are superb. Value for money is outstanding and the location is perfect for the old town and good restaurants. Breakfast is very adequate. The couple who run the place are helpful and speak very good English, some German too. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    I am somebody who enjoys small family run pensions or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I am somebody who enjoys small family run pensions or guesthouses and this one checked all my boxes: Nice room with clean modern bathroom, view over the city and bay, close to town but in a quiet enclave, close to a good grocery store, fridge and microwave, helpful owners, good breakfast, interesting guests.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    10
    We had a warm friendly welcome, the rooms were clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We had a warm friendly welcome, the rooms were clean and comfortable with wifi connection. The breakfasts were magnificent with a personal touch. It was easy to walk into the centre of Funchal.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    9.6
    Great location, near museums 5mins to central Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You have to pay at meter for parking, c£6 per day. This is normal in Funchal

    Great location, near museums 5mins to central Funchal. Very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Spotless. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.6
    For me, the location was perfect: Close to the old city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For me, the location was perfect: Close to the old city center while still 100% quiet with respect to traffic noise (at least my room was). Access to a bit of space in a shared fridge, micro-own, plates etc. (not an entire kitchen though). Nice, if you don't want to eat at restaurants all the time. Proximity to the best(?) supermarket in city center (in La Via shopping center). My first experience with the Guest House-concept was very positive. Compared to hotels, I like the more informal atmosphere. Also, the host was always happy, despite all the taxes going to mainland Portugal :-) Nice shared terrace with a view over the city and some of the ocean. The (free) WiFi was pretty fast and never let me down.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    We really enjoyed staying in this guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The variety of the breakfast could be improved. If You stay longer, the breakfast becomes booring after a couple of days since It is always the same...egg, ham, cheese, fruit and one piece of cake.

    We really enjoyed staying in this guest house. We liked the terrace, our big and clean room, the nice bathroom and the huge and comfy bed. The location is close to the center and there is a big parking lot in front of the building which is free of charge after 8pm until 8am. I totally recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    7.5
    Individual containers for each room in communal fridge to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower curtain instead of door and lack of toiletries. Very thin, rough towels.

    Individual containers for each room in communal fridge to store perishables, as well as microwave, crockery and cutlery. The view.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Location is great, close to the historical city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great, close to the historical city center and bus stations, only a few minutes of walk to the ocean. It is a nice alternative to the hotel quarter, because of its authenticity. Hotel manager was very friendly and helped with everything we needed. Terrace in front of the room granted a nice view on the sea and a pleasant place to spend few evenings.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    The best part of this place are breakfasts (fresh, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best part of this place are breakfasts (fresh, large continental), very polite owner and localisation just 5 minutes walk from the center / marina, 3 minutes from main SAM bus station

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    We stayed for two weeks and the owners couldn't do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for two weeks and the owners couldn't do enough for you. Excellent breakfast, lovely view from the balcony and walking distance to the centre of Funchal. Ideal place for a relaxing break.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    The guesthouse is very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guesthouse is very cosy. Much attention is paid to details and cleanness. Personnel is attentive and thoughtful. Couple of times we had no opportunity to have breakfast at the proper time (due to early bus leave), so it was packed for us beforehand. Breakfast is big and amazing :) Everything is fresh, delicious and various. Each day something new: another cake or fruit as dessert, different jams.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! Stairs to top floor for rooms with a balcony might be a bit steep if you have mobility problems.

    Wonderful location. About ten minutes of ( almost!) level walking takes you right into the centre of town. Lovely view from our balcony but you can just as easily use the communal flower bedecked terrace. Not luxurious but in our opinion provided all we needed for a week's stay. Good breakfast. The homemade jam, different every morning a highlight. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    Extremely nice and hospitable owners, who arranged us a taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely nice and hospitable owners, who arranged us a taxi from the airport, and were waiting for us despite the late arrival. I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, great breakfast served by a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of pillows but, when asked new pillows were graciously offered.

    Excellent location, great breakfast served by a very nice family. Owners very knowledgeable and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    9.2
    Good location, 5-10 min walk from bus network & a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, 5-10 min walk from bus network & a large supermarket (Dolce Vita lower floor). Owners are lovely, kind people. Clean + comfy. Use of patio and shared fridge is lovely. Good wifi available in all areas. A great stay and I would definitely come again.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    8.8
    The rooms were simple but clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were simple but clean & comfortable. The breakfast was fresh & tasty. The best part was the quality service from the owners who were very friendly & helpful. Location is also excellent 5min walk into the centre.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pensao Residencial Vila Teresinha traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: