Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Rua Antero de Quental, 659, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4200-068 Porto, Portugal

#86 of 265 B&Bs and Inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 884 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    It's really good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The owner and the personal was very helpful. Eweryday cleaning and towel changing. Good breakfast. Big bathroom. Our room was wery quiet.. 8 minits bus-drive to the historic center. The bus stop before the hotel. Parking possibility oposit the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is spacious and clean but bath needs some upgrade.

    Very convenient location, clean. The staff is very dedicated in providing info about Porto and how to plan your tour. Good breakfast is provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    the rooms are clean and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ants. my suitcase was on the floor and in the morning It was very unpleasant to find that the ants had climbed in it and ate my ovos moles. we later discovered that the whole path of ants went through the whole room...

    the rooms are clean and pleasant. the staff is nice. There is an inner courtyard with tables, where to sit and enjoy the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Forget the rooms, which were spatious and comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forget the rooms, which were spatious and comfortable, forget the breakfast, or the fact there was a bus stop right next to the hotel....the owner alone will make it a 10/10 stay. One of the friendliest people I've ever dealt with. We had a lovely time in Porto, and if ever go back we'll definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, quiet, clean, welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is in a quiet street, a nice walk away from the city centre, airport 20 min by taxi. The host is incredibly nice, offers excellent recommendations for experiencing Porto. Rooms very romantic, clean, modern, with small balconys. Best sleep we've ever had. Reception open 24/7.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to the street, a bit too noisy for what we expected; lighting in room could be better.

    Very hospitable and friendly staff, excellent breakfast, all essentials were of good quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit further from the downtown, but walking distance. Room air becomes a bit stale throughout the day, thus need to open windows during the evening.

    It is a cozy small hotel with renovated clean rooms, great friendly staff, simple but tasty breakfast. I especially enjoyed renovated modern bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm people and welcoming. They took the time to show me on a map all the main points of attraction in Porto. The room and the bathroom were very clean, street view, and also breakfast was delicious. Overall, I had a great time in Porto and I would totally recommend this place for any kind of traveler.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Good choice in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment may be a bit outdated (e.g., keys, door knobs, etc)

    Almost everything. Building, room, location, but especially very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.5
    Friendly staff, good location and decent breakfast, everything for a solo city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take ear plugs, my room faced a main road and without plugs in my sleep quality would have been worse!

    The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. Great to have a super shower. Breakfast was good, the bread rolls were awesome! Very friendly and helpful staff who even helped me with my bag which was a lovely touch. Near good and reliable public transport but I preferred walking into Porto for the exercise, nice little shops en route.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The owner of the hotel presented us a bottle of wine.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owner of the hotel presented us a bottle of wine. It was so cute. He very detailed on the first day explained the location of the sightsand and trip to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming residence with wonderful charm & hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was outstanding in every way. For me I like walking so I did not mind that it was a 20 minute walk to the very centre of the city.

    The staff were do friendly & welcoming. The room was beautiful, spotless and stunningly well maintained. I got a fabulous double room although I was on my own There were lovely architectural features in the house - stairways, corridors & the rooms. The breakfast was great, continental but super choice and the place was impeccable. The neighbourhood was super too and everyone around was friendly and incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and very helpful staff. Rooms basic but adequate. Cleaning excellent. Breakfast plentiful though basic. Bus stop very close, but would use metro even though a bit of walk as service is more regular and reliable. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to discover Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was really helpful and always ready to help and to give advices regarding history, interesting buildings, food and art. They have welcomed us with some Porto wine even if it was 1 am. The room was clean, only the building and the forniture is quite dated but nice. Breakfast was good and the owner was always concerned to make us try everything. The location in 20 mins on foot from the city center and we didn't use public transportation, except to go to Matosinhos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Real friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi in our room was weak and if this is important to you ask for a room a little closer. There are routers on each floor. . Was a fair hike into town although there is a bus stop outside the gate. It was 34 degrees when we visited so the up hill walk back from town was warming.

    Real friendly and helpful hosts.. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Good restaurants just around the corner and the undercover parking was just over the road at a very reasonable rate. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Porto is a fantastic City and the people are friendly. Place we stayed in was very good vfm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, but I knew that before I booked. What I didn't know was that the walk back to the hotel (2.4km) was all uphill! But after doing it twice, final day we took a cab and it was only 6 euros.

    For what we paid it was excellent value for money. Augustino, the owner, was very helpful about where to go, buses etc. The staff were friendly. The bed was comfortable and pillows good. Removable shower head and clean towels. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    For a good value, comfortable, friendly stay try the Lis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    The place was run by a very helpful man and his family. It was a little old fashioned but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent especially the coffee. There was someone on duty 24hrs/day. We were able to walk into the centre of Porto but there are regular bus stops very close to the Lis. Highly recomended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Was an excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NIL

    Nice room located at the heart of Porto, the owner was very helpful and kind, so were the housekeepers as well as receptionist. Truly recommend people to stay there whenever they are in Porto..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff, stayed up to receive us 1 am after delayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, stayed up to receive us 1 am after delayed flight. Very clean room and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Breakfast and coffee very good. Good location still in walking distance to town, but also close metro connections.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    It was a nice place, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and the pillows were very thin and flat. When we checked out, the bill was an extra 10 euro more than what our confirmation rate was- didn’t receive an explanation as to why - was just charged the extra amount.

    Upon our arrival we were created with a small carafe of wine, which was very nice. We didn’t care for the port wine too much though. The owner (?) was very informative on where places were located and how to get to the different destinations. The breakfast was good and the room was pleasant. The tv had some English stations so that was nice as well. The gentleman at the desk on our first night found us a couple more pillows which helped with sleeping. The parking for the car was inside a garage across the street that was a monitored parking garage. The garage was secured at midnight every night, so you had to have the car back by then.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great place within walking distance of the important sites in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early afternoon, and the owner spent time with us to recommend what sites to see, in what order, and how to get to them. There is a bus line right in front of the hotel, but we were close enough to walk to all of them. It worked out perfectly for us with the limited time we had in Porto. The property is older, but it was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good for our tastes. It was very easy to drive to the hotel, and the parking garage was directly across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly stuff, decent breakfast, overall easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit small and the ventilation system in the bath room is a bit too noisy.

    Very friendly stuff, decent breakfast, overall easy access to the city, fair price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice and cozy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have more fruit/vegetables. Other than that all was great!

    The host and other staff were very friendly, smiling and helpful. The house is well kept and has a nice interior. The breakfast was nice. It is convenient that there is a bus stop just outside the house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Being 3 twenty year old girls in a foreign country, someone was attendind us the way our family woul
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could vary from day to day.

    The owner was one of the best people we have ever met. Kind,generous, attentive,an amazing person altogether. One day we missed breakfast time and upon leaving the hotel we saw him waiting for us in the kitchen and he had ready the breakfast for us. The breakfast time was until 10 and there we were eating at 12! A really moving person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Greate place in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly service. Helpful, friendly and smiling. Rooms clean and large. Every day cleaned. Air conditioning and heating. Wine porto for greetings. Good breakfasts. Everyone will find something to eat for themselves. We highly recommend and thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Little Place to Stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and warm, there were ample blankets. The bed was very comfortable. The proprietor could not have been better. The only addition I might suggest is for some additional pillows or bolsters in the bedroom so that one could to prop them against the open ironwork headboard so that we could sit against to watch TV, read or talk. A single pillow falls right through the open spaces. The only other suggestion (which is the same as for every hotel we've stayed at on this trip- both 5*, 4*, and this b&b type) would be to add some shelves and hooks to make organizing toiletries and clothing in the bathroom possible.

    The proprietor was very friendly, kind and informative. Could not have been better! He greeted us with a small bottle of delicious Port and a padded cloth heart as remembrance of Porto. He helped with all our questions, served as tour guide extroadinaire, gave us a map and showed us the best way to walk the Center City and see all the important sites of Porto. We we're surprised to learn that Agostino was a Fado singer (among so much else) and he delighted all in the breakfast room with a short, but very beautiful, song. A real treat! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use a bit of renovation One Bed linen was dirty :(

    The staff! The owner is a very friendly person and makes you feel welcoming by proving all crucial info about Porto, the place to see, where to eat. The rest of the staff are also very welcoming. The rooms have a traditional Portuguese charm to them Simple breakfast but apt for the price Port wine :) Public transportation is only needed to while getting to and out of the property from the Airport and train station rest all can be done by foot(especially to the old Porto city center)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Cleanliness and staff helpfulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. However an elevator would be nice for people with large luggage. We didn't have any issues as we had small luggage plus the owner was always helpful and ready to help with anything including luggage

    Cleanliness and staff helpfulness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Hands down one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely and much bigger than I was expecting! Very comfortable stay, and overall amazing value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A no frills, small, traditional Portuguese hotel close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A no frills, small, traditional Portuguese hotel close to the city centre. Very good value and exceptionally clean. Safe parking in a garage on the other side of the road for 5 euros per night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    A great location at a very reasonable price; basic accommodation -small bathroom but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since we had a car we needed to find a place that including parking- Lis had a garage across the street where you could park for 5E a day....a real bargain for the Porto area. While this was not in city center, the #600 bus stopped right outside the courtyard to go into town. While very basic room, it was clean and the owners were very nice; light breakfast was included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A long walk into the city. Not in a very nice area. I believe there are health and safety issues here regarding fire safety.

    Nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    the owner and staff were really kind and helped us alot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the owner and staff were really kind and helped us alot. Very basic but with quite a good breakfast. The parking across the street was also very convenient. We arrived late and found a friendly welcome with some port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some small things that really means nothing, like slightly old facilities. I was at this B&B at the end of September, so it was comfortable without air conditioner, but it may be too hot in the summer.

    This B&B is located on the street that goes straight to the city center, it is only 30 minutes walking. And there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. Very helpful owner told me about Porto and suggested places to see. For those who travels by car, parking garage is located across the street, and the street is a busy one where you are forbidden to stop. But there is a space in the garage entrance where (I suppose) you can stop for a while, go to the B&B and then after receiving a paper for parking, park your car in the garage. Use Google street view to find the garage - its entrance is in front of the "Cafe Rocha" and there is a blue sign "Garagem Planauto" in the entrance. And of course a bottle of port wine meets you in your room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Weekend off with by boyfriend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and quiet room. Not so far from the city centre. Good value for money. 24h reception. Good breakfast and very welcoming staff! Totally recommendable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on the ground floor is a bit dark. There is a specific smell in the room probably coming from old furniture so I preferred to open the window even during the cold night. I can`t say anything about breakfast since they are served from 7:30 and I had to leave at 7:00.

    Peaceful street. 10min by walk to Marquês Metro Station, 30 min by walk to the old town. A nice welcome, especially the small bottle of quality port wine for free! Generally, good choice for that money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Old fashion but honestly priced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Except the new bathroom facilities, the other seems outdated (but, to be fair, always clean). If you are not addicted to high-tech or cosy designs, it is OK.

    Not a fancy place but a good value for money. Very helpful staff, near to metro station, bus station right outside and safe area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient and comfortable place to stay in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thin pillow on the bed. Two would have been nice.

    So easy to get into the town by bus which stops in front of Lis. The owner gave us lots of great tips and we loved Porto. The bike ride along the river and the beaches was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    did us proud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the rooms although nice could do with modernising.

    A very large room with a entrance hall and terrace. We also received a more than adequate and well prepared breakfast. The owner couldn't have been nicer, even giving us a quick singing recital on our arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff. Good place to stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak wi-fi connection in the room. There was also a slight problem with hot water - while the shower had it, no hot water was running from the tap. No big deal, just has to be noticed.

    Very nice staff - we were leaving early in the morning and couldn't have breakfast, and they were so nice to prepare sandwiches for the road. The owner is very friendly and shares his knowledge about what's to see in Porto. He also welcomed us with a small bottle of very good, homemade 20-year old port wine. Our room was particularly big, almost like a hotel suite, and had access to a terrace. Cleaning was done everyday, towels changed daily as well. Breakfast was good for this price range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    GREAT LOCATION & PLEASANT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Our room was more like hotel suite and had a sitting room and lots of closet space. The room had access to a garden and patio. Great location where you can get a bus from the airport metro station that drops you off across the street from the guest house. Nice breakfast and parking is available across the street in a large garage for 5 Euro per day which was convenient since we rented a car for 2 days to tour Coimbra and Fatima.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    A good place away from the busy, historic section.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is a double so smaller than we are accustomed to. Also, the pillows were quite flat.

    Our host, Agostinho, was very pleasant and helpful. He gave us much advice on where to eat, what to see, etc. The historic section, Ribeira, was a short bus ride and walk. The bathroom was spacious by European standards. The breakfast was very good and varied. Our room had a little balcony overlooking the garden which was delightful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    I recommend this pension for 2-4 days in Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, good breakfast, port wine at the arrival, very helpfull staff, 20min by walk to city centre (bridge). It is good place to sightseeing Porto for resonable price. Best regards to Augustino, you are the best!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Augustino is an excellent host and hotelier. Is makes a huge difference to the traveller to have an enthuiastic and knowledgable guide. I have enjoyed the port wine and honey hos family produces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a disaster stance from the centre . Anything ne with minor walking problems would fine this location a challenge

    Reasonable price . The owner was very helpful & able to help us plan our day . Bus stop just out side hotel, to centre. Hotel will always order a taxi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was very helpful. He greeted us with free small bottle of port and handed us a map where he marked on some key places to visit. The room was nice and comfortable and breakfast was also good. Good value and a short walk into town. Affordable restaurants nearby. We will go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay, very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly informative staff ensuring a personal service. Great breakfast. Parking cheap and close by. Many hotels in Porto do not offer parking and if they do it is much more expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value, tasty breakfast and superb host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a barking dog that drove us a bit crazy and some noisy neighbors outside the residence. It was a good 45 minute walk to the main downtown.

    The host was excellent, took time to give us info on sites to see and how to get there. The room was super clean and the beds were comfortable. We asked for hot water for tea in the evening and they brought it to our room. We were also given a small bottle of port to welcome us--so cool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    very satisfied - I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Will come back... very professional and kind staff... parking on the other side of the street...bus stop in front the hotel to the main sqaure... welcome porto wine :) great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Great stay in Porto,seranaded at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A long walk if you have knee problems as I do but was able to get bus or taxi easily.

    Very friendly staff,enjoyed the owners singing,nice bottle of port free on arrival,enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    OK - As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided not to plump up for air con however this was a mistake as we stayed during a particularly warm spell and although the fan provided was effective at shifting air, it may disturb some sleepers (like I said - this was poor planning on our part). Breakfast was basic. P.s.When you book note whether parking is included or not.

    Free little bottle of port upon arrival. Shower was fine. No significant outside noise or extraneous light.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    A portuguese feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast could have been a bit more various, but the bakery products were local,typical portuguese and delicious.

    The property itself was a huge beautiful portuguese mansion. The walls, the staircase, the furniture, the paintings made us to feel as if we were guests in a museum. It was really authentic for us. The hosts were dedicated, nice portuguese people. We could park the car in a deep garage just in front of the residence. Our accomodation was big, nicely furnished and clean. We had our own private balcony as well. On our first night a small bottle of Porto red wine was waiting for us in our bedroom :) My favourite was the dining room of the property, also decorated in portuguese style. On the wall were postcards, sent by previous guests, which showed the hosts really took care of building a good, friendly relationship with them. The neighbourhood was quiet during the night. The city center was within a longer walking distance with a nice route, do not miss it during the daytime. In the evening we used the local metro, the stop was 900m walk from the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Great central location for Pilgrim Cathedral visits and dining out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    I arrived into the city from my Camino walk tired and worn out to find Lis B&B, a delightful little Pension in front of a flower bedecked square and just 100 mtrs from the Cathedral entrance. A better location for the price you won't find in Santiago. The receptionist was helpful, efficient and offered good advice on nearby restaurants. I booked a single room on the first floor and while you could hear noise from the street below, I had no difficulty sleeping which might also have had something to do with having just walked 25 kms to the hotel? The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom modern and very clean. It's a lovely B&B with the added bonus of a great location. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Decent and homey hotel in beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Staff was very helpful. Location just a few steps away from bus that takes you to center of town. Considering the price, accommodations were very decent. Small bathroom but nice shower. Breakfast not a large spread but sufficient to start the day: coffee, milk, cereal, juice, bread, ham, cheese and jam. No A/C but good window for fresh air. If you're on a budget and are looking for a safe, decent place to stay, this is just right.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Much more than meets the eye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in our room was a little dated, but the bathroom was good and everything very clean.

    The staff were absolutely fabulous, extremely helpful and engaging - even entertaining! The manager was heard singing opera (very well indeed) to other guests, and gave us a rendition of a Maori Haka to show his knowledge of New Zealand (and it's national sport/religion.) It was great to have undercover, secure parking directly adjacent to the property. The guest house seemed to attract nice guests and there was a good opportunity to meet them over a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Exceptional hospitality by Augustino, who even sings fados!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good. The room was quiet, the bed very comfortable! Above all we were really impressed by the cordial and genuine hospitality of the manager Augustino. He was also very helpful in solving any problem we had and introducing us into the city. He even sang Coimbra fados for us! He was really exceptional. Thank you Augustino!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel which offers good and safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owner. He provided a city map (free) with indication of the main attractions & bus to take to get back to the hotel from down town. The host speaks several languages (French, English and of course Portuguese). The room is quiet and comfy. Very clean. Breakfast is not lavish, but certainly sufficient. Parking is in a guarded garage just across the street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    A great stay in a friendly, family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    This small hotel is a comfortable, clean, family run business with 13 rooms. It is a little bit away from the main tourist attractions. However, there is a Metro stop (Marques on the yellow line) 10 minutes walk away and a bus stop directly outside the property (No. 600 bus). The main advantage to staying here is the friendly welcome that you receive. The staff go out of their way to assist in any way they can to make your stay enjoyable. My partner and I were particularly grateful to the owner for the hospitality and generosity he extended to us. Some people may find the breakfast a little basic but it met our needs perfectly - orange juice, selection of breads, cold meat, cheese, cereals, fruit, tea and coffee all served by a very attentive staff. There are a selection of small shops, cafes and restaurants close to the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Should we return to Porto in the future we would definitely book Residencia Lis again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    An amazing value with a wonderful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing It was an amazing value

    It was like staying at a Portugese relatives home. Not fancy but adequate The owner is amazing--he helped us understand the layout of Porto and was extremely warm and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was basic but sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on basic floor ( nr.03 ) was a little bit humid, cold and dark.

    Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Guesthouse is calm and safe. Center of the town is in the foot attendance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    Great value with lots of extras at a B&B in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in our room

    Port wine served in our room at arrival Good continental breakfast with great rolls Our host was very friendly, helpful,and sang us Fado songs at breakfast Total for 3 nights with parking was 144 Euros!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic / limited breakfast, but then the price was good. I wish I had checked first as I would have gone out for it as there are plenty of places to choose from.

    Lovely welcome, especially the small bottle of port! Just what we needed for a quick overnight stay. Parking across the road, and the owner could not have been more helpful. He provided us with a map and suggestions of where to eat. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Cozy and feels at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not exciting. I think there were only cerials and breads. Considering the price, I think it's fine but can do a little better. Having said that, there are many places to eat in Porto, so wouldn't be a big deal not having a proper breakfast there. I'm saying proper if you consider english breakfast as a breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and so accommodating. The hotel itself was cozy with nice furnitures. I stayed by myself but I didn't feel lonely at all. The distance from the metro was not far but if you are with big suitcase, I will not recommend to walk from there but take a taxi instead. To go to the down town it was easy as it was down hill but I took a taxi on the way back as it was late and was a female single traveler. However, you can easily take a taxi from the town for around 5-7euros if I remember correctly. To the airport, it was around 13 euros although it will be more expensive if you call the taxi which normally adds 3.5 euros on top of the normal charge. I will definitely come back again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice "roomy" room, overlooking courtyard in back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't get in the front door when we arrived - the owner wasn't there. "Staff" is only the owner, one factotum who prepares breakfast (etc.) - but doesn't speak English, and the cleaning lady. The owner had left an "annotated" map for us, but bus transit wasn't well explained. So we didn't really know how to get back by bus, and one day in the rain we had a really bad experience with a bus driver who didn't let us off. We never did get to really talk to the owner to get tips about visiting Porto. There was a nice alcove in our room (with a table & chairs - a real plus) - but no light fixture or lamp.

    Nice "roomy" room, overlooking courtyard in back. The breakfast gent very kindly prepared us a very early breakfast (complete with coffee) when we had an early departure. We enjoyed the "welcome" port wine, even though we got it on our second day there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Sparkling clean, good va
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at Lis B&B are spacious and clean and thoughtfully come with a bottle of Port and cookies. We were given a large room with a single and a double, a table with chairs and a big bathroom with a tub, shower, toilet, sink and bidet. The hotel provided an adequate breakfast of fresh croissants, buns, a variety of jams and coffee/tea. The breakfast was conscientously served with attention to detail in a sparkling clean, charming dining room. But the heart and soul of Lis BnB is the owner, Augustino, who went way out of his way to make our stay special. My husband had hurt his leg so wasn't moving as quickly as he could and Augustino took the time to drive us around one day. He spent a couple of hours with us that day showing us the sights and on our final day he volunteered to drive us to the airport so my injured husband wouldn't have to manage the Metro with his suitcase. He also took the time to explain Porto, how to buy bus tickets and restaurant recommendations. Augustino is the epitome of generosity and kindness, showing a genuine concern for his guests. Lis B&B is a fantastic value for your money, the bus stops immediately outside and drops you in the centre of all the sights and Lis B&B staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy Porto.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Terrific value in a traditional portuguese home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, although reachable by metro and bus, is somehow far from the tourists spots and in an non descript neighborhood. I did not lack exercise going on foot back and forth to the Douro waterfront.

    I had a very large room with 2 beds, large bathroom The owner and help are outstanding. The owner guided me to his favorite restaurant upon arrival and suggested a delicious beef sandwich.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice, clean place and good base for discovering Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, clean place and good base for discovering Porto. Not too far from airport (~15 mins by car). Parking garage across the street. Incredible Staff, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    The family-style B&B was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family-style B&B was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Clean, Central, Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, Location....did I mention quiet? And great breakfasts too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The staff is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very nice. They gave us a city map and showed the best route for siteseeing. Very helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Super motel, very friendly staff,clean rooms,good podatkom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super motel, very friendly staff,clean rooms,good podatkom ,modest but tasty breakfast.I deffinetly recommend LIS

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    All rights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    felt very homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    longish walk to centre BUT was on a direct bus route

    manager and staff super helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: