Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensao Residencial Mirasol

Rua Bela De São Tiago 67, Santa Maria, 9060-400 Funchal, Portugal

#16 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good value for money. Really close to the center of Funchal - about 2-3 min walk to Zona Velha and 5 min to Mercado dos Lavradores. Mr. Horta was really helpful - big thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No English tv channels.

    Accomadating staff, very helpful, moved to ground floor room when they realised that I had a chest problem without asking to be moved. Breakfast adequate to set one off for the day. Excellent location within 5 minuites walk from resteraunts and bars. Booked excursions through the hotel, all turned up on time with informative tour guides and picked up and dropped off at the hotel door. Hotel proprieter went the extra mile for customer service for all guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was to short.

    When we opened the door, we were greeted in our mother tongue, in a strange country. The whole family carried us on their hands. We had the best view of Funchal from our window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only downside was the uphill climb from central Funchal, which could get hard with luggage. The walk down to Funchal with no sidewalks was a little crazy for a few blocks, with drivers coming within a foot of you as you walked (admittedly, there was no real danger as long as you stayed close to the wall). But every time we did this walk, I would say "I am paying myself $100 a day for making this walk", since staying anywhere else in Funchal would have cost that much more.

    Hands down, the best thing was the manager, who was extremely helpful and friendly and spoke an amazing number of languages, including a little Czech, my wife's native tongue. He helped us book 3 different levada hikes in our 4 days there, and all 3 worked out well. The price was also very reasonable (under 40 euros a day) for which we got a room that was more than adequate for the two of us. The hotel is on the opposite side of Funchal from the "hotel district", which was a good thing in our opinion, because the hotel district is quite touristy, artificial-feeling, and expensive (but be sure to visit Reid's Hotel there and walk thru its gardens). Our neighborhood was close to the cable car to Monte and the botanic garden, the major supermarket, Old Town with many restaurants, and the ocean (hotels in the hotel district are on top of cliffs and not close to anything but themselves). We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. We felt particularly lucky to be staying there after meeting other tourists on the hikes, who were staying at more expensive hotels with much longer walks to town, and much steeper walks. Before booking a hotel in Funchal, check the altitude since some hotels are quite high above town, not convenient to buses or to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This isn't a dislike from my perspective but if you are expecting fancy rooms stay at the Ritz and pay 10 times more for a room that you probably won't spend much time in anyway.

    The Horta family that owns this property are all extremely nice and helpful. They helped me with several needs that came up while I was visiting Madeira. I look forward to coming back and seeing them again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect breakfast and people! Best owner ever! He helps to find for us parking place, pharmacy open at sunday - everything. Very kind man! And Mirasol is right in the centre!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not happy having to ring the bell to enter the property on Sunday when owner not there regardless of the time.

    Very generous breakfasts included (yoghurt, eggs or cheese/ham) fresh crispy rolls: very friendly & helpful owner: just a few minutes walk from the old town and the sea front. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The uncomfortable bed, small room hardly any space to move, mould in bathroom as well as cockroach found on last day. Parking as not as advertised you always have to let host know when you wanting to take the car, awkward parking. Boyfriend asked for one extra egg at breakfast time to be told it was not included. You needed to leave the room key at reception every time you left and ask for key again on your return which made it all very awkward and unnecesary. I would not recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had a balcony but the doors were broken. Breakfast was only about scrambled eggs and fried eggs.

    Personal always tried to find out a free parking place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too firm. I thought a hairdryer would have been a bonus. Noisy neighbours dog which we mentioned when there.

    The breakfast was very good. Personal contact was excellent and very helpful. It was near to restaurants and shops, the esplanade and cable car and bus services.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Up a hill- but to be honest Madeira is hilly! I got a taxi, but only on arrival with baggage. TV old - if you have a tablet etc you don't worry about TV. A little traffic noise at times - nothing to trouble you.

    Place had character - quite old traditional. Decorated in appropriate style. Beds comfortable but TV ancient! Staff very helpful. Breakfast simple but met my needs well. Location in old part of town was convenient, with plenty of eating places nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bad that the building is underinvested,,,,the standrd of rooms, bathrooms is obsolited....repairs done the cheepest possible way, certaainly not by professional tradesman. towels are gray not white and desires more frquent change.Used pilows and blankets.

    Location, friendly staff, morning breakfasts....family feeling in the traditional way...smile and friendly advise, help....tremendous potential for all kinds of travelers liking local feel what Madera is all about...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Position, near the sea, near the restaurant street, near a lift up to Monte mountain. Very helpful staff, speaking all possible languages. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Family run property, excellent central location close to old town bars and restaurants, only a few minutes walk from the "Mercado dos Lavradores" and the "Teleférico do Jardim Botânico". Umberto and his family are great hosts, their warmth, courtesy and great availability enriched our experience and our stay. The breakfast, included in the very reasonable price, was nice and plentiful. We had a lovely room in a separate building with as much character as the main structure. Parking can be tricky, as the property is located in the old town, however Umberto and his dad always managed to find us a space. An unforgettable experience made even better by a wonderful and welcoming family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't too spacy and the toilet wasn't working well.

    Good location, 10 min walk from the main attractions. Apartments are located in a historical old house with an added value. Staff was very nice and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little bit noisy, facing to the main street. Need some maintanace especially in the bathroom. However value for money and the family who runs it.

    The family running pension. Very helpful and adorable people. Good location, close to the shops, Mercado, Cable car. Reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean room or bathroom, really old furniture, broken stuff in the bathroom, very noisy, dirty towels and linen. On the contrary to what the property advertises there is no parking and we had to use a private parking and pay for it. The guy who checked us in wasn't speaking English (not even a word) and he was rather upset that we couldn't understand Portugese.

    Just the location as you are close to the old town, restaurants and bars, but only if you don't have a car as there is no parking and you don't have any trouble sleeping in a noisy place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    A great thank you to Umberto, his father and the whole family for the wonderful stay we had. Thanks to them we felt like at home. Will definitely come again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment is very old and used, but really clean. Small room. Noisy road at night. Still - great location.

    Great location, close to the downtown and Market. Absolutely great hosts - so nice, you can't belive. Surprisingly comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi not strong. If this was not a weekend day (i.e. we had to work), we'd be in trouble with the WiFi. The host charged us extra because we were paying with Credit Card (even though not mentioned on Booking.com). Beds not so comfy and bathroom is very old.

    The building is old with lots of character and has lots of potential. Breakfast was Excellent and they gave you a hot breakfast option as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although my room was located at the side street, still hear some traffic/dog barking noise now and then.

    Great hosts, very friendly and would help you with everything. Located in the Old Town (Zona Velha). Not far (<10min walk) from Mercado and cable car station, although you do need to walk a bit on an uphill road. A lot of nice restaurants nearby. WIFI is good. I also joined 2 full (east+west)+ 1 half day tour(Nun's valley) with the host, all went very well. I think much better than via local travel agency, since smaller group, more flexible, and Umberto (the host) really know a lot about the area and planned every thing perfectly. Madeira was such a beautiful island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All is OK nothing special negative. Only a bit close to a bit busy road- therefore not so quite during night and morning.

    Accommodation is great- in old very stylish house from XIX sanctuary. Family run accommodation- with great support of owner who help a lot and find solution for all question. Breakfast is OK. Location is perfect - 7 min to the beach, as public as pool complex, and 5min to the great restaurant and night life. Internet in room is good and for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe some more insulation as we heard a bit of noise from the street

    Rooms were clean, place is located in a very nice area close to restaurants, shops and public transportation. Breakfast is also nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast each day Maybe provide some cereals?

    The family who ran it were very friendly and helpful at all times They arranged transport to and from airport Very responsive to all emailed queries It was Plain simple B&B so did not have any tea or evening meals there The accommodation is right in the old town side with many restaurants Within five minutes walk Cable car and bus station both seven minutes walk away Lovely people lovely holiday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for me but access could be an issue..no lift!

    Family run hotel. Great view from my bedroom window.service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    low presure in shower, slow internet, breakfast same every day, bed uncomfortable

    nice and friendly staff, clean room, nice view from balcony (not in every room), good location close to center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great personal! Householder helped us a lot to manage our problems with air company and flight cancellation. Thanks a lot. Beatiful historical house. Nice location in the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There's no air conditioning and it got uncomfortably hot during our stay. But it was just a minor drawback for us, as everything else was great.

    The owners are exceptionally kind and helpful and always cheerful. We felt very welcomed here. The location is excellent and the balcony view is just perfect. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not critiquing, but more something people should know. When you walk to the hotel you have to walk up a hill. For us it's fine, but I can imagine that for older people that could be a problem. It's however very cheap to take a taxi to the hotel, so if that's ok for you this hotel is an excellent choice.

    The location was absolutely perfect. The staff were very nice. They gave us a lot of tips and they speak a lot of languages, including Dutch (my language). I was very surprised.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was very helpful and friendly and picked us up at the airport. Very good. He kept in touch with us by email the whole time so he knew when were arrived etc. The room in the annexe of the Pensao was beautiful. Big rooms. Cool. Comfortable and quiet. Would definitely stay there again. Have recommended it to my friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For a tall Dutch person the shower was a bit low, but it was still manageable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (good breakfast, help in daytrip planning and picnic lunch). Manager speaks quite some Dutch. Location only few minutes walking to Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great localization in the Old Town (Zona Velha), very close to the famous Mercado. Many cafes/restaurants nearby. Great hosts, they are very kind and will help you with everything. Tasty breakfasts! Modest and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved staying at this family-owned guest house - everyone of the staff was more than eager to make our stay memorable, give us tips, help with logistics and make us feel at Home. Each room has unique atmosphere. If I go back to Funchal that would be the place to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.On booking website there was written, that this room should have a balcony, but when we arrived they told us it is not in every room - ok, but why it was written there? 2. Old blanket and carpets, so we were afraid to touch it, otherwise there was clean... small bed. 3. During our stay disappeared 200eur from my purse in our room.. I know it might not be their fault, I just want everyone to know for any similar cases. Nothing else was missing, like laptop, only in my backup purse, which I've never used suddenly were 100eur instead of 300eur. And we only use money which my boyfriend has in his wallet and don't you think you would remember spending 200eur? I know we should probably hide money, but I have never done that and even there was no safe. Owner of the hotel didn't say anything at first, later that he knows his employees for 20 yrs...

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The furniture, mattress, the equipment and the interior decorating are old-fashioned but we knew about it before coming as it was mentioned in the french "Guide du Routard". Regarding the parking lot for our rental car: there's no real identified one neither a garage: you can just park the car in the street nearby (as all the inhabitants do there)... so we preferred parking our car in a closed/paying garage just 200 meters from the pension: it wasn't too much expensive (3,2€/day) and at least we knew the car was in a safe place.

    It's a family owned business and the 3 members from this family we met (father + mother + son) were very warming and very helpful. As many other people in the tourism industry of this beautiful island, they speak english and french (the son). The location is very convenient: just in the old town so you can go very quickly to Santa Maria street, full of restaurants, and go further to reach the downtown area (cathedral + city hall) or the water front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The managers son was a rude arrogant man with an appalling attitude!

    The location was good unless you have any mobility issues as was on a very steep hill.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit of a problem due to the location being in the old town centre, but the staff will show you where to park. No electrical sockets near the bed.

    Very nice and friendly staff, excellent location, comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfest always the same, please any fruit or vegetable, musli or cereal bread. Beds needs to be repaired.

    Close to the city center.Not far many restaurants. Mercado Dos Lavradores just 4minutes walk. Free Car park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - The family owning the place was very helpful, always smiling and with positive attitude. They are definitely the reason to visit the place. - Nice continental breakfast. - Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Owner's family is perfect. Customer care is on highest level. All complains about signal of WiFi were resolved next day. Very clean and cozy place to stay on Madeira. And is very close to Funchal center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very kind, funny, friendly and helpfull owners (family) - they are able to arrange a car rental, boat trips and parking place next to apartment. Wonderful location!! - the best at the city (Zona Velha) 2 min. by walk from famous Santa Maria street with a lot of typical restaurants and bars. 5 min from cableway to Monte, promenade and bus station. 3 min to SPAR minimarket. Clean accomodation. We were very satisfied! My tip: Take 3 minutes by a walk from apartment and enjoy the ocean view and beautiful sunset from bar and cafe next to church with local poncha, sangria or cider at your hand. You will love this!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No heating in the room so nights can be cold in the winter time.

    The owner and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nice breakfasts and good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast. double bed had two separate matresses which where constantly moving apart

    good location, great value for money, kind staff speaking good English, clean and comfy rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was absolutely amazing! The atmosphere was very friendly and everyone was helpful and nice! The cleaning lady came every day with new towels, made our beds and cleaned our bathroom. The breakfast was a bit monotonous, but delicious and big:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking is easier with smaller car (like Ford Focus or smaller)

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, always ready for help. Parking is quite difficult in this part of Funchal, but they always kept free place for us. Hotel is just few hundred meters away from restaurant area in old town. Furniture is old fashioned, but what else can you expect for this price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms and furniture, but that is ok for such a low price. The only annoying thing was a bad smell in the bathroom that is why I cannot put high score for the cleaning. Everything else was quite good.

    Very good location, nice personnel which treats you like a family.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The use of perfumed laundry detergent and cleaners was excessive and the bed was not ideal.

    This pensao is on a hillside, with nice views and light, just a short walk from the waterfront and center of Funchal. Operated by a sweet, kind and engaging gentleman, its an elegant, older building that has had few modifications and is furnished with some antiques.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about at all!

    Very good and friendly service! Good located! Extremely helpful ahead of my arrival in explaining the way to the location and leisure opportunities on the spot. Very flexible and aiming to accommodate last minute wishes!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No fridge in room No kettle in room very noisy room next to traffic and dogs barking breakfast very simple and boring had to hand key in when leaving hotel ? No wifi as advertised

    close to town centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The street outside can be a little noisy when cars run by.

    Super friendly and helpful staff.!:) I got a nice room high up in the building with sea view. Nice big breakfast, you never walk away hungry. The whole house has a cosy old style. It's 5 min walk from the cable cars and the rest of the city. If i go here again this is where I will be staying! :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for hi tech modern luxury this isn't the place for you. Wifi is ok, but water pressure can be a bit variable. Some of the facilities may need updating, but the trade off is that it's cheap, relaxed and cheerful.

    Staff are amazing, location is great, really near the centre of town and restaurant district. Welcome is very warm and they really try and make your stay enjoyable. We loved it here. Umberto and his family really make an effort, so despite it being a little dated, we loved its quirkiness and charm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Especially friendly and helpful owners, good quiet place in the Old Town, close to tourist sites. Room small on the top floor, as we have asked, with a nice view. If it is difficult to climb the stairs - better on the lower floors. We had to leave earlier at 7.00 in the morning - and had prepared breakfast :) There is a shuttle service that helped us when traveling from the airport and ferry.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited in August, understandably therefore it was very hot. A fan in the room would've aided a good night's rest. There was also noise from traffic but again as the hotel is so ideally centrally located, it was a small price to pay.

    Hosts were wonderful, warm and friendly and extremely helpful. We were well looked after and wanted for nothing. The well appointed hotel offers great views and there were numerous café's and eateries within minutes walk to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are taller than 1.60m, chances are you'll have to bend in order to take a shower :) the ceiling was quite low!

    The Horta family will take care of you throughout your whole stay in Mirasol. They are extremely helpful and love having a chat with all of their guests. Our room had a nice balcony with sea view. In less than five minutes you can reach some of the best restaurants in Madeira and a beach complex nearby. Excellent position!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - perhaps a fan available in rooms for very hot nights.

    Price of the room was excellent for 3 nights in the centre of Funchal. Location couldn't be better. Excellent view from room 24. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The quality of the furniture in the room is not that great. Furniture is old, and TV is small and old with a broken remote. Shower doors can not be closed properly, and water pressure is low. It may take a longer time for you than usual to take a shower. It is understandable though as this is a traditional old house in the old part of the town. Mattresses on the bad are comfy though and bedding and towels are super clean.

    The Resident Mirasol is run as a family business. It feels more like a family house than as a hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They will attend to any of your needs that you might have. Whether its renting a car, booking a tour, buying a ticket for the boat, or just drive you around with their personal car they can arrange everything for you if you only ask for it. There is no other hotel I ever been to where for such cheap price of the stay per night you get such a great service. If there are more rooms that are free at the time of your arrival, the owner will let you to pick whichever room you like the most.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No negative points.

    It is a family business and they are all extremely nice, friendly and helpful. Excellent location, you can walk to most of the main attractions in Funchal: just two minutes away from the narrow streets crowded with restaurants that make up the old town. Also, it is very close to the cable car, Mercado dos Lavradores, Avenida do Mar and the main Cathedral. It will definitely be my choice when I get back to Madeira.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Manager Joao Horta very nice guy and intelligent. He spoke six languages!! Very friendly family. Iwill stay there again if i go to Madeira.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location in old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Humberto an excellent host. Very helpful indeed. Sent me an email in advance with lots of relevant info.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was good value for money, so no negatives

    Very happy , stay in a lovely location , myself and the wife enjoyed our vacation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The friendliness of the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not properly cleaned

    Hospitality and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - great value for money

    Great location in funchal. Very courteous owners & staff! Very nice breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great atmosphere owners breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of road noise

    Central location, nice people and price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad bathroom

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, nice people, good value! Obrigado

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    The booking came with breakfast. Friendly staff. Responded to request very well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, I also like breakfast although someone could tell it is too simple. Everything was clean and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were great but the pillows need to be updated. Family owned and run - lovely people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking up the hill

    Clean friendly staff were superb also great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional family run hotel, very helpful and informative, would thoroughly recommend a stay here. Lovely people with time for their guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet dirty. Pee in toilet. Pullows old and bally.

    Good location. Staff nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pensao Residencial Mirasol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: