Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Lisbon B&B and inn reviews
  4. Reviews of Pensao Nova Goa

Reviews of Pensao Nova Goa

Rua Arco Marquês Do Alegrete 13, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-034 Lisbon, Portugal

#419 of 484 B&Bs and inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3031 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    6.3
    excellent locaction with nice view of castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night was so far the most terrible that ever happen to me in hotel. Room (403) was in unbelievable bad condition, old, crooked, very cold (around 16 degrees), moist and there was lots of mold in bathroom. AC was not working so we were cold freezing until morning - there are only thin blankets available to cover yourself - and I got sick as hell and burning with fever next day. We ordered double bed room and got twin room thereof one bad was so soft it was unusable. We were trying to get another room but were unlucky - everything was booked occupied already. And in this place I would like to compliment the staff. Receptionist was very nice and next day he gave us much better room right after visitor had left. The second room was nice, clean and cozy.

    Great location in the hearth of Lisbon, everything can be reached by walk. Nice and helpful staff,big and clean rooms - at least some of them.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent location, comfortable and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant, central location! The bathroom has been refurbished recently and the shower was just great! The room was comfortable, clean and exactly what we needed. We had an excellent view of the castle. Breakfast was delicious! Fresh, really tasty rolls every morning-like at home.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    6.7
    Good enough for a economic overnight stay in Lisbon if you are lucky to get a remote control
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked this hotel because of a night arrival and because it said in the description air condition/ heating and TV. The did not mention that you can not use them because they do not provide you the remote controls to switch it on. At the reception they said they do not have enough for all rooms. Very sad! They also could not give me a electric heater. So the room was cold and I had to cover myself in a blanket. The TV works without remote control if you don't mind to get up each time you want to change the chanel.

    The receptionist was very friendly...good location and close to Metro. 24hour reception.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    5.8
    Fair for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building needs a complete renovation. Bad smell in the room and hallway. No Shampoo at all! Very noisy air conditioner.

    The location is perfect Friendly staff Heating system available.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Location is very good in the old center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the moment it is not possible to pay with any Debit or Creditcard. However bank ATM just around corner. Hotel is currently partly under interior renovation so it might look a bit messy (stairs, corridors) - (Situation in January 2019)

    Location is very good in the old center. Near metro and airportbus station. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are simple and a bit outdated but it is a good alternative if you travel on a budget. Breakfast is for Portugues standards Oke. Internet also works good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    5.4
    I liked location and breakfast although it was very simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bed were super small, loud air condition, staff didn’t speak english, no toilet paper was provided

    I liked location and breakfast although it was very simple and same for all days

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    8.3
    Man on the reception, he was very nice 😊.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Man on the reception, he was very nice 😊. We could do check-in two hours before official one and leave our luggage until evening in the reception. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Good value for money and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could've had a bit more variety, there was even just one type of jam on offer.

    Excellent location, nice friendly staff - it got a bit cold so we had to use all the extra blankets up but it was good they are provided already.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    3.8
    This is a place I would never return to, nor would I recommend anyone to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't have the rooms we had booked (two triples), and gave us a triple, a twin and a single. Wanted to charge us for three rooms even though this was their fault. After long argumentation and showing proof he agreed on the price we had. Also argued that the 7-year old could not stay for free, even though it says so in the hotel rules. The guy at reception was drunk. Yelled at the kids because they didn't understand him - he had given us his reciept and wanted it back. He stood up behind his desk and shouted at them (they are 10 and 13). We had to wait for more than 10 minutes for the key because noone was at the desk, with no reason given when he returned. Rooms were really simple. Door didn't close properly and had to be closed by key not to open by itself. There was no emergency exit. It was quite dirty. There were no amenities except for soap bars. Wifi didn't work most of the time, didn't even show on the list (funny though, we stayed at the neighbouring hotel earlier and then we had 4 or 5 networks listed from this hotel). We asked for airport taxis, and this was booked at reception. I had read that large taxis are a little bit more expensive than regular ones, but can take up to 7 people (we were 7 with no luggage so this would be perfect). He said he would try to book a large one, but didn't know if we would get a large or two regular ones. In the morning, two drivers arrived, and we followed them to their cars. These were private cars, one driver didn't even know the price and they could not give us reciepts. As this was a 5 in the morning we had no choice but to go with them. The stairwell and hallways were full of toilets, buckets of paint and oter things that made the place extra cosy. Will apparently have a much needed refurbishment soon. Have to say that we didn't expect much, as the price was low, but drunk staff who tries to rip us off and yells at our kids is not acceptable.

    The only partly positive thing is location, it was ok, close to metro and main streets. Although we believed location was excellent, at the metro entrance there are gangs and homeless people. From the smell, it seemed like people used the park as toilet. We left too early for breakfast. Not surprisingly we did not get an offer of a breakfast to go.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    6.3
    I like the fact that it's close to transports.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The moulds in the bathroom was scary and that there's stuff on the way ie boxes along the stairs. When we went the room wasn't fully ready and we were handed in the key which we shouldn't have. We could've wait few more minutes until it was done.

    I like the fact that it's close to transports. Close to shops and restaurants and other places.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.5
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is no much shower gel on the bathroom and could be more pillows available.

    friendly and very professional service. Stayed twice and I have plans to stay regularly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.0
    Smelly and gloomy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I realize this is a budget hotel and our expectations weren't high but their ad clearly stated no smoking. Our room smelled so bad of smoke it was sickening. It was explained people can smoke out the windows and in the hall. The hallways were filled with construction clutter and in the event of fire would hinder evacuation. The hotel is dark and dreary. We booked for four nights but checked out after one.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Cheap accommodation in great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is what we expected for the price and it delivered. We would stay here again.

    The location is excellent and it is good value for where it is. It also includes breakfast which was a great bonus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.9
    I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I WAS PROMISED A BATHTUB , THEN TOLD ONCE I PAID THAT SOME HAVE AND SOME DONT . I ALWAYS THOUGHT THAT AN AGREEMENT THRU BOOKING SHOULD BE HONORED OR A REBATE THEN GIVEN WHEN NOT

    LOCATION WAS SUPERB AND BREAKFAST WAS GOOD , THE FRONT DESK WAS MOSTLY HELPFUL

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    4.2
    Location was in centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bookings.com showed me different options than the hotel provided me, whn i checked in the blanket was dirty, air con was working only 2 mins at a time, breakfast was nitemare

    Location was in centre of the town

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    2.9
    DON'T STAY there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty room (stains on blanket and pillow, dirt on the floor), MOLD in the bathroom! Broken furniture, Wifi does not work, cleaning lady left our room door 10cm OPEN for 10 hours Location in the center but surrounded by run down streets, sad breakfast (cheese, meat and bread), unfriendly and unhelpful staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is good for sleep a couple night and for visit Lisbon and monuments. Location is very good.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn´t like hotel. Was very old. The hotel was not renovated. The bathroom was very small and old like you can see on the pictures. If you want visit all monuments and city for couples nights is every hotel good.

    The location was excelent. Just 2 minutes to metro and bus station. But infortunatlly hotel was old. Only one think was excelent - Location. Receptionist speks a little hard english. Breakfast was classic ham, cheese, butter, bread, jam and coffe with tea. Nothing extra but for eating it was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.3
    Not a place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was incredibly outdated and in need of new linens, furniture, paint, etc. The beds were very uncomfortable. When we left the hotel to go out they insisted that we leave our key at the front desk, which we found strange. Breakfast was so minimal we had to leave to eat elsewhere. The staff kept trying to grab our children who were clearly uncomfortable and not at all interested in affections, and even after I asked them to stop, one woman continued to persist trying to touch and pull on them. The front desk area was filled with cigarette smoke. Had we booked more than one night, we would have left and gone elsewhere.

    The room was very clean. The shower worked well with plenty of hot water. The air unit was efficient. It is located directly next to paid underground parking (€25 for less than 24 hours!).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good value for money, but very basic and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was big, but “furniture” was sparse, old and partially broken. Bathroom was also big and all appliances were working, but ceiling was moldy. One window with broken handle and “view” of ugly backyard.

    Good location, close to subway, tram and city center. Good WiFi and friendly staff. If you only need a place to sleep and nothing else, it is a bearable and cost efficient option.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.8
    Basic hotel with basic facilities....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I hate the smell of tobacco smoke?everywhere I went including the Hotel stunk of smoke. Staff in Hotel spoke limited English and maybe I was unlucky there. No other comments to make....

    Location was excellent...Metro nearby too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    4.6
    Only plus point was it's good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress and pillows(tiny and like blown up balloons) were uncomfortable and no facilities to make hot drinks in the room. Not even water to drink. The breakfast was poor. Great if you like ham and cheese every morning on bread. The facilities were like 1950s uk.

    Only plus point was it's good location. Metro on your doorstep.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    3.8
    If you love yourselves, keep away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible place. This is not a hotel but a cheap hostel. Not well isolated so can here other rooms. The bathroom was so bad, look at the pictures. leaking bath, mold, cracks and rust. Linen and towels were dirty and bed linen were not replaced. I know that I did not pay for 5 stars but even for something aspires to be 3 stars, needs to have basic standards. 1 star hostel.

    Only the location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    5.8
    This is a really budget hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double room was very small and dated with old furniture . The balcony was nice but very dangarous to enjoy it as it was ready to falling apart . Very thin walls , so it was very noisy not only from the other rooms but from the traffic of the road . Only one lamp for the two beds , with very hard matresses and with dated blankets . Very poor breakfast with low quality , bread , cheese and ham , the same was with the coffee as well .

    This is a really budget hotel . The only good think that i could say is the brand new renovated bathroom and the location. Absolutely nothing else !!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    The location, was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had bugs in the room. One receptionist of the hotel was to furious. When I asked him something it almost would give me a punch in the face. Some rooms need renovation. It was very cold in the room

    The location, was clean. It was quiet in the hotel. The breakfast (even if it had the same food, for me this was not a problem).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect place if you want a cheap sleep and explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was simply furnished, it met the expectation and it was value for money. There were no remote controls in the room, so could not switch on tv and aircon/heating. The heating was on 22'C, which was perfect for it was chilly outside. Continental breakfast was also simple, but the rolls were good! Coffee was bitter. Maybe a clean of the machine will do the trick. If you want to stay downtown and don't pay an enormous amount of money, this is a good place to stay. We paid €68.00 for 3 pax in the room including breakfast. Well, you can't complain!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent,and very central location. Value for money. Good breakfast and WIFI included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Try to vary the daily breakfast. Some Shower Gel would be nice instead of a lot of bar soap.

    Location was excellent! Center to everything a tourist needs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    5.0
    What you pay is what you get - cheap and just barely functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - everything looks old - lift takes forever to come - no view at all, facing backyard - noisy air con - not even a basic kettle is available for use

    - Location - Renovated bathroom - Cheap - Free breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.8
    Pretty cheap single room in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is pretty ok, but no reason to go there. Actually their coffee is instant coffee that I did not like at all. There are many cafes around with low prices. Building is old but that is normal in the city center. I would go there again if you don't need any luxury.

    The location is great, only 2 min away from Rossio. Metro station is 1 min away. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.8
    On the hole the property is well priced when compared to other hotels in the same area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Hotel is old and needs some refurbishment - Breakfast should have more variety. Only bread, ham and cheese; 1 type of cereal; juice, coffee/tea - No coffee facilities in the room - One receptionist had limited knowledge of English

    - Very central location - Choice of restaurants, metro and other public transport a couple of minutes away - good air conditioning - Efficient taxi service - Safe and secure luggage deposit

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    5.4
    Retro Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bad and old furniture, smell of cleaning liquids, bathroom had a broken shower handle

    Very kind receptionist, who helped us find a cheeper parking in the neighbourhood; clean towels ...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    5.0
    The location of hotel was excellent, however it needed upgrading and the staff to improve attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaner room and upgrading of available food at breakfast.

    The breakfast was poor. Our room needed renovation. Our friends who had another room was okay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.3
    A little bit old fashioned hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very nice. soap provided only I would have liked complimentry toothpaste and shower gel as i forgot to pack toothpaste. The stairs was untidy .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great position and offered great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet was dated and some of the tiles were heavily cracked above the bath.

    Room was clean & spacious, mattress firm and a separate bath with shower. Breakfast was downstairs with a selection of rolls, meat & cheese with plenty of drinks to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    3.3
    We had no problem leaving the next day although we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taxi could not find the location nor could anyone close by. Rude man at desk. Bathroom... mould around shower. Urinal and toilet together gross! No air conditioner.

    We had no problem leaving the next day although we had booked three nights. No penalty. I appreciated that

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    6.3
    Cheap stay/Cheap place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big stain of mold/dump in the ceiling of the toilet and room. The ceiling of the room it was also peeling. The smell of mold/dump is present all of the time, even with the windows opened. There was no remote control of the Air Conditioning in the room, after looking for it for 20 min I decide to ask in the reception and for my surprise it was there. Everything is old, building, furniture, showers... It is really cheap to stay there and I found out the reason. I would not stay there again.

    The location is great! A block away of the metro and walking distance of the river, the Comercio Square and the touristic area. Many shops and restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    A good, basic hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses were hard and the security box not in the room but at reception. A very basic breakfast.

    A good, basic hotel with helpful staff. In a very good position for the sights and transport. Has a lift to the rooms. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was not always good.Water in the shower was kind of weak. Not sure why. But we managed to have showers.In the toilet and sink was very good strangely.

    We had I guess the best view to Saint George Castello and beautiful street.Room itself was small but we did not need a big one.Furniture was extremely old, but who cares. We came to see amazing city. Bathroom was absolutely new, clean.Breakfast normal for hotels, not luxury, totally acceptable.Great service.The guys on the reception do not speak good English, but were able still to serve well. We had to book a taxi for 4am - perfect, on time, greatly driven for a reasonable price.Room was clean, bedding also.We did not watch TV and not sure if AC works there (listed),but with +30 during the day it was not humid and in the evening was even chilly.We kept the window open, it was noisy but for unknown reasons after the day of "hard work" seeing the places we slept very well despite of the noise.Location is perfect, right in the centre of everything.We even found an amazing taverne to listen to fado just 3 minutes walk form the hotel.The elevator is good, with suitcases this is not a luxury.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.6
    Good location but bed service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE booked 2 rooms, but they was not the same standard. One was partly refurbished, the second one was not! But the rate was the same. We asked the reception to change the room, but the man was not very helpful. One of the bed was also very uncomfortable

    Center location, just 2 minutes walk from the "28" tram endstop. Parking opportunity is in one old fashioned garage, about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. It worked well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.4
    central and great location, but very small and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is rated 3 stars but I am more inclined to suggest it matches 1 star. We had the smallest room and bathroom and were very uncomfortable. I would say the room is perfect for one person. The staff spoke little English and could help with basic questions, although they were kind. Breakfast was too basic so we ate out.

    The hotel is in the city center and it's just at the perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Visited twice, two different experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here twice. At first time our room was terrible on the second floor: moldy, smelly and noise from metro. On second time we had much better room which was renovated. Totally different experience and nothing to complaint. Locations is excellent and taxi to airport ordered before hand from the reception was 18e. Breakfast is simple rolls and juice with bad coffee, but it is included. Price is cheap compared to other ones on the same location so quality is good enough for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    4.6
    It's a good thing we only stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building inside was dank in a bad state of repair. The landings of each floor were dark and cluttered with cardboard boxes. There was a functioning elevator but I generally prefer to climb the stairs on foot. The furniture inside the rooms was very old and the air conditioning dripped so badly that it caused damage to the bed directly below it. When we went to complain about it, the hotel staff was unapologetic and refused to grant us any discount telling us that we needed to take it up with booking.com! The breakfast room was ok but there wasn't much to eat: there were no pastries, only bread, cheese and ham. Not ideal for a vegetarian/vegan. I will NOT be coming back to this place.

    The location was extremely central and the mattresses quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    5.8
    It has a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It has a great location. But the hostel is very old and uncared that’s why it didn’t feel very clean. The open buffet breakfast had only a couple items.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I did not like was the blanket that covered the bed. It was clean, smelled at detergent, but kinda used.

    Great location, 5 minutes walk to city center and at the end of tram 28. The bed was very confortable. Room was big enough, old furniture, AC, big bathroom. The breakfast was a little poor, but it was ok. The room was clean. No funny smells. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    4.6
    Hot - AC not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If, like us, decided that air conditioning is an important factor when considering to book this property then think again. The air conditioning will get stuck at 28 degrees and won't get any cooler despite numerous attempts by staff to say it is a broken remote. Not only this but the noise the air conditioner made was unbearable that in the end we turned off the AC which defeated the purpose of choosing to stay at this property. It was cooler to sleep with the window open. It was only at our request that we were given an electric fan. (It was not offered to us as a solution once they knew of the Ac problem) When we asked for another fan on the second night, they did not have any more. Suffice to say, we did not have a good night's sleep during our stay. If you think that we may have been unlucky with the AC in our room, when we went down to reception to complain there was another family which was having the same problem with their AC. Whilst having AC listed in the property, when booking this property, please presume that it will not work. The decor is old and outdated

    Central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.2
    Economic tourism in prime location done well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is slowly receiving the tender care that it deserves.

    This hotel has the best location in Lisbon. So many people get to stay at a hard working hotel that offers great value to the guest. The hotel also employs many people, keeping the neighborhood economy happy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    5.8
    Location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's old and dated, didn't feel very clean. There was only one remote for all Air-conditioning systems. Bed was short and not very comfortable.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent!
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Metro or something makes lot of noise and shakes a bit your bed (2nd floor), but didn’t disturb too much after long nights when it is easy to sleep. I used earplugs anyway so it didn’t matter too much. Breakfast was simple rolls and butter with terrible coffee from machine but was included to price. Mold was smelling a lot and rooms are in terrible condition but clean. This place is good enough for you if you prefer price and location like us and do not care anything else.

    Location is excellent!! Personnel is nice and 24/7 available. Price is good for the location and if you don’t demand a lot for the room and don’t spend time there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely Anothing except the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Things like air conditioner remote control and WiFi password have to be requested, I was only given my room keys and a tv remote control during check in. Some staff opened my room door without knocking, later found out they are delivering bathe towels to my room. Why wasn’t the room prepared prior my check-in?! Went down to question the staff at the counter, instead of apologizing immediately, I was told that I should have lock my door and given several reason why this has might have happen (the door requires manual locking with the key). But my question to him was simple, why did the staff enter a room without knocking (basic manners). WiFi connection was bad, I couldn’t connect to it most of the time. So I went down to the reception at night to seek help, but the rude elder man brushes me away and claim it’s not his problem. My wife also said that rude elder man also shouted at her because she didn’t open the elevator door (all elevator door in my country opens by itself). On my second night, the toilet light didn’t work but I was too reluctant to seek help anymore so we decided to inform the staff the next morning expecting them to fix it before night. Not to my surprise, we came back to the room and the toilet light is still faulty. The overall experience was stressful and depressing for us, we are just counting our days to leave this hotel as soon as possible.

    Absolutely Anothing except the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.3
    Not the best, but basic things worked well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect - close to metro and old town Alfama, but the rooms are outdated and the breakfast is as simple as it can be. I don't think the photos give the right picture of how it really is, atleast I was expecting a little bit more of the room.. If you are only looking for a cheap place to stay for the night, I would recommend it, but if you want a place that you can also relax in, then maybe this is not for you. The AC worked and there was warm water in the shower so the basic things work well. It really depends on what you are looking for in accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.1
    This is an old fashioned pensione in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was too small, the shower room was tiny and awkward, Decor was definitely ragged at the edges.

    The location was excellent, right in the middle of the city and the staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff- old building- cheap room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is an old building and is dirty. I found hair on the bed, inside the shower- I think they don t clean proper the rooms.

    Located in central of Lisbon in old town so is great for the vibe and a lot of turists on the street at night. Was cheap and had private bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    3.8
    Just a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost everything. Rooms are very bad, staff is unfriendly, the breakfast is very basic.

    The Pension is in a good location, but apart from this, all the rest is a disaster. Rooms are in very poor state and the staff is very very unfriendly and unhelpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very good place for trips around the old town and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good place for trips around the old town and the surrounding area, close to the tram stop, taxi stand and underground, very good place for a city base

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    3.8
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really old and not comfortable at all! The bed was horrible. Wi-Fi very slow and the breakfast was poor too. Not coming back for sure!

    It has a good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    6.7
    Budget hotel with limited facilities in a good location to explore Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building and rooms are not sound proof can hear people enter and leave their rooms. Same breakfast items all the days.

    Good location to visit sights in Lisbon close to metro and Trams.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    The location is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is basic.

    The location is very nice. Just beside the plaza Rossio. There is a good view of the castle. Very comfortable. The staffs are very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    5.8
    Staff are nice, especially breakfast/ cleaning ladies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was basic, it is a bit tired and the rooms could do with upgarding. The A/C in our room didn't work very well.

    The location was excellent and the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This so called hotel should be closed down. There is nothing to appreciate. The guy even made us pay the room even though we stayed only 15 min before heading to another hotel.

    This is the worst 'hotel' in which I have ever set foot! The place is disgusting and not fit for any kind of business. We decided to get another hotel after having visited the room, which was dirty and stank of urin (yes, indeed).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect and receptionists helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On the first night we were give a room that was falling apart, with cracks in walls and bathroom. From the second night onwards this was replaced by a better one. Many things were disappointing in this hotel: boring and minimal breakfast, old scratched furniture, noisy aircon units, hard pillows, bathroom door with no latchbolt, building materials stored in stairwell and smell of cigarettes in reception,

    Location was perfect and receptionists helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was smelly. I chose this property as it had parking available and I had specifically emailed them yet on arrival that meant paying 40 euro per day in a car park nearby. The breakfast had very little choice and the quality of food was low.

    Location is excellent. Bathroom very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent, room clean and comfortable, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic, ok for the price.

    Location was excellent, room clean and comfortable, good value in the heart of the city. Great bar and restaraunt next door. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Value for money in the center of Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the breakfast could be lite more, with yougert e.t.c

    It was situated in middle of center, close to all restaurants, shop e.t.c Simple hotel, but very service minded staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    great location but hotel only adequate -mainly outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was ham and cheese with bread rolls and cornflakes all the days i stayed there.

    it's centrally located in the old quarter. Free wifi. Near metro, tram, and buses as well as Airport bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    4.2
    Hotel is in a brilliant location, only a short walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had seen from other reviews that the decor was a bit tired etc, but nothing prepared me for quite how run-down this hotel was. The quilts on the beds in particular looked ancient and as if they hadn't been washed for years. The sheets and towels seemed clean; just old. There were a few ants in the room, which I didn't have a major problem with, but I was disgusted when I went into the bathroom and found an infestation of some sort of larvae crawling around. Absolutely no idea what they were, but there were around 100 of them, crawling from a metallic circle in the floor (which had initially been covered by the toilet brush holder) across the floor and up the walls. I massacred them and for the rest of my stay only saw the odd one or two, but I couldn't bring myself to take a shower in the bathroom after that. Otherwise, the Wi-Fi was fast when it worked (but it only worked for one day of the stay) and the air-conditioning was okay, once we realised that we had to go upstairs and ask for the remote control at reception. Likewise the beds were fine once we realised that the pillows were hidden in the wardrobe. Breakfast was as all the other reviews have said: very basic. The bread rolls were genuinely nice, but the ham and cheese looked like it had seen better days. I booked this on the basis that it was a 7/10 and was shocked by how bad it was. I have stayed in hostels which were cleaner and better equipped. Would never go back.

    Hotel is in a brilliant location, only a short walk from Rossio station, so very central. Staff didn't speak much English but were as helpful as they could be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Very good for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture, and lack of wall decorations.

    The hotel is under renovation. Judging from the rear of the hotel it is going to look very nice. We had a recently renovated room with a nice, large, good looking bathroom. The room itself was all in white. Not as much as a photo on the walls. The furniture were carry over from before, and banged up but practical. There is a very nice typical local Lisbon restaurant next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    5.4
    The worst experience in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist who attended us the day of our arrival was rude and refused to check in because he said they did not have the triple room that I had booked. He told us that Booking does not know what the hotel has or not. He even told us that we could look for another hotel or go to one of the hotels on the same street because he only had a double room for us, which did not have the three beds we needed or the TV with satellite channels that I booked. He said that despite the fact that in their advertising they offer satellite TV in all their rooms. I was about to run out of a place to stay in Lisbon even though I was with my whole family, including two small children. So serious was the situation that I had to call Booking, and although I still have not solved the problem, when I heard he had called, miraculously the triple room that had been reserved from the beginning appeared. However he told us that we could stay there just for three nights, not four as we had hired, and then we should move to the double room. As Booking sent me a list of hotels that obviously by the date were all out of my budget, We had to accept, we had no other option. In short, we had to leave a day early and modify our vacation plans, obviously, all this with unforeseen additional costs.

    Location and restaurant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.0
    Easy walk to the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had a strong smell, very mouldy, thin mattress, no holder for the shower head. Room was quite unpleasant.

    Easy walk to the coast. And lots of sights. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    Lisbon is full of life and a lot to see and we were in the middle of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Remote control for AC was not provided, but it was not that hot so we did not care to ask for it. Breakfast was acceptable but always the same type of ham.

    Very central location between Placa M Moritz and Placa de Figuera. Nearest metro station is at Placa M Moritz, where you can also catch the traditional tram 28, and Aero Bus-stop just a corner away. Nice View of Placa M Moritz and St George Castle from the room window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, clean room and bathroom, old building and furniture. Very bad breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Breakfast", if you can use that word for that kind of meal, is poor: some bread, some jam, some ham, some cheese. No fruits, no vegetables, no omelet, no yogurt, no juice (only water with concentrate instead of juice). Most people were coming with their own food to compensate. The rooms are clean (and daily cleaned) but the furniture is old, looks ugly. The floor in our room was not horizontal so bags on wheels found the location to stay by themselves ;)

    The location is good, rooms are clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    The place has a welcoming feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The staff are a group of Wonderful people.Always ready to help.The location is excellente.Despite of the place being a old building, it is very tidy and very clean. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.8
    Location is great but the place not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dilapidated furniture, view on a run down court, sheets are old and overused. The bathroom was spacious but in poor repair. Great location. Staff has trouble communicating in English. Very limited choices for breakfast, just bread, cheese and lunch meat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    great location and economical stay in central lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were hard. Very little tourist info available.

    The location was excellent and central and close to the metro. Liked the room with the outside window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    Tired hotel in great location. I think we paid the going rate for what we got,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel in poor state of repair, room looked like someone had given it a coat of primer and left it, dated furniture, one of the handles off the wardrobe, graffiti in drawers and wardrobe. Nothing to hold shower attachment on the wall. Not enough hangers. All landings covered in building materials for refurb.

    View from room, private bathroom, firm bed, clean linen everyday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    We were there for a night. The staff were excellent and quite helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needed a good renovation. The bathroom though clean but was very out dated and the ceiling was full of mold and cracks.

    We had to leave before breakfast was served so no comment. We like the location, very central to Metro, shopping and dining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    3.5
    AWFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor had holes in it. This hotel was like a tenement. My husband booked this based on the price and reviews. Now I worry about trusting reviews.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Pensao Nova Goa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: